reviews for: listing #101366 - Volcano, Hawaii Cottage rental

Hale Hubner, Cozy Forest Cottage
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  no
  • type  Cottage
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Volcano Village
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $99 - $125 /nt
    $630 - $750 /wk

sort by:

Guest Comment entered by owner

Review from TripAdvisor

Review submitted: July 10, 2014   Date of arrival: June 25, 2014

Review from TripAdvisor. "Wow! Our stay at Hale Hubner was amazing! It was more then what we expected. Unfortunately we only stayed there for 2 nights, it has everything for a long stay for 2 persons. The location is very private in the forest of Vulcano and the large windows showed this view in every room. The neighbourhood is very friendly with neightbourwatch. We loved everything. The friendly e-mails from the owners and personal touch with pictures of the family made us feel at home. Beautiful interieur with a relaxing sofa. Good wifi. The large balcony including a new gass bbq and easy chairs where very relaxing and convinient.The bed was soft with seperate electric blankets on the matras, for extra heating. Because I'm always cold I turned it on just a half an hour before jumping into bed, my husband liked it just the way it was. We didn't use the woodstove, but I can imagen the use of it is very cosy because it can be cold in the evening and night. The kitchen is fully suplied. If we ever return in the future we will definately stay here again. The town is small, but you have to visit Greg and Joyce with their kids at cafe Ohi'a to enjoy a delicious sandwich for lunch. Their kindness warmed our harts."

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review from TripAdvisor

Review submitted: July 5, 2014   Date of arrival: June 9, 2014

Review from TripAdvisor. "Can't say enough great things about this place, secluded, beautiful, fully loaded with cable and wifi. Great location which is very private but still close to volcano national park and only 30 mins from Hilo. Matt was wonderful to deal with throughout the booking process and right up until after we checked out he made everything easy on us and we couldn't have possibly had a better experience. Our only complaint was that we didn't have more time there! Mahalo!"

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Get Your Rainforest R&R Here

Review submitted: June 10, 2014   Date of arrival: June 5, 2014

We started our Big Island vacation at this gorgeous, cozy cottage. The patio is as scenic and peaceful as the photos depict. It is a perfect location for exploring Volcano National Park. It's also an easy day trip to Hilo and the Southeast Puna area. Don't miss Kapoho Tide Pools if you like to snorkel.

Recommended for: sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Great recommendation on the tide pools at Kapoho! We love snorkeling there. Thank you so much for taking the time to review our home. I'm so glad we could start your trip off right, and we'll look forward to seeing you in the future. A hui hou!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review from TripAdvisor

Review submitted: May 27, 2014   Date of arrival: March 28, 2014

Our stay at the Hale Hubner cottage was very enjoyable. We stayed from the 28th of March - April 3rd of 2014. We had a little more rain than we expected but that didn't stop us from having a great vacation. The nights get a little cool because of the elevation but the electric fireplace in the bedroom kept us warm and cozy. They even supplied a heated mattress pad for both the bedroom and the futon. The kitchen has everything you would need to cook a nice meal. There is even a grill on the patio if you're in the mood for grilling. The Wi-fi was a plus since it allowed us to download pictures each night upon our return. The cottage's location is surrounded by lush emerald green vegetation. My favorite being the Hapu'u, which is a common tree fern. The full length single pane windows allows you to take in the beauty of these spectacular native Hawaiian plants. They are everywhere and are absolutely gorgeous. The cottage is very convenient to Volcano National Park as well as the black and green sand beaches as well as several coffee mills. There are several restaurants within about one to two miles that served very good food. The Lava Rock Cafe being one of them. The General Store makes an awesome pizza! If you plan to explore the east side of the island plan a little drive time but you can explore a lot in one day. Oh, I almost forgot to mention how convenient it was to drive up to see the volcano glow at night. You can see a little of the glow from the patio of the cottage. Definitely would suggest to consider this cottage for your lodging needs.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review from TripAdvisor

Review submitted: May 27, 2014   Date of arrival: March 10, 2014

My partner and I stayed at Hale Hubner for 2 nights in March. We had never been to Volcano (or the Big Island) before and as we drove along the lane to the cottage we did wonder if we'd picked the right place. As soon as we arrived we knew we definitely had. Though we didn't cook (breakfast at Volcano House filled us up for the day) the kitchen is equipped with everything. Loved the layout of the cottage and the outside area, which we didn't get to try much due to the rain. Laying in bed at night with the sounds of the forest was a little unnerving at first but then I found myself standing outside at 3am looking at the millions of stars - beautiful. If I'm lucky enough to travel to Hawaii and Volcano again I'll be back at Hale Hubner.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review from TripAdvisor

Review submitted: May 27, 2014   Date of arrival: May 7, 2014

The cottage is exactly as advertised. The moment we arrived, we loved the place! It is very evident the amount of care that is put into keeping the place amazing. The attention to all the small details ( instructions on using all the house amenities) were greatly appreciated. The wood stove was cozy at night. The area is very serene and crisp in the evenings! We felt very welcome in the house, as if it were our own. Loved the collection of books, DVDs, visitors map etc. ??A very unique cottage in an amazing part of the big island!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect Choice in Volcano

Review submitted: May 19, 2014   Date of arrival: May 4, 2014

I picked Hale Hubner based on its high ratings on VRBO. It was my first time using the site. Honestly, it was an incredible experience, and I wish we could have stayed longer. The spacious, charming cottage was cozy and unique. All of the pictures, descriptions and amenities were exactly as described. We have recommended Hale Hubner to friends, family, and coworkers.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: That's wonderful that we were you're first experience trying out a vacation rental by owner! We first used VRBO on our very first trip to Hawaii because it was an affordable way to see different parts of the island from an almost local perspective. I'm always glad to hear we had another satisfied party, but I'm really ecstatic to know you had a great first VRBO experience! It opens up a world of new places to stay all over the world. Thank you for the recommendations, and please do come back for a longer visit! You'll find there's so much more to do and we'd love to have you stay again. Aloha!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing place to stay.

Review submitted: May 8, 2014   Date of arrival: April 28, 2014

What a lovely place to stay. The owners have thought of everything to anticipate needs. The place was immaculate and extremely comfortable. We will do it again and would not change a thing with our choice to stay. It was beautiful beyond description. Thanks again for all your courtesy shown.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: I can’t be happier that our home was such a perfect fit for you. I only wish we could have accommodated you for the full amount of time you needed! We don’t have the cheapest cleaning fee of all the rentals; but from the comments we’ve received (including yours), I believe that our housekeeper is worth every dollar. She works very hard for us and keeps our home in beautiful shape. I certainly do hope you come and visit our home again. It was a pleasure corresponding with you.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Cozy place to explore Volcano National Park

Review submitted: April 23, 2014   Date of arrival: April 11, 2014

Ideal location to explore Volcano National Park, Puna and Black/Green Sand beach. Cozy place in the rain forest, just minutes from the park allows visiting the park during night time without a lot of driving. Description of the owner 100% accurate. Highly recommended. We did stay 3 nights, should have booked another night.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for this concise and wonderful review! It really speaks for itself, but I can’t help to express my pleasure that you found our information accurate and our location ideal!! We continue to strive for a better experience for ourselves and our guests, so we can’t wait for you to see how we’ve further improved when you return for 4 nights. Mahalo nui!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Paradise

Review submitted: April 23, 2014   Date of arrival: April 8, 2014

My husband and I stayed at this cottage for 3 nights and two glorious days in April, 2014. The cottage is exactly as described. Well equipped and in a beautiful location. The bed was comfortable and even had a mattress warmer for the cool evenings. The cottage is a great place from which to visit the volcano. I highly recommend this cottage to anyone wishing to vist the volcano and/or sights in the Puna area.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We’ve worked incredibly hard to make sure that what we advertise is what you get, and our goal is that your stay is exceptional. To hear you say your visit was “glorious” is music to our ears! Thank you so much. I’m glad you found our home to your liking and that you agree it is conveniently situated for exploring the amazing Puna district. A hui hou!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Entry from Guestbook

Review submitted: April 18, 2014   Date of arrival: March 25, 2014

What a special find for us to enjoy a few nights in your Volcano paradise. Thank you for stocking the place with such thought and consideration. Whether enjoying the sun on the deck, cozy nights by the fire or the comfortable bed, my wife and I felt spoiled. We hope to return some day soon. Mahalo.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Entry from Guestbook

Review submitted: April 18, 2014   Date of arrival: March 24, 2014

We really enjoyed your house in the rainforest garden. It was the most enjoyable and adventurous home we got on Hawaii traveling for quite a while. Thank you and Mahalo.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Entry from Guestbook

Review submitted: April 18, 2014   Date of arrival: March 14, 2014

Enjoyed our three nights in your beautiful home. Loved visiting the Volcanoes Park and our trip to Hilo. Thank you for sharing. Goodbye volcano - on to Maryland! Back to the snow and cold. Mahalo!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Entry from Guestbook

Review submitted: April 18, 2014   Date of arrival: March 12, 2014

Greetings from Minnesota! We loved the home. This was a very different version of Hawaii than we expected. Very nice though!! We really appreciated the detailed instructions too. Thanks, again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Entry from Guestbook

Review submitted: April 18, 2014   Date of arrival: February 18, 2014

Lovely home and enjoyed our visit to Volcano Park very much. We spent 2 days hiking and taking in all the sights. Thank you!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Entry from Guestbook

Review submitted: April 18, 2014   Date of arrival: February 15, 2014

Very lovely and different area. Loved the "tree house" feeling of living among all the birds and trees. Weather was perfect for our visit to the Volcano National Park -- hiked, saw hula show, had delicious lunch at the Volcano House, then another delicious meal there while watching the Kilauea volcano glowing in the night - fantastic experience! Love this house! Thank you!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Exceptional Value

Review submitted: March 29, 2014   Date of arrival: March 25, 2014

My husband and I stayed at Hale Hubner for 3 days in March 2014. It exceeded our expectations: sparkling clean, comfortable, well-appointed, thoughtul signs/information, beautiful location, proximity to the park, etc.

The owners clearly take care to ensure their guests have a fantastic experience. We would return in a heartbeat!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: I certainly do hope you will make a return in the future! Thank you so much for this amazing review. We’re always more than happy to learn that we exceeded our guests expectations, especially for the reasons you describe. That’s very important to us. Mahalo nui loa and a hui hou!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Rainforest Hide-Away

Review submitted: March 5, 2014   Date of arrival: February 24, 2014

First: Location, location, location! The cottage is a 5 minute drive from the entrance to Volcanoes National Park and we took full advantage of the locale to time our trips into the park dodging the rain and viewing the Kiluea crater at morning, noon, and night.
Second: Cozy sums it up. The bed and couch are comfortable. Kitchen, bath, living spaces are well stocked.
My husband was particularly delighted by the signage...yes, the signs. From how to use the fireplace to which recycle bins to use for what, we had no question how to use anything. My delight came when I wanted to watch a DVD and could figure it out!
Additionally, the extensive DVD selection puts my local Redbox to shame.
Whenever I refer to this great place, I call it the "treehouse," for that is exactly what it feels like. Of the three places we stayed on Hawaii, this was the best experience. Thank you for making the home welcoming and relaxing. I look forward to a return trip when I can enjoy the view from the deck. P.S. I concur with previous advice: the directions to the cottage are fantastic but getting there in the dark took patience on my part.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: I’m truly flattered by your review. Thank you. I got such a kick out of your husband liking the signage. Ha! At one time I made a comment to my wife that we would eventually have more signs than art and decorations, so it’s good to know that they are doing their job and being useful. One of the things that I’ve always had difficulty with in renting someone’s home is referring back to manuals and instructions to find information when it could be posted right where it was needed. I fret about electronics functioning correctly, so I’m overjoyed that you found using our DVD and cable to be a breeze! I’m also honored that you found our house to be the best you experienced on your trip. That inspires us to keep improving the experience. We added a new solar light address sign to help make any future after dark arrivals easier.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Excellent Cottage in Volcano

Review submitted: February 28, 2014   Date of arrival: February 22, 2014

The Hale Hubner house afforded us a fantastic stay in Volcano. The cottage was super clean, well appointed, and with very comfortable beds. We had everything we needed there for a weekend visit, a few meals, and a trip to the National Park. We particularly loved the rainforest atmosphere, and the feeling of living outdoors, due to the very large windows

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: It’s fantastic to hear you say your stay was fantastic! We appreciate our housekeeper so much because she does such a wonderful job keeping our house clean. I always like to let her know when guests comment on the house cleanliness. We’re glad we had everything you could need. We try hard to keep the house well stocked for our needs as well as our guests. I love our beds and agree they are comfortable. I sleep so well on our master mattress, and I’ve never come across a futon like ours. The spring mattress is awesome. We hope you’ll please come back in the near future. A hui hou!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review from TripAdvisor

Review submitted: February 23, 2014   Date of arrival: January 18, 2014

We stayed at Hale Hubner for 5 days in January 2014. The cottage is located very close to the National Park and a small village. It is not far along a one track road surrounded by palm trees and bush. It is quiet and cool and a very relaxing place. With a fully equipped kitchen, we were able to eat in sometimes, or enjoy the internet or TV. We didn't use the deck, but it is a lovely place to sit outside and enjoy the calmness of the retreat. With being close to the little volcano village, we had at least 3 choices to eat out. We were glad that we took up Matt's recommendation to pick up bottled water and some groceries before leaving the main town (in our case Hilo) - where there is more selection and I think lower cost. Overall, we were very content and enjoyed our stay at Hale Hubner and would highly recommend it.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Loved Hale Huber

Review submitted: February 22, 2014   Date of arrival: February 10, 2014

We enjoyed an awesome week at Hale Huber. The house is not only surrounded by native forest and a mixture of native and exotic birds, you actually feel like you are in the forest. The house has amazing windows and light, so even if you are inside you never lose the feel of the forest. The house comes will all the comforts of home, even a warm mattress pad for chilly nights. The host was extremely helpful and attentive to any and all requests. Our time in Volcano was extra special because of this wonderful accommodation.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Mahalo nui for your warm review. I love the large picture windows for the very reason you mention. The skylights are also great because there is little to no reason for any lights to be on most days. I’m profoundly happy that you were comfortable, and that we were able to help you with all your needs. Please come again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful home away from home

Review submitted: January 20, 2014   Date of arrival: January 6, 2014

This was the perfect spot to visit Hawaii volcanoes National Park. We stayed a week and hiked many of the trails and because we were so close we could go into the park at night to see the glow of the Halemaumau Crater in the Kilauea Caldera. From our base in Volcano we were close to Hilo and other sights on the eastern side of the Island. The accommodation was perfect. Volcano is 4000ft and our hosts Matt and Tara provided a heated mattress cover and an electric fireplace to ward off the chilly nights. There is also a wood burning stove but the house stayed quite warm during the day and evenings so we didn't use it. The house is situated in a lush rain forest and it was so peaceful and private. Thanks again Matt and Tara for making our stay in Volcamo a memorable one.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Mahalo nui for your generous review. I always recommend to guests that they take advantage of the proximity of our house to go out to the park and see the glow of the volcano at night. Do it every night if you can. It’s truly amazing! This park truly has some of the most unique trails I’ve experienced in the National Park system. Sounds like you got out there and experienced quite a few. One of my favorites is the Kilauea Iki trail. It may seem daunting to hike down into a caldera that’s still steaming from the heat of it’s eruption over 50 years ago, but it’s worth every step for the spectacular views and experience.

I really appreciate guests' comments about the weather, because it always presents a good time to remind potential guests and travelers to the area that it can and does get cold in Hawaii. At our elevation, the outside temperature can drop to the lower 50s (or even dip into the 40s!) at night. As you point out, we provide electric mattress heaters and an electric fireplace to keep the house cozy. I’m happy that you found the house quite comfortable and warm with just those. The wood stove is available for additional heat, but at this time we do not provide firewood. Bundles of wood can be purchased at the stores in the village.

I’m always ecstatic to have another satisfied guest. Thank you for taking the time to post this review!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Entry from Guestbook

Review submitted: January 17, 2014   Date of arrival: January 13, 2014

What a great base to explore Hawaii Volcanoes National Park and the eastern side of the island. Your home was very cozy and comfortable in the week we stayed here. Loved the heated mattress pad. It was cool the first few nights that we were here, and it was so nice to get into a warm bed. The fireplace in the bedroom made the room very cozy. We were very lucky with beautiful weather while we were here, but really appreciated the clouds too. Thanks for your home away from home. Appreciated the WIFI to stay in touch with family and friends. We really enjoyed our stay here and hope someday to come back for another visit.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Entry from Guestbook

Review submitted: January 17, 2014   Date of arrival: January 1, 2014

Loved the place. Very cozy!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Entry from Guestbook

Review submitted: January 17, 2014   Date of arrival: December 27, 2013

Thank you for opening your home to guests. We enjoyed our stay though the weather didn't cooperate very well for us. :( No star gazing. Very hazy @ kilauea, but still found plenty of stuff to do. Thanks again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Entry from Guestbook

Review submitted: January 17, 2014   Date of arrival: December 19, 2013

Thank you for sharing your lovely home with us. We had such a lovely holiday. It seemed like we were in a tree house. Thanks again! Mahalo!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Entry from Guestbook

Review submitted: January 17, 2014   Date of arrival: December 8, 2013

We sure enjoyed our stay here. This is a lovely home that has everything we needed. And, what a gorgeous spot... Volcanoes, rain forest, Hilo. Mahalo!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Entry from Guestbook

Review submitted: January 17, 2014   Date of arrival: November 9, 2013

This was the perfect "tree House" for our second overnight trip to Volcano. Now that we know it's here, we'll plan further ahead next time so we can stay at least 3 nights. Two were not enough!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Entry from Guestbook

Review submitted: January 17, 2014   Date of arrival: November 3, 2013

Thank you so much for sharing your beautiful home with us! Everything was so beautiful and peaceful - those starry night views from the porch are incredible. This was a perfect stop on our honeymoon! We wish we could have stayed longer - next time! And thank you for the very thoughtful bottle of wine! That was so sweet of you - and it was delicious. :) Mahalo!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Entry from Guestbook

Review submitted: January 17, 2014   Date of arrival: October 25, 2013

THANK YOU so much for sharing your beautiful home with us!! We really enjoyed starting our honeymoon here, and loved everything about the house: the privacy, the open and airy "tree house" feel, the wood floors, walls, furnishings, the comfy bed - EVERYTHING! We hope to stay here again when we need to escape the cold Alaskan winters! Thanks so much!

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Entry from Guestbook

Review submitted: January 17, 2014   Date of arrival: October 5, 2013

Dear Matt and Tara, We were so delighted to be able to return to Hale Hubner this year. Thank you for making us feel so at home in your lovely house. With the National Park closed we weren't sure what we were going to do, but we filled the days with fun sightseeing and were amazed that even after 6 visits to the Big Island there were new places to explore on this side of the island. Hale Hubner was the perfect spot for these 3 days of exploring. We continue to be impressed with how organized your home is, and we love your selection of artwork and decor. Hoping to return on our 7th annual trip to the Big Island.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Entry from Guestbook

Review submitted: January 17, 2014   Date of arrival: August 20, 2013

Translated: We had a good time on this dream island. We did the Kilauea Iki trail, lava tube, and saw the lava going into the sea. We came with high hopes for the volcano and everything was perfect! Going home happy and full of memory.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Authentic Volcano Experience

Review submitted: January 16, 2014   Date of arrival: January 4, 2014

Hale Hubner is a beautiful, authentic volcano home. The cottage is very well maintained and clean. It is also a short drive to the national park so you can arrive early to experience the surroundings in serenity before busloads of other tourists arrive from further away. Our two-day stay had a lot of rain (uncharacteristically so according to the weather reports) so it was cold and had a couple of power outages in the area. Therefore we didn’t get to enjoy the starry view from the deck, but loved the ambiance of the wood burning stove. Matt was very responsive to my emails and returned the deposit promptly, which is always greatly appreciated.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for your visit to our house! We strive to keep our house up to our own personal expectations when renting a vacation rental, so I’m always happy to hear from our guests when we’ve achieved or exceeded their expectations. You make a good point about getting to the park early. The Big Island is not particularly a busy place compared to Oahu, but when a cruise ship arrives in port, you notice the influx of tourists and buses. When that happens, it really helps to be close by to experience the park without so many people about. It’s unfortunate that your stay coincided with the arrival of a winter storm. The high winds knocked out power from Mountain View all the way to Volcano for a few hours. I was thankful for your correspondence to let us know all was alright. Glad to have you both as our guests, and hopefully we’ll have you come and stay again real soon. Aloha!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

volcano

Review submitted: December 27, 2013   Date of arrival: December 13, 2013

Greet place to stay, well equiped. Owner provides all the info you need.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing

Owners response: Thank you for your stay and for taking the time to review our home. We do try very hard to provide our guests and potential guests with as much detail and information as possible. We're always searching for ways to improve, so reviews and feedback are invaluable. Mahalo nui!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review from TripAdvisor.com

Review submitted: December 25, 2013   Date of arrival: December 13, 2013

Hale Hubner provided the perfect setting for our stay near Hawaii Volcanoes National Park. The location was ideal for easy and quick access for day hikes and early morning lava viewing. The cottage itself is so comfortable, cozy and well appointed. We enjoyed the wood burning stove, the deck and the fully equipped kitchen. We highly recommend Hale Hubner and hope to return! Thank you for sharing this lovely cottage!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Absolutely Beautiful Cottage -- We Will Be Back

Review submitted: December 10, 2013   Date of arrival: November 24, 2013

We really loved this cottage. We initially planned on spending 2 days/1 night on the Volcano side of the Big Island, however after we learned more about Hale Hubner, we decided to bump it up another night (it was a GREAT decision). The owner, Matt, is awesome and provides exceptional correspondence and feedback in a timely manner. He's really helpful and the directions are very clear, and greatly appreciated. He really went out of his way to make us feel comfortable, and after reading many of the other reviews, it sounds like his guests would absolutely agree with me.

We were on our honeymoon, and the owners were so sweet and thoughtful to provide a complimentary bottle of wine from nearby Volcano Winery; that's the kind of owner you'll be working with, if you rent from them. I felt comfortable and trusting of them, so thank you for that! (We also headed to the Volcano Winery, and ordered two cases to be shipped to our families as gifts -- we'd definitely suggest a wine tasting there).

The layout is gorgeous. You're surrounded by green all around you, and it's just a beautiful, open feel. We loved it.

We LOVED using the wood fireplace (make sure to buy your groceries/wood earlier in the day, since shops close up early). And we absolutely appreciated the WONDERFUL selection of DVDs at Hale Hubner. You know it's going to be a great time when the owners have the complete set of Star Wars movies. They have a lot of other wonderful releases, and we definitely took advantage of the cool nights, fireplace and peaceful time.

I also appreciate how "green" and Earth-conscious the owners are. Thanks so much for a wonderful, beautiful experience! Happy Holidays!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, romantic getaway

Owners response: Wow! Thank you for the thorough and excellent review. There’s not much more I can add to it, so I let it speak for itself. Congratulations again on your wedding and honeymoon. I’m very happy our house was a memorable part of your honeymoon experience. It’s always an honor when couples choose to spend one of the most memorable times in their lives at our home. You were great guests to correspond with, and it would be a treat to have you both back again! May the Force be with you! ;-)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review from TripAdvisor

Review submitted: December 6, 2013   Date of arrival: December 2, 2013

A beautiful, secluded wood cabin surrounded by lush green rainforest. We stayed here for a week and it is a quick drive to Hawaii Volcanoes National Park and Hilo. It is a great place to stay for anyone who wants to do some day hiking over at Kilauea. Some things to keep in mind is that the elevation is about 4000ft and it is a rainforest, but the cabin is well equipped with a wood burning stove, bed heaters, and an electric heater to ward off the chill that creeps in during the night.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful, Cozy, Rainforest Getaway

Review submitted: December 4, 2013   Date of arrival: November 26, 2013

This is a beautiful, secluded wood cabin in the middle of a lush green rainforest. It is a quick drive to Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, so it is prefect for anyone who wants to do some day hiking around Kilauea. It is also a short drive to Hilo. Some things to keep in mind is that the elevation is about 4000ft and it is a RAINforest, but the cabin is well equipped with a wood burning stove, bed heating pads, and an electric heater to ward off the chill that creeps in during the night.

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Unique to say the least!

Review submitted: November 22, 2013   Date of arrival: November 19, 2013

Aloha Matt & Tara
We loved your treehouse, it was awesome! It was like staying in a jungle. When we turned on to the one lane road coming in here we wondered about it at first, but after we arrived, we liked it! This is a unique and comfortable place to stay. And It's only about 2 miles from Volcano National Park.
We went to the volcano several times, and loved the view. We ate at the Cafe' Ohi'a in Volcano village everyday. Their food was great! This was out first trip to Hawaii. We were celebrating our 40th anniversary. We highly recommend this place for anyone who handle steps.

Recommended for: sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for your praise! I’m so happy you enjoyed your time at our home. It is a very unique place, and we love our neighborhood. Our house has the advantage of being so close to the park that it’s no problem to pop in and out several times a day (or even better - at night!). Cafe Ohia is one of our favorite places to grab a quick bite for breakfast or lunch before heading into the park. Their sandwiches are enormous and are great to pack up for a hike or a picnic at the park. Your point about handling steps is very important as the living area of our house is all on the second level, and is only accessible by stairs. This is excellent information for future guests.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Retired Travellers

Review submitted: November 20, 2013   Date of arrival: November 13, 2013

We were looking for a nice house in the rain forest close to the Volcano National Park and we found all we were looking for in Hale Hubner. The house was lovely. Spacious accommodation presented beautifully and with great taste; the photographs and artwork around the house epitomized the owners pride and care. It was a real privilege to spend time there. If you looking to stay close to the National Park, and it helps if you want to see the volcano after dark, then you you won't find anywhere better!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review from TripAdvisor.com

Review submitted: November 12, 2013   Date of arrival: November 3, 2013

Hale Hubner is a cozy cottage located in the rainforest above Volcano village. It situated on 0.3 acres in lush vegetation that supports a large variety of endemic Hawaiian birds.The location is quiet and remote, yet within about 10 minutes (3 miles) of Volcanos National Park and its excellent hiking trails and exhibits. Several top restaurants (e.g., Volcano House, Kilauea Lodge restaurant) and other area attractions are located within a few minutes of the cottage. The cottage is well appointed and comes with a fully equipped kitchen, internet WiFi, TV, stereo and several hundred Dvds. The wood stove provides a warm respite from the cool evenings found at this higher elevation. During our stay, a nice bottle of wine from the Volcano winery was left for us. This cottage is really a nice break from the traffic and tourist scene.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review from TripAdvisor.com

Review submitted: October 29, 2013   Date of arrival: October 21, 2013

We found Hale Hubner to be the perfect spot to stay while exploring the Volcanoes National Park area. Being only about 2 miles from the park entrance, and mile from the village of Volcano, it is very convenient. To me, one of the most important things about renting someone's home, is that the bed is comfortable, and this one certainly meets the test. The kitchen is very well supplied, so if you choose to eat in, that is well taken care of. Cable TV with loads of channels and the WiFi works great. The House really feels like a tree house as the rain forest is in close view from all the windows, many floor to ceiling. We didn't use the deck, due to drizzles in the evenings, but it is very roomy. All in all, we really enjoyed our stay.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fun, fun, fun!

Review submitted: October 14, 2013   Date of arrival: September 25, 2013

Our stay at the "Tree House" was absolutely marvelous! The beauty of the house and area surrounding the home was so much fun! We felt like we were in a rain Forrest surrounded by beautiful flowers and foliage. The home was well equipped for all our needs and we are already planning a return to this lovely home.

A couple of tips: arrive in the daylight hours if you can since the narrow roads, beautiful in the day, are daunting at night when you are finding your way. Directions are perfect and GPS is best! Second, do not underestimate the coolness at night. We are from Florida and were surprised by the crisp air but warmed quickly in front of the wood stove or electric heater in the bedroom! Made for great snuggling!
Highly recommend!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Guests having fun and enjoying their stay is what we aim for! We look forward to having you back for a return visit! Thank you for your helpful tips to future guests. We have worked hard to provide detailed driving and arrival instructions to make arriving at the house as easy as possible, even at night. I do recommend that guests try to arrive before dark if possible, as it can be difficult driving around any part of the island if they are just arriving for the first time and are not familiar with their surroundings. We have guests arrive all the time after dark without any problems, so it really just boils down to what people are comfortable with. Our neighborhood is on a paved single lane road that runs right through the rainforest that feeds into the National Park. Our neighbors are courteous drivers and often pull over immediately to allow any oncoming cars to pass by. We suggest guests spread the aloha and do likewise if they come upon a pull-out sooner. Luckily, our road doesn't have heavy traffic, so you may never have to pull over to let someone by or vice versa. Finally, your last words are the best. We cannot say it enough to future guests. Volcano is at about 4000 ft elevation, and it gets chilly at night year round. It may seem counterintuitive to pack some cold weather clothes for a trip to Hawaii, but you'll be happy you did. No one wants to miss seeing the glowing volcano because they were too cold. I'm glad that you enjoyed the comforts of our house. We recently added the electric fireplace and heated mattress pads to ensure that our house stays even more toasty for our guests!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Volcano Tree House

Review submitted: October 4, 2013   Date of arrival: September 23, 2013

My husband and I stayed and the Hale Huber for two nights towards the end of September. The house was in the perfect location for us to visit Volcanoes National Park and the surrounding town. The Hubners home is warm and invitiing and very functional. My husand especially loved the feeling of being in a tree house with the floor to ceiling windows showcasing the beautiful rain forest surrounding the home.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much for your praise. We're always so appreciative to hear that our guests had a great time and really enjoyed the things that we like so much about the house. Hearing you say it was warm and functional is like music to my ears! Aloha!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Email from guest

Review submitted: September 20, 2013   Date of arrival: August 25, 2013

Matt...just wanted to drop a line to you...that we had a wonderful, great stay at your home. We truly enjoyed the home, the great patio, especially at night....it was wonderful and we look forward to another time...much thanks and aloha to you and your family.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Lovely cottage

Review submitted: September 15, 2013   Date of arrival: August 23, 2013

I thoroughly enjoyed staying here. The photos on the web are completely accurate. The cottage is very nice and comfy. It really is just a few minutes to VNP. I was worried I'd have a hard time finding it, but the directions are clear and the front gate is well marked with the house number. I even made it back easily at night after checking out the volcanic glow from the Jaggar Museum (no street lights, very dark). I'd recommend this place to anyone.

Owners response: So happy to have more satisfied guests! Thank you for your kind words and your glowing recommendation. We strive to make our guests' arrival and locating the house as easy as possible, and I'm always happy to hear that we were successful! Part of the magic of staying so close to the Park is being able to visit the volcano overlook at night and witness the mesmerizing glow! We hope to have you stay at our place in the future. Mahalo!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Entry from Guestbook

Review submitted: August 30, 2013   Date of arrival: August 13, 2013

We had a great time staying at your cozy home, our boys wanted to stay longer. Everything in the house was as advertised. Your home made our first ever stay in Hawaii a wonderful experience.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Entry from Guestbook

Review submitted: August 30, 2013   Date of arrival: August 1, 2013

What a wonderful house to come home to each night! Thank you so much for your place and on the fantastic amenities. You have made the house so cozy and utterly charming. The directions were so clear, and I appreciate how simple our stay was. We've enjoyed a stay in paradise we won't forget.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Entry from Guestbook

Review submitted: August 30, 2013   Date of arrival: July 30, 2013

We have really enjoyed our stay at Hale Hubner! You have a lovely cottage here, and we felt right at home because of all the of the careful attention you have put into decorations, advice and amenities. A wonderful place to stay in Volcano and an amazing way to start our honeymoon (even with a visit from Tropical Storm Flossie).

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Entry from Guestbook

Review submitted: August 30, 2013   Date of arrival: July 10, 2013

My husband and I had a great 2nd part of our honeymoon here. What a peaceful, beautiful place. We splurged and went on a lava boat tour with Lavakai on the 7th. A bit rough on the way out, but well worth it for the views. Check marine forecast before you book! We also really enjoyed the park, especially going to see the crater at and after sunset. Thanks again for sharing your lovely home!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Entry from Guestbook

Review submitted: August 30, 2013   Date of arrival: July 7, 2013

Thank you very much for the wonderful stay we had at Hale Hubner! We really enjoyed our couple of days spent in your beautiful house amongst the trees! Your house is fabulous - spotless! Was more welcoming than we could ever have hoped for. The location itself was wonderful, and we had much pleasure exploring the surroundings. Mahalo!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Entry from Guestbook

Review submitted: August 30, 2013   Date of arrival: June 5, 2013

Thank you so much for allowing us to stay in your beautiful home amongst the trees. Even though our stay was short, it was also very sweet. Our first full day here we climbed into our car and headed to the Volcano National Park. We stayed there all day, exploring the different craters, refreshing ourselves in the mist from the sea bridges, and experiencing the awe of nature vs. man (the lava covered road). At night we watched the increasing glow of the caldera at Jaggar Museum. What a sight, and so ver cold! Future guests, I highly recommend at least bringing a jacket.
Punalu'u Black Sand Beach was also rad, we saw 6 turtles. Lastly, we went to a Luau in Kailua, and it was worth the long drive. Fire dancing and complimentary everything at the Royal Kona Resort. If you go, fill up and consider bringing snacks/lunch. On our last day, we spent a lazy, much needed, day here at Hale Hubner. Between Kauai and here, our honeymoon has been everything we wanted - unforgettable and magical. We hope to return again someday to this special home amongst the trees. Aloha and Mahalo!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Entry from Guestbook

Review submitted: August 30, 2013   Date of arrival: June 1, 2013

We had the most amazing time. Hale Hubner was more beautiful than we even imagined - and so cozy. Kilauea was glowing orange under the most vast expanse of stars the first night we drove up. Incredible. Thank you for sharing your home so perfectly suited to this spectacular spot on the planet. We hope to return. Note to travelers: If you go to Rainbow Falls in Hilo, don't miss the enormous banyan tree up the very short trail to the left. Mahalo.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Entry from Guestbook

Review submitted: August 30, 2013   Date of arrival: May 23, 2013

Our little piece of rainforest was a great end to our holiday/honeymoon. The house was very comfortable, with all the little extras needed. So well organised, from when we first contacted you to when we arrived. Thank you for our wedding gift. That was a lovely gesture. The caldera at night is a magical sight, and we never tired of looking at all the types of lava! The highlight was a helicopter flight over the vent, coastline and waterfalls.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Entry from Guestbook

Review submitted: August 30, 2013   Date of arrival: May 12, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at Volcano and the beautiful scenery. Your place is very cozy. We will remember our stay here fondly.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Entry from Guestbook

Review submitted: August 30, 2013   Date of arrival: April 26, 2013

Thank you for sharing your beautiful home. This was our first trip to the Big Island, and we enjoyed every second. The lava hike was simply awe-inspiring for this geologist and her scientist husband. :-) We can't wait to spend the day at Volcano Nat'l Park today before heading off to Maui to get our un-geek on at the beach. :-)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Entry from Guestbook

Review submitted: August 30, 2013   Date of arrival: April 21, 2013

We had a great time here at the volcanoes. We enjoyed the markets in Hilo and Volcano, the black sand beach and sea turtles. Our 2 year old loved the cottage and a small beach outside of Hilo. We love the location and all the things in the area to see and do. Thanks for the wonderful place to come back and relax.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Entry from Guestbook

Review submitted: August 30, 2013   Date of arrival: April 11, 2013

We very much enjoyed our three day stay in your wonderful home. For us it was a perfect location, perfectly isolated and perfectly equipped. From here we hiked in the park, did the lava viewing with Lava Ocean Tours, saw green sea turtles on the black sand beach, visited the southern most point in the US and visited the southern most bakery in the US. :-) Thank you!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Entry from Guestbook

Review submitted: August 30, 2013   Date of arrival: April 7, 2013

Fantastic place to get away from it all. Also an ideal location for visiting the Volcano. Thank you!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Entry from Guestbook

Review submitted: August 30, 2013   Date of arrival: April 3, 2013

Thank you for sharing your tropical retreat! We enjoyed our stay. :-)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Entry from Guestbook

Review submitted: August 30, 2013   Date of arrival: March 30, 2013

What a beautiful place! We really appreciated all of the extra small things that made this cabin feel like home. The stay was comfortable and the experiences were great! I definitely recommend watching the lava run into the water with Lava Ocean Tours. It's a once in a lifetime experience! Thanks for a great Big Island adventure!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Entry from Guestbook

Review submitted: August 30, 2013   Date of arrival: March 14, 2013

Our stay at Hale Hubner was amazing! Thank you for everything! Mahalo!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review from TripAdvisor.com

Review submitted: August 26, 2013   Date of arrival: August 20, 2013

After long days of exploring the park's many hiking trails and wonders, it felt great to be able to come back to a place that felt like home. The owner had a well stocked kitchen, with all the basics you may need. I would suggest picking up groceries in Kona or Hilo before coming. The house is very private, but easy enough to find. The location was very convenient to the park, Volcano village, and close enough to Hilo if you need to pick up groceries or to visit the Farmer's Market.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Rainforest Cottage

Review submitted: August 11, 2013   Date of arrival: August 1, 2013

We enjoyed mornings on the large deck of the beautiful Hale Hubner, a cozy cottage with warm wood paneling, pleasantly furnished. It proved the perfect base for excursions into the nearby Hawaiian Volcano National Park, as well as Hilo or the Kona Coast (the latter a bit of a drive). We would chose to stay here again but bring more sweaters for cool evenings.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Mahalo for this review. So happy you enjoyed our home and your stay. We'll look forward to you coming back. Good point about the sweaters. We highly recommend guests bring some cool weather clothes/gear. Otherwise, you might miss out on seeing the volcano at night or enjoying the starry skies on clear nights! It's a bit counterintuitive to pack cold weather clothes when going to Hawaii, but we are at 4000 ft elevation, and nights are chilly!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Paradise FOUND!

Review submitted: August 4, 2013   Date of arrival: July 22, 2013

Many, many thanks to Matt and Tara for the superb job that they did in promoting their Hawaiian haven in Volcano! From answers to our early questions to our request for recommendations to the thorough ''how to'' and ''what to do'' guide at the house--the information was spot-on! They did an awesome job of taking the guess work and worry completely out of our vacation!

Even in our misty arrival late at night, we had no difficulty finding the house and getting settled in a matter of minutes. It was wonderful to slip into the comfy bed and awake to the birds (and the rooster) to begin our 5 day adventure on the Big Island. We loved the openness of the floor plan and found it to be more than accommodating for our stay with our two adult daughters--no tripping over each other as we often do in a hotel. The linens, towels, and pillows were a special perk--very luxurious! We had breakfast in the spacious kitchen and set off each day in search of adventure! We looked forward to our return each night to rest and rejuvenate.

As our trip was pre-Tropical Storm Flossie, this area of the island was in a misty, cool, and somewhat overcast weather pattern. It did not deter us at all, but we were disappointed not to be able to use the wonderful deck while we were there. We loved the convenience of the washer and dryer and were able to pack half as many clothes for our trip (saving on luggage fees) and still take clean clothes to Oahu (our second stop).

The location of Hale Hubner was ideal for our daily jaunts around the island and as a result, we squeezed a ton of sightseeing into a 5 day trip!!!! The highlights included Hawaiian Volcanoes National Park; Mauna Loa plantation and plant; Hilo Farmer's Market; Rainbow Falls; Greenwell Kona Coffee Farm; star-gazing from atop Mauna Kea; Akaka State Park and falls; the Black Sand Beach, the orchid farm, and the Volcano Winery where we got a wonderful tip about having dinner at Volcano House in the National Park at a table overlooking the glowing crater which we did on our last night!

Some of our best eats included Ken's House of Pancakes, Lava Rock Cafe, Annie's Burgers (Kona side). Hilo Shark's Coffee has amazing hot chocolate and coffee!!

With our 25th wedding anniversary coming up in just a few years--it would be a dream-come-true to return to Hale Hubner to celebrate!! An ideal getaway in paradise!!

Mahalo, Matt and Tara!! Blessings!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much for this detailed and wonderful review. Your compliments mean so much to us. We've been renting for a couple of years now, and we truly hope that every guest enjoys their stay as much as you did. Also, thank you for listing your highlights, as I'm sure future guests will find that very helpful. We would love to have you visit for your 25th anniversary, and hopefully next time the weather will be favorable for you to enjoy the lanai! Mahalo nui loa to you and your family!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Awesome Rainforest Retreat

Review submitted: July 20, 2013   Date of arrival: July 12, 2013

We loved our stay here in this beautiful rainforest cottage. The place is located centrally on the island, within 1-2hrs of most sights. We arrived to a complementary bottle of wine from the local winery which was great. We highly recommend this place, it was so beautiful!

Recommended for: families with young children

Owners response: Thank you for your kind words. I'm ecstatic to hear you found our house "beautiful"! That means the world to us. I hope that you'll come back to the Big Island and make a visit to our house again soon!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful forest cottage

Review submitted: July 13, 2013   Date of arrival: July 7, 2013

A great place to spend our honeymoon! Very cute, quiet and romantic spot with close access to the park! We highly recommend it. Quite cozy and Tara and Matt left lots of helpful info.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for choosing to celebrate your honeymoon at our house, and thank you for recommending it as a great spot for honeymooners. We get a lot of people coming to celebrate honeymoons and anniversaries, and we always hope that they thoroughly enjoy our house for those special occasions. Your feedback encourages us to keep making the experience better, and we hope to have you come again in the future to celebrate any number of your many anniversaries to come! Mahalo nui!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Charming and secluded

Review submitted: July 9, 2013   Date of arrival: June 30, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Hale Hubner for the last three nights of our honeymoon on the Big Island. It was a great place for accessing the park as it's conveniently located. We were able to go up one night at 10:30 and no one was at the otherwise very crowded Jagger Museum. It was a great experience. We were disappointed as to the amount of rain in Volcano, but that's to be expected given the lush rain forest in which the house is located! Hale Hubner is really off the beaten path, had great amenities, and was a comfy place to call home for a few short days. The bed was a little stiffer than we would have liked and it really did get chilly at night, but otherwise everything about our stay was fabulous.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Mahalo nui loa for our 50th review!!! I'm so pleased that you had a fabulous time while staying at our house during your honeymoon. We couldn't ask for more. As for the rain, you're correct that it is the reason for the lush surroundings. I just wish you could've been there for some of our beautiful clear days, and nights. Maybe next time!! Speaking of Volcano nights, they are pretty chilly year round, so we do our best to make sure guests are aware of this before booking, and we provide the wood stove and electric heater to keep guests warm and comfortable. As for the bed, our mattress is a new high end memory foam mattress. We haven't received anything but great comments about it until now, but I understand that not everyone has the same taste in mattresses types. I appreciate this great feedback, as we're always looking for ways to create a better experience for guests! We hope you'll choose to return again in the near future! Aloha.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful House in Hilo

Review submitted: July 1, 2013   Date of arrival: June 26, 2013

We have the privilege of staying for 4 days in this Cottage. One of the best booking I've ever made! This place got everything you need and more. It's a perfect place to escape a busy life.... Very close to the Volcano National Park. We highly recommend staying here.
Thank you Matt for the stay!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you, Michael! Thank you! We just can't tell you how much it pleases us to hear about your great time at our home. I'm glad our house fit your personal needs and our internet was capable to fit your work requirements. One note of clarification on the title of this review for readers, our house is located in Volcano Village and not Hilo. Mahalo!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A beautiful oasis

Review submitted: June 27, 2013   Date of arrival: June 20, 2013

We stayed four nights at Hale Hubner and had a wonderful time. The house, very clean and cozy, is completely surrounded by giant ferns, which make us feel secluded. The owner was always quick and helpful in answering our questions. Plus, the house is so close from the Volcano National Park, we could go and see the glow of the Kilauea volcano at night. We warmly recommend this property. It had everything we needed.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: I can't express enough gratitude for your praise! I'm so pleased that our home greatly met your needs and more. Having the park and the volcano right around the corner from our house is truly amazing. It never gets old going out to see the volcano at night, and having the ability to see the After Dark in the Park and other free programs right there is very special to us. We truly feel blessed to have found our house, and we're glad to share it with you. Even if the volcano wasn't right there, I still would love the rain forest surroundings and the Volcano community. Hopefully you'll come back for a return visit in the near future! Aloha!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Awesome Retreat

Review submitted: June 27, 2013   Date of arrival: June 9, 2013

Staying at Hale Hubner is a very unique experience. There are very few places where you can truly relax these days and HH definitely scores highly in that category. Sitting out on the gorgeous deck and listening to the sounds of nature was incredible. You owe it to yourself to bring some groceries and lose yourself in the vibe and surroundings of the grounds. If you feel the itch to go touring, there are multitudes of places to visit like Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, waterfalls around Hilo, or a black sand beach in Punalu'u. All the amenities are there to make your stay a very pleasant one. For what one would pay for a hotel room w/out amenities, you can stay at Hale Hubner and get far better value for your money without being disturbed by noisy hotel guests. HH abounds with hospitality, it's a reflection of the owners who have worked really hard to make their cottage a very special place to stay. Mahalo!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Rainforest refuge

Review submitted: June 23, 2013   Date of arrival: June 13, 2013

Lovely rain forest location, quiet and serene

Recommended for: adventure seekers, romantic getaway

Owners response: We love our quiet and peaceful neighborhood! Thank you for staying at our home and providing your review. We hope you'll come back and visit again! Mahalo!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Felt like tree house

Review submitted: June 5, 2013   Date of arrival: May 8, 2013

Such a unique, fun place just like it looks in the pictures. Very clean (I'm picky about that) and comfortable. Great for visiting Volcano NP. Plants are amazing. We would absolutely stay here again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Cottage in Hawaii Rainforest provides Convenient and Fun Base camp for Island Activities

Review submitted: May 20, 2013   Date of arrival: May 8, 2013

This cottage feels very unique as it is nestled in the thick of Hawaii's forest next to Volcano Nat'l Park and still close enough to towns that it is not inconvenient.The house was stocked with all necessary kitchen supplies and feels clean and well taken care of. It accentuates the island experience with an amazing feel and high value.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much! Your review expresses much of what we hope for our guests to feel about staying at our home. We love the secluded peaceful feel of our house location and the fact that it is just right around the corner from the park and nearby towns, shops, and restaurants. It's a very special place to us; and for our guests to express the same feelings, it's priceless! Mahalo nui loa!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fantastic hideaway near Volcano National Park

Review submitted: May 1, 2013   Date of arrival: April 26, 2013

well equipped cottage in prime location, very private. Bountiful bird life will keep you company as you luxuriate on rhe private deck. We found a free hula show at Kilauea Military Camp's Lava Lounge.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: A very big mahalo for your review, Kerry! And, thank you for the information on the hula performance at the military camp. I am glad you enjoyed your stay at our home, and I enjoyed our correspondence prior to your arrival. I hope we'll have you back again in the near future!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Secluded spot yet very close to Volcano National Park

Review submitted: February 18, 2013   Date of arrival: February 13, 2013

My husband and I very much enjoyed our stay at Hale Hubner. We spent a great deal of our time in Volcano National Park. We were happy to have a place to head back to after a full day of hiking on volcanic rock that was within minutes of the park rather than having to drive back to the other side of the island. Hale Hubner was clean and in good condition. The bed was a Tempurpedic so excellent if that is comfy for you. There was a good selection of games and movies too. We would recommend this to our friends! Matt was great in answering questions about Volcano and Hawaii in general.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Entry from Guestbook

Review submitted: February 18, 2013   Date of arrival: January 7, 2013

We had such a lovely time in Volcano. This is a Antarctic home with wonderful cookware, views, beds, everything!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Entry from Guestbook

Review submitted: February 18, 2013   Date of arrival: December 9, 2012

We could not have asked for a more perfect spotty spend our honeymoon. This home is absolutely amazing! So very beautiful and supplied with everything and anything one might need for their Big Island adventures. Thank you so much for all the thought that you put into the supplies left for us to use at your home. While in Volcano, we hiked the crater and also hiked out to the lava flows! AMAZING!! We even got to poke flowing lava with a stick! We also spent a lot of time at the Kalapana Ranch. We most definitely will love returning to the Big Island in the future and hope to return to your home here! Mahalo!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Entry from Guestbook

Review submitted: February 18, 2013   Date of arrival: December 3, 2012

We had a wonderful time here in Volcano Village and lovely stay in your beautiful paradise home! So well organized and wonderfully decorated with obviously much warmth and care. Mahalo!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Entry from Guestbook

Review submitted: February 18, 2013   Date of arrival: November 29, 2012

Thank you for letting us stay in your beautiful home! We had a great time n Volcano! Best wishes.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Entry from Guestbook

Review submitted: February 18, 2013   Date of arrival: November 15, 2012

Aloha, We had a great time in this beautiful house. We enjoyed the plants, the birds and the house itself. It was just beautiful. Mahalo!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Entry from Guestbook

Review submitted: February 18, 2013   Date of arrival: October 27, 2012

Mahalo for letting us stay at your awesome tree house. I'm originally from Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia and your place reminds me of my grandparents' place. The weather, the sound of birds and the forest brought me back to home. I love all your pictures!! I love everything about this place. We shall return. We're heading north now to frigid cold Fairbanks, Alaska. Mahalo again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Entry from Guestbook

Review submitted: February 18, 2013   Date of arrival: October 23, 2012

Mahalo for a most relaxing stay at the lovely Hale Hubner. First time to Hawaii for this gal from Cajun country, Louisiana, and it was the perfect place to spend it with friends. Thank you for sharing your blessing with us.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Entry from Guestbook

Review submitted: February 18, 2013   Date of arrival: October 18, 2012

We had a wonderful stay here. Lucky to get sunshine on the porch!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Entry from Guestbook

Review submitted: February 18, 2013   Date of arrival: September 21, 2012

Dear Matt and Tara, Thank you for opening your Volcano home to us. It was great to be able to come back here between hiking at the end of Chain of Craters Road and going to dinner at Kilauea Lodge. Normally after our Volcao trek, we have to drive a long 2 hours to our hotel in Kona! You have a lovely home and hope to stay here again next year on our 6th annual trip to the Big Island!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Entry from Guestbook

Review submitted: February 18, 2013   Date of arrival: September 3, 2012

Dear Matt and Tara, Thank ou so much for sharing your beautiful cabin in the woods with us! It was so peaceful and cozy and provided a perfect sanctuary for us after our treks through Volcanoes National Park. We especially enjoyed the Kilauea Iki trail and the Napau trail to the first crater. Thanks again for a wonderful stay!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect Volcanoes National Park Experience

Review submitted: February 13, 2013   Date of arrival: February 3, 2013

Very cool, very private and memorable "tree house" right near Volcanoes National Park. Perfectly clean and cozy place. A nice combination of wood and glass, great patio as well. Child friendly. Would stay at least 3 nights in order to give Volcanoes National Park proper time...seeing the Kilauea Volcano in action at night with shooting stars overhead was unforgettable, and this house is close enough to make that experience easy. Good restaurants in Volcano town but we mostly ate in...be sure and buy groceries in Keaau on the way there. Wish we would have dedicated more time checking out the Puna coastline, what little we saw on our way out was incredible. Highly recommended...will gladly stay here again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Gem in the Volcano Jungle

Review submitted: February 6, 2013   Date of arrival: January 31, 2013

What a spectacular little treehouse in the jungle Hale Hubner is! From the lush greenery down the drive and outside every window, to the details throughout, this rental was an absolute gem. The kitchen had everything we needed for full-on cooking (and a great Weber grill on the deck) making it easy and convenient to dine in given the limited availability of food nearby. We must've lucked out, because we had two perfect days with sunshine - sitting on the deck enjoying the sounds of birds, an occasional cow, and a few roosters down the road. The bedding at the cabin was extremely comfortable - usually, we find pillows to be subpar when travelling, but these were ideal.
The drive to Volcano National Park to see the caldera at night was short, as was the trip to the Thurston Lava Tube. We took the time to drive down Chain of Craters road and were delighted with the petroglyph fields less than a mile off the road (and well-marked for an easy hike).
Thanks for having such a comfortable, perfectly-appointed spot for us to call home!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful rainforest retreat!

Review submitted: January 22, 2013   Date of arrival: January 13, 2013

My group of four enjoyed staying at Hale Hubner for one week. We wish we could have stayed longer. The house is beautiful, very comfortable and well appointed. We really appreciated the very comfortable bed, and the thoughtful things that were in the house, like binoculars, iPod speakers, handmade soap and the delightful bottle of Volcano wine. The house is so peaceful and quiet that I had some of the best nights of sleep I have ever had! We loved being so close to Volcanoes National Park, and found that many other attractions are not too long of a drive away. We spent time bird watching from the lanai, and the beautiful Iiwi birds that were everywhere. It felt like staying in a rainforest tree house!

It is a short drive to the National Park, Crater Rim Drive, The Jagger Museum & Overlook and many hiking trails. The roads around the Volcano are well paved and easy to drive (i read conflicted reviews about road conditions, but it was a super easy drive.) Go to the Jagger Museum at night to watch the volcano's fiery glow.

Breakfast: Cafe Ohia (tiny cafe with outdoor picnic tables)
Lunch/Dinner: The Lava Rock Cafe

I also highly recommend the Akatsuka Orchid Farm which is in Volcano. But please note that the Orchid farm is NOT where Apple Maps OR Google Maps says it is. Ask a local and they will steer you the right way. Take a camera and enjoy photographing and smelling beautiful orchids, including one that smells like chocolate.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fabulous house in Volcano!

Review submitted: January 17, 2013   Date of arrival: January 7, 2013

Hale Hubner is such a wonderful place to stay on the Big Island! My husband and I stayed 5 nights and loved the well-appointed house, beautiful jungle views, starry skies, and its proximity to great hikes, incredible snorkeling, and beautiful beaches. The house and kitchen had everything we could think of and had many things that we don’t even have at home! We enjoyed BBQing on the deck, using the wood fireplace at night, and listening to the beautiful birds in the morning. The owners were very responsive and proactive in sharing information about the house and the island. It is obvious that they love to share the beauty of Hawaii with others. We had such a lovely trip and can’t wait to return! I would definitely recommend Hale Hubner to anyone visiting the Big Island.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

phenomenal location

Review submitted: January 7, 2013   Date of arrival: December 24, 2012

Hale Hubner is awesome as is all your personal touches, cards, beautiful home! Haven't been to sleep since Friday, that's the disadvantage of living in the middle of the mainland - the flight is loooonnnggg. The Hawaiian people are the nicest, happiest, hippie-est, most wonderful people we have ever met! I love the phrase that when Hawaiians come to the mainland, they have to put on their mainland face so people will not wonder why they are so happy! In addition to the pages of wonderful sites (and LOVED the helicopter ride, saw the lava flowing into the water!) - some of our other favorites were Hawi (the artists' colony) where we literally went to the northeast tip of the island, Waipi'o Valley (most impressive), Banyan Drive in Hilo, Puna where we walked at Kalapana to the top of the 2 year eruption and learned ever so much from the guard on duty, Lava Tree Park (south of Hilo along the coast) and loved the food in Waimea. ... so all in all, I think we did Hawaii pretty good! We are gonna try and keep the Hawaiian attitude going as long as we can with our customers until our mainland face appears again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Paradise Found

Review submitted: January 5, 2013   Date of arrival: October 18, 2012

We stayed at Hale Hubner for five nights. It was our 4th trip to Hawaii. It was more relaxing and restful than a hotel or condo. Well equipped kitchen. BBQ on deck was nice. We were able to experience more of the local life than staying at a hotel. Everything we wanted to see was an easy drive from Hale Hubner. Beautiful tropical setting. Stars from the deck at night are awesome! We highly recommend staying at Hale Hubner on your next trip to Hawaii. We'll be back for sure!
Mahalo for an excellent vacation experience.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A perfect location -a true find!

Review submitted: December 28, 2012   Date of arrival: December 24, 2012

Hale Hubner is one of the best situated vacation homes on the big island! The home is beautifully appointed and the floor to ceiling windows look out on the lush vegetation that surround the home. The beds are probably better than you have at home, the decor is light and airy, the natural wood floors and wood burning stove will make you feel right at home! But our ultimate delight was the fact that Hale Hubner is literally minutes away from the gorgeous black beaches, the spectacular coastal beaches, the crystal waves.... Did I mention that the volcano plumes can be seen nightly? What a perfect retreat from the 21st century! THANK YOU Matt, Tara and Lily

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Privacy in a rain forest

Review submitted: December 27, 2012   Date of arrival: December 20, 2012

Great place to stay when visiting Volcano Park. Very secluded in a rain forest with tree ferns and many birds and flowers. Not close to the village, but a short 5 min drive. Has a wood stove and portable heater for warmth.
Nicely appointed, with every gadget you will need, even wifi in a Jungle!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We're very happy you enjoyed our home in the rain forest, and found it to be well appointed for your needs. The rain forest is a wonderful place to spend time and unwind, and it does offer great privacy for relaxation. Because of its location in the forest, it's easy to forget that our house is actually located in Old Volcano Village, adjacent to Keahou Forest Reserve land. A perfect location for village amenities without sacrificing privacy. That's the primary reason we chose this property for our vacation home, and it's just around the corner from the Park. We hope you come back and stay with us again in the future. Mahalo nui loa.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Cozy Lodge in a tropical wonderland!

Review submitted: December 5, 2012   Date of arrival: November 18, 2012

The pictures of this property do not do it justice - it is far better than its photos! The place has a well appointed kitchen (they even have a blender!), very comfortable bed with high quality sheets, quiet, romantic, with plenty of space. There are also flat screen TVs & fireplace for cozy nights! Very clean and seems brand new. The owners are very thorough and responsive too.

Only minor complaints are that there is no ceiling on bathroom, so be prepared to hear everything. There are also no curtains in the bedroom so the sun will wake you up promptly in the morning unless you have your own eyeshades. Also there should be beach towels for guests and people should expect A LOT OF RAIN in this area year-round!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for your review! We’re so glad you enjoyed your stay at our house and found our amenities to be useful during your visit. We've tried very hard to stock our house with everything we’d hope to find in a vacation rental and include those extra amenities to make our guests feel right at home. The bathroom offers complete privacy to guests, though you are correct that the ceiling is open. This is a necessity due to the 20 ft vaulted ceiling and for access to natural lighting from the roof skylights. Unfortunately beach towels are not provided due to their likelihood of being damaged or accidentally lost, so we do kindly ask that guests provide their own. I agree that you can generally expect rain when you visit the Volcano area; however, I would share that for the most part heavy rainfall is not the norm and there are many clear sunny days with most days being a mix of misty rain and sun. If it weren't for the rain, we wouldn't have the beautiful lush rain forest that surrounds our home! Thank you so much for your feedback, and we hope to see you again in the future. Mahalo!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Loved This Place

Review submitted: November 13, 2012   Date of arrival: October 27, 2012

Hale Hubner was the perfect getaway spot for us. Located right around the corner from Volcano National Park - it was a great jumping off spot for daily excursions into the park. Spacious, Clean and Quiet- it was always great to return to in the evening as well. Wireless and Cable packages were a huge plus, And the back deck caught the morning sun nicely for coffee and fresh fruit al fresca. We stayed two weeks, and were sad to leave.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Mahalo for your great review! It sounds like you enjoyed everything that we do about our vacation home and its location. The Park is truly amazing, and we feel incredibly lucky to have a home in the preserve that surrounds the Park. It almost feels as though you aren't leaving the park at all. Thank you for being great guests, and we hope to have you come again in the near future. A hui hou!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Our Stay

Review submitted: October 11, 2012   Date of arrival: August 14, 2012

Hello Matt and Tara,
thank you for the wonderful stay in your house. We love it to drive into the dschungle and the big kitchen and living room. Evereything was fine. We have wonderful three days with nice views and hikes int the volcano park (without lava ;-( - so we have to come back :-).
Thank you again
Marc and Manu from Germany

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children

Owners response: Mahalo Marc and Manu. We look forward to your return, and thank you for your praise. Glad you enjoyed the drive in and the surrounding area. I'm happy you saved some sights for your next visit. We hope you'll be in touch for that trip, and look forward to having you stay once again!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful stay which it had been longer!!

Review submitted: October 11, 2012   Date of arrival: October 4, 2012

We arrived around midnight as it's about a 2- 2 1/2 hour drive from the Kona airport. That's excluding a stop at Walmart for groceries. The directions were great though and we didn't have any problems finding the place, just were a little stressed driving in new area after dark. The cottage was just the prefect size for the 2 of us. Wonderful star viewing at night (with my android app, googlesky). Was able to locate several constellations I've never seen before. The cottage is just a few min. from volcano national park which we visited several times (my husband bought a senior national park pass a few years back and all parks are free for the car load full, other wise park admission is 10. Some of the roads within the park were closed due to excess gas emissions from the volcano, so we didn't see as much as we wanted. The Thurston lava tube however was pretty neat and a very easy walk. The film in the visitors center was well done and very informative. The Jaggar museum was great and the view was exceptional.
We went on a free nature walk through the rain forest at the Natural/nature arts center (on Old Volcano Rd.) The free walk/guide is on Saturday and one other day (can't remember). Really nice and informative. We attempted to drive to Mauna Kea to view the sunset and more stars but it was a rainy night and we turned around so missed it. We ate 2 meals at the Kilauea lodge; good food, but not cheep. We visited the Hawaii Tropical Botanical Gardens just north of Hilo....amazing! $15/each. We drove past the observatory on our way to the Kailua-Kona area where we spend the last 4 nights of our Big Island vaca. The lava formations and past flow areas just took my breath away. It is an amazing thing to see.
If you have any doubts about the Hale Hubner, let me assure you it was a wonderful place to stay. We wish we had spent more time in Volcano just to enjoy our lush Rain Forest surroundings! We had a fire in the wood burning stove, kept us nice and toasty on the chilly nights. The bed was firm but comfortable, the kitchen well stocked. Didn't do much cooking but could have. Several small appliances including a coffee bean grinder! Wish the coffee pot had been bigger, it's only 4 cups but other than that I can't find anything negative and only positives! If we're ever back on the big island, our first choice would be to stay here again. Don't miss the farmers market on Sunday mornings at the Cooper Center! Fun and good!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for the thorough review, Jo! It sounds like you hit a lot of the highlights from around the area. It's okay to leave a few for your next return! We're very glad you enjoyed your stay at our little cottage in the rain forest, and it sounds like you were able to make use of our amenities. I'm glad you found the kitchen well-stocked, and I've taken note that a larger coffee pot may be in order! The stars on clear nights are amazing, and that's a big part of the reason we decided to not enclose the lanai. Thank you for your recommendations, I'm sure they will help future guests plan their trips. We look forward to your return visit. A hui hou!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Very enjoyable stay

Review submitted: September 21, 2012   Date of arrival: July 21, 2012

The property is in a beautiful neighborhood. Neighborhood stores and Sunday farmers' market nearby. Clean living space, very comfy. Short drive to volcanoes national park and many great trailheads. Lovely deck although we couldn't enjoy it because of the constant rain! Looking forward to returning during better weather (does that exist?).

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing

Owners response: Thank you for your great compliments! I hate to say it, but you arrived right at the end of a very long dry spell! So sorry you just missed it. Volcano typically has periods of wet and dry through any given day. The rain is welcome because it's what gives us the lush rain forest vegetation that surrounds the village. What I love about the climate is that the rain is almost always followed by the bluest clear sunny skies. We just recently added a patio table with umbrella so that our guests can sit out and enjoy the deck even if there is a light rain. We also added covers for our patio chairs so there's no need to wait for the sun to dry them following a rain shower. We welcome your return, and hope you have a chance to enjoy our wonderful lanai! A hui hou!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Entry from Guestbook

Review submitted: September 3, 2012   Date of arrival: August 17, 2012

Thank you for a wonderful stay. We love the drive through the jungle and the beautiful lanai, and the cottage as well. Our son built the biggest airport in your cottage. We love the difference from the area. Mahalo.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review