reviews for: listing #10122 - Kihei, Hawaii Condo rental

Beautiful Updated Condo with Free Internet and A/C
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Kihei Akahi
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $85 - $125 /nt
    $623 - $840 /wk
    $2,250 - $2,475 /mth

sort by:

Wonderful condo

Review submitted: July 14, 2014   Date of arrival: June 16, 2014

We had a wonderful time at your condo. We found it to be well supplied and very comfortable. We love all the information on restaurants and places to see. We hope to return in a few years and stay in your condo again.

Recommended for: families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Aloha Jim and Vicky.
I am so glad you had a great vacation in my "home away from home" and that you found all the information that I and my guests provide to be helpful. I am looking forward to having you as guests again sometime soon.
Mahalo,
Annette

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Just a little off the mark

Review submitted: May 29, 2014   Date of arrival: May 10, 2014

In general, we enjoyed our stay and thought the price was very reasonable. The unit is a little dated but it was comfortable.

Here is what we liked:
-All the beach stuff you would need, masks, snorkels, fins, boogie board, chairs, towels, coolers, umbrella, kid's toys, etc. The owner really did think of everything.
-Great location. Lots of restaurants within walking distance and there are nice sidewalks so you can walk to them. Easy access to Pi'ilani Highway as well which made getting everywhere on the island easy.
-Nice beach across the street.
-Very quiet.
-Easy access to the pool/grilling area from the lanai.

These are a few things that can be improved on/found less than stellar:
-We wish we had known about the mouse trap. I heard a squeaking sound one day while using the computer but thought it was outside. A few days later I started smelling a foul odor while sitting at the desk. It wasn't until my husband started looking for one of our 14 month old's toys that he found the dead mouse in the trap. I'm just really glad that my daughter didn't find either the trap or the dead mouse first.
-Kitchen was fairly well equipped but I could have used another metal turner for use on the grill to make hamburgers and a few other dish towels.
-The unit is at the back of the small complex. The walk to the beach is only about 5 minutes but it feels longer when you are hauling a bunch of stuff and a baby. We kind of knew that going in.
-Free laptop is slow. It's great that it's provided but we were glad that we brought our own.
-The A/C is on a timer so you can't leave it on all night. Fortunately, it really isn't needed. There are plenty of fans in the bedroom so it was comfortable. We just put the A/C on for about an hour when we got home each afternoon and it really cooled the place off.
-Because the bedroom is the furthest away from the lanai door and it's a ground floor unit, the bedroom was very dark. It was just a little annoying to always need a light when we were in there.
-The management company recommends that you use the low suds soap in the washer. It doesn't work very well. They only provide you with a small bag and you have to pay a nominal fee for more if you need it.

Overall, I would still recommend people stay here if they are on a budget. I felt the property was great for our family.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: I am glad that, for the most part, the guest had a good stay in my condo. I do want to respond to some of the comments.
My condo's living room, kitchen and bath have been completely renovated over the last 10 years. New cabinets and counter tops were installed seven years ago and new furniture purchased. All of the appliances in the condo, including the washer and dryer, refrigerator, stove, and dishwasher have been replaced. New lanai furniture, which is much nicer than that of most other units, was purchased last summer. While I would not claim that my efforts have resulted in a five star accommodation, most guests have found it to be attractive and comfortable.
I would concede that the bedroom still needs some work although I have done quite a bit of work there as well -- including installing the soundproof window. It is actually hard to find in-stock tropical furniture that is size and style appropriate on Maui! (I like things light and airy.) I have already ordered new furniture for the bedroom and expect it to be delivered this summer (2014). I am sure it will make a big difference.
I warned all of my guests this spring about the potential presence of mice because a very wet spring tends to result in mice coming down from the upcountry area to Kihei. It appears that one of my previous guests, in an effort to be helpful, put out a trap. Unfortunately, I can't control or know about everything that my guests might do. I am sorry that the guest had an unpleasant experience.
Very few condos make a computer and printer available for guests. I, and most of my guests, see them as a bonus. They are quite adequate for checking email, doing light surfing and printing boarding passes. I provide a high speed LAN connection.
Most of my guests (see other reviews) have written that I have the best equipped kitchen of condos that they or their friends have stayed in on Maui. The kitchen does have a turner and two of many tools. I really do try to think of everything that will make my guests' stay more enjoyable. On top of that I provide free snorkeling gear in enough sizes to fit nearly everyone!
There are many condos in my complex and elsewhere on Maui that have old furniture, old appliances, and old cabinets and are renting for higher rates. And there are many others with high-end furnishings that also charge appropriately. I work hard to make sure that everyone staying in my condo has a wonderful, affordable, stay in paradise.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

This "Home Away from Home" will be our choice for years!

Review submitted: July 20, 2013   Date of arrival: June 21, 2013

We loved everything about this artfully decorated condo on the ground floor. Loved the grass and trees and shrubbery outside the lanai door, and the easy and lovely walk from the lanai. Good restaurants right down the driveway. Loved the pole over the bathtub to hang dripping wetsuits from. The matching dishware. The laptop computer, internet access, and telephone were invaluable for planning activities. Loved the Dvd's and books ~ what a selection! We didn't need Redbox to rent Dvd's. I purchased one of annette's books on oral histories from old ethnic women in Hawaii. The king-sized bed was so comfy. And, with the windows open, we never needed the a/C. She even had safety vests for novice snorkelers, as well as snorkel gear of all sizes. This was a gem. Can't wait for our next vacation here!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Dear Fenner,

Mahalo for your kind comments. I especially appreciate that you found so many of the little things I do to make my condo special for my guests to be valuable. Thank you for being my guests. I look forward to your return.

Annette

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Comfy in Kihei

Review submitted: January 27, 2013   Date of arrival: January 7, 2013

Very well-appointed and well-equipped updated condo. Great quiet ground floor locale, close to pool and BBQ.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Dear Tom,

Thank you for your review. I really work hard to make my condo an attractive and comfortable place for my guests.

I look forward to your return!

Annette

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Another Fantastic Stay!

Review submitted: January 21, 2013   Date of arrival: December 22, 2012

This was our third stay in this great condo! The unit is very well stocked, close to the beach and pools, clean, and conveniently located. What more could you want? We've already begun to make plans for return vist # 4. Another fantastic stay!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Aloha,

Thank you for your third visit to my condo. I always enjoy having you stay with me over the holidays. I look forward to having you stay again soon.

Annette

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Great get-away

Review submitted: October 20, 2012   Date of arrival: October 2, 2012

We both found this unit as advertised and was in excellent condition as far as cleanliness and furnishings. The laptop was certainly a bonus and much appreciated. The appliances were beautiful. The ground level made it very convenient to access the beach etc, making the walk up the hill back again much easier. The owner was very easy to communicate with. We would not hesitate to recommend this unit to anyone. We really enjoyed Big Daddy's Rib House. Thank you for the positive experience

Recommended for: sight seeing

Helpful votes: 5 / 7

 

Kihei condo review--Kihei Akihi

Review submitted: February 8, 2012   Date of arrival: January 14, 2012

We stayed three weeks in Annette's lovely ground floor condo. It has everything furnished in the kitchen that one would ever desire--the bed is heavenly--and the location to the pool and surrounding restaurants, etc., is exceptional. A short walk to a very beautiful beach is also an added plus. The listing accurately describes the interior, and it is clean and very well maintained. I would highly recommend this property to friends or relatives. One recommendation of a restaurant is the restaurant at Day's Inn --
Sarento's--breakfast is wonderful.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 9

 

Absolutely lived up to our expectations

Review submitted: November 9, 2011   Date of arrival: October 16, 2011

We can not add too much more to the rave reviews this condo gets. It was all we expected. The location was perfect, close to lots of beaches, restaurants, and stores. We walked to the beach most days. Safeway and Foodland were certainly a car ride away but there was a small family convenience store close by for those forgotten items. We found everything as stated in the property listing but especially how quiet the complex was. Annette was an absolute pleasure to deal with, making it so easy for us. We had to change our travel plans by one day and she was very accommodating and helpful. We found a great place for happy hour from 3-7pm, with half price appies, an ocean side view of the sunset and great value. It was called Five Palms and is part of the Mana Kai Resort which is south of the Kihei boat ramp at 2960 S.Kihei Road. We will be returning to spend time in Maui and would have no hesitation in recommending Annette's condo.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 12 / 14

 

Good location for pretty much anything

Review submitted: September 14, 2011   Date of arrival: September 5, 2011

The unit has plenty of fans (and working A/C) which is useful for hot Maui afternoons. Drinkable water, good water pressure in the showers, supply of towels (including beach towels) and kitchenware. Very quiet area of the complex, and they do take quietness seriously, with warnings posted on the walls.

Kamaole Beach Park II, located straight across from Kihei Akahi complex, is ideal for swimming - it's relatively large (not as big as Big Beach nearby) and not as wavy as others, so paddlers and surfers usually head out to Makena. Golden sand and very warm water pretty much any time of day.

The complex itself is close to quite a few restaurants, with a Mexican restaurant, a casual American place and a deli right next to Kihei Akahi. Whaler's General Store is within 2-minute walk, and has the most basics, while for Safeway, Whole Foods or Costco you pretty much have to drive. South Kihei Dr is serviced by Maui Bus, and there's a stop nearby, but I haven't taken the bus.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 8 / 11

 

Annette's condo - August 2011

Review submitted: September 5, 2011   Date of arrival: August 12, 2011

An excellent condo - clean, convenient to the beach, very well stocked with kitchen necessities & beach toys, and within easy walking distance of a number of businesses & restaurants. Writeups in the guestbook were very helpful - lots of good tips from previous guests on things to do (and things to avoid), dining reviews, etc.

We recommend the unit without reservation. If we return to Maui on a future vacation we'll plan to stay here again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 6

 

Stay in Maui week of May 19, 2011

Review submitted: May 29, 2011   Date of arrival: May 16, 2011

What a great stay and so close to the beach and places to eat and shop. Booking was easy and finding it was easy. It was clean, spacious and had nice extras - boogie boards, laptop to post pics to facebook instantly, and plenty of kitchen essentials.

It was a great trip and having a nice place to rest at night and hang out was very welcomed. The owner was easy to work with and very cordial to work with. I would recommend this to anyone looking to travel to Maui.

Mahalo!
Jeff

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 5

 

As promised!

Review submitted: November 1, 2010   Date of arrival: October 15, 2010

We found the condo to be very comfortable, and well equipped for a beach vacation.
It is nicely furnished,and the king sized bed was very restful. The soundproof windows in the bedroom really work, perfect for light sleepers.
This is a very nicely landscaped property, just a short walk to the very clean sandy beach .
We would recommend it to anyone.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 5

 

Review submitted: January 17, 2010   Date of arrival: January 17, 2010

Dec.5, 2009 to Jan.2, 2010
It was a great pleasure to deal with Annette in renting her condo for the month of December. This was our 3rd trip to Maui but first time staying at the Kihei Akahi condo DG07 and wouldn't have it any other way for our next visit. The location, the amenities, the condo staff (office, maintenance and landscaping) were all great. The bed was soooo comfy. The kitchen was well stocked. The snorkeling and beach equipment were much appreciated. The extra 2 feet in the condo length, due to ground floor location, really made a difference. We had the best vacation ever.

Helpful votes: 3 / 5

 

Review submitted: September 8, 2009   Date of arrival: September 8, 2009

This is our third trip to Annette's beautiful Maui condo. We are always amazed by how well decorated Annette keeps her condo,how well kept the grounds of the complex are and how helpful the office staff is. This year we were pleased to see a laptop with free internet access in the condo which was a lovely bonus to our stay. It is so nice to go on vacation and know that everything you need to enjoy your time is already available to you free of charge in the suite!
Mahalo for sharing your tropical home with us.

Helpful votes: 3 / 5

 

Review submitted: November 17, 2008   Date of arrival: November 17, 2008

We have just spent a month in Annette's condo in the Kihei Akahi and had a wonderful time. The Kihei Akahi itself is a beautiful, well maintained and quiet complex. Annette's condo certainly lives up to this standard! It is well equipped with everything you could possibly need and very comfortable. I especially appreciated the lock on the patio door which eliminated trips all the way around the building. We would definitely stay here again and recommend it to anyone considering Maui for a vacation.

Helpful votes: 3 / 5

 

Review submitted: February 5, 2008   Date of arrival: February 5, 2008

A lovely ground floor unit. We enjoyed the fully equipped kitchen and found everything comfortable. It was great to have a lock on the patio door to eliminate all the trips around the building.
Hope to be back.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Review submitted: August 31, 2007   Date of arrival: August 31, 2007

We just got back from a wonderful week in Maui. We've stayed in Maui many times, but this condo was perfect: clean, updated and comfortable. And the ground floor access was great for our kids. We felt safe and secure. We will definitely stay again!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: January 31, 2007   Date of arrival: January 31, 2007

An absolutely perfect 2 week holiday. Extremely well equipped Condo, very well situated by the pool, and a large green space outside your Lanai door. You snorkel, boogie board, sit on the beach? This rental has all you need. No need to rent anything.Annette, we WILL be back.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Review submitted: December 21, 2006   Date of arrival: December 21, 2006

We spent a week in Annette’s delightful condo, and have one word to describe it: superb. It contains everything needed for your comfort, from abundant towels and linens to a wonderfully equipped modern kitchen. The gardens and pools at the Kihei Akahi are very well maintained, and in the D building where Annette’s condo is located you hear no street noise at all. The whole resort was very peaceful and quiet during our stay. The condo complex is well located for quick access to the South Maui beaches – we snorkeled at many of them and found the “Fishbowl” south of Wailea to be a real gem. We shall certainly return to this wonderful condo next time we come to Maui. R. Balfour, BC, Canada

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Review submitted: January 16, 2006   Date of arrival: January 16, 2006

Her condo was the best supplied condo (snorkel gear, towels, full kitchen, cooler, beach chairs ect.) that we saw on our vacation and we were with 10 other groups staying at the same complex. She was a pleasure to rent from and we will do it again.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Review submitted: November 15, 2005   Date of arrival: November 15, 2005

Without a doubt, Annette has provided an exquisite home-away-from-home, fully equipped and located across from a beautiful beach in paradise!!! It's easy to find, shopping & food is conveniently just minutes away - we wouldn't dream of staying ANYWHERE else on Maui!!!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: November 13, 2005   Date of arrival: November 13, 2005

(from email after this guest's second stay with me)

Hello Annette,

We are just get back to Japan, as we spent several days in Oahu after Maui. We really enjoyed the life at Maui with your beautiful condo. Anyway, thank you very much to share the comfortable condo. We found some improvement on your unit, and it was great. Also, some renewal kitchen staff was very good. My wife was hesitate to use the new pans at first, as it was shining too much and she would not like to make any surface flaws.

We are not sure when we can go back to Maui next time, while we hope to visit Maui every year. But we are sure that your condo will be 1st priority for accommodation.

Best Regards,

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Review submitted: June 20, 2005   Date of arrival: June 20, 2005

PARADISE is the only word for Maui and Annette's condo. Everything about it was perfect. Our stay was very comfortable and she had everything we needed. The location was easy to find and close to anything we might need, from great beaches, great restaurants, and shopping. We definitely will stay there again and we are already telling our friends about this great place! Thanks again Annette!

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Review submitted: May 4, 2005   Date of arrival: May 4, 2005

Thanks so much for letting us into your "home away from home". Awesome little condo! With everything you need!We had a great vacation and hope to come back one day very soon. Thanks again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Review submitted: October 23, 2004   Date of arrival: October 23, 2004

Thank you Annete for providing us a grate place to stay.
I think cost per comfortableness of this condo is very high. Location is perfect. And condo is clean and well equipped. Also there are some fun amenities for beach. I have been Maui more then ten times for windsurf. So I know some other condos. And, I think this unit is one of best of condos I stayed.

If this unit is available for my next Maui vacation, it will be very lucky.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Review submitted: March 3, 2004   Date of arrival: March 3, 2004

A great condo! Nicely decorated and very well equipped (from kitchen supplies to beach toys). For those of you who are familiar with the Kihei Akahi's stairs and slow elevators, you will appreciate the ground floor patio access of this condo.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 15, 2004   Date of arrival: January 15, 2004

(From comments sent via email to me)

We had a lovely time in Annette's condo. The location was excellent (right across the street from the beach, right next to the swimming pool, within easy driving distance of Ulua Beach (easily the best place to snorkel in Maui)). The condo was comfortably furnished, and there were lots of books. Annette is a gracious host(ess) who does her best to make her guests feel welcome.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Review submitted: December 14, 2003   Date of arrival: December 14, 2003

We stayed a month in Annette's condo and found it very well equipped and very comfortable. I was particularly pleased that we stayed on the ground floor as it was so convenient to the pool and barbecue. I initially had some reservations about the location - not about personal security as I always feel safe in Maui but about our travel documents, cash, etc. when we were at the beach or pool. I was really pleased to find that there was a safe in the bedroom closet. What a great idea!
We have booked again for a month next year.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Review submitted: October 14, 2003   Date of arrival: October 14, 2003

October 3rd through October 11, 2003

Had a WONDERFUL time in Kihei & your condo was perfect! Great location for everything & loved being on the ground floor where it was always nice & cooler. Both pools at the unit are nice & especially liked the pool right off the lanai. The grounds of the unit were beautiful & found myself taking lots of photos of flowers--something I have not ever done before!!!

Your condo has everything anyone could possibly ever need/use & was most thankful for the coffee grinder. In addition, thought the bed MOST comfortable.

Access to the Maui Dive Shop proved most beneficial for me. I booked several dive boat trips through the shop (one being the shop's dive boat out of Kihei) & also a great excursion to the volcano with a bicycle ride (or should I say a coast?) from the top of the volcano to the ocean in Pia.

Thank you for the use of your Hawaiian home--I shall return!

Pat Robison
Portland, Oregon

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Review submitted: August 3, 2003   Date of arrival: August 3, 2003

7/17-7/22/03
Had a wonderful stay in Maui thanks to Annette. The condo was wonderful. The ground floor kept it cool. The pool was right out our backdoor. We booked some activities with the folks right on the property, very easy and convenient. A wonderful beach was within walking distance. The shopping mall at Wailea is less than 10 minutes away. And we took the time to do the "Beachwalk" through the resort hotels next door, WOW! Don't miss this one! Thank you Annette, for a wonderful experience.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Review submitted: June 19, 2003   Date of arrival: June 19, 2003

We had a great brief stay!

Kihei Akahi is very well located in Kihei. Kihei's city layout is very disjointed, so Kihei Akahi is very lucky to be within walking distance of a beach and a minimall with a convenience store.

When I booked the condo I was a little concerned that it was a ground floor. We were very thankful it was, at around Noon and it was still cool in the condo. It was also nice to sit on the lanai and feed the birds or walk to the pool across the grass.

We cooked most of our meals in the condo's well-equipt kitchen. We also enjoyed that the condo isn't next to the main road and doesn't have any road noise.

I liked staying a Kihei Akahi because I felt more like a local and less like a tourist being run through the tourist traps. We were running on our own schedule and not the resort's.

It was a wonderful and relaxing trip!

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Review submitted: April 1, 2003   Date of arrival: April 1, 2003

We just returned from a lovely visit to Anette's condo at Kihei Akahi. The setting was a lovely one for a truly relaxing vacation. Several excellent restaurants (Thai Chef, Canton Chef, and Da Kitchen) were within walking distance. Cooking at the condo was a breeze since all the possible kitchen utensils imaginable were there.

The snorkeling across the street between the Kamole Beach II and III was the best I have found on Maui after years of sampling all of the popular spots.

My wife and I felt perfectly safe and secure in the Kihei environment. The safe in the closet made a convenient place to keep our valuables so we wouldn't misplace them. The neighbors were nice and friendly and observed the quiet hours after 10:00 PM. All-in-all it was a lovely place to get away. Even on the rainy day, we enjoyed the books and videos available. I would recommend this condo to anyone who wants a reasonably priced piece of paradise.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 22, 2002   Date of arrival: July 22, 2002

(From in-condo guestbook)

One word "Grand!" I loved the room! My mom and I have been here for a soccer tourney and we got 3rd. Thank you so much for welcoming us into this condo. We really appreciate it. I hope that we can come again real soon.
Mahalo!!!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 27, 2002   Date of arrival: May 27, 2002

(From in-condo guestbook)

Wow!!! Beautiful place to stay. Awesome condo, fabulous weather . . . can't ask for more. Thank you so much to opening your place to us w/all the wonderful and convenient things to have. We had a wonderful and memorable time here in Maui (first time). Hope to visit this beautiful island soon!! Mahalo!!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 18, 2002   Date of arrival: April 18, 2002

(From in-condo guestbook)

Thank you for opening your wonderful condo to us. We enjoyed your beautifully decorated place with all the conveniences. This will be a most memorable vacation for us as we just got engaged atop Haleakala! Thanks so much

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 2, 2002   Date of arrival: March 2, 2002

(From in-condo guestbook)

What a superb holiday place -- Maui. The condo was great. Nice view, comfortable and clean. Most everything you could ask for. The owner was most gracious and kind to us. Thanks.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: February 1, 2002   Date of arrival: February 1, 2002

(From in-condo guestbook)

Can't think of a more fabulous place than Maui to spend a month in the winter and the condo was a great place to stay! Hope to return soon!

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review