reviews for: listing #101794 - Lake Anna, Virginia House rental

Day Dream Retreat: Hot Tub, Wi-Fi, Firepit
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Holladay Estates
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $175 - $375 /nt
    $1,000 - $2,350 /wk

sort by:

Memorial Weekend - 2014

Review submitted: May 27, 2014   Date of arrival: May 21, 2014

I cannot say enough great things about our stay at the Day Dream Retreat. The owners have done an amazing job with the place: the beautiful landscaping (which I have a feeling they do most of it themselves) and one of the best boat houses on the lake, gives this home something to make family memories you will never forget. The inside is well maintained with everything you would need to enjoy yourself for a long get-away. When booking the home, they were able to answer all of my questions and gave us good contact information to reach them in the event anything came up during our stay. We have been boating on Lake Anna for the last couple of years and this was our first time staying on the lake. If you are looking for a laid back “southern charm” feel, away from all the rat-race... this is the place to be, we did not want to leave!! Ally’s on The Lake and Tim’s at Lake Anna are two places you need to try out for lunch. One last place to hit up, if you decide to go for a drive, is Shawn’s Smokehouse BBQ in Culpeper. By far one of the best “Southern” style menus with all the good’ole country-fixin’s.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you. And thanks for being such a great guest. Hope you'll be back soon. Have a safe, happy and healthy summer.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great Weekend Away!!!

Review submitted: April 3, 2014   Date of arrival: March 28, 2014

The property was great! The boat dock was amazing! The inside of the house was very well put together and the kitchen seemed to have everything you could need to cook a large meal. The deck has a great view of the water and the backyard has a small slope but is not a real steep hill like some other Lake Anna properties. The property was clean and well maintained and the owner was wonderful to deal with! I would definitely recommend this property to anyone. We had dinner at the Tim's at the Boardwalk and the food there was very good. The portions were very large for the prices and the restaurant and bathrooms were clean. I would also recommend this restaurant to anyone going to the area for a visit.

Owners response: Wow. I think Day Dream is blushing. Thanks! Glad to hear you enjoyed it. Hope you have a wonderful year and come back soon.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beautiful and relaxing retreat

Review submitted: January 5, 2014   Date of arrival: December 29, 2013

My friends and I rung in the New Year at this lovely home! The home was very comfortable and spacious. It was decorated for the holidays and it was great to have the personal touches- that made it feel like we were at our own homes! There is a great gathering space that was perfect for our group of 8 to relax and spend time together. There is a very large master bedroom and an additional room with a double bed. The loft is another private area with sleeping room for 2. The kitchen is equipped with everything you could need and was great for making family-sized dinners. The house has a lovely backyard and a great view of the lake! There is a keypad on the door which makes entry very convenient-- especially if you are with several people!

This house was the perfect relaxing getaway! We hope to come back when the weather is warmer to utilize the great dock and enjoy the large deck!

Owners response: So glad to hear that everyone enjoyed it. Hope to have you back again soon.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A Lake Anna Thanksgiving

Review submitted: December 4, 2013   Date of arrival: November 24, 2013

Had a great time at the property for the Thanksgiving week. Our 12 year old enjoyed having the loft with comfy futon for "his" quarters. Or overnight guests for Thanksgiving Day found the trundle bed from the couch a cozy place to sleet. I enjoyed the extra loveseat in the master suite with morning sun as a nice place to read a book. Outdoor hot tub on Thanksgiving evening was a new experience for us. Hiked at Lake Anna, and visited Lake Anna. Beautiful, well maintained property. All in a all a great first experience visiting Lake Anna - thanks for sharing your property with guests.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beautiful outdoor space

Review submitted: August 6, 2013   Date of arrival: June 15, 2013

Review
When we arrived at the property the first thing that we noticed was how well landscaped the property was, not to mention how well kept the exterior of the house looked. The pictures of the house does not do it the justice that it deserves. The house has plenty of outdoor space on the the deck on the house and on the deck on the water. The house is on a little inlet that keeps you out of harms way of the boat traffic of the lake, so swimming and relaxing in the water was not a problem for us. The interior of the house was clean and everything was easy to find. The living room had about a 32' flat screen tv. The house was actually only two bedroom house though. I assume there's another bedroom in the owner's suite, but in the guest portion of the house there are two. The loft area over looking the living room could be used for someone to sleep on the floor, but of course it would not offer any privacy nor closet. Our teenage son slept up there and was fine with it. However, when coming down the metal spiral steps during the middle of the night to use the restroom it makes so much noise you will probably rethink having someone sleep up there. Over all, we enjoyed the property and would recommend it, but we came with our family of 5 and it was tight sleeping arrangements.

Owners response: I'm glad that you enjoyed the waterfront but I'm sorry to hear that you felt the details of the house were mis-leading and your stay was average. We try very hard to make sure the house and surroundings are clean, comfortable and stocked with little extras to make sure your stay is really enjoyable. As mentioned on the site and in the FAQ I send with inquiries it is a loft with a futon couch. The website doesn't provide that level of detail so I make sure it's clear in what I send out. The living room has a very comfortable trundle bed that's quick and easy to pull out if you prefer not to have someone use the stairs.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

The name says it all!!

Review submitted: May 18, 2013   Date of arrival: April 26, 2013

The name says it all, everything was almost perfect, time didn't mean anything and the house came with everything as advertised. The view of the lake is beautiful and anything you do around or inside the house just makes your feel relaxed. My friend and I came here to get away from all the everyday stress and life routines and we found the perfect place for that. We will definitely be coming back soon and most likely for a longer time, Day Dream Retreat makes you not want to go back home :-)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Peaceful getaway

Review submitted: April 22, 2013   Date of arrival: April 16, 2013

Would definitely come back again. The house was spacious, the kitchen was fully equipped and there is a nice grill on the deck. The fire pit was a bonus as was the proximity to good hiking at the park. Fabulous retreat from the city!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Great Rental

Review submitted: April 22, 2013   Date of arrival: April 19, 2013

A party of 8 of us recently rented this place for a weekend getaway. This property is absolutely amazing and has everything that you would want for a perfect lake retreat.

The house has all the normal features that you would expect, however, I think what really makes this house (and really made it stand above and beyond similarly priced rentals) is the dock. The dock is equipped with a fantastic grill and fireplace set up as well as plenty of seating right on the water. Also a fantastic view and plenty of room outside for games, etc.

I'd say 8 people really filled this place up and probably 5-6 people is probably ideal for a stay here (although the main couch is a pull-out bed and the place comes with a roll-away cot). As another poster mentioned, we also went without internet for the entire stay however it wasn't really missed by anyone given the variety of options on the property and nearby.

The location is really ideal as well as its far enough and secluded away that you will not be bothered but still a short trip to a local store that includes beer, food, etc.

Would love to stay here again!

Owners response: Thanks Adam. And thanks for the glowing review. We thought we had the internet issue resolved but hopefully moving the router will make it not an issue when you come back. As much as I'd like to take credit for having a "fireplace" at the dock it's really a firepit. ;-) Glad you guys enjoyed the waterfront as much as we do. I look forward to welcoming you back.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Retreat, Relax, Rejuvenate

Review submitted: April 21, 2013   Date of arrival: April 11, 2013

Day Dream Retreat is a very relaxing vacation home with a wonderful view. I spent an extended weekend with four girlfriends and we all enjoyed our stay. Both the indoor and outdoor living areas are spacious and very comfortable. Combined with the positive vibe and thoughtful theme - relaxing and dreaming - it was easy to have a good time and rejuvenate. We found everything in the kitchen to make all of our meals "at home". The location is so convenient to the beautiful Lake Anna State Park and only an hour away to Keswick Hall where we went to the spa and Charltottesville where we went to a wine festival.

We were not able to connect to the internet and the futon bed would have been better if it was a real bed but we still give this lovely home away from home 10 thumbs up. We left relaxed, rejuvenated and very happy.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Great to hear that you and your friends had a relaxing and special long weekend at Day Dream Retreat. We've set up an automatic reboot on the router for early in the morning and will move it's location to be accessible, hopefully that will make it more reliable in the future. Thanks for the 10 thumbs up! :)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect Ladies Getaway

Review submitted: March 28, 2013   Date of arrival: March 15, 2013

For my bachelorette party, I was looking for a vacation house over a long St. Patty's Day weekend—the Day Dream was perfect! 8 of us stayed at the house comfortably and were able to venture out to wineries, cook group dinners, relax in the hot tub, and sit down by the water on the LARGE dock.

The house's open concept allowed for everyone to hang out and never be too far from the action. Whether someone was cooking in the kitchen, sitting in the living room, or up in the loft, we were all able to engage in the conversation and what was going on. We loved the long kitchen and the counter space. The kitchen had almost ever tool, tray, or appliance that we needed (except for a coffee grinder). We liked having the TV close to the kitchen too, because we brought our Wii to laugh at everyone's dance skills.

The back of the house is so beautiful! Had the weather been nicer, I'm not sure we would have spent any time indoors. The dock is HUGE and there is a firepit by the water. The hot tub was PERFECT! Because we were staying in March, there was a chance it was still going to be cold outside--which it was. Because of rain, we weren't able to use the fire pit, but we spent a whole night in the hot tub instead--hey, wet is wet! In the short time that it was dry, we did sit down at the dock for a BEAUTIFUL sunset. And then on our checkout day we woke up to snow—what a pretty property covered in white!

My only qualms were that the wifi was out for 90% of our trip and one of the sleeping areas was easily disturbed. The wifi wasn't that big of a deal, because we had plenty to do, but the luxury would have been nice while looking up local attractions, playing music on mobile devices, etc. The upstairs loft was where the futon was and where we put up a blow up mattress—by the time a few people were awake in the mornings, the people in the loft would have to get up too, because of the noise travel. The loft is also set up with kid’s toys, but I am not sure I would bring kids back to stay up there because of the potential noise disturbance. The other 2 bedrooms were quiet getaways. Keep in mind, the sleeper/trundle sofa is the main couch in the living room too. We had 8 people and the house wouldn't be able to comfortably sleep anyone else realistically. 4-6 people is ideal.

There are many amenities close to the house--grocery, gas, ABC/beer, etc. We went to Lake Anna Winery and Tim's Crab House (on the water), both ~10 min away. Can't wait to come back during summer!

Recommended for: girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Owners response: Glad you guys enjoyed it and for the wonderfully detailed reviewed. I appreciate you taking the time. Not sure what's up with the wifi, it's set to reset early every morning if it's an internal problem but will check with Verizon. Hope to hear from you again soon. Have a safe and happy summer.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

fabulous!

Review submitted: February 27, 2013   Date of arrival: February 15, 2013

we had an incredible time here! the house is simply beautiful, with a wonderful view of the lake. i would definitely recommend this listing to a friend and would love to come back over the summer months.

Recommended for: girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great property

Review submitted: February 9, 2013   Date of arrival: January 18, 2013

Rented the house for a ladies' get away weekend. The house was perfect. It had all the comforts of home (except for husbands and children). We had plenty of space for movie watching and game playing. The outdoor space is amazing. Andrea was great to work with. We had a great time and would highly recommend the property.

Owners response: Thanks. Really glad to hear that you and your friends enjoyed it. Hope this becomes a regular spot for your getaways. Looking forward to hearing from you again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

it was great

Review submitted: February 6, 2013   Date of arrival: February 2, 2013

I loved it. Tons of outdoor space for games and a great firepit down by the lake to sit around at night. Awesome hottub and huge porch with a great view of the lake. The owners were super cool too. I highly recommend it!

Owners response: Glad to hear it. Thanks!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

They thought of everything!

Review submitted: December 17, 2012   Date of arrival: December 14, 2012

Day dream is a beautiful place to stay for an extended period; they thought of everything. The closet is full of games for any group, there was wine in the fridge, cute rubber duckies in the hot tub and other playful decor to entertain and make us feel at home. The hot tub lit up with beautiful glow of changing colors at night and the view of the lake while soaking put us all at peace. The queen bed I slept in was extraordinarily comfortable to sleep in after a long delightful day of roasting hot dogs over the fire pit, playing guitar and laughing with our group. As an artist and musician, I was inspired by many thing here - the beauty of nature, the night lights along the short path to the lake and the sun hitting the water during the day. Thanks to the owners for putting so much effort into every detail and building the backdrop for beautiful memories.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Mom's Getaway

Review submitted: December 14, 2012   Date of arrival: December 7, 2012

A group of us spent a weekend at Day Dream Retreat for a Mom's Getaway and we had a wonderful time at this home. The house was clean and cozy and the waterfront dock area was a perfect place to enjoy the sunset. We hope to make this an annual tradition!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Another five-star rating :)

Review submitted: October 29, 2012   Date of arrival: October 5, 2012

Our family decided to give Day Dream Retreat a try after having had a very pleasant five-star experience in the spring at Lake Cabin Retreat (another home offerred by the same owner as Day Dream Retreat). I figured chances were good that this new property would also be a five-star since Lake Cabin Retreat has that rating from numerous guests. I am happy to report that Day Dream Retreat is well on its way to attaining multiple five-star ratings over time. The home is clean and cozy, the outdoor area very inviting, the dock a fabulous place to laze an afternoon away or star-gaze at night. Thanks again, Andrea, for your hospitality!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Amazing lakehouse

Review submitted: October 26, 2012   Date of arrival: October 22, 2012

It was the perfect getaway house for my boyfriend and I. The fireplace, the Jacuzzi, the dock and the outdoor fireplace (s'mores!!). The night was quite, the sky was clear, we watched the stars out in the balcony. The pathway down to the lake lights up at night, was the most romantic scene I've ever seen, better than fireworks and city-lights. We love everything about this house, the location, the view, and the privacy. It was the best reunion present from my lovely boyfriend, thank you Andrea for letting us staying at your home. I feel so blessed to have this wonderful memory.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A FUN STAY

Review submitted: October 24, 2012   Date of arrival: October 19, 2012

The place was overall gorgeous with a wooden-style house and a huge backyard leading to the boathouse near the lake. My friends and I enjoyed this little get-away because it had everything! A television attached to the wall, a nice dining room and of course, an awesome hot spa! The spa had different colors for the light and I loved that! If you wanted a nice house in a beautiful environment but have the log cabin feel, this is the place for you. :)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Labor Day Weekend

Review submitted: October 9, 2012   Date of arrival: August 31, 2012

This property was the perfect size and had all the amenities for our family. We really spent most of our time out on the dock. Our dog loves the water, the teenagers spent their time in the water, and we sat and enjoyed the great location. Being at the end of the inlet was great, almost no water traffic, we did rent a pontoon, which was easily parked in the space. The kids spent their time in the shallow area, very safe from any wake, animals, boats, etc. The interior was great. The pictures are very accurate, the kitchen was setup with all the utensils and cookware you would need. The owners and previous guests left unused food items that helped out. The DVD Player/TV were great, it was the beginning of football season! The grocery was only a couple miles away, very convenient. We will definitely stay again, but next time we will need a bigger place with another new addition to our family!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Labor Day Weekend

Review submitted: October 9, 2012   Date of arrival: August 31, 2012

This property was the perfect size and had all the amenities for our family. We really spent most of our time out on the dock. Our dog loves the water, the teenagers spent their time in the water, and we sat and enjoyed the great location. Being at the end of the inlet was great, almost no water traffic, we did rent a pontoon, which was easily parked in the space. The kids spent their time in the shallow area, very safe from any wake, animals, boats, etc.

The interior was great. The pictures are very accurate, the kitchen was setup with all the utensils and cookware you would need. The owners and previous guests left unused food items that helped out. The DVD Player/TV were great, it was the beginning of football season! The grocery was only a couple miles away, very convenient.

We will definitely stay again, but next time we will need a bigger place with another new addition to our family!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly

Owners response: Thank you! Hope you'll consider Lake Cabin Retreat for next year. Look forward to welcoming you back.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Last minute decision to stay

Review submitted: August 23, 2012   Date of arrival: July 29, 2012

Andrea,

I can't get the password reset on this website. If you can manually put in my review then here it is.

We made a last minute decision to go to Lake Anna and the owners were very accommodating. This was a very nice house, hardwood floors throughout, a nice kitchen with a view of the lake, and a wonderful play area for children-loft. The exterior landscaping is excellent as seen in the pictures and the docks are great. We spent most of our days on the main/large dock playing in the lake and sipping cold beverages. There was very little boat traffic in the area of the house even on Friday and Saturday when the lake was packed. We were five minutes to a campground which had a store and we purchased Ice there a couple of times. The Food Lion is about 8 minutes away so next time we will pack far less groceries. I would suggest that more than 8 people would be very tight based on sleeping arrangements in the house, some would not be comfortable. (kids might be ok). We brought our dogs and kept them in kennels at night, the road in front of the house makes for nice area to walk the dogs-no traffic. We took the opportunity to let our lab swim for the first time and he had a blast. Chased a duck and jumped in to try to catch fish under the dock. It was a lot of fun.

4 Stars.

V/R,
Brent

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Excellent Location - Great Waterside Amenities

Review submitted: August 23, 2012   Date of arrival: July 21, 2012

Group of seven of us stayed a week in July. We had an awesome week.

I will start with the grounds. The front has a very large driveway and there is a gravel parking pad accross the street which was perfect for our boat trailer. You are looking at the back of the home in the picture. Beautifully landscaped. The deck is very nice and there is an electronic awning that covers one section for outdoor eating. There is an excellent Weber grill up by the house and another down at the lake. Also a firepit down by the lake which was really nice late in the evening.

The real plus to this home is the waterfront amenities. We spent all of our time down at the lake with the kids fishing and swimming off the dock in a very protected and safe cove on the lake. The boathouse, large deck over the lake that was partially covered was perfect for our needs. We brought our boat and kept it in one of the covered slips of the boathouse. The launch at Christopher Run Campground is just a couple miles away and even closer by water to the house. The deck area was awesome. Partially covered allowing a mix of sun and shade throughout the day. We spent the majority of the day at the boat house and as nice as the house is, i would re-rent just for the amenities at the water. The kids caught alot of fish right off of the dock, and enjoyed very protected swimming in the lake. You are at the end of the cove so you have a large private area all too yourself.

The house was very nice, it is a two bedroom with a loft so you have to make sure that you will have the space you need. The Master suite is huge. We had 4 adults and 3 kids and all beds and the loft were full. Any additional people would be on pullouts unless they were small kids. The house is very nice, plenty of amenities, and nice views. The downstairs is an owners suite so it is closed off for use. The loft provided a nice place for the kids to hang out.

Overall we really enjoyed our stay. The amenities by the lake were spectacular and reason alone to re-rent on another trip.

Owners response: Thanks. Even caught fish - wow! Is that's what's for dinner? :) Hope to welcome you back soon.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A Great Vacation Get-Away!!!

Review submitted: August 17, 2012   Date of arrival: August 5, 2012

My family and I just got back from a week’s stay at Day Dream Retreat and I will have to say that our experience with our sojourn there was fabulous!

After re-reading the owner’s description of the home in comparison with our stay, I can assure you that their description is spot-on. It is as wonderful as they make it sound. So, if you are considering trying this place for a vacation, you can trust the owner’s description –they did a good job depicting the property.

There was evidence (hair) that pets had been there, but the amount was negligible. Other than that, the home was very clean and well maintained.

There was trouble with the Wi-Fi not working –and in this location, Wi-Fi is very handy. We called the owners and the Wi-Fi was fixed quickly. Unfortunately, it went down again a day or two later. I believe the router had needed reset. But by this time, however, we were enjoying our stay so much that the lack of Wi-Fi was only a minor inconvenience –even for the teens!

Communication with the owner during preparations was excellent and the info she sent regarding directions and things we would need to pack was very concise. They made the transition in and out of the place seamless.

I can’t say much about attractions because, besides one day trip to King’s Dominion, we more or less just stayed around the house and enjoyed the lake. There is a sea-food restaurant within 5 minutes of the place that served some great food. It had a nice, laid-back atmosphere and good customer service. It was a bit pricey, but worth it. There is a Food Lion within 10 minutes of the house, also.

The house has neighbors close by, but the foliage on the perimeter of the property provides a nice secluded feel to the place.

The house was nice for the 6 of us, but much more than that would probably be a bit snug. I know the owner’s says it can sleep up to 11 and while it is possible, the place is a bit small compared to the photo of the outside of the home. The entire lower level of the house is locked because that’s where the owners stay when they vacation at Lake Anna and I believe any more than 6 or 8 people in the upper level could possible get uncomfortable. The showers were a little tight also. Individuals who are larger than average may find them a hassle. Other than these slight annoyances, the place was indeed a dream and I would recommend it to anyone looking for a quiet, private, charming place to stay while visiting Lake Anna.

Owners response: Thank you. I'm working on your suggestions including additional sitting areas in the livingroom, we added an automatic reboot on the router at night and that seems to have solved the problem nicely. I'm glad you enjoyed Day Dream Retreat and hope to welcome you back soon.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great place to sit back and enjoy life!!

Review submitted: July 17, 2012   Date of arrival: July 8, 2012

We stayed at Day Dream just last week and had a wonderful time! The owners have thoughtfully considered anything and everything you may need while there! The dock is great for fishing and the swimming was perfect! This would be a great place for a family with older kids! We were a party of nine and I would say that was the max for comfort!
A very nice gas grill is right off the kitchen which makes meal prep very easy! Plenty of games and movies to chose from.
The owner was very helpful and provides a very detailed list of things you will need to bring!
You won't be disappointed at Day Dream!

Owners response: Glad everyone had a good time. Have a safe and happy summer. Hope you'll be back again soon.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review