reviews for: listing #101062 - Lanikai, Hawaii House rental

Secluded Beachfront Home with Amazing Views!
  • bedrooms  5
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  12
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $1,400 - $1,400 /nt
    $9,100 - $9,100 /wk
    $30,000 - $30,000 /mth

sort by:

7days in paradise

Review submitted: August 24, 2014   Date of arrival: August 2, 2014

We stayed at this absolutely beautiful house with my children and grandchildren who described it as "amazing". The ocean was visible from every room in the house, it was very spacious, clean and extremely comfortable for all 12 of us. Everyone loved the accessibility
To the ocean and private beach. Nina couldn't have been nicer, she answered all our questions and made sure we were taken care of when the threat of a tropical was evident.
I could not have picked a better place for my once in a lifetime family vacation.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Best Location on Oahu.

Review submitted: August 7, 2014   Date of arrival: July 23, 2014

The home was great but the location was amazing. It does not get much better than this. We stayed for a week and soaked up the sun the entire time. The views from any point on the property are amazing. If you are wanting to snorkel there are a few good areas to the left of the beach, or you can rent some kayaks and make the trip out to the small island on the left of your horizon. The snorkeling out there is great, you are almost guaranteed to see a sea turtle.

If you are up for a hike go take a walk( moderate difficultly) up the trail to the pillboxes. The trail head is at the enters nice of the neighborhood. It's worth it once you see the view.

We were recommended by the property owner to hire Private Chef Jason Paul to feed us for our stay. It was the best decision we have made. Chef Jason spoiled us the whole time and really adze the trip something to remember. He is very knowledgable about the island and can cook the best meals available. He is very familiar with the property and can have everything ready before you arrive at the home.

I recommend him and this property 100% we will use them again when we return to Oahu.

The only negative thing we can say is that you need to get comfortable with the warmth of the house. It gets a little toasty in the rooms with few windows but the rooms with windows that open stay cool from the sea winds. Even the warmer rooms are not too terrible since you can always just take a dip in the water to cool off.

The house and services are worth it 100%.

We can't wait to come back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

College Graduation Family Celebration

Review submitted: July 4, 2014   Date of arrival: June 19, 2014

Our family recently stayed at this INCREDIBLE home in Lanikai to celebrate our daughter's graduation from university. We had a group of 8 adults staying in the home that included a 73 yr old grandma, two 48 yr old parents, and five 20 somethings. We are world travelers and have stayed in several amazing places. Gina's house can definitely be argued among our family as the best home we've ever had the privilege to accommodate. The location and the home itself is beautiful. However, the views are stunning and unforgettable. We enjoyed a lovely week at the house kayaking, swimming, eating, etc... The home really allowed our group to be together for meals and socialize when we wanted. Due to it's very large size, we also had tons of privacy if anyone wanted to get away from the group. We would be thrilled to stay in any of Gina's rentals again on a future Oahu holiday. Mahalo, Gina!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Hawaiian Heaven!!!

Review submitted: May 22, 2014   Date of arrival: May 3, 2014

Extended family group of 10 enjoyed a week in this gorgeous home above the beach at Lanikai. Other reviews were overflowing with compliments about the beautiful location and environment and they were correct. Our group thoroughly relaxed and vegged at the house and beach area. Very private and little traffic but close to wine stores and food. You will not be disappointed with your time at Gina's place. Very nice rental and management people. We had a ball!! Thanks again Gina, Terry & the rest of the Canadians.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Awesome home for our family vacation.

Review submitted: April 8, 2014   Date of arrival: March 29, 2014

Our family spent 7 amazing days in this beautiful home. The privacy of this home gave us our own individual space. The view is spectacular which was very pieceful. The private beach is an amazing playground for all ages. The warm waters...very inviting.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Simply Amazing

Review submitted: October 24, 2013   Date of arrival: August 6, 2013

This home is perfect for large groups of people, the kitchen is well appointed, and the layout of the home allows everyone some privacy. There are two sitting areas where people can congregate and enjoy the postcard views. Gina was exceptional at anticipating our every need and making sure that our stay was perfect. To say that this home is exceptional is really putting it lightly. The views from every room are enchanting and are photographers dream. Our group rented kayaks and paddle boards and spent most of our days playing in the ocean. It was the perfect beach to go paddle boarding and kayaking to the islands just off shore made for a great work out. This home does not have air conditioning however we never felt over warm and in fact listening to the ocean and feeling the trade winds was almost hypnotic so much so that our entire group had a hard time, once we returned to the mainland, falling asleep with out the gentle breezes and lulling sounds of ocean. In short this was the perfect home for our family vacation.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Simply amazing

Review submitted: October 14, 2013   Date of arrival: May 5, 2013

We stayed here with our wedding party for a week in May. Simply speaking, it just could not have been any better. The house and the location were perfect for our group of 10. We enjoyed the spectacular view, swimming at the private beach, and paddling to the moks every day. The owners are very gracious and accommodating (much mahalo B & G!). This was a high water mark for many of our friends, we immediately started talking about plans for our return trip in a few years.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Awesome!

Review submitted: August 27, 2013   Date of arrival: August 14, 2013

We just completed our stay at this property, and all I can say is "I WANT TO GO BACK". Our group included 4 senior citizens, one teenager, and five in their 50's. The pictures are accurate. The views, if anything, do not do the location justice. Everything you could want is here. This house was perfect for our group of ten. Some might call the beach small, but there was PLENTY of room for all of us to relax and sprawl out including two other groups in adjacent homes. Believe me it's not an issue. If anything, with all the peace and quiet, you might enjoy meeting a few new friends to share your personal slice of paradise. Sunrises here are simply amazing. The tradewinds were blowing consistently, and we were grabbing for blankets at nighttime! The water is perfect and you can swim, snorkel and kayak in one of the best beaches on this planet. Only issue I can think of is the walk down/up to the beach from the house. There are around 50+ steps (about 4 flights of steps) which were a bit tough on the seniors. Nothing too bad, they just took their time - no way they weren't getting down to that beach!

This was my fourth trip to Oahu, and I always found Waikiki and the beach there to be beautiful ... until this trip. This location has "ruined" Waikiki for me - I'll always stay on Lanikai from this point forward and hopefully in one of Gina's properties. Regarding Gina - she's the best! She promptly got back to me with answers and solutions to my many questions. She offered great advice and made sure we had everything we needed for a great vacation.

The price might seem high at first, but I encourage you to consider how much five hotel rooms at a beachfront hotel would cost. Then remember that you are going to have to pay a premium at the hotel for a ocean front view - you'd be surprised how quickly the costs favor this option over a hotel.

Recommendation: Hit the Costco over in Hawaii Kai on your first day and load up on fruit, and breakfast foods - I'd much rather eat my breakfast on this lanai in the peace and quiet with my family and friends than schlep down to the hotel eateries for an over-priced breakfast. Whole Foods down town is a great (albeit expensive) option for meals too. We only used the grill once (too lazy to cook) but it works great (try the Opah).

My advice - book early! This is a great chance to treat/reward yourself for all the hard work you do - you'll be sorry if you don't!!

Gina - thanks for the memories!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

50th anniversary family vacation

Review submitted: June 27, 2013   Date of arrival: June 14, 2013

What a wonderful location and home to celebrate our 50th wedding anniversary with family and friends. Everything met our expectations and then some. The views, the beach, the accommodations were the best. It was an unforgettable experience.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

paradise comes here on vacation

Review submitted: June 26, 2013   Date of arrival: June 4, 2013

Amazing house with SPECTACULAR views, sea turtles swimming by all day, softest sand on your own beach..great sunrises and the house had it all. We got married on the beach and it was perfect!!! We will be back. The owners were great and excellent to work with, thanks Gina!!

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Great place for a large group vacation

Review submitted: June 7, 2013   Date of arrival: May 18, 2013

The house is perfect for a large group! The views are amazing from every room. There are enough bedrooms and common areas for everyone to spend group and individual time. The private beach lives up to it's billing and is the best part about the house. The water is warm and very easy to swim in; with little current. Our group rented paddle boards and bikes which were used daily. What would move my rating from a 4 to a 5 star is:
-lounge chairs on the lawn by the beach
-minimize construction and gardening noise
-larger outside table that can sit 10 people

We had a terrific time and hope to rent the home again in the near future. Gina was terrific to work with regarding our stay! I would recommend this property without hesitation.

FYI- If you have elderly people in your group there are lots of stairs to get down to the beach. It might be best to rent an alternate property offered by Gina that does not have the stairs.

Recommended for: girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Mahalo for your suggestions! We are in the process of finding suitable lounge chairs for the beach and yes, a larger dining table would be ideal outside. We do apologize for the construction that was necessary at the time your group was here, as we needed to make a repair to the lanai on one of the other rentals. The landscaping unfortunately is unavoidable on certain days as we do our very best to maintain the beauty of the property for the enjoyment of everyone who stays. If at all possible we always try to do maintenance when our homes are unoccupied, which is sometimes a challenge. Thank you again for taking the time to post a review and we certainly hope to see you back again someday!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

BEST HOUSE IN OHAU!

Review submitted: April 15, 2013   Date of arrival: March 30, 2013

This is truly one of the best houses in Ohau based on my research and touring the island myself! Gina was awesome and very customer driven! Gina made the process very easy in booking the house with 3 different families. Definitely book your rental car through Gina’s family owned rental car company; JN Rental. Top Notch, best price and excellent customer service! Pictures are accurate but even more amazing in person and the house and grounds are in excellent shape and in a perfect location for anyone especially families. This house is HUGE to include an unbelievable panoramic view of the Pill Boxes and the 2 islands out in the water. We even saw from our Lanai whales and sea turtles. There are 2 kitchens, 2 sets of washers and dryers, 3 floors, trees growing inside the house and more space than you can ever think of for a large family or sets of couples. The water looked just like Carribean water views. Hot tub was great for the kids since the lights change to different led lights, beach was EXCELLENT even so others talked about erosion problems but for us it was easy for the kids to build sand castles and swim and set sail on our rented Kayaks and Paddle boards. Please note the house is really a 6 bedroom house and can sleep 12 very comfortably. Most of the rooms have unbelievable views of the water. Lanikai is perfectly located on OHAU and is very easy to get around the island compared to being on the west side but traffic lights and one way roads do add in some complexity when touring the island. GPS is required! Max driving distance to the furthest point from any direction was 45 min to an hour dealing with traffic. Also, for those that are military the Kaneohe Marine Air base is only 15 min away and you can use their Commissary and Exchange. Plus they had great golfing at the Klipper. Price looks big but if you break it down by 10 you are cheaper than any hotel resort on the island, plus you save with the rental car and buying your own food in the near town. BEST VACATION EVER!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

LOCATION, LOCATION, LOCATION!!

Review submitted: March 7, 2013   Date of arrival: March 2, 2013

With absolutely zero experience with VRBO and the few photos on the website, my husband and I took a chance renting this property and OMG... it certainly paid off!!!

Me, hubby and our guests fell immediately IN LOVE with the location and "unique" beauty of the property. Each room was perfect in it's own right! So many wonderful ocean views and your own beach, with sand as soft as silk.

Gina, Thank you so very much for your gracious service and gem of a property... we will definately be back!

Mahalo,
Gail

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Unique property, quiet, private and great to share with friends or family

Review submitted: February 17, 2013   Date of arrival: February 8, 2013

This is a great place! My family and I shared this place among 4 couples including 2 children and we did not get in each other's way at all. There are amazing views virtually everywhere in the house and some really unique features. How many places have their own waterfall? I especially loved being so close to Kailua but feeling like we were away from hustle and bustle. The beach was really nice too, only a few homes have walk up access to this little gem of a beach so even though I detest going to busy public beaches, I loved this one. We often had the beach entirely to ourselves. I could spend forever there and will go back any and every time I can.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Even better than advertised

Review submitted: January 2, 2013   Date of arrival: December 22, 2012

This home's location and layout were beautiful - even better than advertised. The house was spacious and well-equipped, and the layout was perfect for an extended family with young adult children and a mother-in-law (each of whom loved having their own suites, decks, and living spaces). The owner, Gina, was very nice and accommodating - we especially loved the Christmas tree - and nearby should we have needed anything. The beaches in Lanikai are suffering from erosion, and the small beach on property is no exception, but it was still a nice place to start each day with a swim. Finally, the views are unmatched - truly spectacular.

Perfect for extended families, families with teenagers and older parents, and people who love outdoor activities.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Property 422403, Lanikia, East Oahu, Hawaii. USA

Review submitted: December 17, 2012   Date of arrival: November 17, 2012

My family and I stayed at this property over Thansgiving week and had a wonderful time. The house was great and we really enjoyed having our own beach. I would tell any of my friends that this is a special place.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Artist from Santa Fe,NM

Review submitted: October 24, 2012   Date of arrival: October 8, 2012

Stunning views, quiet, clean and the owner who is close by was extremely helpful in getting us settled and comfortable in this beautiful property. We were spoiled listening to the ocean every night. and day. Plenty of space to spread out. The secluded beach on Lanikai was special.
We were able to get kayaks and paddle everyday with ease as the property is in a private gated situation, our gear was safe on the beach below.
Wholefood, Starbuck, restaurants and shopping all five minutes away. But with the BBQ on the deck with spectacular views we hardly wanted to leave.
I would rent this space in a heartbeat again. Sunrises over the ocean, Stars, Ocean, Secluded Beach and huge comfortable space for a couple and or family.
The owner was responsive to our needs beyond the call of duty. Great energy of "ALOHA".

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Awesome in August

Review submitted: August 16, 2012   Date of arrival: August 3, 2012

Myself, and a group of 5 others, visited this property for a week earlier this month. It was a great visit. Secluded and quiet location - but without a long drive to stores and food. The view is stunning.

Additionally, the locals are helpful - the Kayak rental place delivered right to the house with snorkle gear and everything we could want.

Owner / Management is right next door but we never needed or even saw them after arrival because the place was so well prepared.

Can't wait to go back.

Jim Grady

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review