reviews for: listing #101936 - Blue Mountain Beach, Florida House rental

Getawayon30a
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Village of BMB
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $125 - $175 /nt
    $650 - $900 /wk
    $1,500 - $3,200 /mth

sort by:

Cheaper than a hotel

Review submitted: July 10, 2014   Date of arrival: June 7, 2014

We stayed here for our honeymoon and were very pleased with the property. We were vacationing on a budget so we were happy to find such a great deal in such a great location. The house was clean, well furnished, and on a quite street close to the pool and was within a 10 minute walk to the beach and Blue Mountain Beach Creamery (good ice cream, but lines can be long). All of the neighbors we interacted with were very nice and quick to give recommendations on things to do. The house is close to Grayton and Santa Rosa Beaches and has easy access to 30A and 98 so you can get to all of the other beaches plus Destin and Panama City Beach (but you don't really want to go there). We were lucky enough to meet the owner while we were there and he was extremely nice and helpful. Overall, this is the best deal you'll find on 30a. You definitely get more than you pay for out of this house.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful House & Beautiful Beaches!

Review submitted: July 9, 2014   Date of arrival: June 21, 2014

It's hard to impress someone who grew up in the Panama City Beach area. It really is so much nicer on Blue Mountain Beach. It's less busy for one and even though there is still some touristy things it's the perfect mix. You have everything you need on hand as far as restaurants and shops nearby. There is a Walmart less than 10 minutes away and for more shopping the Destin Outlets are 15 minutes and Pier Park about 30. We rented bikes and a golf cart and both were so much fun! The house itself it very cute and very nice. We enjoyed our stay very much! And if you get tired of the beach, the pool will also cool you down!

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Family of four beach vacay

Review submitted: June 15, 2014   Date of arrival: May 17, 2014

Very nice well kept vacation home. We vacation in this area annually and would love to stay here again.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fabulous location, excellent value!!!!

Review submitted: April 6, 2014   Date of arrival: March 29, 2014

We enjoyed our vacation at this wonderful property. The owner was very accommodating and easy to work with. Property is just as described, excellent condition. The location is perfect! Beach access, bike trail, bike shops, organic store, great restaurants, ice cream shops, pool access, extremely quiet neighborhood is a plus, no congestion yet easy access to Seaside, Grayton, Rosemary Beach, Destin, Panama City, fishing charter trips, fun shopping and so much more. First time at Blue Mountain, lifetime memories! So much to do, so little time.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guests on our honeymoon

Review submitted: April 2, 2014   Date of arrival: March 22, 2014

We decided to rent this beautiful home for our honeymoon. After looking at multiple loactions to stay in the area, we found that this was the BEST VALUE and BEST LOCATION for the cost. We truely enjoyed the house, the area and all of the surroundings. We would highly recommend this house and area to anyone wanting a great place to stay while in Florida!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review

Review submitted: March 31, 2014   Date of arrival: March 15, 2014

We had a great time in this lovely house! The house was perfectly clean and the owners were great. It was nice to be a little bit off the beach in a quiet, family neighborhood, while at the same time being close to everything! We definitely recommend it!

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful Beach House!!

Review submitted: October 2, 2013   Date of arrival: September 14, 2013

We had the most fantastic stay at this beautiful beach house. We arrived Saturday and were surprised at how quiet and peaceful the beach and area was this time of year! It truly is a fantastic time to enjoy Blue Mountain Beach! Upon entry, we noticed how neat and tidy everything was. There really is a lot of attentiion paid to detail. Everything here is so clean! The kids loved it here! They have a bunk with a full bed on the bottom, so they had lots of room! The kitchen is really nice with new appliances and everything you need to cook a meal and there is also a nice living area. The upstairs provides a beautiful master and a fantastic shower in the master! The area is the best on the gulf, it provided the best sand, water and sunset I have seen since we have been going to the Gulf Coast. There is also SO much to do. We really enjoyed the bicycle rentals and the bike path, where we rode our bikes down to have breakfasts and dinners at all of the wonderful local restaurants! The Owner was nothing but accomodating! He was flexible with us as we needed to work another day in (couldn't get enough) and he promptly answered any and all questions we had about the house and the area! I hightly suggest staying in this home, you will not be sorry!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Mcgrew family

Review submitted: September 14, 2013   Date of arrival: September 2, 2013

My family enjoyed our stay here,
The house is so comfortable and very unique.
We will definaty return soon I hope.
The only problem we had was not being able to have our dog Molly with us
As she is so much a part of us.
Property was in excellent condition.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect Vacation for a Family of Four

Review submitted: July 31, 2013   Date of arrival: July 13, 2013

What a perfect place for a small family of four! This is our second time staying at Village of Blue Mountain, but first time at this home. We love this area and would definitely come back again. The access to the wonderful pool, fitness center, quiet neighborhood, and the short distance to the beach is fantastic. Our experience with this property was great. I received prompt responses to my inquires when I first booked the property and received all the details I needed leading up to our arrival. The bright yellow house was very charming, very clean, and had all the essentials that we needed for the week and more. The book with all the instructions and nearby restaurants were very helpful and we tried a few restaurants that we hadn't been to before and loved them. Thank you for opening up your home to our family. It was a very relaxing fun filled week! I highly recommend renting this property for your next vacation as I hope to be back again sometime soon too. Thanks again!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Perfect Vacation!

Review submitted: July 7, 2013   Date of arrival: June 30, 2013

My family had a wonderful vacation here! The house was immaculately clean and exactly as pictured. The reservation process was a breeze and the owners were wonderful to work with. The beach is just a hop skip and a jump away and the neighborhood pool is very nice.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Excellent house for four on vacation

Review submitted: June 5, 2013   Date of arrival: May 25, 2013

Loved the location of the house which was a couple of minutes from the Blue Mountain Beach and 30A. The quiet neighborhood really made for a relaxed stay. Photos of the house accurately depict the rooms which were perfect for the four of us. We had no problems and look forward to possibly renting again.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Family Beach Get-Away

Review submitted: May 15, 2013   Date of arrival: May 6, 2013

This home was the perfect place for a family! We enjoyed the pool being just across the street and the beach so close! The Village was so close to fun things for every member of our family. It is an extremely clean and beautiful home. The owners are so friendly and very helpful! I felt very comfortable and relaxed the entire time of our stay, which is a great thing for a Mom. We hope for a return visit very soon!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great location + Great value = Great vacation

Review submitted: April 22, 2013   Date of arrival: April 6, 2013

We enjoyed our first stay in the Blue Mountain Beach area. We had stayed in Seaside area before so decided to try this area for a change. It was less congested, and we found ample dining options in both Blue Mountain Beach & Grayton Beach areas. Trips to Seaside, Rosemary Beach, Destin, & PCB were quick & easy. Would recommend and would stay there again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Village of Blue Mountian

Review submitted: April 4, 2013   Date of arrival: March 17, 2013

This property is clean and very well maintained.
Located on a cul de sac, quiet, friendly community.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great Beach Home

Review submitted: April 3, 2013   Date of arrival: March 23, 2013

This home was perfect for a spring break trip with my family. The owners were wonderful to work with and willing to help with anything. The neighborhood is lovely and the pool was beautiful. There is a very short drive to a beautiful beach.

Recommended for: families with young children

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

A lovely house!

Review submitted: March 19, 2013   Date of arrival: March 9, 2013

This was a perfect rental for our family of four. The house is cute as a button and extremely clean! We had everything we needed for a relaxing, comfortable vacation. The location is convenient and the house is in a very quiet, family-friendly neighborhood. I would recommend this rental for small families or perhaps a girls' getaway.

Recommended for: families with young children

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

A Great First Experience in Northwest Florida

Review submitted: January 16, 2013   Date of arrival: January 5, 2013

We could not have had a more thoroughly pleasant winter break experience. This was our first trip to northwestern Florida and we feel we lucked out in terms of the beach, the beach community and the cozy accommodations. In the course of the week we visited virtually all the principal beaches between Panama City and Destin and concluded we couldn't have done better than at our "adopted" home beach of Blue Mountain. The house is convenient and neat as a pin. While its size and shape could prove a little cramped in bad weather for a family with active children, the place was just right for my wife and me. The 17 mile paved bike/multipurpose path within a few hundred yards of the front door was a huge plus for us and fine restaurants are within a mile. We would definitely consider staying with the Stephens' again...djp

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 

Great place to vacation for our family of 4

Review submitted: January 14, 2013   Date of arrival: December 15, 2012

This was an amazing property for our family of 4. The owner went above and beyond to make our stay welcoming as well as answering all our questions. They even have a personal website that provided us with weather food entertainment maps attractions shopping and almost everything we needed to know about the area of 30A. The home is very clean and comfortable, and I am very glad we picked this one to vacation at. Our family will be back and stay here again for sure. Thank you so much Mark and Lisa for sharing your vacation home with us. We will be in touch to reserve it again soon.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Amazing Home

Review submitted: January 12, 2013   Date of arrival: February 1, 2012

We stayed at this property last year, and ended up going to Mark's other property this year. He is a big reason we keep coming back, always a real pleasure to deal with, very responsive and helpful. The house is incredible, beautifully furnished, clean, a real home away from home and a nice easy walk to the beach club. We love it here and recommend everyone to come and see it for themselves. There is a reason everyone who stays here rates it 5 stars!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Great, Relaxing Stay!

Review submitted: January 6, 2013   Date of arrival: December 27, 2012

Our stay at this lovely beach house was flawless. The house was exactly as described and portrayed in the pictures, as well as immaculate. The owners were extremely helpful, responsive, and available. The house is in a great location, very close to the beach, various restaurants, and other attractions. I would definitely recommend this house to anyone looking for a relaxing beach getaway. Thanks for everything!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Longtime renter

Review submitted: August 22, 2012   Date of arrival: June 29, 2012

I was lucky enough to have stayed at this house for the entire month of July. It suited my small family of 4 nicely. On occasion, we had visitors stay with us (as I was working in the area and needed family & friends to look after my 2 young girls while I went on photo sessions...am a photographer).
The house is one of the greatest deals in the area and the quality of the home is very nicely done. I would recommend this house to a small family, or for a girls weekend for 4-6 women. It was very conveniently located...quick walk to the pool and a quick drive or bike ride to the beach. We enjoyed biking through the neighborhood (safe for the girls!) and over to nearby areas along Blue Mountain's 30-A, including the gorgeous covered bridge nearby and also to the local shoppes & restaurants.
We also enjoyed being close to restaurants and neighboring beach towns (such as Grayton and Seaside). Most of my clients were in the Rosemary Beach, Watercolor and Seaside areas so my morning (or late afternoon) commute wasn't too bad, especially if I took 98 instead of 30A. Overall, I thoroughly enjoyed my stay. I will look back fondly at this past summer. Luckily, I get to return again next summer!
Beth
Beth Melberg Photography
Atlanta/Santa Rosa Beach

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

Wonderful Getaway on 30A

Review submitted: July 19, 2012   Date of arrival: June 16, 2012

We have stayed in the Santa Rosa/Blue Mountain Beach area for multiple summer vacations... This has by far been the best location and time/money spent overall.
After finding the listing online and reading the reviews and website, we made the decision to book it. Mark and Lisa were more than accommodating with all of our questions.
I found the reviews from other guests extremely helpful as well.
This home is located in a quiet village where bike riding or a jog would make any afternoon enjoyable. Child friendly area. The pool is a hop, skip and a jump away, which is perfect for days when you may not want to go to the beach. There was always lots of room, it was never crowded. The beach was an easy four minute drive- we never experienced a problem with parking. I even drove myself there without my husband because it was simply that close and easy. Couple minutes drive and not even a minute to be laying on the beach.
The house was in excellent condition- very clean, beach decor. Mark did advise that it was not a huge amount of space but it was perfect for the three of us. We would rent again and bring three more with us, without giving it a second thought.
There are many different restaurants and shops in neighboring communities.
Honestly, there is nothing negative that I can say about this rental. We were lucky enough to meet the owners, Mark and Lisa. They take pride in their home and only ask that you do the same. We hope to vacation here again in the coming years... I suggest you try it as well.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Beautiful Beach Home

Review submitted: July 3, 2012   Date of arrival: June 23, 2012

My family and I had spoken w/Mark prior to renting his property. Based on his description of the rental property and seeing the pictures we decided we couldn't pass this opportunity up. I cannot tell you all the "ooo's" and "awwws" that we all were saying. It's truly a home away from home. If you get the chance, be sure to have dinner on the Harborwalk Village one night (we ate at T's right off the water) AND be sure to make reservations for the Thursday night fireworks out on the harbor. Dolphins came up do close to the boat. We definitely will recommend this property to others.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Paradise

Review submitted: June 14, 2012   Date of arrival: June 2, 2012

My family (2 adults & 2 children) just returned from out first visit to South Walton. What a great week it was. The house was beautiful and a very well maintained the pictures posted are a true reflection of the property and location was excellent. We visited Saint Andrews State Park in Panama City and enjoyed snorkling and fishing near the jettys. Each beach town had so much to offer shops, restaturants and the most beautful beaches in the country, the sand is truly white and emerald green waters! This was also our first time renting a vacation home thru VRBO but the experience was great. Mark the owner was great from begining to end. I searched for months looking for the right place for a reasonable rate and this was the best choice! I look forward to returning to the home for future vacations! I would recommend this property to family and friends.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

May 26 Stay

Review submitted: June 10, 2012   Date of arrival: May 26, 2012

Was a quiet neighborhood and was a super fit for our family of six. We had no problems climbing the stairs and the master suite on the third floor is gorgeous. The price of rental was reasonable as well.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Wonderful experience!

Review submitted: May 13, 2012   Date of arrival: May 4, 2012

We stayed here for a week with my brother and sister-in-law. It is not for those who have problems with stairs and it is small but excellent vacation home. It is emaculate, beautifully decorated, great beds and huge shower in the MB. Mark, the owner, is so friendly and met all our needs. Make sure you get bikes for a week from the 30A Bike shop. They will deliver right to the house and pick them up. It is about a mile bike ride to the beach. While you are there eat at Seagrove Market in Seagrove. It doesn't look like much from the front but the food was excellent! Also Goatfeathers has wonderful crab legs. Hope to go back soon!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

visitor

Review submitted: March 5, 2012   Date of arrival: June 17, 2011

Lovely beach house! Enjoyed my stay tremendously. Perfect locale to access all the fun sites and the beach.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wonderul time on 30a

Review submitted: March 5, 2012   Date of arrival: March 3, 2012

My wife and I just returned to Iowa from our first snowbird experience---February 2012 in Santa Rosa Beach, FL. The area is absolutely beautiful with many wonderful beaches, great restaurants, and interesting attractions. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The home is clean and very functional for two adults (and would work with a couple of kids). Mark gave us accurate information on the phone prior to our visit and checked with us by email when we settled in. Although it is a little small, we spent most of our time out and about and appreciated it's proximity to grocery stores, the ocean, Destin, and Panama City. You will find that Mark is straight forward and pleasant to deal with.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Great place at nice location!

Review submitted: November 14, 2011   Date of arrival: August 25, 2010

My family of 4 (2 adults and 2 kids) stayed at the Village of Blue Mountain at the end of August 2011. We were very pleased with the house and would come back anytime! The house was extremely clean and invinting! There were even nice quality soap at each bathroom along with white clean towels! Mark, the owner, is a pleasure to work with! He is proud of his home and should be!! The house is a few blocks away from the beach but we had no problem walking with our kids instead of driving. There is even a nice ice cream shop close by if you want to treat your kids! Be aware that the house has three levels so don't be suprised if you have to go up and down a few steps during your stay. That could be a challenge for families bringing in-laws to their vacation but if they are young at heart (and knees) that wouldn't be a problem!! I hope you have as much fun there as my family had!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Perfect location

Review submitted: September 6, 2011   Date of arrival: August 13, 2011

After spending endless hours on the internet looking for a vacation rental on the Emerald Coast we were lucky enough to find this wonderful cottage. The location is absolutely perfect, right in between Destin and Panama City Beach (no high-rise condos). The property itself is lovely and the rent very reasonable. It is well-landscaped, very clean and quiet. The kitchen is well-equipped and there are TV's in both bedrooms, although we spent so much time at the beach and the pool we hardly used them. The owners, Mark and Lisa allow you to use their club membership which means you have access to not only the huge, sparkling pool but also the exercise facilities. The beach is a 2 minute drive from the cottage and we were lucky enough to see dolphins in the surf on several occasions. Also, be sure and buy a body board when you get there. Cheap and lots of fun. The photos of the cottage were right on point, it is not huge but has every amenity you could ask for. We spent a week at this rental and still ran out of time there is so much to see and do. It is close to all the little beachy communites so shopping is a blast. There is a ton of restaurants (great seafood) and we also went shopping at the outlet stores in Destin. I got my daughter a leather jacket for $60.00. We snorkelled at St. Andrew Park and spent a day on Shell Island which you can only get to by boat. Found some great seashells. Mark and Lisa are wonderful to work with. They answered all our questions and were extremely helpful. They provided a binder which had maps, restaurants and shopping suggestions for the area. Our security deposit was returned the same day we left which we appreciated greatly. I would definitely recommend the cottage to friends and family and we will be back for another visit just as soon as we can. One last hint, there is a great home-made ice cream place within walking distance of the cottage.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for the detailed write up and nice comments! We appreciate you renting our home. Hope you can make it back soon :)

Helpful votes: 11 / 11

 

Beautiful home, close to beach

Review submitted: August 8, 2011   Date of arrival: July 30, 2011

My family and I were the first people to rent this home when it was listed. We were astounded by the quality of the fixtures in the home. The home is very well appointed and obviously well loved and cared for. It's only a couple of minutes drive to the beach which is wonderful. It would make a lovely walk in the fall or spring, but a little too hot in the summer to drag all the beach toys. The whole area is very pedestrian/bicycle friendly and I wish we had been there longer, we would have rented bikes and done some sight-seeing. This house is only a minute walk from the community pool which was great. The pool area and pool are beautiful, clean and inviting. The owner is very helpful and goes the extra mile to make your stay comfortable and make sure you are happy. Overall, we had a great mini vacation here! :)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review