reviews for: listing #101524 - Haleiwa, Hawaii Condo rental

North Shore - Haleiwa Surf beachfront condo just renovated
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  no
  • type  Condo
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Haleiwa Surf
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $135 - $190 /nt
    $1,225 - $1,225 /wk
    $3,780 - $3,780 /mth

sort by:

Great Condo !

Review submitted: April 15, 2014   Date of arrival: March 27, 2014

My husband and I rented this condo for two weeks in March and had a blast. Very Clean, extremely well supplied and modern updating, Easy to walk to Haleiwa every morning, great swimming and snorkeling right outside the unit. Owner very easy to rent from and easy to contact. Robin even check on us with a Tsunami Advisory ! That's service! We will be back !

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Aloha Cindy, so glad you had a great time. Haleiwa Surf is so magical.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wow! Simply unbelievable!

Review submitted: March 28, 2014   Date of arrival: March 22, 2014

Arrived with some fairly high expectations, every one of them was exceeded! Everything was great, the kitchen and bathrooms stood out, but the star of the show was the lanai!! What a view and what a place for morning coffee, afternoon siesta, evening cocktails and dinner. Thanks so much, we will be back but next time for a much longer stay!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Aloha Ralph, thank you for the rave review! Glad you enjoyed yourselves. I too love the lanai, it's mesmerizing!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful Condo - Right on the Beach - Everything You Could Want or Need!

Review submitted: February 18, 2014   Date of arrival: February 7, 2014

Thank you Robin for such a lovely time in your Haleiwa beachside condo. I travelled with my husband and mother-in-law and we all had a great time. The weather was fantastic and having a beach just outside your doorstep made for such a relaxing vacation. We enjoyed all the condo had to offer: kitchen with everything you need to cook (just supply the food, but she has a lot of condiments, spices, oils, etc. to use), beach supplies (chairs, coolers, boogie boards, towels, snorkels, fins, etc.), linens, bathroom supplies (lotion, hairdryers, basic first aid, shampoo), TV with a great cable package for the rainy days, and high-speed wireless internet. All in all, there was a lot we could have left at home with how much Robin has in this recently-renovated condo.

The complex is quiet, with a mix of families and retirees, as well as vacationers like ourselves. The A/C unit in the bedroom is quite powerful and we only really needed to have it on maybe an hour before bedtime to cool the room as the nightime breezes keep you comfortable after that.

The only, and *VERy* minor thing that I could think of is that the fans in the bathrooms might need to be replaced as they had a hard time venting steam. Although we had some very hot and humid days while we were there, so I can't really expect miracles from a bathroom fan!

Haleiwa "downtown" is only a 15min walk or 5min drive down the road from this condo. I really recommend going to the food trucks (bit of a hike, easy drive further into town near the smaller, not the double, bridge). Our favourite is "Dat Cajun Guy" with his shrimp po boy. As well, there are so many little shops to explore - and don't forget the shaved ice at Masumoto's (I am dissapointed to see Aoki's is closed). As well, if you don't pick up food in Honolulu on your way out, there is a grocery store in Haleiwa, but if you have a car I recommend driving up the Kamehaeha Hwy to Waimea and the Foodland there. Don't forget to get their loyalty card at the checkout to save even more!

All in all, I had a very wonderful and relaxing time at Robin's condo. She was always prompt to reply by email to any concerns I might have had. We will definitely keep this place in mind for our next trip to Hawaii!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Aloha Kristine, thank you for your review, much appreciate it. Yes, I will check into those bathroom fans. Mahalo.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Perfect Location!

Review submitted: January 20, 2014   Date of arrival: January 15, 2014

We had a great stay at this nicely renovated condo. After a week in Waikiki we enjoyed the quiet and slower pace in Hale'iwa. The location is great and the view from the lanai can't be beat. The ocean is so close and listening to the waves at night was wonderful. We watched the sea turtles swim right out front everyday too. The condo was nice and comfortable with everything we could possibly need. We made good use of the snorkel/beach gear. The protected area out front was great for swimming and snorkeling. We would highly recommend staying here to friends and family and we'll hopefully be back soon! Booking was very easy with Robin. There are lots of restaurant choices close by and a convenient grocery store. Our favorite was The Grass Skirt Grill, inexpensive, fresh and good casual food.
Thanks again for the great stay Robin!

Recommended for: age 55+, people with disabilities, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Aloha Kate, thank you for your great review. So glad you enjoyed yourselves! Yes, please come back again. Mahalo, Robin

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Amazing

Review submitted: November 29, 2013   Date of arrival: September 11, 2013

We took advantage of the fully stocked kitchen, plentiful parking and air conditioner in the bedroom. The sunset on the beach was beautiful and we loved that it was only a few steps from our apartment.

The area is quiet, not too busy at all. The only problem is that there aren't very many things open late and everything is a bit of a drive away so plan your meals ahead. If you plan to head into town a lot on your trip, the drive is a bit long with traffic on almost all days so you might want to stay south. However, if you're staying up north and if you want to enjoy a relaxing vacation, this is the spot.

Will definitely be back when we're looking to unwind.

Owners response: Aloha, thank you for the great comments. Yes the North Shore is magical and great for a nice relaxing vacation. Glad you enjoyed yourselves. Mahalo

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Spot to Vacation

Review submitted: November 16, 2013   Date of arrival: October 10, 2013

I spent a week in this condo for vacation and a wedding. The view was wonderful, the unit was very neat,clean and updated. There was more than I expected in the kitchen for cooking. I would recommend it to anyone, and I hope to visit again soon. I love hearing the ocean in the night and this was a perfect unit with the open air concept. I never needed the air conditioner. There were also items for the beach, snorkeling and relaxing. A great place on the balcony to have a cocktail after a good game of golf!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Aloha Sharon for your wonderful comments. Glad you had a great game of golf! Yes, please visit us again soon. Mahalo!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Dems

Review submitted: November 1, 2013   Date of arrival: October 23, 2013

Wonderful, clean and modernized condo. Perfect unit for my family. Ocean just outside the door. Listened to the waves all night, so relaxing. Tried to use the picnic area, but was used every night by another vacationer, every single night and he bugged us until we left, the one hour we tried to use it, but otherwise it was wonderful condo and beach. Turtles on the beach too. So nice. Will try to come back soon.

Recommended for: age 55+

Owners response: Aloha Sharon, so glad you & your sisters enjoyed the condo & area. Yes, the sound of the ocean is so calming. Sorry about the grill-hog, glad you got 1 night in there. Mahalo, Robin

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Excellent Time

Review submitted: October 13, 2013   Date of arrival: September 26, 2013

What a great place to stay. We had a great time and the views were excellent just like the condo. Nicely redecorated and all the extras like beach chairs, towels, coolers, cd's made it even nicer. So nice just to use all the stuff in the condo and use the beach in front of the condo. Very easy to walk into town and eat and shop. Make sure to go to Waimea Bay and to Ted's Bakery. So happy that we made this choice of this condo and Robin was gracious host. Mahalo Nui Loa

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Aloha Tim, I'm glad you had a great time here & thank you for the wonderful comments. Nice that you return back "home" to Hawaii often. Mahalo, Robin

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect Stay

Review submitted: October 9, 2013   Date of arrival: October 3, 2013

Great view, beautiful beach, very clean, minutes drive to the town of Haleiwa. We had a great time at this apartment. The outside patio furniture was very cozy. I loved that the apartment had a code lock so we didn't need a key to go in or out. The transaction with the owner was quick and easy. Definitely would stay here again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Mahalo Maria, glad you enjoyed your stay! Yes, come back again soon. Thanks!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great North Shore location

Review submitted: September 28, 2013   Date of arrival: September 16, 2013

Since we love to swim and snorkel, the greatest thing about this condo was its location: right on a swimming and snorkeling beach, and within easy driving of the other beaches on the North Shore. We could slip into the water at our every whim. Turtles abounded off our beach, and when the wind was down, the snorkeling was excellent. The condo was very well-equipped and clean in all ways. Enjoy eating your meals on the lanai, watching the sunset from up high. (Lanai screen door was sticky and irritated me sometimes, but that would be my only tiny complaint.) The condo was also walking distance into town, although along busy roads, so not terribly pleasant, but still perfectly doable. Many restaurants in Haliewa are worthy places to eat. I would highly recommend this rental to anyone who wants to stay on Oahu's North Shore.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Aloha Bonnie
Thank you for the wonderful comments. We really appreciate it. We will look at that door & have it fixed. Mahalo, Robin

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

great location

Review submitted: September 14, 2013   Date of arrival: September 7, 2013

This was a very nice clean well equipped condo, in an excellent location right on the beach. There were Turtles to swim with right there, directly adjacent to the condo. Very well organized booking site with plenty of helpful emails from the owner. I thought the $110 cleaning fee was a bit on the steep side, and $100 damage deposit was unusual in our experience of renting other condos on this trip. The only negatives of this condo were the quality of the bed linen (100% polyester!) and pillows (poor quality and stained) and the air con unit in bedroom could not be used all night because it was very noisy - we used it to cool the room down prior to bed time. We would rate this property an excellent if bed linen was improved.

Recommended for: age 55+

Owners response: Aloha Susan, thank you for your feedback. I'm sorry about the linens & pillows. We do keep extra pillows in the bin in the living room & extra linens in the closet. I checked with the cleaning lady, & she apologized, she had a lot of laundry to wash & took the dirty linens with her and placed the back-up linens on the bed. I will replace items. As for the sound of the air-conditioner, I too prefer the sound of the ocean, but when it’s warm, it sure is nice to have. I hope you still enjoyed your stay. Take care, Mahalo.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Excellent Vacation Stay!!

Review submitted: September 3, 2013   Date of arrival: August 19, 2013

This condo was amazing. It was super clean and had everything you can imagine in it, not to mention a view that is breath taking. I would 100% recommend this to anyone who is looking for a little slice of heaven and can have all the creature comforts of your own home with you on vacation. We ended up forgetting our plans to visit other beaches, we just spent our time at the Halewia Surf (since the beach is so great, quite and calm). We got the chance to see turtles swimming and poking their heads out of the water every morning. The location is a little off the beaten path but the peace and quiet is worth the travel time. I have had family members stay in other condos at the Halewia Surf (at a different time) and had some stay while we were there this time (they stayed in the condo next door). Not trying to put the other rental condos to shame..... buuuttt this one pretty much blows the other ones out of the water. Can't wait to stay again and we are counting down the days.

Robin,
Thank you again so much for everything, your place felt like home and we couldn't have asked for more. Your renovation are beautiful and a total added bonus to our stay. We hope to stay again sometime soon. Wishing you all the best from Calgary Alberta,

John and Karlene.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Wow! Thank you very much for your wonderful comments. I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay. And yes, I hope you make it back soon. Thanks & take care Karlene & John. Mahalo, Robin

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Vacation

Review submitted: July 30, 2013   Date of arrival: July 20, 2013

We had a great time, condo was very clean and equipted with anything you need from kitchen appliances to beach toys and towels. The beach was so beautiful and private. It was very relaxing to have all the room that the condo offered. We met some locals that will be friends forever. We plan on going back in Jan. 2014 and every year after that. The condos are the place to be. Its living like locals.
We love it......

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Owners response: Mahalo Linda. Glad you enjoyed yourselves.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Maka'i Nui!

Review submitted: June 2, 2013   Date of arrival: May 12, 2013

This condo was absolutely perfect! It is right on the beach...we spent quite a bit of time snorkeling right out front...and it is close to all the "hot spots" of the North Shore. The inside of the condo was immaculate and had some really nice amenities from plenty of towels to beach chairs to a fully stocked kitchen. We would definitely stay again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Mahalo Marissa! Glad you enjoyed your stay. The North Shore is so magical.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Very Nice

Review submitted: May 29, 2013   Date of arrival: May 15, 2013

Exceeded our expectations. Condo was very clean and had everything we needed. The condo was right on the beach as described. Perfect for swimming and snorkeling. We would love to stay here again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Mahalo Carl for your great comments, yes LMK when you want to return. I will have the kitchen renovated by then too. Aloha!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful experience...

Review submitted: May 16, 2013   Date of arrival: May 7, 2013

We spent 6 incredible days at this condo. As coming from Europe and being for the first time in Hawaii, we didn't have a clue about living in a beach condo. Well, everything was excellent. The condo itself was equipped with all the necessary items such as beach chairs, snorkeling masks, beach towels etc. We also appreciated its cleanliness and its kitchen equipment. Cable tv and wifi were a plus. Sunset view from the terrace was awesome!!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Mahalo Marco & Jenni for the great comments! Glad you enjoyed our Hawaiian hospitality! Ah Europe, one of my favorite places, have a safe trip back to Finland.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great central location for North Shore

Review submitted: May 1, 2013   Date of arrival: April 17, 2013

This beautifully appointed, updated condo was very comfortable and had everything we wanted or needed for our week on the North Shore. The gorgeous beach was not crowded and the setting quiet with a terrific view. Close to the town of Haleiwa and just minutes from the surfing beaches of the North Shore you couldn't ask for anything more. We are not the "beach/bar" scene type people so this is ideal for us. Very relaxing! Thank-you Robin for providing this condo.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Aloha Myra, thank you for nice comments, you'll have to return to see the new renovations (to be done by July). Glad you enjoyed Hawaii, Haleiwa & our unit. Mahalo, Robin

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Just what I wanted!

Review submitted: April 27, 2013   Date of arrival: April 6, 2013

This condo was wonderful. Great location and had everything. Very comfortable and just as described. The lanai was my favorite spot. Right on the beach with a fabulous view. Not to mention the sunsets and turtles swimming by. The location was very convenient too. Old Haleiwa Town was great and the drive north around the island was so beautiful. I am already trying to figure out when I can come back! Thanks Robin! Loved your place!

Owners response: Aloha Patti, thank you so much for your great comments. Glad you enjoyed your stay here, and yes do come back! Mahalo!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fun Stay

Review submitted: April 5, 2013   Date of arrival: March 31, 2013

Very nice unit in an excellent location. Condo sits right on a beautiful beach. Town is a 15 minute walk and you can pretty much walk the beach or the roadside. The condo is clean, decorated well and comfortable. It contains all the amenities you could need from beach chairs, towels and toys to all kitchen utensils and appliances to extra blankets and pillows.

I definitely recommend this property and will be back!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Aloha Linda & thank you for your favorable review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay on the North Shore. And it was nice making a 6 degree of separation connection, this world is too small. Looking forward to hearing from you again. Mahalo, Robin

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Stay in Haleiwa!

Review submitted: April 1, 2013   Date of arrival: March 23, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay in this condo. The location was awesome! Right on the beach! It was lovely to sit out and enjoy meals, a book or a glass of wine on the lanai. We spent lots of time on the beach and it was great to have all the beach necessities we could possibly need in the condo! We got to see turtles and whales swimming in the ocean, right infront of the condo! We also loved how well stocked the kitchen was for cooking all our meals! It was a nice change from spending money on pricey meals in Waikiki! The condo was also very clean and felt like home. The town of Haleiwa was great also! The condo is right next to a huge park which was great to walk to. The best food we had there was from the food trucks! Yum! Also, Luibuenos was a great dining experience! Robin was also great to deal with - very informative and friendly!

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Mahalo Kirsten for your wonderful comments. Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at our happy condo. Aloha, Robin

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Epic northshore condo

Review submitted: December 2, 2012   Date of arrival: November 15, 2012

Excellent unit and owner! No surprises; everything was as, or better, than advertised. Robin coordinated rental arrangements very smoothly (very responsive).

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Aloha Nephi, thank you! Looking forward to hearing from you for next time! Mahalo.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Location perfect

Review submitted: November 18, 2012   Date of arrival: November 4, 2012

We travelled from Australia to visit Oahu and decided to stay here as we love the beach as well as a little peace and quiet. The Condo/Unit was very clean and full of useful books, beach equipment, DVD's and much much more. This made our stay very comfortable and easy as we travelled with two boys 11 and 8. We would love to come back to Haleiwa surf and visit again. The town itself is very friendly and has many great restaurants, all very reasonable.

Owners response: Aloha Amy, great to hear you had a splendid time! Yes, let us know when you want to return. A hui hou! (until we meet again). Mahalo!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful View and All the Comforts of Home

Review submitted: November 10, 2012   Date of arrival: October 22, 2012

One of the best vacation rentals out there. Well equipped and well furnished. Very comfortable. Great location.

We even experienced a Tsunami warning and Robin was great. She checked to make sure we were ok. We will definitely be back!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you very much, I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and got to visit your uncle too. Looking forward to hearing from you again. Mahalo!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great property

Review submitted: August 27, 2012   Date of arrival: August 15, 2012

The condo has everything you need. We wished we could have stayed longer. We did not leave the beach in front of the condo. It is protected by a reef, so it was great for the kids. Further out, we could watch people surfing. Saw several turtles, and snorkeled with one. Watched amazing sunsets from the beach while eating takeout from various restaurants in Haleiwa. Will definitely return.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Aloha, so glad you enjoyed your stay. Looking forward to hearing from you next time, A Hui Hou! (until we meet again).

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Paradise Found

Review submitted: August 23, 2012   Date of arrival: July 24, 2012

Best location in Haleiwa. Great beach with trees for shade. Great snorkeling, kids loved seeing the turtles. Unit was older, but in good condition with an air conditioner in the bedroom that we didn't use after the first day. Unit was stocked with snorkel gear, boogie boards, beach chairs, and even bags to carry the gear. It was on the 3rd floor in the B building which is right against the beach. The view was so good I saved my picture from the balcony as the screensaver on my phone. Stocked the refrigerator with food from the reasonably priced supermarket in town. Extremely pleased with our stay. Would do it exactly the same way again!

Recommended for: families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Aloha, thank you for the nice review. Yes we totally agree with you. This is exactly why we purchased this unit. We hope to start renovating to update the unit and hopefully by when you return. Mahalo!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Absolutely Awesome

Review submitted: August 7, 2012   Date of arrival: August 1, 2012

Couldnt have asked for more! Place was fully stocked with beach toys and snorkel gear. Awesome snorkeling right in front of the condo. Comfortable beds and very clean. Look forward to staying again and hopefully soon!! Great owner and very easy to deal with.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Mahalo nui loa for your positive response. I hope the wedding was as much fun as your stay. Yes please come back soon, we will be happy to accomodate you. Don't forget to ask about your repeat visitor discount. Aloha and thank you.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review