reviews for: listing #101684 - Captain Cook, Hawaii House rental

Beautiful Home w/h Sweeping Ocean Views & Ohana!!
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Kona Paradise
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $155 - $189 /nt
    $1,050 - $1,290 /wk
    $3,300 - $3,600 /mth

sort by:

from cold Canada to a paradise home

Review submitted: February 6, 2014   Date of arrival: January 25, 2014

I need to start off by saying WOW this house is exactly as shown, beautifully landscaped, clean, amazing, quiet location. if your looking to be close to Kona this is not the house for you it is 30 min. south. but if you want to sit on this incredible balcony and drink your morning coffee and watch the whales swim by this is the house for you, if you like watching incredible sunsets this is the house for you. I can go on and on why this house was incredible for our family, I'm a seasoned traveller with realistic expectations so trust me when I say WOW. If your going to be on the Big Island your going to need a car to see everything so this is the house for you and it is the perfect starting point to see all that the Island has to offer. the south route is the nicest and quickest to the other side of the Island and volcanoes. black beaches, captain cook monument all, fantastic snorkeling are all within 10 min. in close Michele thank you, you were the best to deal with, very professional and a joy to talk to, thank you again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: WOW!! Thank you so so much!! We are so happy, William, that you all enjoyed your stay with us. It has been a pleasure that share our home with you. We do sincerely hope that you will return soon. We are always adding new services and new vendors to our partners, so that we can pass on great excursion discounts to our guests. Let's stay in touch! and take care, William.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Amazing and clean home!

Review submitted: July 26, 2014   Date of arrival: July 16, 2014

This home was just what we wanted.... Not a large tourist resort but a stand alone 2 story beautiful home overlooking the water! Close to everything but feels removed.... We ate most our meals on the lanai with the sunrise and sunset. The owners are very helpful and the place is stocked with everything you need! Very clean. We will be back again sometime soon!!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Dear Alli and Mark, thank you for you kind comments. All our traveller and we appreciate your experiences. We do hope your children had a great time. Please do return! Kind Regards, Michele and Ron

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

FANTASTIC! Panoramic Ocean Views and Beautiful Home--Family Fun!

Review submitted: June 30, 2014   Date of arrival: June 10, 2014

We brought our whole family with 2 children and grand parents. Our inlaws really appreciated the complete and lovely ohana downstairs-with a little kitchen area, full bath, and its own private lanai (with ocean view). We enjoyed the upstairs with a large TV and DVD player for the kids. This lovely home is very updated and really depicted accurately in the photos. We had several lanai ocean sunsets (we had a 180 degree view!) The children did enjoy the grounds with lots of trees and nice long driveway.
We did go to most snorkeling spots on the Kona side. This is really some of the clearest and blue waters I have seen. We also went on the snorkeling charter trips and ziplining and hiking tours since we got a nice discount as guests of this property.
The owners are very attentive and really helped us plan our stay. They also had a lot of tour guides in the house.
Our favorite was swimming nearby at Two Steps beach and even that special black sand beach-Paradise Beach-about 10 minutes walking from the house.
We miss it already. Be sure to call Michele when you make your reservation; she really knew some nice spots. What a beautiful vacation! Thank you for sharing Paradise.
Lisa, Greg, Anthony and Jamie, Mom and Dad

Owners response: Thank you so much for all your kind and generous comments! We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us and had a memorable time on our Big Island. Thank you for making note of our home and the location, since we have had so many wonderful comments about this from our many other guests. We do always want to respond to all our guest needs and we make every effort to make this a wonderful vacation for all our families, couples and friend groups that stay with us! We are glad you were able to take advantage of our special guests discounts for snorkeling trips and ziplining and hiking tours through our several partners we have on the Island--it is so much fun! Please do come back soon. Ron and Michele

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

THIS IS CERTAINLY KONA PARADISE! Lovely Home

Review submitted: June 30, 2014   Date of arrival: May 1, 2014

Thank you to the owners for supplying us with everything we could possibly require for a beach
vacation. Your attention to detail is exceptional. The use of the beach
towels to the usage of snorkel and surf gear made the difference. Just
meant one less thing for us to worry about. Your home is the cleanest ...
Hats off to your wonderful cleaners.

This is certainly Kona Paradise.. In comparison to the other islands we
found the local people the kindest right here,the culture and authenticity
to be real, and the natural habitat fascinating.

We will be back. Thank you again for the the phenomenal hospitality...

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Family Getaway

Review submitted: May 30, 2014   Date of arrival: May 18, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at Kona Leilani. The view from the lanai was spectacular and so was the flowering landscape.The separate downstairs suite was perfect for our son and daughter-in-law, who had a 3 month old. We made good use of the owner's beach equipment, as we typically packed up the car in the morning for excursions around the island. The one disadvantage was distance from restaurants, so we soon learned to bring home pizza or Thai food from Captain Cook if we didn't want to cook at the end of a day of activity. Great peace & quiet & privacy!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much! We are so happy that is all worked out for you and we are happy that you enjoyed the lanai. It is such a special location with a wonderful view of the ocean. And you can be on the road visiting different sites each day you are here. So please do come back and visiting new places here on the Island.
Michele and Ron

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful Home and Wonderful Beach Paradise

Review submitted: May 25, 2014   Date of arrival: April 30, 2014

We wanted to thank you for your lovely home and we felt so special since everything was exactly as you described in the websites! What a beautiful home you have and we feel so so grateful to have spent a few days in this immaculate and well-maintained tropical paradise! We so enjoyed the location too as we took several excursions around the island and we loved the beaches nearby. We took our family to the special snorkeling bays at the City of Refuge, "Two Steps", and Healakealua Bay. It is some of the best snorkeling and kayaking we have done in a while with the waters so beautifully clear and warm. We also hiked at Volcano National Park and spent a lovely afternoon at Black Sands beach south. Thank you again so much for sharing this special home, gardens and your incredible ocean views!! Everything was so clean and fully stocked. All the best from Canada!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: THank you so much for your kind comments! We are very careful to provide all the amenities for a traveler and visitor to our Island. We know it is such a beautiful area and we are so happy that you and your family were able to enjoy a few days in this ocean paradise. Please come again as we provide all our guests a 10% discount for returning---have a great summer and please keep us in mind for your family and friends too. Mahalo, Michele and Ron

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Lovely place to stay

Review submitted: March 27, 2014   Date of arrival: March 8, 2014

From the very planning stages of our 3 sister and hubbies reunion, Michele accommodated us in every way. She had no problem putting in a handicap railing in the lower level shower when I requested it. I received responses to every question I had prior to our arrival promptly and honestly. We were thrilled to find beach chairs, boogie boards, snorkel gear, beach towels, coolers...everything we expected and more for our beach needs. Photos of the house were exactly what we found and the property was clean and stocked well with cooking supplies, propane for the BBQ and more. We took advantage of nearly everything available to us at the house. We had 2 cars between the 6 of us, so some days we were going in opposite directions. The southern location was good for us and our travels around the island. We usually enjoyed daily sunsets and breakfasts on the lanai, with the gorgeous view of the ocean. We enjoyed watching spinner dolphins at Hookena Beach. It is so close to the property we went there 3 times to snorkel and boogie board. We took advantage of the 20% discount at Fair Winds on a great snorkel trip to Captain Cook. Two of us enjoyed 15% off of massages at Island Spirit. One couple island hopped over to Oahu to see Pearl Harbor. We enjoyed a great burger lunch at Annie's, bought fresh Ahi from Bite Me fish market and BBQ'd on the lanai, stopped for fish and chips at Keoki's after touring the Painted Church and The City of Refuge one day. We had a great day at Black Sand Beach swimming with turtles. They were everywhere! Volcano Natl Park was a great experience and we were fortunate to take a free walking tour with a wonderful tour guide right from the visitor center. We enjoyed tours at Greenwell's and Kona Joes coffee farms. Both were excellent. The smoothies a couple miles north at the fruit stand were delicious. Akaka Falls was worth the $1 entry fee. It is beautiful. After a day snorkeling, we found Patz Pizza to serve a top notch pizza. The tour at Kona Brewing Co was well done. If you want to go, be sure to sign up early. It only cost $5 and they only take 15-17 people. Our final meal on the way out to the airport was at Big Jake's BBQ. We got there right before the camera crew showed up to film for food channel's Road Show. We had excellent pulled pork sandwiches there. We had a wonderful stay at the Kona Leilani house and appreciated Michele and her emails always making sure we were happy.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Dear Audrey,
Thank you so much for your generous and such thorough comments. Our future travelers and guests will so appreciate your reviews and perspectives of all that we have to offer in our lovely south Kona areas. How wonderful of you to share your experiences at Black Sand Beach. There is so much to do in the Big Island and we are so glad you were able to spend a few weeks with us. We wish you the best and please do come back soon...we are always adding new services for our guests. Mahalo, Michele and Ron

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

GORGEOUS HOME with Beautiful Views-Great Location!

Review submitted: March 22, 2014   Date of arrival: January 17, 2014

Your home is absolutely beautiful and really shows your pride of ownership! It looked exactly as depicted on your photos. This is such an ideal home and location for families, or couples who want the privacy of a house away from the maddening crowds. The property is well maintained and the owner is very attentive and helpful. It has two bedrooms and two bathrooms, full kitchen, living room and dining room on the upstairs main level and another one bedroom suite in the lower unit. Good for families or couples. The description in the VRBO ad was accurate. The lanai is huge with a great barbeque - we bought fresh fish at Bite Me fish market and restaurant in the harbour north of Kona (turn west on Kealakeke Parkway north of Kailua Kona). Their location is actually noted on Google Maps. Great for the BBQ! We saw whales from the lanai and our family was so thrilled. You will need a car since there is so much to see and do(That's true for any location on Hawaii as it really is "The Big Island"). If you are looking for a private residence away from the maddening crowds its a great location. It is well located for trips to the Hawaii Volcanoes National Park (80 miles), Black Sand Beach (lots of turtles! - 50 miles) and there is a fantastic bakery in Naalehu along the way. If you want white sand beaches up by Waikoloa its about an hour to one hour and half drive depending on traffic. If you want to be in the thick of crowds on Alii Drive in Kailua Kona its about a 30 to 45 minute drive depending on traffic. Shopping was close by with markets about 20 minutes away. If you want to be in the middle of a resort or in the middle of the action on Alii Drive - this property is not for you, but if you want a place you can come home to every evening and feel comfortable and relaxed as you BBQ dinner on the lanai and watch the sun set its perfect. Thank you so much for sharing your lovely home with us!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful Views!

Review submitted: March 14, 2014   Date of arrival: March 1, 2014

We enjoyed our stay at Kona Leilani. The house is beautiful and has amazing views! The house is equipped with everything you need from beach stuff to a fully stocked kitchen. The location is perfect if you are looking for peace and quiet! You are away from the "hustle" of Kona but yet still close enough to drive into Kona for shopping and restaurants. There is lots to to do in the area. Volcano National park is only about 1 hour and 1/2 and we highly recommend going! Or you can go north about an hour and 1/2 to the little town of Hawi and eat lunch at the Bamboo Shack ( we recommend the calamari strips!!). Or go to Mauna Kea and see SNOW in Hawaii!! And for a really fun adventure we suggest the zip line tour with Kona Eco adventures. As guests of Kona Leilani we received a 20% discount! it was so FUN! There lots of great restaurants in nearby Kona and several great locally owned cafes in Captain Cook. We really enjoyed breakfast at the Coffee Shack and the best fresh fish and chips at Keoki's Cafe. Both only minutes away from the house. But if you want to cook at the house there is a grocery store about 15 minutes away with lots of great fresh local fish great for grilling on the lanai! Oh and while you are enjoying the views on the lanai you will have visitors - little Geckos!! We loved our vacation to the Big Island and staying at Kona Leilani was the perfect choice! Can't wait for the next trip!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Ronnie, Thank you so much for your generous comments! I know our future guests and travelers will appreciate your feedback on the local attractions. We are SO happy that you enjoyed the travel excursion, Kona EcoAdventures--they are one of our new vendors that now our guests can enjoy their activities at a discount-just like you said. Also, we have a brand new partner/vendor, IHUNUI Fishing Charters, that provide 1/2 or full day fishing trips in Kona! As our guests, you also receive exclusive 20% off on those activities as well.
We sincerely hope you and your family will come back soon. We are always adding new activities and amenities! Take care and mahalo, Michele and Ron

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Adventure, Comfort, Fun, Paradise and Relaxation

Review submitted: March 12, 2014   Date of arrival: February 23, 2014

Our 1st experience to the Big Island and we certainly hit the Jackpot with this beautiful home and area. We were able to grill on the Lanai and watch spectacular sunsets. The kitchen was well stocked and we appreciated the coffee!!!We loved the proximity to Black Pebble Beach, Hookena Beach and Volcano National Park. Thank you for the snorkeling gear and sand chairs! I had the thrill of a life time at Hookena Beach. A pod of 17 Spinner dolphins swam along side me while I was snorkeling! We were thrilled that our dear friends could join us for a few nights and attend the Island Breeze Luau. The performance was great! We also had a great experience going to Green Sand Beach with a local in his 4 wheel truck for 15/person and definetly worth it! We visited the Painted Church and also Kealakekua Bay. We look forward to being able to come again. Mahalo Michele and Ron!!! :)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Owners response: Dear Nancy,
Thank you so much for giving us and our travelers such a wonderful review; your comments are so greatly appreciated and really do speak to the many amenities we have. We thank you for acknowledging the home's beauty and caring touches. Also, thank you for acknowledging the several wonderful beaches/bays in our local area. We do have some fun bays to swim here. And how lucky for you to see all those dolphins in the bay--Hookena Beach is so close to the home. We do hope you return and stay with us again! Don't forget as guests you and your family receive 10% off any future stays! Mahalo, Michele and Ron

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Disappointed

Review submitted: March 6, 2014   Date of arrival: January 31, 2014

We arrived with reasonable expectations after viewing the photographs and other information regarding this property. We were disappointed! The photos must have been taken several years ago as the house is old with a very musty odor and sofa is old and worn. Upon arrival the kitchen counters had to be cleaned because of the ants. There are several ant traps throughout the house and 4 or 5 on the kitchen counters. We had to purchase additional ant traps. My wife also had to clean the stove top before use. The oven had not been completely cleaned. The cupboard under the sink is open to the basement, likely allowing ants and other insects to enter the kitchen. Over the first few days, we found 4 - one-inch black beetles in the home, one on the kitchen cupboards, one in the dinning room, one in the hallway and one in the living room. We also found two Geckos in the home, one in the dining room and one dead in the hallway. The sill below the entrance door is not sealed, with a 1/4 inch gap, allowing Gecko access. The window screen next to the door has been bent and does not seal. The dining room window is not sealed with a 1/4 inch space at the bottom also allowing Gecko access and the lock is broken. The chesterfield in the living room has a strong pungent, musty odour and the seams are separating on the seat cushion. The chesterfield is covered with a sheet and is not as depicted in the photographs. The high ceiling windows in the living room are screened, but open and with wind and rain, moisture falls to the chesterfield. The headboard on both beds are not attached to the frames. The beds are old and musty. The mattress cover sheet in one bedroom is stained badly. Bedding sheets are old and need replacing. Pillows are stained and with an odor. The owner recommends using candles to reduce electrical costs, however, there were no candles or matches. The propane tank attached to the barbeque was empty. The kitchen sink tap needs replacing. View is excellent and gardens well kept.

It is a 1 hour drive from the house to Kona, on a slow narrow winding road. The nearest grocery store is a 1/2 hour drive. The nicest beaches are 1 & 1/2 hour drive from the home in the area north of Kona airport.

I would not recommend this property because of it's condition and the lack of maintenance within the house and the long drive to any meaningful island activities.

Owners response: David, we are sorry and VERY surprised by your comments! We had communicated several times during your stay and my property care takers came by to see how you all were doing (which is my normal procedure as I CARE very much about my guests.) We are an Award-Winning home (2012 & 2013) so I am wondering: ARE YOU SURE YOU HAVE THE RIGHT HOME?? Your comments are so different from our 60 other reviewers! We would like to respond to each comment so our readers understand the accurate picture:
Our home is immaculate and IS represented as the photos depict. Our 60 reviewers prior and after your review cannot be wrong when they say the home is well-maintained and well furnished!! The sofa issue you mentioned is a mystery, as we wash the covers and pillows thoroughly every 4 months. In addition, we do use "sheets" to cover any of our expensive furniture.
Geckos and insects do reside in the tropics. In all the time we have lived here and also with over 95 guest families and groups that have stayed--not one gecko 'was dead' in our home! I think your exaggeration has discredited your credibility, David. We have ant traps in the kitchen as a preventative measures but if you clean up, ants will not appear.
We take great care to replace any bedsheet, linens or towels that are stained, I personally purchase new linens every 3 months as I am very diligent about quality. (I can produce receipts, if you wish.)
I did chuckle when you said we 'encouraged' you to use candles; that is not true; I would NEVER ask our guests to create a fire hazard in the home.
David, you met our care takers--we are curious why you did not mention anything. I spoke with you and sent several emails to insure you all were doing good. You actually emailed to tell me you found the house lovely and all was well. So your comments come as a great surprise.
For our readers-- in terms of location. Our home is situated 10 miles from a market which is 20 min. from our house. Our beaches here are beautiful and varied--please do read all the other guest comments for a more accurate picture of what the best beaches are. We have so many lovely bays & coves where snorkeling is unsurpassed and world-renowned. The famous "Black Sand Beach" is only about 40 min. south of us. I was surprised this reviewer did not mention the famous Volcano National Park about 1 hour south or the unique KONA National Historic Parks which are only 15 min. north. Mahalo for reading ALL our reviews!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Incredible views, lots of space

Review submitted: February 5, 2014   Date of arrival: January 18, 2014

We stayed at this property for a 3 generation vacation. There was ample room for all of us to have our own space. The views were absolutely incredible, the kitchen was well stocked with all of the basics. The owners have a wonderful binder filled with information about the area. We followed through with several of the recommendations on snorkeling rentals, restaurants, a day spa and sightseeing and were consistently pleased. Michele was awesome to work with in advance of our trip. She was easy to get ahold of and promptly answered emails and phone calls. Her service was top notch! It is quite a drive from the airport and the Black Pebble beach was absolutely "unswimmable" the entire time we were there, although the surf was higher than average on the entire coast. This is certainly nothing to do with the property but for those looking for an easy swimming beach close to the property, this is not what we found. The place did have a bit of a stale smell, especially in the basement suite that did clear over a couple of days. Again, certainly not a deal breaker for us as this is the tropics but this is why I gave a 4/5 rating overall.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: Thank you for your great input. We do have a great home with beautiful views and we work very hard to stock it with all the comforts of home. We also have a great beach too and we have a very lovely sandy beach 10 minutes north of the home, Hookena Beach, which is also an option if you like sandy beaches. This is such a wonderful location to have an adventure with the family and we hope you return soon!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A Wonderful Time in Your Beautiful Home!

Review submitted: January 17, 2014   Date of arrival: December 26, 2013

Thank you for allowing us to stay in your beautiful home. You had everything we needed and the home was caringly furnished. The art work was and is lovely. You were very helpful with information before the trip and in planning our stay on the island. We especially enjoyed sitting out on the deck overlooking the ocean. Your landscaping was beautiful. Thank you again. If you are ever in Iowa, be sure to look us up! Robyn

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Eco friendly...Eco beautiful!

Review submitted: December 3, 2013   Date of arrival: November 23, 2013

My husband found this jewel for me. I wanted a 'Hawaiian house' to stay in for our trip to the big Island and this was just perfect for what I was hoping for. The location is in a rural neighborhood setting but you wouldn't know that any neighbors were there. It is that secluded of a feeling. The houses are close but so much foliage between houses that it is not an issue. The view from the upper deck is from 9 o'clock to 3 o'clock. It is that vast. You can see the lava flow below and the waves hit the beach. The air feels soooo good. My grandson loved the geckos around the outside of the house and watching them catching bugs at night on the front lanai.
One of the biggest pluses for myself was the water supply which is an above ground tank that holds the water from the rainfall for general usage. It is located in the hidden area at the base of the house. It was a very positive thing for us since my family is very eco conscience and we have that type of water system at our property at our home. Conservation is something that we have received awards for from our state and local organizations that we are very proud of. This house does that on an amazing level, especially when you think of Hawaii and how commercialized some areas can be. Thank you to the Kona Leilani Family and the caretakers. The house was so clean and user friendly. The owners were in contact to help us with any questions we could possibly have. Thank you!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: thank you both so much for your kind comments! We do try to be eco friendly and conscious. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and we do hope you come back soon! Michele and Ron

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A Gorgeous Home with Amazing Views!

Review submitted: November 20, 2013   Date of arrival: April 10, 2013

Thank you for the use of your lovely home. We enjoyed the amazing view, the walk down to Pebble Beach and hiking King's Trail. The fruit stand 2 miles north of the house was wonderful with lots of fruit and veggies. Keiko's Roadside Cafe has wonderfully tasty fish and chips. Our family enjoyed our FIRST trip to hawaii--Mahalo!! Aloha!!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Living in Paradise--What a Joy!

Review submitted: November 20, 2013   Date of arrival: October 26, 2013

We enjoyed "living in paradise" this past week. Your house is so lovely and your gardens are enchanting. We loved watching the beautiful sunsets, playing with the geckos and waking up to the singing of the birdes. Our trips included swimming at Hapuna Beach, visiting Kailua-Kona, snorkeling in Kealakekua Bay with Aloha Kayak. We hiked to Green Sands Beach and visited the amazing Volcanoe National Park and lovely Punaluii Beach. We recommend BBQ at Big Jakes, pizza and beer at Kona Brewing Company and eating out on the beautiful lanai of your home! A special thanks to Larry and Emy for their wonderful hospitality. Kind Regards

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wonderful vacation rental

Review submitted: September 18, 2013   Date of arrival: August 6, 2013

My family stayed here for three nights in August. It was everything as advertised and we loved it. We had myself, my partner, my adult daughter, my sister, my brother-in-law, and my adult niece and nephew. My daughter, niece and nephew all had serious flight delays and came in very late and exhausted. Since the rest of us had gotten there in the early afternoon we were able to stock the home with food, prepare their dinner, and meet them at the airport with leis. They felt great as soon as they saw the house. The next morning we went straight down to the local beach and tried snorkeling with the equipment supplied in the house. I can still hear my daughter saying "Come here fishy!". We kayaked, snorkeled, and surfed. And visited three national parks. It is truly a beautiful home. We had some serious photographers in the party and they were out taking pictures of every sunset and sunrise. At least once a day members of my family turned to me and said "Thank you for finding this place."

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Dear Jean,
Thank you so much for your kind review! It is so hard to describe the true beauty and natural peace of our home; thank you so much for sharing your experience with us and with so many others! There is SO much to do here; the snorkeling really is fantastic and the hiking trails are so varied and really bring you to untouched natural forests and beaches. So thank you again for your kind comments. Please do come back soon!! We give our guests discounts for returning-so do come back! Mahalo, Michele and Ron

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Description is NOT misleading! Great value!

Review submitted: September 16, 2013   Date of arrival: September 6, 2013

My wife and I rented this home for a week and found it a wonderful sanctuary for a relaxing week of exploration. The views are incredible. Be ready to take hundred's of pictures of the sunset right from the lanai! We will rent this home again when we return to Kona.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Casey, how so gracious of you to give us such a great review and we love your comments about our home being a sanctuary with great views! Thank you so much! And please share our home with others--we love to give this experience to others. Take care and come back soon! Michele and Ron

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Our Incredibly Awesome Family Hawaiian Vacation

Review submitted: September 4, 2013   Date of arrival: August 13, 2013

We (my husband and our two kids ages 6 &9, and I; along with my brother in law, his wife, and their two kids ages 5 & 8) had the pleasure of staying at this wonderful home for 18 days. First off the house is amazing! It is fully stocked with everything from dishes and plates to two full tanks of gas for the grill. They even have wine glasses, a coffee grinder, boogie boards, beach towels and chairs and beach toys for the kids. Our kids enjoyed the outdoors and played in the yard by observing the wildlife and picked a ripped mango from the tree which was delicious! The best was the private beach down the road. This was our favorite beach. We snorkeled and swam. The water was so enticing. We also hiked near the beach and the views were breathtaking. The house is in a perfect location and we took many day trips. We explored the entire island and yet didn't see it all. We visited Mauna Kea (breathtaking and to see the stars so close was great but bring a coat it is pretty cold), Volcano National Park, Green Sand Beach, Hapuna Beach, Mauna Kea Beach , Captain Cook, City of Refuge, Hilo farmers market, Uncle Roberts party (every Wed night its super fun with locals playing music And dancing along with food vendors and people selling handmade products), Took the fairwind boat trip (a definite must do!!),hookena beach, volcano winery, the list goes on. Most of all Larry is amazing! He is sweet and very informative. He gave us a lesson on how the green sand beach was created. The house is incredibly clean!! I have been in many pages and this house is by far the cleanest! This trip was amazing and the house, the owners who by the way called us the first day to check on our travels and to give us pointers on places to see, along with Larry, were all incredibly awesome! We lived, we loved, we laughed, we met many wonderful people, and last but not least we left with memories that will last a lifetime! Thanks again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: What can we say, Ginger, that is a wonderful set of comments and it is terrific how many wonderful suggestions you shared with all of our guests and readers. Thank you so much for your very generous review!! We are so happy that you and your family had a wonderful time! The Big Island is exceptional and a wondrous place to visit and to create a lifetime of memories. We hope you will return soon, Kind Regards, Michele and Ron

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Perfect

Review submitted: August 16, 2013   Date of arrival: July 26, 2013

Everything you need is inside the unit, full stocked kitchen, 3 complete bedrooms, and 2 wonderful porches to view the open ocean.
The place is perfect, would recommend it to anyone, and would definately return without hesitation. Only complaint was my family and I couldn't stay longer.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

KONA PARADISE

Review submitted: August 15, 2013   Date of arrival: August 2, 2013

We loved our stay . . . the views were magnificent! and the home decor and grounds were wonderful. Everything we needed was available for our use. We visited 2-step and South Point from this location and of course, a coffee plantation. If you drive down the hill there is also a small quiet beach with some hiking. The weather was beautiful - sunny, light breezes to keep things comfortable. Would recommend this home for families or extended families as there is a separate living area downstairs. Mahalo for making our stay in Kona special!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much for such a wonderful review!! we hope you all come back soon. South Kona has some special locations and wonderful activities. We love the snorkeling ourselves--how can you beat the warmth and clarity of the water?
All the best, Bev,
Michele and Ron

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Perfect House and Perfect Location!

Review submitted: July 10, 2013   Date of arrival: July 6, 2013

Hi Michele,

We just got home at midnight last night from our Hawaii visit. We spent 2 weeks on Oahu and the last week at your home in Captain Cook. The house was so awesome. As we all walked in we all said "Wow, this is really nice!" There was room and space for all especially with 3 bathrooms. The water catchment system was new to us and very interesting. And the garbage system too. It was nice and cool in the ams and evenings and rainy here and there.

The beds were comfortable and plenty of towels. The lanai was awesome too. I took lots of pictures of the plants in the gardens and plenty of geckos all over.

We circumferenced the whole island and went to many places of interest and met some of the neighbors while walking. We spent lots of time with my brother and family who live in the southern Ka'u district. All in all your house was the perfect location and perfect house for us all!

A Big Mahalo from us All! Kathy!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Everything it was advertised to be

Review submitted: June 21, 2013   Date of arrival: June 10, 2013

Great property - well cared for; clean; all the amenities you could ask for. I rented this property in large part due to the owner Michele, who personally contacted me to go over the information. The beach at the end of the road was great, the view from the lanai were spectacular. It was quiet and private. If you want to be in the thick of it in Kona, this is not for you, but it was well located for exploring all the parts of the island.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Amazing Views and Wonderful Home!

Review submitted: May 15, 2013   Date of arrival: April 10, 2013

Thank you for the use of your wonderful home--we enjoyed the amazing views, the walk down to Pebble Beach and hiking King's Trail. The fruit stand 2 miles south of the house was wonderful with lots of veggies. Keiko's Roadside Cafe has wonderfully tasty fish and chips. Our family enjoyed our 1st trip to Hawaii--Mahalo! ALOHA!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Fantastic Home --Wonderful Family Visit!

Review submitted: May 15, 2013   Date of arrival: April 1, 2013

This was our third trip to the Big Island and we brought our daughters and their family. We had a great time in your beautiful home . Mahalo! We hiked, swam, snorkeled and ate! Hookena beach was great and a trip to Hapuna Beach was over the top for boogieboarding. As always, fishing with Makana Lani was a treat(no fish, but we saw whales and dolphins!) Then we went snorkeling with Dolphin Discoveries. It is worth a visit to Volcano National Park and a night view from Jagger Museum. And there is so much more! Again thank you, Ron and Michele, your house was fantastic. Mahalo!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Breathtaking! Our Days in Paradise!

Review submitted: May 15, 2013   Date of arrival: March 24, 2013

We spend a wonderful week on the Big Island. Feeling perfectly at home in your lovely and well-equipped house. Enjoying breakfast and dinner on the lanai (wished we had that at home!) with a breathtaking view of the ocean. We saw flowing lava on our tour-it was strenuous but one of the most impressive trips we have ever had- a real once-in-a-lifetime experience. Visited the wonderful Volcano National Park. I saw green sea turtles at Black Sand Beach. Akaka Falls were wonderful. Thank you so much for providing us with so many useful and friendly information! We LOVED to be your guests. We are going to Maui tomorrow,but will never forget our days in Paradise!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Beautiful Home-Fantastic Ocean Views

Review submitted: May 15, 2013   Date of arrival: January 30, 2013

THANK YOU for allowing us to stay in your beautiful house!! You had everything we needed and the house was well-furnished. The art work was and is lovely! You were very helpful with information before the trip and in planning our stay on the island. We especially enjoyed sitting out on the deck overlooking the ocean. Your landscaping was beautiful. Thank you again. If you are ever in Iowa, be sure to look us up.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Tropical Home Away from Home!

Review submitted: May 15, 2013   Date of arrival: January 21, 2013

We loved sitting on the lanai in the morning, sipping my tea, reading and watching a few boats go by!! Love snorkeling in Kabulu-u!! Loved Hookena and Punau-nau-the history and the views and the snorkeling were great. What a lovely stay in your comfy home away from home. Robin and Lou, Cape Cod, MA

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A Tropical Ocean Paradise

Review submitted: May 15, 2013   Date of arrival: January 14, 2013

We had a lovely stay! We have delicious grilled meats outside at night and breakfast outside-WHAT COULD BE FINER! We drove everyday to new snorkeling venues. Your home was SO comfortable and welcoming for us. Thanks so much!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

G&C

Review submitted: April 15, 2013   Date of arrival: March 31, 2013

We recently spent 10 fun filled days at Kona Leilani. Our extended family of 4 grandkids and their parents joined us and we found the house perfect for our needs. We loved the country setting with the birds, geckos and beautiful view but the location does require travel time for activities. While at the house the kids loved the TV and internet access. Pebble beach at the bottom of the hill is beautiful but was too rough for swimming or snorkeling however, Ho'okena Beach Park was not far away and for a "classic" beach we went to Hapuna State Park. We went deep sea fishing with Kenny on the Makana Lani and snorkelling with Dolphin Discoveries. Michele was great to work with during the entire planning/rental process as well as providing very helpful information to make our stay great.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much for your kind comments! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and that the children enjoyed the TV and the internet too! We know that there are several wonderful snorkeling spots 10-20 minutes away, that even when our bay is windy (mostly during winter) our guests always can go over to several of those spots. We are hoping you will come back soon. Mahalo, Michele and Ron

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Welcome in paradise - it feels like home!

Review submitted: April 11, 2013   Date of arrival: March 24, 2013

We spent one week in this beautiful vacation home and felt perfectly at home. Michele and Ron provided us with helpful lists, tips and photos beforehand, so that we were well informed when we arrived. Check-in was easy and done by ourselves. The house is located at a steep road, surrounded by a wonderful tropical garden and had a breathtaking view to the ocean. We loved to sit on the great lanai for breakfast or dinner, enjoying the view and the colorful funny geckos and birds around. The house is well equipped and beautiful decorated, very cozy and we felt comfortable and utterly welcome. Good shopping facilities for daily supplies within 20-30 minutes drive. Attractions such as Volcano NP, Black Sand Beach or the nice sandy beaches in the northwest require one to two hours drive, but are absolutely worth the effort. The lava tour with Chris Arruda (2,5 hours drive in the night, started at 3.15 AM at the end of highway 130) was our highlight - strenuous but a once in a liftime experience. Mahalo Larry (the housekeeper's husband) for helping us with our car on Easter Sunday morning, when the motor decided not to start on our way to the airport. We were on time due to your help! It was hard to leave and only the prospect to a week on Maui eased the farewell to that home in paradise. Mahalo Michelle and Ron for sharing it with us!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Dear Friends from Germany,
We are so pleased with your experience on the Big Island and at our Kona Leilani home! We are happy it felt like home, as we all do our very best to give you all a friendly and exceptional vacation and Hawaiian experience. We look forward to your return. We are continuously improving our amenities and house features!

Safe and happy travels,
Michele and Ron and our wonderful support team, Larry and Emy

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Home away from Home

Review submitted: February 26, 2013   Date of arrival: February 2, 2013

We really enjoyed all of the space this house provided. The view was fantastic. We viewed great sunsets every evening from the Lanai. It is at least a 30 minute drive to town but where we come from that is normal. We loved being able to sit out on the Lanai each evening for our "adult" beverages. We spent all of our beach days at Hookena beach (about 15 minutes away). The dolphins were in the bay so we were able to swim with them. My husband said that is one thing off of his "bucket list".
We stayed for 3 1/2 weeks and had three different couples stay with us for a week each. The downstairs apartment was great because it gave them privacy to do there own thing or join us upstairs for meals and hang out time.
I was glad we were able to contact the owners any time we had a question and got a quick response.
Thank you for a great time on the Big Island.

Recommended for: families with young children, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great for three couples!

Review submitted: February 4, 2013   Date of arrival: January 23, 2013

We were looking for a house that would be suitable for 3 couples and this house was perfect. It was well furnished and had everything we needed. Especially loved the deck so we were able to look out over the ocean. Also, having a washer/dryer was much appreciated.

Especially helpful to us was the fact that we could email you with questions before our trip and you would get back to us with what we needed to know.

The property was very clean and well-maintained.

If we have any friends or family coming to the Big Island, would certainly recommend your property as we were very comfortable here and want to thank you for allowing us to stay here.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much for your kind and helpful review! We know that many future travellers will find your comments and perspectives useful in planning for their trips. There are so many choices for accommodations, so your tips and views will really help. Thank you, Michele and Ron

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

OCEAN Views and Wonderful Snorkeling!

Review submitted: January 19, 2013   Date of arrival: January 14, 2013

We are having a grand time snorkling every day. We have had blue skies and beautiful weather and do not look forward to cold weather on Cape Cod.

We have been eating dinners outside which we love and breakfast outside and of course our version of happy hour which is freshly made guacamole and chips and beer or Mike's Hard Lemonade. (Fantastic ocean views!)

Thanks so much for sharing your home with us!!!!!! You can see the pride of ownership and so well-maintained

Oh, Torben and Lou were able to join a small group with a guide and walked an hour and 1/2 over a lava field to see LIVE lava flowing and then saw it falling into the ocean. They were just in awe. ...They are now able to check off seeing LIVE lava flowing off their "bucket list".
This is a great location!
April, Torben, Robin and Lou

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"Hawaiian Heaven"

Review submitted: January 17, 2013   Date of arrival: January 3, 2013

"Superb Family Vacation Spot"

The whole family stayed at this lovely Kona property. It is spacious, clean and with superb views of the ocean.
The home has everything available and the host left clear instructions for everything. While it is a bit out of town, the ambience is great, surrounded by well kept gardens and it is quiet. All the interesting gardens, volcanos, peaks are only an hour or two away - easy day trips. Several of the best snorkelling beaches are minutes away. We had a very pleasant vacation and can highly recommend this vacation home.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

rental home

Review submitted: January 14, 2013   Date of arrival: January 5, 2013

we had thought the property was in Captain Cook itself. it was about 10 miles further south. we had to do a lot more driving than expected. We could not use the beach that is 2 mins by car to swim because it was rough. this was disappointing. the home is older than it appears in photos. The garden is smaller than it appeared--it looked as if you might take a walk through the garden. the bedrooms are rather small. the property is clean and well maintained. the owners were helpful. Not sure I would recommend it because of the location. Restaurants; Keei Cafe is excellent; Geo gelati, and Natural Islands deli next t o it; Nasturtium Cafe--the owners supplied alist of restaurants and grocery stores which was helpful. Loved snorkelling at o ho naunau and Kealakukea Bay. Worth driving North to Hapuna and Mauna Kea beaches; I would suggest an overnight at the Volcanoes NP because a one day trip is not long enough.

Recommended for: adventure seekers

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Perfect Island Experience

Review submitted: January 7, 2013   Date of arrival: December 25, 2012

For my family it was the perfect place. Plenty of space to be by yourself or gather as a group. One night we had BBQ on the deck with 16 people. It was clean, quiet, scenic, (watched a whale blow from the deck) peaceful and restful. Plenty of space for kids and adults. Two large TV ( I didn't turn it on once. The view was all I needed), wifi for the kids. Perfect location to 4 great beaches for diving, laying on the sand, fishing, kayaking and snorkeling. Quick drive to the volcano or Hilo. Great kitchen and laundry facilities. Met a lot of locals and made a few friendship that I believe you miss when staying in town. This was my 4th time to the Big Island. I stayed up north, in Kona twice and then here. By far it was my favorite. Stop in town and stock the fridge...you may not leave until you head to the airport. I must also mention that the host while offsite are delightful and attentive.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Randy,
Thank you so much for your generous comments. We know that future travellers can be overwhelmed with choosing the right place and our guest comments really help our future travellers. Also, thank you so much about your comment about our help...we are so glad we were helpful.
We wish you the best in 2013!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

HEAVENLY SETTING!!

Review submitted: December 14, 2012   Date of arrival: November 17, 2012

Heavenly Setting (Actual review from TripAdvisor regarding Kona Leilani Home)

We loved our stay at this quiet, out of the way location offering a large and well appointed house w/ohana. We don't enjoy the condo/hotel experience and appreciated being able to have lots of indoor and outdoor space to enjoy relaxing mornings and evenings together after a day of sightseeing.

·

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Our Hawaiian Adventure

Review submitted: November 26, 2012   Date of arrival: November 1, 2012

We were so fortunate so have found this property on VRBO for our first trip to Hawaii. The beautiful, comfortable home provided amazing views from its perch at the top of the cliff. It was difficult to leave the lanai each morning for our scheduled adventures. We just wanted to sit around and drink Kona coffee and take in the scenery from the lanai. We did save some days to just hang out at the house and relax.
We found the property to be even better than the pictures reflect. The property was emmaculate and well-maintained. The property manager, Larry, was johnny on the spot when we needed anything. This property is a bargain and I would recommend this property to friends and relatives.

Since we were there 16 nights, we had plenty time to explore the whole island. Some highlights are:
snorkeling (We took Fair Wind II snorkeling to Captain Cook, since there is not easy access to get there) We also went on another snorkeling expedition on the Hula Kai boat, which took us further south to locations that are accessible only by boat. We loved both trips.
Also, a beach called Two-Step had the best snorkeling we experienced. It is free and is next to City of Refuge. Its snorkeling was better than Captain Cook and the Hula Kai snorkeling.

For some leisure beach time, we recommend Hapuna Beach, which is north of Kona. It has white sand and waves good for boogie boarding. Take a picnic and enjoy it. Another beach is Beach 69, which is close to Hapuna Beach. Beach 69 has shade trees to sit under and Hapuna does not.

Also, going to the top of Mauna Kea is an adventure. We rented a 4 wheel drive Jeep Wrangler and got a great rate through Alamo. You need a 4 wheel drive to go to top of Mauna Kea. It is very cold at the top.
The National Volcano Park is a good day trip. It is also cold there, but not as cold as Mauna Kea.
Hilo has a nice outdoor market on Wednesdays and has lots of bargains. Captain Cook also has an outdoor market on Sundays.
We bought our food and gas at Costco, which saved us a lot of money. We ate breakfast and dinner mostly at the house.
Michelle was always accessible in answering any questions renters might have. She and Ron make you feel like you are family.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Dear Beverly what a wonderful review! Our future travellers will so appreciate your comprehensive comments. Please come back soon, we just appreciated having you all stay with us! Larry and Emy also thank you for the great review--they are so helpful!
Mahalo,
Michele and Ron

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

Awesome location

Review submitted: November 17, 2012   Date of arrival: October 9, 2012

First off I must state that I rarely ever give an excellent rating, so good really means this is a nice place! We really enjoyed the house and the accommodations. It is in a great area of the Big Island to allow you a central point to explore the whole island. Even though we were warned of this, you should do your grocery shopping before you get to the house. There is grocery store in Captain Cook that has everything you will need. The roads are really fun to drive, as there are a lot of tight corners. The next time that I am on the Big Island, I am going to rent a sports car with better handling!
All in all I would rent this house again and recommend it to anyone looking for an awesome place to stay.
Mahalo

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Tom, thank you so much for your review and helpful comments to our future travelers. The Captain Cook area is really a great spot to explore the island. Your suggestion to hire a 4 wheel drive is a good one. You can see so much more! Also, just fyi, the Captain Cook area will now have its own zipline and ATV exploration areas! So now you have to come back! HA! Warm Regards, Michele and Ron

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect spot

Review submitted: October 12, 2012   Date of arrival: October 1, 2012

We spent five nights at Kona Leilani and it was really lovely - the wraparound lanai has one of the best coastal and ocean sunset views imaginable. The house was extremely comfortable and clean, with every amenity you could need. It's got a great layout for two to six people (three couples) easily and has a good feeling of privacy from the neighbors. The walk from the driveway to the house is through a small enchanting garden that is calming before you even realize what a great house you're about to enter. Larry the caretaker was super helpful (even when we locked ourselves out!) and answered all our questions about the area. We definitely would return here.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much, Ellen. We think we have a perfect spot also! Yes, we also love that great lanai with ocean views and of course, my little courtyard garden. We do hope you come back soon!! Be well and warm regards, Michele and Ron

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Family Reunion and vacation

Review submitted: September 11, 2012   Date of arrival: August 26, 2012

I sent a lot of time viewing properties on the Big Island. There were many beautiful properties we could of picked, but as soon as I seen this house I new we found the right one. Michele responded quickly with a very friendly phone call, and our vacation was booked.
Upon arrival our expectations were blow away at how perfect the house is and the location. We could not have picked a better place.
The whole family had a very nice time, my mother in law that has to use a wheel chair, but can walk short distances had no issues.
The house is located so a person can access the whole island and explore, 1.5 to Volcano 2 hrs to Hilo less than 1 hr to Kona, and the many places with in a 10 min drive for the best snorkeling and kyacking on Kona.
Anybody looking to rent for their Hawaiian adventure will be looked after well with this home away from home.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Colin, Thank you for your kind comments and we are very happy your family and your mom were accommodated in our home. It is a joy to share our home and we feel we share something of ourselves and our own lives through this home island experience.
Please come back soon!
Mahalo,
Michele

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fantastic vacation home to relax.

Review submitted: September 3, 2012   Date of arrival: August 17, 2012

This gem home is just awesome!! We had a little trouble locating the house since our arrival was late (after sunset), but once we were there, motion sensor lights just lead us to the house without an issue. The home will easily accommodate 2 families. We were a group of 4 adults and 3 children (2 teen agers and a 12 yr old) Beds are comfortable, blanket and comforter are perfect for decreasing temperature during the night. We were skeptic about not having air conditioner and was prepared for the hot climate in Hawaii; however the cool breeze throughout the day (rather chilly at early morning hours) kept us very comfortable. Spectacular ocean view, wonderful garden and the view of Mauna Kea during morning hours. Geckos greeting us every morning was a pleasant surprise keeping our children and wives busy taking pictures. Kitchen was very spacious equipped with a large refrigerator and had everything you need (even surprised the house was equipped with rice cooker!), two water bottles prepared was more than enough for cooking. BBQ grill was a great help for a cook out while enjoying the sunset dinner and chats with friends. The property was well maintained and very clean, we were definitely impressed how much the owner spend their time to take care of the house. Above all, Ron and Michele provided great hospitality providing us with lots of tips and information about the area, restaurants, markets, a list to buy and attractions. (forgot to mention "Alka-Seltzer... just joking?! lol) even before we started our trip. Will definitely recommend this vacation home to anyone if you plan to have cool, quiet, calm and relaxing time with your family and friends, having easy access to good restaurants and lots of attractions if you decide to go that route.

Owners response: Ted,
It was a pleasure having you and your family and friends stay with us! Thank you for your kind review and also would love to have you back soon! We are always taking suggestions to improve our home and are very grateful that we can provide a haven for travellers to the Big Island. Be well and MAHALO!
Michele and Ron

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Kona Leilani on the Big Island...

Review submitted: July 27, 2012   Date of arrival: July 7, 2012

Our stay at Kona Leilani was absolutely fabulous! The house is wonderfully set-up with an 'ohana downstairs and the main, 2-bedroom house upstairs. The house is clean, well-furnished with nice, comfortable beds, bedding & furnishings. It is also very centrally located if you want to explore ALL the island has, from the Volcanoes in the south to Kailua-Kona and the Kohala Coast to the north. The local manager was very friendly and helpful when we had a question.We loved watching the sunset every night as we ate dinner on the lanai. We will definitely return to stay at Kone Leilani...!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Many thanks again for such a gracious review! We have set up our home for families and small groups and we are so glad this has been a wonderful vacation paradise for all our guests! Blessings and come back soon!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Kona Leilani on the Big Island...

Review submitted: July 27, 2012   Date of arrival: July 7, 2012

Our stay at Kona Leilani was absolutely fabulous! The house is wonderfully set-up with an 'ohana downstairs and the main, 2-bedroom house upstairs. The house is clean, well-furnished with nice, comfortable beds, bedding & furnishings. It is also very centrally located if you want to explore ALL the island has, from the Volcanoes in the south to Kailua-Kona and the Kohala Coast to the north. The local manager was very friendly and helpful when we had a question.We loved watching the sunset every night as we ate dinner on the lanai. We will definitely return to stay at Kone Leilani...!

Owners response: Wow!! What a lovely review! We are SO pleased your family was happy with the home and location. We make every effort to make our guests feel at home and we do have a wonderful local team couple, Larry and Emy, that are the "salt of the earth" and want to insure our guests feel welcomed. Well, we are constantly making improvements and new arrangements with local activity providers to entertain our guests at a discount. We also offer great rates and specials for the season. So we will stay in touch and keep you posted! Please DO return to our Kona Leilani soon (Eric, you may want to book soon, our 2013 is filling up already! Returning guests get a special bonus.) Blessings to you and your family and all the best, Michele and Ron

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great House

Review submitted: July 16, 2012   Date of arrival: June 30, 2012

The first thing we said after leaving this house was "Let's stay here next year, but for 2 weeks instead of 1."

The property is nicely situated south of Captain Cook, close enough to groceries etc, but out of town enough to be quiet and relaxing. The house is 1 mile distance from the black pebble beach, and 1000 feet up slope. This walk was a good cardio start to our day, and the views from the deck in morning and evening were great. The house is nicely appointed and very comfortable. We were able to get to Volcanoe park and up to Kona and an organic coffee plantation for day trips, along with lots of beach and hiking times. A charming place to stay.

Owners response: Thank you so much for your gracious comments! We would LOVE to have you come back next year for more time. We are so happy that you found the home comfortable and that you found the location convenient to alot of sites. The deck around the house is definitely a great feature of the house. We also have enjoyed many breakfasts and dinners on the lanai reflecting on the sunsets and incredible ocean views. It is really beautiful. So glad you found the home charming--what a great compliment. All the best to you and the family---you may want to reserve now for next year....we are already filling dates for spring of next year! Warm regards and mahalo! Michele and Ron

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing views, beautiful house!!

Review submitted: July 14, 2012   Date of arrival: June 24, 2012

My family and I recently enjoyed an amazing 5 day vacation in this beautiful house. The house is spacious and stocked with almost everything that you might need. It is apparent that the owners thought of the samllest details to enusre their guests' comfort. Michele had even provided a list of groceries that we might need when we arrived at the house, along with information about where to shop, where to eat and local attractions. Our favorite spot in the house was, of course, the lanai. We enjoyed some beautiful sunrise and sunsets there. The location is very convenient - not too far from any of the main attractions such as Kailua Kona, Volcano National Park, all the different beaches. We loved driving through the beautiful countryside and exploring some of the coffee plantations, restaurants, fruit stands, curio shops along the way. Thank you for one of the best vacations we have had in a long time!

Owners response: Thanks so much for your lovely comments! We are so very happy that you and your family had a pleasant time in our home and Kona. The views from our lanai are breathtaking; we have often enjoyed just sitting on the lanai---looking at the ocean and dreaming of faraway lands. We sometimes forget, that we sitting on an island 2500 miles from other mainlands!
I am so glad that you enjoyed all the amenities and the kitchen as well. If there is anything I may add to the home, to make it more complete, homey and pleasant for our guests, please let me know.
Please come back soon and share with your friends, we would love to provide you with a referral gift when your friends (or family) reserve with us at Kona Leilani! Blessings to you and your family and let's stay in touch, Michele and Ron.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Kona Paradise Home

Review submitted: June 28, 2012   Date of arrival: June 19, 2012

WOW. Our family of 5 really enjoyed our stay at this beautiful home! Michelle and Ron were very responsive and accomodating - and the house itself was very cool in many ways - full of lush botanical gardens, great artwork (!) and tasteful decor. Kayaking from the community beach was nothing special, although there were several wonderful day trips we took from this centrally located home. If you are looking to experience the real Hawaii and embark on some great adventures, we would definitely recommend staying here. Very relaxing and private, and with the downstairs apartment, our teenagers had some of their own space, which they enjoyed!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect group setup with magical garden

Review submitted: June 17, 2012   Date of arrival: June 9, 2012

Excellent setup for groups in this two-level house. Separate entrances for each floor create the perfect arrangement for inlaws, families with teens, or just friends wanting separate acommodations while still enjoying together time. Owners have thought of everything: beach toys, fluffy towels, two kitchens, on-site laundry room with soap, dryer sheets. There are two huge decks with breathtaking views and patio furniture, dining tables/chairs, a total of three bathrooms, three bedrooms, PLUS an outdoor shower. The spectacular garden is a hidden gem (you won't find anything on the island like it for twice the price). Helpful hint for the steep, circukar driveway: BACK IN instead of driving in front-first. You'll have a much easier time of getting out. Unfortunately, we only thought of it our last day. If you want something a bit off the beaten path, very quiet, fabulously equipped, with easy access to everything, this is it! Bonus: super friendly, helpful and kind owners.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: It is a pleasure to make our guests satisfied and happy! As owners,we take great pride in making this a beautiful property for families, couples and small groups--the ocean and coastline views are unbeatable, the home is richly furnished, the gardens are magical with bromeliads, and created as a lovely meditation and entertainment area. Children love it!
We thank our many guests for their lovely comments-we hope our future guests will find as much pleasure and relaxtion and enjoyment!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Beautiful home!

Review submitted: June 7, 2012   Date of arrival: January 12, 2012

Beautiful home, the views were great. The house is located in a great place. Thank you so much!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

WONDERFUL!

Review submitted: June 7, 2012   Date of arrival: March 31, 2012

It was wonderful! We enjoyed falling asleep and waking up to the sounds of nature. Grat sunsets on the lanai. The boys had fun getting to know the resident geckos. Very cute and friendly!
Mahalo!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Beautiful View! Lovely home!

Review submitted: June 7, 2012   Date of arrival: March 16, 2012

We all enjoyed our stay here. Beautiful view. We have great dinners on the balcony. Quite central to a lot of activities (Volcano, beaches, snorkeling, bicyling). The weather was very good--sometimes hot in the afternoon but by 5 pm, with a drink, it was perfect!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

What's not to love?!!

Review submitted: June 7, 2012   Date of arrival: January 29, 2012

What's not to love? The view, the sounds, the birds--just like home comfort. Mahalo. Your neighbors were a great help. To share this fun with our friends. A big Canadian EH! to the Croci family :)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

GREAT STAY! A Dream Come True!

Review submitted: June 7, 2012   Date of arrival: January 14, 2012

The view was a real treat, and the home was lovely and the island-Perfect! Mahalo! Kayaking and swimming with spinner dolphins at Kealakekua Bay was a dream come true.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Greetings from Kamloops, British Columbia

Review submitted: June 7, 2012   Date of arrival: January 17, 2012

The stay was great. Beautiful view. Thank you for providing us the opportunity to have this experience! Beautiful house, the view was amazing. Very relazing vacation! Mahalo!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Bliss to be in Kona

Review submitted: June 7, 2012   Date of arrival: April 25, 2012

What a wonderful week! Bliss to have our own space . We cooked delicious BBQ prwns and shared a glass of champange as the sun came down! Crazy first day: volcano, green sand beach at South Point and went to black sand beaches. The bakery in Punalou was great. Our highlight was diving with the manta rays at night out of the harbor-AMAZING! Coral gardens at Captain Cook was fabulous too! Friendly island sytle and loads of Aloha. We left rested and happy. Thank You!! Mahalo! (PS: the geckos are now stare on Facebook:)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Restful and relaxed

Review submitted: May 5, 2012   Date of arrival: April 25, 2012

We had a wonderful stay the home is clean and full of all the comforts of home with really nice touches like the BBQ coffee machine and rice cooker. So quiet with beautiful gardens full of birds and layful geckos. It was a great half way base to explore south point and kona. Hired a boat at the harbor one day and manta dives the next . Staff at the supermarket were great and the fruit stand up the road is a must stop for delicious smoothies - good spot to explore the coffee region and high enough to escape the heat of the day and enjoy drinks on varanda . Car is a must as it is a drive from airport we allowed about an hour each way and this was fine - wireless Internet a huge plus!!
Thank you for sharing this piece of paradise can't wait to return
Loved the separate up and downstairs perfect for our party of two couples for privacy and quiet space to relax and soak in the aloha - mahalo

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

HOUSE IS JUST LOVELY...AND THE VIEW IS INCREDIBLE!

Review submitted: April 14, 2012   Date of arrival: April 6, 2012

COMMENTS DIRECTLY FROM OUR GUEST: I'm am writing to you from your lovely home. We got in easily and are enjoying it very much already!
Thank you so much for providing an activity list, restaurant list, as well as the grocery shopping list. We started to make one, and that helped fill in the gaps.
The geckos are great fun, our boys are having fun spotting them around the lani. The house is just lovely, we are enjoying it very much. Such a nice, quiet neighbourhood and the view is incredible!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing view, great location for exploring the Western and South sides of the island

Review submitted: April 13, 2012   Date of arrival: March 31, 2012

Our family of four stayed for 6 nights and it was great! Kitchen has just about everything you'd need in the way of appliances and gadgets, just add food!

We rented both the top and bottom, and only ended up using the top floor. The bottom apartment would be perfect for families traveling with teens, as they could have their own space. Our children were a bit too young to stay there on their own, so we ended up making use of both bedrooms as well as the pull-out sofa. Our son said it was comfortable.

The community this house is located in is very friendly. The drive to the beach is short, but the road is steep! We don't recommend walking, as we did- once. That was more than enough! Definitely take your vehicle down.

The view from the lani is amazing. Pictures don't do it justice! The house is high up in the subdivision, so you see right over all of the other houses, and look down to the beach and out into the ocean and the horizon beyond. Grilling while watching the sun set and the children find geckos (it was easy, there were lots!) was an experience we won't soon forget.

This property is not close to Kona, it took us about 45 min to get there (each way). This was good and what we wanted, but don't be surprised by how far away it is!

Captain Cook is about 20 min away. The grocery store there is overpriced (stock up in Kona), BUT there is a fantastic pizza place called Paperoni's which we recommend. Also a very nice bakery in the same building called Up Country Bakery. Lots of yummy treats there and a selection of gluten free items, which are delicious!

Great location for exploring the Captain Cook area thoroughly, as well as having easy access to the Southern tip of the island. Easy day trip to the North end of the island as well.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: Thank you so much, Lora! We are always happy to hear you and your family had a great time in Kona. Thank you for your generous feedback, we are sure it will be very helpful for new guests. It is good you mentioned the market, we try to help our guests when they first arrive with our suggested shopping list. Also, we agree, that pizza place in south Captain Cook is really great!! It is those get away places you discover that can make a trip memorable. Thank you again, and we do hope you come back and tell your friends....we love to make others happy!!
Mahalo,
Michele and Ron

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Had a wonderful time in Kona.

Review submitted: April 3, 2012   Date of arrival: March 24, 2012

What a wonderful time we had. The layout of the house was very interesting just like you would expect a true Hawaiian house to look, high ceiling, well ventilated so everyone was comfortable day and night. There were not any hot spots like we experienced elsewhere. Everything we needed was available either in the home or close by. Like someone else said, if you want to hang out or see the island great spot to travel from. Captain Cook had the best snorkeling and visibility. Had fun checking out the local beaches as well as beaches in Kona. We visited Volcanoes National Park, Puuhonua o Honaunau National Historic Park and drove up Mauna Kea Summit to watch the sun set from 13,796 feet. Catch the Ranger Talks very fun and informative makes everything worth while before you set off on your own. Great food in the immediate area. Can't say enough about the vacation.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much for the great feedback! We do hope you come back and do some more snorkeling and swimming. We love these waters, they are so warm and clear! Glad to hear all turned out to be fun. Thank you again--we are always improving our home and our guest services. Be well and mahalo, Michele and Ron

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Another Happy Family Stays at Kona Leilani!

Review submitted: March 5, 2012   Date of arrival: February 27, 2012

This is a direct comment from one of our recent guest, Danny: Thank-you both for the use of your house this week. My family had a wonderful time on the island and on your property. You have a wonderful place, with a spectacular view that we thoroughly enjoyed.

We have already received the deposit back, and were very impressed with all aspects of our arrangement. Thank-you again, and we look forward to visiting again soon!

The S Family
three generations worth!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

our third anniversary trip to the big island of hawaii

Review submitted: February 24, 2012   Date of arrival: February 11, 2012

We had a wonderful time at the home, "Kona Leilani", enjoying the great ocean view and lush tropical surroundings. The hospitality was wonderful, with great new appliances (new stove, dishwasher), new furnishings and with all the conveniences that made us feel right at home. The view from the lanai was beautiful, we even saw a mother and calf humpback whale while have breakfast one morning. We enjoyed taking day trips to Volcano National Park, Akaka falls, Hilo and the many nearby beaches. The natural diversity of the island is amazing. The house is close to so many of the island's best features and natural wonders. The owners have really created a beautiful Hawaiian experience by connecting us with different activities and spa services. We recommend this beautiful home to families, couples and anyone who wants to have incredible natural adventures.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much for the lovely review. We are very happy you had a wonderful time and that you took some great trips around the island. WOW! You saw whales from the lanai--that is great! We are always seeking to make the guest experience and our home the best ever so any guest and family that comes will really enjoy the Big Island. Mahalo and please come back soon!! Michele and Ron

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Well maintained, attentive owners, beautiful sunsets!

Review submitted: February 4, 2012   Date of arrival: January 22, 2012

Ideal property for families, or couples who want the privacy of a house away from the maddening crowds.
The property is well maintained and the owner is very attentive and helpful.
It has two bedrooms and two bathrooms, full kitchen, living room and dining room on the upstairs main level and another one bedroom suite in the lower unit. Good for families or couples. The discription in the VRBO ad was accurate.
The lanai is huge with a great barbeque - we bought fresh fish at Bite Me fish market and restaurant in the harbour north of Kona (turn west on Kealakeke Parkway north of Kailua Kona). Their location is actually noted on Google Maps. Great for the BBQ!
Depending on your needs, the location is either terrific or not so good. You need a vehicle and be prepared to put miles on to see everything. (That's true for any location on Hawaii as it really is "The Big Island").
If you are looking for a private residence away from the maddening crowds its a great location.
It is well located for trips to the Hawaii Volcanoes National Park (80 miles), Black Sand Beach (lots of turtles! - 50 miles) and there is a fantastic bakery in Naalehu along the way. If you go to Green Sand Beach make sure you rent a 4x4 and are comfortable 4 wheeling!
If you want white sand beaches up by Waikoloa its about an hour to one hour and half drive depending on traffic.
If you want to be in the thick of crowds on Alii Drive in Kailua Kona its about a 30 to 45 minute drive depending on traffic.
If you want to be in the middle of a resort or in the middle of the action on Alii Drive - this property is not for you, but if you want a place you can come home to every evening and feel comfortable and relaxed as you BBQ dinner on the lanai and watch the sun set its perfect.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Dear Jeff,
Thank you so much for your generous feedback and compliments! We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us and on the Big Island. We have a wonderful team that keeps our home, "Kona Leilani" clean and comfortable. My husband, Ron and I, have enjoyed many evenings on the lanai looking at the ocean sunsets--it seems so unreal that you can see that much ocean and coastline while having dinner. Please come back soon and bring friends--we love to make folks happy about their vacations. Warm Regards, Michele

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Spacious & great view!

Review submitted: January 29, 2012   Date of arrival: January 14, 2012

We enjoyed our stay very much! The house was clean, super spacious and well stocked. The deck is fabulous and the view lovely. The tropical garden around the house is great. We were very comfortable. We made meals all week and enjoyed the house a lot. We would come back. We were able to eat outside every night and enjoy the lovely view and breeze. Things to consider: The oven/stovetop are old and not user friendly. They should probably be replaced. However, the grill is gas and very nice. The beach, while gorgeous, is a .9 mile hike that is very strenuous. It is a VERY steep hill. The beach is large pebbles and not easy walking. We were there in winter, so perhaps in summer there is more sand. We chose not to snorkel or swim at this beach as several travel books warned this beach as dangerous for both. However, we had loads of fun driving to all the other close beaches for snorkeling, kayaking and swimming. The owners were responsive, easy to work with and very accommodating. We would, and have, recommended this property to families for a great time on the Big Island! When there, be sure to check out the South Kona Fruit stand—amazing food and fun place to eat. Greenwell coffee was also wonderful.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks so much, Tanya, for your review. We have just purchased a brand new stove. We know the walk is a strenous one and we suggest driving your car to the beach at the bottom of our road. You are right the beach is made up of pebbles and it is known as Black Pebble Beach. Swimming is actually quite safe, but there are times (only in the winter) where the swell increases. Thanks so much for your kind comments about our accomodating approach; we do try to make our guests as comfortable as possible and we want everyone to really enjoy their stay. Hope to see you soon again, Tanya!
Michele and Ron Croci

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

kona la lei lani

Review submitted: January 20, 2012   Date of arrival: November 2, 2011

Have you ever dreamed of having a home in the Islands?. Well 'KONO LA LEILANI' would fulfill all those desires. This Awesome home offered us much more than what was described in the listing. You have to experience this magical setting....The owners thought of every detail to make sure that our week in paridise was very memorable. I have already made plans to return. My suggestion is to BOOK EARLY as this is one of those quiet secrets. Joanne {Los Angeles}

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much, Joanne. We are very glad that you had such a wonderful experience. We work diligently to make the home lovely and welcoming for our guests. We will see you again--thank you kindly for your feedback--our future guests will certainly appreciate your comments!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful ocean view and quiet surroundings-lovely home!

Review submitted: December 26, 2011   Date of arrival: December 15, 2011

We had a wonderful time in this beautiful home. We just loved the ocean view-wow! IT was close to the beach about a minute or so. There were trees overlooking the patios/lanais. We loved our time cooking on the grill outside. The home was close to some good beaches, sandy and otherwise. We swam and snorkeled and went hiking, all right there in the area. We would definitely recommend this beautiful home and location to folks who like the peaceful, yet adventurous activities. The home was spacious with the cathedral ceilings and it was very well stocked in the kitchen for supplies. We are coming back for sure to this lovely home! Thanks!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much, Luana! We so appreciate your feedback and compliments. We try hard to make the home comfy and lovely. We are so glad that you enjoyed the surrounding trees and view. We so look forward to having you again as our guests soon! Please recommend us to your friends and family--we would love to acknowledge your referral with a gift from us.
MAHALO!!
Michele and Ron Croci

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Loved my stay in PARADISE!

Review submitted: December 21, 2011   Date of arrival: December 12, 2011

Stayed here for almost a week, and it was gorgeous! Whenever I travel, I usually get homesick, but definitely not this time! It felt like home. AMAZING views of the ocean, beautiful spacious home and yard, peaceful neighborhood...I'm going to stay here when I come back next! I would definitely recommend this rental to anyone, not to mention the homeowners were so friendly and helpful!

Owners response: Thank you so much for your great feedback. We have put in alot of love and care into the home, so it was very nice to hear that you felt it was comfortable for you all. We too love the ocean view and the bromeliad garden.
We hope for your return in the future! Have a great holiday.
Warmly, Michele and Ron Croci

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Home away from home,but BETTER!!!!

Review submitted: November 28, 2011   Date of arrival: November 19, 2011

We have been to The Big Island several times before,but never knew about" Kona Paradise". A quiet but friendly sub-division where all the houses are different.This home we stayed in was very clean with all the things you need away from home.You are near the top of the sub-division which gave us a nice breeze & beautiful view of the ocean & sunsets.The beach below took all but 5 minutes to get to.It's a small cove beach with small pebbles to walk on,with good snorkling.It was like going back in time to when everyone around you was a friend in the neighborhood.Perfect location away from the busy city life,but it was a nice drive to town also.The house has a separate cottage below which was perfect for the kids to stay at,if you have children you know what I mean.We would highly recommend this home to our friends & family & will be coming back one day.Hard to leave Paradise!!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review