reviews for: listing #102727 - Mission Beach, California Condo rental

Wow! **50' Ocean Frontage** Private HOT TUB
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  Condo
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $295 - $395 /nt
    $1,895 - $3,995 /wk

sort by:

The best ocean and people watching view, right in the middle of all the action!

Review submitted: October 5, 2012   Date of arrival: September 28, 2012

If you are looking for a fun, elegant vacation home with the best views, then this is the house. You can see your kids out in the ocean right from your front patio. Right around the corner is the Belmont Roller coaster. The house was spectacular and had everything needed to enjoy our vacation, to include boogie boards, long boards and beach toys. The spa was clean and heated when we got there. Nick was very helpful and showed us how to work everything including the awning out front, which made the sunny evenings most enjoyable. We honestly didn’t spend much money, because we never want to leave the house. We will certainly be back next year!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Great location, comfortable stay

Review submitted: April 11, 2014   Date of arrival: March 29, 2014

A family of four stayed at this property for a week comfortably. The condo was clean and spacious. Bedding and towels were nice. We loved sitting on the deck without having to walk anywhere to see the ocean. We also enjoyed people watching and so many people stopped to say hi and wished they were staying so close to all the action.
Spring break was that week so we only had one incident with noise and an unwelcomed person tapping on our door in the middle of the night.
We had a great time. We would return and recommend it to our friends.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Good family vacation with 3 year old

Review submitted: April 1, 2014   Date of arrival: March 25, 2014

The location is great. There was a lot of construction at Belmont Park 3-25-14 thru 3-29-14 but not the condo's issue. Lots to do in area. Zoo, LaJoll sealion cove, Coronado Hotel and Harbor. Condo was well stocked with kitchen utensils and cooking supplies, toilet paper, paper towels, dish, hand and laundry soaps. Could have used some kleenex. Clean and updated for the most part. Hot tub was nice. No kitchen/dining table to eat at but we managed. Good local restaurants, The Mission Cafe, Luigi's, Cody's in LaJolla. Do Not eat at World Famous. Worst seafood EVER! Sent our meals back and they were comped! Small ants at house due to some other renter leaving box of sugar in cabinets. I was annoyed with that. We threw away sugar but could have used some ant traps. Overall good time!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Incredible spot with responsive management

Review submitted: January 3, 2014   Date of arrival: December 27, 2013

The pictures of this rental are amazing and the location delivers. The patio opens up right onto the beachfront path and the hot tub was excellent, though a few of the cushions had fallen off. The only bummer was the collection of beer cans behind the side of the hot tub but sunsets from the Jacuzzi were epic. The gas barbecue had run out of gas but when I called the manager, he was there with replacement gas in 10 minutes.

The condo itself was very clean and there were plenty of towels available, despite what had been previously reported. The automatic window shades were a nice touch when turning in for the evening. The appliances and kitchen were adequate and the beds were more than comfortable.

The location is incredible; literally steps from the roller coaster and a whole host of other games. We utilized the all-day ride pass and made many quick trips from the condo to the attractions.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Owners response: Dan, thanks for your review. Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay! Just note that our janitorial crew has cleaned up behind the hot tub. Hope to see you next year!!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fabulous Girls Weekend!

Review submitted: October 9, 2013   Date of arrival: October 3, 2013

Four of my girlfriends and myself went out to San Diego for our 10 year reunion. We had such a wonderful time at Nick's condo. We loved drinking coffee and people watching on the patio every morning and happy hour in the hot tub at sunset every night. The beach chairs were much appreciated and used every day. We loved our time on Mission Beach and wouldn't hesitate to stay here again. Thanks for a wonderful weekend!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wonderful setting, location, and very comfortable

Review submitted: August 6, 2013   Date of arrival: July 27, 2013

My husband and two toddlers spent a week here and had a wonderful time. The condo has everything you could ask for - except beach towels (but maybe I just didn't find them). We cooked nearly every meal while we were there and were pleased with how well the kitchen was "stocked" although we would also recommend adding a few plastic bowls/plates to the mix. The view is spectacular and the location is great. Nick was very helpful and responsive although it was difficult to communicate over the phone given that the reception is terrible. Use of your phone is really only available outside... Also, although there is not a dining table inside, there is a table outside, which is where we ate mostly and preferred to do so! I would come back and would highly recommend this unit.

Recommended for: families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Gorgeous house in a great location

Review submitted: August 5, 2013   Date of arrival: July 20, 2013

This rental is as beautiful as it looks on the internet. It was very clean, and everything is top of the line, which created a gorgeous space to vacation. It was nice being greeted by the owner, Nick. I also loved that he was available by phone call/text message if we had any problems. To be perfectly honest, I was a little worried there may be too much noise since it's so close to the roller coaster, but we were pleasantly surprised that not only was the noise not a problem, but it was actually a great location to people watch. The patio is fabulous, and sitting in a hot tub while looking at the ocean is about as good as it gets. The house was perfect for a family of four. It would have been helpful to have a dresser in the second bedroom, but that is the only suggestion I would make. It was well stocked with laundry detergent, diswashing soap, etc. which was helpful. The garage was a little tight to pull into, (we have a Chevy Tahoe) but once the vehicle was in the garage door, there was plenty of room. I would absolutely recommend this property to someone. We are already looking forward to renting this house next year!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Paradise by the ocean light

Review submitted: July 23, 2013   Date of arrival: July 13, 2013

This place was AMAZING! We were pleasantly surprised upon arrival that it was even better than the pictures made it appear, which is not usually the case. Everything was very clean. The kitchen, baths and furnishings were top notch. Plenty of linens, supplies, cookware,etc. And of course the patio was the highlight! We felt like royalty and the envy of the beachwalk. Lots of space and chairs, and a luxurious hot tub too!
There were a couple of things we would have used had they been there: a dining table and chairs, screens on the windows, maybe a cutting board in the kitchen? And shades which could be lowered on the big living room windows at night would be a nice option.
But overall, nothing but good times can be had here in this happy house! Nick was very accommodating and always responsive. We will definitely be back!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Location for familes

Review submitted: July 22, 2013   Date of arrival: July 6, 2013

It was perfect for our family and the condo was just as promised. It had all the amenities. We had 4 teenagers who thought it was the best vacation ever. They had a great time. They could go to beach and we could relax watch from the patio, it was great. The Jacuzzi was great after time in the ocean, it is a nice touch.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The PERFECT Spot In Mission Beach for Fun In the Sun!

Review submitted: May 15, 2013   Date of arrival: May 8, 2013

Every year my boyfriend and I do something special for my birthday. This year we decided to stay close to home and rent a condo with ocean front views. I am very pleased with the condo we chose!

Nick met my boyfriend and I upon check in and showed us around. He showed us how to work the windows and how to connect to the wifi network. He was very nice and professional. He even called us one of the days we were staying to let us know that a group of people checked into the condo above us and to let him know if we have any issues.

The condo is fully stocked with everything you need. We travel a lot throughout the year and we were surprised to see that there were plenty of cookware, plates, bowls, etc. throughout the kitchen. We also noticed that there were extra blankets in the master bedroom closet.

The condo is very nice and spacious. The views are amazing! We watched the sunset a few times on the patio and in the hot tub. The patio is perfect for sun bathing and people watching. If you love to people watch this is the perfect spot to do so!

Belmont park is literally around the corner within walking distance. There are also a couple of places you can walk to and grab a bite to eat.

We have lived in San Diego for almost ten years and we are highly pleased with the condo and the location that we chose. We will definitely stay here again in the future!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Dream Vacation, THANK YOU!

Review submitted: March 9, 2013   Date of arrival: March 1, 2013

By far our best vacation. It was my sister & 72yr old mother. The views were beyond incredible, which were made better by the full floor to ceiling windows. Nothing like we've ever gotten in a hotel.

So beyond the views, it was clear how well cared for the property was. From the kitchenware to high end bedding to the furniture, down to the paint on the wall, the place was SPOTLESS. There were beach chairs/toys/boogie boards/surfboard that we didn't use, but another nice added touch. We had problems with the bbq, but the management (Nick) was there the same day to check on it. Nick actually ended up buying a new bbq the very next day. Again, thank you Nick for being there for us and the quick response during our week stay.

They also have a hot tub (we didn't realize it was private just to our unit, great suprise!) overlooking the beach...abosulutely AMAZING and topped off our already fantastic stay.

If we ever plan another vacation in SanDiego, we will definately call you first!!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Expectations Exceeded

Review submitted: March 2, 2013   Date of arrival: February 27, 2013

My husband & 6yr old daughter recently stayed at this wonderful place, which exceeded my expections & was even better than the photos.

Everything was very high end, kitchen & supplies seemed to be recently upgraded & replenished, brand new patio furniture & lounge chairs. Management said hot tub was serviced every week...it was very clean!

Area was very mellow with the beach booze ban. Only noise we heard at night were the waves. Also ideal area for my daughter with Main lifeguard tower nearby & short stroll to rides & games & eats at Belmont Park.

Being on ground floor made it so much easier for our family too, just another added bonus.

Very friendly management..

Recommended for: families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Where The Action Is

Review submitted: February 27, 2013   Date of arrival: February 14, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed here on Valentines Day Weekend.

What we loved-super clean, coffee provided (!), friendly and efficient manager, awesome MB location

What we didn't love-lack of wireless coverage in the master bedroom, no door on master bathroom (although the toilet was enclosed and had a door). Unless the steel curtain on the bedroom window is down, the passing masses have a full view of you in the bathroom.

I'd recommend this place to someone who wants great beach access, as it's situated on ground level on the strand. If you're uncomfortable with being on ground level, just a few feet from the passing masses of tourists, runners, and beach characters, perhaps this isn't for you.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

***WE'LL BE BACK NEXT YEAR***

Review submitted: February 15, 2013   Date of arrival: February 9, 2013

My family and I just returned from staying at this wonderful location for the weekend. It was an awesome experience! The path way in front of our rental enabled us to bike ride, run and walk each day as well as sit in the hot tub and enjoy the ocean. My two adult sons were thrilled since there was so much to do. My husband and I loved this place and would go back again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Could be better, some easy changes to improve.

Review submitted: February 14, 2013   Date of arrival: January 24, 2013

It is evident that the owners haven't been at this property for a long time. It looks like it started off with high end furnishings and finishes but now has had poor maintenance and upkeep. It is just average but from the pictures I was expecting more. Here is a summary of what we found.

Pros:
Great location
Nice Fridge, Gas Stove (even though its tough to get some burners to light)
High end finishes (granite, vessel sinks, automated security blinds on some windows)
Hot Tub works good and may be the only one right on the boardwalk
Great for people watching during the day as they cant see in due to the reflection from the sun
Garage Parking included (although tight, bring a small car)

Cons:
Linens were clean but there are stains on pillowcases and comforters
Living room carpet was not clean, found items in it from previous stays
Only one drinking glass, Only 3 coffee cups and not the type to put in a microwave (2 were chipped)
No tea towels in the kitchen
Knives are dull, stains in cupboards.
No facial tissue, ran out of toilet paper
NO dining table, you have to eat on your lap on the sofa (prob explains food in the rug)
Torn sofa, 2nd rate repair.
Only one tub plug, you cannot have two baths at once.
Outside grill is close to going to the dump, only one burner works and no handle, rusted (prob from salt water)
Torn chair outside (just chuck it out)
No cleaning supplies, birds did a number on the window and nothing to clean it with (for a house with this much glass would be nice to have something to do some self cleaning with)
No broom or even a dustpan (we are on the beach, would be nice to be able to clean up the sand on the floor)
Nowhere to put the garbage, had to sneak out down the lane at night to find a dumpster.
The big window that is great for people watching during the day does the opposite at night. There are no blinds so everyone can see in.
You can hear everything that happens in the suite above you especially chairs and footsteps

So aside from Blinds on the big window, a kitchen table, and a new grill it would be inexpensive to bring this property to a status where we could recommend it. The only thing that can't be fixed is the noise from upstairs.

My honest review. The location makes up for a lot but was expecting more. Owners need to put some money in to keep it where someone would recommend it or come back. Next year I will go back to Mission Beach but to a different rental.

Owners response: Thanks for your review. We appreciate all guests input as this only helps us improve our property for future guests!

Future tenants should be glad to hear we have addressed most if not all of these items already! New/additional glasses & cups, broom is in the kitchen/hallway cabinet, most vacation rentals don't supply cleaning products -- but we've gone beyond this & have supplied cleaning products for our guests (soap/paper towels/napkins, etc. are already standard items supplied, windows are cleaned by the HOA), the 1 chair has been removed and we will be getting new chairs -- including lounge chairs -- in addition to the 6 chairs we already have that are in great condition, cleaners have corrected all cleaning items noted, the grill is only ~1yr old and you're correct the wear/tear is due from the salt water and we're looking into replacing this asap.

Thank you again!!!

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Best place to stay

Review submitted: October 11, 2012   Date of arrival: October 4, 2012

My wife and I have stayed at many places in the beach areas of San Diego and found this place to be the best location and space of them all. Great interior with all modern conveniences needed and excellent exterior with awesome views, large patio, bbq, and especially the spa looking out to the beach and ocean. Will stay there again and highly recommend, plus very close and walking distance to restaurants, shopping, entertainment, and physical activities, with large private garage parking and items in the house to enjoy at the beach and in the water. Owner was also very noce to meet and accomodating. You will enjoy this location and stay at the beach...location, location, location.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

BEST VACATION at Reasonable Price, Thanks Nick!

Review submitted: September 26, 2012   Date of arrival: September 16, 2012

Nick actually met us at the unit when we arrived, walked us through the place & showed us everything we need to know. I've stayed in MB in the past & never had a management company make an effort to meet us onsite, which made it very easy for us!

The furnishings were very high end, quite impressive especially for a vacation rental unit. The unit was nicely redone, convenient for my kids being on the first floor, very comfortable & had everything we needed.

& oh yeah, i didn't realize they have a HOT TUB located in the Oceanfront patio.

Boogie boards, surfboard, beach toys, & skim boards were provided...at no add'l charge!!! They even had longboard skateboards, which my son loved to use on the boardwalk.

Before we arrived Nick provided us with with local restaurants and activity suggestions. Never needed to take the car, unless wanted to check out La Jolla, the zoo, or Petco Park. Plenty to do and see within walking distance.

We plan on booking next year. Thanks again Nick!!!

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

My favorite ocean front pad in the world! Amazing View!!

Review submitted: September 12, 2012   Date of arrival: June 1, 2012

This is the best place on the beach! It's right by all the fun at Belmont Park, has a HOT TUB on the beach, and floor to ceiling glass looking at the waves crashing! Great art, designer interior, and beautiful! Personal touch on mangement too.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review