reviews for: listing #102086 - New Orleans, Louisiana House rental

City Park Rest Haven, 7 Minutes to French Quarter!
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $179 - $179 /nt
    $1,200 - $1,200 /wk

sort by:

we had an excellent time and the house was great

Review submitted: March 24, 2014   Date of arrival: March 19, 2014

we had an excellent time and the house was great, the house represented New Orleans and was very welcoming.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Exceeded Expectations

Review submitted: March 13, 2014   Date of arrival: March 8, 2014

This is the most unique house I have ever had the pleasure to stay in. If you have any interest in art at all, this house will make your day.

Mike is professional, friendly and delivered on all of his promises. He phoned me personally to answer questions and was always responsive when I emailed him. I am very impressed with not only his communication but the house as well. Everything is in good working condition, it's clean and really can accommodate 6 people very comfortably.

The location is fantastic as the French Quarter is easily accessible and the city park, sculpture and botanical gardens are only a stroll away. It's quiet at night, even during Mardi Gras!

If/when I visit New Orleans again, I will be staying here without hesitation.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Very good stay

Review submitted: January 31, 2014   Date of arrival: December 23, 2013

Me and my family had such a nice vacation at the house. The owner is very nice. He came to the house to make sure we had everything we needed. The house is in a very nice condition and very nicely decorated. We were very confortable. The house is next to the city park so it is very convenient or plaisant (going for a walk with the kids, or going for a run).
Hope you'll enjoy your stay as much as we did.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Very New Orleans

Review submitted: September 9, 2013   Date of arrival: August 30, 2013

Wow! This house was beyond our expectation. The house was clean and in an excellent condition. The fridge and pantry was stock to make our stay even better. The decor is very New orleans. Everything you see in the pictures are correct. It is in a safe neighborhood made walking to places very easy. City park, resturants and the trolleys are just blocks down the street. Thank you Mike for opening your home to us. You were very welcoming and made us feel very comfortable when we got there.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Coudn't ask for better!

Review submitted: June 28, 2013   Date of arrival: June 22, 2013

If you're looking to experience Nola beyond just the Quarter, this is where you want to be. The house is central within in the city, providing quick access to everything including my absolute favorite destination for po-boys. The neighborhood is very quiet and after long days of intense heat, heavy food and plenty of booze, my husband and I both slept like the dead in the spacious and comfy master bedroom. The house is very well appointed, having anything you could possibly need and as you can see from the pictures, is also a treasure trove of interesting art pieces. Everything was clean and organized. We had a car and parking was a piece of cake. I'm a Louisiana native and visit back home often and will definitely rent the house again.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Great neighborhood

Review submitted: June 19, 2013   Date of arrival: June 5, 2013

Very quiet & safe neighborhood. Loved the eclectic decor, however it made me nervous with two curious pre-teen children - thank goodness we made it through with no mishaps. I would absolutely recommend this rental. Mike was a great host.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

A wonderful stay!

Review submitted: May 23, 2013   Date of arrival: May 16, 2013

My family and I stayed in Mike's place for my brother's graduation-- it was perfect! The photos do the place justice, the home was very clean, the check in and check out processes were super easy, and Mike was wonderful in making sure we had a great stay... I would definitely stay there again! Thanks, Mike!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

You must rent this house

Review submitted: April 25, 2013   Date of arrival: April 19, 2013

This house was perfect; clean, comfortable, inviting. Set in a cute neighborhood with very friendly people. Not far from the Canal St trolley, just a few blocks and you can stop off at the Pelican Thrift on the way. Mike was a wonderful host; very helpful and knowledgable about the area and surrounding communities. Staying the long weekend in this location added a ton of value to our trip. It was like being at home but in my favorite city in the US, New Orleans. Thank you Mike for everything. We look forward to being in your home in the future.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: It was a pleasure hosting you all, thanks for the great review!!!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

RENT THIS HOUSE!

Review submitted: April 24, 2013   Date of arrival: April 19, 2013

Staying in this house made our trip 100% better. Located in a fantastic neighborhood with friendly people and plenty to see/do. There is plenty of space on the street for parking but we took the trolley which is a few blocks away. While walking we found an awesome resale warehouse that’s a must for anyone visiting the area. The house was very clean, extremely comfortable and inviting. Mike was a wonderful host and we can't wait to get back to our second home, New Orleans. This house will be our first pick as a rental. Thank you Mike for everything.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

NCAA WOMEN'S FINAL FOUR

Review submitted: April 13, 2013   Date of arrival: April 6, 2013

What a beautiful and comfortable house. Very clean and plenty of space for 5 adults. Fully stocked kitchen. The neighborhood is safe and convenient. There is a trolly stop a short walk from the house. The owner, Michael, is wonderful. He checked on us several times during our stay to make sure everything was up to our expectations. He was very knowledgable about the area. We will definitely return to our HOME AWAY FROM HOME in NOLA.

Recommended for: girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great location and value

Review submitted: April 7, 2013   Date of arrival: March 30, 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights with 2 young kids. The house was comfy with a good layout. The proximity to an excellent playground and quiet neighborhood made our stay very convenient. Add in close proximity to excellent snowballs and poboys and we couldn't be happier. The furnishings are mid level and I wish it was a touch cleaner. But for the price this is easily the best value in mid city. Plus mike is a super nice guy who could always be easily reached. We'll be renting this property again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Marvelous vaction in New Orleans

Review submitted: January 4, 2013   Date of arrival: December 22, 2012

We spent a marvelous holiday in New Orleans in this house.

It’s a perfectly located jewel of a home, a pleasure to come back to at night after a full day of sight-seeing.
From the brightly colored painted and decorated exterior to each of the rooms indoor, everywhere you can find beauty.
The owner is generous in the use of his bedrooms, bathroom, kitchen and laundry.

We really felt at home. I would recommend this home to any family or art lovers. Parents with small children may not be as comfortable here as there are too many fascinating things for little ones to explore and perhaps break.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Marvelous vacation in New Orleans

Review submitted: January 4, 2013   Date of arrival: December 22, 2012

We spent a marvelous holiday in New Orleans in this house.

It’s a perfectly located jewel of a home, a pleasure to come back to at night after a full day of sight-seeing.

From the brightly colored painted and decorated exterior to each of the rooms indoor, everywhere you can find beauty. The owner is generous in the use of his bedrooms, bathroom, kitchen and laundry. We really felt at home.

I would recommend this home to any family or art lovers. Parents with small children may not be as comfortable here as there are too many fascinating things for little ones to explore and perhaps break.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

A BEAUTIFUL HOME!

Review submitted: December 18, 2012   Date of arrival: December 14, 2012

12/14/2012 - 12/17/2012 What a wonderful place to stay! The house is just as it was described. There is plenty of room throughout the house. The large eat in kitchen is fully stocked with pots, pans, cookware, dishes, anything you need. There is a beautiful dining area with a round table that sits up to 7 people very comfortably. The bedrooms are spacious and the beds were very comfortable. There is a nice porch on the front of the house where you can sit and enjoy the evenings. Very quiet and safe neighborhood. The location is perfect. A block or two form City Park and within walking distance to a grocery store. The owner Mike is a very nice person. He is very accommodating. I would certainly stay here again!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful place to stay!

Review submitted: November 15, 2012   Date of arrival: October 29, 2012

Everything was as described and very pleasant. Tons of fun art in every room, we would notice new things every day! The owner left lots of helpful tips and the kitchen well-stocked, so we didn't have to spend time and energy finding provisions, but were just asked to leave a tip for restocking - very helpful and convenient! The neighborhood is pretty quiet, not too much nearby, but there is a funky neighborhood bar about a 10 minute walk away - Evangeline's, and one even closer that's more upscale, Ralph's. Really really nice locals in both. This is not an area with many tourists... Getting a taxi to other parts of New Orleans is a little pricey, but you can also walk about 10 minutes to get the streetcar. I would absolutely recommend this place, it was perfect for a family of 5.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Sarah McKenzie

Review submitted: October 24, 2012   Date of arrival: September 30, 2012

Wonderful stay!! Couldn't have asked for more. Home was beautiful and very clean. In a nice neighborhood and still so close to the French Quarter and all the attractions. We would stay here again every time we visit New Orleans! Thanks again Mike. You were more accommodating than anyone could have asked for.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review