reviews for: listing #102595 - Linville, North Carolina Cabin rental

Lewdog Lodge
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  Cabin
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Alpendorf
  • sleeps  5
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $150 - $150 /nt
    $900 - $900 /wk

sort by:

Perfect home away from home!

Review submitted: July 16, 2013   Date of arrival: July 11, 2013

We enjoyed 3 days at the 'Lewdog Lodge' for wedding in the area. Staying here was the perfect way to spend a long weekend and a mini-vacation. The cabin was comfortable, clean and cozy. The views were scenic and the location perfect for all exciting excursions in the area; hiking, swimming and bbq. Working with the owners was seamless. We hope to have the opportunity to visit again.
Many thanks!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

So relaxing!

Review submitted: March 22, 2013   Date of arrival: February 15, 2013

My husband and I have stayed at Lewdog Lodge twice now and plan on returning as often as possible. This is great place to just relax and unwind. The view is wonderful and it is such a quite, peaceful little place. The first time we were there in the fall and enjoyed the changing colors. It was a great location for going out and exploring, whether driving on the Blue Ridge, seeing Grandfather Mountain, hiking or kicking around the small towns nearby. The second time we stayed in and watched it snow with a nice cozy fire. Judy is great to work with. Everything is as she states only nicer. We feel very much at home here. I would recommend this to a couple or small family group. I just feel a little selfish in hoping that it is available next time I want to come.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A SLICE OF HEAVEN

Review submitted: December 6, 2012   Date of arrival: September 15, 2012

Selfishly, I would like to say that this was the worst joint I ever stayed in just so nobody else would rent it and we would have it all to ourselves. Seriously, even being long time friends with the owners, it was beyond our wildest dreams. I may never sleep on the ground again in Linville Gorge knowing this is so nearby! This place had "special' meaning to us which made our experience even greater. We arrived at dusk just in time to watch the sun set on Grandfather Mountain then enjoy the beautiful stars. We built a fire (firelog actually) and enjoyed a glass of wine in the peaceful setting along with the glorious smell of all the rhododendrons which envelope the house. We enjoyed a candle light dinner, then retired on the couch and just enjoyed being light years away from stress.
We read through magazines about the area then explored ever nook and cranny in the area. I could have spent days in a couple of the antique malls alone. There were many dining spots from dives to upscale, but our favorite meal came right off the grill on the deck. We do not have to ever look for another cabin to stay in. Lewdog Lounge will forever be our favorite spot. A little piece of heaven only a few hours away, but worth the trip no matter where you live!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great break from the summer heat

Review submitted: August 7, 2012   Date of arrival: July 29, 2012

We were looking for a way to beat the summer heat. Lewdog Lodge provided the perfect escape for our family of six. The comfortable, cozy lodge is quiet, set beautifully in the Blue Ridge mountains. Outstanding view of Grandfather Mountiain from the deck and not far from Linville Falls, and Blow Rock, NC. We did a couple of hikes (Linville Falls and Linville Wilderness Area) and enjoyed them both. A drive along the Blue Ridge Parkway is a must!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A little piece of mountain heaven

Review submitted: September 15, 2011   Date of arrival: August 26, 2011

This cabin was awesome! Once at the cabin you feel as though you are literally amongst the trees... almost like being in a very nice grown-up treehouse. The views from the two porches are phenomenal! The feel in the cabin is the perfect mix of cozy quaintness with updated touches such as modern appliances and updated bathrooms. It is centrally located to so many great little towns such as Banner Elk and Boone to name a few. So much to do around this area... hiking, caving, gem mining, rafting and Tweetsie Railroad. However, once you return to the cabin the peace afforded by the quiet is heaven-like. If you are looking for a quiet peaceful place with amazing views to stay whilst you explore the nearby mountains and towns then this is the place for you. I feel very lucky to have stayed at such a beautiful place. The owner's were great to deal with and provided clear communication. My family will definitely return to this property the next time we head up for a mountain getaway!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Authentic NC mountains experience

Review submitted: July 16, 2011   Date of arrival: June 17, 2011

In trying to come up with a descripton of my stay at Lewdog Lodge, I kept coming back to the word "authentic." An authentic North Carolina mountain home. A good sense of place. Not at all generic, as much of travel can become. It is not at all new, in the good sense, in that if feels a part of the location. But plenty comfortable with updated bathrooms, kitchen and amenities.
It is clear from the moment you walk down the path that this is an inviting place. Family pictures on the wall display fun times.

Cozy, warm (in the emotional sense, not literally, I went to excape the NC summer heat in the Piedmont). And I have already booked it again for late summer. My only hope is this review does not result in me being closed out for a weekend this fall.
Take binoculars. Telephoto lens. Description of view of Grandfather Mountain from the house and the deck is not exaggerated.
Accessing downstairs requires a ladder step climb, which older kids will love. I liked even at 55+, but might not be good for everyone. Master bedroom on main floor no problem.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Stay here because we say so

Review submitted: January 26, 2011   Date of arrival: December 18, 2010

Lewdog's lodge was great. We are two mid-twenties students who wanted to head to the mountains for a weekend retreat. We went in mid-December and had a lovely time. The drive to the Blue Ridge Parkway is only about 5-10 minutes. The parkway was closed but we were able to park and walk along it. All of the views without a soul around. Linville gorge is also close by and beautiful. The cabin had everything we needed and the owners were very responsive. The only problem we had was making it up the road and, while the owners told us that snow chains would be helpful, all of the auto shops were closed by the time we made it into town (about 3:00 or 4:00 on a Saturday). So, our only piece of advice would be to make appropriate preparations if you plan to visit during the winter. Thanks, and we definitely recommend Lewdog's.

P.S. The "neighboorhood"? dog Joey is awesome. We loved him.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Thanksgiving 2010 at Lewdog Lodge

Review submitted: December 4, 2010   Date of arrival: November 25, 2010

If you want to get away from the hustle and bustle of life then the Lewdog Lodge is the place to go! We decided to can the traditional Thanksgiving and relax in our new favorite place in the Blue Ridge Mountains. Easy access to the Parkway too! Since being outdoors and hiking are our thing, that is what we mostly did while not at the Lodge. We hiked to Linville Falls, Green Knob Trail and also visited Linville Caverns. We plan to return soon!
This cute cabin was very clean, well maintained and decorated so tastefully! We felt like we knew the owners just from the stories the pictures told. The owners were responsive to every question we had right away and extremely kind. We would recommend this to our friends and family - as long as we aren't competing for reservations! :)
Thank you Judy and Malcolm!
The Wilkinson family

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A Great Experience

Review submitted: September 15, 2010   Date of arrival: September 7, 2010

My wife and I had a very nice visit and experience. The setting is private and view of Grandfather Mountain is fabulous. The cabin itself is fully furnished exactly as pictured. Most importantly, everything was very clean. Grandfather Mountain is just 3 miles away and is a must see and experience. Not only should you walk the Swinging Bridge but hike, if able, farther up the trail. It is a very memorable outing. Then come back to the cabin, sit on the porch and congratulate yourself for accomplishing that piece of rock. The comfort and beauty of this setting is so relaxing. Mexican, Italian and other restaurant varieties are close by as well as Grocery (Lowes Food Center) and and fuel. Sugar Mountain is not far at all and just a little further is Beech Mountain. A good raining day event is to travel up to Boone (Appalachian State) and go to the Mast General Store on the way. And, of cousre, the Blue Ridge Parkway is so close. The cabin owner was so helpful and very detailed with information and directions. Bottom line, this facility is very well worth the value. And, we even saw a good size black bear just in front of our parked car. That was a real, unforgettable treat. Enjoy.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 9, 2010   Date of arrival: September 17, 2009

Thank you so much for such a relaxing weekend. It is so peaceful here and I know why you love it so. We hiked to Linville Falls and it was beautiful. God bless you both!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Cozy Cabin with a Beautiful View!

Review submitted: March 25, 2010   Date of arrival: February 10, 2009

Our family loved Lewdog's Lodge! It was great sitting on the deck enjoying the beautiful view and sitting by a cozy fire at night-We visited Grandfather Mtn in the summer and Sugar Mtn in the winter. Can't wait to go back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 25, 2010   Date of arrival: February 4, 2010

Had a wonderful weekend & really enjoyed your place. Hope to come back next year & bring our daughters. They were so jealous after seeing the photos we sent them.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review