reviews for: listing #102393 - Encinitas, California Condo rental

Gorgeous Condo in Beautiful Encinitas
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $1,200 - $1,500 /wk
    $2,800 - $3,100 /mth

sort by:

Best choice for SoCal vacation

Review submitted: August 5, 2014   Date of arrival: May 1, 2014

We were a family of two adults and two children, vacationing in Encinitas for 5 weeks. The condo fully lived up to our expectations. Upon arrival it was clean and tidy. It had everything you needed for a short or long stay, from BBQ, beach towels, boogie boards, sun chairs, to board games and books. The condo complex share a pool, and this was well kept and clean.
Located within 5 minutes walking from Moonlight State Beach this is the perfect location. 'Downtown' Encinitas is just 3-4 minutes walk away, with all the stores you need. We found it very convenient to be able to walk to the local grocery store (Whole Food). The local library is located across the street. We used the library for home schooling for our kids. Right behind the condo comple is a small park, with a playground and a wonderful view of the Pacific Ocean. Halfway towards Moonlight Beach there is a larger playground.
On our first day the caretaker dropped by to introduce himself. He was available anytime, which was proven when the garbage disposal in the sink broke. This was taken care of immediately and promptly fixed. The same when the garage door decided not to open anymore, fixed at once.
The train station is 3 minutes away with schedules south to San Diego or north to LA. The only 'drawback' with the location is the blowing of the horns by the traindrivers as the trains pass. We were aware of this prior to renting, but was still surprised at how hard and long they actually blow the horns. So take this into considation when renting. That being said, we would not have any problems renting this condo again.
Encinitas is very close to Legoland, the Safari Park, San Diego Zoo, Carlsbad Outlets, Miramar Air Station, and miles and miles of beaches for surfing, swimming, exploring or just relaxing.
There are several restaurants in Encinitas, as well as coffee bars, and a movie theatre.
Every Wednesday there is a Farmers' Market at the train station, and here you can get your hands on excellent food.
Hopefully we will be back, and able to rent this condo, in the future.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

jim

Review submitted: February 22, 2014   Date of arrival: January 31, 2014

We had a great time staying in the Encomiums property. We loved the community. A special thumbs up to the pet owners who utilize the dog park - I (and my dog) went to dog park 1-2 times daily for 3 weeks - never once did I see a "poop pile". Good work. The only problem I had with the property was Wi-Fi, maybe that is because a 73 year old doesn't have the know how needed. Jackie and Carol were very good to work with. I don't give out perfect scores so this is a strong 4.5.

Recommended for: age 55+, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Everything you need and more

Review submitted: February 3, 2014   Date of arrival: December 15, 2013

We stayed here for a month and a half over the holidays. It's a 2 minute walk to many restaurants, bars, 7-11, the local library and a great dog park. A 5 minute walk to the beach. We BBQ'd several times on the back patio and used the fully stocked kitchen. We would highly recommend this unit for anyone looking for a fully equipped 2br, 2ba. Jackie and Carol you were wonderful and very accommodating with our needs, we are so thankful!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, pet-friendly, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Two wonderful sunny weeks in Encinitas

Review submitted: March 10, 2013   Date of arrival: March 1, 2013

We were very pleased with our condo. It was everything the owner represented and more, location is fabulous. 1/2 block to the beautiful public library where they provide full range of services to temp residents including wonderful collection of DVD movies. Across the street from Coaster Station for easy access to down town. Encinitas is a lovely resort village with georgious beaches and quaint restaurants. I did 5 mile morning walks along the walking path to Cardiff & back which runs parallel to the beach enjoying watching the surfers. We made day trips to Balboa Park, Old Town, and Coronado. We especially enjoyed relaxing on the porch, curled up with a good book on comfortable cousioned chairs and couch in the afternoon sun. The condo is well provided with all cooking and kitchen utensils and a brand new gas grill on the rear patio. Beds were very comfortable & unit was clean & tidy for our arrival. We entertained one single and one couple as over night guests (separate nights) who slept on the family room sectional- they all reported a comfortable nights sleep. Unit needs better lighting for interior reading, but that is the sole criticism anyone in our group offered. One of our favorite avtivities was stroling down to the yogurt shop about two blocks away for a treat. Handicapped or seniors who do not handle stairs well should probably avoid this unit and seek one on ground floor.) Highly recommend the complex and Encinitas. (we were two senior couples in our seventies).

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

The PERFECT Solution to winter in New England

Review submitted: February 18, 2013   Date of arrival: February 11, 2013

Thanks to a 3-foot blizzard that was very poorly timed, our vacation was cut short by 2 days so we made very good use of the time we had. Carol's condo is beautifuly appointed, very comfortable and homey yet locatted right in town. I'm not a coffee drinker but FM loved walking down to the train station kiosk every morning for his coffee. The beach is a 5 min. drive, the shops/restaurants are a 5 min. walk. We won't waste any time booking for next year.

Carol, thanks so much for your hospitality!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great value and exellent location

Review submitted: January 1, 2013   Date of arrival: December 22, 2012

We enjoyed our christmas week in encinitas. Very convinient location we can walk to Wholefoods, good restuarants, beaches and public transportations.The house is spacious and clean, fully equiped kitchen, a lot of natuaral lights especially in the Master bedroom during the day. Although we would prefer a better light to bringthen up the house at night. Carol is very nice and flexible. Jackie always available to answer the your phones. Recommened!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

very well equipped apartment

Review submitted: November 17, 2012   Date of arrival: September 30, 2012

Overall, one of the most equipped places we have ever rented. Clean and comfortable. Great location, if you want to walk to downtown Encinitas or the beach. It is next to the Encinitas train station, but it worked fine for us. Carol took good care of us and made sure we were comfortable. She was very accommodating when we unexpectedly needed to extend our stay. Recommended and we would choose this apartment again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

We had a wonderful time!

Review submitted: October 8, 2012   Date of arrival: September 23, 2012

I recently stayed at this property with my boyfriend, sister and brother in law. For the four of us, the size was perfect. The unit was very clean and very accommodating. And the unit is within easy walking distance to most everything in Encinitas, including public transportation to San Diego.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Cozy Encinitas Condo in Excellent Location!

Review submitted: July 24, 2012   Date of arrival: August 16, 2011

This place is in the perfect location in Encinitas on Vulcan and D Street. It's only 1 block from the main "downtown" Encinitas drag that is lined with bars, restaurants, boutiques, coffee shops, art galleries and more. The famous Moonlight Beach is just a short walk away. Also, the coaster is close by if you want to take a quick train ride up to Oceanside or down to Old Town or the downtown Gaslamp district in San Diego to catch a Padres game, go to a show or experience some bigger city night life. The front deck of the condo is a perfect place to sit and read in the afternoon or enjoy an evening cocktail and take in the sunset. We enjoyed having breakfast on the back patio in the morning sun on several days. Encinitas offers many lovely restaurants and cafes, but we also enjoyed the convenience of the fully stocked kitchen and beautiful granite counter tops and appliances. Some of the best surf spots in California are located in and around Encinitas at Swamis, Cardiff Reef, Pipes and Beacon's. The owners were extremely easy to work with for scheduling and answered our many questions. Nothing went wrong during our stay, but they assured us we could contact them at any time if we had any difficulties. The 2-car garage was very nice to have to store our cars, bikes and surfboards. There also seemed to be a good amount of guest parking available if needed. I would return to this condo in a heartbeat when we plan our next trip to Encinitas! Highly recommended to all!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Snowbird

Review submitted: May 26, 2012   Date of arrival: June 4, 2011

My husband and I have stayed in this condo many times. It is so conveniently located to beach, restraunents, parks, and it is one block from the Coaster (train) which takes you downtown or any point in between. The condo is clean, spacious and with two decks you can choose sunshine or shade depending on the time of day. Fireplace offers romantic ambiance in the evenings. The double garage is great if you have a car. Owners responded quickly to any problems or needs that we may have had. I give this a five star rating for short or long term stay.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Excellent place to vacation...3 minute walk to beach and downtown shops and restaurants!

Review submitted: May 25, 2012   Date of arrival: March 5, 2012

I had the privilege of renting this incredible condo and it absolutely impressed! It is an upstairs unit with really nice vaulted ceilings which makes the place feel large, relaxing and accommodating. The appliances all appear to be brand new and worked great. It has beautiful granite countertops and nice tile in the kitchen. The bedrooms are large including the master which is really roomy. The condo is kept in great shape and the carpet and furnishings are all superb. It also comes with a 2 car garage which was extremely useful for not only parking but storing a surfboard, bike, and wetsuit during my stay.

What makes this condo even better is the location! It is literally a 2 block walk to the main downtown area of Encinitas on Coast Highway. There are tons of shops, restaurants, bars, and things to do. I especially fell in love with the patio at Beachside Bar & Grill but there are so many great places to check out and all within a short walking distance. And the beach is only 2 more blocks beyond that! It's central to the famous Moonlight beach and D Street beach in Encinitas. Both have easy access and it was great to be able to walk down there without having to worry about parking.

The unit is also across the street from the Coaster train station which offers really easy access up to Oceanside or down to downtown San Diego. I used it primarily to go see a Padres game at the stadium downtown during the time I stayed there.

This is a great condo in a great location and perfect for enjoying the surf town charm that Encinitas carries with it. Definitely a place worthy of a vacation!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review