reviews for: listing #1022 - Turtle Bay, Hawaii Condo rental

Turtle Bay Kuilima Condo Luxury Completely Renovated
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Turtle Bay Kuilima
  • sleeps  7
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $300 - $460 /nt

sort by:

Great family place!

Review submitted: June 3, 2013   Date of arrival: May 29, 2013

We loved our stay here! It is right on the golf course, just a 3- 4 min walk to Turtle Bay resort. On the night we arrived, Thursday, we walked over to the resort and about dusk, they had fire dancers. The kids loved watching the show! They invite you up after to take pictures with them. Not sure if they always have this, but we have been here before and saw it as well. The condo has a screened in balcony that opens up and makes it nice to sit out without all the bugs! The upstairs loft is quite large and accommodated our 3 teenage kids and our 10 yr old. It was great for them to have their own bathroom upstairs, though there is no shower. The hall bathroom was a huge plus. The master bedroom is ok, a bigger bed would be nicer. This codo is complete with everything you need; beach towels, beach chairs and mats, 2 nice beach umbrellas, which was great for the hot days on the sand. There are at least 6 complete sets of snorkle gear. Boogie boards and sand toys are also provided. My kids loved playing tennis with the equipment provided. The washer and dryer are great to have, but very small. They have a really cool movie system that you can choose over 300 movies to watch without putting in a DVD or video, and it is free. This was great for the teenagers at night that wanted to stay up later than us. The master has a large flat screen tv. the kitchen has been remodled and is very nice. There are 2 blowdryers, bath towels, beach towels, linens, shampoo, soap, loation, laundry detergent, and most everything you will need provided there for you! However, we were glad we packed some Ziplock baggies of all sizes since there is no handiwrap or foil. Even though there is no dishwasher, we just washed our dishes after breakfast and dinner. Ask the locals where good places to eat are. We found some great little out of the way places and were so glad we stopped. Some to try are: Tita's grill; Giovanni's shrimp truck (shrimp scampi and garlic rice). Both are just up the street in Kuhuku; Ted's bakery for their chocolate macadamia nut pie and sandwiches, right across from Sunset Beach; The Little Grass Skirt- in Haleiwa. Get the fresh fish platter, either Ono or Mahi Mahi; Kua 'Aina, also in Haleiwa.
Had a great stay here at Turtle Bay and would do it again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Choice for the North Shore

Review submitted: September 25, 2012   Date of arrival: September 12, 2012

We decided to stay a few days before our cruise on the North Shore since we had previously stayed on Waikiki Beach, and we wanted to spend one day at the Polynesian Cultural Center which is close by(don't miss the evening show). Anyway, a condo is the way to go, and this one was very well equipped and convenient. The only things missing are a couple of pots with matching lids and maybe a few more decorative touches(and we certainly made do). A two minute walk takes you to the beautiful Turtle Bay Resort beach and restaurants, and you are close enough to sightsee at various attractions and beaches along the coast. The condo had the major components that make it special: a comfortable king size bed, flat screen TV's in living room and bedroom, a gas grill, and washer/dryer, among others. Since we were going on a cruise with tons of food/restaurants, we enjoyed cooking in for the few days, and the condo has nice upscale dishes/silverware. All in all, I would highly recommend this unit. The complex is very well maintained with beautiful landscaping, and it has its own pool and tennis courts.

Recommended for: age 55+, people with disabilities, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great Stay @ Kuilima Estates 47

Review submitted: July 3, 2012   Date of arrival: June 27, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Kuilima Estates 47. We loved the full upgraded kitchen and grill. The size was perfect for the 3 of us. The furniture was very comfortable, I slept like a baby on our king sized bed. Would definitely recommend this location to anyone that wants to stay away from the traffic of downtown Honolulu. The owners were very prompt with any questions I had via email and directions and infomation of the condo were easy to understand. And you also can't beat being able to use the resort Turtle Bay cove to go swim.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Relaxing and spacious

Review submitted: June 25, 2012   Date of arrival: June 16, 2012

WE had a great stay at this condo. It was the perfect size for our family and the amenities were great. This condo is in a great location... quiet and peaceful, but close to the beaches and pool. The neighbors were great - true Aloha spirit. We hope to be back soon!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Overnighter Last Minute Accommodation

Review submitted: June 14, 2012   Date of arrival: June 2, 2012

Rented the Ocean Villas at Turtle Bay. Photos of the Villa actually matched. Very beautiful, clean and well maintained. Steps away from the pool and beach. Highly recommended. We usually rent the town homes coming into Turtle Bay but the Ocean Villas is where it's at.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Overall Awesome

Review submitted: March 6, 2012   Date of arrival: February 24, 2012

The condo was phenomenal. It was very clean web we arrived. Very spacious and the decor was up to date. I loved the decor. The spiral staircase was cool too. We loved our stay at the condo, very comfortable. We all didn't want to leave.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

quiet and friendly

Review submitted: February 20, 2012   Date of arrival: November 28, 2011

The condo at Turtle Bay was a wonderful spot to relax in, most of our kids were teenagers and to my surprise they didn’t complain at all. They loved the fact that we stayed out in a quiet friendly area, they didn’t mind driving into town everyday which wasn’t really long, 40 minutes on avg to get almost anywhere going either directions from the condo. We spent our first week in Waikiki..which was nice but ridiculous for the cost for parking everyday at our resort and just way too many touristers, its definitely cheaper to vacation in Vegas than Waikiki. The condo’s location was perfect to Kualoa Ranch, Macadamian nut and tropical farms, the shrimp trucks, waimea and north shore beaches, dole pineapple plantation, the Polynesian cultural center and our new favorite ice cream shop Angels in the local food land plaza. Not much

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

kids loved the beach

Review submitted: February 20, 2012   Date of arrival: April 3, 2011

We enjoyed our stay with the grand kids and their parents. We stayed upstairs and had a lot of privacy. We all enjoyed the heated pool and the beach. We are from Honolulu and would stay there again for a mini vacation. There were lots of towels and supplies. Kids enjoyed the beach toys. Had a great dessert at Lei Leis which is a few minutes walk from the condo.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing vacation, home away from home

Review submitted: April 30, 2011   Date of arrival: April 8, 2011

You enter your second floor condo and you walk into your home away from home. The master bedroom had a very comfortable king bed (I am very picky) with a huge closet and a lovely bathroom around the corner. The upstairs housed a full and twin bed and my girls loved having their own retreat. The upstairs bath has the large shower (no bathtub--there is one on the first floor). They gave us 8 bath towels and 4 washcloths so I didn't even have to do laundry every day. They also gave us 5 beach towels, snorkel equipment, boogie board (we left a second one), beach toys, beach bag, beach mats, everything you could need for an amazing vacation. The pool is right across the parking lot and is very charming with a saltwater pool that is warmed (unlike many hotels). The bbqs are at the pool if you want to grill. The kitchen had everything I needed and worked wonderfully. My biggest suggestion for the owners would be to include some plastic containers (there are fruit stands nearby and will enjoy this immensly if you had somewhere to put the leftovers). We saved money by eating a lot of meals in. The owner also needs to get some better knives. Turtle Bay Hotel didn't harass us but we didn't try to use their pool. We didn't like their beach but the whole island is a beach and there are many others to visit that you will enjoy much more (go to Waimea bay and check out their botanical walk which leads you to a waterfall you can swim in--protected by lifeguards but very relaxing). I highly recommend getting shaved iced in the nearby town of Haleiwa. There are also shrimp trucks nearby ($12 for 12 shrimp+rice+salad). We decided to try them all and decide which we thougth was best (Fumi's spicy garlic was amazing). We did so much on our 10 day vacation and North Shore is the only way to do Ohau. We took our children horse/pony back riding at Turtle Bay Resorts and they were very, very nice. We also had a dolphin experience at the Mandarin Hotel in Kahala. We hiked the volcano, had an amazing day snorkeling at Hanauma Bay (DO NOT MISS THIS). I thought Ted's bakery was okay. Get dessert or keep it simple and get the basic glazed donut...more complicated things (like my eclair) were just too much). Also, try to find the Halona blowhole. It is so amazing to see Mother Earth at her best and North Shore and this blowhole will relax anyone. You will be sure to have an amazing experience if you visit North Shore and stay at this condo.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review