reviews for: listing #102303 - Mission Beach, California Condo rental

Beach Therapy! Ocean front in the heart of Mission Beach!
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  Condo
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Top of the Beach
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $209 - $407 /nt
    $1,500 - $2,850 /wk

sort by:

Cannot get closer to the beach without sand in your bed! BEST location!

Review submitted: July 15, 2014   Date of arrival: January 30, 2014

Great location, unit, well appointed, great parking, RIGHT on the beach.
Comfortable and relaxing, BEST Mission Beach location, central to everything you could want ~ sand, restaurants, bar, grocery store, coffee. Thank you!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

What a view!

Review submitted: March 23, 2014   Date of arrival: March 14, 2014

This was my second time in San Diego, but first time staying at the beach. I would definitely do this again. This condo is beautiful. Now staying on the boardwalk was a little different. Since this condo is on the ground floor, we had to get used to people walking past our window and so close at all times through the day and night. But other than that it was absolutely wonderful. We did find the second day that there are electronic shades that go down for privacy that helped considerably. But then that cut down on our view looking out. We did have some problems with the TV in the living room and found out it was not connected to the cable. Thank goodness I had a techy person with me that figured it out and we had TV by the second day. The condo itself was very clean. There were plenty of towels. Kitchen was stocked. Parking was a bit interesting. We were supposed to place cones in our parking spots but there were no cones to put out to save our spots. That was a slight concern. That and there was a fight on the boardwalk the first night there right in front of our unit involving a bunch of guys that was a bit frightening. Certainly not the condo owners fault. Still a bit scary. All in all, it was a wonderful stay. I would definitely do it again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

How to relax in one easy lesson

Review submitted: October 25, 2013   Date of arrival: October 6, 2013

What we expected when we came to Mission Beach was a room with a view and a great location. What we got far exceeded our expectations. Not only did we have a great view but,the kitchen had all the spices and necessities for cooking and plenty of extras for entertaining. We really enjoyed our walks on the boardwalk and beach and the sunsets were spectacular. Our highest recommendation is that we are looking forward to our return to the same condo next year.
Sparki & GW

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for your wonderful review you two and we look forward to seeing you again next year!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great ocean view. Right on the boardwalk.

Review submitted: November 12, 2012   Date of arrival: August 29, 2012

LOVED the decor! Just the cutest condo! Information on website accurate. Property was very clean. Kitchen was well stocked. Plenty of towels. Fair amount of beach items, umbrella, chairs, and toys for sand play. Loved to sit and watch the people on the boardwalk. My family enjoyed the surf everyday. I recommend LaPlaya's for Mexican food. Also went to Saska's and Green Flash. Would have liked listing for near by groceries, drug stores, post office gas station etc.
Recommended for: Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Awesome vacation!

Review submitted: November 9, 2012   Date of arrival: June 28, 2012

Such a great place to forget all your worries and enjoy yourself. I like sitting around and "doing nothing" on my vacations but my husband is the complete opposite, he's extremely active and gets bored easily. This condo has the best of both worlds right at your finger tips! We enjoyed watching the dolphins, sunsets and people walk by every day.from our deck. So relaxing! SeaWorld is just down the street and the beach and boardwalk is full of activity as well. There's so much to do, we feel like we should have stayed longer! It's great having your own parking too, the beach gets really crowded and parking is almost non-existent. All-on-all a wonderful and stress-free vacation. The place has a well-stocked kitchen, comfy beds, nice linens and is very clean and nicely decorated. GREAT restaurants nearby (try Rubicon's sandwiches, going to miss those!) Lots of options for kid activities in the area too, although we didn't need much more than just the beach :) The photos don't do the ocean view justice either, the ocean is literally RIGHT THERE! We'll be back!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

I'll be Back!

Review submitted: November 5, 2012   Date of arrival: July 8, 2012

I just read the ad that this place has advertised and it truly falls short of the pleasures this spot has to offer. My wife was in need of a break and when we arrived, it was a sheer pleasure watching her sit on the porch while the beauty of nature put on a show directly in front of her.

It was easy to tell that she was soon mesmerized by the many details in her 180 degree view of relentless visuals that can stimulate anyone to varying and wonderful levels, all this along with the changing sounds that surround you better than a brand new THX 7.2 surround sound system ever could.

To describe them all is an impossible feat as I would have to stay there forever as not a day went by without bringing with it an endlessly changing view, as people from all over over the world passed right there in front of you, offering many smiles and hellos. Some even stopping to start conversations about the beauty of this "HOLY SMOKES I CAN DO ANYTHING I WANT IN THIS AREA WITHOUT HAVING TO DRIVE" kind of thing.

While the main reason to stay at this wonderful place was to relax and forget about everything else that life can tire you with, we found it to be in a perfect spot as this place is a mere walk to anything. It's a plus having two parking spaces, but may I suggest if you are flying in, take a cab there, if you drive, park it and forget it. Unless you want to be touristy, then the parking space/s are great as you will have a place for your car - (we lived in San Diego years prior to our stay and have had the pleasure of seeing everything before - just saying -been there done that), So you have that choice.

As for the inside, the place itself - it was very comfortable, convenient and roomy. Every spot in there felt wonderfully relaxing (regardless of all the noise the waves made as the brushed up and down against the shore).

I highly recommend it as a place to stay when you want more than a place to park your car and luggage. Bring your Polarized sunglasses with extra UV Ray protection, as you will not want to miss the sun setting each and every evening you are there. If you get up early enough, you can walk across the strand (around 200 meters to the East) and watch the sunrise. (We did not do that, just letting you know it's possible).

This Condo will add to your vacation in ways no hotel can ever do. Ground floor with the beach at your feet and probably the best bed I ever slept on (we slept in the bedroom with the beach view. Awesome!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great condo. Beautiful view. Best money I've ever spent on a vacation.

Review submitted: October 17, 2012   Date of arrival: September 12, 2012

The apartment is better than advertised inside. There's plenty of space. At times we had 10 people hanging out in the living room and there was enough room to fit comfortably. The bedrooms are spacious and comfortable. The best sleep I've had in years here. The view from the porch is amazing!!! Wake up, walk out the door, and step on the beach to start your day. It has two parking spots. My SUV had no problem fitting. For the young people it's close to Pacific Beach. And the deposit was returned very quickly.

There were some small negatives. The deposit was double comparable rentals in the area. The porch is small, but fits four adults snugly. There were a lot of flies at the front door because of the garbage dumpster in the parking lot. Do not leave the front screen door open very long and you should be fine.

All that being said, it was the best money I've ever spent on vacation.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review