reviews for: listing #101067 - Keuka Lake, New York House rental

O'Cottage; Private, Serene Location; Steps to the Water
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  12
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $315 - $500 /nt
    $2,500 - $3,775 /wk

sort by:

Wowsa, yowsa!

Review submitted: April 6, 2014   Date of arrival: September 12, 2013

Wow, we had such a great time at your fantastic lake house! The house was comfortable and clean and cosy and accommodating for my family and our friends. The water is absolutely beautiful and the views are superb! It was sort of like vacationing on an island: quiet, peaceful, and relaxing. Making the arrangements to stay could not have been easier and the time spent at O'Cottage could not have been nicer!

Recommended for: adventure seekers

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Just the Ticket

Review submitted: March 5, 2014   Date of arrival: October 17, 2013

We booked this cottage for a fall getaway weekend with another couple and had a fabulous time! The setting is breath-taking and the house is spacious and well-appointed. We enjoyed the serenity of the lake in this unsurpassed location, and especially enjoyed the evening around the fire. The scenery could not have been nicer, with the leaves at their peak and the smell of autumn in the air contributed to the cozy, relaxing weekend we enjoyed at O'Cottage. We can't wait to come back! Many thanks for sharing your lovely home with us!

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

SO Many Memories

Review submitted: January 6, 2014   Date of arrival: September 6, 2013

My family have been repeat renters at O'Cottage and we can and do rehash some of our favorite times at the lake. One summered offered $25 each to any kid who swam across the lake. We had a spotting boat and it was fascinating to see the determination of all of the kids. We had about 9 kids mostly teens but young cousins in life jackets gave it a try. It started to rain right at the finish line and we all warmed up in the restaurant that allowed us lunch on "credit" because nobody had cash. A year later at age 48 I was talked into the swim across the lake. This time it was just the "Moms" my sister in law and her friend talked me into the challenge. I am not a strong swimmer but we picked a beautifully calm day. The lake was like glass. I kicked on my back, breast stroked and "crawled" my way across the lake. I was always about 10 feet in front of the other two, but I was really working because I was so afraid I would fail. My sister-in-law and her friend chatted and laughed the whole way and we all made it! We have so many more stories, making a pie with sugar packets, (don't ask), snorkeling adventures; I call almost running into a Huge lake pike an adventure! Catching and releasing a monster large mouth bass! Marshmallows by the fire, tracking a space satellite as it crossed the sky (there is an app for that), watching our children playing with their cousins!!! Some bittersweet memories of family members no longer with us. Everybody is so relaxed and happy at the lake. Many of my favorite memories are from Keuka Lake. That clear clean water! Sitting in the middle room watching a storm and hearing the rain from the tin roof. Reading on the dock. Seeing deer on our walks. I loved how private O'Cottage felt. Other parts of the lake are too crowded for my taste. If I could afford to buy a lake house, O'Cottage would be my dream home!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Fall Weekend

Review submitted: January 6, 2014   Date of arrival: October 11, 2013

We rented this home for a long weekend and were thrilled with everything! The views were amazing and the quiet location was unsurpassed. The check-in process was very easy. The lakeside firepit was our favorite. Our best memory was sitting by the fire in the evening enjoying a glass of wine. A great visit but hoping to come back next year!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful

Review submitted: January 6, 2014   Date of arrival: July 6, 2013

My husband and I, along with our 3 grown children, our son's fiancé and her family spent a wonderful week at O'Cottage the summer of 2013. It was the first time we had all stayed together. The cottage was set up perfectly for all of us to stay and had everything we needed. We loved being right on the water, tucked in the trees. We really loved the outdoor shower! Before we even left we had all decided we would be back again next year. We have already booked the same week again for 2014!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beautiful Property!

Review submitted: October 9, 2013   Date of arrival: September 19, 2013

My family had a wonderful weekend at the "O'Cottage" last month. We have 3 young kids so the loft/bunkhouse set up was absolutely perfect. The location on the lake makes for the most beautiful views. My son must have swung on the rope swing 100x. I will really miss making breakfast in that kitchen with the fireplace and lake views out all of the windows. Owner was easy to contact/communicate with.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Spot

Review submitted: October 7, 2013   Date of arrival: October 4, 2013

We had a great time. Thanks, again, for allowing us to use your cabin as our home for the weekend. We had a great weekend, and we look forward to booking with you next year. You have a great spot on the Bluff!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Delightful Week

Review submitted: August 26, 2013   Date of arrival: August 17, 2013

Hi Anastasia, We have just returned from a delightful week at O'Cottage.  Our entire family had a wonderful time enjoying your beautiful cottage and lake setting.  Many fond memories were made.  Thank you so much!  Steve and Julie

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Already Planning for Next Year

Review submitted: July 25, 2013   Date of arrival: July 18, 2013

Just a quick review to say what a wonder time we all had at the cottage. We had such a good time -- all decided to make this an annual vacation. I hope to be contacting you in the next few months to secure a date for next year. Thank you again for a wonderful week.

Recommended for: adventure seekers

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wonderful

Review submitted: July 17, 2013   Date of arrival: July 1, 2013

We had a wonderful time. The proximity to the water was unsurpassed. The interior was decorated beautifully and was very comfortable. The privacy was priceless. All-around, our vacation at O'Cottage was a 5-star experience and we would love to return. The owner provided us with great communication and even a recipe. It was a great chance to spend time together as a family.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Absolutely Loved It!

Review submitted: July 15, 2013   Date of arrival: June 7, 2013

We absolutely love the place -- it truly is beautiful I would love to discuss possibly renting it for a week in July so if that's at all possible let me know. Again thank you for allowing us in your home

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Right on the Lake

Review submitted: July 10, 2013   Date of arrival: July 1, 2013

You have a wonderful home -- this is the 3rd time we have stayed on Keuka lake but the first time we were "right on the lake" and it was really fantastic. You have a great place!

Things we really liked:
* Firepit right on the water and adirondack chairs
* The 3 separate living areas (kitchen, middle room, far room)
* Setting - we took walkds down the road frequently, very private and quiet
* Your flowers and window boxes were beautiful
* Really nicely decorated esp the middle living room

Thanks again for everything and for your hospitality and quick responses, you were fantastic to deal with!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Beautiful

Review submitted: June 9, 2013   Date of arrival: May 22, 2013

A beautiful house and a beautiful location. From the very start of our experience to our sad goodbye to this lovely lake house, we had a great time! Making the arrangements was easy& hospitable and the house immaculate & warm and the time spent with friends just wonderful. A great place to rent!

Recommended for: families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

I Heart Keuka!

Review submitted: May 14, 2013   Date of arrival: May 6, 2013

My husband and I have wanted for a long time to vacation on Keuka Lake. We heard about the fishing here and could not wait to try it out! We spent a few days in this roomy cottage with Keuka Lake to ourselves. We caught large and small mouth bass and some perch. The water on this lake is pritine. We put our boat in at the Keuka Lake State Park and had about a 15 minute boat ride to the cottage. Upon our arrival, we walked in to a cute, well maintained home with everything we needed. We took the owner's rowboat out and enjoyed looking at the houses along the lakefront. I can't wait to come back! We slept so well because the lake is so quiet and peaceful. The owner is easy to reach and the rental and check-in process were easy. If you want quiet and solitude and a break from the real world, this is the place for you!

Recommended for: adventure seekers

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Christmas in July

Review submitted: January 6, 2013   Date of arrival: July 21, 2012

Hard to believe that we celebrated our family's annual "Christmas in July" at O'Cottage six months ago, now that the real Christmas has come and gone. My oh my how time flies when you are having fun, and fun is what we did have at O'Cottage. We snorkeled in the lake and took the rowboat out for daily trips around the bluff. We cooked out on the beautiful new grill and made s'mores at the campfire. (We also have a new recipe to share: Candy S'mores. Instead of graham crackers, use Ritz crackers, and instead of Hershey bars, use a caramel. Roast your marshmallow and add it to the mix!) We walked along the bluff to gather wood for the fire and hunt for worms for fishing. We loved the house. It was very comfortable and accomodating for our family. The location was the best we have encountered so far! Thank you for sharing your home with us!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Thanks For The Memories

Review submitted: December 18, 2012   Date of arrival: September 21, 2012

Wonderful time here with fall just starting to show, yet warm daytime temps and lake water allowed us to swim. Had wanted to come in the summer but learned the hard way that the summer weeks book quickly so we decided to give the fall season a try and so glad we did. The cottage was very welcoming with a warm, rustic design with lots of interesting things to look at inside, like the tree branch curtain rod! The wineries were fun to visit and it was delightful to just sit outside to enjoy the view across the lake to the hills and fields on the other side. We enjoyed the dock and fire pit especially. The owner was very responsive and helpful. A trip to Hammondsport for the afternoon was fun; great restaurants and cuts shops to peek in on. Thank you for sharing your home!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Sad to Leave

Review submitted: December 18, 2012   Date of arrival: August 26, 2012

The worst part of this trip, the only negative about this trip, was LEAVING! We were all so sad to pack up and leave the lake on a beautiful day, with the sun shining and the water calling. We had a FABULOUS time and would love to come back! We enjoyed our week here in this pretty cottage with fabulous views.

We've rented before on Keuka Lake and what we really enjoyed was the level lake front lot. It was wonderful to have the kitchen just steps from the water so that we could run in to make lunch or grab a drink while we had swimmers in the water. We could see and hear them through the windows. We also fought over the bedroom over the TV room, where you could hear the water lapping at the shore at night, since the house is so close to the lake.

The house is adorable with cottage furnishings that are fresh and tasteful. We loved serving dinner at the large kitchen island. We all loved using the outdoor shower so much that we never used the indoor ones. The beds are comfortable and the house is laid out so that there is plenty of room for everyone to relax and enjoy.

We made great use of the outdoor space and ate dinner at the picnic table to be able to enjoy the lake views. We made the obligatory s'mores every night at the fire pit, which we really, really enjoyed, Even going for wood was an adventure, when we hiked along the bluff to gather sticks.

The owner was quick to reply to emails and phone calls and was very easy to deal with. This vacation was great and we can't wait to come back! Thank you for a delightful stay!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

So Sad to Leave

Review submitted: December 16, 2012   Date of arrival: August 26, 2012

We had a wonderful time at O'Cottage and were so sad to leave. It is quiet and relaxing here, almost like being on private island. The house is comfortable and the views and location on this lake can't be beat. The water is gorgeous and clear and we really enjoyed being at lake level (so many houses are up a steep flight of stairs). We fought over who would get to sleep in the bedroom over the TV room, where we could hear the lake lapping at the shore from the windows. We can't stress enough how much we liked the level lake lot; we had kids in the water all day long, but could quiclkly run in the house to make a sandwich or a get a drink and still be able to see and hear them. We can't wait to come back! Thank you for sharing this wonderful cottage with us!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Great Vacation!

Review submitted: December 12, 2012   Date of arrival: August 18, 2012

We had a fun time at this quaint and out-of-the-way O'Cottage. The home was decorated with very nice furnishings that were up to-date and well-maintained. The driveway was quite steep, and we were warned about 4WD requirements, but, once we got our nerve up to drive down, we had no problems with it.

We enjoyed mostly hanging around the property and the lake. We used the rowboat and had fun swimming to and from the platform. We tried snorkeling and saw a lot of fish. This is a great location for watching boats and fisherman go by.

We took a day trip to Hammondsport and enjoyed shopping in the tiny town. But most of all, we relaxed and enjoyed one another's company in a peaceful, pretty setting.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Great Family Fun

Review submitted: December 3, 2012   Date of arrival: August 11, 2012

My family, four kids (4, 6, 9, 13), my husband, my parents, and my in-laws, had a great time at O'Cottage! The house was very clean and well-kept and the decor was beautiful, in a rustic charm style.

The bedrooms are all on the the second and third floors and we basically used them only to sleep in, as we spent almost all of our time near the water and around the fire. There was a separate area for the kids to watch TV while the grown-ups played cards in the house.

The owner respnded quick to my emails. We'd love to come back next summer with some friends and rent a boat. We saw lots of people tubing and water-skiing and it sure looks like fun. We rode into twon one night and tried the go-karts and had ice cream at the place next door -- the ice cream was great and there was a huge, HUGE!, selection.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Loved It!

Review submitted: November 12, 2012   Date of arrival: September 16, 2012

We had a great time at O'Cottage. My family and friends loved the house! Awesome location, beautiful home. We enjoyed the wine trail and Keuka Brewing Company, a nice diversion from wine tasting. Thanks for sharing your lake home!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 12 / 12

 

our annual vacation

Review submitted: October 13, 2012   Date of arrival: September 9, 2012

O'Cottage is a wonderful vacation spot. Secluded from neighbors for privacy, it has the best access and view of the Lake. The property is well-maintained and spacious, wading or swimming access, fishing from shore, and a great fire pit. The cottage feels like home with many comfortable amenities for cooking indoors or outside, lots of sleeping capacity, space for quiet time, plenty of room for indoor activities in case of rain. Stock up on food and you won't have to get back in the car for awhile! There are restaurants accessible by boat, wine tasting at Ravines, shopping and antiquing in Hammondsport. Great hiking and biking nearby too.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 15 / 15

 

O'Cottage, 2012, July 28_ great time again

Review submitted: August 17, 2012   Date of arrival: July 28, 2012

We had another wonderful time at O’Cottage. The weather was ideal. Everyone had a great time. Caught some nice fish as well ! Went fishing every morning. My Mom and Dad from Binghamton came to visit for a couple of days and loved it.

The boating was terrific and the water temp was ideal for weather in the 80's each day.

We really enjoy our stays at O’Cottage and the continuous improvements are great. You have a wonderful place on Kueka Lake.
Please plan to see us again next summer 2013.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: I love to read how our guests enjoy O'Cottage and what they like about it and Keuka Lake. And it is always a joy to share O'Cottage with you!

Helpful votes: 15 / 15

 

O'Cottage Keuka Lake

Review submitted: July 19, 2012   Date of arrival: July 7, 2012

This was truly the nicest cottage I have ever stayed, inside and out. Located on the bluff, easy access to the water in multiple spots and a great firepit. Very private, I snorkled all over the area. The water is so clear that I was able to make a dive to save a cellphone. Lol. The lot is huge, and indoors is decorated beautifully, modern kitchen. I absolutely loved my stay, I have reccommend it to friends and will definitely make it an annual event. The owners provided us the opportunity to see the place before renting, and it was one of those moments of peace and tranquility. Thank you O'Cottage for a much needed relaxing and comfortable stay.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 18 / 18

 

Excellent fishing

Review submitted: July 15, 2012   Date of arrival: June 23, 2012

After going to Keuka Lake for many years and staying in cottages with long hikes to the water and noisy neighbors next-door, O'Cottage is my favorite. The reason I like it so much is the privacy and the location (my boys and I all like to fish and we can fish off the dock and from the rowboat). The cottage has two beaches that are easy to swim in from. The fishing is excellent from the swim platform. It was fun hiking in the woods to collect firewood and smore sticks for our nightly bonfire. The campfire is right near the water and it is so pretty at night. The lake is about a mile wide at this point and we had a family challenge to swim across it. The lake is very quite on the weekdays and it was like having the entre lake to ourselves. The interior of the cottage was charming, with a mix of highend and rustic. With three separate living rooms that could be shut with doors for privacy, it was easy to find a place to do what we wanted. The counter to having the house at lake level is that the driveway is very steep, which was difficult for my mom to walk up, so we drove her up the driveway instead whenever we left the property. The owner was quick to respond to my questions and very easy to work with.

We rented a pontoon boat and took a day trip to Hammondsport, which is a really cute LITTLE town. It was fun to see the Amish people in town driving their horse and buggy. I regret not stopping in Watking Glen to see the waterfall there - I heard it was amazing.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 18 / 18

 

I loved O'Cottage!

Review submitted: July 14, 2012   Date of arrival: July 7, 2012

This cottage was absolutely amazing inside and out! I have rented many cottages on keuka lake over the years and this was by far the best. You don't find too many properties right on the water with easy access, you literally walk right in the water in multiple areas on the property. We snorkeled all over the area, very private, and a awesome fireplace. We were lucky to find such a property and the owner provided us the opportunity to visit the property beforehand. I knew as soon as I saw the property that it was worth every penny. I am looking forward to renting next year.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 20 / 20

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We love it here

Review submitted: June 11, 2012   Date of arrival: July 16, 2011

I am sitting by the water as I write this at the end of our fourth stay at O'Cottage. We love it here and hope to come back again next year. We appreciate so much being able to share the splendor of Keuka Lake from the view of O'Cottage.

The weather was mostly good for us and we enjoyed the refreshing water many times. A campfire by the lake each night was restful and relaxing. Thanks so much for sharing O'Cottage with us!

Helpful votes: 21 / 21

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Another Great Stay

Review submitted: June 11, 2012   Date of arrival: June 25, 2011

We had another great week at O'Cottage! We loved the outdoor shower; it saves lots of clean-up with our four childrem. We went on a fishing charter, "Big Foot," and caught lots of big fish. Hope to see you next year.

Helpful votes: 19 / 19

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

I like this place

Review submitted: June 11, 2012   Date of arrival: July 2, 2011

I love this place so much I wish I lived here! That floating dock is really awesome, too. Thank you so much for letting us stay here. Our family has make so many memories from this trip.

Helpful votes: 19 / 19

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Nice!

Review submitted: June 11, 2012   Date of arrival: August 6, 2011

The stay here was lovely! We had a ball on the dock. Also, the house is so nice! My dad even wants to copy the barn door thing and put some in our house. The water was nice, the weather was nice and you guys are nice. Thanks so much for letting us stay in your cottage! We loved it here! Fun, fun, fun!

The Cardillo and Welles Families

Helpful votes: 14 / 14

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review