reviews for: listing #101644 - Kailua-Kona, Hawaii House rental

Luxury Home Best Views, Heated Travertine Pool-Open SeptOct
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $319 - $399 /nt

sort by:

Great EVERYTHING....We will be back for sure!!

Review submitted: April 14, 2014   Date of arrival: March 21, 2014

This is the 5 year we've rented a home on Kona for Spring Break, and this home was by far the best we've rented. Everything is in good shape...pool is warm...view is fantastic from the entire home! Just wish there was a time machine on site, so we could stay longer. Had an issue with the coffee maker on the first day...sent email to owner and she replied within a few hours and allowed me to buy a brand new one...no questions asked.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great home, beautiful view, warm pool, responsive owners

Review submitted: April 4, 2014   Date of arrival: February 27, 2014

We had a wonderful time during our stay. The home is very well-appointed and comfortable. The owners were very responsive and easy to communicate with. The heated pool was fantastic - even in the rain. :)

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A wonderful time

Review submitted: October 19, 2013   Date of arrival: October 4, 2013

We had such a great time. The descriptions were not only accurate, it was even better then expected. The owners were very helpful and responded to inquiries quickly. We would definitely recommend it to a friend and would love to go again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The Best of Everything!

Review submitted: September 8, 2013   Date of arrival: July 2, 2013

Fantastic views, warm pool, wonderful decks, gorgeous furnishings, great neighborhood, beach chairs, boogie boards, quality linens, fluffy towels, gourmet kitchen, perfect location, cute geckos, and wild turkeys to brighten our morning walks. After one glorious month in your awesome home we felt as if it were our own! Annie, our 9 year old grandaughter regularly asks, "Do you think someone is in our Kona house now?"
Kona is delightful, near and far beaches beautiful, snorkel and body surfing close, and so much to see and do on the big island. We will definitely be back! We had a fantastic vacation and thank you so much for everything. It was truly "The Best"!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect in Every Way!

Review submitted: April 1, 2013   Date of arrival: March 23, 2013

There is not really much to add to the other reviews, so I will just say that this house was absolutely terrific in terms of location, amenities, condition, decor and price! There were seven of us and everyone was so comfortable. In case you need a 4th bedroom, I can tell you that the den worked really well as a bedroom for our teenager---nice and private--it really was the perfect floorplan for our group. Am recommending this house to anyone who wants to go to Kona!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Superb Location, Spectacular House!

Review submitted: February 4, 2013   Date of arrival: January 7, 2013

Well, we (family of seven including 3 grandparents) reluctantly packed up and headed for home on Friday after a truly magical time at your beautiful abode! The house exceeded our expectations in every way possible (and I am a bit of neat freak and quite particular!). The kitchen was very well-equipped and the views were unbeatable – breathtaking! The kids, age 2 and 4, enjoyed the heated pool and neighbourhood walks, especially the turkeys!! As always, the geckos were a huge hit! Kona itself is such a special place and once again we found ourselves remarking on the perfect days in paradise. The house is so central yet pleasantly removed from the noise and busy atmosphere of downtown! Thank you so much for renting your home to us, you were most helpful – we would recommend it, without any hesitation!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

An amazing home for an amazing trip!!!

Review submitted: May 6, 2012   Date of arrival: April 29, 2012

We just want to start off by saying that the pictures of your home do not do it justice!!! This is so beautiful and amazing that we still can't believe we are here!! Thank you again for sharing this with others. Anyone that is lucky enough to come and see this place will instantly feel the magic of Hawaii. Thank you for making our first trip to Hawaii an unforgettable one!!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

A relaxing retreat

Review submitted: March 6, 2012   Date of arrival: February 11, 2012

Our stay was wonderful. The house is in a convenient location in Kona just a quick drive to shops and the coastline. The pictures were exactly what we expected and hoped for. Having balconies to watch the sunset on was great. The patio/deck was our favorite place to hang out. The house was well equipped and didn't leave us needing anything. It was also very clean and tidy.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

A fabulous home and a fantastic week of vacation!

Review submitted: August 13, 2011   Date of arrival: August 1, 2011

I've rented quite a number of homes and condos through VRBO over the years with travel all over the Western US and Canada. This home stands alone in being the nicest I've had the pleasure of visiting so far.

The location relative to everything in the Kona area is superb - just far enough away to enjoy the quiet but so close a trip to the store is no big deal.

The views are incredible. I found my way to the lanai every morning to enjoy watching the sun make it's way up the hill and every night to enjoy the skyline along the coast.

The home is beautifully decorated with very tasteful art and comfortable furnishings. We had everything we needed in the kitchen and actually ate a couple of meals in despite some of the best dining around being within minutes. Recommendations in the guest book were spot on. We particularly enjoyed Holuakoa Gardens just up the road - what an incredible place!

We were on the island for my daughter's wedding and had several guests stop by during our visit. Everyone of them was simply gasping with delight at the place and I have forwarded the location to many of them who have indicated this is where they will stay on their next visit.

I give this home 6 stars! Thank you Cindi and Glen!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Fabulous home and view!!

Review submitted: June 15, 2011   Date of arrival: June 4, 2011

Beautifully furnished, incredible view, wonderful pool!! A very relaxing experience and the Geckos were a wonderful highlight...hiding behind pictures and window coverings, running across walls...they were so cute and brought a smile to our faces daily:) We will definitely return!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Paradise Found

Review submitted: March 13, 2011   Date of arrival: November 22, 2010

This house was wonderful! The view, the location, the spaciousness, the geckos :)...It was just as described. We loved the coolers, beach chairs, and boogie boards that were provided. Hard to haul those items on a plane and nice not to spend vacation $ on them. The kitchen was well stocked and the full size washer/dryer came in handy. The owners were easy to work with and also provided many good guidebooks and great recommendations. Did I mention the view? We named the cozy little deck off the dining room the "Clubhouse" and it was my favorite spot. I'd sit on one of the bar stools every night with a tropical beverage watching the sunset. The only "complaint" I have...I didn't think the pool was warm enough since it was advertised as heated. I would stay in this house again with no hesitation. I highly recommend it!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Cozy Living!

Review submitted: November 1, 2010   Date of arrival: August 5, 2010

Glen and Cindi, thanks for letting us stay at your beautiful home. We truly enjoyed our stay. The kids never grew tired of swimming in the pool, and my wife and I enjoyed just hanging out poolside on your beautiful deck. The panoramic views of Kona and beyond from your home were amazing. Your home was warm and inviting, beautifully decorated, and always a pleasure to come back to after a day's worth of activities. I enjoyed taking strolls around the pleasant, hillside neighborhood in the early mornings of the day. The kids enjoyed chasing geckos around the house, while wife enjoyed relaxing, reading, and taking in the coziness of being at home. All in all, we enjoyed every bit of our stay here and hope to come back and visit you, again, soon.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Beautiful Views

Review submitted: September 1, 2010   Date of arrival: August 16, 2010

We had a wonderful stay at your home. Everything was as described! We spent most of the time we were there on the lanai amazed at the views and astounding sunsets! House has everything you need to enjoy your stay; coolers, beach towels, kitchen gadgets. Thank you, Glen and Cindi for letting us stay in your home! (Oh and we loved the geckos!)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Review submitted: April 21, 2010   Date of arrival: April 21, 2010

Our family of 4 had a great time at the house in March...the house was terrific and the girls loved the pool. We look forward to visiting again very soon.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: March 22, 2010   Date of arrival: March 22, 2010

We stayed at the Kilohana house for 3 weeks in February/March. The pictures are completely accurate and unstaged. Beautifully decorated and furnished, the house is equipped with all the necessities and so much more. Watching the Winter Olympics on the 62" television was almost like being there, and the view from the lanai (and every room) was mesmerising. Great location for doing everything but far enough away to be safe and serene. When you venture out, everything you need for daytrips and the beach is there for you. It's like having a holiday home of your own. We wouldn't stay anywhere else on the Big Island. Thank you Cindi and Glen.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Review submitted: February 16, 2010   Date of arrival: February 16, 2010

We just returned from five glorious days at the Kilohana House. It was everything we could want for a perfect vacation. Every detail is thought of from the kitchen accessories to the pool toys to movies, games and books.

After a day exploring the coast or shopping in town, watching the sunset from the pool was ending to a perfect Hawaiian day.

This was our most relaxing vacation ever and choosing this home was the smartest decision we made.

You will not be disappointed!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Review submitted: January 24, 2010   Date of arrival: January 24, 2010

The house and furnishings were wonderful - just like the pictures. The sunsets were amazing from the lan'ai! The house was a comfortable fit for the 7 of us - thanks!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: October 26, 2009   Date of arrival: October 26, 2009

The "Kona View House" is an exceptional home with extraordinary, breathtaking views. One minute on the lanai or by the pool and you simply feel your worries melt away. We have stayed at this home multiple times and there is a reason! It is the perfect place to relax, re-connect and it’s convenient to everything you need. The recent improvement and upgrades have made this home even more remarkable. We count ourselves fortunate that we have the opportunity to stay at such a lovely home. I highly recommend it for those who want a great value, peace and quiet, with all the modern conveniences. It’s romantic for those who want to be alone or perfect for those with a family who want a little something for everyone. We love the Big Island—its Hawaiian charm and personality. If you want to experience how to live “aloha” this is your place. It’s truly a dream home and the reason why our vacation was so memorable. We had the time of our lives!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 1, 2009   Date of arrival: April 1, 2009

My family and I very much enjoyed our week on the Big Island and your home! Your home is every bit as nice as you advertise. The accommodations were great, space was more than adequate, and all the little extras you provide made our visit very special.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 1, 2009   Date of arrival: April 1, 2009

We really enjoyed our stay at your house. The view is spectacular and rain or shine it never disappoints.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 1, 2009   Date of arrival: April 1, 2009

We got home last night. Thanks for renting us the comfortable house with a spectacular view to boot.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Kona View House

Review submitted: January 6, 2009   Date of arrival: December 20, 2008

Great house, great views. Very comfortable. Good location.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: November 14, 2007   Date of arrival: November 14, 2007

March 2007
Dear House on Kona, You have a beautiful home! We most definitely had a relaxing and spectacular time. The amenities you provided was well thought of. Will definitely suggest to friends and family. Jonas

March 2007
You Rock! When I booked this place on line I wasn't sure how it would end up! I travel a lot and rent homes and flats wherever I go. Never know what I'll get till I get there. This place was a pleasant surprise. Made our last days in Hawaii Great. Thanks! Michael

April 2007
Wonderful house - had almost everything we needed. Great view and neighborhood. We will definitely come back. Kids loved the pool and the geckos! Wagsholm Family

May 2007
Great House, Great View, Great Sunsets (no signature)

June 2007
Your house here is wonderful with the pool and the view, we almost didn't want to leave, even for the beaches! The kids had fun with the X-Box and hunting for geckos. This was a wonderful place to spend our last few days in Hawaii. Hawkins family

June 2007
We had a wonderful time - The house was perfect. Thank you. We are finding it very hard to leave! The Sullivans

July 2007
Your house was wonderful! It is clearly a home away from home! Your house had everything and so much more! We all had a great time! This trip was so much more enjoyable because of this house, instead of a hotel. Great View, Great House, we loved it! Aloha. The Gannons, Pyles and Wassons

August 2007
Family Wedding. We had a great time. It's hard to leave. We were so relaxed. Especially love the lanai with the great view. It was even more than we had expected. This was our first trip to Hawaii. Thanks for making it so special! Prada family

September 2007
1st year Baby Luau for grandson. What a pleasure to have all our grown children and grandchildren under one roof again. Your beautiful home made it possible to have each family comfortable and pampered. We loved the pool. Some of the grandkids never even got to the beach! It was a joy to be in your lovely home. Aloha and Mahalo nui loa The Omija's

Thank you for sharing your beautiful home! We loved the pool and the view. The family room was a hit too! Mahalo! The Dunns

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: November 14, 2007   Date of arrival: November 1, 2007

The following guest comments were entered by the owner directly from the guest book in the home.

January 2007
We really enjoyed your lovely home. Thanks for all the extras! Marilyn

We have really enjoyed our stay here. What a holiday! Thank you Muriel

Thank you so much, better than "home". Lynda

February 2007
Thank you so much! What a wonderful spot. Everything we could imagine was available for us and we enjoyed our family holiday very much! Kimberly

February 2007
Thanks so much! We had a wonderful time. We enjoyed the pool and barbeque and beautiful views. Tom and Sandy

February 2007
Your home was incredible. I could live here. You are so lucky. Everything we needed was here. We were so comfortable we did not want to leave. Suzette

February 2007
What a home, what a view, what a terrific getaway. Wasn't sure I wanted to come but your home is absolutely beautiful. From the towels to the TV and the furnishings and the Gecko's... completely overwhelming and wonderful. I only wish I had known... We would have stayed an additional week. Thank you for your home and the memories. Shawn and Sonny

Thank you for making this special! We spent so much time here just bonding. Andrew

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 3, 2007   Date of arrival: April 1, 2007

We had a fantastic vacation because of the beautiful home you provided. Six of us (all family) arrived for a wedding and enjoyed all the extras that this house has to offer. The view is amazing and watching the sunset every night was a special treat. Every little attention to detail in the home was more than anyone could ask for. Thank you again for all you provided and the opportunity to stay in your beautiful home.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: November 1, 2006   Date of arrival: November 1, 2006

Wow!!! What a GREAT house!!! So tastefully decorated and comfortable. THe pool is fantastic. True Kama'aina living. Makes ya just want to hang by the pool and drink Mai Tais from the tiki bar all day. And the privacy is fantastic. Beets the heck out of staying at a resort!
Amber

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review