reviews for: listing #101457 - Manhattan, New York Townhome rental

Garden Terrace Inn
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  no
  • type  Townhome
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Hamilton Heights
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $200 - $480 /nt

sort by:

Everything and More!

Review submitted: April 16, 2014   Date of arrival: March 29, 2014

We had a wonderful stay at the Garden Terrace Inn. It was clean, comfortable, quiet, and close to the subway so it was easy to get to all of the attractions. Jackie was a great host, we could contact her if we required anything. She also stocked the kitchen with breakfast foods which was great for our busy mornings. Located very close to grocery stores, drug stores and restaurants. Everything we needed was there for us and we would definitely stay here again. Thanks again Jackie!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for your great review, I thought of changing my description to let future renters know what a great location this is, but you said it all. Please come again, I miss you guys already!!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful Birthday Weekend Getaway

Review submitted: April 15, 2014   Date of arrival: April 11, 2014

The location and layout of the house are exactly as described! I had the opportunity to rent both the apartments, and both are exactly the same as the pictures. Very tasteful décor, and a warm a cozy feel of home away from home. This is a beautiful place to celebrate a birthday or any occasion.

The beds were extremely comfortable, and the linens and comforters were so cozy; it made getting out of bed difficult!!

The property was clean when we arrived, and Jackie was so kind to leave eggs, bread, bagels, milk, and juices in both apartments for us. She was so very accommodating to my many emails and needs. She was so sweet to make sure there was enough glassware and dinnerware for my dinner quests. We hired a personal chef for the night, and Jackie made certain that the kitchen was equipped with whatever our chef would need. Anything we were missing, she graciously offered her own personal items.

The apartment is about a 15-20 minute train ride into the city (PENN station), and the #1 train is exactly one block away. There were restaurants near by and 24hour fast food places steps away from the home; very convenient. The area felt very safe and we even saw officers on a few occasions stopping by the local restaurants.

There is a bed of water one block away from the apartment, making for a gorgeous and relaxing stroll through the park. It was a wonderful experience.

This is definitely a place I would recommend. Jackie not only made us feel comfortable, but also gave us our privacy. She was the perfect host!

Jackie, thank you so much for helping make my birthday weekend so special and memorable! It was a pleasure meeting you and I hope to see you soon!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Roma, thanks for such a positive review. You and your friends were perfect guests, clean, respectful and fun. I am honored to have helped make your birthday so memorable. Please come back again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A great place and a wonderful owner

Review submitted: September 23, 2013   Date of arrival: September 4, 2013

Dear Jacky,
Thank you for this amazing place. Your house is a real treasure in NYC. Every holiday is just as good as the place you are staying and let me tell you, our stay was great. We enjoyed every moment in this apartment. It was always a pleasure to come here after a day of sightseeing and enjoy a glas of wine in the living room. Also the location of the apartment was teriffic. Just a view steps to the subway or to the supermarket with a huge variety of food. Long story short. We would come here again without even thinking about an other place!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Hey Thomas,
I am so glad you enjoyed my apartment. Thanks for letting everyone know how close it is to the subway and the wonderful supermarket. Come back soon!
Jackie

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A great place and an awesome owner

Review submitted: September 8, 2013   Date of arrival: August 12, 2013

It was our first time in NY (we are French)and were looking for an affordable place with 2 bedrooms in Manhattan(we have 2 kids). We spent 2 weeks in the appartment. Jackie, the owner picked us up at JFK. The flat was exactly according to the pictures: clean, cosy with all what you need (bathroom, kitchen, washing machine and dryer,TV, free Wifi etc.). Jackie had filled in the fridge,it was good as our kids were hungry when we arrived. We have only one thing to say: if you need a place to stay in NY, go to Garden Terrace Inn! It is well situated, 5 min from the Metro(direct to the city center), close to a park (if you have kids or if you don't), safe, with restaurants and stores and Jackie is just great! Our son got sick at the beginning of our stay, she took care of him and brought us to the hospital. Thanks Jackie for your kindness and professionalism. You have been like our mother during our stay! We really enjoyed staying at your place. The kids keep talking about you... The stay was too short, hope you enjoyed your vacation too. We keep in touch and we will come back! Take good care of you

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children

Owners response: Thank you for the kind words, I really enjoyed having you and your wonderful family in my house. Luckily for you it was summer vacation time for me and I could actually assist you to get medical care for your son. Please come back again!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

wunderfull place and a wunderfull owner

Review submitted: August 19, 2013   Date of arrival: September 4, 2013

Dear Jacky,
Thank you for this amazing place. Your house is a real treasure in NYC. Every holiday is just as good as the place you are staying and let me tell you, our stay was great. We enjoyed every moment in this apartment. It was always a pleasure to come here after a day of sightseeing and enjoy a glas of wine in the living room. Also the location of the apartment was teriffic. Just a view steps to the subway or to the supermarket with a huge variety of food. Long story short. We would come here again without even thinking about an other place!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect spot, great neighbourhood wonderful owner!

Review submitted: August 10, 2013   Date of arrival: July 21, 2013

Jackie, the owner, has done a marvellous job renovating her home in Harlem. My wife and I stayed in her apartment on the second floor and it was an exceptional place. We had lots of space for the two of us, very comfortable beds and a fully equipped kitchen to enjoy as well. Jackie provided breakfast items which we used each morning to start our day prior to going off and exploring the city. She provided us with some great restaurants that I would highly recommend to anyone and would definitely visit again. I had several conversations with Jackie each morning and really got a flavour for the real New Yorker style of living. To provide the type of neighbourhood she lives in, here is a quick example. One morning while talking with Jackie out front of the house one of the civil servants of the city came by with his garbage removal truck and proceeded to ask Jackie how she was doing, how her family was, etc. He has been servicing her road for the past decade and knows her and her family by name. Not many of us can say we have a relationship/friendship with the civil servants of our respective cities. This was a great example of the friendly and safe atmosphere that Jackie's area boasts. It was steps away from the subway which was very helpful to get around the city. We saw so much in our four days in NYC and can't wait to visit her again. When we return to NYC, we will not hesitate to book with Jackie again.

Thank you Jackie for helping make our first visit to your city memorable for all the right reasons.

God bless

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Jonathan, thanks for coming to my rescue and moving one of my cars just before I got a ticket!! You were the perfect guest, friendly, fun-loving and helpful. Come back soon!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Worked perfect for our family

Review submitted: June 12, 2013   Date of arrival: June 5, 2013

We are a family of 4....13 year old and 21 year old. Our biggest draw to this property Is the space! 2 bedrooms, bathroom, living room, kitchen/dining room. It is very clean and well furnished. Very close to subway line #1. We cooked breakfast each morning which worked out well for us. I would highly recommend this to anyone visiting New York.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, tourists without a car

Owners response: Hey Pam,
You were awesome renters and I am so glad you were able to enjoy NYC and still spend quality time with your family. That is exactly why I provide breakfast groceries so you can relax and unwind before a busy day of sightseeing. Hope you visit again soon!!
Jackie

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

New York stay

Review submitted: April 6, 2013   Date of arrival: March 24, 2013

We looked at a number of rental properties for our trip to New York. We weren't sure whether this location was ideal, but the price was more than reasonable. The location turned out to be great: quiet, tree-lined street, great access to the subway, short walk to the river. Quite comfortable walking to the apartment late at night from the subway. We couldn't have been more pleased. The apartment was as described -- maybe even better. Warm, clean, and with a stocked kitchen. Our only regret is not finding the time to explore the local neighborhood more. We did get to Tonalli's (or Tonelli's depending on whether you read the menu, the awning, or the website) for a great meal. We would definitely recommend this property to friends.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, tourists without a car

Owners response: Arthur, thank you for helping to get the word out about my wonderful neighborhood. Tonalli's has been serving great food for several years now and right next door is the destination bar, Harlem Public, which also has great food and specialty beers. Please visit again because you have only experienced a fraction of what this area has to offer. See you soon!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fantastic!

Review submitted: January 31, 2013   Date of arrival: January 24, 2013

Property was as described, it's an absolutely lovely apartment, lots of space, comfy beds, spotlessly clean.

Communication before arrival was great, sorry we didn't get to meet you while we were there, had a busy few days!

The breakfast items and coffee etc were a great bonus, particularly after arriving after a long flight from Europe, and not wanting to go shopping for food!

Before arriving we were a little unsure about the area, but it was actually a lovely spot, people seemed friendly, and the apartment is less than a minute away for the subway into midtown. There is a grocery store, mcdonalds, subway, pharmacy etc within a minutes walk. Id say travel time from the subway stop to the times square stop was about 15 minutes.

Also, the apartment was lovely and warm, which was great considering the freezing cold weather and snow!


Highly recommended, Thanks Jacky! Hope to be back again in the next few months!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Hey Stephen,
Thanks for a great review! I shop for fresh food just before my guests arrive and am gratified that you appreciated the effort :) Also I appreciate that you told my future guests how close the subway station is and how quickly the train gets to midtown, thanks!!
Please let me make tentative bookings for you if are even thinking of coming back. You were an AWESOME guest.
Jackie

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great place to stay!

Review submitted: November 16, 2012   Date of arrival: November 11, 2012

We had a wonderful stay at the Garden Terrace Inn. It was clean, comfortable, quiet, and close to the subway so it was easy to get to all of the attractions. There are two bedrooms with queen beds so it was perfect for our group (2 couples traveling together). Jackie was an amazing host, she was there to greet us and ensured we could contact her if we required anything. She also stocked the kitchen with breakfast foods which was great for our busy mornings. The building itself is very charming and traditional, but with an updated bathroom and kitchen. Everything we needed was there for us and we would definitely stay here again. Thanks again Jackie!

Owners response: Hey Sandy,
Like everyone else you saw the footage of the damage in New York from Hurricane Sandy and got a little nervous about your upcoming vacation. Thank goodness there was no damage to the Garden Terrace Inn and we were able to host our marathon runners from Argentina (they ran laps in Central Park when the marathon was canceled) and 11 days later you finally decided to visit. I gave you daily updates about the subways, the buses, the attractions available etc. and when you got here things were very close to normal in much of the city. Thank you for choosing to stay here and it will be my pleasure to host you again.

Helpful votes: 7 / 8

 

Great Place to stay in New York

Review submitted: October 23, 2012   Date of arrival: October 10, 2012

We have visited New York a number of times. We have never been as pleased at our place to stay as we have at the Garden Terrace, The suite is very nice and clean, and in a nice neighbourhood,
Jacqueline has appointed Garden Terrace with the renter in mind, Rooms a reasonable size, kitchen is very well done, Sitting area is quiet and very comfortable.

We were only 2 minutes to the subway which took us everywhere we wanted to go. We walked around the area late at night and felt comfortable and safe.

I would not hesitate to recommend Garden Terrace to anyone who wants to enjoy New York and have a great place to hang out.

Doug

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Doug, it was a pleasure to host you and your family. The apartment was spotless when you left and I particularly enjoyed our conversations. Please consider The Garden Terrace as your home in NYC, and come back soon.

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

A Real Gem

Review submitted: October 11, 2012   Date of arrival: October 1, 2012

Traveling to New York can be filled with anticipation. A first for me staying in a town-home in Harlem, The Garden Terrace Inn was a real find and the perfect place for my stay in the city. Located on a quiet street steps away from Riverside Park, the location is readily accessible to the bus and subway (only 1 block away).
Everything was great about the space. It’s huge by New York standards. It’s very cozy, comfortable and spotless. On-street parking for several days was surprisingly easy. Neighborhood restaurants such as Tonalli’s, was a good recommendation from host Jackie. Great food and atmosphere affordably priced. I visited The Cathedral of St John the Devine (110th Street and Amsterdam Ave) a few blocks down from Columbia University. This Episcopal Cathedral is a must see. It is one of the largest Gothic Cathedrals in the World and is still a work in progress. Red Rooster restaurant at 126th Street and Lenox Avenue is a must visit place (great food and great atmosphere). The owner of the Garden Terrace Inn (Jackie) is one of the nicest person’s you want to meet. She is extremely helpful, generous and accommodating. Staying in a beautiful town-home on the Upper West side provides you with a true New York City neighborhood experience. I would highly recommend the Inn to anyone who wants to visit the city.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: It was truly a pleasure to host you. Come back soon and bring more friends!!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

You Owe it to Yourself to Stay Here!

Review submitted: September 24, 2012   Date of arrival: September 19, 2012

My wife decided that she wanted to visit New York for her 40th birthday. I was a little apprehensive since neither of us had ever been there, but you know what they say - Happy wife, happy life!

So we started looking at rental places. A lot were way out of our price range. Way out. Then we came upon this property. It was within our budget, but where in NY was it? Harlem. Uh oh, I've heard about Harlem. From what I've heard and seen on TV, Harlem isn't somewhere you want to stay. (I was thinking Good Times) So we kept looking, but kept coming back to this place. Then I looked around on Google Maps to see what the area was like.

I'm glad to say that my preconceptions about Harlem were dead wrong. This property is in a quiet location where the city noise doesn't keep you awake at night. It's also very convenient to subway and bus stops, so getting around isn't a problem. Of course, if you prefer to take a cab, they are up and down Broadway constantly. (This property is 1/2 a block from Broadway)

This is in a quiet neighborhood, people were very friendly. We talked to several neighbors while we were there and they were quick to ask how we were doing, what we'd done that day, how we liked the city, etc. Just good people going about their daily lives - getting kids up and off to school, groceries, going to/from work. Just like at home.

Inside was spotless and well depicted in the photos on this site. The beds were more comfortable that at home - slept like a baby every night. The color choices were spot on and complimented the decor very well. You could tell that a great deal of time and money went into it.

When we got there we were pleasantly surprised to find a few comforts of home waiting on us - bacon, eggs, milk, coffee, etc. Little things that made us feel at home. The owner, Jackie, was more than accommodating. We had a last minute addition to our party, and Jackie was great about it, no issues at all. We crossed paths with her on several occasions and she was gracious and kind. Literally cannot say enough good things about her.

There were 6 of us that stayed here, and we all had great things to say about the property and owner. No one had any issues at all (other than sore feet at the end of the day) and we were all glad to have stayed here. We're already planning our next trip and will be staying here again

Like the title said, you owe it to yourself to stay here!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Why didn't I think of that catchy slogan, not to worry I'm stealing it, "You owe it to yourself to stay here" Thanks guys and come back soon.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Best place to stay in New York

Review submitted: September 12, 2012   Date of arrival: August 29, 2012

We had a great stay in New York. The apartment was everything we had hoped for. Jackie is very sweet and was a great help with navigating the city. We would stay again in this apartment and when we tell our friends about it they can not believe how lucky we were to find it. I give it 5 stars!!!!!!

Owners response: I feel really lucky to have met you and your wonderful family. You guys were GREAT!!! Thanks also for the tentative bookings for next year, so looking forward to seeing you again.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Absolutely perfect

Review submitted: August 21, 2012   Date of arrival: July 28, 2012

This was a wonderful place to stay. Jackie is terrific. She even arranged for a driver to pick all four of us (and multiple suitcases) up at the airport. When we arrived, we were so pleasantly surprised at how nice the apartment was. The furnishing are so comfortable and plush. The beds and bedding VERY comfortable-I'm very picky about this! Jackie filled the refrigerator and pantry with all kinds of coffee's, breads, fresh fruit. We especially appreciated the fresh flowers on the exquisite fireplace mantel. The subway and bus stop are a block away.
If you stay here, try the Dinosaur Restaurant for Bar-be-que. I think it was on 125th street, near the Cotton Club. Really good food at great prices.
I cannot say one derogatory thing about this place, it was perfect

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for helping to get the word out about the wonderful restaurants in Hamilton Heights. Your son and wife wanted dinner at 11:00 pm and we walked 3 blocks to Tonalli and had a great dinner and talked like old friends. I try to help all my guests have a vacation experience that is truly exquisite and it seems to be working. It was great to meet you all and please come back soon.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Could not have chosen a better accommodation!!

Review submitted: August 15, 2012   Date of arrival: August 6, 2012

We are a family of four with two teenage children. Travelling from Britain, we could not have chosen a better one. The apartment had all the facilities as advertised, easily accommodated us with enough privacy and is surrounded by grocer shops and good take-aways one side and the riverside walk on the other side. The street is pretty quiet and has the looks of leafy suburban areas of England. Jackie, the landlady, is a warm and welcoming person and the fact that she lives just in the floor and hence is available for quick information gave us a sense that help is always there when needed. When she says late check-out would be made available whenever possible, she is true to the letter; we checked-out at 4:30 PM for 7PM flight as there was no other guest was checking-in soon after we checked-out.

If you are from outside US and plan to visit NYC for a few days, here is the tip: this is a very, very good value for money; do not fall for adverts which tempt you by saying 'it is closer to all attractions in Manhattan'. NYC subway is wonderful and cheap, so living in 146 street hardly matters; you can reach any attraction easily - perhaps saving 10 minutes at most had you been living in the center of Manhattan. Apartment is also well-connected to La Guardia (M60 Bus and #1).

People in the street are very friendly and we never felt insecure.

Jackie, you are truly great and thanks for all the help and info you provided. This is the first time we rent a holiday apartment; you have set the standards we should expect elsewhere. All the best.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: It was such a pleasure hosting you and your wonderful family. This is what makes hosting worthwhile, when I see you enjoying this wonderful city and relaxing and feeling at home in my apartment. Please come back soon, I miss you guys already.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

A Real Gem!

Review submitted: July 25, 2012   Date of arrival: July 13, 2012

Never having rented an apartment in NYC before, we were apprehensive at first. The place turned out to be a real gem. Very well located, convenient to reach by either car, or subway. The apartment is tastefully appointed and very well maintained. Much of it is brand new. The landlady, Jackie is a real treat to meet and to deal with. Jackie was there to meet us when we arrived and throughout our stay, she made herself available at all times and made sure that all our needs were taken care of. She is cheerful and gave us very helpful guidance in navigating around the City. We are thankful to Jackie for Garden Terrace that made our trip to NYC a success. We loved it and given the opportunity, we would definitely go there again.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Ajay, you and your family were awesome. You parked your car on Riverside Drive, got acquainted with the subway and had a great time. I was apprehensive for your parents, but when I opened the door the next day and saw your father returning from an early morning stroll along the tree-lined path on Riverside Drive, I knew you were all going to be fine. My best memory of your family is the smile on all your faces as you left for your Broadway Show that last evening. It will be my pleasure to host you again.
Jackie

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great place to stay!

Review submitted: July 24, 2012   Date of arrival: July 17, 2012

What a great place to stay! This 2 bedroom apartment is just a block from the Hudson River. The landlord, Jackie, was helpful and kind. The apartment is clean, quiet, and beautifully decorated. It has a full kitchen and Jackie even provided groceries for breakfast. The beds were comfortable, and I loved the fact that we had a washer and dryer! The subway stop is only a block and a half away, which made getting around town very easy. We would definitely recommend this place to anyone we know that will be visiting NYC!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Linda, you and your family were awesome!!! You guys made this apartment your home. Come back soon.
Jackie

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Excellent Apartment and Great Location...

Review submitted: July 1, 2012   Date of arrival: June 26, 2012

This vacation rental far exceeded my expectations. I traveled to NYC with my 3 boys ages 12, 10 and 7 on vacation. The apartment was spacious, well maintained, extremely clean and 1 block away from the 1 train that travels to times square. We also walked to Yankee stadium (25 minutes) for a day game. Ms. Jackie was extremely nice and even baked cookies for the kids. She also lives in the brownstone in case there's ever a problem. We were met promptly on our arrival with the key. The neighborhood was great, grocery stores and eating places are all close by. We traveled back to the apartment around 10pm and felt completely safe riding the subway and walking 2 blocks to the apartment. There was also free parking on the street if needed. After this experience my kids no longer want to stay in hotels when traveling. It was there 1st trip to NYC and the apartment helped provide a memorable experience. I have already recommended the apartment to friends who often travel to new york city. Great apartment, with excellent location & value... I will absolutely rent the unit again when ever I travel to NYC...

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks Eddie, your kids were amazing and you left the apartment spotless.
I could not ask for better guests.

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review