reviews for: listing #102363 - Hawaii Kai, Hawaii Townhome rental

Stunning Ocean View Luxury 1 Bdr. Townhouse
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  no
  • type  Townhome
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Mariner's Ridge
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $219 - $219 /nt

sort by:

Wonderful Owner - Super Clean - Gorgeous View!

Review submitted: January 23, 2013   Date of arrival: January 17, 2013

This was my 10th trip to Hawaii, but the first time to stay outside of the Waikiki area. The unit is as described (and actually so much more). Very high end - and top quality. The location provides spectacular views from your own private lanai. It is absolutely spotless and I have never seen a bathroom floor shine like this one. Every detail is considered - from private parking to beach equipment to an activity and restaurant book followed by detailed maps. All the "special extras" that await your arrival such as the fresh fruit, gorgeous fresh flowers, and additional treats just add to the overall memory and experience. We visited Hanauma Bay - only a few minutes away. We spent time at the amazing beaches very close to the unit - and caught both the sunrises and sunsets. We rented a Harley, and spent time in Waikiki and hiking in the parks. Roy's and Teddy's Burgers (both close and with good food) and the local Safeway store was great. Best of all are the owners - Tyra and her family are absolutely amazing - warm, welcoming, helpful, caring. Thank you for the special care you put into this property - it shows in every detail and makes for a worry free, high end vacation. I would not hesitate to recommend this property. Thank you, Tyra!

Recommended for: adventure seekers

Helpful votes: 32 / 33

 

A Wonderful Getaway

Review submitted: July 28, 2014   Date of arrival: July 26, 2014

My husband and I are residents of Oahu and like to get away from home for a few days and just relax. This townhouse suite was just the ticket. Beautiful views and everything we would possibly need. The suite is comfortably furnished and features a wonderful bed and two 50 inch TVs. Located on a very quiet street there is a separate area to park your vehicle and nothing to worry about. There were a number of unexpected amenities including a bottle of wine, champagne, and chocolates. The location was simply perfect in that we could drive to our favorite restaurant in a matter of minutes. Tyra made us feel very welcome and we look forward to returning soon.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A PERFECT VACATION HOME

Review submitted: July 4, 2014   Date of arrival: June 21, 2014

My wife and I had the pleasure of meeting Tyra and staying in her 2 room suite in June of 2014. The suite was as advertised and more. The view was perfect being located about 650 feet above Hawaii Kia and next to Diamond Head. The townhouse had every amenity we needed to have a wonderful worry free vacation.
Tyra was delightful and a very interesting person to talk to. Her experiences and organic garden had my wife and me asking ourselves “what fruit or flower is that”. Even now at home I find myself opening the front door and expecting a bunch of apple bananas or papaya on my door step.
I would recommend this home to anyone that wants to get away from the hustle and bustle of the city and experience true Hawaii.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great experience.

Review submitted: June 14, 2014   Date of arrival: May 31, 2014

This was the perfect place to stay for the few days we stayed on Oahu.

The location was great as it was an easy drive to everything that we planned on doing. The suite is extremely well kept up and very clean.
The views were as amazing as the pictures show.

Although we didn't meet the entire family, Tyra was a great host and we got to chat with her a few times.

We apparently had either not read the description well (or had simply forgotten), but it was such a pleasant surprise to see the selection of fruits and chocolates that were left for us by Tyra.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Location on Windward side of Oahu.

Review submitted: January 19, 2014   Date of arrival: December 29, 2013

My wife and I came to Hawaii to celebrate our 50th wedding anniversary. We wanted to stay near Kailua, where we lived for a year 50 years ago. This Hawaii Kai townhouse was perfect. The furnishings were outstanding, the interior was very clean and well maintained, and the view was spectacular. The fresh flowers and fruit were a special treat. The owners were close by, and were available to answer our questions. The location was convenient to all the sites we wanted to see. Kailua was 15 minutes in one direction, and Waikiki was 15 minutes in the other direction. Hanauma Bay was right down the mountain and the snorkeling and surfing gear was in the outside cabinet. Hanauma Bay is a must see, but get there before 7 AM, or be prepared for a long line. I would definitely recommend this property to a friend or relative. We are ready to return! Restaurants close by that we enjoyed were The Shack, Uncle Clay's House of Pure Aloha, and Ono's Steak Lunch Wagon in Waimanalo. The Island Brew Coffee House is right down the road. If you need to rent any camera gear, Hawaii Photo Rental is about 15 minutes on the way to Waikiki. The Safeway grocery store is also very close.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Perfect

Review submitted: October 24, 2013   Date of arrival: October 17, 2013

As others have said, everything was exactly as described and pictured. Tyra was wonderful and so friendly, although she was quiet and only available if we needed her. We loved the lanai and all the extra touches...wine, chocolates and fruit. We had a lovely time and we're so thankful that we found this property. Mahalo!

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 7

 

Hidden Paradise

Review submitted: September 28, 2013   Date of arrival: September 19, 2013

My husband and I were so thrilled to get the pleasure of staying at this property. It was clean and cozy, had all the amenities you could ask for! Even had fresh fruits when we arrived. It wasn't to far from the city, which was great as we weren't in Hawaii to be in the city. We wanted to enjoy ourselves as this was our first trip to Hawaii. We woke up early and traveled the east coast and went to the beach which was super close to the property. They have snorkel gear, chairs, and boogies boards at your disposal and that made our trips to the beach that much more enjoyable. The owners are super friendly and helpful. There are also many stores close by, and the Kona Brewing Company Resturant which was fabulous. If you want to go to Hawaii and enjoy life outside of the city but yet still have it be in short driving distance, this is a perfect property to stay at. The views from the back Lanai are to die for. Waking up to that every morning was perfect. I would recommend this property to anyone taking a trip to Hawaii. Its a perfect location! Thank you for letting us enjoy your property while we visited the island. It was a trip we will never forget, can't wait to go back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Look no further; paradise found @ this Tropical Garden!

Review submitted: August 23, 2013   Date of arrival: August 9, 2013

"Extraordinarily wonderful", best describes our stay & the hospitality we enjoyed during our stay at the Tropical Garden. Being a former resident of Hawaii Kai, I was familiar with the area, but not from this perspective. The panoramic views of Koko Head, the Marina & Ocean were breathtaking! The unit was ultra-clean & comfortable, with all the amenities one would expect from a 4 star hotel. We became huge fans of the Kona Bar & Grill located on the Marina, only minutes away. We also enjoyed a 3 mile round trip hike up Mariner's Ridge from our door step, affording endless views & tropical breezes that literally..."blew us away!" The room is ideal for two, but we also hosted our adult kids who slept on the fold out in the living room for a night as well. Our warmest appreciation goes out to Tyra for taking especially good care of us & providing the tropical fruit & flowers adding to our wonderful Hawaiian Holiday Experience. We will definitely stay here our next trip to Oahu & will highly recommend it to our friends & family. Much Aloha & Mahalo to you & your Ohana Tyra for your genuine hospitality! Until next time, Robert & Jami

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Wonderful vacation!

Review submitted: July 21, 2013   Date of arrival: July 8, 2013

My husband and I and our two young adult daughters had an amazing time staying in Hawaii Kai! The townhouse is super clean and has everything you need. The view is amazing and changes throughout the day. The fresh Flowers and fruit were such a special touch! Tyra truly enjoys spoiling her guests. She and her husband were so kind! We have stayed in Waikiki before, but this was so much more relaxing and so close to great places to see on Oahu. I truly think this is the best location on the island! Everything you need for the beach is provided and excellent quality. There is even a brand new super delux grill! But if you want to eat out,there are many great restaurants just a short drive down the mountain. We particularly enjoyed those on the marina waterfront! We cannot wait to come back!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 8 / 9

 

A Welcome Relief

Review submitted: July 17, 2013   Date of arrival: June 19, 2013

After spending a night near the hub bub of the Waikiki Area, the quiet setting of this property was a most welcome relief. The townhouse was everything it was advertised to be. We appreciated the beautiful flowers and orchids placed throughout the home. The lanai was perfect for that morning cup of coffee and a relaxing breakfast. What a splendid view! Tyra went out of her way to make our stay perfect.
Mahalo Tyra!
The Hoosiers

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 8 / 9

 

Splendid!

Review submitted: June 6, 2013   Date of arrival: May 17, 2013

The location and layout was everything and more than I would have expected. Tyra is a special, caring and thoughtful host. Everything was well maintained and thoughtful touches were added to ensure that our stay was perfect. She and the property truly exemplified the Aloha spirit!

Helpful votes: 11 / 11

 

A Touch of Paradise

Review submitted: April 1, 2013   Date of arrival: March 23, 2013

I feel seriously torn between keeping this wonderful vacation rental secret to myself or letting others know about a bit of paradise hiding atop Mariner's Ridge in Hawaii Kai. My husband and I just got back from spending a wonderful week in this rental. The rental is a wonderful balance between luxury and practicality. The kitchen area has everything you need to make a sandwich lunch or to pop popcorn for watching a movie while you lounge in the king-sized bed. But you won't want to waste much time on TV, even though there are 2 big screens, because there's so much to do: the beach chairs, boogie boards, and snorkeling gear beg to be taken to the beach. Before heading out the door, take a moment to look carefully at the greenery in the front yard you'll find the flowers that fill your rental growing there! Having grown up in Hawaii, I loved the flowers and the fruit that can only be found in the islands. Leave the chaos of Waikiki and retreat to this hidden gem just outside of Honolulu. It's the best treat you can give yourself!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 16 / 16

 

Amazing Hawaii Kai Rental

Review submitted: March 30, 2013   Date of arrival: January 23, 2013

I would give this rental 6 stars if I could! The location was excellent with good access to everything we wanted to see and do. The neighbourhood the rental was located in was very lush and beautiful. Tyra and her family made us feel very welcome and at home, and were available to help us with any questions we had. The views from the suite are incredible, and the unit was spotlessly clean. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again for our next trip to Oahu.

Helpful votes: 17 / 17

 

Wonderful Townhouse

Review submitted: December 5, 2012   Date of arrival: November 14, 2012

We absolutely loved our stay! Beautiful view, clean, great parking. And most of all owned and managed by a wonderful family.

Recommended for: families with young children

Helpful votes: 15 / 15

 

Delightful

Review submitted: November 14, 2012   Date of arrival: September 18, 2012

Our stay in this rental was delightful. The accomodations were all we expected and more-not to mention the spectacular views. Our hostess/owner was extremely helpful and welcoming. We would not hesitate to recommend this property to friends and family.

Helpful votes: 13 / 13

 

Best Holiday Ever

Review submitted: November 13, 2012   Date of arrival: October 19, 2012

We had the best holiday we have ever had so far in your wonderful place in Hawaii. Thanks Tyra. The place is spotless and has everything we needed, It was very close to Haunauma Bay and you even provided the snorkelling equipment and towels.

We followed your recommendations of where to go on the Island and had a ball. We felt like locals living in the peace and quiet of Hawaii Kai and yet within easy reach of anywhere we wanted to go.

We have referred your place to everyone we know.

We wish you all the best for the future for you and your lovely family.

Much love

Vicki and David

Helpful votes: 20 / 20

 

Experience the best Oahu has to offer

Review submitted: September 28, 2012   Date of arrival: June 28, 2012

I rented this fantastic apartment for parents to visit us here in Oahu. We live nearby in Hawaii Kai and have found this to be the perfect place them. Hawaii Kai is a great alternative to noisy and crowded Waikiki and convenient to the many places that make Oahu a great place to visit.

This was the perfect place for my parents who are both over 85. The parking is right by the door to the unit with only one step in between. Tyra and her family were great hosts and treated my Mom and Dad like family. It really made their visit a great experience.

The neighborhood is great, the view is spectacular, and the apartment is first class. The little touches provided by the owner are a bonus with tropical flowers, fruit and wine to greet you and make you feel special and appreciated.

I highly recommend!

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Another Great Experience Here!!

Review submitted: September 28, 2012   Date of arrival: September 11, 2012

This was the second time I have rented this fantastic vacation rental for family visiting from the mainland. We live nearby in Hawaii Kai and have found this to be the perfect place for our visitors. The neighborhood is great, view is spectacular, and the apartment is first class. The little touches provided by the owner are a bonus with tropical flowers, fruit and wine to greet you and make you feel special and appreciated. Hawaii Kai is a great alternative to noisy and crowded Waikiki and convenient to the many places that make Oahu a great place to visit. I highly recommend.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Incredible spacious luxuriant best kept secret in Oahu!

Review submitted: September 1, 2012   Date of arrival: August 13, 2012

This vacation suite is the best kept secret my family and I have ever come across. It's bigger than a hotel suite with all the quality and accommodations. Our hosts even provided complimentary chocolates and wine. It was immaculately clean, cozy and relaxed with a private parking spot and a balcony with a mountain-top breath taking view. This view contained the best of a tropical garden, a lush valley, and a beautiful beach. My family of four was quite comfortable there without the crowding we have endured in your typical 4 star hotel room. The best part by far, however, was the escape from the commercial side of vacationing. It is located in a residential area away from the tourist traps and exploitations found around most major hotels. Our hosts provided snorkeling gear, surf/boogie boards, and even fishing equipment when we wanted to check out local areas for crabbing. They even recommended wonderful restaurants in the area that didn't leave us feeling scalped. We strongly recommend this vacation rental to anyone who loves to vacation without having to put up with the tourist commercialization of it.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for the exceptional review. We try to make it a roomy and enjoyable space for a family like yours. Glad you enjoyed it!

Helpful votes: 20 / 20

 

Perfect Little Hideaway

Review submitted: August 6, 2012   Date of arrival: July 24, 2012

If you want to enjoy all the convenience of Honolulu without the noise, sirens and tourist traps, this Hawaii Kai ridge top nook is perfect. In a tiny space it has everything you could possibly think of to make a stay comfortable, including beach chairs, snorkels and more. The owners make you welcome with flowers, chocolates and wine when you arrive and fruit from the garden (apple bananas!). The view from the lanai spectacular, there is always a cool breeze, everything is clean, and it is a lovely quiet residential neighborhood. I loved looking down from a steep cliff at trees full of birds during the day and looking at the lights of the Marina at night. Hanauma Bay is so close (3.5 miles) that you can be there early enough even on weekends to beat the crowds, and we found wonderful local, non pretentious restaurants and bakeries in Hawaii Kai with great breakfast and sushi. Does not hurt to have Costco right there as well! It is a Hawaii Costco and a great place to pick up your Kona coffee, poke, macadamia nut products and a tankini.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Married couple in 30's with an 11yr old child

Review submitted: June 29, 2012   Date of arrival: June 17, 2012

Pictures on the website are accurate. Place is clean, bed is comfy and owners are very friendly. The view from the deck is wonderful as it overlooks the city and the ocean in the distance. The owners provided snorkel gear, boogie boards and other beach accessories. The room was lovely and the fresh flowers, bottle of wine and chocolates were wonderful. The location is great too in that Safeway and Costco are just a quick 5-7min drive from the house. We had a wonderful 10 day stay and would suggest this place to all our friends. We would also stay there again.

Many thanks to the owners!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Amazing, Gorgeous, and Heavenly

Review submitted: June 28, 2012   Date of arrival: June 10, 2012

What a beautiful condo!!! The pictures do not do this rental justice. The room is beautiful and the bed is so comfortable. There is a view from the lanai of koko marina, kokohead, and the ocean. The lanai is above a gorgous yards filled with banana, orange, and guava trees. Tyra was kind enough to share some of her fresh fruits with us. The living room is well equipped with a comfortable pull-out sofa, a kitchenette with hot plate, dishes, utensils, coffee maker, some foods and condiments, and a refrigerator with drinks. Both the loving room and bedroom have large flat screen televisions and large dressers to make the stay comfortable. There is also a large closet--plenty of space for clothes and luggage. The lanai is furnished and also has a camp oven with stovetop and a bbq. The bathroom is large and well stocked with toiletries. The entire unit is really spacious, clean, and exquisite. The unit is very private, so I was never disturbed by noises (and I didn't have to worry that I was being to loud either). Tyra and her family were very welcoming, respected our privacy, and were available to answer questions. They even let us borrow their paddle boards, boogie boards, fins, snorkel equipment, and beach chairs. It is also worth noting that there is a washer/dryer and linens, towels, and beach towels are supplied. They've really gone above and beyond to make this a wonderful rental, right down to the decorative soaps, fresh fruits and flowers, and a wonderful pikake plant at the entrance. There is also a parking spot in the driveway.
I grew up on Oahu, so I am very familiar with the island and different types of vacation rentals and hotels available. This is a very safe and upscale neighborhood. I will stay here whenever I visit!!!

Owners response: We look forward to you visiting again. Thank you!

Helpful votes: 24 / 24

 

Quiet and Peaceful

Review submitted: May 28, 2012   Date of arrival: May 19, 2012

Tyra and her ohana (family) are absolute gems! From the warm welcome with fresh flowers and fruits, to the necessities needed for your stay, all bases are covered. The view from the lanai is breathtaking. The neighborhood you will be staying in (Hawaii Kai) is out of the hustle and bustle of Waikiki, and provides a nice quiet night when resting. This place is perectly sized for a small family of 4. You will definitely need a rental car, but getting around the island is quite easy with any modern GPS system. Take a trip up 72 on the east side of the island from Hanauma Bay to the North Shore, and your eyes will be pleased... have your camera's ready! We would also recommend a daily wakeup right at sunrise while eating breakfast on the lanai... your mind will be put at ease and you will forget about the stresses of life for that short period of time. Kudos to Tyra for this setup, we will definitely stay here again if we return to Oahu.

The Goins family

Owners response: So great you could relax and yet do so much on your trip.

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Look no further!

Review submitted: January 28, 2012   Date of arrival: November 1, 2011

This place is truly a hidden gem. It is conveniently located, beautifully decorated, and well-maintained. We absolutely loved our stay here. All the little touches really added up...from the fresh fruit and flowers in the front room to the box of chocolate macadamia nuts on the dresser in the bedroom. We especially enjoyed spending time out on the lanai, enjoying the view. But beyond all, it’s the owners that make this a standout rental. Tyra and her family are salt-of-the earth kind of people. We will not forget their hospitality and kindness. Come experience this rental for yourself. The warmth and spirit of the place are difficult to describe in words or capture in a photo.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you!

Helpful votes: 23 / 23

 

Loved our stay

Review submitted: January 21, 2012   Date of arrival: October 11, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay here. The photos don't do the view justice; it's really beautiful. The lanai faces east, so you can watch the sun rise over the ocean and Koko Head mountain.

The listing description for this property is accurate, and the property was clean and well-maintained, with a luxury feel. The owners were friendly and helpful. When we asked, they provided great suggestions about things to enjoy in the area (such as snorkeling at Hanauma Bay, which we highly recommend).

The arrangement of fresh tropical flowers from the backyard was a nice touch. When we were there, the "apple bananas" ripened, and we were offered fresh fruit; it was delicious. We don't know how often that happens, but hope that something will be ripening the next time we visit. We definitely recommend this place to our friends and relatives.

Owners response: Thank you for taking the time to write a review! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again in the future. There is always some tropical fruit ripe for you to try anytime you visit.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Made Us Feel Welcome

Review submitted: December 16, 2011   Date of arrival: December 14, 2011

Lovely rental with beautiful views of East Oahu. Everything you will need for your stay is thoughtfully provided. Very friendly and helpful property manager and her family really made us feel welcome. We are very happy we stayed here.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great getaway location

Review submitted: November 16, 2011   Date of arrival: October 27, 2011

This place is quite and clean. Has everything you need for a great stay. The unit is 1/2 of a single family home with a private entrance.

There is plenty of privacy along with onsite parking. We ate breakfast on the balcony each morning and took in the great view.

The house is in a residential setting so there are the usual sounds like the random barking dog or morning trash truck, but the noise in minimal. The bedroom is in the back of the unit so you can sleep as late as you want.

The balcony is a great place to relax in the evening after the neighborhood settles down. You'll feel like you are in a tropical paradise listening to all of the birds in the valley below.

Sure beats Waikiki and the constant noise and parking issues.

The hosts are wonderful people who will treat you right.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 8

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review