reviews for: listing #10312 - Puerto Rico, Caribbean Villa rental

RINCON - Casa Palmas - BEACH HOUSE
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  no
  • type  Villa
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Rincon/Ensenada
  • sleeps  10
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $110 - $200 /nt
    $650 - $1,300 /wk

sort by:

AWESOME

Review submitted: July 14, 2014   Date of arrival: July 5, 2014

We just got back from a 10 day trip to Puerto Rico including a week at Casa Plamas. The process of working with Ken to line this up was quick and easy.

The house was awesome and very clean. Lots of room (we had 9 people) a great location, and it had anything we needed. The beach was about 2 blocks or a 3 minute walk from the front door. We were in the ocean everyday for snorkeling or swimming so the short walk was nice.

Great location for other beaches nearby, stores, and downtown.

We would absolutely stay at Casa Palmas again.

Scot Smith
Iowa

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Loved Casa Palmas

Review submitted: June 17, 2014   Date of arrival: June 7, 2014

We were a family group of 7 and all had a wonderful time at Casa Palmas. The place was well maintained, clean, comfortable and had EVERYTHING we needed. When home, we spent most of the time on the upstairs veranda which always had a nice breeze, plenty of comfortable chairs, and a big table for meals. Even without air conditioning it was comfortable due to all the ceiling fans and bedroom fans. The snorkeling at Steps Beach was awesome and within a 5 minute walk. This beach is not great for little kids but just down the way there is a very nice one. Also Sandy Beach (which is a 10 min drive) lives up to its name and is beautiful for swimming. People were very friendly where ever we went.
Looking forward to returning to Rincon and Casa Palmas.
One of the best parts was dealing with Ken. He is available and/or promptly returned calls, making reservations was easily done, and getting into Casa Palmas was very simple.
I would recommend this beautiful spot to anyone wanting to explore the Rincon area.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Clean and comfortable home very close to the beach

Review submitted: May 2, 2014   Date of arrival: March 25, 2014

I stayed at Casa Palmas for 4 nights with my mom. We didn;t have a car, so we needed a house that was near the beach and restaurants. We rented the first floor and lucky for us we had no neighbors upstairs. I imagine if we did, it might have taken away from the serenity of our trip. The apartment is very clean and cool. We had no issues with it being too hot without ac and the fans were great. Big bathroom and AMAZING outdoor shower. My mom said the shower in the bathroom didnt always have hot water but you should seriously only use the outdoor one.
This is a simple clean house. If you are looking for a luxury villa, then be prepared to pay a lot more and look elsewhere. If you are on a budget and want a comfortable space with family or friends this is great.
The deck has lounge chairs and a grill (which we didnt use), but it faces the lot of Tres Palmas Hotel, so not the best view.
It is literally a 5 minute walk to the beach. Please note this property is right near Tres Palmas reserve which is amazing for snorkeling but is very rocky and wavy so not good for swimming with small children. Definitely bring water shoes. THere is a public beach about a fifteen minute walk south that is calm and right near the marina.
Carta Buena is an amazing smoothie bar 2 minutes walking up the road. We ate at La Copa Llena every night and is is the best restaurant in rincon and right on the beach.
Ken was easy to communicate with and provided information when asked.
If i came with a bigger group I would rent the apartment upstairs as it is a bit more private and has a terrace with views of the ocean.
We had a great time!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful House

Review submitted: April 27, 2014   Date of arrival: April 11, 2014

My husband and I, along with two of our children enjoyed the upper level of this home during Easter week. The house has everything you need and is immaculate. The outside veranda is great for meals or to take in the scenery and rooftop is nice for star gazing and late evening chats. It is a short walk to the beach with fantastic snorkeling. Later in the week, we found another route to the beach which provided outstanding snorkeling down from Steps Beach with more privacy. We got to swim with sea turtles!

Ken is fantastic to work with and quickly responds to any questions you have.

We love the Rincon area and loved Casa Palmas. We have already booked for next year! Thanks Ken for sharing your beautiful home with us.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great rental, great spot!

Review submitted: February 20, 2014   Date of arrival: December 21, 2013

The location of Casa Palmas was great, within walking distance to Steps Beach. We were two families that rented both units for a week around Christmas. The apartments were clean and comfortable. The 2nd floor porch saw a lot of use by the entire group. The rooftop deck was great for sunsets. There was easy to surfing, snorkeling, and dining. We would happily return!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

BEAUTIFUL!!!

Review submitted: February 9, 2014   Date of arrival: January 21, 2014

ok so i have been vacationing in Rincon for years now and I must say Casa Palmas was THE best house i have ever stayed in. i will for sure rent again, but the upstairs this time. thank you ken!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A week to remember

Review submitted: January 8, 2014   Date of arrival: December 30, 2013

We were a family group of nine and had a wonderful time at Casa Palmas. The house was great! It was clean, nicely decorated and equipped with everything we needed. We enjoyed our evenings on the veranda or the rooftop. It was a vacation to remember!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great place

Review submitted: December 4, 2013   Date of arrival: November 27, 2013

Casa Palmas was perfect for our family vacation. The best surf break was about a mile away. The deck on the second level was great and the roof top patio was fantastic.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Relax, enjoy the beach, snorkel, surf and be comfortable in this beautiful casa

Review submitted: November 27, 2013   Date of arrival: November 20, 2013

We have been visiting Puerto Rico and Rincon especially for over 12 years and this was the most relaxing and enjoyable thanks to the comfortable and well cared for Casa Palmas. The wonderful outdoor shower, quiet neighborhood, quick walk down to beach Tres Palmas to the full easy to use kitchen, the veranda and king sized bed have us planning our next visit,hopefully soon.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great place, close to beach

Review submitted: September 25, 2013   Date of arrival: September 4, 2013

We rented the upstairs and downstairs together with several other couples. The place was clean, well stocked, and only a few minute walk from the beach. The upstairs patio and roof deck were a great place to spend the evenings. The property was well maintained and as advertised.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect location

Review submitted: August 26, 2013   Date of arrival: June 19, 2013

Having stayed in Rincon before, I was hoping that this beach house would be just as good as the last place I stayed--and it was even better. The house is nestled in a little neighborhood just off of Tres Palmas Marine Reserve. It's an easy drive into downtown but is far enough away that you get the quiet of the countryside. Steps Beach is literally a 60 second drive from the house where you will find unbelievable snorkeling. The house was very clean, the maids were super friendly, and the owner quickly responded to any questions I texted him regarding the area or the house. The photos of the house on the website when I reserved it were completely accurate. The rooftop deck is a huge bonus, and I loved the outdoor shower! Upon pulling out of the driveway for our departure, my husband and I immediately began planning on coming back with family and renting the whole house!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Just what we were looking for!

Review submitted: August 4, 2013   Date of arrival: July 26, 2013

Our stay was great. Everything was as described. Just a short walk to a beautiful beach with incredible snorkeling. We stayed in the downstairs portion and everything we needed was provided for. The outside shower was wonderful.

Ken was very accommodating and informative. Would not hesitate to stay here again on our next trip to Rincon!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beautiful home and great location!

Review submitted: July 26, 2013   Date of arrival: July 17, 2013

We just returned from our vacation at Casa Palmas and my daughters (ages 13 and 11) are already talking about going back! The house is beautiful and the location is perfect. My daughters loved snorkeling at Reserva Marina Tres Palmas which is only a 2 minute walk from the house. We enjoyed preparing our meals in the fully stocked kitchen and eating outside on the scenic veranda. The sound of the coqui's at night was magical! Ken was very accessible and always very helpful. Thanks Ken for a wonderful vacation in your home!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Just stay here!

Review submitted: June 16, 2013   Date of arrival: May 8, 2013

This is my second trip to Rincon -- the loveliest part of Puerto Rico that I've been to. Casa Palmas is a great rental in a perfect location... a very short walk to a gorgeous beach that is also a marine preserve. The snorkeling here is great... fan coral, elkhorn coral, beautiful tropical fish and turtles are all waiting for you to step in from the beach. We did a lot of great beach combing here and nearby and had a great time. Casa Palmas is comfortable and clean and we had everything we needed. We stayed on the second floor and my favorite "room" was the huge covered porch. Ken was responsive and great to work with. I can't wait to go back!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

One week in Paradise!~

Review submitted: June 6, 2013   Date of arrival: May 25, 2013

My girlfriend and I just returned from a fabulous 1 week vacation stay at casa Palmas. we loved the area and the accomodations, the home was comfortably decorated, spotlessly clean, and laid out in a manner which provided comfort and privacy. There are several beaches, restaurants, and happy hour spots all close by which we enjoyed and found to be top notch! We rented a car, found the area easy to get around, safe, and full of different adventures for each day. Surely wish we had some more time there as it seems there were plenty of gems untouched :). The local folks treated us like royalty, we made several friends, and had a great time. I would HIGHLY recommend a trip to this lovely piece of Paradise!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing stay at Casa Palmas!

Review submitted: June 5, 2013   Date of arrival: May 21, 2013

We had an excellent stay at Casa Palmas! The villa was absolutely beautiful and the people of Rincon invited us into their town with open arms! It was rainy season (which we were unaware of) but that didn't stop us from enjoying our nine day stay on the island. Ken was amazing to work with, always quick to respond to emails, and provided us with plenty of literature to keep us busy. I would highly recommend Casa Palmas to anyone! Thank you Ken and family for providing us with an amazing stay. We can't wait to do it next year!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great house and location!

Review submitted: May 16, 2013   Date of arrival: April 17, 2013

Searching for a place to stay online is not always easy. Casa Palmas is all that the listing says it is. My husband and I, and our 15mo old baby stayed downstairs for the first week and grandparents joined us upstairs for the second week. I was so pleased to find that we had chosen well. The location was perfect for us...closest beach is a couple minutes walk, a ten minute walk takes you to a nice mellow swimming and snorkeling beach as well as a couple of great restaurants (we fell in-love with La Copa Llena), and several surfing beaches within a 5 minute drive. The beaches all have trees, therefore shade, for us to take turns surfing and playing with the baby or naps in the shade.
The house was great. The upstairs veranda made it perfect for us. The baby was safe up there and we spent all of our time when at the house lounging or eating on the veranda - awesome breezes, iguana viewings, night-time with tree frogs...The rooftop is also a treat- a great way to spend an evening.
No complaints. Ken was accessible and helpful any time I had questions. This was a relaxing and easy vacation and Casa Palmas made it so. We do hope to return and stay longer!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Enchanting Casa Palmas Vacation

Review submitted: May 6, 2013   Date of arrival: April 24, 2013

This area of Rincon can proudly boast quiet, completely safe neighborhoods with kind and helpful neighbors. Casa Palmas is a two minute walk to a lovely, clean beach and easy walking distance to a local marina with 20 star rated La Copa LLena restaurant (very affordable). Casa Palmas is a well thought out, clean, well-provisioned home. Enjoy cooking in and eating on either porch area, reading with breezes caught by how well the house is situated, star gazing at night on the magical rooftop (yes, you will the Southern Star). Fresh fruit, local fish, island hospitality wherever you go, you will be made to feel welcome. Our little family especially enjoyed the local free-range chickens, cats and abundant happy beach dogs....everyone gets along! Lots of shady spots on the clean beaches for parking baby port o cribs and everyone loves to see visiting families enjoying their island. This Grama loved the quality of the linens and towels, kitchen gear, the bathroom and we all loved the perfect outdoor shower. Our stay was one week, our son and daughter's two weeks. None of us wanted to leave Casa Palmas and wished we could have stayed much longer. Lots of fun eateries and do stop by the local stands. They have good food, reasonable prices and we wanted to support the local economy as often as we could....a great way to meet the islanders who are so pleased to meet you and to make you feel welcome. Casa Palmas is simply beautiful beyond words. The pictures are true, the grounds are very well maintained, the owner was very accessible and left lists of contacts for every need imaginable. We would very highly recommend Casa Palmas and look forward to returning.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: We usually do not respond unless we feel a clarification is needed. BUT, WOW!! Thank you, and we hope you do visit again. You have perfectly summarized what we love about Rincon!!! GRACIAS!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Spring Break 2013

Review submitted: April 5, 2013   Date of arrival: March 25, 2013

What a fabulous vacation property. We have stayed in many VRBO properties worldwide and this home ranks at the top. It is accurately portrayed in the photos. It is very well maintained with wonderful bedding and linens. The location is perfect within walking distance to some fantastic restaurants. We enjoyed surfing, snorkeling and exploring. The reef is amazing to see. The weather was perfect. Ken and Karen were so helpful in answering all of our questions. We are looking forward to returning very soon. We would recommend this property to all our friends and family.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

It's All In the Details

Review submitted: February 18, 2013   Date of arrival: February 10, 2013

I've rented at lots of other properties before and have to say this place wins hands down in terms of delivering exactly what is offered. The house is beautiful. I really appreciated that the owners didn't stint on quality: good furniture, nice linens, plenty of towels, etc. We love to cook and were thrilled to find that we had everything we needed - down to the garlic press and good quality blender. We appreciated the large selection of cookware. There were night lights and good lighting and fans everywhere. The beach is just around the corner (and a fabulously beautiful thing it is). There is a wonderful restaurant, Copa Llena at the Black Eagle, just a few minutes walk away. (Make reservations). We were a group of seven friends and it was exactly the right amount of space, though I'm sure for a family you can sleep more. Wifi was good, water pressure was some of the best we've experienced in the Caribbean outside of resort hotels. We loved the outdoor shower after the beach. Thank you!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

property 68418

Review submitted: February 6, 2013   Date of arrival: January 19, 2013

Couldn't have ordered better weather if I tried, (85-90). The location was perfect for our needs. Within walking distance to the town and market. The ocean was a stones throw away and the beach was magnificent. As for the amenities, I'd say they were right on. Didn't want for anything. There are numerous activities if you want them (horseback riding, jet skiing, paddle sailing, wind sailing, surfing). We went parasailing and that was lots of fun. Restaurants are everywhere. We would recommend the Mai Mai Restaurant, and The Lazy Parrot. I would highly recommend this house for a fun filled vacation.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Really good rental

Review submitted: January 22, 2013   Date of arrival: January 11, 2013

We rented the upstairs for a week. Surfing was our intent. Great location and we lucked out with huge waves. Very clean, very comfortable accommodations. The decor was really terrific, simple and local. It's in a very nice neighborhood with a short walk to the beach at Tres Palmas and a short ride to town. The house was great. The kitchen was fully appointed with everything we needed. We ate every breakfast and lunch out on the covered patio and walked to several very good local restaurants for dinner. The upstairs access to the roof deck was a nice compliment of added space. I think renting upstairs and down with more family will be our next booking.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Family Vacation at Casa Palmas

Review submitted: January 17, 2013   Date of arrival: December 30, 2012

Our family of 8 rented both the upstairs and downstairs of Casa Palmas. It was great. It was clean and being able to cook some of the meals really helped. The children loved the closeness of the beach and the upstairs patio. Just wish we could have stayed longer.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Christmas reunion

Review submitted: January 17, 2013   Date of arrival: December 24, 2012

We rented the whole house with another family, 10 in all. Great set up for our group of teen and college age kids. We had meals together upstairs,the kitchen was well stocked for all types of cooking, especially the Wahoo we caught while there. The beach is uncrowded and has shade available almost all the time which is great, no umbrellas to lug around. Snorkeling was some of the best we have ever done, while paddle boarding was the new activity for us all. The surfing was not as good as hoped only due to mother nature not cooperating, but it was perfect for those just learning.
We really enjoyed our stay and Ken was very helpful getting some basic food for us, since we arrived on a holiday when everything was closed. Rincon is a beautiful laid back place, and this location is very safe and quiet but close to many activities. We hope to return again sometime.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing, and so relaxing, yet close to so much to explore

Review submitted: November 12, 2012   Date of arrival: October 19, 2012

Our family of five stayed for one week, the girls loved their bedroom, as well as the huge deck out front. The sound of the Coqui tree frog truly lulls you to sleep. They are loud, but do not hinder you in any way in sleeping. I sometimes found myself waking up to see if they were still croaking. The neighbourhood is very safe. Ken does have a gate for you to lock if you feel the need. We walked the five minutes to the beach often to watch the surf, explore the beach and enjoy the amazing sounds. It is perfectly located close to surf shops/and bars, with just a short drive to check out the other side of the surf, Tamboo area.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Absolutely PERFECT!

Review submitted: September 20, 2012   Date of arrival: September 11, 2012

Just got back from beautiful Rincon, PR, and our stay at Casa Palmas was amazing. Diving at Tres Palmas every morning just about sums up the trip. Walking to the beach, finding sea glass, and staying in a beautiful location was everything we needed. BIG THANKS TO KEN, he was great with helping get us there and make sure we locked in the rental! I'll be back Ken!!

-kate

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Time at Casa Palmas

Review submitted: August 17, 2012   Date of arrival: May 25, 2012

Casa Palmas was fantastic. At first, we were a bit nervous about the lack of A/C, and while at times we may have preferred it, it was awfully nice to have the windows open with the Caribbean breeze wafting in through the house. The only time it was a problem was when the next door neighbors decided to party throughout the evening and into the morning. While I can respect that most people are there for a get away, and therefore didn't want to rain on anyone's parade, it would have been nice to have had the option to shut the windows, flip on at least a window AC unit in the bedroom, to drown out the noise of the college boys partying next door. That said, the entirety of our stay was quite enjoyable. The kitchen was more than well equipped, the grill outside was in perfect working order, and the walk to the beach was extremely short. Next time, we'd like to stay on the upper floor, to get a better view of the sunsets, but having a patio and outdoor shower on the lower level was, by all accounts, wonderful. We greatly enjoyed our stay, and are already planning on going back with friends next year, if the Collings will have us. For those of you that already are aware of the magic of Rincon, then this place is the perfect get away!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Stay

Review submitted: August 10, 2012   Date of arrival: August 2, 2012

Just returned from a great trip to Casa Palmas. Everything was just as it appeared on this website. Ken did a great job of making sure we knew how to get to the property and that everything went smoothly. The beach was an easy walk from the aparment and the views from the roof were great.

Hope to visit again some time.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing!!!

Review submitted: August 3, 2012   Date of arrival: July 25, 2012

Went down to Rincon with a couple of buddies of mine. I found Casa Palmas by reading the reviews here on VRBO. I must say that Ken is amazing!! Such a nice guy and I had the pleasure of meeting him down in Rincon. Ken made sure our stay was everything we could have hoped for and more. He pointed out where to go on the island and what to do. Casa Palmas is a great place to stay!! It is clean,very comfortable, and close to the beach. I would recommend to anyone who is seeking a vacation spot for a little relaxation or adventure. Definitely will be coming back! Thank Ken!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful getaway

Review submitted: June 14, 2012   Date of arrival: June 2, 2012

Rented the upper and lower level of the home. Price was more than reasonable and the location is great. Lots of beauty and tranquility. The beach is conveniently located personally I don't surf or snorkel but many tourist do. Went up the road to Sandy BeaCh not even five minutes up 413 where the water is a little calmer. Great out door bar Tamboo good food and the service was excellent. If I am able to return to Puerto Rico I would stay at Casa Palmas again. Thank You Ken

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

healys long beach n.y.

Review submitted: May 25, 2012   Date of arrival: May 18, 2012

stayed at casa palms with my husband, it was so relaxing and peaceful.we had such a great time. walk to the beach every morning was just down the road.sunsets and sunrise were great,casa palms has it all horses the shipwrek right down the road(a bar with great food),great beach with all your watersports .the house was clean and had great decor,the owner ken was very helpful,enjoyed it so much ill be back...THANK YOU KEN. THE HEALYS.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Lower apartment is a great escape for a couple

Review submitted: April 23, 2012   Date of arrival: March 24, 2012

This was our third trip to Rincon and our first stay at Casa Palmas. My husband and I rented the lower level, and found the house to be very comfortable, clean, and well-situated. It's a short walk to Steps beach (great for snorkeling) and a slightly longer walk to the Marina beach, which is great for swimming. Besides entering and exiting their upper apartment, we hardly saw the renters above us. We spent a lot of time on the patio and never felt like they were in our space. It was private. The kitchen was well-stocked and the water cooler was a great touch. Ken and Kathy have a very nice place!

My one complaint - the neighborhood itself is quiet except for the nighttime chirps of the coqui frogs. I'm not sure if it's because we were on the first floor but there were a few nights during which the frogs were so loud I had trouble sleeping (even with earplugs!). If you're a light sleeper you might want to grab the upper apartment. I'm not sure you could avoid the noise of the frogs at any other rental though since they live all over the island!

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for the nice comments on our house!!
OK, Coqui frogs! We love them! Thought everyone did! They sell Island CD's with their sounds to relax you. A big reason we do not have A/C, as we want to hear them along with the sounds of the surf and wind through the Palms. Good news, they eat insect pests including mosquitoes.
FUTURE GUESTS: Yes, Coquis are everywhere in Puerto Rico. Very musical (vocal) after a good rain. Chickens & roosters too in some neighborhoods. We also have cows in ours! Horses ride by our house everyday. Rincon is still (thankfully) a rural, country area. Please come visit if you like to experience local, tropical life!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Rincon visit

Review submitted: March 23, 2012   Date of arrival: February 1, 2012

We had a lovely time visiting Casa Palmas Our apartment was clean and had all of the amenities one could ask for. We stayed in the lower level and found it relaxing and enjoyable.
However, there is no ocean view on the lower level..if you want that you need to stay on the upper level. It was not available during our stay, but would definitely request that next time.
Ken and Kathy are the great hosts making us feel welcome and happy to be there. They had great suggestions for Rincon activities also.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Clean, romantic place in a great location

Review submitted: February 24, 2012   Date of arrival: January 31, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Casa Palmas for 4 nights January 31-Feb 4, 2012. We loved it. It's in walking distance to the beach, it's close to the good surf breaks, and close to restaurants and bars. The neighborhood was very quiet as well. The house was clean and had everything we needed. This place is great for a couple on a romantic getaway, a girl's trip, a boy's trip, or family vacation. The price was very low considering the closeness to the beach and the quality of the house.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great place to stay.

Review submitted: February 24, 2012   Date of arrival: January 30, 2012

The owner was very helpful in arranging our rental. It was clean, comfortable and in a quiet neighborhood. Additionally, it is very close to the beach and attractions. I have recommended this rental to family members and friends. Overall this is an excellent place to stay.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Casa Palmas 1st first review - EXCELLENT!!!

Review submitted: February 15, 2012   Date of arrival: February 7, 2012

Rented the first floor of Casa Palmas for 4 dudes... Saved some $$ to have two sleep in the big bed, the other two grabbed the twins. Probably could have had one more on the couch. The place was clean when we got there and everything worked as expected. The neighborhood was really nicely laid out with the house only a few blocks from the beach and a few local bars. Would recommend this to anyone looking for a good, clean place for a home base while exploring Rincon and definitely for surfing... can't beat the location of the unit relative to some kick a** surf spots: Maria's and Domes.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Stoked you got some good surf! Please be aware, we DO NOT allow couch surfing!! :o)

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

We loved it

Review submitted: February 2, 2012   Date of arrival: January 16, 2012

We had a great time in Rincon using Casa Palmas as our home base. We had the 1st floor and everything was nicely decorated, clean and functional. The town and its people are very nice. We hope to be able to return. The short walk to the beach was enjoyable, had we been on the beach it would have earned the 5th start. The laundry and roof are not accessible to the 1st floor occupants and that would have been a plus to have. Dealing with the owner Ken is easy and pleasant. Overall, we would like to visit again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

We loved it

Review submitted: February 2, 2012   Date of arrival: January 16, 2012

We had a great time in Rincon using Casa Palmas as our home base. We had the 1st floor and everything was nicely decorated, clean and functional. The town and its people are very nice. We hope to be able to return. The short walk to the beach was enjoyable, had we been on the beach it would have earned the 5th start. The laundry and roof are not accessible to the 1st floor occupants and that would have been a plus to have. Dealing with the owner Ken is easy and pleasant. Overall, we would like to visit again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We Do Not Advertise Or Offer a Laundry.
Future guests please note we may offer use of our laundry room for Holiday and long-term stays.
Please read our listing completely. S e p a r a t e, Up & Down private villas. Only the upstairs villa has roof access, Unless renting the whole house or Both villas together.
Sincerely,
Ken & Kathy Collings

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

January at Casa Palmas

Review submitted: February 2, 2012   Date of arrival: January 6, 2012

We spent a week at Casa Palmas from Jan 6th thru 13th. The weather was stellar. Mid 80's each day with a lovely breeze. Temps at night were very comfortable. We did not miss the air conditioning. The villa looks exactly like the pictures. No surprises. Clean and had everything we needed. The only thing I would suggest would be a new mattress for the queen size bed. The other thing was the rooster that was cock-a-doodle-doing starting at 3AM. Not much the owners can do about that. The coqui were cool and had a rhythmic sound so enjoy them until the rooster starts chiming in ! The beach is close by. If you think you can cut thru the neighbors yard don't try, or you will get yelled at. I wasn't able to snorkel at Tres Palmas because of an ear infection and duh, it is a reef! So if you want to swim bring some aqua shoes or take the 5 min drive south to Corcega Beach. Boqueron is also a beautiful area (about 1.5 hours south). Closer by check out the English Rose for breakfast (YUM) and the Black Eagle has nice drink specials while you're taking in the sunset. This is a great area. People are awesome, the water is warm and the sunsets are spectacular. I increased my collection of sea glass two fold. We'll be back to the western part of PR again. We had a lovely time. Thank you !!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you!! There is now a new Queen bed in the master bedroom.
Snorkeling and swimming at Tres Palmas/Steps beach is fabulous! Use the sandy keyhole in the cove. Just watch where everyone goes in and out.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Casa Palmas

Review submitted: October 26, 2011   Date of arrival: October 15, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay at Casa Palmas. The weather cooperated, and even though the waves were a little on the 'small' size my sons and I had a great time. We snorkled around the reef for hours and saw a turtle, and, of course, the fish and coral were beautiful too. We went down past the light house and found the waves for body-surfing. All-in-all, we had a wonderful time.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful location, great renters.

Review submitted: October 25, 2011   Date of arrival: October 4, 2011

This was our 6th trip to Rincon, and our first stay at Casa Palmas. We always stay in Puntas, but wanted to be in walking distance of the beach this time. Casa Palmas is a 2-3 easy minute walk to Steps Beach (good for snorkeling and wading, swimming beaches are a very short drive away), and you can hear the waves from the apartment. We stayed in the top floor apartment, which was really nice, well-equipped (great kitchen!), and replete with ceiling fans which were more than adequate to keep the apartment cool. Although we spent more time out of the apartment than in it, it was a welcoming place to retire after a day of exploring. The property was clean and airy, and the neighborhood peaceful. In addition to the apartment being very nice, it was enhanced by my interactions with owner Ken, who is a stand-up guy. He was kind, funny, engaging and answered all questions promptly and thoroughly. If I was forced to issue any criticism, it would be that the photograph of the rooftop view is perhaps in need of updating, but everything else was as reported and exceeded our expectations across the board. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this property to anyone traveling to Rincon. We will very likely stay at Casa Palmas again if it is available on our next trip to paradise.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Outstanding

Review submitted: October 4, 2011   Date of arrival: September 28, 2011

Casa Palmas was better than advertised by this website. The house is beautiful and very comfortable. The floor and ceiling fans make it very comfortable even during the warmest part of the day when the breeze wasn't blowing.

The location is outstanding. You are within easy walking distance to Tres Palmas and Steps beach making it very accomodating for snorkeling. There are several places to eat and drink within a short walk.

We had a great time and look fowrard to going back and staying at Casa Palmas again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

La Casa de Beautiful

Review submitted: September 14, 2011   Date of arrival: July 5, 2011

Casa Palmas not only met....it exceeded our expectations. We Traveled and stayed at numerous VRBO on the island of Puerto Rico and Vieques, but none were as nice as this. This place was perfectly located walking distance from the beach, local town, restaurants and pubs. My husband and I really liked the attention to detail that the owners provided, such as bottled cold water dispenser and the selection of classy dishes and pots and pans. The decorations and the comfortable bedding was also a nice touch. We did like the top of the line fans you had in all the rooms but sleeping would have been a little better if you had central air (as humidity was like 100%). The only complaint we had was that the laundry was up on the second floor and when we needed to do it, the upstairs resident wasn't home and had locked the gate, also, we were told we could not us the roof area by the upstairs resident and I would have liked to hang my laundry up their and laid out a while. The specifics of wether or not we could use that area were not mentioned in rental agreement. We will rent your place again and tell everyone we know of a great place in RINCON'. THANK YOU.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for your nice comments! We do try hard to make our guests feel 'at home' in our home.

POTENTIAL GUESTS: Please note, our listing description does not offer Laundry facilities or A/C!! We feel our great rates reflect this.
Listing description does state, "SEPARATE, up and down villas". Also, "Upstairs villa has private access to roof terrace". Again, a reason for rate difference.
There are separate clothes lines provided for up & down villas.
Sincerely,
Ken & Kathy Collings

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great place, great location.

Review submitted: August 11, 2011   Date of arrival: August 3, 2011

We loved staying at Casa Palmas. The location is so close to the beach and the marina where we could walk to restaurants and bars. We would recommend this place for families or couples or a group trip. Thank you so much for a great vacation!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Another Excellent Vacation in Puerto Rico.

Review submitted: July 11, 2011   Date of arrival: May 19, 2011

This was our fourth trip back to Casa Palmas since 2009 which says it all. We love the atmosphere, the people and the countryside of Puerto Rico. This trip we anticipated better snorkeling in May and were rewarded with some great sights off of Steps Beach. The Shipwreck is always excellent and we were rewarded with some great music at the Calypso Cafe. Plus...Mangos were in season! We explored the Southwest corner of Puerto Rico as well as our first surfing lessons at Jobos with some successes. Thanks Ken and Kathy and we’ll be back! P.s. we definitely found flying into Aguadilla this time to be the way to go.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

nice place and relaxing

Review submitted: June 29, 2011   Date of arrival: June 12, 2011

Nice place in Rincon, neat town , description is very accurate, snorkeling was very good! wife and our 3 kids stayed and enjoyed it, walked to town plaza every morning for cafe con leche and avena every morning. owners very responsive. Would have rated excellent if there was an AC unit for the night sleep - Our trip was in June and it happened to be quite hot with little breeze for our first 2 days, so was hot in 2nd upstairs unit, but it moderated and we were good without it as the breezes did kick in- just a heads up to those needing AC.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: NO AIR CONDITIONING: We do not advertise A/C. We tell our guests NO A/C. Many guests have commented that the ' the lack of A/C was no problem' & 'lots of fans and breezes'. There are ceiling fans in every room plus some portable fans if necessary. In our house we like to hear the sounds of the surf, the wind through the palm trees and of course the Coqui's! We believe the value of our low rates reflect this.

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Lovely Casa Palmas

Review submitted: June 15, 2011   Date of arrival: March 22, 2011

My sisters and I had a wonderful time staying at Casa Palmas. We enjoyed the neighborhood (a peaceful, residential neighborhood right off Steps Beach) and the apartment was spacious, clean, well-cared for, nicely decorated and comfortable. The listing description was accurate, the owner was very helpful and I would definitely recommend Casa Palmas to friends and relatives. Thank you for helping make our stay in Rincon a pleasant and memorable one!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Family Spring Break 2011

Review submitted: May 22, 2011   Date of arrival: April 17, 2011

We had a great visit to Rincon with our family, two boys ages 7 and 10. The house worked perfectly for us, the photos and description were very accurate. It was clean and had everything we needed. The location made it easy to walk to the marina and beaches. The restaurant at the marina had great food and was good for families and adults. We loved the outdoor space at the house, that's where we spent most of our time when we weren't at the beach!! The binder with local information was also a great help. We highly recommend the horse ride on the beach. Overall had a great, relaxing time and would definitely come back. Thanks

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

We had another great week at Casa Palmas

Review submitted: May 18, 2011   Date of arrival: February 25, 2011

The property was neat and well maintained. So much to do! It's nice to have a car so you can drive around and check out different beaches & restaurants. We walked to Shipwrecks (casual with excellent food) several times. Also, Club Nautica next door for delicious fish tacos for lunch across from the beach. Great snorkeling at Steps. We also rented kayaks at the town beach. Fun happy hours watching the sunset from Maria's. Good local bands, too. Lots of fun!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Relaxing in Rincon So Easy at Casa Palmas!

Review submitted: May 5, 2011   Date of arrival: April 18, 2011

After a long, harsh New York winter, this home became our sanctuary. Our week at Casa Palmas not only met our expectations, but fit the needs for our varied family due to its ideal location. My husband surfed nearby. Our 17 year old son "just chilled" with a book on the beach. Our 12 year old daughter and I parasailed. Our 6 year old got private surfing lessons from a local surfer. We ALL loved sunning on the rooftop by day, and stargazing by night! Breakfast, al fresco, was wonderful on the large outside living area. The house was clean, comfortable and stocked with everything needed to feel right at home.The outdoor shower was perfect for sandy bodies! Being able to walk to the beach was very practical. We especially loved being lulled to sleep by the coquis (tree frogs) every night!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Casa Palmas perfect for our family

Review submitted: March 7, 2011   Date of arrival: February 11, 2011

Our two week vacation in Rincon was great. The house was perfect for my wife and I and our two daughters. Casa Palmes is located in a quiet neighborhood with short walk to the beach where we snorkeled when the surf was calm. Along with being conveniently located between surf breaks and town the house was clean, comfortable and lacked nothing. After a day on the beach we spent most evenings relaxing on the covered porch. Hope to do it again next year!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wonderfully Relaxing Wintertime Getaway

Review submitted: February 21, 2011   Date of arrival: January 26, 2011

My stay at Casa Palmas was tremendous. Vacationing this winter with 5 friends, my Puerto Rican respite exceeded expectations. The house was as represented.....clean, spacious, comfortable and conveniently located. The nearby beach was beautiful....the perfect place for walking, swimming, surfing and breathing deeply. Best features of the house included the rooftop deck and the oversized outdoor shower. The people of Rincon were wonderfully welcoming. We enjoyed a mildly breezy 85 degrees every day...with NO humidity and NO bugs. Just right!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful accommodations and location

Review submitted: February 21, 2011   Date of arrival: January 27, 2011

Six of us rented both units at Casa Palmas and the description and photos do not exaggerate what you can expect. We especially loved the second floor veranda for our dinner gatherings and the roof deck where, before heading to bed, we would lie in the chairs marvel at the stars. The house is well appointed, the beds really comfortable, and the personal decor made me feel like I was staying in someone's home, not in a rental unit. I especially liked Ken's painted beachview on the surfboard in the kitchen. You can walk for miles along the beautiful shoreline and swim, surf, look for beach glass, read a book in the shade of a palm tree; or wander into Shipwrecks for great food or Calypso's for happy hour and music (do not miss Miguel Rodriguez if he is there). We went at the end of January and had no issues with mosquitos. And we loved the calling of the coqui forgs, which added to the Puerto Rican ambience. A wonderful experience. Thanks, Ken!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

great experience!

Review submitted: February 20, 2011   Date of arrival: January 27, 2011

We rented out the entire Casa Palma (upstairs and downstairs) and had such a wonderful experience there. The rooms were clean and beautiful and the beds were very comfortable. The upstairs porch was wonderful for communal meals and playing games and we had so many memorable evenings on it. The roof top deck also added a lot and we ended up watching the stars and listening to our friend play the flute up there on numerous nights. While not right on the beach, the house is very very close to the beach. I would definitely recommend this rental to anyone.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Casa Palmas surfing vacation with sons

Review submitted: February 5, 2011   Date of arrival: January 4, 2011

This was an ideal property for a surfing trip with my college age sons. Well appointed and functional enough for me and well located for all the surfing beaches for my sons. The price was more than fair and the owners very easy to deal with. Certainly would return.

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

OUr stay in Rincon at casa palmas

Review submitted: February 4, 2011   Date of arrival: December 19, 2010

we visited Rincon right before Christmas and had a great time. the property was exactly as described. what made it great though were the owners. they responded to us immediately and helped us find the place! the place was very clean and had everything our family needed. we would definitely go again and would definitely only stay here!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Amazing Stay at Case Palmas

Review submitted: January 20, 2011   Date of arrival: January 3, 2011

I just returned from a wonderful two weeks at Casa Palmas. The location was perfect and convenient to everything. It was in walking distance to two beaches (3 if your adventurous), and close to the the Taino Dive Shop, Shipwrecks, and great snorkelling and diving. I stayed in the downstairs unit, which was more spacious than the pictures indicated and very well maintained. Ken was very helpful with any questions that I had and checked in during the stay to see if I needed anything. I've already recommended this place to my friends and family, and will be back again soon!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Christmas and New Years at Casa Palmas 2010

Review submitted: January 7, 2011   Date of arrival: December 24, 2010

Our family of 7 rented the entire house (upstairs and downstairs) over Christmas and New Years. Casa Palmas was a perfect fit for us! The pictures of the house on the web site were accurate, however, there were some additional items that were not included. There were murals in the downstairs unit and in the outside shower that were spectacular! The location of the house was great. Walking distance to Tres Palmas and Steps Beach where our sons surfed some of the biggest ways we have seen! Great conditions! We enjoyed relaxing on Maria's Beach and found wonderful shells at Domes Beach. Good surfing conditions there as well! We loved the people and food at the Calypso Bar and the Shipwreck. Our breakfast at the English Rose was a special treat and we bought delicious baked goods at Punta's Bakery for our Christmas and New Years dinner at the house. What we liked the most was spending time at the house cooking and sitting on the upstairs deck enjoying the beautiful palms and landscaping that surround the property. Real quality time together that we rarely get as we are all scattered through jobs, work and school. We would love to come back to Puerto Rico and hope our stay next time is as great as this one. The only negative part of our trip was that one family member was "snowed in" at home and was unable to join us. We have promised her that we will be returning to Puerto Rico so she can experience the hospitality and relaxation we had at Casa Palmas! Ken was great and provided us with websites and information about the area so we were prepared by the time we got there. We would recommend Casa Palmas to anyone and everyone! Two thumbs up!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Wonderful location, great for a family

Review submitted: January 5, 2011   Date of arrival: March 27, 2010

My sons (teenagers) and I stayed at Casa Palmas last April (2010). It was wonderful. We stayed in the lower level. While we didn't have the views, we weren't there much. The accommodations were clean, comfortable, and included an outdoor space. We met the family renting the upstairs unit, and they said they've been going to Casa Palmas for years...a great testimony to the owners and everything about the place. We were very happy! Perfect landing place for a family vacation.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

pristine Rincon locale with all the ammenities

Review submitted: November 16, 2010   Date of arrival: October 31, 2009

Our stay at Casa Plamas was grrrrrrreat! steps from the beach and excellent care taken by the owners. 3 of us stayed in the downstairs unit and all went better than expected. I highly recommend casa palmas. Thanks again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great stay in Rincon

Review submitted: July 23, 2010   Date of arrival: July 7, 2010

Our stay at the Casa Palmas in Rincon was very nice and peaceful. I had 3 college girls ages 26. The unit was perfect; full kitchen, fans, towels, water cooler, outside shower and your own patio to hang out and enjoy the outdoors. We shopped at the local grocery store, Econo and people were very friendly. The outdoor BBQ came in handy. The beach is great for kids as there are tide pools and snorkeling, not soo much a swimmer's beach, lots of coral/ rocks, but we are from Hawaii and it didn't bother us a bit we found a little patch of smooth rock and swam there. The girls enjoyed the nite life as they came home when the sun was raising. The unit is a great location for checking out the nearby area and we found our way around very easy. Also, went to the local flea market, but not much of Puerto Rican items for sale which is what we were looking for; T-shirts w/ Puerto Rico name, hand made items are hard to find.

I would bring mosquito spray/ lotion. we bought at the local store. Also, would be great if the downs stairs unit had access to the 3rd floor deck to watch the sun- set. The upstairs neighbor was nice enough to invite us to have a look and we ended up having a BBQ w/ her and her extended family. Finding the unit was hard at night cuz there's no street lite and there's only a little rock marker is hard to find, maybe some kind of cone w/ address painted on would help.

Ken is the best to work with. He gave us great information about the area and Rincon. It took us 2 days to acclimate to Puerto Rico time, which took us 2 days of travel time to get there. It's a great place to unwind and enjoy the locals. If you're looking for a resort type stay this is not the place for you. We enjoyed our stay and would stay there again. Mahalo Ken for all you help..

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Excellent location..especially for surfers

Review submitted: July 18, 2010   Date of arrival: January 10, 2010

We had a really nice stay at Casa Palmas. The location was excellent! It's close to restaurants, beaches and surfing. Ken was helpful in answering questions we had before we got there and even had some items mailed back to us that we accidentally locked inside the last day. We loved Rincon and would like to stay there if we went back.

Recommended for: families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Great location

Review submitted: July 7, 2010   Date of arrival: June 21, 2010

The location of the house is perfect. A very short walk to the beach (tres palmas) where my daughter loved exploring the rock pools. The Shipwreck bar is less than 10 minutes walk away (we stayed in June so The Spot was closed but is also very close). The beaches are lovely and from Tres Palmas it's just a short walk to Steps beach and the Calpyso. The map on this site is very accurate, and we found the reviews to be spot on. We hired a car and it's very easy to get around. People are friendly. We would definitely recommend Rincon and would love to go back.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

A Great Find

Review submitted: June 26, 2010   Date of arrival: May 30, 2010

Our stay at Casa Palmas was very nice. The value for the price is perfect. I especially enjoyed the outside shower. A great way to cool off after a hot day at the beach. I did find the walk to the beach a bit of a hike and then discovered the beach too rocky for swimming. The local public beach was much better. We would definately return and recommend to our friends and family.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

AMAZING!

Review submitted: May 20, 2010   Date of arrival: May 1, 2010

My husband and I spent our 10 year anniversary, without our 4 kids, at Casa Palmas. It was perfect! We spent 5 glorious days just a few short minutes from the beach. We would spend the first part of the day snorkeling off of steps beach or wandering around town. We would come back and relax on the porch and listen to the afternoon storm. It was amazing.
My husband and I have traveled quite a lot in our lives. We have lived in Europe, the middle east on an Island off the coast of Portugal and throughout the U.S. We loved Rincon so much my husband can’t stop talking about it. We spent 2 days on the other side of the Island. The whole time we wished we were back in Rincon. We are already trying to figure out a way to get back, and this time with our kids because we know they will love it!
Casa Palmas was just what we needed. Great accommodations, comfortable and modern. We didn’t use the TV. much but we enjoyed being able to keep in touch by posting pictures of our trip for our friends and family to see on our lap top. Couldn’t have asked for anything more. Thanks to the Collins for sharing their home!
Heidi and Rick

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Home away from Home

Review submitted: May 17, 2010   Date of arrival: May 7, 2010

Our stay was very nice. It was just like being home. We stood on the second floor which had the roof deck to watch the sunset and stars. The breeze was nice didnt need air conditions at all. Ken was really nice to work with. Will be coming back. Thanks Ken and Kathy!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Great Villa in Rincon

Review submitted: May 8, 2010   Date of arrival: April 20, 2010

My wife and I had the pleasure to stay at Casa Palmas for a few days at the end of April 2010. Ken is great to deal with and even called me a couple days before our arrival date to confirm details and see if I had any questions. The villa was clean, well appointed, spacious, and contained everything we needed for our stay.

My only complaint would be lack of A/C. Made falling asleep a little more difficult, due to open windows. Also, after each morning run I found I had to sit in the rental car to 'cool down'.

Loved Rincon and would recommend Casa Palmas.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

A True Vacation

Review submitted: April 25, 2010   Date of arrival: March 20, 2010

Our Puerto Rico vacation was just what we needed - everything about it was easy to manage and having a home away from home that supplied our every need so effortlessly made the experence perfect. Casa Palmas as our base was excellent. It was comfortable, tidy, well-appointed, well-located near the shore, towns, surf beaches, groceries, sights and scenery and good restaurants. We slept late, or not; we cooked or went out; we sat on the patio and stayed in touch via the internet; or just read; we walked to the beach or drove to new parts of the island. A true vacation. Ken and Kathy are the perfect absentee hosts. And with the true sympatico of those who really appreciate life in Rincon, they made sure we did too.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Review submitted: January 26, 2010   Date of arrival: January 26, 2010

Just returned from a week's stay at Casa Palmas. It was fabulous, we stayed upstairs but I believe up or down Casa Palmas would be perfect. Rincon is beautiful the people are friendly the accommodations were perfect and Ken was very easy to deal with. I also suggest anyone wanting a fabulous breakfast go the the "English Rose" it is not too far from Casa Palmas and has the best breakfast to be had in the area!!
Surfing and snorkeling were great, I look forward to returning there as soon as we possibly can.

Helpful votes: 6 / 7

 

Review submitted: January 18, 2010   Date of arrival: January 18, 2010

In early December we stayed at Casa Palmas for the second time. What a magical place Rincon is. We had such a great time and look forward to coming back again. Ken and Kathy have a wonderful place and are great to work with. Quick walk to beach, marina, swimming, snorkeling dining and night-life. This trip we explored more of Puerto Rico. Beautiful island and wonderful people.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Review submitted: January 10, 2010   Date of arrival: January 10, 2010

NICE PLACE TO STAY....NEAR BEACH/OWNER VERY ACCOMODATING ESPECIALLY WHEN WE MADE LAST MINUTE RESERVATIONS....CLEAN, VERY WELL "STOCKED" WITH EVERYTHING WE NEEDED...WOULD DEFINITELY STAY AGAIN.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Review submitted: January 4, 2010   Date of arrival: January 4, 2010

Great place to get away to. Within walking distance to marina, horseback riding, beaches, etc. The guestbook is perfect for the guest who has never been before. Lots of suggestions for activities and places to eat. Very cool place to visit. My three teenagers and my 10 all had a great time.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Review submitted: November 12, 2009   Date of arrival: November 12, 2009

We stayed at Casa de Palmas for four nights in late October while visiting friends that live near Rincon. We had the upstairs apartment and it was wonderful, with plenty of room for meals, sleeping, etc. The balcony was a very pleasurable place to relax in and having the beach so close was a treat. I would recommend Casa de Palmas to anyone who want a nice low-key vacation. Ken is great to deal with and provides excellent directions/maps so you can get there even in the dark.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Review submitted: October 28, 2009   Date of arrival: October 28, 2009

We just got back from a week stay at Casa Palmas. First time in Rincon and we loved it and the house was perfect for us. We rented the downstairs apartment and it was great. I thought we'd be missing out by not getting the upstairs apartment and view (it was rented), but that wasn't the case. Downstairs was great too, so if you can't get the upstairs place, don't look further. Being downstairs worked out well for our toddler too, so we preferred it in the end. The place was very clean and comfortable and had everything we needed. Short walk to beautiful beaches and some good restaurants. The beaches within walking distance (from 2-5 minutes depending) were a good variety, from wavy to calm (near the marina)to snorkling beach so it was great for finding good spots for all of us. And a very quick drive to get to other beaches. The nearest beach had great shade too for those who burn easily, and little pools that formed in the afternoon, great for kids. From what we could tell, it seemed like one of the nicest areas to stay in Rincon, and Casa Palmas was perfect and a very good value. We'd definitely stay there again.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Review submitted: June 22, 2009   Date of arrival: June 22, 2009

Wow! What we had wanted and more.... We spent 8 short nights and wished we had stayed longer. We rented both up and down due to the size of our group (10). Plenty of space for all. We had group dinners on the upstairs patio every night, very pleasant with the overhead fan. Safe neighborhood, super short walk to the beach (really. Bring your snorkel gear)Take a 1 1/2 hour drive to the Camuy Caves well worth it-you'll pass a waterfall along the way.So much fun in PR-we'll return for the waves in the winter.P.S. I am picky and found the house to be great!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Review submitted: June 14, 2009   Date of arrival: June 14, 2009

We came in June, so if you want a nice quiet place, this was clean nice and close to the ocean. We enjoyed the diving and the local people. The lack of air conditioning was no problem, lots of fans and nice breezes.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Review submitted: May 6, 2009   Date of arrival: May 6, 2009

We stayed at Casa Palmas in April and had a great time. The weather was perfect and we did lots of snorkling just off the beach. It's a great location (near Domes and Maria's for surfing) in a nice neighborhood. We could walk to several restaurants and to Taino Dive Center. Someday we hope to go back.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Review submitted: April 24, 2009   Date of arrival: April 24, 2009

Myself and two buddies stayed at Casa Palmas upstairs for 2 weeks after Thanksgiving. We fully enjoyed the location, large veranda, nice towels and a great kitchen to move in without bumping into one another. Playa Ensenada is the place! The Road to Happiness. Leezur

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 2, 2009   Date of arrival: April 1, 2009

We had a great time at Casa Palmas. The house is very comfortable, nicely decorated and the kitchen has everything we needed. I especially loved the outside shower with the Palm tree & hibiscus paintings. Snorkeling was perfect at Steps Beach until the BIG waves came rolling in. Next time I would like to go horseback riding. It was fun watching the horses go by the house. I'd also like to stay upstairs & use the top deck. Rincon is awesome.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: March 17, 2009   Date of arrival: March 1, 2009

My husband, my sister and I stayed upstairs at Casa Palmas the first week of March and are looking forward to returning next year. What a wonderful kitchen -- good knives, even a garlic press. How excellent to have a large veranda! We already knew we liked Rincon, but staying at Casa Palmas made it perfect. We loved it all ...

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: February 24, 2009   Date of arrival: February 1, 2009

Our family enjoyed a wonderful week at Casa Palmas. Our daughter and her husband especially enjoyed horseback riding and snorkling. The accommodations were comfortable and the outdoor shower is great! Next time, we would like the upstairs with the balcony so we could have a chance to see whales!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: February 19, 2009   Date of arrival: February 1, 2009

We loved Casa Palmas! This retreat nestled in the
heart of Rincon is perfect for a relaxing getaway.
Just a short walk from the beach, this place was
perfect for me and my family. It is clean,
comfortable and above all beautiful... The sunsets
were amazing from the roof deck and meals on the
airy veranda couldn't have been nicer. The beach is
great and the water is amazing. I've never seen
such big waves. We loved our time there and can't
wait to return. We'll already planning our next
vacation there!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: October 22, 2008   Date of arrival: October 1, 2008

Casa Palmas is always the first place I look to stay when I go to Rincon. Having traveled there numerous times, clean accomodations and convenience are number one priorities for me. It is a short walk to Steps Beach, and less than a five minute drive to any restaurant in town. The balcony is an awesome place to hang out after a long day, and the outdoor shower is great. If your looking for a private apartment to stay in Rincon, Casa Palmas is the place!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: October 8, 2008   Date of arrival: October 1, 2008

The house at Casa Palmas was beautiful, the beach is less than two minutes away and from the house. You can even hear the waves from the house. Everything was perfect my kids loved it when we visit Puerto Rico again we will be gladly staying at Casa Palmas.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 5, 2008   Date of arrival: August 1, 2008

The villa was very clean and has all the necessary appliances and rooms that make you feel as though you were in your own home. The beach is at your reach without the need of transportation as well as the town.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: May 29, 2008   Date of arrival: May 1, 2008

The lower villa was great at Casa Palmas. Ceiling fans in all the rooms and easy opening windows gave a great breeze throughout the house. The covered patio was perfect for eating outdoors and the beach is a very short walk away! Very nice!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: May 28, 2008   Date of arrival: May 1, 2008

Casa Palmas was everything we had hoped for - comfortable, convenient, and beautiful. It was the perfect place to stay on our visit to Rincon and will long be remembered as our PR home for a week. When I make it back to Rincon, there is no question that I will stay at the Casa Palmas. Thank you again for everything!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: May 26, 2008   Date of arrival: May 1, 2008

Casa Palmas is all that others have said: beautiful, comfortable and well equipped, and excellent location. I love PR and Rincon is a special place indeed. We experienced everything from glass-placid snorkeling days to AWSOME big surf that brought out the SERIOUS surfers. Casa Palmas is certainly a great place to stay!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: May 6, 2008   Date of arrival: May 1, 2008

I love this place. I have been almost all around Puerto Rico and even with family on the island and many places to stay, I would rather stay at Casa Palmas. It’s perfect. The house is at the end of a road which gives you privacy. It is quiet and clean. My favorite part of the house is the patio. It’s big and has a nice breeze flowing through all the time. The house is very well maintained. It’s in the best location! I had to drive all around the west coast and nothing seemed to be far from where I was staying. Crash boat, Buye, Joyuda and Isla Ratones is all on the west coast and it was very convenient being in between all of that. The house is full equipped! It has silverware, cookware, and a clean wide open kitchen! It has a water cooler with COLD water! The house has all of the essentials and more. It has an outdoor shower which is SO CONVENIENT! Love that there is a little plaza or little shopping center not too far. I love the drive to the main hwy; it’s a fun beautiful drive. Ken is great! He is always available to answer your questions, very nice people. I have no complaints at all. All around this house is awesome and I plan to stay there on all my trips to the west coast!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: May 5, 2008   Date of arrival: May 1, 2008

A week doesn't do Rincon justice. It's enough time to soak up the great sun, and snorkle and sightsee, but not enough time to take in all the great restaurants. I've never had fresher fish, and that from a Cape Codder. The villa is well-maintained, clean, and well-equipped. A surfer's paradise.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: May 5, 2008   Date of arrival: May 1, 2008

I work with Ken, and his description does not do it justice. It is the perfect place to stay in Puerto Rico. It's clean, comfortable, and has everything you could need, with very comfortable beds. Casa Palmas is within walking distance of many beaches, resteraunts, bars, and hot spots. I would not go anyplace else in PR. wish I was there now.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: May 1, 2008   Date of arrival: May 1, 2008

I like the finer things in life,like most of us do.This property is on the "A" list. When I'm there I leave all my cares back in the states.Even if its just for a week or two or three.Close to all thats great about Rincon.Dont miss a chance to do Rincon in STYLE.Book a week NOW.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 28, 2008   Date of arrival: April 1, 2008

A month in Rincon was just what the doctor ordered and what this guy needed..!
Staying at the Casa Palmas made it even better. Great location, safe, clean, and comfortable. I highly recommend it and hope to return next winter.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 25, 2008   Date of arrival: April 1, 2008

This was a wonderful place to stay. We rented the
upper unit and practically LIVED on the marvelous
front porch that caught a steady breeze off the ocean.
It was clean and well equipped for cooking. We also
enjoyed evenings on the roof-top terrace under the
stars.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 25, 2008   Date of arrival: April 1, 2008

We had a wonderful and relaxing time in Rincon.It was a tropical paradise without any commercialism.The villa was comfortable, clean and very well equipped. We watched the surf,walked the beach, went snorkeling, star gazed from the rooftop and enjoyed excellent casual dining within walking distance.Great Sunday service at the hilltop "Church with no Walls" Looking forward to next time!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review