reviews for: listing #10303 - Palm Island, Florida House rental

Coquina Cove
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  5
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $245 - $275 /nt
    $1,300 - $1,500 /wk
    $4,500 - $5,500 /mth

sort by:

Wonderful Relaxing Vacation

Review submitted: February 14, 2014   Date of arrival: January 6, 2014

According to Murphy's Law, we got hit with the Arctic Vortex during our mini-vacation, but the stay was wonderful even in the chilly weather.
The house is very well maintained, furnished and supplied. They had just about everything possible for us to include kayaks, beach bikes, golf cart, hot tub and lots of beach to explore.
The owner's were very nice, personable and easy to work with.
Definitely recommend.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks Jessica. I'm glad you had a nice time, in spite of the Arctic Vortex. LOL

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A Wonderful Delight in a Busy World :-)

Review submitted: February 2, 2014   Date of arrival: January 20, 2014

My husband and I spent two weeks at this home on Don Padro Island. First off I would like to say that Julie was a delight to work with. We had to arrive 2 days late because of a personal matter and she was so accommodating. The home is warm, comfortable, very clean and beautifully appointed. Our small dogs loved the yard and the dock. The neighbor is quiet and perfect for a relaxing get away from the hassle of daily life. This is definitely a place we will consider returning to. Thanks for everything.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Outstanding! Better Than We Could Have Imagined!

Review submitted: January 2, 2014   Date of arrival: December 21, 2013

Coquina Cove was the perfect home away from home! The house was better than advertised in every way! This house has everything you could ever need! The kitchen is furnished with every kind of dish and utensil you can imagine. We usually rent homes and your lucky to get two wine glasses I could not count how many wine glasses, drinking glasses and, coffee mugs there were! The place has a dishwasher and plenty of dish towels making cooking and clean-up easy. It was fully equipped with plastic ware as well. I found this a nice touch as we found ourselves having snacks on the screened in porch or in the patio area under the house when playing cards a few afternoons! And I did not need to pull out the cards I packed as the sideboard in the kitchen had cards, games, books and area info! Every room has comfortable upscale furnishing's and art truly making it feel like a home.
The bed's are super comfortable and very clean as are the bathrooms! There was more than enough towels to stay for a month and not have to worry about running out. But there is a wonderful washer and dryer should you need to use it.
The house is the perfect size for to couples or, as with us our adult son came for a few days. The patio under the house with the Tiki bar is fantastic! Even though there is a great hot tub there we only used it twice during the week as we found ourselves on the dock almost every night just listening to the quite and watching the fish jump! Talk about relaxing!
The beach is awesome! Don't worry about bringing beach chairs. This place has them! As well as beach toys, towels and even a cooler! We only took the chairs to the beach, your just across the street and don't have far to go if you left something behind. The outdoor shower was great for washing the sand off the dogs after a run on the beach! We never got to use the great bikes that were provided as we would take a run around the island every morning. We rented the golf cart and only used it three times it sure was nice to drive it to the Rum Bay Restaurant for dinner!
I could go on and on about how great this place is! If your looking for a quiet place to rest and relax this is the place! Julie was great and very attentive. The place is well taken care of and you want for nothing! Can't wait to return! Fell in love with this place and the island! Thank-you Julie for providing such a wonderful relaxing home!

Recommended for: age 55+, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks Dan and Ruth for the fantastic review! We're so glad you enjoyed your stay on the island. We hope you make it back to Coquina Cove again real soon. Take Care! Julie & Dale

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Absolutely A+

Review submitted: October 31, 2013   Date of arrival: October 17, 2013

Absolutely A+. We stayed at Coquina Cove in mid October for a combined sister birthday long week end, and were sorry to leave. Coquina Cove was perfect for our needs, and Julie and Dale have seen to every comfort, toys, bikes, and amenity possible. We had so much fun on the beach, that we never got to use the kayaks or bikes. The golf cart was perfect to scoot around the Island and check out the streets and homes, but the best part was returning to Coquina Cove. Out trip is going to be at least an annual event. The outdoor shower is great for bathing a dog after a day of beach play, and the kitchen is beautifully equipped. We are looking forward to returning and fishing from the dock, and having another restful stay at Coquina Cove. Kudos to Julie and Dale....It's a fine place!

Recommended for: pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Absolutey Perfect

Review submitted: September 3, 2013   Date of arrival: August 22, 2013

This place is the best if you want to kick back and get away from it all. We have stayed at several different places on the island over the last 20 years (including the resort), but Coquina Cove is by far the BEST! The home is so well maintained and comfortable. Amenities such as the kayaks, hot tub, outdoor shower, hammock and grill, pretty much everything you could possibly want are at your fingertips. All you need to bring is your food and drinks. We hated coming back to reality but we are already planning our next visit. Oh, BTW, you can save a few $$ by renting the golf cart and purchasing the ferry pass the home owners.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing

Review submitted: July 17, 2013   Date of arrival: July 6, 2013

You can not find a better place to stay! We have two dogs and they loved being able to have a little freedom in the yard. Julie was super attentive for anything we needed. The house comes well equipped for cooking, great beach toys and the kayaks were a blast. It was a perfect place for our family vacation. Very close to the beach, but has a great dock for fishing. Seriously, I won't rent from anyone else on Palm Island.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beautiful...spotless...impeccably maintained...friendly helpful owners..overall outstanding

Review submitted: July 13, 2013   Date of arrival: April 13, 2013

If you are looking to chill out and relax and get a feel for how old Florida used to be...away from the maddening crowds....then it would be hard to beat this island and the Coquina Cove house. Beach, fishing, kayaking or boating....if your looking for restaurants, nightlife and crowds this is not the place but if you want to get away from it all..it is the place. The residence was impeccably maintained...spotless in every way...modern.. updated..tasteful island decor. This was 2nd trip to Don Pedro and both were so much better than the years spent going to Sanibel and Captiva. The owners were a pleasure to deal with and I would highly recommend to anyone. We are going back next year.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much for your kind words. We look forward to your next visit. :)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great get away!

Review submitted: June 30, 2013   Date of arrival: June 22, 2013

We had a great time at Coquina Cove. The house was adorable and super clean. We enjoyed the beautiful beach, fishing on the lagoon and spending time with family and friends.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Relaxing and Scenic!

Review submitted: June 24, 2013   Date of arrival: June 11, 2013

We stayed at Coquina Cove for four nights and days and enjoyed every minute. The house was just as described. Very clean and cozy. There was a very short walk to the beach, which was clean and secluded. We could hear the ocean waves from the screened in porch. We took the golf cart around the island but mostly stayed at the house and relaxed with our dogs. The owners were very attentive to our every concern. Highly recommended! We look forward to returning next year!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks Cynthia and Barbara! We look forward to having you as guests next year.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Extended Family Vacation

Review submitted: June 3, 2013   Date of arrival: May 27, 2013

The owners were awesome/very friendly as well as helpful and the property was adorable with several amenities that really made it easy to accommodate my extended families needs for a stress free family vacation. The additional activities we scheduled were easily accessed due to their help as well, making for an absolutely fantastic experience. The boat rental & fishing was a super experience that went very smoothly as well. Over all the house rental provided an excellent environment to spend quality time together under one roof & felt a bit like home. We had access to a boat ramp on the intercostal and private access to the beach as well which was in a lovely natural park or nature preserve environment. Beach equipment such as chairs/umbrella, snorkeling equipment, fishing poles, and my personal favorite was the hammock (major kudos' for that one). Our overall experience was spectacular.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Three weeks in paradise

Review submitted: February 5, 2013   Date of arrival: January 12, 2013

Coquina Cove is the perfect place for a peaceful vacation. The owners have thought of every possible need or want you could have for a vacation setting. We enjoyed the bikes, kayaks and golf cart, plus having coffee on the screened-in porch and looking at the gulf. The dock afforded lots of opportunities for bird-watching, fishing or just reading in solitude. There are no reasons to rush or keep a schedule or use electronics at Coquina Cove (although you can read your e -mail, if you wish). It's a lovely home in a secluded, quiet setting with a fenced -in yard that was perfect for our four-legged companion. It was our first trip to Don Pedro Island, but we'll be back again and again... Thanks for sharing your home with us and Miss Daisy.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Steve & Sissy - I'm so glad you enjoyed your time on Don Pedro Island. I hope you all can make it back to the island next year! Julie & Dale

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

An experience to remember!

Review submitted: January 17, 2013   Date of arrival: January 5, 2013

Not only did the weather cooperate, we found Coquina Cove to be an ideal setting for a perfect vacation. The house was immaculate and very well equipped. We lacked nothing. We also planned well in advance and never had to leave the island for supplies. We did take advantage of the resort and had an occassional ice cream cone. The information package we received in advance proved to be invaluable. We walked the beaches daily, fished off the dock, toured in the golf cart, and even found time to relax.

Recommended for: age 55+, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks Elaine! I'm glad you all enjoyed your time on the island.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Blissful Stay at Coquina Cove

Review submitted: December 2, 2012   Date of arrival: October 20, 2012

We and our 2 dogs enjoyed our week-long stay at Coquina Cove. Julie was very attentive and responded promptly to any questions. The house is very extremely well-maintained, efficiently laid out, and the kitchen well-equipped. It is nicely decorated in a beach theme, and the furnishings were up-to-date and very comfortable. The listing photos are accurate, but really don't do it justice. There were great breezes, so we kept the windows open and never slept better! We spent our time reading, kayaking, shelling and walking on the deserted beach, and exploring the island by golf-cart. We had a very pleasant, relaxing stay on a very peaceful and quiet island. We appreciate so much that we were able to bring our dogs along with us. We even got to meet a local celebrity, the famous golden retriever "Mango" and his warm and hospitable owners who made us feel like family. Also, we did see the green flash twice during our stay. We would have given a six-star rating, but the limit was five! The only drawback for some (with very small children or for those with mobility issues) would be the limits imposed by the stairs. We hope to return soon, and would highly recommend Coquina Cove.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

5 time and counting

Review submitted: November 29, 2012   Date of arrival: November 17, 2012

We love this house and this island. Palm Island offers such a relaxing, unplugged vacation. Every night you can walk across the road to watch the sunset on a beach that is almost empty. Bring your boat and you can dock it at a well-maintained dock to go fishing for redfish and snook.
The house is wonderful supplied and beautiful maintained. It is perfect for our family of 4. This was our 5th time at this house and we are never disappointed.
Thanks for sharing your house and island with us!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks Jenny! Hopefully you can come back for stay #6 soon. : )

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Solitude, relaxation and pure beauty

Review submitted: November 7, 2012   Date of arrival: October 6, 2012

My family (2 adults and 2 small kids) had an amazing, unforgettable time on Don Pedro island. It's for those who enjoy the company of each other, want to enjoy the natural beauty, warm weather, clean beaches and the ocean. It was perfect for us: the house is very kids-friendly, the patio is fully fenced (our 2 year old likes to run away, so, it was very important to be sure she is around !) Small patio upstairs doesn't have an access to the staircase as other houses did - so, you can also relax and enjoy the evening not being worried that your munchkin will fall off. The house has everything - we only though about something and found it easily. You wouldn't need to buy anything except food. I have to say that this house is so tastefully decorated, it has a soul, a history, you even get attached to it after a week of vacation. Everything was very clean, convenient and comfortable. It was very nice that the owners provided 2 ocean kayaks, we used them every day - it was an evening ritual to sail into the sunset (and drink a small bottle of beer, watching the sun going down! :-) Bikes were great, too, though we had to take turns because it didn't have kids' bike seats (of course). We went running, swimming, collected tons of shells and spent quiet evenings in the house, taking a hot tub outside or watching a movie (the owners even have a pretty good collection of A-list movies which we hadn't watched before). The beach is really 2 min away (even with kids and kayaks), the outdoor shower in the patio allows you to get rid of all the sand before you're back to the house. I would definitely recommend it to the best friend. Yes, and the owners are very nice people, they responded to our every question and request immediately - so, everything was great!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, girls getaway, pet-friendly, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Yulia & Jurgen - Thank you for taking the time to give Coquina Cove such an awesome review! We're really glad you enjoyed all that the island has to offer. We hope you're able to come for a visit again sometime.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect

Review submitted: September 9, 2012   Date of arrival: August 22, 2012

We loved our stay! We had never been to Palm Island before, and we were not disappointed. It is truly a nature lover's paradise that I never expected to find so close to civilization. We saw dolphins from the car ferry, sting rays, loggerhead sea turtles, birds of every kind, gopher tortoises, fish regularly leaping out of the canals... and more shells than Sanibel Island - even found a full sand dollar just laying in the surf as we walked along a beach that we were the only people on (oh and don't forget the fossilized shark teeth). The time we were there was the most relaxed I had been in a long time - even with Tropical Storm Isaac headed our way. If you are a boater, renting a boat and getting out on the waterways is a definite must.

Regarding Coquina Cove - loved it. It's comfortable, well furnished, fully outfitted kitchen, great use of the area under the house with the hot tub, grill, bar and hammock. Great access to the water for the kayaks and fishing from the dock. Literal steps to the private access to the beach. Definitely rent the golf cart - so much fun to take it out and find the best places to watch the sun set. We decided after exploring every inch of the island that the location of Coquina Cove was definitely our favorite part of the island - the road isn't paved, the trees and foliage are heavier, the beach is even more deserted because you are just north of Don Pedro State Park and the opposite end of the island from the resort.

Julie is a great landlord - wonderful information provided before you arrive, very quick responses to any question. We had a couple of snafus right when we got there that I only mention because everything was taken care of with one phone call - we have rented houses in many different places and have not experienced service that quickly anywhere else. She was also very helpful and accomodating when we had to leave early due to the storm - which thankfully didn't hit that area very hard at all.

Will definitely go back and have already recommended Coquina Cove to friends and family!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks Cyndi & Robert for the wonderful review! Sorry Hurricane Isaac chased you out a day early, but we're glad you were able to relax and enjoy your time while you were on the island. We hope you can come back again and get to stay for your entire vacation. :)

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Awesome Beach House on Palm Island!

Review submitted: August 19, 2012   Date of arrival: August 11, 2012

Coquina Cove was perfect. Nicely furnished and decorated. The outside shower was awesome for us and our Lab! Short walking distance to deserted beach full of shark's teeth and beautiful sunsets. Owners were available online or by cell any time we had a question or concern. Our only problem was me forgetting to remove my cell phone from my bathing suit before diving into Gulf! All beach stuff available for use. We did rent golf cart but after it rains, the dirt roads turn into MUD and there are lots of large pot holes. Resort at end of island was not pet (or human) friendly, so we didn't give them any of our $$!

Just be sure and take whatever groceries you need for your stay because you will NOT want to leave once you arrive! :) Not a good choice for anyone who has a hard time going up and down stairs.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful Island Getaway!

Review submitted: July 23, 2012   Date of arrival: July 14, 2012

We had a great time this week! The house and island are beautiful. You can show up with just your bags and groceries in hand and Julie has taken care of the rest. The beach is very private and relaxing. I would recommend bringing your boat because Stump Pass sand bar is only 10 minutes away and world class tarpon fishing is only 30 minutes away. We are in love with Coquina Cove and Don Pedro Island! We will definitely be back! Thanks to Julie for all of the communication and quick response to any questions we had during the reservation process.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Our own Gilligan's Island!

Review submitted: June 15, 2012   Date of arrival: June 8, 2012

After a short 3 minute ferry ride, we felt like castaways on Gilligan's Island. Palm Island is truly a peaceful place, but Coquina Cove allows you to be as active or relaxed as you choose to be. Coquina Cove offers bikes, kayaks, a golf cart, hot tub, boat dock, hammock, beautiful ocean views, well stocked kitchen, comfy beds, and a pristine beach. And it's pristinely clean! We hope to return to this fantastic property soon! Thanks Julie!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly

Owners response: Thanks Sarah! Please come back to "Gilligan's Island" soon. : )

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect Restful Retreat

Review submitted: May 31, 2012   Date of arrival: May 22, 2012

We were all in need of some relaxation time and even though it was only for a few days, this was the perfect place to do it! We love the beach and we basically had it to ourselves. We had a great time kayaking and our teenage son loved the fishing! It was a great property, a great location and we can't wait to go back. Thanks for being so great to work with Julie!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks Dana! We're glad you enjoyed your stay on the island.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

slice of heaven

Review submitted: April 30, 2012   Date of arrival: April 23, 2012

Had the best vacation ever! House is gorgeous alot of up grades, most comfortable beds we ever slept in!! Great view.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: We're really glad you enjoyed your vacation on the island, and we hope you come back again real soon!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Another Excellent Vacation

Review submitted: April 16, 2012   Date of arrival: April 7, 2012

This was our second stay at Coquina Cove, and it's a very special place. The house is private, well maintained, and has everything available for a comfortable and pampered week. The location is unmatched. We start our day with coffee on the dock watching the fish jump and the osprey hunt. Next, we move on to bike riding or kayaking (equip. provided). Then it's a short walk across the sand road for an afternoon of beach time. Again, umbrellas, chairs, towels are all there. Back at the house, we hit the outdoor shower. (Treat yourself to Aveda soap and shampoo for your trip and you'll feel like you've died and gone to a spa.) Feeling a little chilly? The hot tub is right up there in the favorite amenity list. A glass of wine, or maybe a piña colada while grilling dinner under the house and it's the perfect day. The best part, you get to do it over again and again. Julie is wonderful to work with. She is professional and works hard to make sure her guests are comfortable and things are right. We highly recommend Coquina Cove (but please don't spread the word).

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks Sarah! I'm so glad you and your family enjoyed your time on the island. We hope you come back for your third visit soon!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

PARADISE

Review submitted: March 4, 2012   Date of arrival: January 9, 2012

We spent a month @ Coquina Cove or should I say Paradise. The pictures are accurate and as others have said the rental is spotless which was very important to me. We loved the beach and picked about 400 shark teeth. Our dog also loved the beach, her past time was digging up fish bones and chasing birds. We brought many shells home and have placed them in our garden, she still drags them all over our yard and chews on them. The second we walked into the house my blood pressure dropped 20 points, truly a relaxing home. Look for honeybell oranges , if your lucky enough to go while they are in season you won't be disappointed. Julie was wonderful to work with and always was there if we needed anything.

Recommended for: age 55+, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks Gerry, Russ & Esprit for such a gracious review, and thanks for being such wonderful guests! Dale & Julie

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

What a wonderful place!

Review submitted: January 12, 2012   Date of arrival: January 6, 2012

We had a great time. Left our truck and trailer at Eldred's Marina and came in by boat, being careful of the tide. Our son and his wife used the ferry. We saw almost no one the whole weekend; had the beach and tennis courts to ourselves. The house was pristine with a lovely hot tub and grill area underneath. Our dogs had as much fun as we did. We will definitely be back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: We're so glad you enjoyed your stay. We hope you will be back again soon!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Immaculate, Inspiring, Isolated

Review submitted: January 5, 2012   Date of arrival: December 31, 2011

This is our 3rd time to stay at Coquina Cove on Don Pedro Island: first time as couple, second time with two couples, and this third time with adult son and two grandsons, 12 and 9. Each time was perfect. It's an ideal location with lagoon on one side of the house and Gulf of Mexico on the other side; you can see each from the open, spacious rooms and windows! The dock is perfect for fishing and rods/reels are provided. The three kayaks (2 singles, 1 tandem) are easy to launch with plenty of mangrove canals to explore and bird life to encounter. The two bicycles with fat tires are just right for maneuvering around the various sandy gravel roads or on the beach. Don Pedro State Park, accessible only by boat from the mainland, is a lovely walk down the beach from Coquina Cove. The golf cart is the only transportation you'll need throughout the island from one end to the other. The well appointed, immaculate home is fully stocked with the necessary kitchen supplies; all you need to provide is food--be sure to bring that with you because once you cross the ferry there are no grocery stores. There is a small gift shop with necessities you might have forgotten or if you need to restock the wine collection. We loved the isolation of the place with so little traffic and so few people, yet cell phones and wireless connections work just fine. Though we saw lots of rental properties on the island, Dale and Julie's private house Coquina Cove (not a condo, not a hotel) seemed to us an ideal private location with waterfront on both sides, and you have the run of the entire house and amenities-hot tub, party deck, hammock, dock, outdoor shower, electric golf cart, screened porch, 2 bedrooms, 2 baths, large kitchen and living room. The resident tortoise enjoys lettuce and grapes. The resident ospreys soar and chirp all day. The wind in the Australian pines makes this soothing swooshing sound. The stars twinkle all night! I know, I know, this all sounds like paid advertising gush, but it's not, just a well-deserved, very positive review for a superior destination, house and island alike! Dale and Julie both are easily accessible by phone and email and answer all inquiries/concerns. --Ben, Joyce, Adam, Jayson, Jacob

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Owners response: Thank you Ben, Joyce, Adam, Jayson & Jacob for the awesome review! We're glad you all had a nice time on the island. We look forward to hearing from you for trip #4!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Christmas in Paradise

Review submitted: January 4, 2012   Date of arrival: December 20, 2011

I can only describe our experience as Wonderful. We have teenage boys and wanted to spend Christmas doing something we will remember for years to come and we succeeded. The property, the location, the atmosphere was exactly what we were looking for. Our entire family even the family Goldendoodle had a memorable time on Don Pedro Island. Would recommend to anyone looking for a place to just step away for awhile and remember what life is all about.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Owners response: We're so glad your family enjoyed spending Christmas at Coquina Cove. We hope you come back to the island again real soon!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

great family vacation!

Review submitted: November 28, 2011   Date of arrival: November 24, 2011

Thank you for a great family vacation! Very clean, well-maintained and well stocked home. the listing description was very accurate. the listing photos accurately reflect the rental’s appearance and amenities. the owner was very helpful. i would recommend this property to a friend or relative! We will be coming back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful property,we have already returned for a second stay

Review submitted: September 22, 2011   Date of arrival: September 2, 2011

In all of our travels, my husband and I have stayed at almost all levels of hotels and resorts – from “charming” (meaning that our review would include clean sheets as one of the few positives) to five star (meaning that our review would include that our personal butler researched the pronunciation of our last name before out arrival). Coquina cove is more amazing than I could have imagined. The property and house is even better than it looks in the pictures. The owners have thought of everything. There are more dishes and kitchen utensils than I have at my own home, ample towels and beach towels, and a laundry room full of chairs, umbrellas, fishing poles and beach toys, just to name a few. And, even tasteful artwork and proper wine glasses and tumblers – a small touch you almost never see. As opposed to feeling like a rental house, it felt more like a friend had invited us to their home away from home. The island is the way Florida beaches used to be before high rises came along. The beach is very clean and secluded. Our dogs loved the gopher turtles, golf cart and the dolphins. It was wonderful to be able to bring the dogs on our vacation but the house is so immaculate, you would never know dogs were allowed. Julie was available to answer all of our questions and provided us with all of the information we needed to enjoy the island and surrounding area. We were so impressed with our Labor day stay, we returned 2 weekends later to do it again. I highly recommend Coquina Cove.

Recommended for: girls getaway, pet-friendly, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks Kristi & Jamie for the wonderful review!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Fantastic!

Review submitted: June 29, 2011   Date of arrival: June 18, 2011

My family and I spent one week at Coquina Cove and didn't want to leave. It is truly "Old Florida" the way I remembered it as a child. Everything we needed was already supplied and the house was immaculate. We were able to go fishing, shelling, snorkeling and even a manatee came up to us in the Gulf. Truly a fantastic vacation and Coquina Cove is fabulous. We will be back!! Rachel.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: That is so cool that a manatee came up to you when you were snorkeling!
We're glad you had a nice time on the island. We really appreciate all of your nice comments.
Julie & Dale

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect Beach Escape!

Review submitted: June 5, 2011   Date of arrival: May 21, 2011

A refreshingly good rental experience. I was put in charge of choosing a vacation home and I hit this one out of the park. I Have stayed in the vicinity many times over many years. I love this place. The owners were fantastic to work with. Always promptly provided me with answers to my questions. And they obviously care about their renters' comfort. Everything is provided. Place is exactly as pictured. Can't say enough about the cleanliness when we arrived, the attention to detail with the furnishings, new appliances, updated bathrooms, towels and bed linens. The choice of local artwork and collectibles is aesthetically pleasing and adds to the coziness of the experience. Not just another sterile condo or the yucky, outdated kinds of places I've seen in Florida that look like the owners never view their home thru the lens of a renter. And we've seen plenty of cheesy Florida chintz in other rentals.
Location between lagoon and the Gulf was a nice bonus. Coquina Cove is a solid choice. Looking forward to a longer stay next year!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Owners response: Wow - Thank You!
You two were perfect guests, and we hope that you do make it back to Coquina Cove. : )

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Best Spot in Florida

Review submitted: April 10, 2011   Date of arrival: April 2, 2011

This was our third time at Coquina Cove and loved it again! We're able to bring our slightly neurotic English Setter down and not have to worry about him in a kennel. The yard is perfect for him and all the wildlife keeps him entertained. The dock is perfect for fishing in the lagoon or if you prefer, go across the street and try some surf fishing. Having the golf cart and bikes make touring the island a breeze and is much more comfortable than a car. In fact, we never leave the island once we're there (just a week), so we make doubly sure we have enough food or we really have to count on our fishing skills (not good).

The house is comfortable and clean and has all the amenities you could ask for. The outdoor shower being the best because I don't get that anywhere else. Bikes, kayaks, beach chairs, even snorkels and fishing equipment are all available. There's just so much to do if you like beach activities.

Since we're not big restaurant goers or bar hoppers, this place is perfect for us. It's quiet all night long and, well, for that matter, all day, too.

I highly recommend it.

Recommended for: age 55+, pet-friendly

Owners response: Dirk, Pat & Dooper,

We're so glad you enjoyed yourselves at Coquina Cove. Thank you for all of your kind comments!

Julie & Dale

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Kick back and relax the sun and sand.

Review submitted: January 25, 2011   Date of arrival: January 15, 2011

My husband and I stayed at Coquina Cove for a week of relaxation and fun. The house had everything we could possibly need from cooking utensils, pots and pans, dishes, glasses, etc. But the real reason for the vacation was to enjoy the warmth and sun of Don Pedro Island. We had our choice of tandem or single kayaks, bikes, hammocks, beach chairs, and a hot tub to relax in at the end of the day. We rode the bikes all over this island. At the northern most end is Palm Island Resort. We explored the grounds and parked the bikes while we watched the boats make their way through Stump Pass. Truly a beautiful place.

I loved that each bedroom had it'as own TV as well as the big TV in the living room. The screened porch was our morning coffee spot. Very comfortable home.

We walked on the beach each day, biked up to the Palm Island Resort to eat at Rum Bay's Restaurant, fished off the dock in the backyard and kayaked up and down the lagoon. There is as much or as little to do here as you want.

Next trip has to be longer!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Super clean, great location, wonderful!!!

Review submitted: November 28, 2010   Date of arrival: September 10, 2010

We had a blast staying at Coquina Cove. It was super clean, well stocked and had a great location smack dab between the Gulf of Mexico and a wide peaceful lagoon. The beach was a short walk across a sand road and we could launch the provided kayaks right out the back door! The beach was never crowded which was hard to believe -- but true. Well decorated with nice furniture, not the rental furniture you normally see. Pet friendly and super clean which can be hard to come by. It was simply wonderful and we plan to come back soon! – G&H, Tampa

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Perfection!

Review submitted: November 18, 2010   Date of arrival: November 12, 2010

This is one of the few Don Pedro rentals that permit stays less than a week, so we jumped at it as we were looking for last minute getaway to something not too far from home (Clearwater FL), something sun-drenched and 'isolated.' Don Pedro and Coquina Cove were perfect for this, met absolutely every need. It's near Port Charlotte and Boca Grande, you have a brief ferry ride to the island, then no cars just golf carts. The house is located on a lagoon so you have beautiful lake/lagoon/intracoastal views from one window, then views of the Gulf of Mexico in the other direction. Homeowners provide kayaks, bicycles and golf cart. The house is exactly as pictured on this site, and exactly as promised in the materials owners sent us. It is fully furnished, beautifully furnished (beachy and comfortable, Restoration Hardware look)-lovely to sit on the screened porch, or at the downstairs barstool area. So easy to launch the kayak right there at the lagoon, or walk it across the street to Gulf. We also walked much of the shell-strewn beach, going south toward Don Pedro State Park (accessible only by boat or walking). Saw manatees and dolphins in the Gulf. We golf carted up to the resort end of the island, enjoying tremendous sunsets there, meandering through that complex. But the best part was just the ease and simplicity of the house, the dock, the closeness to the beach, the quiet isolation of that particular gravel road. We even met the resident (and protected) gopher tortoise. Cooked our meals in, never left for restaurants, didn't need to. Come supplied with any groceries and wine/beer as you don't want to have to go back and forth on ferry. Hot tub there too though we didn't use it. Pet friendly too though you would never have suspected any animals had ever been there! There's a fenced in yard. I can't say enough good things about the site--we're condo property managers back home so know exactly what to look for in such units--it all is there, and comfortably, abundantly so. We feel like we've made a great discovery there at Don Pedro/Coquina Cove and hope to return, soon! By ourselves and with friends-perfect for 2 couples, 2 bedrooms, 2 baths, lots to see and do, lots of places to hunker down and read, lots of walking or golf carting here and there. No theme parks. No video arcades. No traffic. No noise except ospreys, jumping fish, quiet hum of golf carts, and the wind in the Australian pines.

Owners response: Thanks Ben, glad you had a wonderful time! Come back anytime. Dale & Julie

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Very nice place!

Review submitted: August 3, 2010   Date of arrival: July 23, 2010

Very nice place. Very comfortable and appropriate size for couples or family. Was only a few years old and had a brand new HVAC system. We stayed a week in late July and beach was practically deserted. Rarely more than 6-10 other people as far as you could see. Good fishing off dock in the lagoon right out the back door. Captain Van Hubbard is an excellent fishing charter if you want to really fish the area. House is fully furnished with just about everything you could want including all kinds of water/beach and fishing gear. Ferry is expensive. If you plan on going to the mainland much buy the 5 trip pass for $170 (or eat at Leverocks. Their peanut butter pie and bread pudding are incredible and the ferry was free if you had a paid dinner receipt). Don't pack much. In retrospect, we only needed a couple of changes of clothes and our swimsuits. Everything else is furnished and there is a good washer & dryer. When you consider the barrier island location literally steps from the beach (with water at your back door as well), the neat stilted house and the absolute lack of crowds & tourists, this is a very good good value for a Florida vacation. Before we built our own weekend place we did 3 or 4 long weekends each year at places like this and it ranks in the top 3 or 4. We are planning to come back in a couple of years.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks Jim. So glad you enjoyed the place!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

In a word "Terrific"

Review submitted: June 12, 2010   Date of arrival: May 27, 2010

Don Pedro Island is the antithesis of your typical Florida resort destination. And, I consider that to be a most excellent thing. Coquina Cove was perfect. We loved the entire experience. Rent the golf cart and buy at least two ferry tickets from Julie and Dale if you plan to leave the island even once. We like to explore new places but this is one place that we'll probably want to visit again. The owner communications were excellent and we highly recommend this small slice of paradise.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Very comfortable and enjoyable stay.

Review submitted: March 16, 2010   Date of arrival: December 31, 2007

This is literally a "bring your suit and toothbrush" kind of place. So much just in case items were included. Additionally, the home was very clean which makes for a very comfortable and enjoyable stay.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We come back to over and over.

Review submitted: March 16, 2010   Date of arrival: January 9, 2008

Since my wife and I have become empty nesters we have stayed in quite a few vacation rentals but Coquina Cove is the only one that we come back to over and over. It just doesn't get any better for peaceful relaxation. We are really looking forward to our next visit.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

You want for nothing here

Review submitted: March 16, 2010   Date of arrival: January 10, 2008

After finding Coquina Cove online many years ago, we've never left. Each year at least once, we make the 18 hour drive to paradise. And it is so worth it. You want for nothing here. It's like home, only better. Can't wait for this years trip.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Truly a special find!!!

Review submitted: March 16, 2010   Date of arrival: January 14, 2008

Truly a special find!!! The views were magnificant and so close to beach and dock!!! We loved sitting in our very own Tiki Lounge barbequing while listening to the fish jump!!! I would recommend this house to anyone!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The house is wonderful!

Review submitted: March 16, 2010   Date of arrival: January 28, 2008

The house is wonderful! It's so quaint and homey, not sterile like some rental condos. Our favorite parts are the dock on the lagoon, the outdoor shower, and being able to bring our dog. The beach is literally steps away. Looking forward to this year's trip.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful time

Review submitted: March 16, 2010   Date of arrival: February 4, 2008

We had a wonderful time at Coquina Cove. It was our first visit to the island and enjoyed every minute of it. The house was so wonderfully decorated and well supplied. Our family is looking forward to coming back to this island and house real soon!

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

What an incredible place to stay

Review submitted: March 16, 2010   Date of arrival: February 18, 2008

What an incredible place to stay. Coquina Cove and the island were exactly what I needed. I was hoping to find peace and quiet so that I could truly relax and found it there on the island. A person couldn't ask for more. The house has every amenity one could ask for, and then some. The island is a great place to get away from it all. Staying at Coquina Cove was a memorable experience and I hope to return for my next vacation. Thanks for a making my visit so enjoyable.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The house was beautiful!

Review submitted: March 16, 2010   Date of arrival: October 6, 2008

I live in Florida, so I know that it's wonderful, but Don Pedro Island is truly paradise. Coquina Cove is perfectly situated between a beautiful canal and the Gulf of Mexico. The house was beautiful, very comfortable and spotless! We kayaked, rode bicycles, and walked for miles on the empty beaches. How much more relaxing can it be?!

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Fantastic place!

Review submitted: March 16, 2010   Date of arrival: June 23, 2009

This a fantastic place to stay on Palm Island/Don Pedro. We have stayed in many places and this home is by far the most immaculate and well equipped vacation rental we have rented. Everything is exactly like the photos. We definitely want to come back!

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Perfect get-away

Review submitted: March 16, 2010   Date of arrival: July 7, 2009

Coquina Cove was the perfect get-away for us. We couldn't have been more pleased with the cottage. It was so nicely decorated yet comfy and inviting. Every kitchen item we looked for was there, so we did more cooking than we had first planned and enjoyed doing so. Having the gas grill was a real plus. We enjoyed sitting on the deck below in the morning and evenings as the Scotties chased lizards (to no avail). We really appreciated having a pet friendly place to visit, but you would never know it by the cottage's pristine condition. Having the lagoon and the dock in the backyard and just a short walk to the beach made for the best of both worlds. We were glad to be back on Don Pedro and look forward to returning to Coquina Cove again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Review submitted: July 7, 2009   Date of arrival: July 7, 2009

Coquina Cove was the perfect get-away for us. We couldn't have been more pleased with the cottage. It was so nicely decorated yet comfy and inviting. Every kitchen item we looked for was there, so we did more cooking than we had first planned and enjoyed doing so. Having the gas grill was a real plus. We enjoyed sitting on the deck below in the morning and evenings as the Scotties chased lizards (to no avail). We really appreciated having a pet friendly place to visit, but you would never know it by the cottage's pristine condition. Having the lagoon and the dock in the backyard and just a short walk to the beach made for the best of both worlds. We were glad to be back on Don Pedro and look forward to returning to Coquina Cove again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: June 23, 2009   Date of arrival: June 23, 2009

This a fantastic place to stay on Palm Island/Don Pedro. We have stayed in many places and this home is by far the most immaculate and well equipped vacation rental we have rented. Everything is exactly like the photos. We definitely want to come back!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: October 6, 2008   Date of arrival: October 6, 2008

I live in Florida, so I know that it's wonderful, but Little Gasparilla Island is truly paradise. Coquina Cove is perfectly situated between a beautiful canal and the Gulf of Mexico. The house was beautiful, very comfortable and spotless! We kayaked, rode bicycles, and walked for miles on the empty beaches. How much more relaxing can it be?!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: February 18, 2008   Date of arrival: February 18, 2008

What an incredible place to stay. Coquina Cove and the island were exactly what I needed. I was hoping to find peace and quiet so that I could truly relax and found it there on the island.
A person couldn't ask for more. The house has every amenity one could ask for, and then some. The island is a great place to get away from it all. Staying at Coquina Cove was a memorable experience and I hope to return for my next vacation. Thanks for a making my visit so enjoyable.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: February 4, 2008   Date of arrival: February 4, 2008

We had a wonderful time at Coquina Cove. It was our first visit to the island and enjoyed every minute of it. The house was so wonderfully decorated and well supplied. Our family is looking forward to coming back to this island and house real soon!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: January 28, 2008   Date of arrival: January 28, 2008

The house is wonderful! It's so quaint and homey, not sterile like some rental condos. Our favorite parts are the dock on the lagoon, the outdoor shower, and being able to bring our dog. The beach is literally steps away. Looking forward to this year's trip.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: January 14, 2008   Date of arrival: January 14, 2008

Truly a special find!!! The views were magnificant and so close to beach and dock!!! We loved sitting in our very own Tiki Lounge barbequing while listening to the fish jump!!! I would recommend this house to anyone!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: January 10, 2008   Date of arrival: January 10, 2008

After finding Coquina Cove online many years ago, we've never left. Each year at least once, we make the 18 hour drive to paradise. And it is so worth it. You want for nothing here. It's like home, only better. Can't wait for this years trip.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: January 9, 2008   Date of arrival: January 9, 2008

Since my wife and I have become empty nesters we have stayed in quite a few vacation rentals but Coquina Cove is the only one that we come back to over and over. It just doesn't get any better for peaceful relaxation. We are really looking forward to our next visit.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: December 31, 2007   Date of arrival: December 31, 2007

This is literally a "bring your suit and toothbrush" kind of place. So much just in case items were included. Additionally, the home was very clean which makes for a very comfortable and enjoyable stay.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review