reviews for: listing #101749 - Carlsbad, California Condo rental

Beachy Getaway~in the Village~Steps to all!
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  no
  • type  Condo
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Monterey/Gage
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $99 - $125 /nt
    $799 - $1,100 /wk
    $2,500 - $4,400 /mth

sort by:

Ideal location in the heart of Carlsbad.

Review submitted: April 9, 2014   Date of arrival: February 17, 2014

This is about as convenient as it gets in Carlsbad. The beach, and the entire village, are within a couple minutes walk. The property is older, but the buildings and grounds are attractively maintained. We loved walking along the beach and through the village. Plenty of restaurants nearby and to get to San Diego, you can't beat taking the Coaster. Jeff and Karen were wonderful to work with and prompt to help when needed. The unit itself was pleasant enough, but the futon in the living room, which replaced the sofa shown in the pictures, was terribly uncomfortable. We know smoking is not permitted but there was a stale smell in the air nevertheless. Overall, a pleasant experience in an enjoyable location.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beachy Getaway

Review submitted: February 18, 2014   Date of arrival: February 10, 2014

Don't miss the Wednesday 3-6 PM farmers market on state st only 3 blocks away. The beach chairs,towels,and umbrella made for great time on the beach only a short walk away.
The condo was very clean and well stocked. We did not rent a car and found everything we needed in walking distance.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great location and amenities!

Review submitted: December 29, 2013   Date of arrival: December 21, 2013

We had a wonderful time with our two little kids at this location. The beach toys, surfboard, boogie boards, and beach stuff in the unit made it a lot easier for us-- less for us to bring! Jeff and Karen made it so welcoming with holiday-specific greeting items (poinsettia and Santa chocolate), and even stopped by to say hello (with pastries)! If we plan on another trip to Carlsbad, we will definitely stay here again!

You could hear the trains whistling as they went by, but it didn't bother us. There are lots of amenities within walking distance (1-2 blocks at most), plus a grocery store nearby. Surf shops, coffee, liquid nitrogen-frozen ice cream, 7-Eleven, and even tasty Mexican food. Got to see beautiful sunsets at the beach that was just 2 blocks away and an easy walk for our young kids.

Recommended for: families with young children, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect location for us. It really was only a walk to everything.

Review submitted: December 9, 2013   Date of arrival: November 5, 2013

The condo was perfect. We have family living in Carlsbad and Oceanside, and we were able to have them enjoy several family gatherings. We walked along the water everyday. We enjoyed eating Mexican, Italian, fish, pizza, and breakfast at the Daily News. The best part was that we did walk to all of our meals. The antique stores were fun and close by also.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Place

Review submitted: November 3, 2013   Date of arrival: November 3, 2013

Wonderful clean condo! Decorated tastefully! Great location right across from the beach, close to everything. Owners very easy to work with no problems! Beautiful condo.........

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great beach escape

Review submitted: September 21, 2013   Date of arrival: September 14, 2013

Really enjoyed our stay! It had everything we needed and conveniently located to "The village". Thanks to the owners of this property for being so attentive!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fun Getaway

Review submitted: September 15, 2013   Date of arrival: September 4, 2013

This is a nice well maintained condo in an older complex. We had everything we needed; kitchen stuff, towels, beach chairs, Wi-Fi, etc. The only negative was the "Coaster" train which passes close to the property at night and early in the morning. If you're a light sleeper, the train whistle will wake you up.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Meyers

Review submitted: July 10, 2013   Date of arrival: June 17, 2013

Home away from Home! Great location, close to beach, shopping and restaurants - no need to drive anywhere. Loved all the amenities provided to make our stay more enjoyable. The parking (covered) and gas grill are a plus and the yard is beautiful. Great place for a family with kids or just getting away for some R&R time. Owners have created a special place for families to create memories for a Lifetime!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Spectacular!

Review submitted: July 2, 2013   Date of arrival: June 23, 2013

Our family absolutely loved this Carlsbad Getaway! The condo was superb with every amenity you need and more. The owners were wonderful to deal with and we look forward to staying here again in the future. The location is terrific; close proximity to beach, restaurants, and shopping! Overall, an excellent vacation get away.

Thanks again for making our visit a pleasant experience! Look forward to seeing you again. John, Debbie & Alexis

Recommended for: families with young children, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A Nice Little Getaway

Review submitted: June 27, 2013   Date of arrival: April 8, 2013

My husband, two young boys, and myself enjoyed our stay at this cute little apartment. It was the perfect size for us during our 3 night vacation. The kitchen came fully equipped with utensils, pots/pans, etc. However, a tea kettle would be great to have available. We liked that there was a good amount of beach gear for us. The kids (and my husband) loved the boogie boards!

Thanks again for a great stay!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Comfortable in Carlsbad

Review submitted: May 29, 2013   Date of arrival: May 17, 2013

The grounds are quiet with an open space for children to play. Everything was provided from kitchen items to beach items, this made the stay very pleasant. Access to the town for restaurants, the beach, and walking trail was great. The complex is mature but very well kept, very homey. I would stay again for all the above reasons...the only downside for me was it is on the second floor so there is a flight of stairs to carry suitcases and such. Wouldn't be a problem at all for most people but I have bad knees so I must have missed it in the description, just stating this for any elder population or people who may be comprised when it comes to stairs. Lovely people to work with, couldn't have been more pleasant.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Beach Getaway!

Review submitted: May 23, 2013   Date of arrival: May 10, 2013

We visited the beach getaway for my wife's birthday. The property is well furnished and has everything you need and more! Even a surf board. I tried and failed miserably but had fun. There was also beach chairs, an umbrella, beach toys, etc so your set for the beach. We had a great time the owner was very timely with emails and questions. Can't wait to come back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A Nice Place to Stay

Review submitted: May 8, 2013   Date of arrival: May 3, 2013

This was the first time using VRBO and found it very easy. The unit was on the 2nd floor, very roomy, clean and nicely decorated. The picture shows a leather couch in the living room but now they have replaced it with a futon. The trains stop around 11pm which was great. It's located close by the main drag (Carlsbad Village) and the beach. Don't need your car as alot of great eating places are within walking distance (Vera Cruz Fish House, The Grand Deli and Cold Stone ice cream). If your into antiques, there are some good ones to check out. The price is right when compared to other rentals that are further from town and the beach. A 7-11 is almost across the street so if you forgot something or run out of milk an easy walk. The owners were great to work with. We only live up the freeway in Orange County but love the atmosphere of Carlsbad and plan on returning again. We were really happy the owners let you rent for shorter stays for just a weekend getaway.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect Location!

Review submitted: February 14, 2013   Date of arrival: February 2, 2013

We loved staying at The Getaway. It was clean and had more than everything we needed. We slept well there. The owners are generous with towels and wash cloths and the cupboards even had food and spices in them which was a nice surprise. We loved staying so close to the beach and within walking distance to everything we needed. We loved hearing the train because our 3 year old son is very "into" trains. The condo was beautiful and very nicely decorated. Cozy and welcoming. The complex is beautiful too. We would definitely return and plan to one of these days. Thank you so much!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect place to "veg"

Review submitted: October 26, 2012   Date of arrival: October 10, 2012

This "getaway" did not disappoint. It was comfy, roomy, and nicely decorated. The location was very good--even the trains did not disturb us after the first night. The complex was very quiet--located on the second floor facing a well-manicured green open space. We enjoyed our wine sitting on the balcony at night and listening to the night sounds. All of this, and we were walking distance (2 blocks) from the ocean. We enjoyed the walkway at the top of the bluff, as well as the quieter lower walkway. Many restaurants were within easy walking distance. Having a full kitchen with a dishwasher was a dream for me. We ate breakfast and dinner "en-casa" and went out several days for lunch. We were so comfortable at home, that we did not feel the need to be constantly on the go.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Location

Review submitted: July 25, 2012   Date of arrival: July 14, 2012

Great location, Close to the beach, shops and restaurants. The condo looks great, the owners were great to deal with. We really enjoyed our stay!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

The Perfect Getaway!

Review submitted: June 21, 2012   Date of arrival: June 9, 2012

This was our first time using VRBO and Karen the owner was great on guiding me through the process. Condo was relaxing and the atmosphere is perfect for young kids. Thank you!

Recommended for: families with young children, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Lovely beach condo

Review submitted: June 17, 2012   Date of arrival: June 6, 2012

Property was very nice. Close walk to the beach as well as food and shopping in Carlsbad. We had a great time and would not hesitate to go back again.

Recommended for: tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

We didn't want to leave - absolutely lovely.

Review submitted: May 21, 2012   Date of arrival: April 27, 2012

As much as we would like to say this was terrible it would only be for selfish reasons so that we'd have a chance of having this lovely property available when we book again next year. This idilic description of this property is absolutely accurate. Before booking our only concern was the notion that noisy trains would be passing ,but to the contrary the distant train horn was something we actually listened out for, bringing with it a strange sense of comfort. The property itself is beautifully decorated with ample storage and everything we needed to make it home from home. The snacks were a particularly welcome touch after a long drive. Thank you. The location is wonderful. Not only is the property perfectly situated with a short walk to the town and beach but it is in a lovely garden setting with beautiful flowers and aged gnarly old trees, there is a lawn where the children can play and meet neighbors too. With a convenient five minute drive to Legoland, Flower Fields and Strawberry fields there wasn't too much more we could have asked for. Overall a lovely home from home with a great location which we were sad to leave and look forward to returning to.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Spot

Review submitted: April 23, 2012   Date of arrival: April 18, 2012

Close to everything! Get your cup of Joe and walk the boardwalk while hearing the waves crash. Take a stroll and wander the shops. The location was perfect, the place was adorable, and we had everything we needed! Highly recommend!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great find!

Review submitted: April 14, 2012   Date of arrival: April 7, 2012

We just returned from a last minute trip to Carlsbad and were so happy to find this condo. As described, it is truly just a few minutes walk to the beach and to the main strip of Downtown, allowing us to easily walk into town for numerous restaurant selections without having to drive. It also is just a short drive to Legoland, which worked out perfect. The owners are extremely sweet and friendly, and provided us with everything we needed. The one bedroom plus pull out couch in the second room allowed us to have our family of 4 in one place, but not feel like our kids were right on top of us. The courtyard area in between all of the units made for a great place for the kids to run around and play with other visiting families. Definitely plan on returning!

Recommended for: families with young children, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review