reviews for: listing #101468 - Point Loma, California Apartment rental

Bay View, City Lights, from Your Private, Sunny Deck!
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  no
  • type  Apartment
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  San Diego-Point Loma
  • sleeps  3
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $155 - $170 /nt
    $900 - $995 /wk
    $2,950 - $3,200 /mth

sort by:

Great views, space and people!

Review submitted: August 13, 2014   Date of arrival: August 2, 2014

What a wonderful, warm welcome as we arrived at Dave and Toni's! We absolutely adored this place - such a fun and funky space, with all the amenities you could ever need. We really appreciated the wine after a long day of travel to get there. Dave and Toni did a great job with the space inside the apartment, and the view outside is wonderful, day or night. We will gladly stay here again and heartily recommend this listing as a one-of-a-kind, excellent choice for anyone!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Hope & Jeff, thanks for taking time to share your experience and thoughts about staying with us. We hope you can make your next visit last a little longer! Dave & Toni

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The Perfect San Diego Retreat for 2

Review submitted: July 20, 2014   Date of arrival: July 10, 2014

Ann and I spent a week in San Diego for my brother's family gathering/retirement party. Much of the family stayed at a large beach house in Imperial Beach, but we wanted a smaller, more secluded and centrally located retreat. This property was perfect! Dave and Toni were great hosts and could not have been more friendly and gracious. The views are amazing and the deck was the perfect setting to watch the sun come up with a cup of coffee and to enjoy the evening with a glass of wine. We are so happy to have found this place and we look forward to returning. I highly recommend this property for a couples getaway. Thanks, Dave and Toni.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Tony & Ann, thanks for your kind review. It was a pleasure having you stay with us and so glad you chose our location. And how fun that from the patio deck you got to hear Steely Dan playing over at Humphrey's! We hope to see you again soon. Dave & Toni

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Best value in Point Loma

Review submitted: May 21, 2014   Date of arrival: May 14, 2014

This was our first trip to San Diego and we weren't sure where to stay. We were very lucky to stumble across this cozy, charming suite for two, which is perfectly situated for exploring the sights of San Diego, La Jolla and Point Loma. A bonus was that we could drive up to La Jolla via Mission Bay without taking the I5...far more scenic. We loved riding the seawall on the cruiser bikes and walking to the marina for fresh seafood to cook on the BBQ. Croissants and coffee in the mornings were only a 5-minute walk and some of San Diego's most popular eateries and a great wine shop are steps away. And where else can you spend the evenings lounging on your own private patio with an outdoor fireplace? Thanks Dave and Toni for being such wonderful hosts.

Recommended for: sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Anne & Pierre,
It was a delight to have you both stay and spend time together on the patio getting to know you. We're glad you found us and that you had such an enjoyable time. There are so many fun things to do in San Diego - many just a short walk or ride from our place - sounds like you found many of them. Come back soon!
Dave & Toni

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great View and Location

Review submitted: May 18, 2014   Date of arrival: May 2, 2014

After a week in Las Vegas, we drove to this exquisite nook. We immediately found ourselves at home and had a very enjoyable 7 day stay. Location says it all...pictures will never capture the awesome view from the patio. We were able to get to all our bucket list items in a matter of minutes. We kicked off the week by taking advantage of the Old Town Trolley Tour to get a grasp of San Diego and all it has to offer. We spent the rest of the week enjoying our preferred spots from the tour such as Old Town, Gaslamp District, La Jolla, Balboa Park, Seaport Village and Coronado Island. Played Torrey Pines golf course and spent an enjoyable full day traveling up the Pacific Coast Highway. Dave & Toni were great hosts! We have already recommended this gem to friends...one of which has booked a future stay. ;)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Scott & Tammy,

Thank you for the kind review. We're glad we could help make your stay everything you had hoped for. We look forward to having your friend Mary Kay with us in October. Please come back and see us soon!

Dave & Toni

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Want to feel like a local? Stay here!!

Review submitted: May 3, 2014   Date of arrival: April 24, 2014

When looking for a place to stay obviously there are a gazillion choices. But we wanted a view of our own, away from the touristy areas, with privacy, and the comforts of home. Got all of that here!

If you plan on eating out a lot, the small kitchen here is perfect!

Here are some adjectives that come to mind about this little gem: clean, quaint, quiet, cozy, comfortable, and memorable.

If you are looking to relax and enjoy, this is the place for you! I would recommend this rental highly, and I would definitely stay here again. Thanks Dave and Toni for sharing your little slice of heaven!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Aimee & Bradley, thanks for your kind review! I think you were our first guests from Michigan, which was my favorite place to vacation when I was growing up in Ohio. Toni and I are glad we could make your stay enjoyable and easy!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A cute,small & very clean apartment.

Review submitted: April 1, 2014   Date of arrival: March 29, 2014

Toni & David made us very welcome & did everything to make our stay a great one.
The fire on the deck was a warm addition when we were entertaining in the evenings.

Recommended for: sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Rosemarie & George,

It was a delight to have you visit for two weeks to celebrate George's birthday and all the great fun you had with your family and friends. Toni says a special thanks for leaving things so clean! We really appreciate that. We sure hope to see you again soon and hope we have at least half as much fun as you do once we are both retired.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Excellent location

Review submitted: March 6, 2014   Date of arrival: February 26, 2014

Dave & Toni were awesome hosts and my friend and I were really happy we chose this place. We used the kitchen a lot and walked to stores and Point Loma U. It's got a great patio/view and hosts. Would definitely come back

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks, Clare. We were glad you could manage without a car and we could give you an airport pickup. Hope to see you again soon!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

wonderful location and value

Review submitted: February 20, 2014   Date of arrival: December 31, 2013

We booked our stay a couple weeks ahead of time for a New Years eve stay. I was surprised to find it still available. The views of the San Diego harbor and downtown are fantastic. The outdoor patio is a great place for a glass of wine and unwind while watching the boats. We were very happy with our stay here. The value for the time of year was great.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing

Owners response: Jeff & Sally,

We were happy to welcome you as our last (2013) and first (2014) guests of these two years. So glad you enjoyed the stay. Yesterday we just purchased a brand new, pillow top mattress and box springs to make your next stay (and everyone else's) even more comfortable!
Dave & Toni

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great place to stay!

Review submitted: January 18, 2014   Date of arrival: December 17, 2013

My wife and I came to San Diego to spend the holidays with family who live in San Diego. Location was perfect for us, the view from the deck was fantastic. The apartment fit our needs completely. My wife described the setting as "cozy." We ate out most of the time but the "kitchenette" served our purposes well, made coffee every morning, made one evening meal, microwaved snacks and popcorn. Everything we needed was provided by the owners. The apartment was clean, orderly, yet homey when we arrived. Will probably stay here again next trip if it is available. My wife who loves cats adopted Simon during our stay. Thanks to Dave and Toni for making us comfortable.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Don & Carol,

It's always nice to have fellow Buckeye's come stay with us, especially since Toni now knows where Ohio is! Thanks for the kind review and feedback. We hope to see you again in 2014 when we can spend more time visiting.

Dave & Toni

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beautiful View!

Review submitted: December 23, 2013   Date of arrival: December 4, 2013

We enjoyed our 12 day stay in this cozy apartment. The view is spectacular and the location is perfect. We rented a car and found it easy get around. This property is within 5 -20 minutes of all the attractions in San Diego -- Old Town, Gaslamp District, the Zoo, La Jolla, Balboa Park, Seaport Village, Coronado Island. We enjoyed daily sunrises from our private deck and sunsets on the cliffs (a five minute drive). Dave & Toni were great hosts!

Owners response: Robert & Kim, we were grateful that you had such a good time visiting us and seeing the sights. Please come back in 2014!
-D&T

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

San Diego Thanksgiving

Review submitted: December 8, 2013   Date of arrival: November 26, 2013

We had a delightful stay at this Pt. Loma apartment. The location is great. You can be anywhere in 20 minutes or less. In addition you can walk easily to bars, restaurants, a bakery, drugstore, small grocery and more. The terrace is perfect. You look out to the Bay and marina. We watched an aircraft carrier go out one morning. The owners do a great job providing detailed information about the unit and area around you. They happened to be traveling while we were there and we had no trouble getting settled in on our own. A cozy unit for a short get away.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing

Owners response: Debbie & Richard,

We think the location (and view!) is indeed what makes our place special and we are glad you took the time to share your experience with us. We're truly sorry we were away and did not get to meet you in person.

D&T

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Outstanding Find on Point Loma!!!

Review submitted: December 5, 2013   Date of arrival: November 6, 2013

We were thrilled with our entire experience at Dave and Toni's on Point Loma! What great hosts!! The apartment nestled on the hillside was welcoming as well as comfortable. I can not say enough regarding the patio/deck over looking the San Diego Bay. We lingered over our morning coffee on the patio...enjoyed sipping wine after returning from various adventures and enjoyed watching the beautiful sunset colors reflect off the glassbuildings buildings across the bay. The chiminea was a huge plus and we enjoyed fires most evenings. We ran on the path along the marina many mornings and on our return route home...we would stop by the bakery to pick up some yummy treats! Point Loma was a relaxing/convenient place to be....close to the airport, Cabrillo Monument (tide pools), Sunset Cliffs and Ocean Beach. We could have not asked for anything more!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Jill & Russ,

Thanks for the very kind review. Glad you liked our favorite path along the marina (only the locals know about it!). Please come back and see us again!!

D&T

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Get Getaway

Review submitted: October 25, 2013   Date of arrival: October 18, 2013

We were very pleased with this property. We have used VRBO for years and have had good luck. This was a find. The location is great just three blocks off the harbor. Close walking distance to lots of great restaurants. Just down the road from Sunset Cliffs and Cabrillo Monument. We really enjoyed the patio and the view from the patio is great morning, noon and night. We rented a car and found it very easy to get everywhere from the apartment. Great Location! Great for a couple!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great place and location!

Review submitted: October 20, 2013   Date of arrival: October 12, 2013

What a nice place to stay! Everything is as pictured on the VRBO site and Dave and Toni were very nice and quick to respond to any requests we made. The location is great, minutes from the beautiful bay, and 10-15 minutes from all the key tourist stops. Our only regret was not being able to stay longer as other guests were coming. Dave was even nice enough to suggest other places for the remainder of our trip! I would definitely recommend this place to anyone and would rent it again on my next trip to San Diego.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Aussies from Melbourne

Review submitted: October 3, 2013   Date of arrival: September 19, 2013

The apartment was exactly as described on the site. Very clean and tidy. Dave & Toni were a pleasure to deal with, nothing was to much trouble and they even left a bottle of wine for us to enjoy while taking in the stunning view from the deck of apartment.

Recommended for: age 55+, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Charming Accommodation

Review submitted: September 21, 2013   Date of arrival: September 10, 2013

This was our first trip to CA. Dave and Toni were gracious hosts. Dave was very helpful and answered all my questions. The apartment is very centrally located. We definitely recommend this accommodation.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Yes, Yes, YES!!

Review submitted: August 10, 2013   Date of arrival: July 2, 2013

We arrived on July 2 and stayed one month. The description and photos of this little gem are spot on. Watching the 4th of July fireworks from our own deck was spectacular. Every morning we'd watch the Naval and sailing ships exit and enter the harbor over our morning cup of coffee. The location is perfect. We ate out for our main meal of the day simply because they were so many restaurants and bistro's within walking distance (1-2 blocks). Unfortunately we never had a chance to try them all which is a good problem. A couple of our favorite places were Harbor Town Pub (open air seating and live entertainment in the evening) and Point Loma Seafood. Humphries Concerts by the Bay was also just blocks away and we had purchased tickets in advance for two different concerts. During our stay we also enjoyed the Point Loma Concerts in the Park that were free to the public also within walking distance unless you want to pack a picnic basket. We brought our bicycles with us and found the bike paths easy to navigate. We rode over to the ferry landing on Harbor Blvd. and took the ferry over to Coronado Island to ride on a couple of occasions. You can arrive at the beaches within 15 minutes and that is with the "beach traffic"! We cannot say enough about the property or the owners. We were able to get tickets to a Padre/Yankee game the day we were supposed to leave and the owners had no problem scheduling us for an additional night as the next stay-cationers were not arriving until around 4 the next day. Plans for next year are the east coast but you can be assured that we will definitely stay again! Additionally, the "I'd Recommend This Property For...." part of the review has "Adventure Seekers". I wouldn't say we are adventure seekers but we certainly live an active lifestyle and this property would fit those individuals looking for a place to stay.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Really Nice Place!

Review submitted: July 3, 2013   Date of arrival: June 30, 2013

The location was great. Close to airport, marinas, great view, quiet/peaceful yet close to somewhat busy area off of Rosecrans. Sunset Cliffs/Ocean Beach is right over the hill& that's a MUST SEE! Toni &Dave were extremely accommodating & easy going. Would definitely recommend staying here. My 2 teenagers LOVED IT(:

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

A GEM IN THE POINT LOMA HILLS

Review submitted: June 29, 2013   Date of arrival: June 18, 2013

I have been coming to San Diego for many years often staying in the Point Loma area, I love to be close to the water.
When I saw this VRBO Rental I was so excited to see if it was available for my planned visit and it was. From the moment you open the terrace door stepping in to the unit it has a feeling of coming in to your own little Utopia.
It is furnished with all you need to make you comfortable, a cheerful living room, queen bed is good and that dictates that this place is for 1 or 2 people and if you want to cook you have all you need for making easy meals. The hilly location is easy to reach, parking is good and you are just 10 min from downtown, Mission Bay/Beach, Fishing Harbor, Sea World and not much further to Balboa Park/Zoo

If you just want to relax ,the beautiful Terrace is all you need..what a VIEW. It is like a movie with an ever changing scenery, the City, Coronado Island, The Harbor and Bay and ships big or small passing by on the bay.

I could not have had a more enjoyable and special time at Toni and Dave's Home and it does feel like your own place away from home. They are so helpful and the in-house-binder they have prepared with everything you need to know, see and do in San Diego and surrounding areas is excellent.
You are in great hands.
The only problem by providing the information here will result in having a difficult time securing the place for future visits..but Toni and Dave deserves this recognition.

Do not forget to visit Point Loma SeaFoods(very casual) for either lunch, early dinner or "take home" the freshest sea food around. . I also make a point of going to get my fix on the "best pizza" west of New York, It is" Bronx Pizza" on Washington in Hillcrest. Wow. Their following is tremendous.

Recommended for: age 55+, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

A Little Piece of Heaven!

Review submitted: June 4, 2013   Date of arrival: May 31, 2013

From the moment we arrived everything was absolutely perfect. I was in total awe at the amazing view. I could have sat out on the deck area all day and been completely content. Everything was more than we could have ever asked for! We are already scouring thru our calendars to find a time where we can return. Thank you Dave & Toni for such a wonderful place to stay. I am very happy to say that we now think of you as friends. Hugs!

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

A Point Loma Gem

Review submitted: May 30, 2013   Date of arrival: May 24, 2013

This is our second time renting this property. It is nestled in the hills in Point Loma with an incredible view of San Diego bay and the skyline. We will be staying here again next year, because of the location, the hospitality and the value. Dave and Toni are great hosts, and the pictures and descriptions, while helpful, cannot do the place justice. It's outstanding! Clean, comfortable and beautiful.
This is a great couples getaway, or for my son and I, a perfect base from which to explore this great Southern Californian region. We went fishing, hiking, paddling and hit many of the local coffee shops and eateries. The Living Room coffee shop being our favorite.
I give this place the highest recommedation!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Very West Coast

Review submitted: April 27, 2013   Date of arrival: April 17, 2013

So happy to have chosen this apartment over any hotel in the area! An exceptional value. The deck / patio is very large and private with great views you will want to spend all your time out there! The apartment is perfect for two and has an open feel. The neighborhood is very nice and felt safe leaving the doors wide open for that refreshing ocean breeze.
This is a great location in Point Loma within a block from a European style bakery/deli and an easy walk to many restaurants from Italian to Sushi. Also within walking distance to Shelter Island. Visiting family in Ocean Beach and the drive there was 5 minutes! Owners Dave and Toni make sure you have everything you need for a comfortable stay.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Spring Break 2013

Review submitted: April 10, 2013   Date of arrival: March 30, 2013

We have used VRBO for years and this was our best stay ever!!!!!! Dave and Toni were very welcoming and made us feel very comfortable. The private sunny deck was where we spent most of our time relaxing. The view was stunning!!! And all the flowers - better than Hawaii.
We found everything in the listing to be accurate. There were so many amenities in walking distance. GREAT location for walking and public transportation.
If you asked me for one word to describe this property it would be RELAXING!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Point Loma oasis

Review submitted: March 24, 2013   Date of arrival: March 16, 2013

I stayed for a week at this cute little suite. It was very comfortable, clean and convenient to all the things I wanted to do and see. I rented a car and could park right in front. The suite had everything I needed. The decor felt like a summer beach cottage which was very "California" to me, with the bonus of a full bathroom, electronics and nicer cooking facilities! The deck was a treat, something you would have to pay much more for at a hotel. The city skyline was beautiful. Dave and Toni were gracious and very willing to help in any way with information and assistance. Dave let me know about the Saturday farmer's market, just a short walk away, so I was able to get some goodies and experience some local "flavor". A couple of things to consider are that you will need to climb some stairs to get up to the suite (although Toni helped by carrying my suitcase up, thank you) and it is a neighbourhood with the usual noises that people make in their day to day lives. I would definitely return to stay here.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Top Choice Apartment for a Visit to San Diego

Review submitted: March 16, 2013   Date of arrival: March 8, 2013

When you arrive during a rainstorm and one of the owners (Toni) comes out with an umbrella, you immediately feel good about your internet selection of a place to stay. From there, everything continued to live up to and exceed expectations: the apartment was very clean and comfortable with wonderful privacy and a view that topped the pictures. It is close to everything, yet out of the fray, and the recommendations of restaurants and “things to do” were great. Both Tony and Dave are conscientious about making sure your stay is enjoyable. The next time we visit San Diego we will not need to look on the internet.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Place - Hosts to Match

Review submitted: January 11, 2013   Date of arrival: November 4, 2012

You have a lot of VRBO options when visiting San Diego. Few if any will be more enjoyable than a stay at this Point Loma charmer.

My wife Barbara and I spent the month of November 2012 with hosts Dave & Toni. Looking back on it I’m not sure which was more fun; the comfortable, clean and well-appointed accommodations or getting to know our gracious hosts. They never missed a chance to be responsive, helpful and attentive to our needs.

The view is everything their posting promises. The bay and the city’s skyline provide an enchanting vista, day and night. The deck and outdoor fireplace offer all the comfort a San Diego evening can offer. The property is well maintained and very comfortable.

Dave and Toni certainly aren’t shoveling smoke when they talk about all the options within walking distance. Fine dining. Great pizza. Cozy bakeries and coffee shops. Delis and sandwich shops. Some great neighborhood joints with unexpectedly good bar food are all just blocks away.

We stayed here to establish a base of operations for our move back to San Diego after too many years away. We’re now settling into our new home. In the future when folks ask us where they might stay to “really get a feel” for what San Diego has to offer we will not hesitate to recommend Dave and Toni’s little getaway.

Recommended for: girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

San Diego in September

Review submitted: November 13, 2012   Date of arrival: September 23, 2012

Spent a week at Toni and Dave's VRBO. The view is as shown in photos...wicked! The suite provided us with pretty much everything we needed. Very central. Quiet. Didn't use the oven....seemed complicated. Microwave was enough for us. Lots of eateries close by. Nice quiet beach a little further down Rosecrans...look at the list that is on the fridge for directions....wish we saw this early on in our stay. We loved having Simon as our resident cat. Very friendly. Loves to talk! Ocean Beach is very close also(Hodads for awesome burgers...huge and good price). Pub on the corner of Rosecrans and Canon is also quite good. Would def. stay here again....and def. Point Loma is our preferred location for San Diego. Thanks again Toni and Dave.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Bay View, City Lights, from Your Private, Sunny Deck!

Review submitted: October 28, 2012   Date of arrival: October 10, 2012

The title describes our experience best. The view was breathtaking. The accommodations were very comfortable, cozy, and clean. Toni and Dave were super hosts and made us feel very welcome. The kitchen was well-stocked which allowed us to make a quick meal or snack if we wanted which really wasn't necessary since the apartment is within walking distance to many wonderful restaurants. Be prepared to share the apartment with an extra guest since the large orange tabby cat makes himself very much at home in the apartment when you come to visit. We look forward to coming back soon!

Recommended for: girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Just Wonderful!

Review submitted: October 26, 2012   Date of arrival: October 20, 2012

Very clean, gorgeous, and comfortable, with great views. I came for a theater performance in Balboa Park, which was easily accessible from here. Also close to lunch at Liberty Station restaurants, take-out from nearby Mitch's Seafood (yum!) and Pt Loma Seafood, drives to beautiful views and walks at Cabrillo National Monument and Sunset Cliffs. Dave and Toni were friendly, kind, and responsive to questions, and I appreciated the little extras: a bottle of wine, bottled water, etc. The only downside was a little rain ... I was so looking forward to sitting on the deck with a good book!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Point Loma, Bay View

Review submitted: September 25, 2012   Date of arrival: August 20, 2012

The apartment was very comfortable and well stocked. The listing was accurate and informative and additional information provided by the owners made it very easy to find our way both around the apartment and around the neighborhood. It was helpful to have a couple of small grocery stores and a pharmacy close by and there are numerous restaurants in the area. Mostly we cooked our own meals and had everything we needed in the kitchen along with a gas grill on the patio. Comfortable patio and great views!
Really enjoyed getting to know the owners and plan to return to stay there again. In addition we did have friends visit while we were there and they are interested in staying at the apartment as well.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Home away from home

Review submitted: August 21, 2012   Date of arrival: August 2, 2012

A perfect pied a terre in San Diego. From the first phone call to the last day, Toni and Dave were warm and gracious hosts. The apartment is well equipped, comfortably furnished and stocked with all the essentials . Beautiful location, with magnificent view of tbe marina and downtown San Diego. We were worried about the heat spell. No need. They bought an extra room fan which did the trick.

We will go back again and again.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Excellent Vacation Rental!!!

Review submitted: July 28, 2012   Date of arrival: July 18, 2012

Dave and Toni were very nice and accommodating! The place was very clean. We spend many nights on the deck enjoying the nice view with a fire. Also, it was very close to beaches and good restaurants.

Highly recommend this rental to anyone who wants to enjoy San Diego!!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

beautiful home, great hosts!

Review submitted: July 26, 2012   Date of arrival: July 6, 2012

We were in town for a wedding in Ocean Beach and staying with Dave and Toni was way more enjoyable and cost-effective than staying in a hotel. We were able to bring our rather large dog, Logan, to stay with us (who also went to the wedding :)). Dave and Toni were great, accommodating hosts.

View from their deck is GORGEOUS and we stayed up both nights to have a fire in their outdoor wood-burning stove.

Within walking distance (~10 min) are a few mom n pop type coffee shops where you can also get breakfast.

Recommended for: pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A great place to enjoy San Diego!

Review submitted: July 13, 2012   Date of arrival: June 30, 2012

We stayed at this apartment for 5 days while visiting family in San Diego. The view of the bay, city and Coronado bridge is amazing!! The apartment was comfortable and the perfect amount of space for us. The location is great! Close to the airport, downtown, and most San Diego attractions. Also within walking distance of great restaurants, shops and Shelter Island. The owners were friendly and answered all our questions about San Diego. You can't go wrong with this rental!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, pet-friendly, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful views, nice amenities, and great owners!

Review submitted: June 8, 2012   Date of arrival: May 30, 2012

We were in San Diego for the Rock n Roll Marathon and wanted a place to stay away from town, close to the beaches. We had a sweet pup traveling with us so we had to find a place that was animal friendly. Dave was SO easy to work with. He wanted to be sure we had everything we needed, when we needed it. The views from their patio of the city are so beautiful! The bathroom was just remodeled and it is very nice. The kitchen area and living area are just perfect for a few guests. I can't say enough great things about this place!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

What a find!

Review submitted: May 29, 2012   Date of arrival: May 25, 2012

This is such a great spot! Clean, well-maintained one bedroom apartment with amazing views of the bay!
Very reasonably priced for what you get. I will, for sure, stay here again, and would recommend it highly.The owners are nice people, and were very helpful in explaining the area.
San Diego has it all- beach, restaurants, weather. This is a great way to experience it!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

You will not be disappointed!

Review submitted: May 3, 2012   Date of arrival: April 28, 2012

When planning my trip to San Diego I did lots of searching for the best place to stay, Toni and Dave’s place was perfect. I did see other rentals with views and similar accommodations, but this cozy apartment had the whole package. The view of the bay and city was unbeatable perfect for a great dinner and glass of wine. The apartment has been remodeled with all the amenities, plus Toni and Dave were very friendly and accommodating. When staying in San Diego I would not consider any other rental. Highly recommended.

Recommended for: sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

What a view!

Review submitted: April 10, 2012   Date of arrival: December 19, 2011

This was such a comfortable place to stay and what a view from the french doors leading to the private patio equipped with a fireplace! It's not walking distance to the beach but I will trade that any day for a fantastic view of the harbor and downtown skyline that's 24/7. The photos are good but the place is much better in person. It's a short driving distance to Ocean Beach and walking distance to the fantastic restaurants in Point Loma like the Brigantine, Harbor Town, Old Venice and Point Loma Seafood. Even though the owners live in the attached house there is a separate entrance to the apartment and they are very friendly. I never knew they were there except if I needed something and they always made sure I had what I needed. I will definitely stay there again when I return to San Diego.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A Super Vacation Rental!

Review submitted: April 9, 2012   Date of arrival: January 1, 2012

I’ve been coming to San Diego for about 20 years to visit relatives and last year I rented this apartment which now tops all the other rentals I’ve found. SInce Toni and Dave purchased it they have made major improvements and I was really thrilled to see the remodeling and re-decorating this year. The view of the bay and downtown from the apartment is just spectacular! And I LOVE the sunny patio! Best of all, it's only blocks to great restaurants, coffee shops, farmer's markets and to beautiful bayside walks Before I left this time I put my reservation in for next year and the year after that!. I’ve never found anything better and I guarantee you’ll enjoy staying here.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review