reviews for: listing #101586 - Portland, Oregon Apartment rental

StayAlfred@Enso Pearl District at its Best! Amazing Finishes
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  Apartment
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $149 - $339 /nt
    $1,150 - $2,200 /wk
    $4,100 - $8,500 /mth

sort by:

Location is Sweet

Review submitted: January 10, 2014   Date of arrival: December 27, 2013

The location is fabulous. Right next to the Safeway. Very clean unit.
Appreciated Enso's responsiveness when you call them. Great to work with.

Recommended for: families with young children

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great location, walked to it all

Review submitted: December 17, 2013   Date of arrival: November 28, 2013

Fabulous location. Easy walk to restaurants, grocery and shopping. Safe entry. Comfortable. Excellent internet access.

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Bait and Switch

Review submitted: November 24, 2013   Date of arrival: November 15, 2013

My son rented this condo-apt for us to stay in for 2 nights as a last trip before they are to move to New York. There was 6 of us. First of all the place we got was not the same one they show you in the pictures they use to advertise. The decor in the VRBO 424774 was awsome and very high end looking. Even in there description of the place says how they use nothing but the best. And high end Art work. Well BEWARE. That is not anywhere near what the condo-apt we got. LOL! THE # and condo didn't even match. Oh ya it was a 2 bdrm 2 bath. But the DECOR!!! LOL! First it says 1 king 1 queen and a hide a bed couch. The beds were what they said. But the couch was just not a hide a bed. There was 2 fold up roll aways in the closet. There were no blankets on the beds. Just sheets and bedspread. You had to put the roll aways in the living room and make them yourselves. The bathroom towels were really cheap and thin. One per person. Very cheap toilet paper. No kleenex in bathrooms. Well stocked kitchen? One medium frying pan. One medium pot. Half a roll of paper towels from the last guest. No cloth kitchen towels. The art work? Seriously.... From Big Lots and Dollar Tree. The furniture was also cheap. Very sterile feeling. Nothing like those Bright Vibrate furnishings and decore as in the advertisement. That bathroom pic they use is lovely. There was NOTHING LIKE THAT IN OUR BATHROOMS but little tubes of shampoo lotion and conditioner. Nothing. No decor. Except the 2 small pics of Bathtubs on the walls from the Dollars Store. And the living room furniture. Blau!!! Cheap thin area rug on the floor. So my daughter inlaw called. They said YOU DONT always get the condo-apt in the pics. Now you tell us!. They did have their house keeper go buy us blankets for the beds. She had to come from like 20 miles away. There is No On Sight Housekeeper. They did credit us back some money. Sorry. But I had to write this so others will be prepared for what they get is not always what you See. And EXPECT! THE ONLY AND SWITCH!

Recommended for: sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: We strive for 100% customer satisfaction and appreciate your feedback so that we can improve our customer experiences. We have several 2 bedroom/2 bath units at the Enso. We furnish the units as similar as possible, but there is 1 unit that has 2 roll-a–way beds for the 5th and 6th person instead of a pull-out sofa. We are looking into replacing the roll-a-ways, but some guests do prefer them. We do not guarantee a specific unit in our ads, but guests can request a pull-out sofa or roll-a-ways at the time of booking. The pictures are a mixture of a few of our units with the actual furnishings. We will be reviewing our inventory requirements with our cleaning staff to improve the stocking requirements. Like most vacation rentals, we do not have cleaning staff on site, but guests can call us anytime. We will do everything we can to make your stay enjoyable. Again, thank you for your comments.

Helpful votes: 9 / 11

 

excellent location!!

Review submitted: November 5, 2013   Date of arrival: April 15, 2013

We stayed at this property roughly around the above dates and we loved the apartment and the location made it even more special since we were in one of the best areas of downtown portland which is the pearl district which made walking around so easy even though we had kids with us ! Portland downtown is a must to be walked in and is very easy too if you are staying in the city so this was a great choice ! Would happily go back again!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great location!

Review submitted: October 16, 2013   Date of arrival: October 10, 2013

Great location between The Pearl District and Northwest/Nob Hill. Safeway and Bridgeport Brewery are across the street, Streetcar stop is only a few blocks away. The building is very nice and the condos are very clean and functional. The building's courtyard, public lounge, and parking are quite convenient.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Location is great

Review submitted: October 16, 2013   Date of arrival: October 9, 2013

Stayed during Canadian Thanksgiving/Columbus Day at the Enso. Location is great, about a block or so away from the Pearl District, across the street from Safeway and a brewery and a block away from a streetcar stop. The check-in/check-out process was great, had no issues. There are only two chairs in the kitchen so not a place to cook or eat meals for more than two people if that is your intention.
Overall we were all very satisfied and would recommend.

Recommended for: families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

I love the pearl, wish I could live here

Review submitted: October 15, 2013   Date of arrival: October 6, 2013

We stayed here for 6 nights and loved it. The building and amenities were great. We had a small issue with the toilet running but Stay Alfred fixed it within 3 hours. The room was very clean with quality furnishings. Clean was the most important factor with two small children. Loved the location!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

I would stay here again in a heartbeat!

Review submitted: October 14, 2013   Date of arrival: October 2, 2013

I simply love this location. We had such a fine stay in Portland. All the building in the area were very nice. Lots of shopping and dining right out your door. The rail system was very easy to follow around town. My only complaint was that the blender was not working, very annoying. But other than that, it was a very fine stay!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Perfect Location

Review submitted: September 8, 2013   Date of arrival: September 5, 2013

We rented this condo to stay in for my daughters wedding. The location was perfect. It was 2 blocks from the reception location at Pure Space & 5 minutes from the church. The girls were able to get ready here & the courtyard was a great place for pictures.
It was great to have parking on location & the Safeway lot across the street was easy parking access for others.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Extremely Clean, just the way I like it!

Review submitted: September 6, 2013   Date of arrival: August 28, 2013

"The apartment was beautiful. It was very clean and the towels were thick and fluffy. I think the sheets could be replaced. The location was perfect for our purposes. Parking was so appreciated. Portland was having a hot spell and a pool would have been wonderful but not a deal breaker.
The most important issue for me was that it be extremely clean and it was. Kitchen was well equipped although Portland has such wonderful restaurants..... We didnt cook at all. Great TV in great room but lacking in bedrooms. AC was much appreciated for this hot weekend. "

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Classy place

Review submitted: August 22, 2013   Date of arrival: August 16, 2013

We heard coming into to Portland that we had to check out the Pearl District and all the world class dinning, We stayed at the Enso with another couple and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The best part of our stay was making breakfast for everyone, my wife is a chef, then hitting up the coffee shop up the street, can't remember the name of it but, it was 2 stories. We thought we were going to be using the exercise room, it was lovely, but after walking around all day, we were exhausted. Alfred's has a more affordable place in downtown you might want to check out, but we wanted the Pearl. W

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Can't beat this place

Review submitted: August 21, 2013   Date of arrival: August 9, 2013

New to the vacation rental thing, the property was located right across from the Bridgeport Brewery, GREAT FOOD AND BEER. Safeway Grocery is across the street. The unit was HUGE, and very nice, slept on the sofa bed while my inlaws slept in the bedrooms. They really enjoyed the place. They are not very mobile and basically just played cards all day while we checked out Portland. Got a chocolate bacon donut at VooDoo. It was weird but good. Alfred's took very good care of us and if we decide to stay in Portland again, we would stay with them again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

The apartment we rented in Portland was absolutely perfect!

Review submitted: August 16, 2013   Date of arrival: August 7, 2013

The apartment we rented in Portland was absolutely perfect! Beautiful venue in the middle of town with easy access to mass transit, wonderful restaurants and shopping venues. The apartment, itself, was really beautiful – everything was top notch! We would not hesitate to book with Alfred’s Vacation Rentals in the future. The Portland venue is definitely a “5”.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Location ROCKS!

Review submitted: August 14, 2013   Date of arrival: August 12, 2013

Great location in the Pearl. Finishes in the kitchen were very nice. The Bridgeport Brewery is across the street, along with Safeway, which made things easy. Our family walked around late at night and felt completely safe, we are from Chicago, and that is not the norm. Portland City Grill has an amazing happy our, so good. Only complaint is a burner in the stove was out, the others worked fine, not a huge issue.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Pearl District is FAAANCY!

Review submitted: August 12, 2013   Date of arrival: July 17, 2013

Wow, the Pearl District is fancy. A little overwhelmed coming from Montana. Alfred's was pretty easy to deal with. Walked around and looked at all the shops. Room was very nice, just didnt stay in it much. Nearby restaurants were a little pricey but to be expected.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Decent at Best

Review submitted: August 11, 2013   Date of arrival: June 20, 2013

I'll start off the review with the positives. Great location with a beautiful kitchen and island for entertaining. The two bedroom apartment / condo was spacious, allowing us to feel comfortable without being to crammed together.

Now onto the negatives. The first, by far, was the poor customer service. We had a clogged shower drain (water didn't drain until 3 hours after first use) which basically made the shower unusable. When the issue was brought up to the management team, they quickly answered the phone call, but never actually fixed the problem. I called them on a Friday morning, left PDX on a Sunday, and the issue was still unresolved. Imagine trying to get ready to enjoy Portland for the first time, but having 3 ladies, an adult male, and a child trying to get ready with just one bathroom. There's a reason we chose a place with two bathrooms in the first place. That resulted in a largely unproductive use of time for such a short trip to PDX.

In addition to the broken bathroom drain, the chairs for the small dining table were poorly constructed. It seemed as if they were personally constructed, but they forgot to use the wood glue to hold the pieces together. One chair fell apart as someone sat on it.

To make matters worse, when I called again on both Saturday and Sunday, they still had no solution to all the problems. When finally fed up with service because we were about to leave the condo permanently, I told management the issue regarding the loss of time and asked for our trip to be discounted accordingly; but was met with a firm no. Instead, they said they could take 10% off a future stay, but why would we ever come back?

Owners response: Hi Alex,

I am very disappointed that you did not fully enjoy your stay in June. I would like to let you know that we have completely refurnished all of our units at the Enso as of July. The chairs were bad and I apologize for that. They have since been replaced. We also put in work orders for the drains, it took longer than anticipated.
Please let us know if there is anything we can do to regain you as a customer.
Alfred's Vacation Rentals

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

A+++++

Review submitted: July 19, 2013   Date of arrival: July 13, 2013

Thank you so much!! The place was spectacular... Everything about it gets an A+++. Our visit was greatly enhanced by the accommodations... Will definitely be back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Clean and great location

Review submitted: June 10, 2013   Date of arrival: May 23, 2013

This condo is in a great location and modern building. We loved that there was a parking space; I read that parking is difficult and expensive in Portland. That being said, the location is great--you don't need a car. There is even a grocery store next door. Both rooms were comfortable, clean, and spacious. It is located close to a freeway and with the windows closed, there is no road noise. We had a couple of difficulties (user error) with the cable and the Alfred's manager was incredibly helpful and accessible. The only suggestions I would have was that the kitchen could be better stocked to include basic spices (salt and pepper) and some linens like kitchen towels and oven mitts.

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Birthday weekend getaway

Review submitted: February 12, 2013   Date of arrival: February 9, 2013

Traveling with a pet can be a challenge. Portland however is one of the most dog friendly city's I have ever been. We stayed at the Enso this past weekend and although there were some glitches with check in, the unit(s) was great. We were booked for the PH29 which was quite spacious however needed to be moved to Alfred's other unit down the hall which was less spacious. The location is perfectly located in the Pearl district. A short walk to downtown or to the nearest MAX station. Enso is right next to Safeway which makes self contained cooking a breeze. The pitfall to Enso is the slowest elevator in the world and with having an elderly dog waiting for became a challenge.

There is definitely room for improvement on the property mgmt side of this rental however I would consider returning to Enso but would want check in to be confirmed into PH29 prior to arriving.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Hi Shannon,

Thanks for the feedback. We apologize we had to move your room. It very rarely happens, but maintenance issues do arise and we have to address them immediately. We are also going through this month and upgrading a majority of the furniture. We are very honored to have your as our guest! I would like to offer you a 10% discount off your next stay. We have locations in Seattle, Portland, Denver, Spokane, and Bellevue, with many more cities coming soon.

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Totally a cool building

Review submitted: September 27, 2012   Date of arrival: September 10, 2012

I must say that I have never seen a building quite like the one I stayed in here. It was nice, I had everything I need so that worked. Not quite sure what the "Pearl District" is but hey it was nice. If your staying in Portland for any amount of time you need to check out there hipster district. Well, that's a personal opinion, but hey. As for the room, it was good and I would stay here again.

Owners response: Thank you for choosing Alfred’s Vacation Rentals. We are very honored to have your as our guest! I would like to offer you a 10% discount off your next stay. We have locations in Seattle, Portland, Denver, Spokane, and Bellevue, with many more cities coming soon.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Exquisitely designed building, so much fun!

Review submitted: July 30, 2012   Date of arrival: May 25, 2012

We were absolutely amazed with our stay. What a fantastically designed building. It was like nothing we had ever seen before, both inside and out. Our room was so nicely decorated and comfortable. My husband and I don’t get out too often so this was such a treat for us. The company that booked the trip. did such a fantastic job, from booking to check out, they made sure everything was perfect. We will never stay in a hotel again. It just made so much sense to us to have everything we needed right at our finger tips: full kitchen, washer and dryer, dressers, you name it, they had it. Definitely would stay with these guys again..

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review