reviews for: listing #102211 - Kailua, Hawaii Studio rental

Tropical beach Hale
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  no
  • type  Studio
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Kalama
  • sleeps  3
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $160 - $180 /nt
    $1,120 - $1,260 /wk
    $4,700 - $5,200 /mth

sort by:

Good value, great location

Review submitted: February 18, 2014   Date of arrival: January 17, 2014

The partitions in this circular-design studio unit with a tall ceiling made it feel more like a spacious one bedroom apartment. The bed was comfortable, the kitchen well equipped, and there were plenty of windows and fans for staying cool. The kitchen had a full-size stove/oven, refrigerator, microwave and dishwasher rather than the scaled down versions found in many studio setups. Everything was clean and well-kept.

The owners are a delightful couple and are there when needed, but allow you complete privacy. The unit abuts the sometimes busy Kalaheo Road, but a screening fence and lovely plantings provide good separation. Beautiful Kailua beach is a short walk away. A nice selection of beach gear and two bicycles are exclusively available to the unit. The location affords easy access to grocery, pharmacy and other shopping needs.

Of the four places we have rented in Kailua over the past few years, this is our favorite. We highly recommend staying here, and will definitely be back ourselves.

Owners response: Aloha Wonderful guests. We were so happy to have hosted you in the cottage.
Thank you for choosing our property and we are looking forward to seeing you again in the future.
Mahalo,
Lisa & Brett Fillmore

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Cute place, great location!

Review submitted: December 2, 2013   Date of arrival: November 4, 2013

We had a great time staying here while visiting Oahu! This is in a great location - just a 5 minute drive from Kailua town, where you can easily stock up on groceries at Whole Foods or do some shopping, and a 5-minute walk from gorgeous Kailua beach. We spent a couple of days lounging on the beach and there was barely anyone there! It was wonderful to be only a 45-minute drive at most from most of the attractions we wanted to see (Pearl Harbor, Valley of the Temples, Dole Pineapple Plantation, etc) and yet not have to fight traffic into Honolulu or Waikiki. The location alone is worth it!

Our stay was quiet and our hosts completely unobtrusive. The wifi was great to have and we took advantage of having access to the grill, boogie boards, and beach chairs. I definitely recommend staying here!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Aloha Jennifer, thank you for choosing our property. We are happy you had a great time and we hope you stay with us again. Have a wonderful Holidays!
Mahalo,
Lisa & Brett Fillmore

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Excellent experience, awesome vacation in Kailua

Review submitted: August 6, 2013   Date of arrival: July 12, 2013

The positive reviews for this property are what prompted us to stay there, and it lived up to its reputation. The owners provide a number of great amenities (most of which are discussed in other reviews), not the least of which is reasonably fast wireless internet and a blu-ray player with a flat screen TV. There is a full size kitchen which made traveling there as a family with a toddler very easy. The bed is comfy and the A/C works efficiently. There is a private back yard with a gas bbq and a shaded table and chairs, among well manicured landscaping and trees. There is a very nice beach across the street with soft sand and light surf (at least in July), which also provides incredible sunrises. A short distance away is Lanikai beach, which turned out to be our favorite. Kailua is our favorite Hawaiian town because it has everything we love about Hawaii but also the creature comforts of the mainland (familiar shopping, reasonable prices). Kailua is not a town to "rough-it" in, it is far too quaint and comfortable. The neighborhood this rental is in was safe and relatively quiet (only the occasional car-stereo on the road nearby, but not a problem at all inside the house). The owners of this rental and the neighbors we met were warm and inviting and made our trip feel very special. One day I was outside unloading the car and one of the guys down the street rode up to me on his bicycle and gave me a freshly picked mango right off his tree. Best mango we EVER had. This is the type of place that will make you want to move to Hawaii permanently. I highly recommend this rental and I would absolutely consider it for our next trip.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

This cottage is cozy & charming!

Review submitted: May 31, 2013   Date of arrival: May 17, 2013

Top notch accomodations! It is clean, charming and very well stocked with everything you could possibly want. Snorkel gear, boogie boards, beach chairs, cooler....even two bicycles and a kayak are there for guests to use -- simply wonderful touches. Your own little oasis outside complete with a gas BBQ and patio set. The beach proximity is outstanding and what a great beach it is. LOVED our stay here.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Family Vacation

Review submitted: May 19, 2013   Date of arrival: May 6, 2013

We had such a great time staying at this tropical cottage. Loved the privacy and it was a perfect size for our family. Lisa and Brett were very gracious and it felt like we were at home. The beach access to the home was so close, across the street. It was like having our own private beach. We will be definitely staying here again. Kailua is so beautiful, will never stay in crowded Waikiki. Thank you so much Lisa & Brett! Mahalo!!!!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

A Great Value and a Great Location

Review submitted: April 22, 2013   Date of arrival: April 14, 2013

I had the opportunity to stay in Kailua for the week and was very impressed with the rental. The pictures and description are very accurate and the owners were attentive without being obtrustive. The unit was clean and everything from the kitchen appliances to the laundry worked without fault. The beach was a short walk and the town's restaurants and grocery store was an short, easy drive. The proximity to the main road resulted in some traffic noise that may be an issue for light sleepers, but most wouldn't have a problem getting to sleep each night. Overall, its location near the beach and layout of the unit itself were a great value for the nightly rate - next time I visit, I plan to stay there again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Fabulous!! Will stay again!

Review submitted: April 22, 2013   Date of arrival: March 5, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a week. We are frequent visitors of Oahu. On our previous trips we did the usual Waikiki hotel stays. This trip we decided to do something different---it was worth every moment. In fact, we don't think we will ever go back to hotel/resort stays again. The property is in a perfect location. Every morning my husband and I would wake up before sunrise and begin walk down the beach to greet the sun as it rose over the ocean. The property is literally steps away from the almost deserted but beautiful soft sanded beach. It was pure heaven. The property has everything you need. It is super clean and quiet. We loved our stay and will definately book this property in the future!!! True vacation!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great Hosts, Great Location and Comfortable Setting

Review submitted: April 19, 2013   Date of arrival: April 9, 2013

Just returned from Hawaii. We stayed here for 4 nights. I used to live in Hawaii and was taking my husband and 9 year old son to Oahu for the first time. I wanted them to see the Kailua side, the wonderful beaches there and the more laid back bedroom community. The locations is great, just cross the street and it's a short walk down the public access to Kalama Beach. Awesome beach and great for Boogy Boarding, which they provide along with beach chairs and other gear one might want. Very short drive to picturesque Lanikai beach where there was some good snorkeling on the point. The rental has a private entrance and private garden area with BBQ, table and chairs. The place is very comfortable. We ended up cooking most all of our meals there and anything else we needed or asked about, we just inquired and Brett or Lisa immediately responded. They were very helpful and generous, even giving me a bottle of vinegar when I reacted to some baby jellyfish stings that I got from the West Waianae Coast. There is some morning car noise, however you honestly get used to it quick, just be aware for the first morning, head for the beach and you will forget all about it. :-) Could use a litte better lighting, especially over the dining table, but Brett and Lisa are very open and receptive to feedback, so I bet that will be upgraded in the future. Wonderful stay! Mahalo Brett and Lisa!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect Hawaii vacation

Review submitted: April 9, 2013   Date of arrival: March 19, 2013

I stayed here with my girlfriend for a for 4 nights and we had an incredible time. The only problem was being too relaxed by the time we got home. We absolutely enjoyed the beaches, hikes, swimming, and food. We cooked fresh fish using the BBQ in the backyard with the sounds of near by chickens every night. There are plenty of options for swimming, hiking, bike riding, snorkeling, or just laying on the beach and soaking up the sun near by. Mostly importantly, Lisa and her husband were very helpful with any questions we had. We also had plans fall through one night before our scheduled stay and they let us stay a night earlier. They are very accommodating and helpful, which is not always the case. We felt welcomed and taken care of the entire trip. I would certainly recommend staying here for couples.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Mahalo, Ryan. We're glad you enjoyed your time here. On a bird note, the chickens are now contained and happily laying eggs far from the rental. During a future stay they will be inaudible! Thanks for taking time to submit the nice review.

Lisa and Brett

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Cute cottage, Good location and Great Host

Review submitted: February 15, 2013   Date of arrival: December 27, 2012

We stayed at this cottage the last week of 2012. We are well traveled and stayed at different place around the world. Here are our thoughts.

Pros
-Clean and well maintained cottage; the decor goes well with the island spirit just like in the pictures
-Owners were very welcoming (left us a fruit basket), friendly and helpful
-Beach gear (snorkeling equipment, folding chairs, boogie-boards, extra towels)
-Crib and high chair for our daughter was great
-Proximity to beach about 5 minutes walk
-Proximity to town, maybe 15 minutes walk
-Working grill + small blender perfect for making pina coladas
-In-unit laundry
-Reliable wifi internet

Cons
-Street noise can be bothersome (although did not bother us too much)
-Chicken in the backyard - although very cute could be something that one needs to get used to - especially since they do not clean up after themselves - so don't forget flipflops when stepping on that grass
-Parking spot could is a little small -- the Mazda 3 we rented was about us big of a car (lengthwise) that you can park there

Overall
There were 2 of us adults + our little 20 month old daughter, and we found the place the right size. The cottage is subdivided into several areas that allow for comfortable accommodations. The location is away from the big city and has a real exotic island feel. We would definitely recommend this place, especially considering the reasonable rates.

Owners response: Thank you for staying with us. We enjoyed your stay.
We no longer have the chickens. It did seemed like
Your little one had a lot of fun chasing them so we left them out for her. If asked we can easily accommodate parking a larger vehicle in the driveway.
We hope to see you again.
Mahalo,
Fillmores

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Kailua

Review submitted: November 30, 2012   Date of arrival: November 12, 2012

Clean and neat property. It is in a very good location near Kailua but it is a farther walk to the beach than we anticipated. The street in front is noisy during the day but quiet at night. The yard chickens are adorable. We enjoyed the Kailua area very much.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing

Owners response: Aloha, thank you for staying with us and we hope you choose our property again in the future.
Sorry we no longer have the chickens.
Cheers,
Brett & Lisa

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Comfortable and Great Location, perfect for two

Review submitted: November 16, 2012   Date of arrival: October 30, 2012

We had a great week on Oahu using this cute villa as our home base. One block from Kailua beach, clean and comfortable with lots of room for two people. Airconditioned and nicely appointed. Comfortable bed and furnishings. Nice touch to have beach chairs and boogie boards as well as snorkle gear at our disposal. Our only suggestion would be brighter lighting and more consistent wi-fi (it went away after first day but we had our own backup). The owners were very nice but never intrusive. We would certainly stay here again and hope to return to paradise soon!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Mark, thanks for being so accommodating of US as we had such a hectic week. Certainly not the normal week here! We've also resolved the wi-fi issue with a new router. Please look us up again---we'll be glad to take 5% off the nightly fee. We're glad you enjoyed our cottage! Aloha from Brett and Lisa.

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

What you see, is what you get

Review submitted: November 4, 2012   Date of arrival: September 21, 2012

Start by saying what you see, is what you get. The ad was dead on, pictures are all just what the rental is. Private, cute, clean, great location to explore the island, easy access to a great beach. Well equipped, lots of extras. Owners great, little contact, let us enjoy ourselves, only time we would even know they were home was to hear someone jump in the pool. Road noise is a little bit of an issue, and the sprinkler scared the crap out of me the first time it started. Would go back in a heartbeat.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing

Owners response: Thank you Rodney! We will add a note about our watering system so we don't startle future guests, and I'll think about changing the start time and the series of operation. We are pleased you found our place to be as advertised. Aloha.

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Tolle Tage in Kailua, wonderful days in Kailua

Review submitted: November 4, 2012   Date of arrival: October 22, 2012

Wir verbrachten 7 wunderschöne Tage im Beach Cottage von Lisa und Brett in Kailua. Das Cottage entsprach in Allem mehr als unseren Erwartungen:. sehr sauber, gemütlich eingerichtet und gleichzeitig sehr geräumig mit einer schönen großen Küche, wir haben uns sehr wohl gefühlt. Der wunderbare Strand ist mit nur wenigen Schritten über die Straße hinweg erreichbar. Wir werden das Cottage an unsere Freunde und Bekannte weiter empfehlen oder selbst wieder kommen.
Danke nochmal an Brett und Lissa, Astrid und Kalli

Owners response: Kalli und Astrid danken Ihnen. Wir sind erfreut, dass Sie Ihren Aufenthalt an unserem Haus in Kailua genossen. * Brett and Lisa *

Helpful votes: 0 / 3

 

Charming

Review submitted: November 1, 2012   Date of arrival: October 15, 2012

This is a charming place that feels very private from the owner's property. It is about 300 steps along a beach access path to the beach, and Lisa and Brett had left us chairs, snorkles, towels, and even a sand pail to enjoy our time along the beautiful beach.
The cottage is delightful with a private yard, fenced and gated entry and plenty of fans to keep the breezes blowing. It is also air conditioned, should you need it. The kitchen is equipped well, with dishwasher and a nice working and serving area.
There is off street parking and any questions we had were quickly answered, although we were never bothered by the landlords during our stay.
The round structure of the place was wonderful and we would definately recommend this property to others. We don't think we would ever stay in Waikiki again, after staying in Kailua.

Recommended for: age 55+, romantic getaway

Owners response: Marcia and Tom, we appreciate the praise for our rental. Thank you also for helping me tidy the few palm fronds that fell within your yard area. We do our best to make sure our attached unit doesn't feel "attached", so that feedback is important to us. We hope to see you again! Aloha/Brett and Lisa

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Clean, Safe, and Close to a great beach

Review submitted: October 19, 2012   Date of arrival: August 29, 2012

We had a wonderful extended stay at the cottage. The accommodations were very clean and tidy. I stayed with my mother and toddler, and there was plenty of room for us to toddle around. The yard is beautiful, shaded, and mostly private with lawn furniture and a gas grill. We fully enjoyed having a variety of snorkel gear, beach towels, beach chairs, and a short walk to the beach. Although the cottage is attached to the main house, it felt detached with no noises heard through the walls. Thank you for the great stay!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Met every expectation!

Review submitted: June 27, 2012   Date of arrival: June 10, 2012

GREAT -- this property is a short walk to the ocean! The cottage, the garden area, the kitchen, everything was fantastic, and this is one of the best buys we have ever enjoyed. We'd much rather stay here again than put up with Waikiki noise and congestion. The bed was very comfortable, and the A/C worked nicely though hardly needed with the breeze. We'll stay here again.

Helpful votes: 7 / 8

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review