reviews for: listing #10127 - Captiva Island, Florida House rental

One Of The Nicest Homes In Captiva!
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Sunset Captiva
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $1,395 - $3,795 /wk

sort by:

Hanson Family Vacation

Review submitted: March 26, 2014   Date of arrival: March 1, 2014

What an awesome vacation our family had. We had never stayed on Captiva or rented someone's personal home for a week. Our kids said "you hit it out of the park on this one!" We all had such a wonderful time. The home had everything it said it would, just as Omar conveyed, everything within walking distance, wonderful restaurants, shopping beautiful sunsets, dolphins, manatees. This home provided plenty of play toys for all ages for the beach, umbrellas & chairs, beach towels, sand toys etc., not to mention the perfectly lovely & very clean home. I loved the bath robes that were available in the master bedroom, I was not expecting that! We enjoyed the screened lanais, comfortable beds, great kitchen & all the tools for cooking.The pool & common grounds were beautifully kept. Omar called a couple times while we were there to make sure everything was to our satisfaction. We are all looking forward to staying at this home in the future. We made memories that will last a lifetime & we were all sad when it was time to leave. Thank you again Omar. I hope we will be back soon!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Vacation!

Review submitted: January 26, 2014   Date of arrival: January 4, 2014

My family stayed here the week of January 4-11. This was our first visit to Captiva, but it won't be the last! The other reviews are spot on - the house is terrific, very well appointed, extremely comfortable, very much a family place. The location is great - easy walks to the beach and the village (we tried to use the car as little as possible), and tucked into a friendly community. We spent most of our time at the beach, but the pool was also nice and never crowded. We also used the community grills at dinner time - very convenient. I could go on and on about the location, but the very best thing about this place is its owner, Omar. We could not have chosen a friendlier, more personable or more responsible person to work with. And it's not just that - Omar treated us like family, and the house has everything you might want or need, from a fully-stocked kitchen to beach chairs, umbrellas and gear for building sand castles. It's the little things that separate a good vacation from a great one, and Omar really pays attention. The five-star rating is well-earned.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

You will want to return to this one

Review submitted: December 3, 2013   Date of arrival: November 16, 2013

My wife and I enjoy visiting different Florida beaches and staying in different places. We do prefer the gulf coast to the Atlantic side. when I viewed this home on HomeAway I was just drawn to it by the pictures and the description plus we love Captive. The owner, Omar, was a delight to deal with and was so accommodating. We were told exactly how to get to the home and where to stop for groceries on the way out there. This is not your typical rental, this is someone's home. The decor and the furnishings are wonderful and it feels like a home. Everything you can imagine you might need while on vacation is probably already there. We love the beach and enjoyed having beach towels,chairs, umbrellas and coolers for our use. Also the restaurants and stores are right there within easy walking distance. I just can't say enough about how much we enjoyed our stay here and how accommodating Omar was, even calling to check to make sure we had all we needed. This is definitely not a "one timer" for us. Thank you so much for Omar for providing us a great vacation and a wonderful anniversary memory.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Loved every minute!

Review submitted: November 21, 2013   Date of arrival: November 9, 2013

Omar's description of his home and its amenities is right on. We've always wanted to see what it's like to stay in Captiva and no first experience could have been better. The house is surrounded by mature vegetation which provides both shade and privacy, with birds in the trees as an added bonus. We spent lots of time on the main porch with its comfortable furniture and utterly relaxing atmosphere, reading, writing and just unwinding. It was a great spot for almost all our meals, too.
The house has everything anyone could want inside plus all the beach equipment you would need. Lots of entertainment is available in the form of movies, streaming Netflix, and a good radio/tape/cd player (try 101.5 fm for nice light jazz). All the furniture is comfortable and you can see you're in a real home, not an impersonal rental place. One of my favorite spots was on the deck off the master bedroom. It was a private place for yoga stretches and for watching moon and stars...just lovely in the early morning or after dark.
The pool area is very clean and comfortable and the manager, George, is very interesting and helpful. The beach boardwalk is kept clean and offers a lovely little trip through a tropical grove onto the wide beach. And to be honest, there is absolutely no place lovlier to watch a sunset than this spot in Captiva!
One of the best parts of renting this property is Omar himself. He is thoroughly attentive to all details, very responsive to your needs and a pleasure to talk with. We will recommend this spot to others and look forward to a return...thanks so much, Omar!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Wishing We Could Stay Forever

Review submitted: October 9, 2013   Date of arrival: September 14, 2013

Omar's Urchin Court beach house was a dream come true for my family. We decided to spend a week together under one roof to relax, celebrate, and enjoy each others company and this house was perfect for us! My husband and I were celebrating our 35th wedding anniversary and my grandson turned 4 while we were there. The photos on-line are quite accurate and the house was nice and fresh and clean. We started our days with a short walk over to the dock on the bayside, coffee in hand, to watch the sunrise, see manatee, and some days catch fish. Then it was back to the house for a quick breakfast (the belgian waffles were a hit!) and then off to the beach with Omar's wheely cart full of beach things. We played in the ocean, searched for shells, saw dolphin daily, and some days caught fish. When it got too hot we would pack up and go to the lovely pool to cool off until it was time to go back to the house for lunch and naps. It rained most afternoons while the kiddies napped and the adults sat under the house swinging and chatting. Late afternoons we did an assortment of different things including take the Captiva Cruises Dolphin & Wildlife trip out of the marina in the South Seas Resort. It was great, well worth the money. After we had dinner, which we cooked and ate at the house, we would go back to the pool or over to the beach to watch the sunset and the osprey flying overhead...and some days catch more fish. We had great days and slept like babies in Omar's comfy beds. It was such a beautiful time, I can't tell you how hard it was to pack up to leave. We all just wanted to stay right there in "our" beach house under one roof and be on bay-ca-shun as my grandson would say.

We highly recommend this home. Omar makes himself easily accessable for questions and concerns, is kind and thoughtful, and does exactly what he says he will do.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Perfect Family Vacation

Review submitted: July 30, 2013   Date of arrival: July 6, 2013

Dear Omar,

What a wonderful, blessed visit! Your home was perfect for our family of five, 2 adults and three teenagers. The location of your home was so close to everything and we really appreciated all of the extra little touches. We made many delicious meals in your well equiped kitchen, including ordering fresh fish (and soup) from Andy's seafood truck. Don't miss the HUMONGOUS ice cream scoops, all homemade, from Pinocchio's; we loved your suggestions of The Island Cow ( Wombo Combo, Oh my !), Doc Ford's and The Green Flash. A tip from us: The Bubble Room is fun, but you CAN just go for cake! Thank you again Omar.

From the "First State" - Delaware: Mark, Laurie, Zach, Rebekah & Eli

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Perfect Home, Perfect Location

Review submitted: July 16, 2013   Date of arrival: April 20, 2013

Dear Omar,

Thank you for allowing us to stay at this wonderful home. It was perfect for us!! My kids loved the plethora of beach toys. The home is in a great location to the pool and most importantly the beach. With two little kids, it was nice to have such a short walk back to the home after a funfilled day at the beach. It is also located near the village area with all of its fabulous restaurants. Really this the perfect location. We had a great time. Thanks again!

NJ

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful Vacation in Captiva Home Away From Home

Review submitted: June 9, 2013   Date of arrival: May 25, 2013

Hi Omar,


Thank you for your nice note inquiring about our vacation. We had a wonderful time at your "Vacation Home". It was great being close to the beach and having the boardwalk made it much easier walking. Your home is very comfortable and the screened in porch makes a nice area to relax. Having king sized beds was an extra special offering. So many rentals in Florida don't offer that. Having access to Net Flix is a great service for guests too. We bought fresh fish from "Andy's Seafood Truck" and cooked in your kitchen several meals. Eating fresh fish is one of our favorite things to do in Florida. We don't get that where we live so it is a real treat.Thank you for having a "Home Away From Home" for northerners to enjoy.

Russ & Susan

Helpful votes: 4 / 6

 

Peaceful and homey

Review submitted: June 9, 2013   Date of arrival: February 16, 2013

We had a wonderful stay in this lovely home. The location was perfect...a two minute walk from everything...the beach, restaurants, shops and the marina and and yet tucked away in a peaceful little neighborhood. The home itself has everything you could ever need and was so cozy and welcoming! Omar is such a gracious owner and it clearly gives him joy to have others experience the beauty of Captiva! We would definitely rent this home again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Best Vacation Ever

Review submitted: May 22, 2013   Date of arrival: May 4, 2013

This is my 3rd time at this property in the past 3 years. It is awsome, everything you would ever need is here, well equipped, spotless upon check-in, beds all neatly made, plenty of bath towels, and beach towels as well. The storage shed has ample beach chairs, toys, shelling nets, rafts, umbrellas, noodles etc. for the pristine beach ,which is just steps up the lane. Across the street on the bay, we had the pleasure of watching at least 10 manatees every morning mateing and frolicking around, what a way to enjoy your morning coffee or tea! The pool is wonderful, after a sunny day on the beach too ,ocean water is great, warm crystal clear waters, we had a little wind this time upon arrival, to my suprise, brought really good shells in, my little treasures!! A fish truck comes over from Pine island twice a week, and has all kinds of seafood, fresh grouper, stone crabs, gulf shrimp, and much more, just google fish truck on captiva or Andys Seafood , it comes to the Island Store, on Andy Rosse Lane 1 block away. There is live Entertainment 7 days a week at the Mucky Duck, and Key Lime Bistro, the Duck is a quick walk( 5 minutes) on the beach from the house, in case you get a little parched and need a cold one, or want to paddle board, jet ski, banana boat, or sail. Plenty of kayacking, biking and dont forget Captiva Cruises across the street at Mccarthys Marina for some really great and resonable day trips, cant wait to return.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Beautiful home, perfect location

Review submitted: May 17, 2013   Date of arrival: April 27, 2013

We had a wonderful, much-needed vacation at this beautiful home. Couldn't have been more than 100 yards to the pool, and maybe 100 more to the beach! Fabulous restaurants a block away as well (we ate at the Key Lime Bistro at least 4 times!). Having two masters was great, as was the screened-in porch. Couldn't have asked for a better location and very grateful to Omar for all the wonderful help he provided in planning our visit.

Recommended for: families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Fabulous Vacation

Review submitted: April 11, 2013   Date of arrival: March 30, 2013

Wow! This vacation home has it all. Me, my wife and 2 kids had a great time on vacation. The house is in a perfect location, steps to the beach and restaurants, extremely clean, plenty of space, everything you have at home and an owner that truly cares about your experience. I can't say enough about our trip, exceptional. When we return to Captiva, we will look no further, this is the place!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Great Vacation Rental

Review submitted: April 1, 2013   Date of arrival: March 23, 2013

Great vacation house...all the reviews are spot on. House was very clean and comfortable. Very close to the heated pool/tennis courts. About 3-4 leisurely minutes walk to the beach. Once on the beach, only a few minutes walk to the Mucky Duck restaurant and Rosse lane. We will go back to #26 in the future. Best location in Captiva.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Charming

Review submitted: March 15, 2013   Date of arrival: March 2, 2013

We spent a week in this lovely, well appointed home. It is conveniently located near the pool and beach and the village. The home had everything we needed, including beach chairs, "toys" and beach towels. The proximity to the pool and beach was a plus and you are a very short distance to The Mucky Duck and Green Flash for dinner and libation. The neighborhood is quiet and relaxing.
The owner has provided many extras that make you feel very pampered.
I would recommend this rental to family and friends for sure!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Perfect Vacation in Captiva Home that Pampers You!

Review submitted: March 14, 2013   Date of arrival: March 2, 2013

Hi Omar:

We very much enjoyed your lovely home and the Captiva neighborhood. We found ourselves very relaxed and loved that it was so quiet. The proximity to the village, the pool and beach was perfect. We were able to see the dolphins on several occasions and couldn't believe all the Osprey's nesting. They were fun to watch.

We enjoyed your "library" and thought it was great that you provided so many movies. It was really nice to have the beach chairs and towels. I have had to rent them previously and it was a positive to have them. Also, in listening to the many renters while sitting around the pool, it sounded like many owners do not keep their properties maintained. You apparently are the exception! There was nothing that we needed or could have wanted (except for warmer weather)! We felt very pampered. If we travel back to Captiva, we will certainly revisit your home.

So again. many thanks for allowing us to share your home.

My Best,

Loraine

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

This is the place to be!!!!!!

Review submitted: February 25, 2013   Date of arrival: February 9, 2013

Omar,

This was the second stay, second consecutive year we have stayed in your home. Your home can be summed up as, "simply the best". From the first day we arrived to our to last day of our stay, your unit provided the comfort and relaxation we were seeking. Always clean and inviting, the unit is a jewel. Your concern for our well being during our stay was also a nice touch and gave us assurance as to the quality rental your unit provided.

We will be back again and hope the time we chose is available. Such a wonderful area complimented by your well maintained home. Your home provides all the comforts one can expect. We just had to show up, which we did. The week went way too fast.

Thanks again for your concern and attention to the details.

Always the best.

Jon and Pam

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Unforgettable Vacation in Perfect Captiva Home

Review submitted: February 13, 2013   Date of arrival: January 26, 2013

Hi Omar,


We had a wonderful time in your home!! It was great to be with everyone, and especially spend some time with our nephew (who loved the pool!). Your home was perfect for what we were looking for. We had everything we needed for sure. I can't really think of anything that would have made the experience better for us. We were looking for a comfortable place to stay somewhere relaxing and quiet. And that is just what we got :)

Thank you for sharing your home with us. It will definitely be a vacation we will not forget (we already made a video of clips and photos we took!).

Best,
Nicole

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Stay in Incredibly Comfortable Captiva Home

Review submitted: February 5, 2013   Date of arrival: January 19, 2013

Hi Omar,

We had a lovely stay in your home on Captiva. It was very clean and we appreciated all of the thoughtful details such as towels (beach and bath), soaps (body, dish and laundry), the welcome basket, beach supplies (so great!), foil and baggies, etc. It was incredibly comfortable.

We were so pleased with the location of your house and the pool. The community was inviting and the pool so warm and clean.

We look forward to another stay at your lovely home! We'll be in touch.

Warmly,

Andrew

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Incredible Birthday in Captiva

Review submitted: January 23, 2013   Date of arrival: January 12, 2013

Good Afternoon Omar,

Our vacation and Shawn's birthday was amazing !!!!!!!!!! The above average temp (low to mid 80's) were a bonus. (temp in Sparta NJ at 6 this morning....4 degrees and Shawn has to work outside in it) We really enjoyed your home (comfortable, stylish, perfect location and everything you would need to function), thank you for sharing. Sunrises at Jensens Marina to Sunsets on the beach, Capt. Jeff had us on fish from start to finish, we caught 9 different species, everything but Red Fish which was on Shawn's dads bucket list. Oh well, we'll have to come back again next year. Our 2nd charter trip got cancelled at the last minute due to Capt. Roy heart/health issues emergency room, etc. Just as well, that front came thru around noon and the seas got wicked, the waves were just like we get at the Jersey shore, crazy right ? ! . Silver lining.......shelling Friday at 6 am was incredible. Having the cart, coolers, beach chairs & towels, etc. was great and convenient, thanks so much.

We'll be in touch to see your availability to schedule for next year. Thanks again.

Lisa & Shawn

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Captiva is Amazing!

Review submitted: January 20, 2013   Date of arrival: December 29, 2012

Hi Omar,


We absolutely love Captiva! It was amazing! By the end of the week we weren't even wearing our watches...we were officially on island time. :)
The kids loved the pool and all the wildlife. We saw dolphins, manatees, and Charlie the blue heron.

We really appreciated all of the beach toys and chairs you had under the house. And the loft with the two twin beds were perfect for our kids.

Thank you for letting us stay at your house in beautiful Captiva!


Sarah

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

You won't need a car

Review submitted: January 14, 2013   Date of arrival: January 5, 2013

Omar,
The location couldn't have been more perfect. Everything was within VERY easy walking distance. The week we were there the weather was perfect 80's and sunny.
Went fishing, shelling, fishing, shelling, shelling ... did I mention shelling.
The pool was perfecting heated and maintained. The house was very clean and comfortable and felt just like a home. The food was on the expensive side but normal Boston prices. For the most part the quality was there and the service was good. This was a very relaxing vacation. Thanks again we will be back!!!

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Look no further!!

Review submitted: December 30, 2012   Date of arrival: December 1, 2012

We've been visiting Captiva on and off for over 18 years, and we finally found the perfect place to stay. Omar is the perfect host, he will go to any length to assure that you are having a wonderful time and that everything is available for you. The house was impeccably clean when we arrived and stocked with everything needed to enjoy your stay at the pool and/or the beach. If you enjoy nature, as we do, make sure you hook up with George the caretaker who will share his wonderful stories and photographs of the Everglades and surrounding environs with you. Make sure to check out the dock on the Bay side of the street that is also part of the property, it is a wonderful alternative to spending the quiet hour before sunset reading a book, watching seabirds and manatees, or trying to hook up one of the lunker snook hiding under the dock :-) We definitely plan to stay here again on our next trip

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful!

Review submitted: December 27, 2012   Date of arrival: December 15, 2012

My family and I decided to visit Captiva for the holidays to "get out of the cold". We had amazing weather and even greater vacation. Omar's home was perfect and his hospitality even better. He made sure everything was perfect from our arrival to our departure. The pool and beach were a short walk from his house and easy even for our 4 year-old. Thank you for letting us stay in your home. We would most definitely come back!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Perfect location

Review submitted: December 4, 2012   Date of arrival: November 17, 2012

Omar - we had a fabulous vacation. Your home was located perfectly for our needs. The welcome basket you left was much appreciated. We found the pool, outdoor bathrooms, grill area all to be taken care of and kept very clean. The beach towels and the chairs, noodles, etc. came in very handy. We were able to enjoy the many restaurants on the island as well as some you recommended in Sanibel. Also, we found Baileys to be a great shopping experience for us. Some of us have a gluten/wheat allergy and the supermarket had many products that accommodated this which was definitely a bonus! Our daughters were grateful for the internet access in your home so they could finish up their college work, etc. We thoroughly enjoyed our first Captiva vacation in your home and hope to return again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Amazing Week

Review submitted: December 3, 2012   Date of arrival: November 10, 2012

My husband, our one year old daughter and I stayed at Omar's wonderful home the week of November 10, 2012. We loved every minute of our stay. Omar was a gracious host and was very helpful and knowledgeable. His home is in the PERFECT location - less than a five minute walk to the beach and a five minute walk to all of the restaurants in town. He truly did have every imaginable item necessary for a great day at the beach. We loved going to Jensen's Marina in the morning to see the manatees, taking long walks looking for shells on the beach and catching the sunset every night. We would highly recommend Omar's home and are in the process of figuring out our next trip. Thanks for everything!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful Family Vacation in Lovely Captiva Home!!

Review submitted: December 2, 2012   Date of arrival: October 13, 2012

Dear Omar,

Your beach home in Captiva was such a wonderful two week getaway for our family. This was our first time at your beautiful home but our family has spent many wonderful weeks at Sunset Captiva with our children and grandchildren! Your lovely and warm home added to a special time for us and has become our favorite. Our grandchildren are all in or finishing college and our youngest daughter and son in law joined us this year. We loved watching the sunrise each morning across the street and equally enjoyed many beautiful sunsets at your beautiful beach. This location has truly been touched by the Lord. As our last two days are winding down and we head back to Missouri we say thank you for sharing this lovely home with our family. We say so long for now but God willing we'll return.

Pete and Mary Ellen

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Our First Captiva Vacation...Fabulous!!

Review submitted: December 2, 2012   Date of arrival: November 17, 2012

Dear Omar,

We had a fabulous vacation. Your home was located perfectly for our needs. We found the pool, outdoor bathrooms and grill area all to be well taken care of and kept very clean. The beach towels and the chairs, noodles, etc. that you provide came in very handy. We were able to enjoy the many restaurants on the island as well as some you recommended in Sanibel. Also, we found Baileys to be a great shopping experience for us. Some of us have a gluten/wheat allergy and the supermarket had many products that accommodated this which was definitely a bonus! Our daughters were grateful for the internet access in your home so they could finish up their college work, etc. We thoroughly enjoyed our first Captiva vacation in your home and hope to return again. Thanks again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Week! Our High Expectations Were Exceeded!!!

Review submitted: November 15, 2012   Date of arrival: November 3, 2012

Omar,
Thanks for your note. We enjoyed immensely our week's stay in your beautiful home on Captiva. You have done an excellent job of preparing for guests to be most comfortable and completely enjoy their stay. We found the home equipped beyond our expectations with necessities and useful items for our stay.
We will certainly include your home in our planning when we return to Captiva and could readily recommend it to others who might be interested.

Thank you again and best wishes for wonderful holidays.
Bill B.

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Two Weeks In Paradise! Beautiful and Relaxing Home

Review submitted: November 5, 2012   Date of arrival: October 19, 2012

Dear Omar,

You have been an out-standing host for our family. We had a wonderful two weeks just to relax.Your home was beautiful and well furnished. We were very comfortable and relaxed.

We would like to use your home again and will get back to you with the dates.


Have a Blessed Thanksgiving with your family.

Also Blessed Christmas and New Years.

Blessings!


Pete and Mary Ellen

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Our First Stay in our Captiva Slice of Heaven!!!

Review submitted: October 29, 2012   Date of arrival: October 2, 2012

Dear Omar,

We have absolutely loved every day of our first but hopefully not last stay at your lovely beach home! Sitting out on the decks is like living in your own private tree house with all of the tropical foliage surrounding us. The peaceful nature of the beach, the sun, the warm Gulf waters and the Dolphins all combine to make Captiva a little slice of Heaven! We hate to leave but reality rears its ugly head. Omar, you have thought of everything for the comfort of your guests - we wanted for nothing. We had great fishing, shelling and beaching!

Linda

PS: Every restaurant you recommended was great especially the "Island Cow". We would like to add Pinnochios to your list for their ice cream. Yummy!!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Our Best Vacation in Years!!

Review submitted: October 18, 2012   Date of arrival: September 13, 2012

Dear Omar,
Your home was an absolute delight in every sense of the word. Our family hasn't had such a comfortable, relaxing vacation in years. You described your home and its amenities clearly to us in our emails and phone calls but if anything, I think you understated just how incredible your home and the area really is. We arrived on Saturday afternoon to a very clean and fresh smelling home and as we walked from room to room were impressed with the quality of the furniture and the beauty of the decorations. We spent a lot of time on the beautiful outdoor patios, the beach and spacious pool. Sunsets on the beach, accompanied by a good bottle of wine, were glorious. As you said, we didn't need to move the car all week. Everything that we needed was a short walk away including some great restaurants, The Green Flash and The Bubble Room. Thanks for all of the beach stuff that you provide including the toys for the children. The beds which are always a problem for me when I travel were as ( or more ) comfortable than my own. My only complaint is that our time there was too short, but plan to remedy that by reserving for two weeks next year. I'll be calling you soon to reserve our two weeks in " Paradise". Omar you've been an amazing host and we're so glad to have found your beach home. Thanks for everything!

Nat

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Island Paradise

Review submitted: October 17, 2012   Date of arrival: September 29, 2012

This property was everything promised and more. Great location, beautifully appointed, everything you need for a wonderful family vacation. We would highly recommend this property.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful Two Week Stay. We Can't Wait to Return.

Review submitted: October 16, 2012   Date of arrival: October 4, 2012

Dear Omar,

We had a very wonderful two weeks. We would also like to thank you and your family for allowing us the use of you beautiful island home. It was comfortable from our first day till our last day and felt right at home.There is nothing we would have you change and we found everything as you promised. We will keep your web site and phone # book marked, there is a possibilty we would like to rent again after the holidays and first of the year, if you have an opening.

We wish you and your family well.

Barry & Linda

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Home, Great Food and Great Times.

Review submitted: October 15, 2012   Date of arrival: September 24, 2012

Omar,

What a wonderful week we had here in Captiva - your home left us wanting for nothing. We were amazed with all of the beach equipment you had - the home was soooo comfortable! We felt completely at home. For future guests, my husband and I recommend eating at Metzaluna, the Island Cow and the Blue Giraffe... all Excellent restaurants.

We enjoyed all of your amazing balconies...loved the fish chairs outside of your beautiful master bedroom, the fish swings and the large hammock on the ground floor. You thoughtfully have provided "everything" for your guests to enjoy their best vacation ever.

Thanks so much for everything!


Rae and Rich

NJ

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

All of the Comforts of Home in Captiva

Review submitted: October 15, 2012   Date of arrival: September 15, 2012

Dear Omar,

We had a wonderful week at your home and on the Island. Our entire family enjoyed the comfort and location of your home. We have stayed on Sanibel Island several times, but this year on Captiva in your beautiful home has ruined us! We may never stay on Sanibel island again:). Thanks for providing us with all of the "comforts of home" including top of the line cooking utensils and the wide variety of spices.

It was a wonderful week for all of us.

The White Family

P.S. We loved all of the movies in your Library!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

wonderful

Review submitted: October 2, 2012   Date of arrival: September 22, 2012

From the moment my Wife and I stepped in the front door of Omar's home we knew we were in for a great week. As we walked around we noticed the place was spotless, and there wasn't a thing that the owner forgot from all the utensils in the kitchen to the furnishing and wall deco right down to the beach towels in the laundry. Talking about the beach, under the house in the shed is everything you need, chairs, umbrellas, floats, and plenty of toys for the kids. We had a wonderful time on Captiva, the restaurants were excellent, the beach was beautiful,the pool in the complex was lovely, and the house was great. We wouldn't hesitate to go back again. Thanks Omar, Rae and Rich

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Fabulous Time in our Captiva Home Away from Home

Review submitted: September 4, 2012   Date of arrival: July 28, 2012

Dear Omar,

As always, we had a fabulous time! We feel as though we are right at home in your place. Thank you for allowing us to have our friends join us. They loved it as well! And, we finally convinced Frank's dad to fly down and join us (after the first crew shipped out, of course). He was in heaven out on the screened porch and enjoyed walks to the village as well as swimming in the pool.
Sunset Captiva is the perfect location for us. We love having boat dockage and being so close to the village. George is awesome, always there to help and we enjoy early morning conversations with him at the pool.

Hopefully, we will be able to return next summer. Our oldest is a high school senior, so she will be preparing for college. Aah! We'll be in touch as soon as we know our plans.

Tami

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We found our home away from home in Captiva!

Review submitted: August 30, 2012   Date of arrival: August 11, 2012

Dear Omar

Thank you for letting our family enjoy your home for the last week. My sister and I LOVED the fish room! While we were here, we kayaked, parasailed and made a road trip to Orlando. We saw beautiful sunsets every day from your beautiful beach. When we parasailed, we saw a huge sea turtle and a Dolphin! We loved all of the different decorations around your home as well. This was our home away from home. So thanks again for opening up your lovely home to us!

Jordan, Lindsey and Brian

Littleton, Co

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Our Third Year in a Row in Beautiful Captiva Home

Review submitted: August 27, 2012   Date of arrival: July 28, 2012

Dear Omar,
Thank you very much for sharing your home for a third straight year! It was absolutely wonderful. We enjoyed having company this year! And thank you for working with the accommodations that come with having extra people in your beautiful home. We really enjoyed these two weeks and wish we could stay longer! Thank you for helping make our vacation possible!

Mia

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great family vacation in warm Captiva home!

Review submitted: August 26, 2012   Date of arrival: June 30, 2012

Dear Omar,

Thank you for opening your warm home to us. We really enjoyed our stay here and will hopefully be able to return. We enjoyed dinner at the Mucky Duck. My husband and son enjoyed shelling and we went out on a charter boat for fishing and brought back enough for dinner and some to take home! We enjoyed all of the wildlife. We saw Manatees, jumping fish, Dolphins and many birds. The sunsets were beautiful! We enjoyed watching them on many evenings. Your home is very child friendly! We have an eight year old and a 16 month old that enjoyed all of great beach toys that you provide. I enjoyed having my toes in the warm gulf waters for most of this trip. Thank you again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Exceptional Hospitality, Wonderful Vacation Home

Review submitted: August 5, 2012   Date of arrival: July 21, 2012

Dear Omar,

Thank you very much for letting us share your home. It was a wonderful vacation. I had not been to Florida for 15 years and it was as beautiful as I remembered. Everyone absolutely enjoyed themselves. You have done a wonderful job in making sure everything we needed was there, not so in many places we have stayed. It was so convenient to have all the necessities without having to make sure we brought them from Kentucky! Your hospitality from the get go has been exceptional. I really appreciate your attention to all the little details.
I hope you are feeling better than when we last spoke. I was sorry to hear you were under the weather.
If we return to Captiva you will be top on the list!
Thank you again
Debbie

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Dream vacation comes true in magnificent home

Review submitted: July 4, 2012   Date of arrival: June 23, 2012

"You can design, create and build the most wonderful place in the world but it takes people to make that dream a reality"

Walt Disney

Omar,
Your magnificent home helped make our dream vacation a reality and for that, we thank you so much! Your home was absolutely perfect for the 2 adults, 2 teens and 2 kids that we had! We also love the Manatee decor around the home!

Our trip here was fantastic! In the beginning we had a few rough spots with "tropical storm Debby" but that didn't stop us from having fun! We tasted delicious key lime pie at the "Key Lime Bistro" and had a great time at the "Mucky Duck". However, our favorite place to eat was most definitely "R.C. Otters".The live music was such a nice touch to me...nicest stuff!

The beach was the best part of the vacation though! The 6 and 3 year olds played out there for HOURS! We found soooo many shells too! We will miss the beach the most!

Thank you soooo much for a grand stay! We hope to be back soon!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Awesome time, incredible home, gorgeous beach

Review submitted: July 4, 2012   Date of arrival: June 2, 2012

Dear Omar,

We want to thank you for allowing us to stay in your beautiful home! Your home is exactly as promised and offers even more than we needed. I must admit that we spent about 90% of our time at the beach ( which was absolutely gorgeous ) but found it a pleasure to come "home" to your beach house. The beds were extra comfortable (our 3 year old slept like a log in the loft), the rooms are spacious, the kitchen is fully equipped, the lanais are beautifully decorated... I could go on and on, not to mention the great linens and beach accessories that we enjoyed immensely. We know we chose the right home because we had an awesome time!

Thanks again!

Courtne and family

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

It Gets Better With Each Visit

Review submitted: June 16, 2012   Date of arrival: April 21, 2012

I can't believe two months passed since our third visit to Omar's great beach house at Sunset Captiva on Captiva Island. This visit was our best to date. As a return renter it's a pleasure to see how Omar continues to provide the best possible accommodations for a super tropical vacation. Nothing is overlooked and you get a warm and fuzzy feeling the minute you enter this beautiful and impeccably clean home. Everything is just so comfortable. You won't find many vacation home owners who desire the great vacation experience for their renters as does Omar.

Captiva Island is just paradise. We walk every where and rarely drive a car. Sunset Captiva has a great beach and pool, the village area has great restaurants and shops and the island has great weather. It's so quaint and quiet. What a perfect place to just "chill out" for a week. If you feel the need to venture from the island, I recommend using the services available from the two marinas across the road from Sunset Captiva. They both offer any type of boating or fishing adventure you can imagine. I don't want to forget the sunsets. Stunning sunsets!! You'll get sunset photos suitable for framing. Better sunsets than I ever saw in Key West.

We hope to return this Fall and definitely early next Spring again. Treat yourself to a vacation you'll hope will never end and reserve a week at Omar's beach home on Captiva Island. We did!! Three times so far.

Thank you Omar for another great vacation!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

What a great place!

Review submitted: June 10, 2012   Date of arrival: June 2, 2012

We do a lot of traveling and have been many different places, but this was our first time to Captiva and it's crystal clear to us that we made the right choice for accomodations. This house offered everything we needed and more for the perfect beach vacation. It had the most comfortable beds, beautiful lanais, a great loft-type bedroom for our 3-year old (which he absolutely loved), nice-sized family room, fully equipped kitchen, an abundance of DVD's, a Netflix account, beach toys....I could go on and on! It's a couple of minutes walk to the beach without having to cross any busy roads. You also pass a great pool with grills (which we used to cook some delicious steaks) along the way. It's very apparent the type of time and effort Omar and his family have put into making this house a wonderful home. Equally as important, Omar is responsive, polite, thoughtful, and is intent on ensuring his renters have everything they need. This experience really could not have been any better than it was!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great vacation in Captiva. We will be back!

Review submitted: June 8, 2012   Date of arrival: May 12, 2012

Dear Omar,

What a house! What a time! We had such a wonderful time in your gorgeous home. We have been to many beautiful beaches and your beach is one of the best! We love all of the sea birds and the warm water. We shelled everyday and our daughter Colleen was an expert. We are going home with quite the collection. Speaking of a collection, we loved all of the wonderful artwork on the walls of your perfectly decorated home.

Seeing the manatee's was another thrill. We walked over several times and every time saw some. We also saw many passing dolphins while we sat on the beach.

Being close to the village was great with all of the great restaurants.The girls especially liked the home made ice cream and they put their dollar on the ceiling of the Mexican restaurant. We will look for it when we return to Captiva and to your lovely home. Thank you Omar and God Bless.

Love,
Jill, Denny, Jess and Colleen

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A Week in Paradise

Review submitted: June 1, 2012   Date of arrival: May 3, 2012

Dear Omar,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful home!! Captiva has to be one of the most beautiful and relaxing vacations I have ever experienced! The weather was perfect all week, the water was warm, so warm that we found ourselves in it for hours at a time.

We were so blessed with several sunsets, one more spectacular than the other and yes... we saw our first "Green Flash" Wow, so very exciting.

The Mucky Duck was always a beach goers dream for an ice cold beer, the Key Lime Bistro had a great Bass player one evening - Seaside Margarita...Yum.

The beauty of the Island and all that it affords with the many trees and flowers being such a gift. We enjoyed visiting "our" Manatee each morning at Jensen's.. Mom and two calves .. so sweet! A boat excursion to Yuseppa Island brought us to a group of Dolphins who put on quite a show, leaping and riding our wake for fun! LOVED IT!! Thanks to my friend for allowing me to share this wonderful week.

Mary

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

BreathTaking

Review submitted: May 27, 2012   Date of arrival: April 28, 2012

Dear Omar,

"Life is not measured by how many breaths we take but how many breaths we take away."

Each day here was breathless - beautiful - wonderful - and most of all relaxing - truly. Your home is a prescription for relaxation. Thank you so much. Dolphins - warm water - sea shells - great walks and great company with my best friend Peggy.

Thank you Omar. I will be back.

Trish

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

FABULOUS HOUSE. IMMACULATE, BEAUTIFULLY DECORATED

Review submitted: May 24, 2012   Date of arrival: May 12, 2012

Don't hesitate to rent this house. It is gorgeous. We had a wonderful time. It is in a great location. 1 block from town where the grocery store and restaurants are. Right across the street at the Jensen Marina is where the Manatees come up everyday. The boardwalk to the beach is really well kept. The private beach for the complex is beautiful, not real busy. The passing by of all the beautiful seabirds was wonderful. If you like to shell, it is one of the best shelling beaches in the nation. I could of brought home 50 lbs. of shells but I limited myself. The house has everything you need, beach umbrellas, beach chairs, boogie board, floating noodles, and all the necessary sand buckets and shovels for your little ones. Their isn't anything they forget at this home. We are going back next year. It is our new vacation spot. We normally go the Cape Cod, but this is far more beautiful and certainly not as crowded. The water was 80 degrees is nearly as green as the Caribbean. You will really enjoy staying at this beautiful home in a private community.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Beautiful Home+Attentive Owner = Perfect Vacation

Review submitted: April 30, 2012   Date of arrival: April 7, 2012

Dear Omar,

Your lovely home and your attentive service throughout the process definitely exceeded our expectations. I mentioned some of our favorite things in my journal entry - the screened private porch, the retractable clothesline, the comfortable beds, the well stocked kitchen, the hammock and swings, a good starting supply of paper products and dishwasher detergent, the sun/moon deck off the master bedroom, the proximity to restaurants and shops. I have racked my brain and can find no room for improvement, you do an outstanding job! The e-mail with directions and shopping/restaurant tips is extremely helpful too.

Take care Omar, it was a pleasure to work with you. We will recommend your lovely home to any of our friends who plan to visit Captiva.

Sincerely,

Mary

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Super Clean,Comfortable and Perfectly Located Home

Review submitted: April 23, 2012   Date of arrival: April 14, 2012

Hi Omar.

We had a fantastic vacation in Captiva this past week! The location of your home was perfect for our family of five as we could easily walk to and from the beach, pool and little town area. For us convenience was a top priority in our rental choice and we were not disappointed. As a person who uses Home Away and VRBO for rentals throughout the year, it is not always easy to asses home quality by the photos. I read the prior reviews of your home and I have to agree with everyone as far as cleanliness and the comfortable feel of your home. It did not feel as though I was in a rental property at all during our stay. I appreciate all of the efforts you put into making your home current and comfortable from the towels, sheets (great quality), welcome basket as well as the furnishings which gave us the exact beach feel we were looking for. As someone who has a high standard for cleanliness, I was pleasantly surprised at how clean the home was upon arrival. You have a fantastic cleaner who obviously does not cut corners and pays attention to detail when cleaning. The home was spotless when we arrived with not one spec of sand anywhere on the floor, bedding, porch etc. As you know with small children, you sometimes find yourself "back at the house" a lot so I really appreciated the clean and home like feel of the house while we were there. Even the little shed where all the pool toys are kept was spotless (it was like a summer Christmas for the kids when they saw all of the beach toys =)

We had an absolutely wonderful time in Captiva and it was made possible in part by your home and gracious hospitality. I really appreciate that you checked in with us upon arrival and gave me some pointers of where to go so I had an idea of where to start and what to look for. I also appreciate your help with the crib rental/ placement etc. before we arrived. My husband has been to Captiva several times and has been trying to get me to go for years. Well this was the year and we will definitely be back! We hope to rent your home again the same time next year so I will be in touch soon to reserve my spot :)

Thank you again so much for enabling us to have a such a wonderful and memorable stay in Captiva.

Best to you -

Jen

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great house, perfect location

Review submitted: April 17, 2012   Date of arrival: March 3, 2012

My family was so pleased with our stay here. The house was impeccably clean, well stocked, and ideally situated, with the beach, the bay, the pool, tennis courts, and a number of restaurants within a short walk. With only 2 tennis courts in the development I was afraid it would be hard to find one free, but we were the only people we saw using them while we were there. My favorite room of the house was the screened in porch. It actually felt cozy during a rain storm our first morning there! We were 7 people, ranging in age from 2 1/2 to 82, and it worked out great for all of us.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Glorious Vacation in Incredible Home in Captiva

Review submitted: April 15, 2012   Date of arrival: April 7, 2012

Dear Omar,

We had a glorious week in your lovely home. You have truly thought of every last detail to make your guests feel at home here.

Your beach is spectacular, the shady boardwalk out there is great after a hot day and your screened in porch is a private respite with all of the tropical vegetation around it. We loved being able to walk everywhere... The Green Flash for lunch on Easter, The Bubble Room (amazing cake!!), Latte Da for ice cream. We didn't go far with one exception - we took a cruise to the Edison Ford Winter Estates in Ft. Myers from MacCarthy's marina (Captiva cruises) for a tour of the estate and museum - highly recommended! Hate to leave... but we hope to be back soon. Thank you so much!

Mary & Mark

PS: Excellent Beds too! Our backs are happy :)

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The Ultimate in Comfort with Fantastic Amenities

Review submitted: April 2, 2012   Date of arrival: March 24, 2012

Hi Omar~

We are back in the swing of things in Indianapolis! Our week in Captiva couldn't have been any better! Thank you for providing such a comfortable place to hang our hats last week. The wireless internet,netflix and swings were really a nice touch. You have a great location and a beautiful home! We would like to rent next year if your place is available. Our break is early next year, starting on the week of March 16. Let me know.

Catherine

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Fun, relaxation and Dolphins too. Simply the best!

Review submitted: March 25, 2012   Date of arrival: March 17, 2012

Omar,
Thank you for opening your home to us and making it SO comfortable. Everything we needed was right here - really - most welcome after a long travel. The weather was perfect every day, the people friendly and the time relaxing.... what else could you ask for?...maybe a dolphin siting?.. Yes that too! Our vacation could not have been better!

Thank you again Omar.

Shirley
Ohio

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Perfect Location, Ultimate Comfort, Great Memories

Review submitted: March 25, 2012   Date of arrival: February 25, 2012

Dear Omar,

Thank you for sharing your beautiful and most comfortable home in Captiva with us! We had everything we needed and wanted in a vacation spot. We love the location!It is close to restaurants and shops, but yet it feels secluded. The beach is a short walk and the pool is great and well maintained.

It has been a memorable week for us and our daughter and her family. We have many wonderful pictures to help us remember how much fun we had!

Our sincere thanks!

Bob & Ginny
Ill

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We can't wait to come back

Review submitted: March 25, 2012   Date of arrival: March 3, 2012

After having my own home on Sanibel for 20 years, I didn't think that I would ever find a rental property as nice as my own home. But I was wrong! Everything is perfect here. The beds were very comfortable and all of the towels and linens were Ritz quality. We were private and secluded yet we walked to the Bubble Room !!! We can't wait to come back!!

Ken and De Linda

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Our New Home Away From Home

Review submitted: March 22, 2012   Date of arrival: March 10, 2012

Hello Omar,

We had an absolutely wonderful time and appreciated all your home made available to us---from books to puzzles to movies...so thoughtful.

When we return, we'll definitely choose your home for its beauty and completeness. Thank you so much!!!


Shirley

"The best way to find yourself is to lose yourself in the service of others." Ghandi

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Oasis in Paradise

Review submitted: March 11, 2012   Date of arrival: March 3, 2012

Omar. Your home was just what we needed,an oasis from the drabness of our NJ/DC/OH winters.The home was clean,well-stocked,and perfectly situated.When not at the beach or pool, the porch was one of our favorite places to be.We ate breakfast and lunch out there and just sat and talked.The proximity to so many restaurants and conveniences is such a plus; we were able to walk everywhere.We thoroughly enjoyed our week and wouldn't hesitate to come again or recommend your home to family and friends.

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

A peaceful, private gem

Review submitted: March 10, 2012   Date of arrival: February 25, 2012

If your best friend was coming to stay in your guest house, you couldn't make it any nicer than the owner of this house does for his guests. For starters it is in a perfect location. Captiva can get a little hustle and bustley. You can walk from this house to the hustle and bustle when you want it and then escape back to the privacy and solitude of your of your own south seas island. Although you are in a community of other homes, the house is surrounded by lush tropical vegetation which gives you the feeling of being all by yourself. Step out your door and a beautiful pool is just across the sandy lane. A few more steps and you are on a little board walk which takes you to the beach. Although you can't see it from the beach, The Mucky Duck is just a few steps to the right. They have an outdoor bar to provide you with a glass of wine with which to watch the sunset. It is amazing how thirsty you can get waiting for that glowing ball to drop! Go a few steps in the other direction from your front door and you are on the main road in Captiva. It is an easy walk to the shops and restaurants along that road and Andy Rossi Lane. You must go to The Bubble Room and I suggest you go early in your stay because the left overs will feed you for most of your week.

The inside of the house is perfect! The beds are all first class and very comfortable. All the linen is of the best quality. The two bathrooms were spotless and also outfitted with the very best quality towels. If you would need anything in your own home to be comfortable, you will probably find it in this house. The kitchen has new, very clean appliances and everything you need to cook a complete meal including a spice rack! The owner even provides you with snacks and all you need to make your morning coffee. The great room was very comfortable with a giant HD TV. There was a large DVD collection, games, and books. This house is perfect for two couples vacationing together or a family with three or four kids. On your trip out to the house, stop at Bailey's for a couple of their double thick Porter House Steaks. The commercial quality barbecue grill next to the pool cooked them to perfection!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Love Captiva

Review submitted: March 2, 2012   Date of arrival: February 11, 2012

We had a wonderful stay at Omar’s house! My family of five and my mother made the trip to Captiva in February. The island of Captiva was truly the perfect place for our three young girls (5, 3, and 9 months) and us. We have traveled throughout Mexico and the Caribbean and we were so pleasantly surprised by the beaches and island of Captiva. Everything was within walking distance of Omar’s house. We would visit the manatee, take walks to get ice cream, stop at the general store for supplies, eat at the fun kid friendly restaurants, walk the beach at sunset, swim in the heated pool, collect shells, and ENJOY the dolphins! Omar had everything we needed for our beach experience and tons of pool toys. The house also has a fully stocked kitchen, which we took advantage of many nights. Omar really went out of his way to make sure we were informed and had everything we needed. I can’t wait to come back!!

Thanks,
Andrea and Family

Recommended for: families with young children, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Perfect Family Vacation

Review submitted: February 19, 2012   Date of arrival: February 11, 2012

We have traveled to many places and I must say we were so pleasantly surprised by Captiva! What an amazing place here in the states! This was the perfect family vacation for us and our 3 young daughters. The shelling, Dolphins, fishing and gorgeous sunsets all added to the magic! Omar, thanks for everything!

Andrea & Family

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Our Favorite Vacation Ever!!!!

Review submitted: February 19, 2012   Date of arrival: February 4, 2012

Omar and Family,

What a lovely home - OUR FAVORITE VACATION. Just perfect in every way. We enjoyed every minute here! As the commercial says:

PRICELESS !!

Thank you,

Pam & Jon

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

ENCORE, ENCORE !!!!!!

Review submitted: January 23, 2012   Date of arrival: October 15, 2011

It's been several months since our stay in Omar's Captiva beach house but I wanted to write this review as a returning guest.

We returned for many reasons; Captiva's beautiful beach, the tranquility of the island and the excellent restaurants available but Omar's beach house is absolute heaven. We loved it as much the second time and we immediately reserved for our next visit in April, 2012. We found our place in paradise. The home is furnished perfectly and the cleanliness is off the charts. It rained a few days during our visit so we didn't use the grills in the pool area but cooked at the house. The kitchen had everything we needed to cook meals and more. Candlelight dinners in the screened lanai while listening to the rain drops bounce on the leaves of tropical plants surrounding the house were almost intoxicating. Let it rain!

Omar provides everything you might need for a great week in Captiva. What a gracious host! As a returning guest, I feel he is always looking to upgrade his home. Many home renters give you the same old experience, year after year. He wants every guest to have a Captiva experience they will talk about for years. He is genuine with his concern for your comfort and I doubt there is little he wouldn't provide to insure the best vacation.

We can't wait to return to Captiva Island and once again enjoy Omar's beach house and his wonderful hospitality. One week is simply not long enough. Do yourself a favor a reserve two weeks.

Recommended for: age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Beautiful house, wonderful location, lots of amenities, and attentive owner

Review submitted: January 3, 2012   Date of arrival: December 24, 2011

We stayed here between Christmas and New Year's and feel so fortunate to have found such a great house to spend time in. It really is not just a house, but a home with every amenity we needed to enjoy time at the beach or pool, playing tennis, or just relaxing. The kitchen is very well-equipped with updated appliances and everything you need to cook whatever you like. There are plenty of beach chairs, towels, and toys. Lots of books, games, movies, and 3 HDTVs, too. The whole house is very clean; the beds are comfortable, and there are lots of spaces for relaxing and lounging.
We loved the pool, tennis courts, grill, and easy access to the beach and the town of Captiva.
Omar, the owner, was very helpful and easy to work with. He is professional in every way and treated us with care throughout the rental process. What an attentive owner and gracious host.
We would definitely rent this house again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thanksgiving 2011

Review submitted: December 12, 2011   Date of arrival: November 19, 2011

Hi Omar,
Your home is fantastic! We were lucky to spend our Thanksgiving vacation in your comfortable Captiva home. Our family lives in Gaithersburg,MD and my Grandparents live in Tampa,Fl. This was a fantastic place to meet up and spend time together. We loved the beach, pool and tennis courts! My Grandmother and I always looked forward to our morning walks on the beach! We gathered a great collection of unique shells and are looking forward to returning next Thanksgiving!:) Sincerely, Caitlin,Kevin, Mark and Janice, Richard and Yvonne

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Loved everything about your home

Review submitted: December 12, 2011   Date of arrival: November 12, 2011

Omar, it looks like we are not the first to love this place...and indeed we did! Great, comfortable home and your furnishings and decor are fabulous. Ir was an exhausting pace... going to the beach, then the pool, then lunch and a nap! Then back to the beach for sunset, then dinner and chatting on your wonderful porch. It was tough,but we tried our best!:) Loved going to Cayo Costa and collecting shells. Fond regards Steve and Serena, Marcia and Tom

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Best Captiva Vacation Ever

Review submitted: December 12, 2011   Date of arrival: November 4, 2011

Dear Omar,

Has anyone ever told you that you have the gift of hospitality? Your beach home with all of its special touches is a testimony to this. We have felt so "at home" here. Our kids have said over and over how comfortable they are. They loved the "fish room", the loft and the beach toy bonanza downstairs :). Pete and I really enjoyed starry nights out on the balcony.
These past two weeks have been so full of memories and fun. This has been our best stay ( since our honeymoon ) here in Captiva.

Highlights:
1. The amazing shelling ( post storm ). Huge shell mounds!
2. Dolphins playing within feet of us!
3. Shooting stars/ moonlit tag on the beach
4. Baby manatee at Jensen's
5. The Mullet Parade / Halloween tent party at Tween Waters
6. Trick or treating at Sanibel Community Church
7. 12 mile bike ride through Ding Darling
8. Peeking inside Chapel-by-the-sea. After 15 years of visiting Captiva it was open. :)
9. Waking up to the Osprey calls daily.
10. Morning jogs at Sunrise. Nightly walks in the moonlight.

We are looking forward to returning in May! Until then...

Blessings,
Pete, Melissa and family

P.S. The cute little pop up playhouse made our little guys day. We set it up under the stairs and he had such a blast. Also, our girls love the library. The ladies there are so kind and they have a great selection of books/DVD's.

If you end up in our neck of the woods, please shoot us an email. We would love to go out to dinner with you. :)

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Awesome Vacation!!!

Review submitted: December 12, 2011   Date of arrival: October 15, 2011

Omar,
Your place is awesome. My family and I enjoyed our time here and made many memories. All of the great beach "stuff" you have downstairs made our beach experience that much more enjoyable. It sure beats renting it! It seems that you have thought of everything possible that a family could need to completely enjoy their beach vacation. We hope to return here in a couple of years. Thanks again for sharing your place with us.

The Held and Stone Family

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

THE GREATEST!!! 5++++ STARS

Review submitted: October 14, 2011   Date of arrival: August 27, 2011

This is our third consecutive year in Omar's magnificent beach home. As always the home was immaculately clean and filled with amenities that you usually don't find in a mere rental. We look forward to our week in Captiva all year long and when we arrive are never disappointed. It seems like just when we think that the home can not be any more comfortable, the owners make more improvements. This year we were delighted to find that Omar had purchased three HD TV's with three HD DVD players and added NetFlix so in the evenings we were able to relax and choose from one of the thousands of movies they offer. In addition they completely upgraded the large outdoor patio with all new furniture including side by side ultra comfortable chairs with accompanying ottomans. Our family has begun to think of this home as our home away from home and we are thankful that we discovered this amazing vacation home. We are already planning our next vacation here and can't wait for next year to arrive. Thank you Omar for being so accommodating and making us truly feel like we are part of the family.

Tony and Family

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

FAMILY VACATION

Review submitted: October 12, 2011   Date of arrival: September 17, 2011

FABULOUS!! My entire family along with my 82 year old mother loved this place!! The kids decided we need to return next year. My husband is the cook in our family and he felt right at home in the wonderful kitchen. The house was very clean and comfortable. We loved being steps away from watching not only beautiful sunrises but also amazing sunsets! The beach was perfect and we were able to enjoy it with the chairs, umbrellas, and floating toys available. Being our first time to Captiva I had many questions and thankfully all were answered by the owners, thank you! We will return and I have already recommended this house to people I know. Thank you again for sharing your little piece of Heaven on earth with my family.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

HEAVEN!!!

Review submitted: October 6, 2011   Date of arrival: September 17, 2011

Omar,

I can't say enough about our stay here! We love your home and thank you for sharing it with us! My family is already planning to return next year!

I do believe we found a small piece of Heaven on earth!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

GREAT HOUSE, PERFECT LOCATION, TONS OF AMENITIES, SUPER NICE OWNER

Review submitted: August 21, 2011   Date of arrival: August 13, 2011

We just got back from spending a week in Captiva at this lovely property. Having spent time at South Seas Plantation, my husband and I decided we'd like to try renting a home for a change. It turned out to be sensational. We had friends come over from the East Coast of FL to spend a few days with us and they, too, agreed that we could not have picked a better home. Omar goes above and beyond when it comes to accommodating his guests. We had coffee and non dairy creamers waiting, coffee filters, baggies, dishwashing liquid, etc., etc. It made it so nice to not have to go out and buy all of that for our stay. He has 3 High Def tv's, a movie library to kill for and Netflix as well. The beach was a 3 minute walk from the house, the pool only 2 minutes and the tennis courts 1 minute. Did I mention the courts were just resurfaced? The kitchen was adequately stocked for the limited amount of cooking we did which was mostly breakfast. How nice it was to have all of the beach chairs, umbrellas, rafts, boogey boards all ready there and waiting for use! CLEAN, CLEAN, CLEAN - not once did I feel uncomfortable walk around in my bare feet because the floors are all tiled downstairs. The beds were so comfortable. I can go on and on but this is a definite "return" house. Very good restaurants were within walking distance, i.e., The Green Flash for dinner and The Mucky Duck for lunch. Don't hesitate on this home!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Amazing time with an old friend

Review submitted: August 20, 2011   Date of arrival: August 13, 2011

Dear Omar,
We had a wonderful time here in Captiva. Your house has every creature comfort possible & you were/are so accommodating. Tennis every morning at 7 AM! How great to start the day. Our favorite restaurant was the Green Flash. For lunch we enjoyed the Mucky Duck. Hands down, the Key Lime Bistro had the best key lime pie I ever tasted. Best of all was having my very best friend from kindergarten, drive over from Boca Raton & spend 4 days here with my husband and I. She had suddenly developed Leukemia 2 years ago and is in remission & feeling great. We loved the home, the beach, the tennis, the perfect location & hope to be back. Thanks Omar!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Getting married

Review submitted: August 20, 2011   Date of arrival: August 6, 2011

Dear Omar,
Thank you so much for sharing your Captiva home with us! We had first chosen Captiva to be our honeymoon destination, however after some thought we decided to actually come to Captiva and get married!! And thats exactly what we did! It was everything we wanted it to be and more!! After a beautiful beach wedding, we got to lay back, relax and enjoy the rest of our honeymoon/family vacation here on Captiva.

We got married on the 8th and my son celebrated his 10th birthday on the 9th so it was a week that marked a couple of milestones for us and being here made them much more memorable. We all enjoyed the beach which was just a few steps away... even when it rained. The kids, Lucas and Ava, really enjoyed playing with the boogie boards that you provide and building sand castles. It was so neat to find different sea shells.. we have a few that are going back to Ark with us.
We enjoyed eating at the local restaurants all of which we walked to. We were able to make it to The Green Flash, Key Lime Bistro, The Mucky Duck, The Blue Giraff and RC Otters and Key Lime Bistro which was my favorite!! It had a wonderful laid back atmosphere and the live music was great! We also enjoyed going on a "Sea Life Excursion" at Adventures in Paradise. The kids really enjoyed this! We got to see Dolphins, Puffer Fish, Sea Horses and many other sea creatures. We also went on a Kayak adventure at McCarty's Marina.. this was fun.. as well as a little adventurous for me being a first time kayaker! We all had a great time though! All in all we had a great time and hope to come back next summer!! Thank you again!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Perfect vacation

Review submitted: August 20, 2011   Date of arrival: July 16, 2011

Dear Omar,
Thank you soooooo very much for letting us stay in your home. We had a great time! The fish room is definitely our favorite. Our Dad learned to cook here. By the way, we saw a lot of wildlife while we were deep sea fishing which was awesome. The only thing I caught was a Starfish though. We made friends with the teenagers next door too! We're 17 year old twins and we absolutely love this place. Love
Alexandra & Miranda Asheville, NC

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Another awesome vacation in Sunset Captiva #26

Review submitted: August 20, 2011   Date of arrival: June 26, 2011

Thanks for sharing your home with us. After two weeks of fun and relaxation here, I think I have decided this is my favorite Sunset Captiva home! It makes me smile everytime I walk through the door. Thanks again.
Samantha
P.S. It was an awesome place to spend my 16th birthday!

Omar,
This home is a beautiful, special, realaxing place to spend a beautiful, special, relaxing vacation!! It meant a lot to the family to be here for a two week vacation after last summer. And guess what? You made it all the more possible!! Thanks a billion times!!

Mia

THANK YOU for sharing your BEAUTIFUL home with us again this summer! We are so thankful to have had the full 2 weeks this time... a MUCH needed time of rejuvenation after a difficult year. We especially enjoyed time on the porch! The new furniture is so comfortable. Lovely being surrounded by the lush greenery of Captiva.

Tami & Frank

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Best family Vacation Ever

Review submitted: August 20, 2011   Date of arrival: June 18, 2011

This has been one of our best vacations ever! We have counted down the days to our arrival and now we sadly must leave this Island paradise. Your home was everything you promised and more! The girls loved "shopping" through the beach toys & other cool beach stuff that you provide. Kevin & I loved the Island life - we are already trying to decide when we will return! We have made so many wonderful memories in your beautiful home. We will return soon!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Re: Loved IT!!

Review submitted: August 13, 2011   Date of arrival: August 13, 2005

Loved the house! Very comfortable...beds were great! Close to the beach and the lane...would highly recomend.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fantastic Family Vacation!

Review submitted: August 9, 2011   Date of arrival: June 18, 2011

This was, by far, one of our best family vacations. The house was exactly as promised! It was so wonderful to have all of the beach toys and other items available to use. The interior of the home was clean, up-to-date, and a perfect location. We were able to walk to the beach in less than five minutes and the pool was even closer. A great place to come and relax!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Unbelievable

Review submitted: August 8, 2011   Date of arrival: July 16, 2011

My (3) kids and I chose to return to Captiva again this and WOW what a wonderful time and place. We have vacationed on Captiva in the past and this by far the best vacation we have ever had. This is not just a rental house this is a Vacation Home. We have stayed at other houses in Sunset Captiva and none compare to the cleanliness, comfort and amenities that this home and owner offers. This is one of those places that you honestly can not say enough about. If you are looking for a place to have a memorable family vacation, I would HIGHLY recommend this home to anyone and most definately will use this home upon our return to the island.

Thank you for sharing your home with us!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Paradise!

Review submitted: July 24, 2011   Date of arrival: June 25, 2011

We have been vacationing on Captiva for the past 20 years and have stayed in various properties throughout the island. This home is, by far, one of our favorites! It is clean, well maintained and full of wonderful amenities. Two of our favorite new additions this year were Netflix and the comfortable furnishings on the screened porch. The location of this home is perfect. Sunset Captiva is a fabulous, family friendly property. We love that we can dock our boat at no additional charge, enjoy the pool, and of course the beach is only a few steps away. We should also mention, that this owner has been great to work with. We have rented this home twice and will definitely choose it again on future visits.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

What a dream!

Review submitted: July 11, 2011   Date of arrival: July 11, 2010

We really feel fortunate of finding such a marvelous house in Captiva Island. The whole package was just as described. Beautiful setting, amenities, toys, gorgeous house with everything you will think and more. We had experienced the best vacation ever. Without a doubt, I think will not be able to beat this marvelous experience. The sad part is coming back.... Thanks for sharing your home with us.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

As advertised!

Review submitted: June 16, 2011   Date of arrival: April 30, 2011

We had a great time in Sunset Captiva! The house was lovely and very well appointed. We had everything we needed and definitely appreciated that we did not have to buy or bring along the essentials like toilet paper, paper towels, dish soap, etc.-- providing those items was very much appreciated! The house was VERY clean and well taken care of with lots of nice extra touches. We were not sure how we would like being in a community vs. a private home and we were pleased with Sunset Captiva. Our kids made friends the first day we were there and we loved the pool! Both of my kids (ages 5 & 6) learned to swim on this vacation! The owner could not have been nicer or more accommodating. We love Captiva and have visited many times. Love walking to Jensen's Marina to see the manatees, biking on Sanibel, and dinner out at Key Lime Bistro is the best! This home will definitely be a consideration for future vacations to Captiva! Thanks for sharing it with us!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 4, 2011   Date of arrival: May 30, 2011

WOW!! What a great place you have. A little heaven on earth. We enjoyed the beach, pool, screened in porch, stereo..... the list goes on and on. The beds were as advertised - great sheets & comfortable. You should be extremely proud of this wonderful place. Thanks for the memories.

Griffins & Neals

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 4, 2011   Date of arrival: May 21, 2011

We've really enjoyed the house and now that we've started to relax we wish we could stay!! Came to Captiva totally stressed & not really knowing what to expect. Found that we had arrived at the perfect place!!! We spent a good amount of time at Ding Darling with our 4 & 3 year old children. They loved it !! Saw alligators, beautiful birds, jumping fish, mangroves. Spent lots of time at the beach and pool. The waves were perfect. Loved the pizza in town ( but definitely call ahead! ) Headed for the hermit crab races tonight. LOVE the home!! Would definitely return. Who knew this tropical paradise existed here!
Neena Kumar ( mom to Ram 4 & maya 3 )

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

PERFECT VACATION AT THE PERFECT VACATION HOME!!!

Review submitted: June 2, 2011   Date of arrival: February 5, 2011

I've been meaning to write this review since I arrived from Captiva because I strongly believe in the value of accurate reviews when trying to find a home for our yearly vacations. We almost were not able to take a vacation this year because of how expensive airfares have gotten but wow I am so glad we did. This was our first time in Captiva and I can't believe our luck in finding this gem of a home in such a beautiful, tropical setting. Going to Captiva is like traveling to a small tropical, Caribean island. It is the most tranquil, peaceful vacation spot we have ever visited. The home is an absolute dream . The owner responded to our emails immediately and on more than one occasion called us at home to answer our many questions, As first time visiters we needed a lot of hand holding and he was up to the task. He sent us information that was useful and informative including where to buy groceries to save money, where the better restaurants are and very accurate turn by turn instructions from the airport to his front door.

After reading all of the reviews describing the home, I already had high expectations but deep down I thought that somehow the reviews made the home too good to be true. WRONG!!! This was one of those rare cases where our expectations were surpisingly exceeded.The home is beautiful and is decorated perfectly for a beach home. The attention to detail was impressive. When you first walk in the first thing we noticed was the fresh clean smell. If you have any experience in renting vacation homes, you know that finding a rental home that is so clean that it even smells clean is a rare find. We are a family of five and were very comfortable in this spacious, well layed out home. The beds were really comfortable, the bathrooms very well equiped with everything that you can think of including incredibly plush white towels and even a blow dryer. Their VRBO ad states that this home is their family's second home and once you arrive the truth of that statement is obvious. They provide DVD's to watch on their High Def TV's, books to read, use of their Net Flix account and everything you need for the beach including chairs, umbrellas, kids toys and beach towels.

Maybe the best thing about the home is its location. Its a minute from the pool and the incredible beach with the restaurants being a short stroll next door to the village area. Bottom line its an incredible home in a great location on a magical island and we will be back next year!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Family Vacation

Review submitted: May 30, 2011   Date of arrival: May 7, 2011

A friend recommended this web site and this listing caught my eye. I had never rented a house before and I was a little nervous about the whole thing. I e-mailed the owner and Omar responded right away, I let him know that my 2 sisters and my brother were thinking about a vacation in the area but we hadn't really decided. We live in different parts of the country and it had to be arranged. Omar was very patient and helpful with the questions that we had. He responded very quickly with e-mails and even a few phone calls.
The house was everything that was promised. Very clean and beautiful. There was plenty of room for all of us to have our space. The beach was just a minute down the boardwalk, and the pool was wonderful too. We had great weather so most of the time was spent at the beach. My sisters ( 1 from Colorado and the other from North Carolina and I live in Maryland ) have already started saving for next year.
The island is beautiful, the people were all very friendly and we would highly recommend staying at #1927again, but not when we want it next year (lol)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Our Best Vacation Rental Ever!!! - The Calers, Hanover, Pa.

Review submitted: April 22, 2011   Date of arrival: April 9, 2011

If you're not a rookie to Captiva, you already expect a nice vacation but the bar was recently raised several pegs with our stay in this owner's home. We love this house!!! The owner's pride is evident the minute you enter their home. It's beautifully decorated in an island theme, the furnishings are in excellent condition and not worn out (we were the first to enjoy the new patio furniture), the kitchen had everything we needed and more (even disposable items were well supplied), and the house was spotless. You could smell the freshness in the home the minute you opened the door.

We were disappointed in the past with vacation rentals and expressed our concern in our first e-mail to this owner. He responded within 48 hours to promise that his home will be as pictured on this website and it's more impressive once you arrive. I doubt there is a better location on all of Captiva. We walked to everything we wanted to do. I rented a nice convertible to get to the beach house from the airport and moved it only once all week to go to the Island Cow restaurant on Sanibel for lunch. All of our other dining experiences were within walking distance. Oh, we did take a boat to Cabbage Key for lunch one day; but we walked to the marina!

It's obvious this owner is not the usual absentee owner. He called us upon arrival and prior to checking out to ask if there were any needs not met and he was genuinely concerned that we have the best vacation ever. He lives in South Florida and visits regularly to check on his beach house because it's his family's beach house as well as his renters and his love for it shows.

If it's your first time to Captiva, the owner provides volumes if information in his e-mails and in his beach home to give you ideas about how to enjoy Captiva. Fishing, bike rentals, kayaking and more are only a walk from the house. The private pool and the pristine beach are all yours. Shelling on the beach is the best.

My wife and I searched the past two years for a potential beach house of our own to purchase so we could have a vacation destination that felt as good to us as our own home. I think I'll quit looking so long as this home is available and the owner will allow me to rent this absolute slice of Paradise a few times each year. We felt very much at home. I wouldn't hesitiate to recommend this property to anyone.

Gorgeous sunsets! Exceptional weather! A wonderful and comfortable beach house! A true tropical island getaway!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Paradise Found !!

Review submitted: April 17, 2011   Date of arrival: February 5, 2011

This home was outstanding in every sense of the word. Our expectations were exceeded by this home in every way possible. We have vacationed all over the world but have never been more comfortable or felt more at "home" than when we stayed at this wonderful beach villa. The description of the home on VRBO was very accurate and if anything did not fully capture the complete comfort that one feels when you actually experience staying at the Sisto's beach home in Captiva. It was our first visit to Captiva and we naturally had many questions which were all answered by the owners through a series of emails and phone calls in a very patient and thorough manner. A week prior to arrival, they sent an incredibly detailed email with directions to their home from the airport, a complete list of things that they supply to their guests and recommendations about the better local restaurants,etc. I have NEVER had an owner do this and the list of things that they supply was impressive including beach chairs, umbrellas and towels along with small but significant things for the kitchen ( zip lock bags, foil paper, coffee, sugar, etc ) that we otherwise would have had to purchase. When we arrived at the home, we were impressed by its condition. We are very picky about the cleaniness of the homes we stay in and typically clean when we first arrive at a rental home but much to our delight the home was immaculately clean. On the kitchen counter we found a beautiful note from the owners welcoming us to their home along with a thoughtful basket of treats. The home was spacious and beautifully decorated. The beds were as comfortable as the ones in our own home and we slept like babies every night. We had breakfast every morning on the stunning patio surrounded by lush vegetation and singing birds. The location of the home could not have been more perfect. The home was next door to the village so it was a short stroll to everything that we needed. The beach was beautiful and quiet and was a very short walk from the home. From that beach we watched dolphins play in the surf, seabirds fishing and witnessed some of the most beautiful sunsets we have ever seen. We had many wonderful dinners at the restaurants in the village all of which we walked to. We are already making plans to return in the fall and hopefully for many years to come and are truly in love with this magical place. We highly recommend this home to everyone that is looking for a peaceful, tranquil vacation in paradise.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Wonderful house with caring owner

Review submitted: March 5, 2011   Date of arrival: February 15, 2011

We loved this house! The location could not have been more perfect for enjoying everything that Captiva has to offer. The house was very well cared for and was extremely well equipped. The owner is a person who takes great pride in making sure his guests have everything they need for a terrific vacation. We could not have been happier with this rental experience and can't wait to come back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: February 28, 2011   Date of arrival: November 8, 2003

Beautiful, calm home in a spectacular setting. Really well thought out amenities. Lots of towels, laundry room, DVD's, etc. Sunset Captiva is very enjoyable with a nice pool & excellent access to a super beach with the dolphins and pelicans providing our entertainment. We will be recommending this home to our friends in England and France. Thanks Omar & Donna for providing such a great experience. John, Patricia and Amy

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: February 28, 2011   Date of arrival: June 5, 2004

We feel fortunate to have found " Sunsational 26 " for our very first vacation on Captiva. It is in the perfect location and offers proximity to the beach, the dock, the beach, the pool, the beach, the village, the beach the BBQ area and most of all the BEACH!!!.Your home offers a perfect mix of privacy and serenity. This was an overwhelming victory for relaxation!

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: February 28, 2011   Date of arrival: July 24, 2004

What a beautiful beach home! Thank you for making our stay so enjoyable with all of your beautiful amenities and "homey" touches. Sunset Captiva is a great community, so close to the beach and the heart of Captiva, but also very private which is nice. Our daughter especially enjoyed the pool and ocean. The guys had fun fishing down at the beach while the girls enjoyed shopping. We all enjoyed all of the great restaurants that were all within a short walk from your beautiful home. Well now our week in paradise is sadly coming to an end, but will bring many memories back with us. We hope to return next year! Nicole, Lenn, Gracie, Tracy and Tom

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: February 27, 2011   Date of arrival: April 9, 2005

Thanks you for sharing this slice of heaven with us. We had such a wonderful time. The sun, shells & sea were perfect. The home has everything one could need or want, and it is BEAUTIFUL! You have an amazing place on a gorgeous Island and we enjoyed all of it. Thanks again Ted, Lisa & Josephine ( 16 months )

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: February 27, 2011   Date of arrival: March 5, 2005

Omar & Donna Your home was wonderful! We took full advantage of the beach, pool and home. The weather was in the 80's and sunny which made our vacation just that much better. Your home is perfectly equipped and allows us easy access to both the beach & town. We loved our stay... once again it was simply TOO SHORT!!! Beat regards

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: February 27, 2011   Date of arrival: May 7, 2005

What a wonderful family vacation we have had. We've played at the beach trying to dig a swimming pool for ocean water. We've swam in the pool with our two year old trying to learn to swim. We've taken morning walks on the beach, afternoon, evening and even starlight walks. The house was ABSOLUTELY PERFECT!! It had all we needed to have a great time with 2 active kids, 2 parents needing time to unwind & 2 Grandparents needing time to love on their Son, Daughter in Love ( not just law ) & grandkids. The beds were wonderful & we all slept like the dead. Thanks again for a great week! John, Michelle, Hayden, Avery, Wendy and Gordon

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: February 27, 2011   Date of arrival: November 19, 2005

Dear Donna & Omar Thank you for the opportunity to stay in your beautiful beach home. Your home is even more attractive than the pictures you sent. We were amazed at how spacious it was. We also found it very well equipped for your guests. We never got the opportunity to use the dining room table as we loved having breakfast and lunch on your screened patio. Thanks again for the beautiful accommodations. We intend to return. Gail & Art

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: February 27, 2011   Date of arrival: December 3, 2005

Dear Donna & Omar Thank you so much for opening your home to us. Upon arrival we were pleasantly surprised by how spacious, clean and well laid out the home is. Your choice of decor really brought the feel of the beach into the home. The sunsets were glorious at the beach!! We would definitely like to come back again!! We are sadly heading home to clean up from a snowstorm but we will have great memories from our vacation in your perfect beach home. Thanks again Mike, Cheryl,Pam and Ken

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: February 27, 2011   Date of arrival: December 24, 2005

Donna & Omar We are sadly leaving today but spent X-mas here. The holidays were interesting here as we looked at the lighted palm trees and heard X-mas carols. This was a big departure from our normal Vermont Christmas. We really did not miss the cold & snow. We had dinner at the Riviera, RC Otters and of course the Bubble Room. We really enjoyed having everything within close walking distance. We had a "big" catch of Redfish for dinner - so fresh! Thanks for a wonderful home - I loved all the decorations. Fondly Mary Ann & the Reich family.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review