reviews for: listing #102293 - Topsail Island, North Carolina House rental

Phat Asset
  • bedrooms  8
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  5
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  25
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $285 - $570 /nt
    $1,995 - $4,295 /wk

sort by:

9/2013 could not have been better

Review submitted: March 5, 2014   Date of arrival: September 16, 2013

Just wanted tell you and others how much we enjoyed our stay the week of September 16th.
First off, part of the trip was for me to catch up on the book I'm writing/researching. (Willie Nelson Discography.) I'll send you a copy when it comes out. Should be this year. With three levels of the home, at times I would write on the first floor and would not hear a thing from the others. I cannot tell you how much that helped.

The third floor balcony is to die for. Looking at the beach right across the street is memorizing. I could have stayed on the third floor and never left and would have enjoyed my stay. Kitchen living room combo was so convenient for us being able to cook, watch TV and keep an eye on the others. The elevator is so convenient. Two loads of people and luggage and we were done. That alone saved us 20 minutes of walking up and down the stairs. (Not a problem for me, but you know kids these days. ha ha) Home was neat and clean. You have a pool table in the garage, really? A perfect ending to the nights to settle who pays for lunch the next day. (It was not me.)

Where the house is located not only makes it easy to access the beach, but it's only minutes from main street Surf City and Topsail Island by car or bike depending on the direction you take. The beach entrance is about a three minute walk and WOW when you get there. Although the house is on the main road, with the sidewalk it's no problem. That's island life I guess. Do you want to look at the beach across the street or do you want a big back yard and drive to the beach? I'd rather walk. Some of us caught a few waves. We found the best spot to be in front of Buddy's Crab House and Oyster Bar a two minute drive. I never thought I'd get back on a bicycle, but you have them there for us to enjoy, so we did. We biked to the Missiles and More Museum in Topsail. (4.25 miles away) Small but quite educational.

That all being said, we are making plans to return this year.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

So fun!

Review submitted: March 5, 2014   Date of arrival: March 5, 2014

Beautiful home, immaculate condition. It was the cleanest most comfortable vacation home we have ever stayed in. We will be back every summer. Thank you!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Attractive Shabby Chic Rental. Mom's with young kids beware.

Review submitted: August 23, 2013   Date of arrival: July 28, 2013

I always hesitate to give anything other than a 5 star review, but particularly in this case because it seems mine will be the only one. Personally, I rely on reviews in my rental property decisions, so I hope I can return the favor. The house was as described and the pictures were accurate. The house was clean and well maintained. The owner was helpful and quick to reply with issues and questions. We chose this house for the number of bedrooms and proximity to the beach. I also liked that the linens were included. However, I had to make all of the beds when I got there. Sigh. Then there was a surprise note on the fridge that asked us to strip the beds and wash the towels/linens before we left, as well as wash and return all dishes. I know all rentals are different, but I rent a lot and I was unhappy making beds and washing linens for my big family while on vacation.

The house is pretty, and I like the decorations. It is very clean. I would call it shabby chic, though. Not quite luxury. It is tight on living space. There is limited area in the living room to sit, and the bedrooms are small. It rained a lot when we were there, so we were all crammed into the upstairs living room area for much of the week. The pictures of the two chairs and sofa are it. On the days when there was sun, it was ridiculously hot on the top floor. We followed all of the directions, kept doors closed, AC no lower than 73, but it was very uncomfortable on most evenings. There is also one small side by side refrigerator/freezer for the entire house. We could only shop a few days at a time. Sigh. The bottom floor bedrooms aren't suitable for adults (no TV, lots of bunks, no storage for clothes). The one lower room with a TV, can only be accessed through the dark garage. That was frightening for my 5 year old. The kids were isolated down there. The house sits on the main road and I was disappointed with the traffic and congestion. The brush that surrounds the house is so thick it was hard to see the oncoming cars. It was difficult to pull out and the cars drove fast. The house sits on a small lot and there was nowhere for the kids to throw the ball. It was too close to the road for them to be out there at all. Even though the house sits on the road across from the beach, you still have to walk 100 yards on the busy road to get to the beach access.
My son spilled my coffee trying to help mom clean up= no return deposit. This vaca was a lot of work.

Recommended for: people with disabilities

Owners response: Imagine my surprise to see this review after I read the lovely note left at the house.

So much of this seems situational and tied to awful weather? I know it can be very frustrating being indoors with a large group for so long.

I do not charge a security deposit. Please check the quote. I paid for the cleaning of the coffee on the new carpet.

The new 22 cf fridge is one of two. There is also an undercounter fridge in the kitchen. Perhaps overlooked. No one has ever complained re the capacity of the fridge.

The top floor is 1500 sf. There are two new sofas (NOT in the pic) that hold 9 and two chairs for a total of 11 and the open concept floor plan allows for dining room chairs to be utilized. We have held company xmas parties with 50 people upstairs, comfortably.

The average size of the bedrooms is 15x20 - large by most standards. The bedrooms on the 1st floor are 14 x 24 and 15 x 28 w/ dresser, walk in closet, valet, underbed storage boxes, flat screen, Wii, baby monitors. The bedrooms are accessed through the hallway and are joined by a bath. No need to enter through the garage. Light switches are found at each doorway, including at the garage door.

I love the privacy the undeveloped lot next door adds. No neighbors! Because of the sidewalk we are actually set quite far back from the road - 50ft. But like most rental beach homes, parking is prime and becomes most of the front yard. My kids throw balls in the back.

Access is a 2 min walk on the sidewalk and the speed limit is 35. During prime season the island has tourists.

Linens provided free. A savings of over $600/wk - we ask that towels are started as they take the longest to dry. I would like to think that everyone would wash their dishes. I know I do. Looking at several local rental agency contracts, we ask very little of our renters...dishes, towels if, strip beds, trash to the curb...clean any large messes, wipe up. And, our no security deposit policy is nearly unheard of. (Changing now, sadly)

I noticed Sunday, while cleaning, there was an issue with the HVAC on the top floor. I left a note apologizing to you and saying that the repairman would be in the following day. A capacitor was replaced and the unit is working fine. I was monitoring it wirelessly during your week and found no issues with it for the remainder of the week and nothing since.

I wish you had taken the time to call/email.

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Best vacation ever

Review submitted: June 4, 2013   Date of arrival: May 25, 2013

This was one of my best vacation, I will definitely, do the rental again. Everything was awesome.

Recommended for: families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Best family vacation ever - Amazing Accomodations

Review submitted: May 24, 2013   Date of arrival: April 21, 2013

This home was spectacular. Exceptionally well furnished, comfortable beds, great location - couldn't have asked for a nicer place to stay. The elevator was the best part, as our father was elderly and could not handle the stairs. I highly recommend this home for your family vacation. This vacation was very important to our family, as it was the first time my father and his five children and their families had been together in nine years. He passed away a week after the vacation, leaving us with the greatest memories, and certainly the terrific accomodations made this vacation the best we had ever had. The value for the price of the rental was incredible.

The beach access is just a few doors down and the beach is wide and open, especially at low tide. We had fun fishing in the surf, off the piers and spent a day at the USS North Carolina in Wilmington. While there are a few restaurants, the Crab Shack was great, but there is access to large grocery stores and other shopping just a few miles from Topsail Island.

Our family will seek out this property again. Kate, the owner, is great to deal with and responsive with all inquiries. I rate this a 5-Excellent. Thanks.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Graduation Get-Together

Review submitted: May 22, 2013   Date of arrival: May 10, 2013

My family and I stayed there for 3 nights to celebrate my daughters graduation and it was amazing. The house doesnt look as big in the pictures but its huge. The rooms were decorated beautifully. They had everything you needed. The main floor was spacious and we spent allot of time there because all the family plus guest that came over could sit around comfortably without getting under each others feet. The decks are huge and mornings there on the deck with a cup of coffee was heavenly. The house was close to everything we wanted. The one think I wish was different was the parking. Its a little limited but the owner helped us out with that. Our short vacation was made even more special because of the owner and being in this beach house. We didnt want to leave. I would reccommend this house to everyone. BTW, the price is great also. Had a blast.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Relaxing Beach house!

Review submitted: March 21, 2013   Date of arrival: March 8, 2013

The house was great. It was very close to the water, and the hot tub was a perfect place to go on the cool nights. We really enjoyed our stay here, and would definitely recommend it to others.

Recommended for: families with young children

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Best vacation ever!!

Review submitted: March 9, 2013   Date of arrival: October 7, 2012

My family and I had a wonderful vacation! We love Topsail Island, and this beach house was located in the perfect place. We could get to Surf City in three minutes or drive to the south end of the island in a few minutes where the turtle farm is located. The house itself was gorgeous! Very clean, spacious and packed with amenities. If you have not soaked in a hot tob at night, with the sound of the ocean in the background looking up at the stars, you are missing out. My wife was able to cook a full meal on the nights we did not eat out in the large kitchen. It had everything stocked in it, from pans to mixing bowls. The house came with sheets and towels, unlike most other houses where we have had to bring our own or pay a ridiculous amount to rent them. Best of all, we were able to bring our labrador retriever, Lucy, as the house is pet friendly. I would recommend this to anyone that needs a luxurious, large beach house at an extremely competitve and affordable rate! Thanks so much for the bes vacation we have ever had.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

The most beautiful house I've ever stayed in!

Review submitted: March 1, 2013   Date of arrival: October 13, 2012

My family and I stayed in this wonderful beach home for a week in October. Upon arrival, we had so many bags and groceries to get to the top floor. The elevator was a Godsend! Everyone's rooms were stunning with king size beds for the adults and twins and bunk beds for the kids. It was so nice that everyone had their own bathroom and space. The kitchen was to die for and anyone's dream to cook in being able to prepare a meal and look out at the ocean through beautiful oversized windows. In the evening the jacuzzi was very relaxing with the cool ocean breeze. The access for the beach was just a short walk and very convenient. We had such a wonderful time and of all the beach houses we have stayed at on Topsail Island, this one was by far the nicest. Thank you so much for a pleasant stay! We will be back next year!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect vacation!

Review submitted: March 1, 2013   Date of arrival: January 7, 2013

A very clean home with tons of space. We couldn't have picked a better place to spend our vacation. The kids had a blast and can't wait to go back. We will definitely be coming back!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great house Great owner

Review submitted: February 19, 2013   Date of arrival: February 8, 2013

The house was as described. Good value. Nicely kept. Great communication with owner. I would definitely go back again.

Owners response: Thank you very much. We would love to have you back anytime!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful Home for Family Reunion

Review submitted: December 4, 2012   Date of arrival: November 18, 2012

We rented this lovely home the week of Thanksgiving for a family get together. The accommodations were nicely decorated and very comfortable. We had nine adults in our family and everyone had plenty of room both personally, bedroom wise, and communally in the fantastic third floor kitchen/family/dining room. We felt right at home. Everything was in working order and the kitchen was fully stocked with pots, pans, dinnerware, utensils, etc. The only thing we had to bring for our Thanksgiving dinner was a roasting pan for the turkey. The owner was very helpful and attentive with questions prior to arrival which made "checking-in" a breeze. We had a wonderful stay and I would definitely recommend this property for a Topsail Island vacation, especially if you are a large group.

Owners response: Thanks Stacey. We're so pleased that you enjoyed the house and your Thanksgiving. Please come back soon!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Dream vacation

Review submitted: October 26, 2012   Date of arrival: October 16, 2012

During our stay we were very comfortable and felt at home! Well, this would be at home if I were dreaming. Having the linens clean and available on each bed in each room made arriving very simple and I was at ease. We all were able to stay comfortably and the view was stunning. I would recommend this home to anyone!! Thank you so much for a memorable stay.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: It was our pleasure to have you and your family enjoy our home. We welcome you back anytime!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Nice house, wonderful owner to work with

Review submitted: September 6, 2012   Date of arrival: August 28, 2012

Our group of several families greatly enjoyed this house over Labor Day weekend. Beach access is super close and the house is lovely with lots of little things (bikes, beach chairs, high chair, monitors) on site to make it easy for families with kids. The owner was so wonderful to work with and super responsive to any questions we had before and during our stay. That alone makes this a great find!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Can't wait to return

Review submitted: September 5, 2012   Date of arrival: July 8, 2012

We visited in July with a group of friends. The house is great - so great, in fact, that we have already made our reservation for next summer. Our thanks for creating and sharing such a wonderful vacation spot.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Beach House Get Away

Review submitted: August 6, 2012   Date of arrival: April 21, 2012

This was a great place to go for a relaxing week away! The house is very clean, fully furnished, and the magic portal (elevator) is a welcome alternative to three flights of stairs. It is only a quick walk across the street to the beach, a short drive to a major grocery story, and Wilmington is an easy trip. I would highly recommend this property to everyone – you will not be disappointed.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great Place!

Review submitted: July 10, 2012   Date of arrival: July 1, 2012

This house is gorgeous. Very close to the beach, and full of many amenities that most beach houses don't have. Best hot tub I've ever been in! Owners are very nice, and respond to emails and calls very quickly. If we need a 7 bedroom house in the future, this would most likely be our pick.

Recommended for: families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, pet-friendly

Owners response: Thank you Dawn. We hope to have you visit again and so glad you enjoyed the house.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Amazing Accomadations!

Review submitted: July 9, 2012   Date of arrival: June 24, 2012

We have been renting houses for 32 years now and this is by far the cleanest and most well stocked beach house we have ever stayed in. Accomadated all 18 people perfectly. Thanks so much to the owners for caring about their renters as well as their property! We loved it so much we have already booked for next summer.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Nancy: It was wonderful having you and your family and we're looking forward to having you and your family again next year! Thank you for the review.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Greetings from Kernersville,N.C.

Review submitted: June 6, 2012   Date of arrival: May 11, 2012

This is the nicest vacation home and the nicest owner I have ever dealt with on VRBO. The home is exactly as described. The pictures do not do it justice! The house is spotless and inviting. The upstairs view is breathtaking! Ms McDonald has done a wonderful job decorating. My family had a wonderful time and the only bad thing was having to leave! The home is pet friendly,but you could never tell that since it is so well taken care of..It was wonderful to be able to bring my 2 small dogs. . Ms McDonald promptly responded to any questions we had. .I would highly recommend this property! Ms McDonald has thought of everything even making beach towels available! I would love to return when I can stay longer. You will not be disappointed. Best rental on Topsail!!! Dianna

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Owners response: Diana: Thank you so much for the kind words. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and would love to have you back anytime! (I love my job)

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

The best spot on topsail

Review submitted: May 31, 2012   Date of arrival: May 14, 2012

This home was so clean, spacious and modern. It's the nicest vacation home we have ever rented and next year we hope to stay longer. Thank you to the owners for keeping their property I'm pristine shape! To say that we lovedit would be an understatement!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Diana: Thank you so much for the kind words. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and would love to have you back anytime! (I love my job)

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Greatest place to spend our anniversary!

Review submitted: January 10, 2012   Date of arrival: January 2, 2012

We are a young couple and celebrated our anniversary at the beach house.  So glad we chose this option instead of a hotel.  It was private, gorgeous and so beautiful and we really enjoyed the hot tub in the tree tops.  We had the beach to ourselves - refreshing to walk into a property that was as clean and inviting as this one!  We will be returning next year for our 2nd anniversary - we can't wait!   I will be recommending the house to all of our friends and family.  Thanks again, Linda and James

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are so happy for your both - what a fun way to celebrate your first year together. Hope to see you again next year and glad that you enjoyed the home. Best Wishes!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

A Beautiful Home

Review submitted: January 3, 2012   Date of arrival: November 22, 2011

My family and I stayed here for nearly a month. It was perfect. The view of the ocean let us see dolphins in the morning and hear the sound of the surf breaking on the shore in the evening. The house was like being in a brand new home. It was very hard to drive away on our last day.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

We love this place! Will return with our family and friends next year!

Review submitted: December 28, 2011   Date of arrival: December 8, 2011

Very best rental EVER!    Thank you so much.  We had a wonderful time with our family and friends at your wonderful new home.  From the third floor deck (kitchen, dining and living room) we enjoyed the ocean views and slept to the sound of waves crashing at night.  The private hot tub in the tree tops - what a blast.  The beautiful new gourmet kitchen, huge dining table was just perfect for our group of 19.  Thank you again and we can't wait to come back next year.  

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Karen: We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again next year!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review