reviews for: listing #102419 - Beech Mountain, North Carolina House rental

Coexist Cottage
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $100 - $100 /nt
    $600 - $600 /wk
    $2,000 - $2,000 /mth

sort by:

Excellent stay.

Review submitted: April 23, 2014   Date of arrival: April 14, 2014

Cottage was very clean and well equipped, as promised, in the kitchen, bathroom and bedroom. Nice front porch and back deck. Plenty of wood for the fireplace but we did not use the fireplace. Probably should have since it snowed (just showers) the second day we were there. Owners made it easy to rent and follow up with instructions on getting to the cottage and unlocking the door.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect, Private, Cozy, Spacious, Wonderful

Review submitted: February 24, 2014   Date of arrival: February 18, 2014

My wife and I had the best time staying at Coexist Cottage. The place was immaculate and more charming than described online. We enjoyed nestling around the fire in the evenings and listening to the brook sing in the mornings. The front porch was wonderful......we loved it....we'll be back!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Coexist Cottage

Review submitted: February 18, 2014   Date of arrival: February 14, 2014

This cottage is amazing! Perfect for two people and our dog :) We had a great time just relaxing in the mountains, cooking, and eating in front of the fire. We were there with a lot of snow so didn't venture out too much, other than to explore the creek behind the house. There was plenty of firewood provided, and all essentials in kitchen necessary. Very nice amenities in the wireless internet and cable. We hooked up our computer to the TV and watched a lot of netflix, though I'm sure my boyfriend would have rather played the provided Xbox. Very unique cabin that does a great job of providing an all inclusive vibe that is so neat with the cottage's history. Definitely looking forward to coming back!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfection

Review submitted: February 17, 2014   Date of arrival: February 5, 2014

We could not have asked for a more perfect mountain getaway. Centrally located between Boone and Beech Mountain, it was a great spot to kick our boots off at night and snuggle in by the fire. Had all the luxuries of home with all the excitement of vacation. This will be a consistent go to spot for all of our future mountain vacations.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Coexist Cottage

Review submitted: January 5, 2014   Date of arrival: December 22, 2013

The Coexist Cottage was a great place to stay while we were in Boone, NC. Easy to find and the view was amazing from the cottage. Cute inside with a real fireplace made for a wonderful Christmas for my husband and I.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

They thought of everything!

Review submitted: December 2, 2013   Date of arrival: November 27, 2013

A lot of thought and attention to detail went into the decorations at Coexist Cottage! What a beautiful place! We had a great time playing in the snow, watching the stars at night and walking along the stream. Thanks also for the directions to Zudy's Country Store. They were great, and we didn't even know we'd crossed into Tennessee! The whole stay was such a great adventure, and your cottage was the perfect place to come home to!

The best part of staying at Coexist was being so far out in the mountains, yet still relatively close to all the activities at Beech Mountain, Boone, and other favorite destinations.

Our dog, Moose, was made to feel welcome. When we arrived, there was a dog bed set up in the bedroom, and a jar of treats was waiting just for him! It was nice to be able to bring our WHOLE family with us on this vacation!

On a more detailed note, there was access to a complete laundry room. There were snow shovels and a bag of salt in case it got icy. We also had all kinds of extra blankets and linens in the large closet in the bedroom. The addition of extra space heaters was really nice! But, we didn't really need them with a nice fire going in the fireplace!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Coexist Cottage

Review submitted: October 31, 2013   Date of arrival: October 26, 2013

Coexist is such a treasure. sweet little house with a nice view off the back deck. Close to Boone and Valle Crucis, but far enough away to feel like you are getting away. The house was well kept and we greatly enjoyed evenings by the fire.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Absolutely beautiful! Well maintained.

Review submitted: October 29, 2013   Date of arrival: October 20, 2013

My husband and I loved our second stay at Coexist! It is so cozy and clean! The view from the deck is stunning! We loved the little touches that awaited us like a supply of firewood-we built 3 fires during our 3 night stay. The whole experience is enchanting! It's a fantastic get-a-way!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fantastic cottage!!

Review submitted: October 9, 2013   Date of arrival: October 3, 2013

This is a beautiful home, equipped with everything you could need. It is very peaceful and decorated to create a serene environment. It was spotless and had every amenity imaginable - wifi, satellite tv, etc. The price was extremely reasonable for the accommodations. The water pressure was amazing for being in the mountains and it was nice to have two bathrooms.

The only downsides, and these are very minor, is that it is right on the road and with the windows open you could hear cars zooming by all night. Also, the creek is not easily accessible from the house, which was a little disappointing.

Jane was an incredibly gracious host and very responsive to any questions we had. We would definitely stay there again if we have the opportunity to return.

Owners response: I am so glad you enjoyed your stay at Coexist Cottage! There is an easy way to the creek on our property. We have a 2nd driveway on the property (100 ft or so to the left of the cottage) which brings you down to the creek. It is shared with our neighbors in the Green house below. Thanks for choosing our Cottage and we hope you come back soon! Peace out, Jane and John

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful Stay!

Review submitted: April 22, 2013   Date of arrival: April 16, 2013

We had a wonderful mini-vacation at the Coexist Cottage. It was warm, inviting, and comfortable, and we felt right at home. Everything that you could need is within easy reach. We especially enjoyed the lovely decor, extra-large front porch and beautiful views. Even the bath towels were so pretty! You can tell that a lot of thought and care has been put into making this a comfortable atmosphere with mountain-inspired knick-knacks and details, which we adore. Thank you for such a delightful stay. We can't wait to return again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great couples weekend getaway

Review submitted: April 14, 2013   Date of arrival: March 29, 2013

My fiancé and I had a great time at this little cottage. Took the Blue Ridge Parkway to Linville Falls for the day which was beautiful! Great price! Jane was great to work with as well!

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Coexist Cottage

Review submitted: March 1, 2013   Date of arrival: February 22, 2013

Jane,

Thank you so much for renting the cottage to me, I thoroughly enjoyed
it! It was so cute and quaint and just what I needed to get away. I
will absolutely recommend it to my friends and hopefully will be able
to return there myself. I hope I left everything where it was supposed
to be. Hope you have a wonderful day!

Sincerely,
Carrie

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Tara

Review submitted: February 19, 2013   Date of arrival: February 15, 2013

We loved the cottage. It was clean and decorated
Beautifully. Everything was there we needed..
We hope to stay again in the fall.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Some Good/Some Bad

Review submitted: February 4, 2013   Date of arrival: January 28, 2013

Not our best Rental House Experience:
Cons
- House was without heating oil, for 3 days of our stay. There was a series of space heaters set up throughout the house to keep it warm.
- The Circuit for the Entertainment Center was blown and there was an extension cord haphazardly run along the wall of the living room.
- Furniture was well used, and not comforatable. You could see indentations in the back of the couch.
- Kitchen was sparse, and being 30 minutes to a restaurant, plan on cooking.
- House was superficially clean, there were large dust bunnies under the furniture
- Property is very close to the street and you hear every vehichle passing by, espcially trucks using air brakes

Pros
- Jane is a pleasure to deal with and kept us updated on everything throughout our stay.
- Wifi speed is good
- Property is nice and there are some good views


Overall, it was not the best experience and we actually left our trip 2 days early. The house is price appropriately and we probably had our expectations set too high.

Owners response: Thank you for your feedback. We certainly did have a mix up with the oil heat! I sent out my service guy who said there was no oil in the tank. I immediately ran out to Lowes and bought 3 electric heaters since the Oil company could not show up immediately. Since I plugged in all the electric heaters at once, I blew a circuit! I had to run one extension cord for the TV. The oil company told me there was oil in the tank and it was a service problem overlooked. All has been corrected and I am sorry for any the inconvience. We sincerely apoligize that this did not meet your standards and we can certainly understand your concerns. I am glad you did stay warm with the electrical heaters. Yes, our rates are very affordable and we don't even charge a cleaning fee. We can not invest in high-end top furnishings since we keep our rates low. The cottage is geared towards a country mountain life style at a very fair price. Peace out, Jane

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Anniversary Weekend

Review submitted: January 15, 2013   Date of arrival: January 11, 2013

My husband and I celebrated our 3rd Anniversary at the Coexist Cottage along with our CoCo. The view was great from the back porch and watching the stars in the black sky was awesome with no city lights! My husband and I are fans of the Andy Griffith Show and found the Mayberry Monopoly in the game closet. We had sooo much playing....of course my husband won...darn it! lol We so enjoyed the different artifacts and decor of the cottage. We rode up to Beech Mountain and had pizza at the Brickoven Pizzeria. The pizza was delicious and the restaurant was enjoyable as we watched all the college students come in from being on the ski slopes. The cottage was so perfect with all the comforts of home and close to everything. Coco so enjoyed the comforts of the bed available for pets and he loved the dog treats. For those who stay at the cottage don't forget the marshmallows...the fireplace was very relaxing and mesmermizing. We are looking forward to returning. Thank you Jane for making our stay a memorable anniversary!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are were honored to have you guys stay for your Anniversary. We are glad you enjoyed your mountain getaway:) Jane

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Exceeded all expectations!

Review submitted: January 13, 2013   Date of arrival: January 1, 2013

What a charming cottage with details galore! It had everything you would want to be able to enjoy a getaway---full kitchen, laundry, plenty of firewood, and gorgeous views. Plus, it was close enough to Boone to enjoy shops and coffee houses. Can't wait to make a return trip!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

AMAZING

Review submitted: January 13, 2013   Date of arrival: January 1, 2013

What a perfect spot for a much needed getaway! We loved the coziness of the cottage and enjoyed driving into Boone to explore the unique shops and restaurants. The directions to the top of Beech Mountain were perfect! We hope to stay again in the fall to enjoy the views from the deck. (Cooper loved his doggie treats and bed!)

Recommended for: pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Coexist Cottage

Review submitted: November 4, 2012   Date of arrival: October 5, 2012

Dear Jane,

Your cabin was absolutely perfect, and so extremely cute inside! My girlfriend and I loved it!! And Scott found the dog treats right away...he thanks you as well;) Best wishes, Justin and Isabel, Columbus, Ohio

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Coexist Cottage

Review submitted: October 30, 2012   Date of arrival: October 26, 2012

Jane,

The house was awesome! My girlfriend wants to copy everything you've done once we buy our own, so you might need a patent :) Great location, we went into Boone for a night then went hiking over in Roan Mountain the other day. It was a great set up. We will definitely stay with you again!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Unique, Amazing, Peaceful, Spectacular

Review submitted: October 23, 2012   Date of arrival: October 16, 2012

Hi all!

My fiance and I (and our two doggies) had a wonderful vacation at the Co-Exist Cottage. The pictures here don't do justice to the unique, peaceful, generous atmosphere this place provides. The place was clean, very well organized, with a variety of different items from a swath of different cultures decorating the house (but never cluttered, everything felt like it was in its right place). Jane left a great set of instructions/welcome message, and the place has all the things you could want from a vacation spot - tv's in both the livingroom and bedroom with an X-box to boot (if that's your bent) plus a great little fireplace with lots of firewood, board games, and a true sense of seclusion (if that's what you are looking for). The property was well maintained, beautiful, and just emanated such a sense of well-being.

Can't say enough about how nice it was to stay at a place which felt so inviting, without being overbearing, close enough to the gas station for supplies, but far enough away from the neighbors and "civilization" to provide a true "retreat."

The only thing I'd suggest is, if you want to follow the directions up to Beech Mountain, is to make sure you have an appropriate car for the terrain. Us "city folk" and our lame-o Hyundai Accent didn't expect the gravel/mountain roads - not to say it wasn't an adventure, just would be better if we had something that was a little more "off-the-beaten-track" friendly. Same thing in and around Beech Mountain - Google Maps doesn't have a "identify unpaved road option." So, if you are going to be trying to get to Banner Elk, and you ain't got a truck, stick to the "main" roads. Your shocks will thank ya, say true.

Can't say enough good things here - was such a welcome break from the hustle and bustle of daily life (to wax cliche). Will definitely plan on coming back sometime in the future when time and funds allow.

Thanks, enjoy!
-Micah-

Owners response: Micah, Thanks so much for staying at the Coexist Cottage!!!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Coexist Cottage

Review submitted: October 17, 2012   Date of arrival: October 12, 2012

Hi Jane,

Deborah and I would like to thank you for a wonderful weekend at Coexist Cottage. We found it easily and everything about it was just right. Deborah especially loved the decor. We built fires both nights (no, the raccoons didn't steal the firewood!) and also enjoyed watching the sunset and the multitude of stars appear from the deck. We found our way to Banner Elk from Buckeye Rd. to 194 but couldn't find the top of Beech Mountain although Mapquest indicated it was possible. We'll just have to come back and do more exploring. We were trying to avoid Boone as much as possible because traffic there was even worse than usual!

It was a great time and we look forward to a return visit. The weather was perfect and all our memories are very positive. Thanks again and many blessings.

-- Barry and Deborah

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review