reviews for: listing #101338 - San Diego, California House rental

Palm house
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Logan
  • sleeps  10
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $220 - $300 /nt
    $1,540 - $1,850 /wk
    $4,500 - $5,500 /mth

sort by:

Joyful Stay

Review submitted: July 24, 2013   Date of arrival: July 8, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at The Palm House very much. It is comfortable, perfect for 8 women, well located for getting around the city and well appointed. for us Texan's the weather was fabulous. Thanks for the good weather also.

Many thanks.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1


Family coming to San Diego

Review submitted: February 5, 2013   Date of arrival: January 12, 2013

We arrived at the house and it looks just like the pictures. Its a clean house and the house was nicely decorated. We enjoyed the living room because it had a flat screen tv and the couch was an automatic reclinable, all we had to do was press it button. The kitchen was big and we liked the little goodies that were provided for us. All the room were fine. The neighborhood at first looked kinda sketchy but we realized that it was a friendly neighborhood. In the afternoon we saw parents and children walking to school which is near by. We also liked that the freeway is near by as is the trolley. Downtown and the gas lamp were minutes away. Overall we enjoyed our stay and San Diego.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

Guest Comment entered by owner

Palm house

Review submitted: February 5, 2013   Date of arrival: July 7, 2012

We enjoy the house and San Diego very much, Thank you .

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

Guest Comment entered by owner

Palm house a venture

Review submitted: November 21, 2012   Date of arrival: September 27, 2012

Thank you very much. We loved and enjoyed your place very much.

Helpful votes: 3 / 4


Too high of expectations

Review submitted: September 20, 2012   Date of arrival: September 14, 2012

The house was very clean and properly furnished. We were allowed to check in early and prior to arrival had good communication with the owners.

Upon arrival, we discovered there was no Air Conditioning in the home. This may have been assumed by other renters, but we had not anticipated no air conditioning. The weather was record high of over 103 the day we arrived. Therefore, the house was unbearably hot until well after 2am. Of course, the property owners can do nothing about the weather. I would have only preferred to know in advance no a/c. We were also slightly concerned with the location. It seemed to be in a less safe part of town. Although, we experienced no trouble during our stay.

Prior to arrival we had called to ask about the kitchen and if it was a fully stocked kitchen. We explained we had plans to cook a large meal for family to celebrate our son's USMC Bootcamp graduation. We were assured the kitchen was fully stocked. Upon arrival, we discovered one small pot and a few skillets, a broken can opener, plenty of plates and glasses etc. We had to go out and purchase a pot and a can opener (two different trips). We were unable to locate additional trash bags as well. There was trouble with the wi-fi, so we sent a msg and were told the wi-fi is actually located at the house behind the rental and given instructions on going outside for better reception. It did end up working later in the evening.

The following morning, I went to make coffee and the coffee pot was full of mold. I sent a text to the owner, explaining we would be leaving a day early due to heat and also explaining what I found with the coffee pot, and lack of trash bags. The owner did not respond.

We cleaned up, and prepared to leave. I placed a call to the owner to confirm he knew we were leaving and why. He answered and indicated his sister-in-law was heading over with fresh coffee and trash bags. I told him there was no need at this time. He made no offers to try to get us to stay another night and did not offer any form of partial refund.

Overall, had it not been unbearably hot, we most likely would have completed our stay, yet not rented there again, due to location and the coffee pot incident sort of left us with a bad taste.....

The owners were friendly and the house was clean and well furnished.

Recommended for: pet-friendly

Owners response: Dear Anne,

We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. I want to explain some concerns that you had regarding the house. In Texas people are used to having AC and in San Diego about 90% of the houses do not have AC. The reason for this is because we have perfect weather all year round. Unfortunately we went through a heat wave that has not happened in quite some time. In the amenities we never stated we have an AC and since the house is near the bay there is always a breeze coming in.

You mentioned the location of the house being in a bad location. Actually it's a family residential area. If you noticed there is a huge building boom. Condos, Walmart, trolley station, stores and so forth are being built. The city has decided to change some things but leaving the neighborhood as it is because of it's history. The house is convenient located to all the hotspots of San Diego such as the zoo, old town and only five mintues away from Coronado, a world class beaches. There they charge around $1000 to $2000 a night to rent. This can be enjoyed with out paying the big prices on our vacation house which are affordable.

Regarding the kitchen, within the stove there are plenty of pots and pans inside, maybe you did not see them. Since the can opeaner was not working you could have told us and we would have got you one. About the coffee pot we are real sorry about that. I talked to my cleaning crew they said since you were coming in early they tried to do everything as fast as they could but that is a unacceptable excuse.

We tried to answer your message but currently I was at a meeting. By the time we had a new coffee pot and trash bags you were gone.

Overall we enjoyed having you as our guest and sorry for the inconvenience. Please give us another chance and we will give you a free night. Thanks a lot for taking your time for the review we will try to improve.


Xochitl Miller

Helpful votes: 5 / 5


Great house

Review submitted: July 20, 2012   Date of arrival: July 11, 2012

The house was great, very confortable and accommodating. water pressure was a bit weir, other than that all was good. We have unlimited movies and it helped make some time go by. I had the bunk bed room so thet was fun, the owner left nice notes and provided us with water and bath towels.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, pet-friendly

Owners response: I'm glad things went well and you enjoyed your stay, and we hope to see you next year in comic con again.Thanks for your nice review.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

Guest Comment entered by owner

Very pleasant house

Review submitted: July 16, 2012   Date of arrival: July 6, 2012

We really enjoy you very nice and pleasant home. Thank you.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4


Reviews are the subjective opinions of travelers and not of, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review