reviews for: listing #101436 - Gatlinburg, Tennessee Cabin rental

Rushing Waters -Between 2 waterfalls
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  yes
  • type  Cabin
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  2
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $120 - $145 /nt
    $750 - $900 /wk

sort by:

very beautiful place for a couple to stay

Review submitted: April 3, 2014   Date of arrival: March 29, 2014

this cabin is very beautiful and romantic,The only thing i would want a little more of is privacy around the hot tub. The creek was beautiful and at night was a light show of its own. Would come back again,thanks for sharing your cabin with us. Dave &Theresa

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

very beautiful place for a couple to stay

Review submitted: April 3, 2014   Date of arrival: March 29, 2014

this cabin is very beautiful and romantic,The only thing i would want a little more of is privacy around the hot tub. The creek was beautiful and at night was a light show of its own. Would come back again,thanks for sharing your cabin with us. Dave &Theresa

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great setting. Good service from ownership.

Review submitted: January 27, 2014   Date of arrival: January 2, 2014

Cabin was well furnished and maintained. The setting above the creek was wonderful. It is about 15 miles out of Gatlinburg, but I wouldn't let that stop me from renting it. It is worth it. Designed for a couple. Would not accommodate more well.
We plan on returning.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Absolutely breathtaking

Review submitted: December 26, 2013   Date of arrival: November 25, 2013

The view was breathtaking. We can't say enough about it. This was our honeymoon and we couldn't have asked for a more beautiful cabin with the creek right outside our door was spectacular. Our Honeymoon exceeded everything I was expecting it to
be.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Cozy getaway

Review submitted: December 26, 2013   Date of arrival: December 15, 2013

The cabin was very cozy equipped with all the basic essentials: towels, extra blankets and pillows, kitchenware, etc. The giant window in the living room brings in a lot of light while the trees and waterfalls still offers a sense of privacy. The memory foam bed was super comfortable, and the jacuzzi on the patio was nice and clean when we arrived.

We only had 2 concerns. One was the limit of hot water available at one time. It was nearly impossible to fill the hot tub inside in the cold weather (especially with the jacuzzi still turned on). Second, we couldn't connect to the wifi even though all the information was provided. It wasn't really a big deal though since we went to relax and the TV had satellite channels.

Overall, it was a very enjoyable stay, and we'd definitely consider coming back again!

Owners response: I'm so happy that you enjoyed my cabin &I did want to answer your concerns.
Just a few weeks ago I had my maintenance man lower the temperature on the water heater because a guest complained that the water was dangerously hot while in the shower. He says he did not lower it very much. I wonder if you had run the dishwasher right before you tried to fill the tub ? Anyway, we will check that as well as making sure that the WIFI works as it should be.
I appreciate your letting me know about these things that are not readily apparent by the cleaning staff.
Happy New Year
Anne

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Perfect Romantic Getaway

Review submitted: December 6, 2013   Date of arrival: November 21, 2013

The cabin, the scenery, the location were just perfect. The cabin is actually bigger than I thought it was going to be and had everything we needed for our romantic weekend. The waterfall and creek can be heard even when in bed, it was the best sound to wake up to and fall asleep to each night. It is a little ways into town, but we had no problem coming and going.
The house was clean and smelled great. We did't use the in-room Jacuzzi, but did use the hot tub on the deck, it was great.
Thanks Anne for sharing your house with us. We will definitely be back and have already recommended you to our friends!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

The Cabin and View are Fantastic!

Review submitted: November 16, 2013   Date of arrival: October 20, 2013

My husband and I have stayed at Rushing Waters before and always go back..You don't even have to leave the cabin to enjoy the view from the floor to ceiling window that looks out over the mountain and creek below. There is a wonderful little bench to sit by the creek and just enjoy the sounds and the peace. If you want to be a tourist Gatlinburg is not far and no matter what time of year there is something to do. This year we pretty much stayed close to the cabin. Anne the owner gives it the personal touch and it is always clean and has everything you need for a wonderful stay. As you can tell I highly recommend staying here as we look forward to going back soon. Oh did I tell you there are wonderful parks close by and this time we were dusted with a little snow at the higher elevations! that was unexpected.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

wonderful place to stay

Review submitted: October 15, 2013   Date of arrival: October 8, 2013

the cabin was awesome the layout of the big windows overlooking the water was amazing. beautiful place to stay I would recommend this place to anyone that wants a good vacation

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Vacation/Honeymoon

Review submitted: September 11, 2013   Date of arrival: September 3, 2013

From the moment we stepped into your Rushing Waters cabin, we never wanted to leave. It was exactly as we hoped it would be and more. It was so peaceful and inviting and allowed my husband and I to just enjoy being together without the daily stress of everyday life intruding. We are telling all our friends about your place and several have requested your information. We will definitely book with you on our next vacation.

Les and Joan Walters
Conroe, Texas

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

BEAUTIFUL AND QUITE

Review submitted: August 17, 2013   Date of arrival: July 27, 2013

THE CABIN WAS SO PEACEFUL AND RELAXING,WE LIKE THE QUITENESS AND NOT BEING BOTHERED BY ANYONE THE WHOLE WEEK.THE ONLY THING MY HUSBAND DIDN'T LIKE WAS HAVING TO TAKE OUR TRASH 5 ILES TO COBBY NOB TO THROW IT AWAY.THANK'S FOR SHARING IT WITH US ANNE.

Owners response: I'm so glad that you guys enjoyed my cabin.
I can't say I blame you for the complaint about the trash removal.
I will have a different cleaning service [ which will include trash removal ] starting the 1st of November.
Anne

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Overall, a good stay

Review submitted: July 17, 2013   Date of arrival: July 11, 2013

We spent a long weekend here. The cabin was nice and the location was great- secluded and quiet. The creek and waterfalls were gorgeous. The only complaints we had were that the deck, chairs, and hottub did not look very clean. Could have used a pressure washing. Also, the wifi was spotty at best and we never could get the satellite to work. These weren't huge deals, but kind of a pain. The mattress could stand to be replaced- we laughed about rolling into 'the pit' all night. But, we had a good trip and were comfortable.

Owners response: I appreciate the opportunity to address the issues you had with Rushing Waters cabin .
I'm sorry about the lack of WIFI .As soon nas I was aware of the problem I ordered a new modum, which has since been installed & is now working.The hot tub sometimes appears to be dirty due to the fact that it is well water & a rust stain sometimes appears,I assure you that it is emptied & cleaned after each guests leaves. The mattress is less than 1 year old & it was an expensive foam mattress.
I have not had a complaint about it before now but I will check that out.
We have had so much rain lately that mold has been forming on the deck.The suggestion for a power wash is a good one.
Again , because of the rain , sometimes, we do not always get satelight reception. This has always been a very temporary problem & I have not had a complaint about this since your visit.
I'm glad that you still had a good time despite the problems mentioned. I do very much want to provide the best possible accomidations for my guests.
I know that your vacation time is important to you & I thank you for letting me know how I can improve that for future travelers.
Anne

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

How Peaceful!

Review submitted: June 17, 2013   Date of arrival: May 19, 2013

As you take the meandering drive to Rushing Waters, you pass by a lovely local home with beautiful landscaping. Then you open your car door to a quite, peaceful setting. When you first walk into Rushing Waters, you eyes are drawn to the beautiful view of the trees, stream, and pathway to the waterfalls. And then you look up to see the canopy bed. Wow!

Coffee on the porch in the morning is relaxing. (The bench by the stream is broken and not comfortable.)

If you go east towards Crosby, turn north when at the end of the road, travel a short distance until you reach Foothills Parkway. Take the parkway and you will go on a beautiful drive with several pull-offs. A perfect place for coffee, picnics, or just to sit and relax. Beautiful views and not crowded at all!

There are a few maintenance items that need to be attended. And if I owned this unit I would like to know about them. The upper cabinets look like they are about to come off the wall. The bathroom needs a fan for ventilation as it gets very steamy in there. Two of the bottom cabinet doors in the kitchen do not shut. I mentioned the bench above. There are only 4 or 5 hangers and 4 closets. The lighting in the bedroom area is minimal. The wifi signal was to weak. There were cobwebs along the valence above the large window. The biggest maintenance item was the beautiful window. It had several streaks of 'something' on the left pain. It was hard to enjoy the view with the yuk on the window and impossible to take a picture in the morning as the sun only made it more obvious.

We did not use the hot tub or large tub in the bedroom area. We were not sure of the cleaning schedule for the hot tub.

We selected this rental because of all the excellent reviews but was somewhat disappointed by the issues above. I do not feel our expectations were out of line. Maybe you recently got a new cleaning service. By the time we left, I had gotten used to the window! I don't think it is our responsibility to contact the owner during our visit. We lived without the wifi (we had phones we could use and we were on vacation -- who needs wifi!) We still drank coffee on the porch (who needs a bench!) By gosh, we still had a good time! We were on vacation! A few maintenance problems weren't going to get us down.

But excellent, no. Sorry Ann. Just take a few moments and a few dollars to get back to the excellent rating. It would be worth it to all your renters.

Owners response: I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay in my cabin & I appreciate your suggestions for improvments.I was unaware of the broken bench by the water & the loose kitchen cabinets. My maintenance man has this on his to-do list.THe stain on that window is an on-going problem. There are carpenter bees above that window & they bore holes in the wood & excrete something that is hard to remove.I've made the housekeeper aware of the cobwebs & she will remove them. She does such a good job, but no one is perfect.You did not need to worry about using the hot tub & jaccuzi .They are emptied & cleaned after each guest.I usually check on the hangers & other things & I did notice that there weren't many in the cabin a couple of weeks ago & replenished them. [ people often take them away ] You have made me aware that I need to be more vigilent. I will also check on the WIFI.
If guests like you do not tell me of these problems ,they do not get resolved & I do want everything to be as perfect as possible. So thank you for taking the time to send your review.
Anne

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

The Time of our lives at Rushing Waters!

Review submitted: December 7, 2012   Date of arrival: November 26, 2012

I have to say my husband and I left Fla. with really no idea what we were walking into. As soon as we arrived in Tenn. we knew we had come to the right place. The next step was getting to our wonderful cabin. The minute we saw it and listened to the creek running below we were sure our trip was going to be great! Walking inside "Rushing Waters" and looking outside at the view of the mountain along with seeing the creek below we felt like we were home. The cabin was precious and walking upstairs to the king size bed and the loft area and hot tub completed it all. We stayed a week and really wished we had made arrangements to stay longer. Everything the owner described was exactly as it was. The cabin was very clean and decorated beautifully. I have already recommended this property and area to many people and showed them all the pictures we took. They were all taken by the view and of course "Rushing Waters" I know they will be coming up. We spent a lot of time with outside activities and were not at all disappointed at all with all there was to do. We spent time in Gatlinburg which is about 10 miles away and highly recommend the Pancake Pantry to eat. I can truly say there was nothing we did not enjoy and will be coming back to Tenn. and for sure "Rushing Waters" as our place to stay! I hope this helps everyone looking for a wonderful place that is what we think awesome! Thank you Anne for the best time. Bye the way don't forget the great fireplace we used that every day.

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Great Stay

Review submitted: December 5, 2012   Date of arrival: November 11, 2012

Awesome nook in the woods

Helpful votes: 1 / 3

 

Rushing waters get a way

Review submitted: October 16, 2012   Date of arrival: October 4, 2012

It was a great place to stay, everything as described. a bit far from town, but it was quiet and peaceful. Loved the sound of the "rushing waters" it was breath taking. thank. Sandra in Atmore, Al.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

a place of peace

Review submitted: September 4, 2012   Date of arrival: August 28, 2012

Absolutely stunning place to see the water falls from the deck and in the hot tub. It just doesn't get any better. This is close to Gatlinburg, Pigeon Forge, And Sevierville with all the shows and outdoor activities. Several trails for hiking in the Great Smokey Mountains National Park are less than a 1/2 mile away. A couple of country restaurants serving local food that is good and filling, like "Trish and Sandra's Cafe", is down the road about a mile. Though they are not open on Sunday. The cabin has big picture windows that look out over the creek and waterfalls. You will love this cabin. Mary and I come here quite often just to get away.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

The perfect place to fall in love again

Review submitted: August 14, 2012   Date of arrival: August 7, 2012

This little cabin is the perfect romantic get away for two. My husband and I will certainly be coming back. The cabin was clean and felt like home without the worries. The view of the creek and its calming sounds were enjoyed every morning from the rockers and every nite from the hot tub. The little bench next to the water was the perfect place to get my 30th anniversary gift a chocolate diamond. The entrance nearby to the smokies is a less crowded one. Nearby restaurants that we would recommend is The Alamo. Best steak ever. Be sure to take the artist 8 mile loop its not far from the cabin either.In a nutshell if a cabin for two thats well maintained and owned by an honest and caring person is what you seek this is it.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Best Vacation ever!

Review submitted: July 26, 2012   Date of arrival: June 1, 2012

What a relaxing vacation. The cabin is beautifully furnished, clean and so inviting. It is close to downtown Gatlinburg, next to the Smoky Mountains and as it is off the main road quite and peaceful! The rushing water has such a soothing effect. I would recommend Rushing Water to just about anyone. If you just want to get away from it all you would have a good time just sitting by the water, fishing and chilling out. However, if you want to go out an enjoy the sights, everything is close enough by so you can do that too. I had a great time just sitting back and enjoying a great escape!

Booking was easy and we were so happy that the description of our accommodations and surrounding was as described. Absolutely no disappointments and a very happy customer!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Summer Getaway

Review submitted: July 22, 2012   Date of arrival: July 18, 2012

From the moment we first arrived we were taken back by the beauty of the location. The cabin was just perfect for the two of us. Just far enough from the main roads for a quiet retreat, yet easily accessible to any of the area attractions . The sights and sounds of the rushing water stream made for a relaxing getaway

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much for the nice review..Since I just started renting this cabin in June, I don't have any reviews yet,so this helps a lot.

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review