reviews for: listing #103009 - Siesta Key, Florida Condo rental

Siesta Key Beachfront & Walk To Village
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  Condo
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Siesta Key Beach
  • sleeps  5
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $1,000 - $1,995 /wk
    $3,000 - $5,250 /mth

sort by:

Wonderful vacation in Cuddlefish II on Siesta Key

Review submitted: July 9, 2014   Date of arrival: June 29, 2014

We had a great week on Siesta Key. It was our first time to the island. The beach was beautiful and the condo was perfect for us. It is an excellent location both for beach access and walking to Siesta Key Village. Thanks for letting us stay at your place.

Owners response: It warms our hearts to hear that you had such a great time at our Cuddlefish II. We work very hard to make everything perfect for our guests so that they can have a fantastic vacation. We look forward to having you as our guests again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great location for a peaceful getaway !

Review submitted: May 12, 2014   Date of arrival: May 5, 2014

What a wonderful place to stay! It is really "Home away from home",with all the amenities to make one feel so comfortable. There is absolutely everything for a great vacation right on the beach !
Siesta Key Village is a charming town with great restaurants , all in walking distance.
Cuddlefish has everything for a memorable vacation !
The sunsets are amazing ,and don't miss it !

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

perfect location!!

Review submitted: May 3, 2014   Date of arrival: April 21, 2014

unit was just right for 4 adults. was nice to have beach chairs and umbrella provided-with a cart to wheel them down to the beach. place was neat and clean. the location was perfect. just a short walk down the path to a magnificent baby powder soft, white sand beach. we even took a walk along the beach in the dark(bring a flashlight). about a five to ten minute casual walk to the "downtown" strip of siesta key. no need to get stuck in traffic or search for parking. lots of restaurants and entertainment. live music at the pubs every night. rented bikes for a day. rode them around most of the island and on the beach. great place for a vacation. you can just relax on the beach or enjoy the night life(or both). would definitely recommend the property to others(reasonably priced too) and siesta key for a vacation. we don't usually visit the same place again for a vacation, but we would certainly choose this property again if we do go back to siesta key.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Location and Accomodations

Review submitted: April 13, 2014   Date of arrival: April 5, 2014

The place is just as advertised and the owners have created a great place to spend a vacation. The beach is wonderful and the provided chairs/towels and the great little cart to carry it down to the beach makes it so easy. The screened in porch is a great place to eat breakfast and just relax. The yard is a great area for kids to play while the adults are relaxing. You can definitely tell the owners care and they were very responsive when we had a request. The village is about four blocks away and provides some wonderful restaurants to explore after a full day at the beach.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Outstanding location on the beach

Review submitted: March 11, 2014   Date of arrival: February 22, 2014

Outstanding location for enjoying Siesta Key Beach. It is on the beach and a short walk to all the restaurants/bars/shops in the village. Large bedrooms and 2 separate bathrooms make it a great family vacation spot. Unit is on the bottom floor (3 story building) for easy access. Carport keeps your car out of the sun. We loved the location so well we are coming back next January.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Enjoyed Our Stay

Review submitted: January 29, 2014   Date of arrival: January 14, 2014

Appreciated the cleanliness of the condo and its location for beach access and local restaurants. Air freshener in main bath activates 24/7 with a sound resembling opening a pressurized container (can of tennis balls). This sound can be annoying when sleeping.

Owners response: We are not sure why this guest did not merely turn off the air freshener or place it somewhere else. We strive to provide vacation accommodations that look, feel, smell and are squeaky clean.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Peaceful Getaway

Review submitted: January 15, 2014   Date of arrival: January 1, 2014

Mark and Michelle have put together a beautiful condo that makes you feel right at home. The keyless entry was wonderful as it can be such a hassle to have to remember/find key cards or keys. Inside, the condo was beautifully decorated and everything we could possibly need to be comfortable was thought of and easily accessible. The patios made for the perfect place to drink a cup of coffee and welcome the day and the short path out to the beach was perfect for catching a gorgeous Siesta sunset. Cuddlefish is wonderfully located in a quiet peaceful stretch of the beach but just a short walking distance from all the restaurants, bars, and shops in the village. Absolutely perfect and better than we could have hoped for!!! Thank you Mark and Michelle!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The Perfect Beach Vacation Stay

Review submitted: December 26, 2013   Date of arrival: December 16, 2013

Our vacation was perfect! The condo was sparkling clean & had more than enough room for us, with comfortable couches and chairs so we could relax. The bed was sooo perfect, the decor was absolutely darling for a beach house, and everything we could possible have needed was right there for us! We were right on the beach and the sunsets we watched while sitting on the porch with our drinks and snacks were beautiful. The guest book gave us a bunch of suggestions of different restaurants we could walk to in town, and they were all so good!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

It was just what we expected and very suitable

Review submitted: November 5, 2013   Date of arrival: October 29, 2013

The owners were very accommodating...whenever I had a question Mark responded immediately. The location is great, near the village and also near the Gulf. It was clean, well-used but comfy and well equipped......so nice to have beach chairs and towels, umbrella, and cooler since we wanted to be at the beach all the time! Siesta Key has a beautiful beach and many great restaurants....loved the ice cream at Olafs and we loved all the fresh seafood available in restaurants as well as at the fish markets so we could cook our own! We highly recommend this property and hope to return again soon!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The ideal vacation condo

Review submitted: September 30, 2013   Date of arrival: September 16, 2013

From the moment we walked into the condo we loved it. Clean and tropical! Mark and Michele have obviously cared for their cute condo with tender loving care. We realized that they have tried to anticipate everything a beach vacationer may want or need. For example, they have a commercial ice maker to provide plenty of ice, not only for the supplied cooler, but also for the super blender, when we returned from the beach. Nothing like cold drinks on a hot beach. They provided a neat cart with balloon wheels that won't get stuck in the sand on the short sand path to the beach. By the way, in spite of what one reviewer commented, the path was beautiful and much more appealing than walking down a concrete sidewalk or an asphalt parking lot. Trips to the market, restaurants and shops were just an easy walk from our condo. The only negative that we could think of is that we have to wait until next year to return.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

The perfect beach vacation.

Review submitted: September 5, 2013   Date of arrival: August 29, 2013

Property is exactly as advertised. The condo was clean, nicely furnished and roomy. The location is ideal. It's an easy walk to the village and beach. The owners provided clear and helpful instructions prior to our arrival, so there were no surprises. We would definitely stay here again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Best Location on Siesta Key

Review submitted: August 28, 2013   Date of arrival: August 6, 2013

The condo was the perfect home away from home. We loved watching the ever-changing sky from the comfort of the living room feeling connected with nature right at our doorstep. The walk to the beach through the Florida foliage changed daily depending on time of day and the weather. The area was filled with wildlife. Rabbits ventured out on the lawn then disappeared into the grasses inhabited by colorful dragonflies, grasshoppers, miniature frogs, and toads that called to each other after a heavy rain. Once I saw a black racer slither quickly across the white sandy path. The sand made of quartz was never hot leading to my favorite beach on the island where we spotted dolphin and sea birds fishing. The north end of Siesta Key is the best place to see the sunset reflected in tidal pools occupied by hundreds of birds, a true visual paradise.

This spacious rental was down to earth, clean and comfortable. The kitchen was small but well equipped. It was nice to have the 2 bedrooms and bathrooms on either end of the apartment. It was an easy walk to the village and a short ride to attractions in Sarasota.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Built up too much before going...

Review submitted: July 21, 2013   Date of arrival: July 13, 2013

To be honest,, the overall impression of the condo was influenced in large part to the weather. Just like at home in South Carolina, there has been a crazy amount of rain that has fallen this summer. When we arrived, it was raining and stormy, but wanted to quickly see the perfect Siesta Key Beach even before unpacking. The only problem was we couldn't get to it - the pathway to the the beach was flooded, and STAYED flooded the entire week. Instead of getting better, it got worse. By the end of the week, we were pushing our beach stuff through almost a foot of stagnant water that smelled! Again, I realize it's not the owners fault, but it would be so much nicer if the city and/or owner would build a slightly elevated wooden walkway to avoid this in the future. Everyone I saw trying to get to thew beach was VERY frustrated.and upset. After finally making it to the beach on Day 1, it looked no different than any other beach. Again, due to the weather.

Every other reviewer mentioned over and over about how clean the condo was and how clean it smelled. Again, our impression was unfortunately different. In fact, the front shower area had an odd smell all week. So much, that my daughters used our shower all week instead. The rugs in kitchen and bathrooms were very worn and dirty looking - in fact, we rolled them up and used our towels instead. None of this was what we pictured before arriving.

However, after all of the negative remarks, there was some positive. The beach and the location was absolutely unreal when the sun came out and we could enjoy it. It is without a doubt the nicest beach we have ever been to. The condo location is perfect. You are just far enough away to have some relative seclusion, or if you prefer, you can walk 5-10 minutes to your left and be one of hundreds of beach goers enjoying Cresent Beach. The Village was a lot of fun as well. Short 10-15 min. walk. Parking was available, but in short supply. Very festive atmosphere, especially at night. Don't miss the Beach Bazaar or especially, Big Olaf's Ice Cream. VERY good. Got ice cream 3 separate times during the week! Walt's Seafood on S. Tamiami was excellent. Gained 5 lbs.!

Despite the negative comments, we had one of our best vacations ever. No one can help the weather, but it definitely affected everything we did. Overall, the condo is nice with bright colors. It serves it's purpose as a beach condo with a great location. Just needs a little sprucing up and would be perfect.

Owners response: We are continually striving to provide our guests with a fantastic beach vacation experience. The week that this guest arrived Siesta Key received almost 9 inches of rain. The streets, public beach parking lots, and pathways to the beach all had flooding and puddles. In spite of occasional exceptional weather events, we still have one of the prettiest beaches in the country. We are not sure why this guest noticed an odor in one of the showers. Maybe it had something to do with the exceptional amount of rain. Regardless, as soon as receiving this review we have contacted the condo association who will have our plumber inspect and repair any problems. We will also be replacing the bathmats. We appreciate all comments and suggestions from our guests at each of our 3 beachfront rentals. These comments continue to help us polish our 3 beautiful diamonds. Thanks again for staying with us.

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Wonderful stay at Siesta Key!

Review submitted: July 19, 2013   Date of arrival: July 6, 2013

My husband and I had no trouble settling into vacation mode as soon as we arrived! The condo was spotlessly clean and comfortable; the beach vibe decorations/art were tasteful and personal. Everything we needed was there - cookware, coffeepot, dishes, towels, beach towels, hairdryer, 3 TVs... the Sleep Number King bed in master is more comfortable than my new mattress at home!

Mark supplied very comfortable beach chairs and cooler, along with a beach cart. I especially appreciated the heavy canvas beach umbrella since I'm fair! The path from condo to beach is very short - so nice to not have to drive to a beach. We were wishing we had snorkel masks, so recommend bringing them.

The village of Siesta Key is a short walk; there we enjoyed delicious meals at Eat Here, Bonjour French Cafe, The Cottage, and dessert at Ciao Gelato. Be sure to visit the Ringling Museum and Historic Spanish Point, both less than 10 miles away - both were amazing.

Before renting, Mark responded immediately to my email questions, and returned our security promptly as promised. We would definitely recommend renting this condo and hope to visit again!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Didn't want to leave!!! Perfect!!

Review submitted: July 2, 2013   Date of arrival: June 22, 2013

Stayed with my husband and our 20 year daughter. I have stayed on beach in Siesta Key several times and really played up the whole area to them. Couldn't wait for them to see the beautiful beach, village and all that Siesta Key has to offer. We loved the condo, was very clean and TRULY had all that you could possibly need. Definietly an easy walk to the village. We met a great family nearby from Texas. The owners have been great about emailing us before we got there and we had no need to contact them while there since everything was in perfect order. The only thing we would change is to stay longer!!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Awesome Place to stay in Siesta Key.

Review submitted: June 29, 2013   Date of arrival: June 15, 2013

Took a shot in the dark when we decided to stay here. Very happy with my choice. Very spacious and clean. Did have one small issue with the provided beach umbrella. Owner responded and corrected the issue promptly. Spent nearly all our time at the beach, which is just a short walk down a private path. A cart was provided to carry the supplied beach chairs. We grilled out one night and enjoyed an evening staying in. I have already submitted my vacation for next year at work and looking forward to booking here again next year. Thanks for a wonderful vacation.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fabulous !

Review submitted: June 15, 2013   Date of arrival: June 8, 2013

Am amazing place to stay in Seista Key! Clean, updated, and a wonderful location!
100% satisfied and will be back soon!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beautiful condo with an amazing view

Review submitted: June 7, 2013   Date of arrival: June 1, 2013

This condo was exactly as depicted. It was clean and spacious with a fantastic screened in porch that was perfect for morning "peace time" or evening reading. The view was beautiful and we could not only see the ocean from the back door, but smell the salty air and hear the waves crashing on the shore.

It was a short walk to the private beach on a sandy pathway from the condo. The owners had everything you would need; chairs, umbrella, and a cart to haul it all down.

We were located a hop, skip and a jump from most amenities, food, grocery, entertainment, etc. It was a great location. However, most of what we needed was provided...aside from the groceries of course. Two beautiful bathrooms, towels, plenty of sleep areas including a sleep number bed in the master bedroom, pots, pans, silverware, plates and glasses, even laundry detergent for the washer and dryer.

We only stayed for half of our trip due to an unforeseen family emergency and the fact a tropical storm was headed right for us. The owner was extremely understanding and responded to us immediately.

My whole family was pleased and we are definitely planning to stay there again next year, maybe sooner if we can squeeze it in. I would recommend this condo to anyone who loves to be right on the beach, in a place full of amenities and has a warm, cozy beach feel to it.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect Beach Condo!

Review submitted: May 23, 2013   Date of arrival: May 11, 2013

The condo was very clean and cozy, close to beach, restaurants and shopping. We enjoyed it very, very much....thanks!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Exceeded our expectations

Review submitted: May 12, 2013   Date of arrival: May 1, 2013

We were very happy with the unit for our week at Siesta Key. Although it is close to town it has a very "remote/private" feeling, We needed to E-Mail the owner a couple times as we were a little slow figuring things out; he responded very quickly. All the beach toys were there, the wagon, chairs, ice chest...........everything we needed. We would definitely book again.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Cuddlefish on Siesta was awesome!

Review submitted: April 8, 2013   Date of arrival: March 30, 2013

We were so excited that you were able to squeeze us in for this week. To be able to walk to the Village every night, ride our bikes everywhere, hear the waves from the back porch and enjoy this spacious condo was more than we had we could have hoped for. We will definitely be back! Hope you still have weeks available!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A Perfect Hideaway on Siesta Key

Review submitted: March 18, 2013   Date of arrival: February 1, 2013

The Cuddlefish II was the perfect spot for our family's vacation. To start with the condo was spotless. It smelled fresh and clean from the moment we first walked in the door. The decor and beach theme though out the unit made us feel that this was a true beach vacation house and not just a plain condo. The sleep number bed in the master bedroom was better than our bed at home. The kids loved having their own room complete with bunk beds and TV. The owners obviously have thought of everything we might want, from hair driers and fresh soap in the bathrooms, to comfortable beach chairs with Tommy Bahama beach towels. We were able to walk everywhere. We had dinner out every night. We would walk along the beach and watch each sunset on our way to a different restaurant every night. We often walked to the Sub Zero nitrogen ice cream shop to grab a snack in the middle of the day. Of course the beach was beyond anything we could imagine. The sand was so white and soft! This was a wonderful vacation. We will definitely be returning many times in the future and highly recommend the Cuddlefish to anyone who loves the beach.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Location! Location! Location!

Review submitted: March 17, 2013   Date of arrival: March 9, 2013

Steps to the beach....Quick walk to the village. Nicely decorated, very comfortable condo. The owners have thought of everything for a wonderful vacation! We plan to return next year.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

The perfect beach getaway

Review submitted: February 8, 2013   Date of arrival: December 24, 2012

From start to finish this was the perfect getaway my family and I were looking for. The condo was so adorably decorated to give that “beachy” feel. It was clean, bright and cheerful. The owners thought of everything one would need while on vacation, beach chairs, umbrella, beach cart etc. We loved waking up in the morning to have our coffee on the back porch and to listen to nature. Each evening we would bring our beach chairs and wine to the water’s edge and watch the magnificent sunsets. We loved that we didn’t need a car to get to the village restaurants, nightlife and shopping. We will definitely be back and I enthusiastically recommend this property. Can’t wait to come back.

Recommended for: age 55+, people with disabilities, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

great location

Review submitted: February 7, 2013   Date of arrival: January 27, 2013

Perfect location on the Key: away from the congestion, a non-crowded part of the beach, no road noise, and a close walk to the village. The trail to the beach is great!The owners were very cooperative with us on dates, as our schedule was a bit complicated. The condo was nice, but not clean. Fridge had food particles in it ; mens' socks and underwear in the dresser, many knick-knacks around that had obviously not been cleaned for a long time. The screened in lanai was the room we wanted to hang out it, but carpet was dirty, poster on wall had water damage, it was cluttered, there was an upside-down mop next to the table. This is a very nice and restful place, but if you're a clean freak like me, it may not work for you. We have stayed in other condos on the key.

Owners response: We take great pride in the vacation experience we provide to our guests, both at our Cuddlefish Beach Cottage on Manasota Key, and our Cuddlefish II Beach Hideaway on Siesta Key. In order to continually improve our Cuddlefish rental properties, we take the comments and suggestions of our guests very seriously.
Although we have an excellent maid that has been cleaning all of our properties for many years, she came down with the flu just prior to this guest’s visit. Our maid arranged for a substitute who was obviously not up to our high standards. If our guest had notified of us an issue, we would have taken care of it right away.

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

The perfect cottage for any occasion

Review submitted: January 10, 2013   Date of arrival: January 3, 2013

We stayed at this tropical paradise in early January, and it was a wonderful vacation to start off the new year! The condo was exactly as described, and the view even better. Perfect for a little getaway. Immediately upon walking into the condo sets the theme for the vacation. The tropical themed interior just makes you smile. The kitchen was great for cooking for the five of us. Walk out the sliding glass back door to a patio and a large backyard, then follow the private, sandy beach path straight out to the beautiful beach with pretty sunsets every night. The key village is an easy 10 minute walk and has plenty of local restaurants for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. All in all, we loved our stay, and definitely plan to be back in the near future!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

Nicely updated beach front property within walking or biking distance to Siesta Key Village

Review submitted: November 6, 2012   Date of arrival: November 1, 2012

We arrived on Thursday afternoon the 1st of November. The weather outlook for the weekend was 0% chance of rain and temperatures in the low 80's and upper 70's. Upon arrival the doors and top came off the Jeep and the mountain bikes were unloaded. Not having been on the island since 2005 we scouted the island on bikes first. We later hit the Siesta Grocery for supplies for the weekend. Each day after running the 4 mile loop on the island we took day trips to shop on the mainland, Lido, and Longboat. We ate great fresh Florida seafood and drank wonderful cocktails on the beach enjoying each evenings sunset. Siesta Key Oyster Bar is a great spot in addition to Bella Roma for pizza. We will definitely be back to stay again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 10 / 13

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review