reviews for: listing #102220 - Virginia Beach, Virginia Condo rental

Penthouse in Sandbridge Beach
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Sandbridge Dunes
  • sleeps  10
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $200 - $415 /nt
    $925 - $2,900 /wk

sort by:

A wonderful week in Sandbridge.

Review submitted: August 18, 2014   Date of arrival: August 9, 2014

Our family felt immediately at home in this condo. Everything was exactly as Cheryl described it and more. It is spacious, comfortable, and very clean. The kitchen was well stocked and the beach shed had everything you could possibly need. The beach cart was especially helpful to get to and from the beach with the three children under 5 that were with us. The kids really enjoyed the bunk beds! Having a washer/dryer in the unit was also very convenient. The pool was just an elevator ride away and the beach was just across the street. It is very family friendly. This was our first time using this site and Cheryl made the process very easy. There was a welcome book filled with helpful information about attractions in the area as well as information about the condo. Everything was clearly explained. I would not hesitate to recommend this condo. We hope to return to Sandbridge in the future and would definitely stay here again.

Recommended for: families with young children

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Room for big families to be together an spread out

Review submitted: May 16, 2014   Date of arrival: May 1, 2014

This is our second stay at this condo. We travelled to the area with grandparents, parents(us), and 4 (teen/20s) boys, plus a couple others, 11 total. The condo is big enough to enjoy being together with room to all spread out. The boys enjoyed the upstairs and all their travel gear was up there as well, leaving downstairs uncluttered. Master suite is amazing. Love the sunsets off the balcony(great for grandma - claustrophic closet smoker: ). Kitchen had everything we needed plus pantry space for our groceries for the week. Lots of shopping nearby (5 miles) for anything you need. Condo is very secure with passcodes for covered parking, elevators, etc. Cheryl is great, available if you need anything, which we didn't. We enjoyed the storage closet downstairs for fishing rods, etc. and it was stocked with beach buggy, toys, blanket, chairs, umbrella, etc. MY FAVORITE THING ABOUT this area is all the stuff to do: LOVED Back Bay NWR! We hiked forever on a beach without a single person or house. You won't find that kind of land dedicated to nature many other beaches. Wished we had bicycles or kayaks but you can rent them nearby. The guys enjoyed fishing. Everyone loved the Victory Rover Harbor Tour. Aquarium was fun. And where else can you get incredible / fun historical destinations within an hour; Williamsburg, Jamestown, and Yorktown. You can never do it all so we keep going back. Twyla

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Even in December the beach is the best place to be

Review submitted: January 11, 2014   Date of arrival: December 29, 2013

We were really impressed. Very nice and clean and felt like home right away. The owner provided clear instructions and a made us feel welcome to contact them at any time for anything. Our two families combined have 7 kids, age ranging from 9-16. They had lots of fun playing pool, foosball, and of course video games. Even though it was cold outside, we all still enjoyed walking, playing and collecting shells on the beach and also walking and checking out the wild life at Back Bay. We hope to come back soon!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Very Accomodating and Comfortable

Review submitted: October 19, 2013   Date of arrival: October 6, 2013

Our visit was in Oct 2013. It was a rough week weather wise- not a good beach week but we still found plenty to do. The condo was more than comfortable- very spacious and "homey". Had everything we needed and then some. The game room kept us busy a couple of nights. The local restaurants and market were a plus as well. Would recommend this property to anyone looking for a place to get-away and relax.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Dream Vacation Come True!

Review submitted: September 22, 2013   Date of arrival: September 15, 2013

This condo met and exceeded ALL of our expectations. It was absolutely gorgeous and very clean. The owner contacted us the first day to make sure we had everything we needed. I have a 1 year old and it was great to not have to lug all of the baby extras, everything was there (high chair, pack n play, toys and movies). I was also impressed by the stocked shed for the beach. Once again everything we could think of was available including a big wagon to take things easily to the beach. We had a great experience with friendly guests and residents also staying in the condos. We can not wait to come back!!!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Lovely!

Review submitted: September 8, 2013   Date of arrival: August 10, 2013

We had a lovely vacation week with our family group of 10. The condo was well stocked and was very comfortable. It was airy and I enjoyed the decor.

One thing that stood out to me is how comfortable the bed in the master bedroom was. I still miss it!

Cheryl was very pleasant and our deposit was returned very quickly. I hope to be back to very soon!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Best Place in Virgina Beach!!!

Review submitted: August 15, 2013   Date of arrival: July 27, 2013

This was the PERFECT place to stay in the Virginia Beach area. Sandbridge is a quiet community with everything you need in walking distance, no need to even leave the island, yet 5 miles away you will find every shopping, restaurant, and activity you need. Short drive to the heart of Virginia Beach. The accommodations at this condo exceeded our needs. Clean, roomy, well stocked, linens included, owner's were the easiest and friendliest to deal with. Community pool and nice little gym if you need a change from walking the beach. As previous reviews state, better than the pictures and kitchen is modern and well stocked. Great communication with owners throughout the whole process and even a text to make sure our vacation stay was going well. I have rented through home away before and Cheryl was by far the best owner I have experienced.

I wouldn't hesitate to rent this property and hope to return for a repeat visit in the future.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great Place, Great Time

Review submitted: July 27, 2013   Date of arrival: July 6, 2013

We went to Sandbridge the week after the 4th of July. Despite the Holiday, neither the beach nor the streets were overly crowded; we had plenty of room to be and enjoy. This condo was roomy, clean and had great stuff in it. The furniture was comfortable; we especially liked sitting on the balcony and reading or playing games (and watching the sun set over the trees). We had 4 adults and 4 kids. When we needed "adult time" the kids were able to go upstairs and watch a movie or play with toys/games. This was great, there were a ton of kids toys and videos already there and they loved this. They also liked playing with the pool and foosball tables. The kitchen was also very nice; they should put a picture in the catalog above, because it is a selling point. The kitchen was large and had plenty of plates, utensils, etc. The bedrooms were comfy and large, and the master bath is bigger than our bedroom at home (ok maybe not, but it is big). We had two parking spots reserved for us. There was also a shed/closet that was stocked with enough beach stuff for all of us (beach chairs, umbrella, buckets & shovels, blanket, kites, and a couple boogie boards). It was about a 3 minute walk to the beach (would have been quicker, but we had a 2 year old along). If you don't want to hit the beach, the pool is great for kids and is very clean. I really only have good things to say about the place and the trip. If I was going back to VB, I'd definitely try to get this place again. Also, Cheryl Zell was great to deal with, and we had our deposit back within a week of leaving.

This property is about a 20-25 minute drive from downtown Virginia Beach, but other than one busy intersection, it is a pretty easy drive. The Virginia Beach area is great, but too busy/crowded for us to want to stay in a hotel downtown. Sandbridge was much quieter and low key. When we wanted more excitement, we took the drive to the Boardwalk, or to the Naval Base, or to the Aquarium/Motor World. By the way, our favorite place on the Boardwalk was Flipper McCoy's; it is an 80's style arcade that actually has 25 cent games (good like finding those elsewhere). And if you aren't watching your waistline, get some ice cream at Kohr Bros.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Our NEW Vacation Destination!!!

Review submitted: July 3, 2013   Date of arrival: June 8, 2013

We cannot say enough about this beautiful vacation property. My sister and I and our children (ages 2 - 16) were all very satisfied with the gorgeous layout of this home. Everything we needed was at our disposal. Even the maintenance man on the property was So nice and accommodating. I have told all of my friends and family about this location and the wonderful owners. So many things to do close by and Virginia Beach was just a short ride away. We highly recommend this location to anyone looking for a peaceful and affordable vacation. We are ready to book again for next year! Thank you for a wonderful vacation and fresh start to a New Life...Continued success for your location and the upcoming season.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect beach vacation!

Review submitted: June 25, 2013   Date of arrival: June 15, 2013

such a beautiful house! pictures definitely don't do it justice size wise. this house is beyond roomy enough for 11 people. I have nothing but good things to say! between the gorgeous finished kitched with everything you need right there, to the perfect location in sandbridge! everything we needed was a walk away. definitely the perfect beach get away. I will be coming back next summer!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great vacation condo

Review submitted: April 9, 2013   Date of arrival: April 5, 2013

I really loved this condo. I rented this condo for Spring Break for my nieces and nephews since it was 7 of us in all. This condo had enough space for everyone to enjoy there own space which a major plus for me. We all had an excellent time and Sandbridge is a great location and vacation spot.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great vacation condo

Review submitted: April 9, 2013   Date of arrival: April 5, 2013

I really loved this condo. I rented this condo for Spring Break for my nieces and nephews since it was 7 of us in all. This condo had enough space for everyone to enjoy there own space which a major plus for me. We all had an excellent time and Sandbridge is a great location and vacation spot.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fantastic Girls' Weekend!

Review submitted: April 1, 2013   Date of arrival: February 1, 2013

This condo made for the perfect weekend getaway! Beautifully kept, so spacious (much bigger than I anticipated), terrific location. Pictures don't do it justice...truly a gem of a rental. Owner is amazing!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great girl's weekend getaway

Review submitted: March 19, 2013   Date of arrival: March 15, 2013

This was a great condo for 6 longtime friends looking for a weekend getaway. The condo was in like new condition and very spacious. Highly recommend this to anyone looking for rest and relaxation!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Far Succeeded My Expectations!

Review submitted: March 17, 2013   Date of arrival: February 8, 2013

I rented this condo when I came home from Afganistan to spend time and catch up with my family and freinds. I thought the pictures were nice, but I did have some doubts, especially about the kitchen since there are no pictures of the kitchen online. But the condo was everything my family needed and more! As we walked in, instantly smiles came on our faces from the beautiful condo and its breathtaking views. The kitchen was perfect for us to prepare meals. The master bedroom was huge! And everything inside the condo looks newly renovated or brand new. Flat screen tvs, the foolsball table and pool table were both in excellent condition. We ate, we played games, and enjoy stories and laughter for my entire stay. The Zell family were great host. I recomend renting from them 100%. I give this place a 50, on a scale from 1-10. It far succeeded my expectations. Sincerly, Johnnie S.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Away From The Hustle and Bustle

Review submitted: February 25, 2013   Date of arrival: February 21, 2013

This property was perfect for our family of 7 (2 adults and 5 children, most teenagers). It was spacious yet cozy and room for everyone to spread out and not be under each others feet. The children spent most of their time in the gameroom upstairs, playing pool, foosball, reading, playing cards and games, and just "hanging out". There were plenty of movies and games to keep them occupied. The location was directly across from the beach and it was very quiet. There was nothing I looked for that I couldn't find. Having a washer and dryer in the condo was terrific, and all the cleaning supplies I could possibly need were there. The kitchen was fully stocked with everything you could possibly need. Having PLENTY of towels and linens provided was really nice as well.

While we were there they were putting new siding on the building and we had a problem with them tripping the breakers. The property owners were VERY quick, helpful and NICE about getting this taken care of! We had the opportunity to meet the maintenance personnel and the contracted electrician, both of which were polite, professional and quick to make our vacation comfortable and trouble free.

While we were there the weather was overcast, cold and rainy but we found plenty of things to do. This property is about 5-10 minutes away from anything and everything you could possibly need or want. All of your shopping centers and restaurants are right up the street. It is the perfect place for a Virginia Beach vacation without the hassle and crowds of Virginia Beach. We will definitely be back, hopefully soon!!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Wonderful vacation!!

Review submitted: February 24, 2013   Date of arrival: February 1, 2013

WOW! What a fabulous place to get away! All of the comforts and amenities of home, with the bonus of being on vacation! We absolutely loved our time in this Sandbridge Condo! A beautiful updated kitchen, tile and hard wood floors, open living room, balcony view of sunset, and lots of bedrooms for all to spread out!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Excellent rental experience

Review submitted: February 11, 2013   Date of arrival: February 8, 2013

If you're looking for a wonderful place to getaway, at a great location, then you've found the right place! I had the opportunity to enjoy Sandbridge and the rental was nothing short of jaw dropping. Hardwood floors, granite countertops, pool table, appliances, huge master bedroom that opens to ample balcony space and a great view, secure parking, affordable. This place had it all! Wanna get away? You've found the right place!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great weekend getaway for a group of ladies!

Review submitted: December 3, 2012   Date of arrival: November 30, 2012

We had a great weekend getaway. Convenient to shopping. Beautiful condo and plenty of room. Great location and well appointed with any and everything we could possibly need. We will make this an annual girls weekend!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

We Want To Live Here!

Review submitted: November 26, 2012   Date of arrival: November 24, 2012

A couple of my favorite things about this property not already mentioned in earlier reviews is that the condo is big enough to accomodate a big group, but there is plenty of room to spread out and not be together all the time. We loved the high ceilings, the huge master suite with garden tub, and sunsets from the beautifully furnished balcony. While we expected the beach, we were overwhelmed to see how much there is to do nearby, especially the hiking and nature in the Back Bay Refuge area. This area feels very safe and family friendly. We are already talking about coming back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Awesome - Kid friendly!

Review submitted: October 27, 2012   Date of arrival: October 18, 2012

I just wanted to say Thanks!!! This place is awesome, we were really impressed and pictures on the website do not do it justice. Kids thought we were staying at a hotel and when they got here and saw everything, they said this place was so much "awesomer" than a hotel! Lol. We are already talking about maybe doing a week stay in the future! Thanks for all the amenities and kid stuff to keep them busy! Great decor too! (and special thanks to the blow dryer :) I forgot mine and so did my momma). Again, thanks soooooo much for the great memories! :)

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Penthouse Sandbridge

Review submitted: September 16, 2012   Date of arrival: September 8, 2012

This place was fantastic! Clean and beautiful accomodations, beautiful pool, easy access to the beach. Cheryl provided great customer service. We WILL BE BACK!
Rich & Betty

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fantastic Condo!

Review submitted: September 12, 2012   Date of arrival: August 25, 2012

The pictures do not show how FABULOUS this condo is! Entering the condo, you are in awe of the high ceilings and beautiful decor. Each room is perfectly decorated and so comfortable.The master bedroom and bath is huge!The extra "penthouse" room complete with a pool table and foosball table was such a bonus! We had so much fun reliving our "high school" years! The kitchen is gorgeous and well equipped. We loved sitting out on the deck on the comfortable furniture looking at Back Bay. The sunsets from this view are awesome. The owners were so accommodating and I liked that the building is secure. You can walk to the beach, restaurants, or the grocery store in a few minutes. AWESOME choice for your vacation!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Home Away From Home

Review submitted: September 2, 2012   Date of arrival: August 4, 2012

Our first trip to Sandbridge Beach was memborable! Our accommodations were perfect for our family of 9, which included 3 children (6, 1 1/2 and 1). This condo was absolutely beautiful! It was spacious, yet warm and inviting. The Owner makes you feel right at home the moment you walk thru the door. It was clean and decorated very nicely. Plus, the owner added her personal touches for our arrival and checked in on us when we arrived. There was plenty of room for the children to play, an "Awesome" pool made perfectly for little ones, a little convienient store across the street, little shops in walking distance and the location to the beach was close. I can't say enough good things about this condo, the owner or the area. If you are looking for a place to relax and enjoy your family.... this is the Condo for you. We had such a good time and hope to return in the future!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Photos don't do justice!

Review submitted: July 14, 2012   Date of arrival: June 30, 2012

Our first visit to Sandbridge was wonderful due to our wonderful accommodations! We felt instantly at home, and the owners attention to detail and flair for hospitality was top notch. Our group of 9 included 7 teenagers, and they really appreciated the loft, close location to the beach and spacious living areas. The condo was spotless and everything from towels to cookware were top of the line. The owner was attentive and checked in to be sure everything met our expectations. We hope to return and would highly recommend the Penthouse.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 11 / 11

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review