reviews for: listing #102250 - St George Island, Florida House rental

Aargh House
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $800 - $1,390 /wk
    $1,870 - $1,870 /mth

sort by:

LHamm

Review submitted: April 2, 2014   Date of arrival: March 22, 2014

Very clean & spacious. Close to everything.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Relaxing week for active family

Review submitted: March 26, 2014   Date of arrival: March 15, 2014

Great spring break week with my wife, college daughter and her 2 friends and 2 high school sons. 100 yd walk from beach but had great view of beach from our elevated master bedroom deck. Rode bikes, body surfed, "SUPped", visited light house, maritime museum, Estuary Reserve, and had great meals in and out. Host owners VERY hospitable and accomodating. Would recommend this house and SGI if you want to be active and off the beaten path.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A little known gem

Review submitted: March 4, 2014   Date of arrival: January 18, 2014

Wow, just spent 6 weeks in this lovely home. We have rented several vacation homes & this is on top of the list. Very clean, lots of wonderful daylight, very well furnished & a great kitchen. SGI is peaceful & the people are so friendly. Don't miss the Estuary Research facility at the bridge on the mainland. Great food at Harry A's & Blue Parrot on the island. The Sea Oats Gallery has great gifts. Loved the place & hope to return.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The Comforts of Home

Review submitted: January 19, 2014   Date of arrival: January 4, 2014

I'll start by giving some context for this review. My husband and I came to SGI to celebrate his recent retirement. We stayed two weeks, so we definitely wanted to find a place that would welcome our two well-behaved goldens. Having never been to this part of Florida before we weren't quite sure what to expect, but were up for anadventure of discovery. How perfect that we found Aargh House ---a pirate-inspired name that is indeed a treasure.
At this point, I'll list some of the outstanding features of this rental experience. 1) Staying here FEELS like you are guests in a friend's home. It is well-equipped with lovely dishes, great linens, books, movies, music, games and puzzles. 2) The home's space feels expansive and airy. 3) It really is quite private due to fabulous vegetation. 4) The "short-cut" to the beach is fun as the first 100 steps or so make you feel like an explorer. Fun! 5) Our goldens swam in the ocean every day and it was so easy to rinse them clean of salt and sand with the outdoor hose and then either let them finish drying in the small fenced area or play ball with them in the large yard until they dried. 6) The book of menus and brochures from the local businesses as well as tips from the owners was very helpful. 7) You can see and hear the ocean from the master bedroom. 8) The skylights under the king-sized bed allowed us to wake up and see the wispy-white clouds passing over the bluest sky AND because we were here during a full moon, we slept under the moonlight. Romantic!
In summary, we couldn't have been more delighted with both our great accommodations and our discoveries made on this beautiful island. We are grateful to the owners for having opened their home to us and and our goldens (they both rate the place 4 paws which is the equivalent of 5 stars). May all who rent this home treat it with great care so we all may continue to enjoy it!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Great location, convenient, private, quiet, exceptional property.

Review submitted: October 29, 2013   Date of arrival: October 19, 2013

Beautiful house, well maintained, well stocked kitchen easy to cook in. Nicely and comfortably furnished. Owner very responsive to questions prior to trip. Very quiet and private location, close to beach. Nice outdoor decks and shower. Would definitely recommend property. Spacious main living area with lots of natural light. Have stayed in many different rental properties on island over the years and this is my favorite. Listing description is accurate, although property is really more lovely than can be described.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Awesome Place

Review submitted: September 3, 2013   Date of arrival: August 30, 2013

My family just back back from St. George and we absolutely had a wonderful vacation. The house was exactly as described. The living area was large and spacious. Everything was up to date and my teenagers loved having wi-fi and TV's in their room. The master suite was beautiful. Everything was decorated nicely. We will definitely be coming back. The owners were extremely nice and so easy to work with. Being able to have a great contact really makes for a great vacation. Thanks so much!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful Vacation

Review submitted: July 31, 2013   Date of arrival: July 21, 2013

We just returned from our vacation at St. George. The house was very pleasant. The living area is large and provides a nice area to relax in a spacious setting. We enjoyed having a grill, as we grilled fresh seafood many nights.

The house is centrally located, so you can walk to stores and restaurants, and is only a short walk to the beach.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great, Roomy, Comfortable house

Review submitted: June 17, 2013   Date of arrival: June 8, 2013

Our stay at the Aargh House was very comfortable,and relaxing. The lay out of the house is so spacious, and unique as well. The pictures due the house justice, it is exactly as it looks. Allot of nice conveniences to have, such as the wonderful outdoor shower. A hose for washing off beach assesscories, covered car port area that fit two cars. Very convenient access to the stores, a straight shot down West Pine and we were at everything. We had a few small things that weren't expected, but worked with them or around them. We didn't have a blender upon arrival, but after a couple of phone calls to the owners, we had one by Monday afternoon. There isn't any water pressure in kitchen or bathrooms. However, the outside shower is absolutely wonderful for showering, lots of water pressure and lots of hot water. This is where we eventually took any showers needed. The description of the house ammenities stated that it had a king size bed and 2 Queen size beds, actually, it's one queen size bed and then a couch/futon pull out day bed in other room. This house is great for a family with teenagers, or girls getaway. Very secluded and quiet and away from the "traffic" of beach life when you are ready to call it a day and relax inside.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: We're betting the previous guests took their margaritas to the beach and left the blender carafe there! As for the water pressure, the house's normal pressure is quite good. St. George Island and the area in general have a lot of sediment in its water supply and although we have a whole-house filter, the faucets and shower heads still clog over time. We strive to keep the house in tip-top shape for our guests and have stepped up our filter maintenance schedule.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

GREAT HOUSE!!!

Review submitted: June 5, 2013   Date of arrival: May 18, 2013

Wonderful, clean house. Close to town, very well-maintained. We will definitely be back! Loved it!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Exceptionally comfortable house

Review submitted: January 14, 2013   Date of arrival: December 28, 2012

The living area and kitchen were far more comfortable than any other house we've ever stayed at on the island. The location was ideal and the record collection was an unexpected pleasant surprise. We'll almost certainly be back.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Pam and Pat

Review submitted: November 7, 2012   Date of arrival: October 28, 2012

The property description was right on target and it was very clean and homey. Loved the atmospehere and it was perfect for our dog. I highly recommend for those wanting a great relaxing getaway with great restaurants nearby.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great home for pets

Review submitted: August 14, 2012   Date of arrival: August 5, 2012

The house was very nice and we loved being able to take our pets. The yard needed attention - couldn't get to the front door for the overgrowth. Also, bring toilet tissue - we had to go out the first night to get some - only partial roll provided in each bathroom. The kitchen was great and well equipped. St. George is a wonderful place. Thank you for making this home available. We would definetly love to stay again next year.

Recommended for: pet-friendly

Owners response: Sorry about the toilet paper. We talked to our house cleaner about it. There should always be extra rolls out. Also, after your alarming report, we visited the house to see what was going on with the yard. You were right also about the overgrown front yard. In his defense, our caretaker had a bad fall. He was in the hospital for 3 weeks and was not able to supervise. But we now have someone specifically handling the lawn care when we are not there. We also plan to do some major new planting and landscaping during our stay in October. We do appreciate the input and are glad you generally liked the house. We rely on our guests for feedback so that we can fix these problems.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Wonderful Vacation!!!

Review submitted: July 16, 2012   Date of arrival: July 8, 2012

My husband and my daugher and I just had a week long stay at Aargh House. It was wonderful, the house was great, so clean, and everything we needed was there. My husband is a chef and loved the huge kitchen. This house is great for pets as well, we brought both of our dogs and they loved it as well. Great people to work with. Will defintely be back again next year. Thanks for sharing your house with us!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Great House and Get Away

Review submitted: June 10, 2012   Date of arrival: June 2, 2012

This is a great house. We loved the layout, very open and clean. The kitchen was well equipped, which we greatly appreciated. The beach was only a short walk away. We loved the privacy, trees and shade. The dogs also enjoyed being able to come with us and go for their frequent walks. We'll definitely keep this on our list for a return visit. Thanks for everything.Nancy, Lilburn, GA

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

sgi lover

Review submitted: May 29, 2012   Date of arrival: May 20, 2012

This house is amazing! It's location is great-not far from beach and not far from bay side! Perfect for walking your dog. Everything you need for cooking is also furnished! We would definitely reccomend this house to our friends. You can't go wrong in renting this house!!

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Very nice!

Review submitted: April 8, 2012   Date of arrival: March 18, 2012

Your house was very nice,we enjoyed our stay. Beach was a bit windy but still warm enough to swim. Having the dog pen outside was nice for the times that we didn’t want to take them with us. The kids had forgotten how many stars you can see at night without city lights to interfere. Thanks for the opportunity!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review