reviews for: listing #10271 - Mendocino, California House rental

Oceanfront Home - Spectacular Views, Hot tub, Fireplace
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $295 - $330 /nt
    $1,800 - $2,100 /wk

sort by:

wow factor

Review submitted: September 22, 2013   Date of arrival: September 8, 2013

We could not have asked for more. This place has it all. Comfort, views, lots of amenities and space. We enjoyed the deck, cooked (very well stocked kitchen for spices and such), watched movies and basically relaxed for the week. Mendicino is a short drive and so were lots of sightseeing opportunities. Seamus was very helpful and accommodating. We would definately recommend this rental.

Recommended for: families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Not to be missed

Review submitted: September 5, 2013   Date of arrival: August 21, 2013

A beautiful, meticulously maintained property in an unbelievable setting.
My wife, two teenagers and I were all swept away -- captivated by the magically
shifting light, the delicious air and sumptuous comfort. From first contact, all of
my dealings with Seamus were a complete delight -- attentive, hospitable and
justifiably proud of this lovely home. Wish we'd had two weeks instead of four nights!
Can't wait to return.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A treat for the soul!!

Review submitted: August 22, 2013   Date of arrival: August 17, 2013

This home was beyond expectations. No detail was overlooked to make our stay comfortable and effortless. The views are outstanding and the property private. Once there we cooked dinner in each night just to enjoy a taste of bubbles watching the sunsets. We will definitely return on another visit to the Mendocino coast.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Soothing Comfort

Review submitted: August 16, 2013   Date of arrival: June 16, 2013

Our annual visit to the SeaEscape is always the highlight of the year. Can't say enough good things about the comfort of the home and the incredible view of the Pacific and the high bluffs. It's hard to pull ourselves away from the deck...why would you want to? All the things you could want from the northern California coastline is a short drive away including secluded beaches, coastal towns, and lighthouses. The hosts are exceptional people; friendly and accommodating...you couldn't ask for more attentive owners. They stock the house with everything you need. Just bring your food and a bottle of wine and your 'In Heaven at SeaEscape'.

Recommended for: sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing Getaway

Review submitted: August 6, 2013   Date of arrival: June 14, 2013

We planned a belated mother's day gift/getaway with our parents and couldn't have asked for a better trip. Upon arrival, I was immediately impressed with the location, beautiful views and well appointed rooms (everything was provided with the utmost care and thought to the guests). I have stayed at the house in the past, so was not surprised with the amazing accommodations. This will definitely be a yearly vacation spot for us. The moms echoed all of the rave reviews we had given the house earlier. We were pleased to share this special stay with them. An absolutely wonderful getaway!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Definitely a Home away from Home!

Review submitted: July 17, 2013   Date of arrival: June 21, 2013

After spending three nights and four days in this beautiful home, I couldn't imagine considering an alternative to SeaEscape! Our Family had the most memorable time and will absolutely be back again. From the beginning (booking) to the end (check-out) Seamus was so helpful and very accommodating. Prior to our arrival I called Seamus to ask if we needed to bring towels/wash cloths....looking back on that I laugh because SeaEscape has anything and everything you would need to feel at home. The kitchen is FULLY stocked! The back patio is where we spent most of our time as the view is spectacular! Mendocino is about a 15 minute drive, however, we found ourselves at "home" a majority of the time as there really was no need to leave. Thank you Seamus-We will see you next year!

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great escape!

Review submitted: November 13, 2012   Date of arrival: October 23, 2012

Highly recommended! As soon as you go through the gates, it's like you're in your own private retreat. So peaceful, beautiful, and relaxing! We had a girls getaway and the setup of the house was perfect. The kitchen is very well stocked and the home is beautifully furnished. The location cannot be beat! stunning scenery - amazing sunsets, the drive through the redwood forest, the vineyards...that area is one of the most beautiful places in USA.
The information provided by the owners was very helpful, everything from driving directions, grocery store, recommended restaurants and things to do. I will definitely be back. The only thing I would change, is I would love to bring my dog, but I understand the reason for not allowing pets.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Gorgeous Sunsets

Review submitted: October 11, 2012   Date of arrival: October 1, 2012

My husband and I enjoyed our week in this warm, welcoming home. Our daughter and her husband and 6 month old son joined us for 3 nights and they also loved the home and all of its ammenities. SeaEscape is very clean, well maintained and tastefully decorated. The views from the deck and balconies are breathtaking. We left only twice for lunch in Mendocino and breakfast at Queenies in Elk because we had everything we needed right there. Thank you Seamus and Natalia for your labor of love! Your home exceeded all of our expectations and Seamus you went over and above by personally delivering a new refrigerator!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great escape

Review submitted: October 8, 2012   Date of arrival: September 21, 2012

Delightful home Beautiful place I would stay again it was more then I expected very comfortable and clean ,very well stocked kitchen View was priceless and sunset . Thank you Seamus & Natalia my friends had a wonderful time .We are planning are next trip sincerely Denise Charrette

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Seascape Memories

Review submitted: August 7, 2012   Date of arrival: July 18, 2012

Upon arrival, we knew we had booked the right place to create more wonderful memories. My sister and her daughter, my daughters, and now the first granddaughter to be old enough to join us have been doing these yearly get togethers for over twenty years. Seascape provided us every opportunity to create some of the best experiences yet.
The home is welcoming immediately. It is well stocked and shiny clean and well maintained. The owner, Seamus, immediately called to make sure everything was in order and that there was nothing we may have needed. There was a list of restuarants that we used and places of interest we could look into if so inclined. We cooked in quite a bit but ventured out to beautiful beaches and glorious hikes.
All of us had a perfect get together and would return here anytime. We highly recommend you give this lovely escape a try.
Patti Bell

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

So Amazing!!

Review submitted: May 18, 2012   Date of arrival: April 13, 2012

Seamus and Natalia~

Thank you so much for having such a splendid cliffside vacation rental!

As stated in reviews I read online, your home is well appointed and very user friendly. It became "our home" in no time!

Your directions were perfect! We enjoyed the drive up the coast and we knew just when to start looking for the turn into the drive.

The view from this lovely dwelling is outstanding! We had a flock of pelicans fly
over while we were checking out the deck upon arrival, and many, many more
wonderful creatures flew by during our stay. That was something I really
enjoyed....reading on the deck and watching the birds and the ocean.

In the past, we have stayed at Heritage House once or twice a year. We found staying in your lovely home to be relaxing, comfortable and very restful...just what we longed for. My favorite thing was being in the hottub, watching the sun set! So amazing!!!

If you'll have us, we would very much like to visit your lovely sanctuary again in the future.

Thank you for sharing your labor of love with us!

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

SeaEscape is Heavenly

Review submitted: February 6, 2012   Date of arrival: January 25, 2012

SeaEscape was everything as advertised and so much more. Hosts Seamus and Natalia imagined a guest's every whim and comfort and provided a warm, welcoming home! The pictures didn't capture the sound of the waves crashing in the cove below, the pods of whales passing by, the glorious sunsets over the Pacific, the milky way overhead at night and the moon glistening over the water chased by Venus and Jupiter. Incredibly comfortable bedrooms with ocean views, a well stocked kitchen, a beautiful rock hearth, spacious outdoor deck and a wonderful hot tub. We couldn't have asked for anything more! What a fabulous way to celebrate any special occasion. We can hardly wait to return! The beaches up and down the coast are beautiful, with some incredible hidden gems. Lots of terrific restaurants with good food and breathtaking views, great hiking and wildlife, Catch a Canoe for a trip up the Little River, the Skunk Train in Mendocino, highway 128 through the redwood forest and your pick of wineries -- so much to take advantage of . . . but you won't want to leave the deck overlooking the ocean! You won't believe how good life can be!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Home Away from Home

Review submitted: January 23, 2012   Date of arrival: January 3, 2012

Prior to renting this amazing location, I read the reviews to see if I would be interested and they all have it right. Starting with the phone call after arriving from the owner, Seamus to make sure all was well, to the quiet and secure feeling you have to the fully equiped house with just about everything you can imagine including the welcome bottle of wine. On top of all of this you have amazing views, waves crashing against the sea cliff below and on our day of departure a pod of about 20+ whales swimming north joining us on the journey home.

I would have to say, if you are looking for a very special place to land where you don't have to leave or if you are looking for that place to rest up in after a day of seeing the local sites, you can't go wrong with Seascape. I would not hesitate to come back.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. SeaEscape is a labor of love for us. It is very rewarding to hear that you had a memorable visit.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Spectacular and Comfortable Escape by the Sea

Review submitted: August 18, 2011   Date of arrival: July 24, 2011

Our stay at Seaescape was incredible. The house exceeded expectations. The setting is private and the views from the deck (and hot tub!) overlooking the Pacific were unbelievable. The house itself is comfy, with the best stocked kitchen in a home rental I have experienced. It even had laundry. The hosts go "above and beyond" in making sure your stay is great; it is clear that they have put a personal touch into the business of rental property (no anonymous management company here). The location is superb -- nearby Elk is a charming village with beach of driftwood and dramatic rocks. We went horseback riding at nearby Irish Beach. You can go for a walk in the redwoods or kayaking to sea caves. We basically explored everything on the Mendocino coast from Ft. Bragg to Pt. Arena in our week at Seaescape. If you want privacy, comfort, and the cool calm of the Mendocino Coast, this is a place not to miss. I brought my kids (two under age 10 and my in-laws) My family is coming back (hopefully soon).

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

return visitor

Review submitted: July 9, 2011   Date of arrival: April 26, 2011

I usually never go to the same place twice, but I came back for more. The house is great, very user friendly, has everything you need. Have steak and lobster on the BBQ, get in the hot tub, enjoy the sunset from the top decks, and morning coffe in the front garden,perfect.Drive a bit south to Manchester beach, go a bit north to canoe, biking,hiking, check out Mendo., or even some ocean kayaking,we did it all and still had a great time at the house.Fireplace and hot tub ended each night. Can't beat it.And the drive through Anderson Valley is quite nice.Check it out!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

The Perfect Dream!

Review submitted: June 4, 2011   Date of arrival: May 4, 2011

My husband Joe and I had the pleasure of staying here for our 20th Wedding Anniversary and it could not have been more perfect. So much attention to detail. I mean every tiny little thing was taken into consideration that you could possibly need. Not only was it very private, but extremely comfortable, welcoming and the view EXTRAORDINARY! Sunsets on the deck was the perfect moment! Thank you soooooo much! We will be back for sure! I HIGHLY RECOMMEND this home away from home!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Simply wonderful!

Review submitted: May 10, 2011   Date of arrival: April 29, 2011

Our group was made up of friends who have known each other for 35+ years. We look for moments to slow our life and make time to breath and catch up from our hectic, wild lives. Seascape was just the escape we were looking for! We drove into the property (following the excellent instructions sent by Seamus!) and fell in love with our own home on a cliff! We scurried out to the deck and stood watching the ocean - and found our own little cave below with water flowing through it! In the house we loved all the unique touches, the fireplace, the driftwood wall and handles - then we picked our rooms. What a delight - everyone had exactly what they wanted! Back down to the kitchen for the requisite cheese and wine (Yes, we poured a glass for our hosts every night in case they decided to give up the city life at the last minute and join us!) The mood this place creates is simply one of joy.and warmth. We followed some of the suggestions - and would concur - you MUST have breakfast at Queenie's! Thank you Seamus and Natalia for making and sharing such a lovely place to run away to. I would highly recommend Sea Escape as a place to stay for families, friends or couples. Actually anyone who is looking to have a wonderful, delightful, beautiful, fun getaway! Read all the info you are sent - it is perfect! Everyone should stay here -- -- except when we decide we need to come back! HA! Can NOT say enough good things --- my dearest friend was deeply inspired and is now finishing a book that has been in a state of limbo and it is coming along wonderfully now!! So! all the above and a "muse" as well!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

A slice of mendocino Heaven

Review submitted: April 12, 2011   Date of arrival: March 17, 2011

I am hesitant to write the amazing review SeaEscape deserves for fear it will gain too much attention from new renters. But, in all honesty SeaEscape is one heavenly experience. The house ammenities are fantastic, room size and decor quaint and charming, and the location indescribable. We simply can't wait to return to the coast and to this house. Next time, no day trips - just pure R&R oceanside at this beautiful location. The added bonus is working with the owner - fun and easy!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review