reviews for: listing #102135 - Duck Key, Florida Villa rental

Village at Hawks Cay Spa Villa with 35ft. Dock
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  Villa
  • baths 
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Villages Hawk’s Cay
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $169 - $449 /nt
    $1,199 - $2,999 /wk

sort by:

Lovely accommodations

Review submitted: February 11, 2014   Date of arrival: February 4, 2014

The bedrooms/baths upstairs in the villa were tight but the villa was very nicely appointed and spotless. We enjoyed the back patio and hot tub overlooking the lagoon. The location is lovely and Hawks Cay has many amenities right there as well as a nice place to walk or ride bikes. Driving in to Marathon there are many very good restaurants to choose from and many with a wonderful view of the sunset. Mike and Lea were terrific to work with too. They kindly took the time to recommend their favorite places to visit in the vicinity. We especially enjoyed the raw bar at Key Fisheries and the Sunset Grill but truly we didn't have a bad meal anywhere we went.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Amazing time in the Keys!

Review submitted: February 9, 2014   Date of arrival: January 24, 2014

My parents and I stayed here last month and absolutely fell in love with this place! We highly recommend it and I hope to stay here again! Mike and Lea are great to rent from!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Fantastic place to stay and great location

Review submitted: February 2, 2014   Date of arrival: January 19, 2014

This condo was even better in person. Very nicely decorated, spotless and so inviting I wish we could have stayed longer. Having never been to the Florida Keys this was a perfect location, right in the middle with easy access North or South. We found some great restaurants and even bought some local Stone Crab from a boat on Conch Key. The condo was well appointed and cooking was a breeze. The hot tub was a real bonus after a day of site seeing and the complex was great for getting in some exercise. Mike and Lea were a dream to work with. We had a great time on at Hawks Cay Village.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Just like home!

Review submitted: June 20, 2013   Date of arrival: June 14, 2013

We had a wonderful stay and would recommend this unit to our friends. Thank you for sharing your town home.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Great accomodations!

Review submitted: March 11, 2013   Date of arrival: March 6, 2013

Property was everything described and more! Very clean, up to date, and quiet location. Loved the boardwalk out front for walks and enjoying the sun. The two bedrooms with private baths worked out great for two couples. Would recommend over resort everytime.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Mary

Review submitted: March 7, 2013   Date of arrival: March 2, 2013

Mike and Lea were absolutely wonderful to work with . This was our first rental from VRBO and it went without a hitch. Beautiful home and property and was just what thr Dr. ordered. Relaxing and comfortable- can't wait to go back. Thanks Mike and Lea !

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Great space and best location in all the Keys!

Review submitted: February 14, 2013   Date of arrival: February 7, 2013

This is our second stay in this unit and looking forward to returning next year. The renovations and upgrades since our last visit make the home even nicer. The owners have made everything easy for people staying in the units and the entire transaction was very simple. Everything works really well and is clean and new. Wifi works great.

Duck Key is a great location for your stay in the Keys. Marathon is only 10 minutes away to pick up all your groceries; Key West about an hour, and you can get to MIA in under two hours. There is great diving and fishing right from Duck Key.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Hawks Cay Rental

Review submitted: January 10, 2013   Date of arrival: December 22, 2012

There was a mistake with our credit card, we had some charges on there that were not ours. So we notified credit card company and they took it from there. Sadly, our deposit was one of the charges that was mistakenly marked as fraud, NOT ON PURPOSE ON OUR PART! Mike, then began some pretty harassing phone calls to my mother and myself. At one point my mother and I considered cancelling our stay there and finding a different rental, but finding a property to rent for Christmas at that point would have been hard to say the least. WE CONTACTED THE CREDIT CARD COMPANY ASAP TO CORRECT THE SITUATION & PAID HIM AGAIN ASAP!!! So, if you are going to rent from him MAKE SURE you make no mistakes with any of your paper work, looking back I am still shocked he spoke to us the way he did. I'm actually quite pissed about it.

PROPERTY REVIEW:
The property was decorated very nicely, the grounds were wonderful, house was very clean as was the entire property. Look at the square footage of the house, because the pictures make it look much larger and it is very small. We had 4 adults and one child and it was very cramped. Storing of our luggage and clothing was a huge issue. I wish I had payed more attention to details on listing such as square footage.

The house DOES NOT SLEEP SIX, the couch/sleeper is not sleepable AT ALL. It needs to be replaced. Trust me, every night my boys were arguing (one 21 and one 13) who would have to sleep on a palate and who would sleep on the couch, because the matress in the fold out couch was un usable!

The maid left us a note that they did not have time to finish the sheets for beds and that we would find our clean sheets in the dryer. But we also read in our instructions that we had to wash and dry sheets before we left, which was pretty hard due to the fact we had to leave at 445 am to make it to Miami in time for our flight. Two days into our stay we had to go and buy toilet paper and paper towels.

The resort was wonderful, but NO, I would never rent from him again.

Owners response: We truly value each review from our guests. The guest reviews usually give us an honest look at how we are doing and help us address any areas that we need to improve at our location or in our service. Out of 38 reviews to date of this property and Mike and Lea, only this one has been negative. On the light side, we are happy the guest enjoyed the property and the cleanliness of the Villa. We are also happy the guest appreciated the decor of the Villa. It is unfortunate the guest had issues with their credit card company. We are appalled by the statements the guest made in the review regarding how their credit card issues were handled. The guest disputed charges twice stating they did not recognize the charge even though they had signed a contract agreeing to the dates and amounts of charges that would appear on their statement. We are happy we were able to resolve the problem and the guest was able to use their debit card for the rental instead. It is also unfortunate the guest was unhappy with the sleeping arrangements. We always try to make certain our property meets the needs of each guest before we rent to them. The guest was fully aware that the Villa has two bedrooms. If they needed more space for their group, they should have indicated that in the beginning. It is our goal to please each guest who rents from us. We have fulfilled the same property value, amenities and quality of stay that all of our past guests have experienced over the years, as indicated by our many 5-Star reviews. It is a shame that what started out as an enjoyable vacation in our Villa ends with the negative tone expressed here---one that we hope others reading this will not hold against us. Our review history tells quite another story about how we appreciate and communicate with our guests. Sincerely, Mike and Lea

Helpful votes: 1 / 3

 

Looking forward to a return trip

Review submitted: January 4, 2013   Date of arrival: December 16, 2012

First, I would like to comment about the owners: Mike was very helpful from the very beginning, providing info about the villa and activities in the area. I found him knowledgable about the Florida Keys, (which was nice as we were first time visitors to the Keys)

The villa suited all our needs as a family of 4. Enough space for watching movies, reading on the patio and playing cards without getting into each others way. The spa was a big plus for relaxing after a day of outdoor activities which included party boat fishing on the Marathon Lady, trip to the Dolphin Reseach center, day trip to Key West and activities at Hawks Cay.

The gift basket upon arrival was nice, unfortunately for me, my 2 (big) children, 22 & 23 y/o took care of that in no time!

It was unanimous when I asked if everyone enjoyed the trip to the Villa on Duck Key. (high fives)

We would really like to return to this property sometime.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Wonderful Property

Review submitted: December 26, 2012   Date of arrival: November 30, 2012

I have stayed at Hawks Cay numerous times over the years in other condos on the water, but never one with the back patio and spa. This is a great place to relax and it's nice and private too. The best part about this condo, is the easy access to the dock, which a side gate from the patio leads directly to the path for the docks. This makes it a perfect location and much better than any of the other spa/patio condos. Also, the condo is wonderfully furnished and very clean. Mike was extremely friendly and very nice to deal with. Our security deposit was immediately credited back. I would certainly recommend this unit to anyone and would rent it again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Anniversary Trip... Perfect!

Review submitted: November 5, 2012   Date of arrival: October 2, 2012

We were celebrating 15 years of marriage and wanted a fun get away. Another couple joined us for part of the trip and the villa was the perfect size - it allowed for us to all be together, but have privacy when we wanted it. It's a beautiful villa with everything you need! Very clean, comfortable and cared for w fresh decor that is up to date. The beds are awesome - my husband is picky. It's nice having a washer and dryer available. And the spa was always a fantastic way to end the day! Mike and Lea have done an amazing job!!!

The location is great. The resort marina and restaurants are just steps away, but you can also drive a short distance to Islamorada or Marathon for fabulous restaurants, fishing charters, etc. Don't miss the Green Turtle Inn Restaurant on Islamorada. We did back country flats fishing and took our catch... they cooked it to perfection! The sunset cruise out of Hawks Cay was fun too. We loved running the neighborhood streets every morning on Duck Key beyond the resort... makes you want to move there!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

EXCELLENT PROPERTY WITH ALL REQUIREMENTS

Review submitted: September 16, 2012   Date of arrival: September 5, 2012

Stayed at property for 7 days and was very satisfied.pictures on website are very accurate property has been recently refurbished with attractive decor and latest flat screen TV,s very clean and comfortable.Very good outside area with chairs,recliners and hot tub.Complex was also well maintained and of a high standard.Well positioned in the middle of the Florida Keys and on the door step of the highly recomended Dolphin Research Facility.Communication with property owners very good also.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Vacation!

Review submitted: July 29, 2012   Date of arrival: July 14, 2012

We enjoyed staying at Mike and Lea's condo. It was just as it appears in the photos, beautiful and very clean. Mike was great to work with, very helpful suggesting fun things to do in the area. They also have a notebook in the unit with restaurant recommendations and tips from previous guests. The Turtle Hospital, Dolphin Research Center, a day trip to Key West and Bahai Honda beach are highlights of the trip. Great restaurants nearby: The Stuffed Pig (they serve breakfast until 1pm, only open until 2pm), Bilbos Bar-B-Que, and the Island Fish Company (in Marathon) were all excellent. We enjoyed the spa very much. It was great sitting on the dock, we saw lobsters, beautiful fish, a sting ray, and the local turtle that lives in the canal. Very relaxing for the whole family; the kids (12 and 20) loved the spa and dock most. We highly recommend and would stay here again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Family summer vacation

Review submitted: July 10, 2012   Date of arrival: June 30, 2012

Mike and Lea were great to rent from. The house was adorable. We were very comfortable and had all we needed to make our stay enjoyable. The house was very clean. The beds were big and comfortable. The linens were nice. Mike even helped my husband with internet connectivity so that he could work while we there. A welcome basket was there when we arrived with snacks and information about local things to see and do. We actually spent very little time at the resort as we visited many of the nearby parks and beaches. The spa was nice to return to in the evenings. We definitely reccommend renting from Mike and Lea.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A relaxing getaway

Review submitted: June 3, 2012   Date of arrival: May 25, 2012

Mike and Lea's Villa is highly recommended. We stayed for 1 week celebrating our 25th Wedding Anniversary and this charming place made us feel at home. The Florida Keys is always the place to go!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Felt like Home Away from Home

Review submitted: June 1, 2012   Date of arrival: May 14, 2012

My husband and I walked into the Villa and felt at home right away. It looked exactly as advertised, which was great. The Welcome Basket told us the attention to detail Mike and Lea took to make anyone and everyone feel at home. My husband spent most of the vacation scuba diving with Duck Key Dive Center @ Hawks Cay. I was there to recuperate from a back injury, so I took advantage of the spa in the backyard as well as the Spa at Hawks Cay (their facials are wonderful).. It was nice to come back to the villa after visiting places in Marathon or after our day trip to Key West. The dock and beautiful water view out the back of the villa made it nice for a cup of coffee in the morning and a glass of wine in the evening. The Villa had everything we needed and then some. Mike and Lea were wonderful to work with. We would recommend this villa to anyone as well as return on our next vacation.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Family of 4 from PA

Review submitted: May 15, 2012   Date of arrival: May 8, 2012

Perfect vacation! Traveled from PA for my daughters 16 birthday, 18th wedding anniversary and Mothers Day all in one week. This was our first VRBO property and we couldn't have been more pleased. The house was beautiful and included special extra touches like a little welcome basket with some information packets and goodies. We had the honor of meeting the homeowners during our stay...What extremely nice, welcoming folks! They were very helpful in all aspects of this trip. This property was very clean and well maintained and I would highly recommend this to anyone thinking about staying in the Keys. Can't wait to book it again soon! Thanks Mike and Lea for making our special week even more special!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Property 228217

Review submitted: May 12, 2012   Date of arrival: May 1, 2012

We enjoyed ourselves very much at this 2 bedroom, 21/2 bath condo. Having the half bath on the main level was very helpful. The master bedroom was beautiful and more than adequate; however, the second bedroom did not provide adequate space for clothing as the wicker chest of drawers contained only 4 drawers and one closet held cleaning materials and the other was for the stacked washer/drier. Being 2 adult couples, this was a bit of a problem for one of the couples.
The patio with hot tub was enjoyable and everything was spotless, comfortable, and very appealing. The resort is beautiful with its many pools and we also found a public beach in Marathon called Sombrero Beach right off US1 with palm trees right on the beach if you like a little shade. Spent a full day in Key West and enjoyed our time there as well as many wonderful seafood restaurants in Key West, Marathon and Islamorada.
Thank you, Mike and Lea, for your wonderful hospitality ... the welcome basket was such a nice thought and welcomed us warmly. We would absolutely recommend your condo to anyone.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Enjoyable

Review submitted: April 8, 2012   Date of arrival: March 24, 2012

First time to the keys and absolutely loved the area. This villa was a good choice for the location, and it is centrally located between Marathon and Islamadora.
The amenities were good, enjoyed the resort. Was able to use the fitness center
and it was in dire need of a thorough cleaning. The unit we rented was well equipped
And nicely decorated. Bed was very comfortable! Rooms are small, but sufficient.
The patio/lanai was very enjoyable, especially with the spa. Really enjoyed early morning breakfast out there. Very peaceful.
Would rent it again.
For breakfast.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great time!

Review submitted: March 26, 2012   Date of arrival: March 17, 2012

Lovely home!! Gorgeous views, clean and comfortable. Relaxing, tropical decor with all the comforts of home and none of the work! The spa was a HUGE hit with the kids and this Mama. Only complaint - too short. Should have stayed for another week! Thanks Mike and Lea for a memorable vacation!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Mike (Tennessee)

Review submitted: February 9, 2012   Date of arrival: January 12, 2012

Villa was exactly as described and very clean. Loved the patio in the morning and evening with the spa pool. Area was quiet even on the water when boats were going through. Bedrooms are on second floor, but very,very comfortable. Everything you need in one place. Enjoyed a morning of fishing with Captain Jack at the marina.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Brazil in the keys-

Review submitted: February 8, 2012   Date of arrival: January 5, 2012

Mike, thanks for everything your place is amazing ,
We will be back!!!
Tony

Recommended for: families with young children, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Hawks Cay Rental 259537, Duck Key

Review submitted: February 8, 2012   Date of arrival: January 25, 2012

It was a pleasant surprise to find that the rental property was exactly the way that it was described on the internet. It was very well maintained, equipped and ready for our stay. In fact the little surprise left by Mike and Leah was a great touch and much appreciated. Dealing with Mike was simple, quick and timely to our needs. This property is nicely located for visiting the rest of the Keys and was great to return to in the evenings for a relaxing soak in the hot tub and a quiet glass of wine on the patio. We took a Snuba (combination scuba/snorkel) dive, visited the Dolphin Research Center, John Pennekamp Coral Reef State Park, Historic Key West, and numerous outstanding restaurants. We had a great time and I would recommend this property to anyone.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

wonderful time on Duck Key!

Review submitted: February 3, 2012   Date of arrival: January 7, 2012

We loved Mike and Lea's beautifully decorated condo; they were quite professional and easy to deal with. I loved the patio where we had breakfast every morning, and the relaxing hottub which we used a lot, morning and evening. The sunset pool was gorgeous. We enjoyed afternoons on the beach at Bahia Honda State Park, checking out all the seafood restaurants, and a day trip to Key West. Just driving along the highway is so scenic. We'll definitely be back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Want It All??? You'll Get It Hawk Cay !!

Review submitted: January 20, 2012   Date of arrival: January 15, 2012

Two older couples in search of fun and sun! We found it here. Perfect location on Duck Key for leisurely drive to Key West but removed from all the noise and traffic. We found the home clean and properly equipped, hot tub maintenance fast and efficient, and quiet morning sunrises from the patio overlooking the water. Be aware that both bedrooms are on the second floor.

Be sure to consider the dining recommendations in the "guest register"; they're right in. The "Stuffed Pig" down at about 31st Street in Marathon serves a wonderful breakfast!

Recommended for: age 55+, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great Family Getaway

Review submitted: October 28, 2011   Date of arrival: October 8, 2011

Perfect family vacation rental. The villa is very spacious and inviting. The Tommy Bahama island decor is top notch. We have rented villas through the resort in the past and this villa blew them all away. The location is secluded and quiet, but still close to the main resort. The private splash pool is very relaxing in the evening and also great for cooling off during the day. The island tram has a convenient stop directly in front of the villa that can take you throughout the resort. We have recommend this villa to all our friends in Palm Beach County and plan on staying here again next time we visit Hawks Cay. Enjoy

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Summer Vacation at Hawk's Cay Resort

Review submitted: October 17, 2011   Date of arrival: July 9, 2011

Thank you Mike and Lea for opening up your Villa to our family. We had a wonderful time. The interior of the Villa is beautifully decorated & very clean. The kitchen was well stocked & had everything we needed to cook our meals. The mattress & the pillows in the master bedroom are so comfortable. We slept very well after long days on the water & in the sun! The spa was a favorite with our children & was so nice to have just steps out the back door. We had no problem accessing the main pool or saltwater lagoon. The pool on Sunset was really nice also. As the owners pointed out, it was more secluded than the main pool and easier to get lounge chairs. We also were able to bring snacks and drinks to this pool, something they don't allow in the main pool.

Thank you for a memorable stay. Our children requested we build them a spa just like yours when we returned home. We highly recommend this Villa, Hawk's Cay Resort and the owners Mike and Lea. They were terrific hosts. We will return.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A Great getaway in Duck Key!

Review submitted: August 14, 2011   Date of arrival: July 17, 2011

We enjoyed our stay in Mike and Lea's beautiful Villa! It was beautifully decorated and a perfect size for our family! We enjoyed the boat dock-it was perfect for our boating adventures! We had great weather and there are many activities and beautiful places to explore in the area! Great places to eat also! Mike was very helpful and mailed us information and activities for the surrounding area to maximize our vacation experience! We are looking forward to staying again in the future!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Unforgettable vacation

Review submitted: August 10, 2011   Date of arrival: June 15, 2011

Good morning Mike:  we had the best time.  The whole place is amazing.  You run your business with the best service and quality. The weather was great.  My family will never forget this mini vacation.  Have a blessed summer you and Lea.  Thank you for everything.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Perfect Week

Review submitted: July 9, 2011   Date of arrival: June 21, 2011

We rented both of Mike and Lea's villas for our sons wedding at Hawks Cay. The wedding was perfect and the accommodations could not have been better! We stayed in this villa with our daughter and her boyfriend while my sister and her husband stayed in the other along with another sister and bother who came to the wedding without spouses. The villas were very comfortable and clean. Bob found the couch perfect for napping! I loved the hot tub in the evening. We hosted a bridal party "low country boil" at our villa one night. Between the outside patio area and inside living/dining area, we had enough comfortable seating for all. As the grooms parents, we hosted the rehearsal dinner at Lazy Days in Islamorada which had been recommended to us by Mike when we traveled to Hawks Cay in February to check out the wedding site. All 42 guests were absolutely satisfied with their meals; I do not think that I saw one plate that was not completely empty! The VRBO descriptions of both properties were entirely accurate! We all enjoyed the Dolphin Research Center and Turtle Hospital (both nearby). The trip to Pigeon Key was also delightful and very informative! I know that all of my family intends to return (including our son and new daughter-in-law) to the Keys and hopefully stay at either of these villa again! Thank you so much, Mike and Lea!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Absolutely Wonderful!!

Review submitted: May 30, 2011   Date of arrival: April 26, 2011

Not only did we truly love Mike and Lea's beautiful villa, but the service they provided was exception. We are newbies to the area and Mike gave us some wonderful suggestions as to how we should spend our time. We enjoy fishing so we took an offshore charter. Seas were a little rough but the fish was delicious. There are many restaurants that will cook your catch a few different ways for you to enjoy, we really liked Lazy Days in Marathon. We enjoyed a day trip to Key West. The drive alone was so scenic. No matter what we did during the day, our nights were filled with fishing from the dock, soaking in the hot tub and just relaxing! We actually saw a 6ft nurse shark, 2 manatees and lots of fish. I can honestly say that the only drawback of our stay it was too short! Thank you Mike and Lea, we will be back!!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Visit 4/29 - 5/3/2011

Review submitted: May 11, 2011   Date of arrival: April 29, 2011

Very nice, excellent location, and all necessities readily available in the townhouse. Everything in good working order. The five of us, 4 seniors, greatly enjoyed our time in Hawk's Cay.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful Family Get-away

Review submitted: May 2, 2011   Date of arrival: April 19, 2011

Our recent trip to Duck Key could not have been more enjoyable. Mike and Lea have done a great job creating the perfect tropical paradise for visitors. My wife and 2 kids (age 9 and 7) spent a week in April at their condo and we were very pleased with the stay. The condo itself was very clean, spacious and filled with all the necessities a family would need for a vacation. The patio and Hot Tub were a real treat...offering a private spot for down time in between our day adventures. Hawks Key Resort facilities were accessible...but the Sunset Pool was beautiful and we never had to battle for space or lounge chairs. The location is excellent...offering several beaches, marinas and restaurants within 10-20 minutes. Pretty good considering how the Keys are laid out. Key West (about 1:10 drive) is still a very doable day trip and well worth it. Our highlights: Bahia Honda State Park, Robbies Marina (north about 20 minutes), Dolphin Research Center just up the road (try this facility instead of the one at Duck Key). Thanks for letting my family stay at your wonderful place. We had a great time!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fantastic Spot in the Keys !

Review submitted: April 22, 2011   Date of arrival: April 10, 2011

We are a young family that stayed at this wonderful Condo in Mid April. The condo itself is beautiful and nicely appointed. Mike and Lea are easy going and very accomodating! The hot tub was exactly what the doctor ordered after a long day of play !! We rented a boat from Tropical Boat Rentals in Marathon...they offer tremendous value and their boats are brand new with GPS and Yamaha 150 4 strokes...they were great. We spent 2 days on the ocean, fishing, snorkelling swimming. Beautiful coral reefs only 2 - 3 miles out. Restaurants that I would recommend are: Sparky's in Marathon, but great food. Frankies and Island Co. were good as well. Island Co. does allow smokers in the restaurant however.

Overall this was a wonderful getaway. I would highly recommend the condo and dealing with Mike and Lea was very easy !

We would be happy and hope to return someday!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

absolute paradise!

Review submitted: April 20, 2011   Date of arrival: November 11, 2010

This is a little late in coming and for that I apologize. I absolutely loved out stay. Mike and Lea are amazingly gracious and the place was a dream come true. This is definitely the way to stay in the Keys! Close to everything you could want, perfect size and the hot tub was the best comfort I could want. I am planning on staying again this year, thanks Mike and Lea!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Feb Spring Break

Review submitted: March 24, 2011   Date of arrival: February 19, 2011

Exactly as we expected. For a family of 4, this was the perfect place for us. The patio with hot tub, and the morning sun was fantastic. Everything was clean, everything we needed was included. The beds were wonderful. We visited another property in the "Sancuary", and it actually felt to big, much less cozy. Drive to Islamorada area is 25 minutes, to Marathon is 10. Really can't say enough. Thank you...

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Love the Keys!

Review submitted: March 23, 2011   Date of arrival: March 12, 2011

We were at your condo from 3/13-3/20 and loved every minute of it! We were there to fish, eat and sleep. We spent many quality hours in the spa just talking to our boys ages 16 & 19. It was awesome! We even turned the TV towards the spa and watched some March Madness from it!! Didn't get much use of the pools but we were gone alot. Fished alot from the docks too. Thanks so much for sharing your vacation home with my family!! Des Moines, Iowa

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Hope to book another vacation here in the future

Review submitted: January 13, 2011   Date of arrival: January 2, 2011

We vacationed at this beautiful Hawk's Cay Villa in January 2011. The trip was absolutely wonderful, and the owners of the villa were fantastic to work with. The Villa is exactly as promised in the HomeAway.com listing and is very comfortable. It was nicely decorated. The Hawk's Cay location makes this vacation spot convenient to everywhere you want to visit in the Keys. The owners were kind enough to recommend a local boat rental place during our trip. We rented a boat for 3 days during our stay. The dock was conveniently located and making our way into open waters was both scenic and smooth.

If you haven't been to the Keys, but have always thought about it, I definitely would recommend this rental as the place to stay. Thanks Mike and Lea. We really enjoyed it.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A WONDERFUL vacation rental!!

Review submitted: January 13, 2011   Date of arrival: November 1, 2010

We stayed in this lovely condo in November 2010. I can't say enough how comfortable, clean & lovely this home is. I am picky about where I stay, and this met all of my standards. The furnishings are clean & comfortbale, evrything is updated & in good condition. There is so much room for lots of people, and sitting in the jacuzzi in the mornings was a favorite of my husband. The owners were in town when we were there, and are just the nicest people!! The area is quiet, and being able to use the amenities of Hawks cay is a real bonus. I would absolutely stay here again!! We loved the restaurants in town, and the owners have put menus in the condo of their favorite restaurants nearby. We tested many, and they are right on! Good local places, great food. We liked going into Key West for the day, & the Turtle Hospital in Marathon is really cool! Bahia Honda is our favorite beach & relaxing place to go for the day. If you stay here, make sure you read the guestbook in the kitchen the first day!! People that have stayed here have put some good ideas for activities in there!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful Place!

Review submitted: May 21, 2010   Date of arrival: May 8, 2010

This villa is amazing! Absolutely beautiful, clean, and very spacious. My mother and I visited the Florida Keys to celebrate my 30th birthday and her 60th birthday and this was the perfect place to stay. Great location, close to all of the other keys, easy to take day trips to visit Key West, Key Largo, etc. The villa had everything we could possibly need! It is beautifully decorated and seems as though it is brand new. The 2 bedrooms and 2.5 bathrooms gave us plenty of room. This villa would be the perfect place for a family, friends, or two couples. Plenty of room for everyone! The villa was incredibly quiet which was a welcome change from other places we've stayed in the past. Highly recommended!

We hope to return in the very near future! Mike and Lea, thank you for a wonderful stay!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

GREAT VILLA

Review submitted: May 15, 2010   Date of arrival: May 1, 2010

THE VILLA WAS JUST WHAT WE WERE LOOKING FOR - A QUIET SPOT AWAY FROM ALL THE ACTION AND WE HAD QUITE A BIT OF PRIVACY. THE VILLA WAS VERY NICELY DECORATED AND WAS CLEAN AND WELL MAINTAINED. IT HAD EVERYTHING WE NEEDED TO FIX A COUPLE MEALS BUT WE COULD ALSO EAT AT THE RESORT. WE USED THE RESORT POOLS WITHOUT A PROBLEM. WE WOULD DEFINITELY RECOMMEND TO FAMILY AND FRIENDS.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: January 29, 2010   Date of arrival: January 29, 2010

The condo and its location cannot be beat. The condo is a great place to relax and unwind after a day fishing for sailfish or yellow tail, scuba diving or hanging out at the beaches nearby.

Duck Key is a perfect location. Close enough to all amenities (Marathon is less than 10 minutes by car); but secluded enough to be an unforgettable getaway.

Can't wait to go back!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: August 8, 2009   Date of arrival: August 8, 2009

Hawks Cay is always a great time and we enjoyed the vila as well. We will definately be back soon!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: July 25, 2009   Date of arrival: July 25, 2009

The Villa was so clean and beautifully decorated it was as though we were the first to ever stay there. The location was perfect for us and we had everything we needed in the kitchen so we could cook our own breakfast or lunch. The outdoor spa area was very nice and relaxing. Duck Key is a great location to stay because it is somewhat secluded yet close to recreational and historical areas. Our stay at the Villa was a wonderful get away and we look forward to returning again soon.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: June 30, 2009   Date of arrival: June 30, 2009

Our visit at this property was very comfortable. The furnishings are in good taste and the property is very clean. A great experience!

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review