reviews for: listing #101687 - Cocoa Beach, Florida Condo rental

Beautiful Sandcastles 315, great ocean view from the balcony
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  The Sandcastles
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $96 - $216 /nt
    $600 - $1,200 /wk
    $2,000 - $3,200 /mth

sort by:

Good value for the price

Review submitted: April 14, 2014   Date of arrival: April 4, 2014

My family (husband and two kids aged 10 and 13) stayed at this rental last week. The property is exactly as listed; the photos represent the condo very nicely. As the condo listing mentions, you can see the ocean, but it is from the balcony which faces the side of the building. We didn't find this to be a problem because the ocean is literally just the length of the building away.

The newly renovated kitchen is well-appointed and the entire condo was very clean. There were ample towels and beach supplies. We found the owner to be very responsive, both before we visited and during our stay.

One thing to note - this complex was built in the 1980's, so you will find that the public spaces look a bit dated. But all is very clean and well-maintained. The pool is immaculate and the hot tub was clean as well.

All in all, we felt this property (and there are many in the Sandcastles complex) was a good value for the price paid. We would definitely stay here again.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Owner's daughter

Review submitted: April 14, 2014   Date of arrival: October 19, 2013

Wow....I am so pleased to read all of these fantastic reviews and wonderful comments. This is my parents' unit, which all members of our family and friends visit often. I was actually checking out this page so that I can check the available dates for my quarterly visit and began reading everyone's reviews. I love visiting here and completely agree with comments I've read stating how homey and well kept the unit is. My parents work very hard to ensure the cleanliness and maintenance of both of their units and clearly their hard work pays off. We joke with my dad that he now has a second job with their vacation rentals because it is constant that we are waiting on him to have dinner as a family or leave the house because he is returning emails and phone calls. :) I wish that we got to travel more often as a family, but other obligations prevent us from doing so. However, because we do not always vacation together, not much time goes by that either myself or my parents are in Cocoa Beach and constantly bringing in a new kitchen appliance or painting a smudge to ensure all of the renter's satisfaction. I know my parents greatly appreciate everyone's positive reviews and I am so glad that all of their renters seem to be pleased with this unit.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful place

Review submitted: February 24, 2014   Date of arrival: February 1, 2014

I wish I could give this home a bad review so that it would be available whenever we wanted to return. To be honest, it is the 8th VRBO home we have rented in Florida and the only one that we truly did not want to leave. The beach is perfect. Hard packed sand that is easy to walk on, slowly sloped toward the ocean so that the waves are perfect for boogie boards and little kids. It is a 2.5 mile walk along the beach to the Cocoa Beach Pier, which we walked every day.
The Condo is perfectly arranged to maximize it's space. The 2 bedrooms are separated by the baths, big closet, and laundry room; which afford lots of privacy. It is obvious that the owners spend a great deal of time there. It is very homey and not as bland as many places we have stayed. It really felt like "home". There were even some spices and commonly used pantry items in the pantry. The kitchen is very well equipped compared to others we have rented. There was even a crock pot! There were plenty of towels (even beach ones) and a couple of beach chairs.
The owner was exceptionally easy to work with and answered any and all emails within hours of my contacting him.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: We feel the same way. I used to be ready to come home after three or four days of vacation but now, as you said we hate to leave and actually on the trip home, I am counting the days in my head to determine how long it will be until we can come back. I keep counting until I am able to come back to wonderful Sandcastles and today, I can say 30. Glad you had a wonderful vacation and hope to hear from you again in the near future for another great vacation. The entire month of May is still available.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Family with young kids

Review submitted: December 28, 2013   Date of arrival: December 12, 2013

The condo is very clean. Our family had a good time over there. The only thing is that I send three messages to the owner, and only got one reply, maybe because of the holiday season. Other than that, it's beautiful condo with the reasonable price. If we go there again, we definitely will choose this condo again.

Recommended for: families with young children

Owners response: Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your vacation in Cocoa Beach and do hope that you return. I am sorry you didn't get all of your messages. I returned your calls and at least twice left a message with a gentleman. If using e-mail, it seems to work best to correspond using VRBO or Homeaway. It allows for easy reference later. Thank you for staying with us and again, we hope you return for another visit with us soon. We also have an ocean front unit, if 315 happens to be booked when you are planning your next trip to Cocoa Beach.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Nice Condo!

Review submitted: November 14, 2013   Date of arrival: October 30, 2013

This condo was very neat, clean and well maintained. The appliances and furniture were newer and there beach towels, chairs and other toys. For beach lovers, I would recommend the owners include a cooler, but the walk from the beach is not bad. My only negative comment would be that perhaps they should not advertise that there is an ocean view, as that is a stretch (literally) over the railing to see it. However, the walk to the beach is minimal. I just couldn't see it while having my morning coffee - no big deal. Overall, I would say that this is a very nice condo for the price, and well worth looking into. Would I stay there again? Yes, definitely.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: I am pleased that you thought we had a nice condo and hope that you had a great time. I have stayed in this condo myself many times and know that it has a nice view from the balcony and from the master bedroom. If you drink your coffee on the balcony you can sit at the table and see the ocean and it is a bit of a stretch to say that you have to lean over the rail to see it. The ad makes it clear that this unit is not on the front and the rental agreement that you received before you paid states that this unit is on the side of the building and that it is not ocean front.

If you decide to come back to Cocoa Beach next year, we have a top floor ocean front unit that may suit you better.

To avoid surprises when you rent a condo or anything else please read all the information available to you so that you can make an informed decision. So that our guest have a great time with no disappointments, I try to make it clear in the ad that this is an ocean view condo complete with a picture from the balcony and a disclaimer in the rental agreement stating: "The unit is in an ocean front complex but is on the side of the building. You have views of the ocean from the balcony and the master bedroom window."

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Family Vacation!

Review submitted: October 16, 2013   Date of arrival: October 5, 2013

We had a great vacation during our stay! The condo was wonderful, exactly as described. The facility has a great pool and beach access. We had plenty of room in the condo and it was stocked very well including kitchen items to beach chairs. We drove in to Orlando for SeaWorld and Disney and it was a fast and easy trip. We didn't want to come back home! This very well may become a fall break tradition for our family! Thanks so much for the use of your property, it was great!!!!

Recommended for: families with young children

Owners response: And the weather was great too, or at least that is what my friends said who stayed in my ocean front unit that week. My wife is a teacher but they don't get a full week for fall break so we don't get to go down in October much but that time of year is the best in my opinion. Weather is warm but not too hot and the water is still very nice. Glad you had a great time and hope to hear from you again next year.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Sandcastles at Cocoa Beach

Review submitted: August 26, 2013   Date of arrival: August 13, 2013

Excellent location close to Beach, gym, everything. Much better than expected. Extremely clean with everything included. Right on the Beautiful Cocoa Beach. Owners are very well organized leaving us Beach accessories such as excellent chairs, umbrella, body boards, surf boards.
The water was great with fun waves to play in. A beautifully well maintained pool and whirlpool at the complex.
Only 50 minutes from Orlando. We visited Universal studios.
We have been to many different places (Hawaii), Jamaica... In Condo settings and this was by far the best quality / price.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Owners response: It was a pleasure to work with you and I hope we have the opportunity again in the future. We love the unit ourselves and have worked hard to keep it in great shape. I truely believe that Cocoa Beach is the best beach in Florida and that Sandcastles is the best complex in Cocoa Beach. Our unit is a very good value, maybe not the least expensive but you will not find a unit of equal quality for a better price.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fun in the Sun:)

Review submitted: August 15, 2013   Date of arrival: July 29, 2013

We had a wonderful time!.. The condo was better than expected. Fully stocked and very clean. Beach was quiet, beautiful, and just steps away. We traveled with 3 children who enjoyed the pool as well. A short commute to Kennedy Space center and attractions in Orlando. Plenty of room for us to kick back and enjoy. Owner was helpful prior to trip making suggestions for places to visit and dine. We would definitely recommend this property:)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Cocoa beach vacation

Review submitted: August 11, 2013   Date of arrival: August 6, 2013

This place is extremely nice, very updated. The tables, dressers and TV stands are beautiful hardwood pieces. The owner was very nice in our few conversations we had and answered any questions we had very timely. I would highly recommend this place to anyone.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children

Owners response: Thank you for taking the time to let us know that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Cocoa Beach

Review submitted: July 22, 2013   Date of arrival: July 2, 2013

Very nice place, lots of updates.

Recommended for: families with teenagers

Owners response: Thank you for your response, we are always glad to find that our guests are happy with their stay. Please come back and be our guest again soon.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Place!

Review submitted: July 1, 2013   Date of arrival: June 15, 2013

Very nice condo with beautiful furniture and finishes. Would recommend to anyone.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for your review, we just got back from Cocoa Beach ourselves and enjoyed Sandcastles 315 shortly after you left. I am so glad that you enyoyed your stay and hope to hear from you again for a future vacation.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great place for a family beach vacation!

Review submitted: April 19, 2013   Date of arrival: September 15, 2012

As a family with young children, it was important to find a clean, family friendly unit with easy access to the beach and shopping activities. This unit was a winner! The remodeling was beautiful, updated furnishings put us in the tropical mood, and so many details had been attended to that all we needed were groceries. It had everything we desired for fun in the sun, and was the perfect place to wind down after the day's activities. The owner was very kind and called to check on us after our arrival. This unit was able to accommodate all of our needs and we will definitely look to stay here again the next time we stay in Cocoa Beach.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are always pleased when we find that someone enjoys Sandcastles 315 as much as we do. We hope to have you back again soon. We make small improvements each time we vist in an attempt to keep the unit fresh. We have made a few changes since you were here so please come back and enjoy.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful beachfront condo!

Review submitted: December 3, 2012   Date of arrival: November 21, 2012

Wonderful beachfront condo!, December 2, 2012

By Brandy Shaw (Brewer, ME)
Beautiful condo in a great location! This was our first visit to Cocoa Beach and felt very welcomed in this rental. The proximity to the beach itself was perfect. Everything was very clean and tidy. Thank you very much for making our first visit to FL a memorable one. We hope to visit again!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Loved it!

Review submitted: November 7, 2012   Date of arrival: October 24, 2012

This condo surpassed our expectations! It was very comfortable and up-to-date. We loved the kitchen (the Publix grocery is very close) and really appreciated having a washing machine! The beds were comfortable. And the condo complex was actually very quiet. Honestly, the only thing I can think of that I can possibly complain about is the low supply of kitchen towels/dishcloths.

We enjoyed the quality pool and hot tub, but the beach was the best. It was easy to access and was a very enjoyable place to rest, play, dig, and swim. The kids were thrilled with the availability of the beach toys and boogie boards. The supplied beach towels and chairs were a plus!

I talked to the owner before hand and he was very informative. The price was amazing and we appreciated the last minute discount. We would come back again!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Owners response: Thank you so much for your kind words. We stay in the unit ourselves 3 or 4 times a year and so want to keep it in good shape for ourselves as well as our guests. We are going down in a few weeks and will put some more kitchen/dish towels in the kitchen. If you stay with us again feel free to call even for minor problems and we will help in anyway that we can. If you find something that you just can't live without during your stay, give me a call. Other guests have bought what they needed and sent me the receipt and I sent them payment but again please call before hand so there is no misunderstanding.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

15 ASC3ug 2120

Review submitted: August 31, 2012   Date of arrival: August 14, 2012

We were very happy with our choice to use a condo rental over a hotel. The unit was clean, nicely decorated and offered some good amenities. We appreciated the overall layout and size of the unit, it worked well for a family with teenagers. Having a washer/dryer, beach chairs and towels and a kitchen made our stay more enjoyable. We most enjoyed our Kayaking tour through the Cocoa Beach Thousand Islands, and the $50 a week surfboard rental from Ron Jon.

Rating: 5 out of 5

Owner Response: Thank you for visiting our Florida home. A condo offers many advantages over a hotel. The unit is almost 1300 square feet with two baths and a full modern kitchen, things you will not find in a hotel room. We love Thousand Islands as well and visit the park on Ramp Road almost every time we are in Cocoa Beach. We would welcome you back anytime; you were great guests

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

SC315 Aug 2012

Review submitted: August 30, 2012   Date of arrival: August 14, 2012

We were very happy with our choice to use a condo rental over a hotel. The unit was clean, nicely decorated and offered some good amenities. We appreciated the overall layout and size of the unit, it worked well for a family with teenagers. Having a washer/dryer, beach chairs and towels and a kitchen made our stay more enjoyable. We most enjoyed our Kayaking tour through the Cocoa Beach Thousand Islands, and the $50 a week surfboard rental from Ron Jon.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Thank you for visiting our Florida home. A condo offers many advantages over a hotel. The unit is almost 1300 square feet with two baths and a full modern kitchen, things you will not find in a hotel room. We love Thousand Islands as well and visit the park on Ramp Road almost every time we are in Cocoa Beach.

We would welcome you back anytime; you were great guests.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

First time in Cocoa Beach

Review submitted: July 4, 2012   Date of arrival: May 23, 2012

The condo was clean and the furnishings very comfortable as well as attractive. Photos reflected exactly what condo looked like. We especially enjoyed nearness to the pool and the third floor convenience. TV in living room was great as was wi-fi. Overall, condo was very comfortable and close to the ports (if you are cruising), golf courses and Space Center. Publix and Walmart close by. Owner was response and available for questions. Would recommend this condo and would like to make it part of our annual trip.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: Thank you for your kind review. I always enjoyed talking to you and am looking forward to hearing from you next year. I hope you enjoyed your trip on the auto train, if I was nearer to D.C. I would try it sometime.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Family from Texas

Review submitted: June 28, 2012   Date of arrival: June 23, 2012

The unit was very comfortable and generally suited our needs. I would point out that when we arrived, we had to make up the beds (linens were furnished); it did not appear that the bathtub had been cleaned (there was hair in it, so we did not use it); and there were a few dirty dishes in the sink. The owner was very responsive to our inquiries while we were there. It would have been helpful to have information on site on how to access the wireless internet, as well as departure "procedures." We enjoyed our stay (despite Tropical Storm Debby), and would not hesitate to recommend the unit to a friend.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Owners response: I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to hear from you again next year. The unit should sparkle when you arrive as it has when we have arrived in the past. Upon your next visit, please do not hesitate to call so that we can correct any problems. I am very sorry and embarassed by this. We had stayed in the unit before you and left that morning after cleaning the carpets and tile floors and washing all the linens. The cleaning service was supposed to finish up but obviously did not. I have ordered new locks which are electronic that will text me when the housekeepers arrive so that if they do not, I will be able to contact them so that this never happens again. I look forward to hearing from you about your vacation needs next year and will work with you to make up for your inconvience. The unit now has a notebook with information about the unit, the complex and the area.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great Visit

Review submitted: May 17, 2012   Date of arrival: May 3, 2012

We stayed at the condo in May 2012. Had a very nice time and enjoyed the unit and area immensely. We found the condo to be very nicely furnished and well maintained. The furniture was very nice and we found everything we needed to make our stay enjoyable. The owners were very easy to work with an we appreciated their follow-up call to see how our stay was going and to recommend places to eat in the area of which we ate at the Atlantic Seafood Grill on the Cocoa Beach Pier and at Grills at Port Canaveral. The pool was very nice, clean and as a whole, the whole condo complex was very clean and I would visit again any time I have the chance to do so. I had not been to Cocoa Beach since 1995 and it was very nice to see that so much of the beach in this area is well preserved and still has dunes which were so pretty. Good view of the ocean too from the unit. Thanks again to the owners for an enjoyable stay.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: You are very welcome. You were the first person to stay in my unit after I started handling the bookings myself so I was happy to hear that you had a good stay. We worked hard to make the unit very comfortable for our guests and have made a few more improvments since your visit so I encourage you to come back again next year.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review