reviews for: listing #101116 - North Shore, Hawaii Castle rental

Camping Gear Kauai
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  no
  • type  Castle
  • baths  ½
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Anahola
  • sleeps  2
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $15 - $20 /nt
    $105 - $140 /wk

sort by:

Coconut Cottage

Review submitted: March 19, 2014   Date of arrival: March 9, 2014

We were really surprised at how nice the Coconut Cottage was at Dave's property. The attached bathroom was clean and airy. I've seen it described as "outside" but it's really not, it just has a separate entrance about 5 feet from the back door. The compost toilet is no big deal and is odor free. The kitchen had everything we needed, once we added some spices, to cook our own meals which mainly consisted of fresh fish bought at the local market. There is an outside gas BBQ that we also used nightly.
The living room featured a 52 inch smart TV and about halfway through our week long stay Dave delivered a brand new couch to replace an older one. The room has two ceiling fans and lots of windows which we kept open to catch the tropical breezes.
Up in the loft is the comfortable bed and lots of room to move around. There is also a fan provided up there if opening the windows is not enough.
Dave was a great host and took us to view hidden waterfalls on two separate days. We floated a river to get to one of them which was an adventure we won't forget! He had lots of ideas for when we ventured out on our own. All we had to do is ask. Need snorkel gear....no problem....he has that too! He hooked us up with a rental car for $25 a day and Jen picked us up at the airport and dropped us off as well.
Would we recommend this cottage to a friend? We would BUY it if it were for sale! Thanks for the great week Dave!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

great place!

Review submitted: November 29, 2012   Date of arrival: November 22, 2012

We loved this place! My boyfriend and I stayed here for 3 nights and it was perfect! Very clean, great furnishings. We had everything we needed...even cooked a great meal in the small kitchen. Great price! You could hear the road but it wasn't bad. You can see the ocean-its a very short drive or longer walk to a nice quiet beach. About a 15 min drive to Hanalei and north shore activities, and 15 min south to Lihue big city stuff. The gardens were great and the goats and chickens added a lot of entertainment. The deck is great to sit on for morning coffee and look at King Kong mountain. Dave is really nice too! Didn't feel like we were in someone elses space. We also rented the car with Paradise/Jen and Val who live here too in a separate cabin. Very convenient! They picked us up at the airport and took us to the studio and then meet us at the airport for the drop-off. I would definitely recommend this car rental/studio rental combo to any of my friends! Especially for the price!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Home away from home

Review submitted: October 13, 2012   Date of arrival: September 10, 2012

We loved our vacation on Kauai so much! My wife and I are making plans to return next year and will defiantly be back to the Home with a view and hopefully be able to stay for several weeks. The Mgr lives on site which sorta bothered us in the beginning, but now we are so grateful for all of their help. They told us about places that most tourist never see on Kauai..I would recommend the home for people that what to see Kauai from the local prospective. This home is probably not for the resort kind of person cause there is no pool and restaurants are several miles away. Over all the home was very clean but a little on the hot side in the afternoon. So we spent most of our time at the beach!!!!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

very affordable

Review submitted: October 6, 2012   Date of arrival: August 16, 2012

We enjoyed staying in the Home with a view very much. It is a nice location on a farm with lots of cool farm animals and things. "Big Wave D" was very informative and helpful when we needed his assistance. The home has nice views of King Kong mountain and distance ocean views. Walking to the beach was a little longer than we would have hoped, but the incredible value of the location certainly made up for the 20 min plus walk. Tell woody we miss him already.....

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

What a great deal!

Review submitted: October 4, 2012   Date of arrival: October 1, 2012

We had a great time....The home with a view was a perfect location for us to view the Island of Kauai...The home is very clean and simple. I loved the fact that there was a large garden outside our room that we could collect vegetables from everyday....Woody and the other goats were great and very friendly....they truly love their paradise....Some distance road noise, but it did not bother us since we were out most of the day exploring Kauai.....Will defiantly be back...Thanks for a great experience...BWD you were the best

Recommended for: adventure seekers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review