reviews for: listing #102109 - Durango, Colorado Condo rental

Luxury Ski In/Out 4 Bedroom Purgatory Lodge Condo
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  4
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Durango Mountain Resort
  • sleeps  10
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $250 - $650 /nt

sort by:

Great Condo!

Review submitted: March 27, 2014   Date of arrival: March 9, 2014

Lovely condo on Purgatory (Durango) Mountain, clean and well-maintained - ski in and ski out, pool and spa accessible. The condo is exactly as advertized. It is very comfortable with excellent, modern kitchen and utility areas. The kitchen is well stocked with cookware (the best quality and variety of the 6 or 7 condos we have stayed in on the Mountain). The kitchen is stocked not only with stoneware and glassware but also with plastic "glasses" and plastic dishes, which was nice for serving the young children in our party. Spacious bedrooms and bathrooms. The bathtubs are really deep and great for soaking. A really great rental experience! Skiing was great and we enjoyed dining at the Powderhouse, the Deli, Paradise Pizzeria & Ice Creamery (we liked the locally made Aztec chocolate) and Purgy's.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Top Choice for Your Stay at Durango Mountain

Review submitted: March 25, 2014   Date of arrival: March 5, 2014

Wonderful owner to work with in setting up for and FU of the rental. Beautifully decorated and in excellent condition….definitely upscale. Condo extremely well located for ski in and out as well as lodge amenities access as all on same floor as game room, lockers, private bar and breakfast room. Well outfitted with cooking utensils, bedding and bath linens; The hot tub and pool really can be used in the winter months as heated to a good temp even for the little ones…they loved the slide. Staff at the lodge were all very nice and extremely helpful. Highly recommend. We plan to return. (Note to bring your own grill for the porch).

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great stay!

Review submitted: February 24, 2014   Date of arrival: February 1, 2014

We rented the condo with my brother, his wife, their baby, our family of 5, and my parents. We needed 2 pack-n-plays, so owners went above and beyond to get a second for us to use. The condo was great for young family and grandparents alike. You can't beat the location. The snow was fresh and skiing was amazing.

We enjoyed the breakfast, although we were shocked at how late it started. Not open until 8am. Maybe were are just early risers...

We have already said we want to go back next year!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect condo! Perfect location to the slopes!

Review submitted: January 10, 2014   Date of arrival: December 21, 2013

We have been to Durango Mountain Resort 3 times and this is the perfect place to stay. The location to the slopes is ideal and being on the 1st floor made it so convenient. The beds were comfy, the bathrooms were modern and clean, and the kitchen was nicely stocked and modern. Such a great condo and we can't wait to find a time to not only come back to DMR, but to stay in this condo.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The Best of Everything

Review submitted: October 27, 2013   Date of arrival: August 4, 2013

My family and I enjoyed a wonderful stay at Purgatory Lodge this past summer. The Lodge itself is excellent with exquisite stone and timber architecture. The Lodge is about 30-40 minutes north of Durango so be prepared for this extra time if you are driving in from another location. We liked the fact that the Lodge was "out of town" a bit. Be advised that there is a restaurant at the Lodge and there is a grocery about 15 minutes south but if you want Durango you will need to be ready to take the extremely scenic drive "back into town." The condo we visited was beautiful. Every amenity was available--including a kitchen. We were quite comfortable in our unit. The Lodge offers some fun and games which we and our children enjoyed. The workout facility as well as the pool and hot tub area were both very nice. We had a fantastic time during our all to brief stay at Purgatory Lodge. We are looking forward to coming back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful Stay in Durango

Review submitted: October 16, 2013   Date of arrival: October 3, 2013

I would like to take the time to say what a wonderful mini-vacation that my family and I had staying at this Condo. It truly is a luxury property. No detail was to small. The staff on the property were very helpful when we checked in and out. When you enter the Home you are greeted by rich warm tones, so cozy and so comfortable. It has a balcony that overlooks the main courtyard for activities. Every amenity that you could imagine are provided including so many that we did not need. The Kitchen is fully stocked with all small appliances, pots pans and utensils.. The home was professionally decorated with all designer touches. The home is absolutely spotless and you can tell that it has been very well maintained. Each of the bedrooms are very private and worked wonderful for my family and myself. We had five adults and two children (4&2). I will definitely be making plans on returning and will want to stay here. The property is located a short 30 minutes from downtown Durango. I am so happy that we stayed away from town. I probably would not have driven up to the Resort area so we would have missed all of the beautiful country and scenery along the way. There is so much to see and this just made our trip so much more fun. I would highly recommend this home to anyone.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Elegant, comfortable condo in the heart of the resort

Review submitted: August 12, 2013   Date of arrival: July 30, 2013

Everything about this condo was both comfortable and lovely. The decor was tasteful, the beds comfortable, the kitchen well-equipped. You can't get a better location for all of the activities the resort has to offer. I hope we can go back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fantastic Condo!

Review submitted: June 25, 2013   Date of arrival: June 6, 2013

My family of 2 kids, my cousin, my sister-in-law, and her kid all came to DMR for a week of Colorado fun. Two kids are 5 and one is 7 months, so we needed a place that was kid friendly yet at the same time we wanted something luxurious and this 4-bedroom condo delivered.

I should mention that they provided a high chair and play pen for the little one -- very nice.

The condo itself sits on the corner above the first floor of the 5-story resort. The balcony overlooks the resort's recreational pavilion where, in the summer, guests played waterball, bungee, and obstacle courses. Cafes and shops sit on the square's other side, so we enjoyed people watching.

In the morning and evening, it quiets and you can admire the mountains from the balcony. Great for sitting and reading, too.

The windows inside look out onto the mountains from the den and kitchen. Nice.

The furnishings are all high quality. Parking is in a garage below the resort. Breakfasts are served at the condo's resort club -- continental style: no waffles/pancakes but usually items such as yogurt, cereal, and muffins. The view for breakfast is spectacular -- a huge window facing the mountains.

The resort also contains a family game room and pool which you can access. The kids loved the pool's slide.

Location-wise, you're about 25 minutes north of Durango which places you in a great spot for visiting not only it but also the mountain towns and trails to the north. We saw a bear on our drive to Durango from the condo -- my first bear siting in all my times coming to Durango!

No shortage of entertainment at the resort but you can also find 100's of outfitters in Durango to take you rafting. We rode the train to Silverton and loved it. We also did the Bar D Chuckwagon dinner -- everyone rated it as one of their favorite things. And, of course, the free drive up the Million Dollar Highway is a must see, as is the waterfall just south of Ouray.

The biggest hit at the resort for our summer stay was the alpine slide. The kids loved it.

I recommend 100% that you stay here. We certainly enjoyed our time.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Want to book again next spring break

Review submitted: March 19, 2013   Date of arrival: March 10, 2013

Perfect

Recommended for: families with young children

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Awesome Property

Review submitted: February 5, 2013   Date of arrival: February 1, 2013

This place is great. Very clean and comfortable. It's nice being on the first floor which makes it easy to get to the rec room, ski lockers, and breakfast which is nice if kids are along. Highly recommend.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Mitchell's & DeLoaches'

Review submitted: February 5, 2013   Date of arrival: January 17, 2013

Awesome condo-- very clean and modern. We did not have any problems which made our vacation that much better. Very convenient to shops, ski rentals, and slopes. Private bar and breakfast every morning. Highly recommended.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Awesome Ski Vacation

Review submitted: January 7, 2013   Date of arrival: December 28, 2012

We just returned from spending a week at Purgatory Lodge and truly enjoyed the condo and all of the many amenities! The owner was also extremely nice to work with and very accommodating. From the luxury accommodations to the ski lockers, breakfast & pool/hot tub area, I don't know how we could stay anywhere else in the future! Thanks for an awesome vacation!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Good times, great setting

Review submitted: October 9, 2012   Date of arrival: July 30, 2012

This was a great place for a family vacation. We had our family of 5, along with my parents staying at the condo on this trip. I've lived in the mountains for 15 years and have no qualms about staying in a not so nice place, however, my parents prefer luxury, and this place didn't disappoint. From the condo itself, to the amenities offered by the complex, there was nothing about this rental that wasn't great. The owner was a pleasure to work with and the staff at the desk were very friendly and accommodating. 2 thumbs up!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Refreshing stay

Review submitted: August 21, 2012   Date of arrival: August 11, 2012

We enjoyed getting out of the Texas heat and into much cooler temperatures. You are a short walk from the chair lifts which take you up the mountain for the alpine slide. We loved the view over the plaza. It was easy access to the hot tub, breakfast down the hall and game room. We are trying to find a way to come back in the winter to ski! Great location!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Place

Review submitted: August 14, 2012   Date of arrival: August 6, 2012

Perfect location. Beutiful place. Lots to do. The free breakfast is very convenient and saves $ when you have a bunch of kids. We enjoyed the mountain biking, hiking, drive to Silverton/Ouray, and white water rafting in Durango.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review