reviews for: listing #101248 - Niagara Falls, New York House rental

Niagara View Manor on Water w Unforgettable Sunsets
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Gi
  • sleeps  10
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $1 - $999 /mth

sort by:

Girls weekend

Review submitted: November 17, 2013   Date of arrival: November 15, 2013

Just returned from a girls weekend at this house on Grand Island. It was "okay". I would recommend a little TLC before renting it again. Many of the huge windows that you see did not have window coverings and we were on the main floor so it was a little unnerving. The lighting was sparse and many of the lights did not work well or were very dim. The fridge was not as clean as we would have liked - I would expect that there is a cleaning service that comes in in between rentals for a home of this size and, if so, they need to step up their game. The house could be gorgeous with a little effort. On a positive note, we had a minor toilet leaking problem and it was fixed very quickly on Saturday morning after we called the owner Friday night.

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The Niagara View Manor

Review submitted: September 17, 2013   Date of arrival: September 13, 2013

The Manor at Grand Island - ****Stars

If your looking for a safe, secure, good-size rental for a reunion or big family gathering that is close to all the attractions in Niagara Falls, then The Manor House is for you. This is a con-joined 4 unit Apartment building that is on the West River parkway of Grand Island, looking across the Niagara river to Canada. It has all the comforts of home and the conveniences of hotel life in a magnificent 8000 square foot property. This property is semi - secluded with a lot of privacy on sides and in back.

Our group held a reunion there in mid-September. We are a demanding, diverse group who are quick to complain if a request or feature is not delivered. We all love to cook, party, enjoy good wine, play video games, sight-see & watch weekend sports, have good scenery/views for our heated debates and conversations. This property/these owners delivered in spades. Before the trip, the owners were peppered by our requests for a good value, early check - ins and the necessary utensils for a cook off ( an annual tradition) They made sure we were all taken care of and checked on us several times. The game room with many arcade games was host to our competitive contests, the main kitchen was perfect for a multi-station set up for a four-course dinner extravaganza (equipped with every utensil you need). We had access to three gas grills for our outdoor barbeque and every amenity was in excellent condition. The bedrooms and beds were comfortable and plentiful, TV's were everywhere you looked. ( Our group of 16 rented 3 of the four units). Towels and clean bed sheets were is great supply. There is a fire pit out back with plenty seating for the group and the stash of logs was abundant.

Attractions : American Falls, 8-10 minutes from the property, Maid of Mist boat ride and Cave of the Winds 10-15 minutes & Canadian side of Falls- 20-25 minutes if you were lucky enough to have no border crossing wait. Wineries in 3 different regions 30 minutes to an hour away, Golf was 6 minutes by car and dirt cheap on this weekend. Grocery and liquor store 4-6 minutes from the house. 2 marinas if you wanted to rent a boat were 5 and 15 minutes away.

This weekend was a 10. Oh there was a complaint keeping this from perfect--- the reunion was too short.
"Valureviewer"

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Spacious place

Review submitted: July 15, 2013   Date of arrival: May 4, 2013

We head to the great Island to have a small Family reunion while looking for a place to easy access from Canadian and Americans. Jo and his husband were excelent hosts, we had everithing we needed and have a very good time here.
Everithing was as they described over the phone and on this website.
Hosts were very accomodating to our requests.
Beautiful property and well maintained, we can't wait to come back and enjoy another family weekend here.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for taking the time to write about our property!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Love The Manor

Review submitted: July 15, 2013   Date of arrival: July 10, 2013

What a beautiful property with astonishing views of the River. Its really cool to see the mist of the Falls as a backdrop to our evenings! The arcade is awesome for the kids and all the games are free! Vincent is a nice guy who told us all about the area. The Manor is located on grand island, which is only 10 minutes from the falls, so its really close. Safety is always a key concern of mine and the Manor is really safe for the entire family, The keypad entry features into every Unit is high tech and makes me not worry about managing keys for my entire family!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: Thank you!

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Polecat

Review submitted: July 12, 2013   Date of arrival: June 26, 2013

Myself and my crew, totaling 7 stayed in 4 different units owned by Vinny and Jo....This was due to the fact that I had a fast trac job to install in Niagara Falls, and they bent over backwards to help us and accommodate our group. They were pretty booked up, but made it happen. All the guys loved the places we stayed and we had a good time, rather than being separated at a hotel. Great pool, great kitchens, all around an A+. Vin and Jo are salt of the earth people and their cleaning crews are top notch. I have more work up there in Nov-Dec and have already talked to Vince about renting from him again in the off season. Thumbs Up Vin and Jo!! Thank You!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: what can I say...
we are humbled by your kind words.
thanks and great to get to know your team!
all the best,

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Uninhabitable false advertisement!

Review submitted: July 10, 2013   Date of arrival: January 3, 2013

Disgusting service actually non-existent, no towels, no washing powder, no vacuum, not enough crockery/utensils/pots pans for the supposed amount it could sleep, insufficient heating and sometimes lack of, maintenance occurred from 7am-9pm virtually everyday without prior knowledge, blocked toilets and sink everyday, power disconnected due to owner not paying bill, cable also disconnected due to non payment of bill, most windows did not have fly screens even though it was on a second floor children were not safe, could only see fireworks if you hung out of the window, no spa or pool, tiny fire pit, no BBQ area and definitely no private access to beach you have to try to navigate across the busy highway to get to the public lake.Owners would enter the property uninvited and were abusive. We made an official complaint regarding the situation and we were then taken to court in response. No games for my children, no air conditioning, pretty everything they advertise is not available and they are more concerned about the money than about caring for their guests and were quite often unreachable nor would they hurry to fix any of the issues and even when we found somewhere else to move to the accommodation remained the same. Over charged for cleaning also even though they told us in front of a judge and in an email they would be ripping up the carpet.

Owners response: Would like to note that complaints began when tenant was informed that property owners denied the tenants request to extend their stay.

Additional Note - the toilets have not backed up since tenant vacated property.

Additional Note - power was disconnected due to a winter storm, cable was in fact disconnected due to non payment as this was a new account and was not added to existing bill.

Additional Note - tenant was taken to court because would not vacate the premises.

thank you

Helpful votes: 6 / 7

 

Renting the Residence and Chateau

Review submitted: June 27, 2013   Date of arrival: June 22, 2013

17 ‘Sisters in the Wind’ women motorcycle group from Indiana rented 2 units from Ms. Joann and Mr. Vince for four nights. The advertising was not correct as far as there being a pool on the property and accessible to us, which another renter in 2012 commented in the guest book about also. I was told there was no AC in the units but window air conditioners were in every bedroom thru email correspondence and phone calls. We did not find the bicycles that were to be readily available nor was there wood for the fire pit as advertised. There was no beach at the property but we could swim at the Holiday Inn for $5.00 a day and use the park beach for $7.00 a day, which also was not stated in the advertisement. The Residence was very spacious and Ms. Joann and Mr. Vince did supply us with more toilet paper, towels, dishes and several new box fans for every room in both units. On our second day there Mr. Vince did install a portable air conditioning unit in the large dining area and on our last night there portable air conditioning units were installed in every bedroom (which will help for the next renters). There is also a toll charge of $1.00 for re-entry onto the Island when you leave, which was not relayed to us either. It also states on the web site that a cleaning charge of $100.00 would be charged and we were charged $175.00 per unit. At one point the hose to the toilet broke, we did manage to get the water turned off and Mr. Vince did come early the next day to fix that so that we had the toilet available again. I was told there was 2 full baths per unit totaling 4 full baths for 17 women. I made that clear to Ms. Joann but once there, only 3.5 baths for us all. I felt that once our check had cleared I could not get a hold of Ms. Joann nor felt like she wanted to answer any of my questions either thru email correspondence or phone calls. My understanding thru the web site is that Ms. Joann has not owned the property for long, so it is quite obvious they still have a lot to learn, even though they went out of their way to accommodate us and try to make things right. We made the best of the four days we were there as best we could considering it was very hot.

Owners response: Thank you for your feedback and constructive criticism.

We have contacted the third party website that had that information listed and asked them to correct their information.

It was nice meeting you and thank you for allowing us to be part of your memorial bike run.

Sorry about the bridge tolls, See you soon,,,

Vinny and Jo

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Best stay ever!

Review submitted: June 17, 2013   Date of arrival: June 12, 2013

I was thoroughly impressed with everything about this place. We rented this house and the house next door for our wedding. My family and friends were blown away by the house and grounds. We all were comfortable and amazed by how quaint the area was for being so close to Niagara Falls. We couldn't have found a better place to stay if we tried. Will always stay here if I'm in the area. Unforgettable!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Support the troops

Review submitted: August 5, 2012   Date of arrival: July 1, 2012

We loved every last minute. Thanks so much for such an amazing setting. It was so nice to come back from such a long day and feel right at home. Hope to make it back next year and if we do I know exactly where we are staying. Thanks for being so easy to talk to and making our stay even more memorable. Thanks again for the wine.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Hammock

Review submitted: August 5, 2012   Date of arrival: June 28, 2012

What a great place to stay.There were 7 of us 5
of them kids, ages 17,15,12 10 and 9. They were all very excited about staying at the manor. We had enough room to hang out together when we wanted and enough room to spread out when needed. The manor is very clean and beautiful. We are used to having to get 2 hotel rooms usually when we travel. What. Great way to stay all together for the same price. We definitely enjoyed the hammock. The windows are also great.
We really did not know how spacious this was going to be. We will definitely suggest the Manor to our friends and family. Thank you Jo Ann for everything.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Spacious

Review submitted: August 5, 2012   Date of arrival: June 27, 2012

This house is beautiful and I love how spacious it is. It is lso very close to both the beach. Beaver Isand, and the falls. Also, the towels are amazing. It was a wonderful stay.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Hammock

Review submitted: August 5, 2012   Date of arrival: June 13, 2012

I really liked the hammock it was very nice and so was the couch.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Awesome

Review submitted: August 5, 2012   Date of arrival: June 12, 2012

Awesome

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Music

Review submitted: August 5, 2012   Date of arrival: May 21, 2012

We love here!
Music.
Falls.
and happy time!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Jo

Review submitted: August 5, 2012   Date of arrival: May 20, 2012

Jo is so beautiful, and I like the house so so so so so much!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Nice & Spacious

Review submitted: August 5, 2012   Date of arrival: May 17, 2012

1st off Thank you for the basket, the cookies were delicious. This house was nice & spacious- we loved lounging in the living room. Thanks so much for the directions to the beach. Beaver Island. We had lots of fun!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Not too good but GREAT

Review submitted: July 28, 2012   Date of arrival: June 22, 2012

The "Manor" as we call it was one of the highlights of our stay. Not only was it open, airy and comfortable but it allowed my family to spend such valuable time together that will be remembered for ever.

What great views, comfortable beds and the bond fire was the show stealer.

We saw so many different types of birds, and the deer eating off the apple trees in the morning was one of the highlights of the trip.

We usually stay in hotels, but never again, we saved tons of money on meals, and it was even better.

Thank you Manor, your a big part of our memories,,,

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Amazing Experience

Review submitted: May 18, 2012   Date of arrival: May 9, 2012

My family and I took a trip up to Niagara Falls for the first time. The falls were great, but Vinny and Jo were amazing. What an awesome experience! It all starts with Jo Anne and her generosity! She met us there with a bottle of wine and some of her homemade cupcakes! The home is Incredibly large, recently updated and filled with modern ammenities. The view is spectacular! They also offer an extra suite if you have more than 10 people so its extra comfortable. We will definitely be going back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 7

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review