reviews for: listing #102172 - Santa Barbara, California Studio rental

Luxurious Guest Casita with Stunning Mountain Views
  • bedrooms  0
  • pool  no
  • type  Studio
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Upper Westside
  • sleeps  3
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $149 - $215 /nt
    $895 - $1,095 /wk

sort by:

Fantastic Stay!

Review submitted: March 31, 2014   Date of arrival: March 24, 2014

From Mary's reply on our inquiry till our check-out, everything was perfect.
Fresh flowers and fruits made casita more cozy and I felt love in every corner. It was clean, cozy & felt like at home. The location is very convenient & close to everything. The neighborhood is quite enough & the views are great from the window... Thank a lot! Can't wait to rent it again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Superior Accommodation

Review submitted: March 30, 2014   Date of arrival: February 1, 2014

.Once again, we spent the month of February at the Casita. The view of the mountains is fabulous. The Casita is well equipped with everything you could possibly want or need. Offering luxury linens...a well stocked kitchen full of staples, & all the small appliances you would ever need. You can see from the pics how lovely it is inside & out. The Casita is in a quiet, peaceful neighbourhood....a great way to "wind down" at the end of the day. We loved watching different cloud formations pass over the mountains while barbequing our dinners. We chose to do S.Barbara Car Free again this year..The MTD service is exceptional & goes to all the beaches, tourist sites, Monticito, Carpenteria & of course the malls. Plus it's just two blocks to the the bus stop. We are already missing everything & are finalizing plans to come back again for Feb. 2015! Mary & Tom -- You do it right -- Thank you!!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Oh so nice!!

Review submitted: November 18, 2013   Date of arrival: November 10, 2013

Owners~ accommodating and considerate, a lovely sense of elegant yet comfortable style in decor
Location~ quiet, easily accessible to downtown, freeway, beaches, hills; spacious studio
Provisions we used~ hiking and Things to Do books, maps, menus; fully stocked kitchen with staples; outdoor bbq
And those wish we had~ deep soaking tub, garden!
So happy with this great spot, and affordable too ~ thank you, thank you!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

sehr schönes häuschen- realy amazing casita

Review submitted: October 22, 2013   Date of arrival: June 16, 2013

Wir waren zum Schluß unserer Tour durch die Staaten für 5 Nächte in der Casita und absolut begeistert von der schönen Aussicht und der Lage des Häuschens. Mary und Tom waren freundlich, hilfsbereit und dennoch zurückhaltend. Die Fotos entsprechen der Realität. Die Casita ist auf dem Dach der großen Einzel-Garage und damit separat vom Haus mit eigenem Eingang. Es war extrem sauber, ruhig und sehr liebevoll eingerichtet. Wir durften uns Grapefruits aus dem Garten pflücken, die zum Frühstück gut geschmeckt haben.
Man braucht ein Auto, damit ist man fix im Zentrum und am Strand. Absolut empfehlenswert und erholsam.
Mary and Tom, thank you very much for the wonderful days in your beautyful casita.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Tranquility

Review submitted: October 22, 2013   Date of arrival: October 11, 2013

The casita was perfect for a trip to get out the crazy city and unwind. The place is situated in a quiet residence and feels very much like a luxurious hotel room. The decor is very nice and the hardwood floors are a nice touch. It had all of the small touches such as fresh flowers, cream and coffee and great linens. I will definitely be back!

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Santa Barbara Hideaway

Review submitted: September 28, 2013   Date of arrival: September 17, 2013

The Casita was perfect spot to enjoy enchanting views of Santa Barbara hills (day and evening) enjoy grilled food on the deck, and explore around this beautiful city. They have thought of everything the VRBO renter may need, from their custom book of local attractions and restaurants, to coffee beans for that first day or two's morning jolt, to advice on where to shop for food and wine, to fresh flowers on the dining table. The casita is an open layout...kitchen, sleeping area, and entertainment area (tv, stereo with high quality sound, sofas and large coffee table)..on spacious second floor of detached structure next to owner's residence. All fixtures, appliances, etc. are up to date and comfortable. The owners are engaging and welcoming, yet unobtrusive. Highly recommend!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great place to stay in Santa Barbara!

Review submitted: September 16, 2013   Date of arrival: September 9, 2013

Wonderful place, great location, has everything you need and great location to do whatever you need to do in Santa Barbara. Owners are easy to communicate with and very friendly and helpful through the stay. Highly recommend staying here!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great stay

Review submitted: September 11, 2013   Date of arrival: August 20, 2013

My partner and I stayed at the Casita for 2 nights while traveling the coast this summer and could not have been happier.

Mary was there to greet us on arrival and gave us a quick tour and an overview of the area. The room was very clean, modern, nicely furnished and has everything you could want... a full size kitchen filled with all gadgets and utensils, a large clean bathroom with plush towels, a sitting area with a TV, dvd player, movies and books, a sleeping area with a comfortable king bed and a balcony with a new grill and awesome views. There is also a nice garden area and plenty of off street parking. The casita is centrally located and a short drive to downtown and the beaches.

Mary and her husband Tom are super nice and go out of their way to make things comfortable. There were fresh cut flowers in the room. coffee beans on the counter and cream in the refrigerator! Coffee on the balcony in the morning was a great way to start the day.

I would not hesitate to stay here again and recommend it highly.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A wonderful stayover at the casita in Santa Barbar

Review submitted: September 5, 2013   Date of arrival: August 5, 2013

Celebrating my 60th, this was our 3rd stop after La Jolla and Santa Monica. The casita was perfect...immaculate and well prepared.perfectly located with less than a 5 minute drive to downtown Santa Barbara. Mary's correspondence were always timely and professional. our security deposit was returned quickly. If my wife and I am ever in Santa Barbara again the casita is, without a doubt, my choice.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Un bel momento di un lungo viaggio

Review submitted: August 30, 2013   Date of arrival: August 10, 2013

Abbiamo deciso di fare il giro del mondo in cique mesi e Santa Barbara era una delle nostre tappe. Nel viaggio abbiamo affittato parecchi appartamanti, la casita era uno di questi.
L'appartamento, indipendente, ha finastre su tutti i lati e al tramonto offre una splendida vista sulla valle di Santa Barbara, E' completamente attrezzato e arredato con un gusto molto caldo. Non dista molto dai negozi, dalla spiaggia e dal centro.
In fondo alla scala di accesso c'è un sorprendente giardino con ogni tipo di frutta.

Avevamo bisogno di un po' di riposo per riprendere il viaggio e lo abbiamo trovato.



I proprietari sono molto accoglienti ma anche discreti.

Insomma un buon posto dove trascorrere una vacanza.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Amazing!

Review submitted: August 28, 2013   Date of arrival: August 23, 2013

I have stayed in numerous other homes through VRBO and this one definitely tops the list! Mary thought of everything from small bathroom toiletries to coffee and half and half in the fridge. The Casita was clean and welcoming and had everything we needed. Mary was very accommodating and helpful throughout the whole process. Definitely will stay here the next time I am in Santa Barbara.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Very relaxing stay..!

Review submitted: August 8, 2013   Date of arrival: August 1, 2013

We had a lovely stay at the Casita. The place was spacious - separate corners for Dinning, living area, bed, very nice kitchen. Has a nice balcony with lovely view of mountains and trees, little backyard...very tranquil! Especially sipping morning tea in the balcony was relaxing!

Was amazed to see every little detail and need was taken care of. Good stock of movies and we watched some every night,
We had a 4 year old with us and the stay was absolutely comfortable. Casita is just a mile from the State street and very convenient location.

Mary and Tom were very helpful, right from our reservation process until we checked out.

I would definitely recommend this place. We would love to come back again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Very relaxing stay..!

Review submitted: August 8, 2013   Date of arrival: August 1, 2013

We had a lovely stay at the Casita. The place was spacious - separate corners for Dinning, living area, bed, very nice kitchen. Has a nice balcony with lovely view of mountains and trees, little backyard...very tranquil! Especially sipping morning tea in the balcony was relaxing!

Was amazed to see every little detail and need was taken care of. Good stock of movies and we watched some every night,
We had a 4 year old with us and the stay was absolutely comfortable. Casita is just a mile from the State street and very convenient location.

Mary and Tom were very helpful, right from our reservation process until we checked out.

I would definitely recommend this place. We would love to come back again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fantastic weekend getaway!

Review submitted: August 5, 2013   Date of arrival: July 26, 2013

The casita was the perfect place for a weekend getaway! Upon arriving, Mary gave a brief tour of the property - we were so impressed and happy that we choose this place for our vacation stay! The interior is spacious and beautiful, with dark-stained hardwood floors, a full kitchen and bathroom with a big tub. California King bed was very comfortable. The view just outside the balcony offers a spectacular view of the mountains and the city below. It's was so peaceful and quiet too! The owners, Mary and Tom were so accommodating throughout our stay! They offered to let my 2 year old daughter pick some delicious strawberries from their beautiful garden! What's especially nice about the casita is that it's in a central part of the city, which made it so easy for us to take short trips to see some of the main attractions like Sterns Wharf, State Street and the Zoo. We loved the fact that it's so close to a lot of good restaurants, like The Shop, La Super Rica & Tupelo Junction. We definitely plan on staying here again!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Romantic getaway

Review submitted: August 5, 2013   Date of arrival: July 28, 2013

My husband and I went away for two nights to Santa Barbara and stayed at the casita. We had an excellent experience and would definitely stay here again in the future.
The casita is beautiful, spacious, clean and well-equipped. The owners have thought of everything you might need for your stay and were very welcoming. We based our decision on the comments by previous reviewers and were not disappointed!
Highly recommended!

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Nice Stay

Review submitted: July 23, 2013   Date of arrival: July 12, 2013

We had a nice stay and Mary greeted us when we arrived. The Casita was clean and comfortable. We would stay there again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Charming Casita

Review submitted: July 13, 2013   Date of arrival: June 30, 2013

My daughter and I stayed at Mary and Tom's casita for three nights. It was a wonderful and relaxing stay. The casita is very nice -- hardwood floors, full kitchen, large CA king size bed with very comfortable and soft bedding (lots of pillows!). The bathroom area is very nice with a large tub. The TV and sitting area is very comfortable with a large screen television. Also, on the balcony is a new gas grill which we will use the next time we visit. What I loved about the casita was the large french doors which can be left open on the warm days...while you are cooking and having a meal. There is a lovely view of the surrounding area and you can actually see Mission Santa Barbara in the distance. Since the casita sits above their garage (garage is not used to park cars so no noise is heard), it is quite private. All you see is a wonderful view since you are above the surrounding homes.

A quick drive over the hill (5 minutes) is a shopping area which has a Starbucks, Albertsons, Rite Aid and a bagel shop. Also there are one or two restaurants located in the outdoor shopping area. So convenient!! The area where the casita is located is residential so it is very quiet-- we loved that!

Tom and Mary --thank you for having such a wonderful and comfortable place for folks to stay!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfection

Review submitted: May 31, 2013   Date of arrival: May 19, 2013

Everything is perfect. The view, the comfort, the location.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A Santa Barbara Treat

Review submitted: March 29, 2013   Date of arrival: March 12, 2013

Convenient location, comfortable and clean, well-supplied kitchen. Non-frilly (not Laura Ashley). Very private with wonderful views of the Santa Barbara valley and hills. New Spanish style building with owner's workshop underneath (never heard noise from workshop). Quiet neighborhood. Owners on site in separate residence, answering questions if asked but otherwise leave you be. Neighborhood green spaces on adjacent hill that cannot be developed.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

excellent accommodation

Review submitted: March 3, 2013   Date of arrival: January 28, 2013

Wonderful view of the mountains & Santa Barbara! Nice & bright windows on every wall. Top quality linens, comfy bed, lots of pillows & staples in the kitchen. Tom & Mary have covered all the bases. It was great to Bbq in the middle of a Canadian winter! we spent the month of Feb. at the Casita & did Santa Barbara Car Free. Got a monthly bus pass. Only 2 short blocks to the crosstown bus - drivers are courteous, friendly & offered suggestions on what to see, where to eat, etc. Having Ralphs Supermarket across from the transit centre & a laundromat only a few blocks away from the Casita was convenient for us. From the transit centre buses go to all SB tourist sites, malls, etc. Plus, they go to nearby Montecito, Summerland & Carpinteria. To go further we took amtrak buses & trains (The Surfliner goes right along the coast).
A relaxing way to explore & a relaxing Casita to come "home" to every night......It doesn't get any better than that!
Wayne & Betty - Durham, Ontario Canada

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Excellent accommodation

Review submitted: March 3, 2013   Date of arrival: January 28, 2013

Wonderful view of the mountains & Santa Barbara! Nice & bright windows on every wall. Top quality linens, comfy bed, lots of pillows & staples in the kitchen. Tom & Mary have covered all the bases. It was great to Bbq in the middle of a Canadian winter! we spent the month of Feb. at the Casita & did Santa Barbara Car Free. Got a monthly bus pass. Only 2 short blocks to the crosstown bus - drivers are courteous, friendly & offered suggestions on what to see, where to eat, etc. Having Ralphs Supermarket across from the transit centre & a laundromat only a few blocks away from the Casita was convenient for us. From the transit centre buses go to all SB tourist sites, malls, etc. Plus, they go to nearby Montecito, Summerland & Carpinteria. To go further we took amtrak buses & trains (The Surfliner goes right along the coast).
A relaxing way to explore & a relaxing Casita to come "home" to every night......It doesn't get any better than that!
Wayne & Betty - Durham, Ontario Canada

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

No need unmet

Review submitted: February 12, 2013   Date of arrival: January 22, 2013

Hi Mary,
I tried to submit this review vis the HomeAway link, but I don't think it took.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Santa Barbara was an ideal January vacation destination and the Casita was the perfect place to call home during our stay. The Casita is beautifully furnished and decorated and well equipped. Extras such as the thick towels, the handy collection of guidebooks and the bountiful fruit trees to admire in the yard put it over the top. On the Saturday when I took the car for a Market Forays cooking lesson (highly recommended) that included stops at the harbor for fresh fish, the farmer's market for fresh veggies and the cheese store for aged cheese, my husband was able to walk from the Casita to State Street to take in a movie at the Santa Barbara Film Festival. We would highly recommend the Casita to friends and earnestly hope to return ourselves.

All the best.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Exceeded Expectations

Review submitted: February 1, 2013   Date of arrival: January 10, 2013

Hi Mary, We tried to give a review for the Casita but when we hit SUBMIT REVIEW it wouldn't take us further. Below is what we submit. Please post it for us if you are able. Thanks!

Stan and Evelyn


We spent a week in the Casita. It met and exceeded our expectations. It was clean and fresh smelling, plenty of room, nice furnishings, quiet, private and a good location to town, to the beach, to the mountains.

We had a rental car so took advantage of exploring winding roads on both sides of the mountains, Knapp's Castle, painted cave. We also enjoyed the beach, the mission, courthouse, historical museum and other downtown attractions. The monarch butterflies were still in Ellwood.

We had a wonderful time. The weather was chilly, but the blue sky and sunshine was what we were looking for. In the morning we enjoyed the mountain view, watching the sun as it crept onto the hills and into the ravines.In the evening and night we enjoyed the twinkling city lights.

We cooked many meals in the casita and found the Mesa shopping area -Albertsons and Lazy Acres convenient.

Mary and Tom, thank you for helping to make our time special by providing what we needed.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing!!

Review submitted: January 24, 2013   Date of arrival: January 19, 2013

Our stay was absolutely amazing. The casita is beautiful, large and fully stocked with anything a traveler could ever need. Stunning views, easy access and extremely quiet. Our stay couldn't have been a better experience. Hoping we can travel back to Santa Barbara soon and stay here again. If you are traveling to Santa Barbara, staying here is an obvious choice. Highly recommend.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Young Couple

Review submitted: December 31, 2012   Date of arrival: December 21, 2012

Nice place to stay. Plenty of room for two travelers. Has all required kitchen equipment for prepping meals at home. Is about ~1mile walk to central State Street, which gives the occupants the option to either walk or drive into town (or a cheap cab ride). Good pre- and post-trip travel experience with the owners through VRBO. Would stay there again.

Recommended for: sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great place for 2 or 3 to stay in SB

Review submitted: December 15, 2012   Date of arrival: December 10, 2012

My husband and I stayed here two nights and were very happy to have found such a wonderful and affordable place to stay in SB. We will certainly stay there again. We easily walked the mile into town but chose to drive the 2 miles to the beach. The rental itself is very nice, with hardwood floors, beautiful views and a fully functioning kitchen. I highly recommend this as a place to stay.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

My Recent Stay at the Casita

Review submitted: December 12, 2012   Date of arrival: November 13, 2012

I stayed 2 weeks at the Casita while visiting my Daughter, a student at the University. Awesome location. Very close to Town and the Beaches. The Casita was a perfect meeting place for my daughter and other friends. We enjoyed some great dinners. The furnishings are first class and the views from the Casita are great! Lots of privacy. Tom and Mary are perfect hosts and were available to answer questions and were very helpful. Planning another stay next year.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

quiet getaway spot

Review submitted: December 12, 2012   Date of arrival: December 3, 2012

We appreciated the clean, quiet Casita, and Tom/Mary's availability for our techno-challenge questions. It was nice having good lighting, a dishwasher, and a kitchen full of utensils and plates.

We happened to be at the Santa Barbara Art Museum at the right time of day (12 p.m.), and caught two docent-led tours, which added a lot to our visit. And, we enjoyed a nice lunch there after. We would also recommend Ca'Dario, and, of course, lots of walks on the beaches. You will definitely need a car at this location. We'd also recommend a visit to the campus of UCSB, and especially to "the Point," if you like walking.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fantastic Stay at the Casita

Review submitted: October 25, 2012   Date of arrival: September 14, 2012

My bf and I stayed at the Casita and was absolutely happy. This place is a perfect getaway. It's centrally located, close to everything, and the owners were wonderful hosts. The place has everything you need, very well appointed, very comfortable and private. Definitely beats staying in hotels. I would definitely stay here again, and have recommended this place to all my friends.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Lovely!

Review submitted: October 3, 2012   Date of arrival: September 22, 2012

Lovely property, lovely hosts! What more can one ask for?

Recommended for: age 55+, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beautiful Spot

Review submitted: August 17, 2012   Date of arrival: August 7, 2012

we stayed here for 2 nights in the middle of a 2week long vacation. It was definetely a highlight. The casita is beautifully appointed - modern kitchen, comfortable furniture and very clean. Mary even provides some"extras" in case you forgot something. the view was fantastic and having the grill to use was great. Tom and Mary were excellent hosts. They were easy to contact, gracious and yet professional. the neighborhood is quiet. we would love to return and stay for a longer period of time. In the meantime, I would recommend this casita to any couple for a fun and relaxing stay in Santa Barbara!
Mary Ann and Michael Gercke

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Lovely vacation casita

Review submitted: July 31, 2012   Date of arrival: July 26, 2012

We spent three nights in the casita and were very comfortable. It is well appointed and thoughtfully decorated. We especially appreciated how private the casita is, and how peaceful and quiet the neighborhood is, especially at night, yet still only minutes away from the beaches as well as downtown Santa Barbara. The balcony patio with its views of the foothills is perfect for morning coffee or an afternoon barbecue. And Mary and Tom were perfect hosts – friendly, gracious and there when we needed them. All in all, a very sweet place with a lot to offer.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful Casita!

Review submitted: July 31, 2012   Date of arrival: July 17, 2012

This comfortable casita was exactly as described as well as many luxurious personal touches that made our stay perfect! We look forward to staying in this stunning casita in the future and have already recommended it to friends! Tom and Mary handled every aspect of this rental very professionally. Thank you both!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Honeymoon getaway

Review submitted: July 8, 2012   Date of arrival: June 27, 2012

My husband and I throughly enjoyed our stay at the Casita! It was very close to the beach and shopping, as well as some awesome restaurants! The small touches such as beach towels, beach mats and an abundance of clean fluffy towels really the stay feel like a "home away from home".

The honeymoon couple from Western, MA :)

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Another fun stay!

Review submitted: July 7, 2012   Date of arrival: January 15, 2011

Another fun time in a great location for a month. The weather couldn't have been better. Thanks for the great place to stay!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Memorable Stay

Review submitted: July 7, 2012   Date of arrival: June 10, 2012

Thank you for making this such a memorable and relaxing honeymoon for me and my bride! You made us feel so welcome and at home. We had so much fun exploring Santa Barbara. From strolling down State Street, to walking along the beach, taking spectacular hikes, and exploring the Channel Islands...it made for an unforgettable time!

The casita is beautiful and we appreciate your kindness. Thanks again for everything!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Beautiful place

Review submitted: July 7, 2012   Date of arrival: April 15, 2012

What a beautiful place you've built! We love all of the details (reclaimed wood flooring - awesome!) and the comfortable layout. The casita made our honeymoon comfortable, relaxing and romantic. We appreciate all the helpful suggestions and we will definitely be back!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Tranquil

Review submitted: July 7, 2012   Date of arrival: May 25, 2012

This time away was a blessing. Even as we celebrate my husband's retirement, the stress with selling his business was intense. Your casita is tranquil and the little touches are thoughtful. I wish my strawberries were as sweet! We leave you so relaxed. Thank you!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful Stay

Review submitted: July 7, 2012   Date of arrival: March 5, 2010

What a wonderful stay we have had in Santa Barbara and the casita was the next best thing to living here, which (as you know) we have. It as wonderrful to revisit our memories and to reunite with friends.

Everything here was perfect. As others have noted, you have thought of everything that makes this place so welcoming and comfortable.

We are hoping for a return visit and will certainly give high recommendations for the casita.

Thanks for everything!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Awesome place!

Review submitted: July 7, 2012   Date of arrival: April 6, 2009

What an awesome place to relax and totally enjoy ourselves! We had a great stay and hope to come back again and again. Thanks for your restaurant referrals. We enjoyed a yummy breakfast at Boat House sitting out by the beach. What a place to live! Thanks for opening up your casita for us to enjoy.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Fond Memories

Review submitted: July 7, 2012   Date of arrival: February 24, 2009

Santa Barbara presented us with wonderful sunny and warm weather which greatly helped us get rid of our "Oregon Colds"! Thank you for your care, and comfortable casita. We really appreciated the thoughtful food items that we found in the pantry to assist us with the cooking of our meals! We shall take fond memories back from our stay in Santa Barbara and especially our visit to Lotusland.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Breathtaking view from the Casita

Review submitted: March 5, 2012   Date of arrival: February 9, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Casita for 2 weeks visiting family in Santa Barbara. The Casita is located so conveniently to downtown, shopping, beaches, access to Hwy 101, just about everything. The mornings were cold so we turned the heat on and the place warmed up in minutes. It was very helpful to have the numerous books about the area available to read and we found suggestions for hiking, beaches and great restaurants that we tried. I would recommend this Casita to friends and family.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

wedding anniversary

Review submitted: January 29, 2012   Date of arrival: December 9, 2011

Wonderful place --your casita-- to enjoy our anniversary. Beautiful accommodations, restful surroundings and a gorgeous view of Santa Barbara with sunlight and clouds playing against the mountains ... idyllic. Thank you both for a memorable 62nd anniversary stay.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Great place for a getaway...

Review submitted: December 27, 2011   Date of arrival: December 23, 2011

We had a great time at SBCasita! Great set-up, nice location, really comfortable.

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A wonderful hillside nest in Santa Barbara

Review submitted: October 14, 2011   Date of arrival: October 7, 2011

Our flight out from DC to Santa Barbara included two cancelled flights and one horrible night in a loud motel in Denver, but Tom and Mary welcomed us to the casita with humor and sympathy, plus fresh oranges, grapefruit, lemons, limes and cherry tomatoes from their back yard garden. Could not have been more thoughtful. The casita itself is spacious, spotless, and extremely well decorated - plump sofas, a king size bed with about 10 pillows (fantastic sheets), a huge, up-to-date kitchen and bath, flat screen HD television, Direct TV, DVD player. and WiFi. Lots and lots of SB info was packed in a big binder, and restaurant guides, menus, hiking guides and histories, as well as local magazines made it easy for us to figure out what we wanted to do. The casita is minutes from downtown, the harbor and it's beaches, and close to restaurants and supermarkets on the Mesa - a perfect location in a quiet residential neighborhood for exploring SB. Make sure to walk State Street, visit the Old Mission, drive out over San Marcos Pass into wine country (Solvang is a hoot), and take in Montecito and Summerland to see how the other half live. All of it is beautiful.

Helpful votes: 6 / 7

 

Amazing first time home away experience

Review submitted: August 30, 2011   Date of arrival: August 20, 2011

There was so much attention to detail! If you are thinking about staying at this casita do it! Beautiful view, 10 min away from anything and very nice renters.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great stay at the casita!

Review submitted: July 13, 2011   Date of arrival: July 8, 2011

The casita was everything it claimed to be, we really enjoyed our 2 night stay. Beautiful views, well stocked, clean, close to downtown. We visited the Arroyo Burro beach at the recommendation of the owners and it was such a nice beach.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

View

Review submitted: July 11, 2011   Date of arrival: July 5, 2011

The view was great everywhere you turned. It was a great place to stay. The owners were extremely nice and helpful!

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The Views!

Review submitted: July 4, 2011   Date of arrival: October 18, 2010

Thank you for creating this wonderful home away from home. After being on the road for a week, it was wonderful to stay parked for awhile! We loved the views and garden and hummingbirds. Santa Barbara has great famers markets - so many new things to try out. We also loved the beaches, the wharf and the shopping. SB has a lot to offer.
Thanks for your little touches (especially coffee and cream) to make it all better.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Lovely!

Review submitted: July 4, 2011   Date of arrival: June 1, 2011

Thank you so much for providing us with such a lovely place to stay. We really enjoyed our trip here and look forward to coming back again. Maybe we'll be here for our 30th and 40th anniversary like some of your other guests!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great holidays in Santa Barbara

Review submitted: July 4, 2011   Date of arrival: December 26, 2010

We enjoyed our stay in the casita. It was very comfortable and very convenient to all we wanted to do in beautiful Santa Barbara. It worked for 3 - we had no trouble accommodating our family.
Thank you for leaving the flowers and adding a few seasonal touches to the decor.
We hope the casita will be available the next time we visit!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perferct setting

Review submitted: April 23, 2011   Date of arrival: February 21, 2011

Thank you very much, Tom and Mary, for this week in which we could enjoy your "casita". After every day of touring, sightseeing, shopping, walking etc it was a pleasure to come back home and enjoy the quietness and the extended facilities it offers. For us it was the ideal finale after a month of touring through AZ, UT and CA . Wishing you all the best, and who knows somewhere in future..... Un saludo muy cordial!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Absolutely wonderful!!!

Review submitted: March 22, 2011   Date of arrival: March 4, 2011

My friends and I wanted to take a weekend trip away to SB and stayed at here for a weekend.

We had such a nice time!! The property was so close to downtown...and everything else! There is plenty of parking on the street, and the property was easy to find.

The bedroom is more like a huge studio. It was extremely clean, and comfortable. Even the pull out twin was super comfy! The living room was stocked with games, cable tv and dvds. The kitchen had everything you would need (including fresh half and half for your morning coffee!). My friends and I were ready to move in permanently. The bathroom was incredibly clean as well.

Staying here instead of a hotel was the best decision we ever made! We were able to have a fridge, and just relax at the dining table with some cheese and wine at the end of the night. We couldn't have been more happier.

If I'm ever back in SB, I know where I'll be be staying.

Thanks for a wonderful weekend!!!

Recommended for: girls getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Visiting my new grandson in Santa Barbara

Review submitted: January 21, 2011   Date of arrival: January 5, 2011

The Casita is perfect! I visit Santa Barbara frequently to visit my daughter, son-in-law and new grandson and I love staying at the Casita. I thoroughly enjoy the location which is in a quiet neighborhood with plenty of parking, a full kitchen with dining table, patio with a wonderful view of Santa Barbara, sitting area with flat screen TV and comfortable couches, luxurious bathroom with a soaking tub and king bed to relax in. The layout is designed for comfort and relaxation and the interior is filled with high-quality products.
During the last visit, I prepared dinner for my daughter and her family. It was a wonderful evening.
The Casita is very comfortable, convenient, clean and welcoming. The owners are available and friendly. I would recommend this property to friends or relatives.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Exquisite hideaway!

Review submitted: November 27, 2010   Date of arrival: November 23, 2010

What a lovely, well-appointed vacation home. It's a studio, but it's roomy, well-lit and so comfortable. The kitchen is standard--large enough to cook a good meal in, the bathroom features a deep soaking tub, and the bed is one of the most comfortable I have slept in. The Casita is surrounded by windows, providing sweeping views of the Santa Barbara Riviera and filling the home with warming sunlight. That said, the dark curtains make for a cozy spot in which to sleep the morning away. Up over the hill, the Mesa provides a perfect place to grab a coffee and enjoy the view of the ocean and the channel islands. We were here in the fall, so it was a little cold to really enjoy the deck and the beautiful view, but we snuggled on the cozy couch with a glass of wine and one of many warm, comfy throws placed around the Casita and watched a movie.
Once again, what a lovely place. Truly a home away from home... We will definitely be back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

First Class Accomodations

Review submitted: October 25, 2010   Date of arrival: October 23, 2010

My husband and I enjoyed a wonderful weekend stay at Mary & Tom's lovely Casita. We were in Santa Barbara to visit our Son who is a student at UCSB and it was a great place to come home to. Perfectly appointed to the highest standard with everything a traveler could possibly need. The studio was large, clean, comfortable and homey with a beautiful decor. Although we ate out most of the weekend, the kitchen was well equiped. We have been utilizing VRBO for 8+ years - the Casita rates among the best of the best! Highly recommended! Thanks so much! We'll definitely be back.....

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Absolutely Perfect!

Review submitted: October 10, 2010   Date of arrival: September 15, 2010

Our vacation was so relaxing and wonderful because we had the perfect 'casita' to come home to each night. The casita is just right for a couple who want a nice, well-appointed home of their own while on vacation. The property is so charming and nicely decorated, the furnishings are comfortable, the kitchen is complete. It really does look like the photos. Casita is so close to everything in Santa Barbara and has easy access to 101. Tom and Mary are gracious hosts. We hope to return next year and have already recommended it to our friends.

Recommended for: age 55+, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

quiet place with a beautiful view on the mountains

Review submitted: August 1, 2010   Date of arrival: July 28, 2010

deze casita is erg luxueus en rustig gelegen in een prachtige omgeving. Mooi zicht op de bergen en niet zo ver van het centrum van santa barbara. This casita gives a lot of comfort when you return 'home' after a day sightseeing or shopping in santa barbara.
It's a quiet place to stay and relax. Nice owners who live next door and who will help you with lots of information,..but with respect to your privacy.

Recommended for: sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Perfect Casita!!

Review submitted: July 24, 2010   Date of arrival: July 13, 2010

We loved our stay at the casita. The owners couldn't have been nicer and attentive to all our needs. The casita was exactly as the pictures showed. So comfortable, clean, quiet, loved the location. We wanted something different from a hotel room and this was it! Its was nice to feel like a local and learn our way around town. I would recommend this to any of my relatives and friends. The whole process was so easy and hassle free. Hope to visit again soon, just perfect!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

This is a great place!

Review submitted: July 11, 2010   Date of arrival: July 5, 2010

My wife and I stayed for a week and we loved it. At first glance, the Casita seems a little out of the way, but once we went downtown and to the pier, it was only a matter of minutes. The unit is very comfortable, well stocked with everything you need for your stay, and very reasonably priced.

If you need a place to stay in SB, this is the place!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Quaint, Cozy, Homey, Perfect

Review submitted: June 13, 2010   Date of arrival: April 28, 2010

This was such a cozy little place. The view was beautiful from the front porch. It had everything we needed for a comfortable stay. There was a great breeze that came in through the windows. It was perfect for cooking and bbq'ing at home. The location was convenient; close enough to State street but far enough away from the busy streets and crowded areas. The one problem we ran into...... The directions that were emailed to us said to turn right into the driveway. However, when we arrived we were told to park on the street but not reminded that we are not allowed to park on the street on Thursday mornings. We arrived Wednesday, parked on the street overnight and woke up to an expensive $45 parking ticket. It would have helped to remind us. Other than that, it was a wonderful place to stay and we would love to stay at the casita again in the future.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Excellent Accommodation

Review submitted: May 13, 2010   Date of arrival: April 6, 2010

The Casita is attractive and well equipped. The location is peaceful with beautiful views and well placed for exploring Santa Barbara. Tom and Mary are very friendly and helpful. I would highly recommend the accommodation and Santa Barbara and we hope to return one day.

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

Excellent Accommodation

Review submitted: May 13, 2010   Date of arrival: April 6, 2010

The Casita is attractive and very well equipped. The loction is peaceful with beautiful views and well placed for exploring Santa Barbara. The owners are friendly and helpful. I would highly recommend the accommodation and hope to return one day!

Recommended for: age 55+, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Comfortable and an ideal location

Review submitted: March 26, 2010   Date of arrival: March 17, 2010

The photos of this casita tell the truth. We found the accommodations to be exactly what we hoped: a pleasant studio with comfortable and attractive furnishings; a kitchen with absolutely everything we needed to prepare meals on the evenings we didn't go out; a view from the balcony that surprised and pleased us daily. The location is in a quiet, residential neighborhood, but close enough to State Street that we chose to walk into the heart of SB almost every day. The beach, restaurants, EVERYTHING really - all only a few minutes drive away. Given the amazing Santa Barbara weather, we spent most of everyday outdoors, but this casita was a great place to return at the end of the day. We'll be back.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 10 / 10

 

As Advertised

Review submitted: March 8, 2010   Date of arrival: February 27, 2010

Renting this Casita worked out beatifully for our stay in Santa Barbara. Clean, quiet, and with all the amentities a traveler could ask for. We even used the picnic basket on our day trips to San Simeon and Los Angeles. Really a sleeper location as it seems like everywhere we wanted to go in Santa Barbara was a short trip.

We hope to do ths again someday and we would certainly recommend this casita to any couple looking for a Santa Barbara getaway!

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 6, 2010   Date of arrival: March 6, 2010

The Casita worked out beautifully for our wonderful time in the Santa Barbara area. As advertised...clean, quiet, and with all the amenities a traveler could ask for! We even used the picnic basket on our day trip to San Simeon. Really a great location as it seems like everywhere we wanted to go was a short trip. We hope to do this again someday and we would certainly recommend the Casita to others.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Great place to stay.

Review submitted: February 28, 2010   Date of arrival: February 9, 2009

This is one of the best places we've stayed so far in SB. Great quality, lots of details that made our time enjoyable. The location was perfect with a fantastic view of the city.

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Thank you, thank you, thank you!!

Review submitted: February 10, 2010   Date of arrival: December 24, 2008

David and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Casita and will definitely be back again! The room is beautiful, the bed is so comfy and all the little touches and amenities made us feel at home. We loved the privacy and being so close to downtown SB was such a convenience. My personal favorite was the spectacular panoramic view and David, my techie husband, loved having internet access, hdtv and a dvr. Two thumbs up from us!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 12 / 12

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 31, 2010   Date of arrival: January 31, 2010

After five weeks, we are ready to return to the real world. Our stay has been great. Lots of light, privacy and a great location for our daily exploration and fun. Thanks so much!

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: November 27, 2009   Date of arrival: November 27, 2009

What a deliciously fantastic spot for our first holiday together! The views, the weather, the breakfasts on the porch, and the most gracious hosts truly made it one for our own personal history books!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Special Get-away

Review submitted: October 22, 2009   Date of arrival: October 15, 2009

My wife & I enjoyed a wonderful long weekend in this casita. Tom & Mary have a beautifully decorated & well maintained place to relax and enjoy the Santa Barbara area. They were very gracious hosts and made the stay a very enjoyable experience. After a long flight from the east coast, it was great to relax. This is better than a hotel. Hope to return again someday.

Recommended for: sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Hidden Gem

Review submitted: September 30, 2009   Date of arrival: September 25, 2009

We had the most wonderful weekend in Santa Barbara at Tom and Mary's casita. The casita is beautiful and Mary's touches, like the fresh flowers, make staying there feel like home - but better! We've been recommending this casita to all of our friends since we returned from vacation and we will definitely stay at the casita again in the future. Very highly recommended!

Recommended for: sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

fabulous!

Review submitted: September 24, 2009   Date of arrival: September 21, 2009

We had such a great stay at the guest casita in santa barbara and would recommend this to anyone 100%. The location is well appointed, the hosts are so friendly and the property is just beautiful. All the little touches really made a difference, fresh flowers, toiletries you may have forgot, supplies to get you going when you arrive. The property is furnished to a high standard, beautifully decorated, great views of the mountains, and the place feels so homely. We wished we could have stayed longer and if we ever return to santa barbara we will be staying here again. Thanks Tom and Mary.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: September 3, 2009   Date of arrival: September 3, 2009

The Casita was so comfortable, clean, and convenient! As you know, we rented a car for the first few days of our stay but after we returned it, we walked everywhere (The Mission, Historic Courthouse...). When we return to Santa Barbara the Casita will be our first choice. Thanks!!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

A Wonderful Home Away from Home

Review submitted: August 17, 2009   Date of arrival: July 11, 2009

Thank you Tom and Mary for providing such a fantastic place to stay in Santa Barbara. It is nice to know that after all the years that I've escaped to Santa Barbara I've finally found a home that I can truly call my own when I am there.

It was great to be able to take my daily run in your neighborhood, cook delicous meals in your well-equipped kitchen and bbq on the patio grill. I enjoyed it all and will definitely be back!!!

Thank you again!
Nylie

Recommended for: age 55+, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Paradise!

Review submitted: August 11, 2009   Date of arrival: August 6, 2009

The best time ever! Tom & Mary's Casita is the most relaxing, welcoming, comforting place that we have been too! My boyfriend and I were here for 3 nights and we couldn't have asked for anything more. Tom & Mary have thought of everything you would want while staying in their Casita. From the beautiful view from the balcony to the beautiful decor of the Casita. The kitchen has everything you would need, the entertainment center is well stocked with board games, video games, books to read, and they put together a visitor booklet to help you find your way around SB, how to work the tv, appliances etc. The sofas and throws are so comfty, the bed is georgous with nice cotton sheets and pillows that make you feel like a king and queen . The bathroom is so nice. I wanted to take a bubble bath one night but didn't bring bubbles,but to my surprise my boyfriend was reading the handy information booklet that was put together, and Mary thought of everything a women would need. There in the bathroom was bublle bath and bath crystals with a nice comfty bath pillow. It was lovely just what I needed. We felt so comfortbale and welcomed. We didn't even hear a pin drop it was so nice and quite. I felt so special when I saw the lovely fresh flowers what a perfect touch. Again, Tom and Mary you have put together a LOVELY place. I would recommend your Casita 100%. We just loved sitting out on the balcony waching the sunset, talking and lookinig a the beautiful view. On our last night instead of going out on the town we decided to have a bbq and enjoy our night in the Casita, which was our favorite night. Tom and Mary you are so nice, and made us feel so welcomed thank you for that. I will never forget our time at the Casita it was the most beautiful time ever. Cecilia and Sal

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 11, 2009   Date of arrival: August 11, 2009

Now this is the way to relax while traveling. My first night was the first time I was able to get a good night's sleep after a week staying in hotels. The casita is soooooo nice! You have put together a very nice place here. Thank you very much. Your attention to detail in the casita is impressive!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Casita Santa Barbara

Review submitted: August 6, 2009   Date of arrival: May 30, 2009

We were very pleased that the whole experience was much, much better than we could have imagined. The casita was immaculate and very well appointed. Fluffy towels, excellent bedding, fully equipped kitchen. An entertainment centre. Even fresh flowers in our room. Everything was spotless.
There were numerous small appliances and the frig was stocked with a few essentials, such as coffee, cream, jams to get us started.
We sat on the deck with a glass of wine watching the lights come on in Santa Barbara while our steaks grilled on the BBQ. Truly a home away from home.
An information book for guests listed all the points of interest and shopping areas in Santa Barbara.
Tom and Mary are excellent hosts. Only too willing to help, but never intruding on their guests.
I would whole-heartedly recommend Tom and Mary's casita to anyone looking for a home base to see the Santa Barbara area and wine country. A lovely spot to come home to after a day of wine tasting and sightseeing.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 10 / 10

 

Relax in comfort

Review submitted: August 3, 2009   Date of arrival: July 29, 2009

What a great casita in a beautiful location! We just got back to Scottsdale and we are rested and relaxed. Mary and Tom are great hosts and make you feel very much at home. The casita is beautifully decorated and very comfortable. It didn't take long before we felt at home. Plus the view is spectacular. You can sit out on the patio with your glass of wine and see the mountains. It is close to State Street and the beach. We will recommend this casita to all our friends.

Recommended for: girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

A very memorable stay in May 2009

Review submitted: July 14, 2009   Date of arrival: May 11, 2009

Staying at this beautiful casita was a real pleasure.Not only was the casita delightful but the hosts Tom and Mary were so welcoming and friendly.The accommodation was of a high standard and absolutely perfect for my wife(a New Zealander) and myself.The casita is in a very convenient location just a few minutes drive from central Santa Barara.I would thoroughly recommend this property and I know that we will want to stay there again sometime in the not too distant future
Robert

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Review submitted: July 6, 2009   Date of arrival: July 6, 2009

Thank You Tom and Mary, we thoroughly enjoyed your Casita and all the extra little touches added to our wonderful stay. Just to name a few off the top of my head: the SB Fun guide book, condiments in the fridge, coffee, bbq grill, extra linens and towels, shampoo, lotion and q-tips, HBO, etc... too many to list. It was way better than staying at a hotel, we loved the decor, the furniture, the hardwood floors. What a beautiful place, very fitting for beautiful Santa Barbara.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

A Wonderful Escape

Review submitted: June 5, 2009   Date of arrival: May 19, 2009

I needed a few days of disconnecting from everything, going somewhere by the sea where I didn't know anyone, but walking distance from good places to eat and drink. I picked Santa Barbara at random, and can't believe my good fortune in finding the Casita and Mary and Tom. I had a wonderful week. Mary and Tom were wonderful hosts. Striking a perfect balance between hospitality and respecting my privacy. The Casita was charming! It was wonderfully designed, warm and inviting.

I can't thank Tom and Mary enough for their hospitality, and their great sense of interior/exterior design. The Casita was a treat!

Recommended for: girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 16, 2009   Date of arrival: May 16, 2009

We loved staying at your casita -- so many special touches -- fresh flowers, luxury towels and cupboards with supplies to get started -- to mention a few! Santa Barbara is beautiful. I'm sure we will be back. We had a great time!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Super place to stay!

Review submitted: April 18, 2009   Date of arrival: April 6, 2009

We had a wonderful time. This place was just awesome! The flowers, the comfy bed, the fluffy towels, balcony to watch mountain sunsets, BBQ grill. We had the most relaxing time for our 3 day get away without kids. We will visit it again and I have already told many friends about this wonderful place. I can't say enough. Thank you Tom and Mary for offering us a special home away from away. And thanks to Tom for the yummy restaurant suggestions. But we also had fun using their grill and cooking our dinners to enjoy the sunsets!

Recommended for: sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

No More Hotels!

Review submitted: April 6, 2009   Date of arrival: March 29, 2009

We had such a great time! It was just as comfortable as staying at home. I will never stay at a hotel in SB again. The pictures don't do the place any justice, and Mary and Tom were very accomodating. If you're looking for a quiet and peaceful romantic getaway, this is the place. Everything was excellent from the vase of fresh flowers to the wonderfully comfortable bed. The place is also conveniently located. Thank you guys so much for having us. We will be back.

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 5, 2009   Date of arrival: April 5, 2009

Thank you so much for providing a beautiful, secluded home away from home. It was a wonderful weekend and a nice reprieve from our hectic lives. I cannot wait to return someday!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Santa Barbara Perfection

Review submitted: March 27, 2009   Date of arrival: March 15, 2009

This is a wonderful and inviting vacation home. Clean, quiet and nicely decorated with stunning views of the mountains from the porch. The owners are very welcoming and have great recommendations for restaurants and scenic drives. We plan to return as soon as we can!

Recommended for: sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Super casita - good location

Review submitted: February 11, 2009   Date of arrival: January 23, 2009

We enjoyed very much our 10 days stay in this immaculate casita. Very nice and cozy property with all you need plus many extras - including small things that make you feel welcome.
Great view of SB and the mountains. Easy walk downtown. Very kind and service orientated hosts.
We hope to be back!

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: December 31, 2008   Date of arrival: December 31, 2008

You have created a lovely rest place for us travelers. The views are fantastic and your attention to detail and design make your casita feel like a true home. Thanks!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wonderful warm, cozy, clean Casita

Review submitted: December 10, 2008   Date of arrival: December 5, 2008

The Casita was amazing. It was super clean, well decorated and very cozy. The house was beautifully decorated and very nice. They had great cable, movies, video games available, etc.

Mary and Tom the owners were very helpful. Great customer service - although they had everything we needed.

Great location too. Only a couple miles from downtown and the beach. Much better than staying in a stale hotel.

I would stay there again and recommend it to friends...it was recommended to me by a friend. Great place!

Recommended for: sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

excellent casita!

Review submitted: December 2, 2008   Date of arrival: November 27, 2008

My fiance and I had a WONDERFUL Thanksgiving weekend at this casita! I used to live in Santa Barbara and felt like this was my own home....very comfortable, clean, stylish...the list goes on! Tom and Mary are incredible owners...very friendly and welcoming! Can't wait to visit again.

Recommended for: sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Home away from home

Review submitted: November 27, 2008   Date of arrival: November 4, 2008

The beautiful casita was filled with luxurious yet comfortable amenities that made me feel like I was home, even though I was 5000 km away. The delicate attentions complete this warm welcome feeling. The studio is impeccable.

The location is ideal. One can walk to the beach, downtown, the shopping area, as well as the pharmacy or the grocery stores. I would definitely recommend renting the casita for a business stay or simply for a leisure vacation. The sunrise and the sunset on the mountains are breathtaking.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: October 18, 2008   Date of arrival: October 18, 2008

Thanks so much for the very nice casita. The extra touches of fresh coffee, good tea and thick soft towels were much appreciated. You have a beautiful place here. This was a top-notch place to come home to after a busy day of winery tours and sightseeing. Thanks again.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

HIGHLY RECOMMEND!!

Review submitted: August 27, 2008   Date of arrival: August 8, 2008

Beautiful new studio with many amenities, wonderful view/balcony and a short walk to town. If you are looking for a quiet, relaxing place to stay this is it! :-)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review