reviews for: listing #10214 - Bar Harbor, Maine Cottage rental

Featured on Fine Living Channel, Somes Sound Near Bar Harbor
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  Cottage
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $1,150 - $3,450 /wk

sort by:

Guest Comment entered by owner

Loads of character, a view, and a great location.

Review submitted: March 1, 2014   Date of arrival: May 19, 2012

We found this on VRBO and are concluding our weeklong stay tomorrow. We really loved this home. It is not the sleek, brand new vacation home that spring up in vacation destinations (we've stayed in those, too, and they can be fun) - but this home gives you the feel of the history of the place. Built over 100 years ago and furnished in antiques of varying age, this home has a story to tell. The area of Mount Desert where it is located used to be the home of a granite quarry, and remnants of that age can be seen all over the area with chunks and boulders of granite lining drives. There are two houses below and to the sides but this house has an unobstructed view of the sound and access to the water front. It is so close to Acadia National Park that you have choices galore for waterfront hikes, lighthouses to photograph, and scenery to soak in. This house has one bathroom which is downstairs and all three bedrooms are on the second floor - BUT we had three people in the house and it was not a problem. The decor and the little touches the owners have given this home are what make it special. Highly recommended.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Peaceful and Quiet

Review submitted: October 7, 2013   Date of arrival: September 21, 2013

The location is out in the middle of nowhere with a store 2 miles away. Even with houses close by, you still feel like you are the only one on the planet. How perfect can that be? It was a perfect vacation. It was so peaceful and quiet. The deer came by every morning to see us. Looking out on the Sound from the hot tub will forever be in my mind as one of my most enjoyable views of the world. Did I mention how peaceful and quiet it was? We were 2 couples and I thought that juggling the one bathroom would be a problem but it wasn't. We cooked a couple of meals and the kitchen was well stocked with the pots, pans and dishes we needed. The cottage is nicely decorated with a vintage theme. If ever I make it back to Maine, I want to stay here again!

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Heavenly Days Cottage

Review submitted: September 12, 2013   Date of arrival: August 31, 2013

Very nice vintage cottage surrounded by trees. 40's style interior. Single bath on first floor. Large porch with great views of Somes Sound. A few houses nearby, but very quiet and peaceful. Deer passed behind house during the day. Owners were very helpful. A short drive to Echo Lake, Somesville and South West Harbor. A little longer to Bar Harbor, Acadia and Mt. Cadillac. A great vacation area for all ages!

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Best Vacation Ever!

Review submitted: June 21, 2013   Date of arrival: October 20, 2012

Taken from Review posted by this guest on TripAdvisor: "We thoroughly enjoyed our stay on Mt. Desert Island. The Ashmore's house was in a great location, very peaceful, but still very centrally located. Everything we needed at home was there, including internet. At home, we enjoyed the hot tub, the bed was very comfortable and the bedroom had a beautiful view of the sound, we watched some movies, cooked lobsters and enjoyed the scenery. We did alot of hiking and picnicking at acadia and that was amazing! We would definitely recommend this to anyone!"

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Adorable Cottage!

Review submitted: July 5, 2012   Date of arrival: June 23, 2012

This 1895 cottage on waterfront, with the most spectacular views of Somes Sound, was a highlight of our first visit to Mount Desert Island. Decorated with period antiques - it was like stepping back in time yet with all the comforts of modern technology - full working kitchen, gas grill, washer/dryer and great hot tub. Great cottage for all ages (We had 5 in our group - parents, two daughters & grandmother.). We enjoyed the fire pit at nights and watching the fireflies and blanket of stars. Our best spot was the back porch where we sat mornings with our coffee and nights with wine. Memorable to watch lobstermen pull in their lobster traps...and boats float by. Wonderful location - easy access to other areas of the island. It was nice to be on the "quiet side" of the island. Owner great and manager very accessible via phone and email. We plan to return!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Bar Harbour

Review submitted: May 19, 2012   Date of arrival: May 5, 2012

Comfortable,clean and quiet. Helpful owner. Hot tub and fire pit were nice amenities.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Bar Harbour

Review submitted: May 19, 2012   Date of arrival: May 5, 2012

Lovely historic home with many antiques. Comfortable and clean . Very quiet at this time of year. We got to use the fire pit and the hot tub so that was nice.
Would not recommend it for a family with young children as there are many breakables.
Overall - a beautiful setting and a helpful owner.

Owners response: We are so pleased that our guests enjoyed their stay at "Heavenly Days" Cottage, and that they took full advantage of its amenities! Remember, we love familiar faces and offer a discount to our returning guests!

We did want to point out that our cottage is well suited for a variety of guests, including children. Honeymooners, groups of friends, retired couples, and many, many families with children, both young and grown, have enjoyed our cottage over the years. In fact, we have several families with small children that return every year for their family vacations. We consider our cottage to be "kid-friendly" and offer a Pack 'n Play and high chair for added convenience. Although many of the decorations are antiques, they are not high value, are commonly found and easily replaced. We do not feel that there are any more "breakables" than the typical home, and have not had any issues with things being broken. We get feedback all the time about how charming and interesting the antiques are. So, don't worry about the antiques....come and enjoy them, that's what they're there for!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We love, love, love this cottage!

Review submitted: May 4, 2012   Date of arrival: June 12, 2010

Taken from "Heavenly Days" Cottage Guest Book:
"We love, love, love this cottage - what a perfect place! It was just right for our family. We felt like we stepped back in time a bit to when life moved at a slower pace. Thanks so much for sharing your home with us. If we ever get back to Acadia, we hope Heavenly Days is waiting for us.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful location and access to Acadia Nat'l Park

Review submitted: November 29, 2011   Date of arrival: June 11, 2011

Taken from cottage "How Was Your Vacation?" feedback sheet: "We thoroughly enjoyed our trip to Maine and stay at your cottage. Wonderful location and access to Acadia National Park. We found the cottage clean, well-stocked kitchen tools and plenty of towels. Hot tub and fire pit were both well used by all! Lovely to find such a clean rental cottage in a house of this age. Had just about everything we needed, even on a rainy day. Would be happy to recommend this rental cottage and send you some digital pictures. Thank you also for taking the time to email us places to go, etc.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Did We Mention Quiet?

Review submitted: November 28, 2011   Date of arrival: September 3, 2011

"We were very happy with your home. Lots of character. No distractions. Quiet. Good Location. Quiet. Did we mention quiet? We were very pleased!"

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We loved everything about the place

Review submitted: September 19, 2011   Date of arrival: August 27, 2011

Hi David and Becky,

Thanks very much for your note. We had a wonderful time at the cottage and in Acadia. We loved everything about the place -- the view, the deck, the hot tub, the well-equipped kitchen, the furnishings, etc. If we return to Acadia, I'll definitely be in touch with you.

I tried to submit a review, but I'd rather not sign up with a website, so I'll leave it at this. Thanks again and hopefully we'll see you again soon!

Best,

Phyllis

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Away from it All

Review submitted: October 6, 2010   Date of arrival: September 11, 2010

I found this place after an exhaustive internet search looking for someplace special to stay for our 35th wedding anniversary and we were not disappointed.
This is a wonderful cottage located on the back side of Mount Desert Island with a great view of Somes sound, away from the tourist attractions of Bar Harbor but still within a short drive if you want to shop there. The house is loaded with antiques, is warm and cozy, and has almost everything you will need for a great get away.
The cottage is kept spotlessly clean and there is a hot tub on the porch that was great after a long day hiking the mountains. There is also a outdoor gas grill for cooking and a fire pit, with wood provided if you wish to sit around the fire in the evenings.
A DSL internet connection and Dish TV are provided if you have the need to stay in touch with the world. Located in the dinning room are brochures to just about everywhere you would want to go in the area. Also of interest is a log book where you can detail your stay and provide tips to other travelers.
You will be visited daily by the local family of whitetail deer and every evening we saw a red fox returning home with dinner.
You can not go wrong renting this place if you are looking to get away, enjoy some peaceful quiet time and still be in the heart of Acadia.
A very unique experience and highly recommended.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 7

 

One of a Kind Cottage in a quiet secluded location

Review submitted: October 3, 2010   Date of arrival: September 11, 2010

This is just one great place to get away. On the back side of Mount Desert Island away from the tourist crowds.

The house is in a wonderful peaceful setting. Very quiet with lots of local wildlife visiting on a daily basis. The house is kept spotlessly clean with a great view of Somes sound.

Everywhere you look there are antiques and the original wood work is beautiful. Most everything you will need is provided. There are brochures to all local attractions and a log book for you to record your experience if you are so inclined. I personally found the book enlightening. Lots of hints on what to do and where to go from previous guests and even some funny stories.

Even though you are fairly secluded there is Dish TV and a DSL internet connection to stay in touch with the outside world if you are so inclined. We preferred to sit on the porch and just take in the quiet and watch the boats cruising the sound. There is also an outside fire pit with wood provided if you want to get in some time around the fire in the evening.

The hot tub on the porch was a great addition to get in a good soak after the day of activities.

The people managing this property were very friendly and we even met the owner who stopped by to check on the hot tub. He provided us with some great information about the house which is way over 100 years old.

You instantly feel at home and relaxed in this place. If you are looking to stay in a cottage and get away from the hotel experience this is the place for one unique experience.

Highly recommended.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 10, 2010   Date of arrival: August 22, 2009

Everything was great. Best vacation we have ever had. Thanks

Helpful votes: 2 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 10, 2010   Date of arrival: August 1, 2009

We love the house! It brings back many memories for me at my grandma's house. The weather was perfect and we were very happy with so many things to do so close. The blueberries [from the bush on the side of the cottage] everyday was an added bonus.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 10, 2010   Date of arrival: October 17, 2009

This is a beautiful place! Thanks!

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Review submitted: June 13, 2009   Date of arrival: June 13, 2009

This is a wonderful property set in a gorgeous part of Acadia. My husband and I took our ten-month old baby here for a week in May and we had a lovely, quiet time. The house is an endearing beach cottage, filled with antiques. It has a wraparound porch with great views of the sound and a hot-tub. Best of all, it feels remote -- it is nestled in a lovely spot with lovely views, far from all the tacky tourist stuff that has sprouted up near Bar Harbor. The owners are terrific - they were very accomodating and responsive to all our requests (e.g., high-chair, playpen for the baby). They even sent me some items that we absent-mindedly left behind. We are planning to come again.

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

A magical place

Review submitted: May 9, 2009   Date of arrival: September 12, 2008

We found this rental over 10 years ago and have been coming ever since. It is a perfect get away for couples, families, anyone who loves the out-of-doors. Near hiking, biking, swimming and more. It is very convenient to Southwest Harbor village, Bar Harbor, and of course Acadia.

The house is wonderful. Rustic and comfortable, it has a great history and a breathtaking view. The loons, deer, and birds are always showing up to amuse us.

The owners, the Ashmore's, are great folks and are always available.

It is our favorite place to go -- quiet, beautiful, magical -- with plenty of things to do, places to explore, and time for R and R.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 7

 

Amazing Views, Perfect Vacation Rental...

Review submitted: May 8, 2009   Date of arrival: June 14, 2008

We have been coming to Heavenly Days for 3 years now...we actually already booked 2 weeks for next year 2010 because we LOVE this rental property so much! The house is very well equipped, the view is incredible, and the hot tub on the deck is perfect after a long day of hiking. The house is in a fabulous central location...Bar Harbor/Mt Desert Island is full of amazing restaurants, shops, and outdoor activities. This is one of our favorites places in the world....Heavenly Days is our home away from home every June for our annual family vacation....we just can't get enough!!

Recommended for: families with young children

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review