reviews for: listing #102111 - Durango, Colorado Cabin rental

Castle in the Pines, Luxurious 4800 sq ft Cabin
  • bedrooms  5
  • pool  no
  • type  Cabin
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Forest Lakes
  • sleeps  16
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $375 - $550 /nt

sort by:

Summer in Castle in the Pines

Review submitted: August 21, 2012   Date of arrival: August 4, 2012

Great property, a lot of space for everyone. Spent most of our time in Durango, also enjoyed train trip. We had children with us and the loved the house.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Perfect Family Getaway

Review submitted: August 20, 2012   Date of arrival: August 15, 2012

Dear Jason:
We have just returned from our family vacation and had a marvelous time. The size of the cabin was perfect. There was plenty of room for everyone and lots of space to "hang out". We loved the big, open great room with the TV to play games and "just dance" together. My husband especially loved the wrap around porch. The BBQ was great -- we used it every night. There were plenty of dishes for all of us to be able to eat together. We made smoothies one night and absolutely LOVED the blender! The bunk beds were fun for the grandkids. We loved the hummingbird feeders. We refilled them both, but they would not drink from the biggest one.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Summer Vacation

Review submitted: August 5, 2012   Date of arrival: July 28, 2012

Absolutely loved the "Castle", perfect in every way, and the owner was extremely easy to work with, made the whole experience wonderful. So much to do in the area, and the owner was very helpful in giving recommendations of activities and places to eat, would highly recommend the property to anyone wanting to stay in the area. It made our family vacation one that we will all never forget, can't wait to go back again!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Once-in-lifetime Family Vacation

Review submitted: July 31, 2012   Date of arrival: July 9, 2012

The House was perfect for our large family of six adults and seven kids from 9 months to 15 years old. Everyone had their own space and the bedroom situation was excellent for us. The house was about a 20 minute drive from Durango and well situated between some other facilities such as horseback riding, hiking, and sightseeing. We were able to find some good restaurants close by and dined out most of the time. We would stay with you again if we need a place for that many people. The kids loved spotting the deer all along the drive up to and through the neighborhood to the house. We had a great time.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

perfect for a family gathering

Review submitted: July 15, 2012   Date of arrival: May 27, 2012

What a beautiful and comfortable house, and what great management by the owner! We had three couples, two single adults, and four kids gathered for a family reunion. Everyone had room to talk, play, and get away from each other when needed. The kitchen is well-stocked with equipment, the beds were comfortable, the living area was exceptionally pleasant, and everything was well-maintained and clean. Jason was very helpful during the reservation process, available during our stay, and when a kitchen cabinet door broke on our last day he was prompt, calm, and fair about the costs. Highly recommended!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Amazing vacation get away!

Review submitted: June 18, 2012   Date of arrival: June 10, 2012

We had a wonderful, relaxing vacation in the Durango area! The house made our stay perfect! So spacious and welcoming! We had a group of 13 and we also had plenty of room to relax, eat, and sleep! Loved our stay here!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

DREAM VACATION DESTINATION!!

Review submitted: April 5, 2012   Date of arrival: March 11, 2012

I decided to take my family on a vacation to visit the durango area because I used to live there. I never imagined that we would stay in such a beautiful relaxing place. This is really a CASTLE IN THE PINES!! The views are beautiful. The cabin was much bigger than we expected. We had plenty of space for all 15 of us. The cabin was very clean. The kids enjoyed the video and board games that were provided. It was great working with Jason, he responded quickly to any inquiries that I had. He really goes out if his way to make sure cabin is ready for a family vacation. I would love to stay there again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Snow Boarding Trip

Review submitted: February 27, 2012   Date of arrival: February 16, 2012

Great Place! Very nice, clean and best of all HOMIE! Felt very comfortable there and had everything you needed from sheets to blender for breakfast shakes! Would defentally recommend to anyone!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Everything we wanted...and more!

Review submitted: January 5, 2012   Date of arrival: December 19, 2011

What a beautiful home in a beautiful setting! This home is just as advertised...rent with total confidence. They provide everything you could possibly need for a comfortable stay with your family...right down to the board games in the library.

We had 6 adults and 5 kids in our party and had more than enough room. The bed I slept in was more comfortable than any hotel. We cooked about 2 meals per day in the kitchen and had everything we needed to get the job done.

Jason, the owner, was the easiest guy to work with. He was laid back and accommodating and answered our pre-trip questions quickly. He made us feel welcomed and provided us with great information about the nearest town and things to do.

One tip: if you are planning to stay during the winter, bring an all-wheel drive vehicle. Certain areas of the neighborhood streets are very steep, as is the driveway. We even had trouble once with our chains, but my in-laws had an all-wheel drive vehicle and they had no problems (I'm sure 4 wheel drive works as well).

We took the kids sledding at the neighborhood hill that Jason recommended and it was great fun! There are several different hills at varying grades...so, there are suitable options for small ones and brave risk takers. The absolute BEST thing we did on our trip was take a snowmobile tour with Outlaw Tours (near Purgatory ski resort). The scenery was absolutely breathtaking! We followed an old mining road on the side of a huge mountain...the valley, rocks, trees, and mountains surrounding us was the most beautiful slice of God's creation. We took the 2 hour tour and everyone in our party agreed that it was incredible fun!

We were sad when the time came to leave 'our' vacation home. It really was everything we hoped for: a cozy mountain home with luxurious modern amenities. We hope to come back in the summer and enjoy all the warm weather activities Durango has to offer.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful Luxury Home in the Mountains

Review submitted: November 30, 2011   Date of arrival: November 23, 2011

My family and I stayed in the Castle in the Pines during the Thanksgiving holidays of 2011. First, let me say it truly is a Castle in the Pines. I don't think pictures can capture the charm, warmth and magnificence of the place. We had a family reunion there, and this included 4 families with a total of 10 children from 2 to 20. My wife and I (Grandma and Grandpa) have been booking VRBO properties for nearly 10 years now, and the Castle in the Pines was the cleanest and most well maintained of any property we have stayed at. Grandma is picky, and she rates it 5 stars on that front. Since part of our plan was to cook a Thanksgiving feast to share, you can imagine how thrilled we were to have every piece of cookware we needed, place settings for probably 30, double oven, large fridge, two large tables, everything we needed for the feast_it was spectacular (both the kitchen set up and the feast). We drove to nearby lakes for some geocaching, played games, a couple a touch football games in the back, watched the movie the Polar Express on the very large HDTV warmed by the fire in the fireplace, and then went to Durango and road the Polar Express. The beds and bedding were all so comfortable. The stars at night_wow. We love the Castle in the Pines, and think other VRBO renters will too. What a place to build great family memories.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great for Family's

Review submitted: November 7, 2011   Date of arrival: August 11, 2011

This cabin is amazing! We had 3 familys and it had enough space for all of us. A great place to relax and enjoy the mountains. We will be back again. Jason was great to work with and our experience was more than expected.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Rental!

Review submitted: July 26, 2011   Date of arrival: July 10, 2011

If you enjoy vistas of luxurious pines, valley, and mountain tops and sharing your vacation with the local deer then this is the vacation rental for you. This vacation rental is beautiful, spacious and clean. We had a family reunion with 13 people and it accomodated us with ease with plenty of space to spare. There are many outdoor adventures to participate in or you can just sit back in the solitutude of nature as you read a book or take a nap. There is something for everyone (unless you prefer hazey skies from pollution, tall skyscrapers or choking heat & humidity). We would definitely love to visit this area and stay at this rental again!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great place for a family get together

Review submitted: July 25, 2011   Date of arrival: July 2, 2011

This rental is as nice as it looks. We rented this cabin for a large, week-long family reunion and it had great common areas and decks that were perfect for groups of people to visit, eat and be comfortable. The kids had a blast exploring the house and playing. The neighborhood is very pleasant and in the trees. Jason was truly wonderful all along, being very helpful in providing information and making every effort to accomodate us.

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Wonderful Place

Review submitted: June 27, 2011   Date of arrival: June 18, 2011

This place is wonderful! The views are beautiful! Even tho the house is large, the feel is very warm and accomodating! I would recommend it to anyone looking for a little seclusion but also wanting to be close enough to Durango to do activities! We had everything we needed and the property is very clean and well maintained. Jason was very easy to work with. The pictures posted of the house do not do it justice! It was a great vacation!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Excellent, excellent and excellent :)

Review submitted: June 2, 2011   Date of arrival: May 27, 2011

This property defines a vacation. It is located in the heart of wilderness, yet close to town (10 minutes). Waking up in the morning to peace and tranquility is priceless. If that was not enough, walking outside to deer around the property makes a great start to the day. This property is large enough to accommodate many people (13 in our group) yet cosy enough to make this place feel like home away from home. The property is very well maintained and there is a lot of attention to detail here.

If you want a truly home away from home experience in the wilderness, surrounded by nature and animals in what I define as luxury accommodation at affordable pricing, this is the place. Jason is great to work with and very responsive. I give this place a 10 star rating :-)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

GORGEOUS place

Review submitted: June 2, 2011   Date of arrival: May 27, 2011

cabin was gorgeous. excellent views quiet and peaceful.. well furnished and all the ameneties of home.

the cabin was immaculate , the master bedroom HUGE and very well maintained

definitely will be back next year

Recommended for: families with young children, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing Spring Break at this Amazing Home!!!

Review submitted: April 12, 2011   Date of arrival: March 13, 2011

This home is absolutely amazing with gorgeous views and perfectly described by the owner!! This was a 3-family spring break vacation and we had plenty of room for everyone without ever feeling over-crowded. The furnishings and amenities were fantastic and we could not have felt more comfortable. We traveled to Durango Ski resort every day which was @ an hour's drive, but not a bad drive at all - wonderful scenic views all along the way! Would highly recommend to others wanting to stay in a gorgeous home, not far from a great ski resort, and reasonably priced! Oh - and the owner was great to work with! Would love to stay there again during spring break in the near future!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Extended weekend getaway

Review submitted: March 11, 2011   Date of arrival: February 11, 2011

Our stay with friends at Castle in the Pines was absolutely amazing!! This cabin is gorgeous with every amenity you could ask for. We had 3 couples that stayed for a long skiing & snowboarding weekend. The cabin is nestled up in a nice community, but definitely need chains if it has been snowing. The cabin had more than enough room for us to be comfortable, and in fact we could have had 2+ more couples and still have been comfortable. I would highly recommend this wonderful place for friends, couples, & families. We will definitely be coming back!!! And Jason, the owner, was excellent to work with!! Thanks again for everything!! =)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Winter Stay

Review submitted: January 5, 2011   Date of arrival: December 28, 2010

We had an excellent stay at this beautiful castle in the pines. The owner was wonderful to work with providing all the details needed for a vacation. Directions to the house made it easy to find. Please make sure to bring chains or a four wheel drive if there is a chance for snow. The community keeps the roads clear, but some of the roads will get slippery. We had an excellent trip!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Gathering of friends!

Review submitted: December 14, 2010   Date of arrival: December 3, 2010

We had an incredible long-weekend getaway in this lovely home, where old friends were able to gather in comfort, enjoy breathtaking views and still enjoy relative privacy. Near enough to enjoy the community of Durango, yet just far enough to settle into a quiet country retreat. Very clean and well maintained, can recommend highly!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great place!

Review submitted: December 12, 2010   Date of arrival: November 26, 2010

We recently stayed at the "Castle in the Pines" to celebrate my wife's 40th birthday. It was everything the listing indicated and more. Watching the snow come down through 180 degree floor to ceiling windows was amazing. The radiant heat kept us warm and comfortable and the multiple master suites provided independent space for all of our guests. We had friends come in from all over the country to celebrate. One highlight was cooking a big meal for the group in the well appointed kitchen. It had everything we needed.

The kids loved the "bunk room" and this feature would have been great for a big group of kids.

I'd definitely recommend this property to folks looking for a nice place for a few days in the woods.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Rent with confidence

Review submitted: October 6, 2010   Date of arrival: August 5, 2010

We stayed in this Cabin in August and it was wonderful. It is secluded but a short drive to Durango. The decor and furniture was very comfortable and made the vacation very relaxing. We loved the multiple suites and the lower level being set up for kids. The big room with vaulted ceiling and huge windows provides a great view. There was plenty of room and lots of woods outside for the kids to explore. The best part was the covered decks with views in all directions.

It is exactly as discribed. Rent with confidence.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review