reviews for: listing #102477 - Key West, Florida Houseboat rental

Most Unique Rental in Paradise! MV Coconuts!
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  yes
  • type  Houseboat
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $300 - $500 /nt
    $2,100 - $3,100 /wk

sort by:

BEST. VACATION. EVER. All Aboard the Coconuts!

Review submitted: July 25, 2012   Date of arrival: July 8, 2012

I will probably run out of space listing so many good things I can say about staying on the M/V Coconuts for our family's annual Florida vacation...but I'll try :-).

My family of five (wife and three kids - 12, 8, and 6) booked in to a week aboard the boat as a fun change of pace from staying in vanilla-flavored condos for the last few vacations, and couldn't have been more overwhelmingly amazed at the experience we had. This thing is spacious, comfortable, and fun - the owners and management company behind this place have gone above and beyond to erase any doubts that staying on a boat like this will require some compromise.

The bedrooms were well furnished, with DirecTV and Ikea beds that were a welcome repose after exhausting ourselves in Key West all day. The best part about them is that the layout of the boat allows them to be in completely separate parts of the boat to isolate the zaniness three kids can provide, yet be close enough to make us feel like we were still living together in the same place :-). My wife and I stayed in the forward "berth" under the deck, and really enjoyed the view up through the hatch at night.

The rest of the boat is just as awesome - its full kitchen has everything you would need to feed a brood of ravenous kids. Full-sized fridge, oven, microwave, and dishwasher made our onboard meals very convenient. Two separate bathrooms with showers also kept us all from tripping over each other when we were trying to get ready to hit Duval Street and Mallory Square at night...MAJOR points for that!

However, the biggest lure of this place is its location - it is moored at the back end of the Key West Marina, which is great for a few reasons you may not expect. First, this makes the view from the top deck something else - an endless view of the Atlantic's turquoise waters. Second, the marina traffic is isolated away from the berth as well...not that that's a bad thing, but this made for a VERY quiet stay. I think the only water-based disturbance we had was when my wife saw a Manatee swim up to the aft deck one night :-).

As for the rest of the experience - it was completed by the awesome, awesome oversight by the Last Key Realty property management team. They went out of their way to make sure we first found the place (not an easy task), then checked up on the boat over the week to make sure there were no issues.

I can't recommend this place enough - BOOK YOUR STAY NOW!!!

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Fabulous Stay! Didn't Want to Leave!

Review submitted: July 18, 2012   Date of arrival: June 30, 2012

We had the pleasure of staying with SleepAfloat in Key West June 30th to July 6th 2012. Let’s start by saying Key West is a must see. It’s funky it’s friendly and it is just down right cool. We had a great time with Sun Set Water Sports Do It All, ate at many of the local spots and shopped for souvenirs all up and down Duval Street. The weather was fantastic and a good time was had by all. Back to SleepAfloat, I have to start by thanking Marcia the hardest working agent we met on our trip, she answered every question with patience and understanding. We booked the Blue Do Cat for 6 nights, after 2 nights it became apparent that a lack of foresight on my part was interfering with our vacation, that lack of foresight being my 6’8” 280 pound 17 year old son Andrew was just too big for the boat, he couldn’t quite fit anywhere. On the third morning we met Youman and Trenton who are SleepAfloats cleaning lady and maintenance man for that Marina, she saw with her own eyes the predicament we had and immediately called Marcia. It turns out the boat next to the Blue Dog Cat was the MV Coconuts, also a SleepAfloat rental. They had us moved in in a couple of hours and with virtual no charge to us. I couldn’t say more about the customer service. As for the boats, Blue Dog Cat is kind of like seeing how the other half lives, want to be a millionaire for a week or so rent this boat in this marina and you will see how they live. The MV Coconuts on the other hand is just plain funky with incredible views and decks all over the place, my wife almost cried when we had to leave. That is how much she loved the stay.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Nuts for Coconuts

Review submitted: May 1, 2012   Date of arrival: April 14, 2012

Coconuts was everything we expected! Bright, cheerful, comfortable, enchanting. It was very clean and very well outfitted.
We particularly enjoyed the decks; sitting outside, overlooking the marina, was the perfect way to begin and end each day. Breakfast and evening cocktails took on a special air with the sights and smells of this little corner of the world.
The restaurant and other facilities of the yacht club were just as expected - easily accessible, meticulously maintained, and very inviting. My family particularly enjoyed the complimentary use of the kayaks and pool.
The property manager was attentive, accommodating, and only a phone call or email away.
Our family rented scooters for the 18 year olds, and that was the perfect solution to bridging the short distance from Coconuts to the center of Key West for them. The adults used a vehicle, which is necessary to enjoy the many sites of Key West from this location. But....the little bit of distance from Coconuts to Key West is well worth the serenity of the location.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Birthday surprise with twins

Review submitted: March 22, 2012   Date of arrival: March 3, 2012

Wow, Coconuts was one of the best trips we have ever taken. Just great. The boat, the harbor, the support. All just great. We loved being there. Our twins, 5 years old, simply loved the wheel-house, the entire boat was a real treat. Even the Navy jets flying over, something I was concerned about, were fun, most of the time. The dock-side is wonderful. It's a real community feel. You can easily get to know the other boaters, some of them full-timers. We could not have asked for more. Thank you.

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Birthday surprise with twins

Review submitted: March 22, 2012   Date of arrival: March 3, 2012

Wow, Coconuts was one of the best trips we have ever taken. Just great. The boat, the harbor, the support. All just great. We loved being there. Our twins, 5 years old, simply loved the wheel-house, the entire boat was a real treat. Even the Navy jets flying over, something I was concerned about, were fun, most of the time. The dock-side is wonderful. It's a real community feel. You can easily get to know the other boaters, some of them full-timers. We could not have asked for more. Thank you.

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Description was fairly accurate.

Review submitted: February 8, 2012   Date of arrival: January 28, 2012

I found this unit and found it to be very unique. We arrived late on a Saturday, I had called the contact person upon arriving, The unit was open and the key was there. We went out to town had dinner and shopped for the needed items. Our party of four retired early. The next miorning we realized that some of the unit had not been cleaned. I did call the real estate. They called, the owners had been in a rush, they usally took care of everything. That day two women came in and did clean for us. I would recommend this unit to poeple who do not stairs, there are alot of them, The area offers many things to do or not do. Our party of four felt hat there should have been some more direction in caring for the unit, Things to do and not to do with electric, water, septic system, sheets, ect. Some other things did happen and were taken care of promptly. Having learned all of the ins and outs I would do this again in the future.

Owners response: These were the very first guests on board the Coconuts. We were mortified that the property was not completely clean when our they checked in. This happened as a result of a mix-up with the owner, who hadn't told us they would be back on the boat. We have since sorted out the issues that became evident during our first guests' stay.

Helpful votes: 18 / 19

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review