reviews for: listing #103131 - Santa Fe, New Mexico House rental

Rass Mandal - On 10 Acres with Pool - Featured on HGTV
  • bedrooms  5
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Los Cerros HOA
  • sleeps  12
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $750 - $900 /nt

sort by:

a beautiful exotic place

Review submitted: August 29, 2014   Date of arrival: August 17, 2014

you are transferred into a fairy-tale land!
it's a very peaceful place inducing you to relax and enjoy the nature around you. The house is well equipped and beautifully decorated, the only thing which we think should be changed are the mattresses.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

stunning property

Review submitted: August 21, 2014   Date of arrival: August 9, 2014

The house and property are unique and beautiful. Richard is welcoming and accommodating. We had a wonderful family reunion at Rass Mandal.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Rass Mandal

Review submitted: August 20, 2014   Date of arrival: August 18, 2014

RASS MANDAL
An enchanting and serene Abode of beauty, peace and harmony in which resides a many splendor nectar of spiritual awakening, presently lying dormant and seeking to arouse in man an an awe inspiring many dimensional awakening, out of his present illusory existence, into an all encompassing Divinity. May God's choicest blessings be showered on the owners of this Abode, Richard and his family, and all his future residential guests, and may God arouse in them a tingle of serious and divine inquisitiveness.
New Delhi, India

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Magic place with a welcoming energy...

Review submitted: August 15, 2014   Date of arrival: March 28, 2014

Our intimate wedding at the end of March was hosted in this beautiful home. We met with Richard the owner prior to our stay and we were taken aback by the positive energy of the place and the beauty of the nature around it. Needless to say that our few friends and family who joined us for the weekend loved it as well.

Our ceremony was held outside by the pool overlooking the mountains and the weather was amazing.

This place is special, everywhere you look there is something to appreciate… whether it is the architecture and smooth lines of the home, the colors within it, or the amazing nature that cradles the property--there is plenty to enjoy and take in.

Richard is a great host, he assisted us every step of the way and made excellent recommendations for services during our stay.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The home, grounds & mountain views were incredible

Review submitted: August 12, 2014   Date of arrival: July 30, 2014

The listing and photos on the property website are far exceeded by the actual home, the beauty of the grounds and the incredible mountain views from multiple decks, patios, pool, hot bath and observatory. The view of the night sky, sunrises and sunsets were beyond words. The 10 chair dining table was in beautiful formal dining room which was wonderful family gatherings, while the kitchen nook for breakfast and outside views was equally great. The living area with its rotunda ceiling, natural light, fire place and nook sitting area not only was beautiful, but was a great place to sit and enjoy each other while also enjoying the calming beauty of the home. All 5 bedrooms were spacious and all were unique and beautiful. The master bedroom with its separate and multi-level sitting bathing areas with views of the mountains is unsurpassed. The grounds surrounding the house included fountains, natural plants and flowers, wonderful art and walking paths to the yoga house, fire pit area and other areas on the grounds. Each day we enjoyed the pool, the hot bath and sauna and sitting on the decks and the patios all of which had unsurpassed views of the mountains. There was a great dining table outside along with separate sitting area which were great for playing games reading and talking. We also loved the access to the mountain hiking trails. The kitchen had a full array of dished, pots, pans, flatware, glasses, food storage and was equipped with good appliances. The dining room also included fine china for formal dinners. The owner provided a thorough manuel regarding the house and grounds, nearby walking trails and recommendations on grocery stores, restaurants, shopping, art galleries, the opera and location attractions and services. Based upon prior experiences with other good HomeAway rentals his attention to detail was unsurpassed. Simply stated Rass Mandal provided the most incredible setting for our family gathering possible and while we loved the sites of Santa Fe including the opera, Ghost Ranch, Canyon Road and Georgia O'Keefe's home and studio as well the surrounding areas we spent more at this home than with other vacation rentals because it allowed for connections to nature and to each other vacation rentals. We hope to return and would recommend Rass Mandel to anyone and everyone.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Would recommend Rass Mandal without hesitation!

Review submitted: August 11, 2014   Date of arrival: April 17, 2014

When planning a getaway, I am often reluctant to board another plane for the next "restful" destination since I travel a great deal for work. As Easter approached this year, I began thinking maybe we might head north to Red River or Taos. Luckily, I happened upon Rass Mandal while doing an Internet search. I was immediately drawn to the close proximity to Albuquerque and the long list of amenities and positive reviews. The property owner responded promptly to my booking request and we reserved a few days for our family group to enjoy Rass Mandal. With a 4:00 p.m. check-in time, we had a chance to visit Santa Fe first to shop around a bit and enjoy a tasty lunch. Afterwards, we fired up the GPS on my cell phone and headed for Rass Mandal. Spectacular is hardly descriptive enough, but take my word for it...we headed just north of Santa Fe and roll up a windy road to a big security gate. After being granted access, we followed the twisting road, up, up, up into the hills above the city. Just over a brow in the road and around a curvy turn, we discovered the blue domes and walls of Rass Mandal. The grounds felt natural, simple, and gardened in a perfect Southwestern style. Interesting rocks and statues are located all around the house. I quickly felt an attachment to the gentle Asian (Zen) style of the home furnishings and grounds. We were immediately greeted by the property owner and treated to a tour of the house and grounds. You must visit and see for yourself. The pool, the hot tub, the sauna, the house itself, the master bath garden tub, the pigeons and hummingbirds, walking paths, stunning views, the fireplaces, the kitchen - wow!! All fantastic! We cooked at the house, colored Easter eggs and the kids had a blast hunting eggs around in the gardens. I felt rested and transformed by our visit. The property owner is a kind and generous man who has a beautiful home which he seems to share with great pleasure. He's knowledgeable about the trails in the area and is an avid hiker himself. RM is the PERFECT getaway for a large family or group. Plenty of beds and bedrooms and a huge house so everyone can spread out and just chill. The kids laugh at me since we returned home saying I've caught the Rass Mandal "bug" - we now have Tibetan prayer flags and a Buddha or 2 in our own garden...along with a few well-placed blue light bulbs. Loved our trip to RM - the drive is practically nothing from Albuquerque!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Heaven on Earth-An Exquisite Experience!

Review submitted: July 21, 2014   Date of arrival: July 9, 2014

We were so fortunate to find Rass Mandal. Eight women gathered in this most unique home and had profound experiences. Although we were so close to Santa Fe we did not want to leave the property. Morning and nighttime swimming and hot tubing, taking saunas, meditating overlooking the hillsides, gathering in the main rooms...we felt transported to a 5 star retreat center. The yoga/dance house made our stay that much more magical. The house is beautifully appointed including china and silver. The owner was generous beyond belief, offering us to use whatever we found and to search through everything. There were beautiful alters throughout the property which brought a feeling of tranquility and peace where ever you looked. The manager was available for any concerns. We were there the weekend of the folk art market which brought more magic to our stay. We are all convinced that we will return for our gathering. Everyone left revitalized and filled with love. Thank you Rass Mandal. You are a very unique and magical home.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Stunning retreat with gorgeous views

Review submitted: July 21, 2014   Date of arrival: July 15, 2014

Our second group visit to Ras Mandal. Beautifully decorated and comfortable. We marveled at the view from the pool and spent every afternoon in the hot tub. Richard and scarlet could not have been more hospitable and helpful. The best!!!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

An amazing oasis

Review submitted: July 19, 2014   Date of arrival: July 9, 2014

This was an amazing place for 8 women to gather and just enjoy the beauty of the property, the home and the peaceful feeling at Rass Mandal. The yoga time was exquisite and it is so beautifully equipped, everything needed is there. Staying there was stress free in terms of arrival and interacting with the owner, who was very supportive and invested in our enjoying ourselves. A truly exquisite experience from home to property to pool, jacuzzi and sauna. Everything needed for perfect relaxation. Thanks so very much

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Family Reunion

Review submitted: July 10, 2014   Date of arrival: June 24, 2014

Our family’s stay at Rass Mandal for a recent reunion—grandparents, parents, young children—was a lovely experience for all of us. Gathering from Washington, D.C., Maryland, Colorado, and Oregon, we found the compound to be a grand mixture: exotic and richly textured while at the same time inviting and welcoming. A serene mountainside retreat, Rass Mandal offers both solitude and a communal experience. From morning yoga sessions at the pavilion to afternoons at poolside to meals at its large dining table, Rass Mandal provided everything our family could hope for to ensure a happy and satisfying get-together. We’ll remember our time there fondly for many years.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Unforgettable to say the least!

Review submitted: July 6, 2014   Date of arrival: April 20, 2014

Our time at Rass Mandal has been unforgettable to say the least. This gorgeous property has offered my family as well as myself undeniable comfort and spiritual freedom. Everything from the pool, to the yoga pavilion, to even our own warm beds has been simply luxurious . Thank you so much for giving us the opportunity to inhabit this lovely home and enjoying the breathtaking views - we will return as soon as possible to absorb more of what lies up in these gorgeous mountains and in your beautiful home. Thank you again - Namaste,

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful, relaxing, beyond our expectations!

Review submitted: June 2, 2014   Date of arrival: May 22, 2014

My family and I chose Rass Mandal as the locale for celebrating my brother's graduation from St. John's College. We had family flying in from all over the country for this momentous occasion and we wanted to make sure that everyone had a comfortable place to sleep, eat, rest, and relax. Rass Mandal exceeded our expectations for ALL of the above!!! We had an AMAZING time swimming in the pool, hanging out in the hot tub, relaxing in the sauna. My sister spent every morning in the adorable meditation nook upstairs, which was GORGEOUS. There were a lot of us staying in the house, but somehow we all could find space for alone time if we needed because this house was HUGE. My nieces also found the house to be perfect for hide-and-seek!! The kitchen was beautiful and well-stocked with all the equipment we needed to cook up delicious meals. We also found that we spent a lot of time hanging out in the breakfast nook!

Another plus was the location of the house - it was no more than a 10 minute drive to all of the places that we wished to go.

Overall, Rass Mandal was the perfect location to celebrate my brother's accomplishments. We are already planning another excuse to go to Santa Fe so we can stay here again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

This home is truly perfection for celebrations!

Review submitted: May 25, 2014   Date of arrival: May 7, 2014

Rass Mandal is an incredibly unique property with everything a group could want or need for a memorable retreat. This trip was a very special birthday celebration for a dear friend. We wanted this girls trip to be a one of a kind experience for all...and it certainly was.
The home is just remote enough that we didn't feel like we were in a tourist mecca but close enough to town for the times we wanted to explore. We were perfectly happy hanging out together, enjoyed the hot tub and sauna (too cold to swim in the pool) cooked, had plenty of space for art projects or to sneak away for an afternoon nap.
The grounds are stunning, with interesting sculptures and resting placed to take in the gorgeous views. The house looks and feels like a sacred palace in a foreign land but with western amenities at every turn. The kitchen is the perfect gathering place to create group meals or to enjoy quiet time in the cozy nook that over looks the pool area.
We loved the main room at night with the fire roaring as the top notch sound system played our favorite music. The lighting in this room is amazing. I simply cannot describe how beautiful the dome and stained glass windows glistened as the sun set or in candlelight. The hallway glows with the sapphire blue lighting. Just stunning!!
We loved the luscious bath products and incredible selection of spices/oils and vinegars that were ours to enjoy. OK, I have to get back to the kitchen....it is stocked with literally every cooking utensil, pot/pan, serving pieces, china and glassware that you could ever need. We decorated the dinner table each night and didn't make a dent in the options.

Thank you Richard for taking such great care of us. You delivered everything we had hoped for and more. I cannot wait to come back here with my family!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great views; exquisite amenities; spacious.

Review submitted: May 21, 2014   Date of arrival: May 14, 2014

Rass Mandal was a special place for a reunion for 10. The location was only 15 or so minutes from the center of town. The home was spacious with 3 full baths 2 with showers. The kitchen was the best equipped I have ever experienced. While the home was one floor there were several step downs between rooms; but the halls were well lit. The beds were ready and there were plenty of towels, soaps and even shampoo. The dining area, silverware and plates accommodated our large group with ease and grace.
The outdoor area was spectacular with multiple levels for swimming, dining, sunbathing, and just relaxing.
We would definitely return; but, would stay longer. Highly recommended.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Peaceful Home

Review submitted: May 21, 2014   Date of arrival: May 8, 2014

This is the most peaceful home I have ever had the pleasure of staying in. It is perfectly set up for comfort and ease. The living room is an ideal gathering place with the perfect lighting, comfortable moveable furniture and the most exquisite fireplace in Santa Fe. I brought 8 of my dearest friends from around the country to retreat from our lives. We had a private resort experience. We used the sauna and jacuzzi, which were perfectly heated for luxurious relaxation. Our five-day stay was the 2nd week of May, though, so the pool was too cold to use. While we used the fireplace every night, we were disappointed not to have access to the fire pit. Apparently the laws regarding fires became more strict. If the group you are considering bringing is coming to bond, this is an ideal environment for that. The house, the view, the incredible attention to detail, the 10 acre spaciousness and the high aesthetic appeal make this the ideal retreat.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Surprise Birthday Weekend

Review submitted: April 28, 2014   Date of arrival: April 27, 2014

What an amazing place to spend the weekend! We flew in from Miami, FL to surprise my boyfriends father for his 66th birthday and it was all worth it!! This place is magical, has amazing views, and I would definitely come back. Also, I loved the smell of this wonderful house. Remember that the nose is the gateway to memories! I highly recommend this beautiful palace! Until next time! :)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful, tranquil, a real oasis!

Review submitted: April 10, 2014   Date of arrival: April 3, 2014

It was like walking into a little baby mountain taj mahal! Very palacial yet cozy. So many beautifully appointed nooks and crannies. It is like going on vacation within a vacation. From an artists point of view, very inspiring.
Would return for sure!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A place of beauty, serenity, and magic.

Review submitted: March 30, 2014   Date of arrival: November 28, 2013

My first impression of the Rass Mandal was one of breathtaking beauty. As we came up the road, the beautiful blue domes came into view with a gorgeous high desert vista for the backdrop. Upon arrival, the owner (Richard) greeted my girlfriend and I and gave us a tour of the property. The grounds are well maintained, and I could perceive the deep level of care Richard had put into decorating the Rass Mandal. Each room has a fabulous feel to it, and the architecture of the building is truly unique. The enormous curved hallway, which is lit up by ethereal blue lights in the evening, provides an almost otherworldly ambiance. My girlfriend and I spent Thanksgiving here with a small group of family and friends. Everyone commented on the deep sense of peace that seems to emanate from the Rass Mandal and permeate into you during your stay. There is a great soaking tub and two-person sauna. Since it was winter, we didn't get a chance to get in the pool or take advantage of the spacious yoga pavilion, but that just means we will have to come back this summer! This is an immensely romantic location. When I was there, it felt like we were in a different time, on a different world. I left the Rass Mandal with a deep sense of serenity and a feeling of rejuvenation. I would recommend it to any of my friends or family. Richard was so welcoming and helpful throughout our stay. I could tell that he loves what he does and puts his whole heart into the effort to create the magical atmosphere that envelopes the Rass Mandal. Truly a memorable moment in my life. I look forward to visiting again in the near future.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beyond idyllic sanctuary

Review submitted: March 25, 2014   Date of arrival: March 20, 2014

I've traveled the world and never felt so invited and loved. The home is stunning - the architecture, views, pool, huge yoga studio... but the loving touches, are what captivates. The home truly is meant to be a sanctuary that invites the soul. There are personal touches everywhere that have meaning and inspiration. Tons of deities and goddesses and buddhas and mandalas and flowers and candles and lighting. The design spans Moroccan and egyptian to indian and east asian. Just stunning.

We were there for a women's retreat and it was absolutely perfect.

Richard, the owner is the loveliest and Leslie and Scarlett put such love and care into our organic meals and accomodated everyone's dietary desires... and it was oh so good.

I want everyone I know to experience themselves here. It is magical.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fabulous private home – great (peaceful) views

Review submitted: March 17, 2014   Date of arrival: March 10, 2014

This is a house you really have to stay at to realize and appreciate all of the beauties that the house and property have to offer. The views of Santa Fe are absolutely amazing, and both the indoor and outdoor living arrangements are exquisite with the utmost attention to detail that really make this property stand out. This house is perfect for large family gatherings as well as for smaller holiday getaways. We took a family vacation over Spring Break with our four young kids and couldn’t have been happier with the accommodations. There was enough room to spread out and the privacy that the house offers really makes you feel like it’s just you and the mountains. We were so impressed with the homeowner, Richard, as well. As you talk to Richard, you can quickly realize how much the house means to him, and it shows with how he cares for the house and the property. As a traveler in a new place, Richard is first class to deal with and helps make sure you are ‘at home’ at his property. We really enjoyed the location of the property – great views away from town, yet close enough that you can get to the Plaza and main Santa Fe attractions with about a 10 minute drive. We very much recommend this property to those that want a great Santa Fe experience!

Owners response: Hi Emily, Trent & the girls,
Firstly, thank you for the compliments - you are so nice! I am certain that you're review will help potential guests should they be considering staying at Rass Mandal. I do hope that one day you return during the summer season. The weather and pool will provide a refreshing respite from Texas! All the best, Richard

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Truly once-in-a-lifetime experience

Review submitted: January 20, 2014   Date of arrival: August 23, 2013

Rass Mandal is truly a once-in-a-lifetime experience and is deeply rooted in the surrounding landcape, and eclectic cultural history of Santa Fe. I won't even try to describe the elaborate layout and decorations of this beautiful retreat, but I will say we felt at home from the moment we entered the house to the moment we very reluctantly left. The views from the home are astounding, and every morning we awoke for yoga in the pavilion before having a refreshing swim in the pool, soak in the hot tub, followed by breakfast and coffee as the morning sun warmed up the deck. Absolute paradise. We also went on hikes and mountain bike rides in the surrounding trail system, which connects to the wilderness areas around Santa Fe and beyond. I would definitely stay here again.

Owners response: Thank you so much for taking the time to submit a review! They mean a lot to me and are so helpful to the future guests contemplating staying at Rass Mandal. I am constantly trying to improve on the experience and hopefully should you return to Santa Fe, you will visit Rass Mandal once more. All the best, Richard

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The best house in Santa Fe

Review submitted: January 14, 2014   Date of arrival: January 4, 2014

My team and I recently booked The Rass Mandal house for a inspirational work trip. It was hands down the highlight of our stay. Maybe even the best thing about Santa Fe. The house is of great design, full of character and there is a fascinating story behind it (just ask the owner Richard).

Speaking of Richard, he is a excellent host. He is incredibly knowledgable of both the house and Santa Fe. He provided our team with a seasonal temperature guide, a list of full attractions and a detailed manual in case anything was missed.

If you are looking for a one-of-a-kind experience in Santa Fe, stay here.

Thanks, Richard!
- TH Design Team

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Rass Mandal, our home away from home!

Review submitted: January 13, 2014   Date of arrival: January 11, 2014

The UNM LGBTQ Resource Center had its 2nd Spring retreat at Rass Mandal. The Space was nothing short of magical. The house has an amazing energy and was the perfect space for us to create a work plan for the semester. The house is inviting and grand yet also very intimate. It is a beautiful palace and I cannot wait to experience it in the spring. Richard is so accommodating to us and is the perfect host. The house is immaculate and has the most splendid amenities. The kitchen is perfect for creating wonderful meals for all to enjoy. The bedrooms are so comforting and inviting. The fire pit was amazing as is the sauna and hot tub. We look forward to going back year after year. Thank you Richard for letting us into your space, we appreciate it and you!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect group getaway in beautiful Santa Fe!

Review submitted: January 5, 2014   Date of arrival: December 28, 2013

We stayed at this property over New Years with six couples and couldn't have had a better time! The house was unique and Spectacular and provided a great home base for our Santa Fe stay. From the beautiful views, fun hiking trails nearby and just relaxing at the house we couldn't have asked for more. The group loved the hot tub & sauna after a long day skiing Santa Fe or hiking to the nearby peaks. The kitchen was great and the living areas big enough to accommodate our large group. We definitely hope to come back and stay there very soon. Richard was so helpful and accommodating and really made our stay exceptional. I would recommend this property to anyone.

Owners response: Thanks so much Lindsey and it would be wonderful to welcome your group back! I also so appreciate the way you all took care of Rass Mandal (and my white pigeons)! All the best to you, Richard

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Five star property!

Review submitted: December 27, 2013   Date of arrival: December 20, 2013

Magnificent property in very good location outside but close from downtown. House originally made for overseas aristocrat with outstanding architecture. Easy to expend hours just admiring the inside before you take over the mountain and valley views. Attention to every detail throughout the house. A week was not enough to enjoy all what this property has to offer. A real gem! Richard was very responsive throughout the entire process.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Magical and Divine

Review submitted: December 11, 2013   Date of arrival: November 28, 2013

Vacationing at Rass Mandal was a memorable and truly special time for my family and friends. The entire property is magical and the home is fabulously unique. We celebrated Thanksgiving and the kitchen was supplied with all the appliances and utensils we needed to prepare a delicious meal. The Mandala room was the perfect setting for relaxing after dinner.
Surrounded by Tangkas, Buddhas, and precious antiques we all felt blessed to be immersed in the beauty of the serene.
Richard, the owner, was kind, gracious and attentive to our needs.
I will definitely return!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Local Santa Fe Yoga Retreat

Review submitted: December 10, 2013   Date of arrival: September 6, 2013

The retreat at Rass Mandal was one of the best experiences I have ever had. My clients continue to feel the beauty, joy and stillness within them and are eagerly waiting for the next retreat. The beauty of Rass Mandal cannot be described, it is not only the physical beauty of the place and location but the love and intention which is put into every room in the house. I recommend that anyone looking to really go deep within themselves and find oneness with the vast magnificence of nature should experience a stay at Rass Mandal. I feel heartfelt gratitude for Richard for opening up this enchanting home for all of us. I am looking forward to having many more magical times at Rass Mandal.

love, light
Shibana

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect Place for a Perfect Celebration

Review submitted: December 6, 2013   Date of arrival: November 28, 2013

I brought together my family and intimate friends for Thanksgiving in Santa Fe. I chose Rass Mandal after having read the other reviews and the pictures that appeared to good to be real. Upon arrival, my expectations were exceeded as others have also noted.
Thanksgiving went so so well. All the required tools and utensils were available in what I can only describe as a 'complete' kitchen. I bake wedding cakes for a living and felt right at home in the kitchen which is so important to a Thanksgiving celebration. My family and friends united with the energy of Rass Mandal and we had a perfect celebration and joining. Sitting around the fireplace in the Mandala Room after dinner really capped off a great time.
Of course, the bedrooms and all the other amenities in the house added immensely to our enjoyment. Upon leaving, my daughter and her partner remarked that they felt 'of royalty'. We all felt the same.
Others have mentioned Richard's warm welcoming and we all experienced that as well. He is a really connected soul.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

WOW! What an amazing place!

Review submitted: November 10, 2013   Date of arrival: October 25, 2013

First things first, the drive to Rass Mandal was absolutely beautiful. You're completely surrounded by beautiful vistas and twisty mountain turns. We met Richard and immediately knew that we had made the right choice, he's a great guy and his love for this home is reflected in the care that he gives it. The house speaks for itself- it's just as stunning as you could possibly imagine. We were all mesmerized by every last detail.

We were provided with everything we could need and we utilized every aspect of the house (as we were encouraged to do). Furthermore, it's just a couple minutes to town and plenty of shopping and dining. That being said, we spent our evenings at Rass Mandal, it was just to cool to not enjoy.

Rass Mandal is going to be a place that I'll never forget. It has become a cherished memory and I am fortunate to have had the opportunity to experience it.

Thanks.

Owners response: It was so wonderful for you to choose Rass Mandal for your very special family renewal of your memories of Santa Fe. You all were among the best in caring for the home. I am so happy that you enjoyed it! Thanks so much again, Richard

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Rass Mandal - Devine Destination for Discovery

Review submitted: November 5, 2013   Date of arrival: September 25, 2013

Rass Mandal is a wonderful property and Richard was the perfect host. Richard graciously greeted a van-load full of 50-something women, (friends since high school - Class of 79) who were in New Mexico for a girls trip. Unknowingly, the tee shirt Richard chose to wear that day read "Rock and Roll High School - Class of 79"!! We knew right then, Rass Mandal was the right place for our reunion!

After piling out of the van, Richard gave us a thorough tour and explanation of the house and property. The guest manual he provides for reference is great - we referred to it often over the weekend. The homes layout accommodated us perfectly with enough privacy and personal space; as well as, plenty of places for congregation and conversation. The house was so comfortable and well equipped, we only ate two meals in restaurants. We started our mornings around the table in the breakfast nook off of the kitchen and close to the coffee pot. Then it was out the door on a hike, again utilizing another of Richards reference materials explaining in much detail hikes that you can take from the Rass Mandal property. After a day in town or venturing a little further into northern New Mexico, it was wonderful to come back to the comforts of Rass Mandal and make and enjoy a family style dinner around the huge dining room table. Each night was then capped off in the hot tub, sitting by the fire ring, or gathered around the fireplace in the Manadala Room reminiscing or recapping the days events.

The descriptions of Rass Mandal are perfect and the photos exquisite, but pictures or words do express what being in this special space in person is like. The house is an architectural work of art. The furniture and decor are beautiful works of art, as well. Everywhere you look there is another discovery - a niche with a an iridescent rock sample, a view of a fiery sunset from a tower, a stained glass window throwing a colorful image across a room, ...

Rass Mandal was a special place for my friends and me to re-discover and rekindle our friendships. I hope my future brings me back to Rass Mandal, where I can continue my discovery and share this Devine destination with other special people in my life.

Owners response: Hi Melissa,
You brought back memories of my meeting of your group that brings a smile to me :-) When giving you all the tour, it was so special the way everyone responded. It gives me so much pleasure to have you all really enjoy yourself. My purpose for creating Rass Mandal was to provide an environment where all can connect, reflect and respect nature and each other. It appears that you all did just that and I thank you.
All the best,
Richard

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Retreat into Divinity

Review submitted: October 10, 2013   Date of arrival: October 4, 2013

Rass Mandal exudes opulance with overtones of divine serenity. Twelve woman converged from all areas of the country at Rass Mandal for four days to explore the light of yoga and to nourish themselves on all levels. THIS IS THE PLACE to experience life as an artistic endeavor. All the rooms are adorned with treasures from near and far. Each peice (and there are several hundreds) seems to have just landed organically in the right location that makes you pause and savor the scene. From sipping tea poured from an Iraq tea pot and consumed in ornate glasses to enjoying the vista from the from the fire bowl patio while sipping wine from copper cups each moment at Rass Mandal holds a special flavor. The pool that overlooks town, the yoga pavillion that reflects the blue sky, the ornanet rooms with fireplaces and meditation areas and the white homing pigeons that poise on the sky blue domes make Rass Mandal a stand out experience for a Yoga Retreat, a special family gathering or just time to indulge your senses

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much, Nova! It was pleasure to have you & Faith lead a wonderful experience for your group. I so look forward to welcoming you back next June.
Namaste, Richard

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Ras Mandal exceeds all expectations

Review submitted: September 9, 2013   Date of arrival: July 28, 2013

Ras Mandal proved to be an incredible way to combine the excitement and grandeur of a Santa Fe vacation, with the relaxation and refreshment of a spiritual retreat. The magnificence and beauty of the home and property can hardly be described in words, giving testament to Richard Woodruff's dedicated upkeep and artistic inspirations. The landscape of the surrounding city only magnifies the experience. Enjoying family style meals together in the beautifully decorated kitchen and living space, swimming and relaxing in the luxurious pool and hot tub, centering in the meditation rooms, and hiking the surrounding trails are only a fraction of what this residence has to offer. I would highly recommend this trip to any group or individual looking for a truly unique and unforgettable experience, desiring to adventure both outward, and within.

Owners response: So nice, thank you!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

EVEN MORE EXCEPTIONAL THAN EXPECTED

Review submitted: August 27, 2013   Date of arrival: August 10, 2013

We arrived at Rass Mandal with high expectations based on the photos, description and reviews and were delighted to find that our expectations were not just met but exceeded.

We were a multi-generational party of 12, ages 4 to 80, who each year rent a house somewhere in the US to bring our family, who live in various parts of New York and California, together in a home environment where we can all hang loose and enjoy one another's company. At Rass Mandal we found the perfect home. Where to begin: the gorgeous pool in which the youngsters (and occasionally the oldsters) frolicked; the amazing vista from the pool and deck areas; the numerous outdoor seating areas, each with something lovely in view; the yoga pavilion used by us for Tai Chi and some whiffle ball playing; the outdoor hot tub; the resident white doves; and perhaps most of all, the serenity and sheer beauty of the house and the setting.

Practically speaking, the kitchen and dining room were wonderfully well appointed and with the outdoor grill a perfect place for home cooked meals. The living and bedroom areas were immaculate and beautifully furnished, and Richard was the perfect host -- friendly, warm and attentive, available but not intrusive. We were invited to make the home our own an did so, very comfortably. The attractions of the area were numerous, from visits to downtown Santa Fe for shopping, dining, gallery visiting or general sightseeing, to day trips to Taos or Bandelier National Monument near Los Alamos, to bird watching and hiking. Our two resident photographers found it a wondrous spot.

We enjoyed Rass Mandal for 8 all too short days and left reluctantly, every one of us feeing that we had really lucked out in finding it.

Owners response: Hi Emily,
What a wonderful and comprehensive review. I am so pleased that you all enjoyed your stay in Santa Fe and at Rass Mandal. It would be such a pleasure to welcome you back. All the best,
Richard

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Immaculate mountain view of surrounding city

Review submitted: August 8, 2013   Date of arrival: July 28, 2013

Richard Woodruff was more than welcoming and accommodating. Giving our group a brief tour, history, and expectations set for the house and property, we felt right at home. The beautiful adobe house is set 7000ft or so above sea level way atop a mountain peak looking out for miles upon the mountains and city of Santa Fe. There was nothing more beautiful and calming than being able to watch the buzz of the city with the sun setting behind it. The many intricate, hand crafted art pieces displayed all throughout the house brought a real sense of spirituality to myself and my group. The breathtaking archways, stained glass windows, eclectic furniture, and large sloped ceilings gave the house a historic, yet modern feel. Much of our time was spent on the gorgeous surrounding grounds. Whether soaking up rays in the large in-ground pool and jacuzzi, hiking the surrounding dirt trails, relaxing under the outside yoga pavilion, or ending the night star gazing from the back deck, the Rass Mandal offers a sense of tranquility with yourself and nature. My expectations for a vacation were not only met, but surpassed beyond my imagination. I'm already planning my next visit.

Owners response: Hi Sean,
It was wonderful to have your group at Rass Mandal and the fact that you even stayed an extra day demonstrated how much everyone enjoyed themselves. I trust the rest of your journey was equally rewarding and stimulating. All the best, Richard

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Sanctuary at its Best!

Review submitted: July 16, 2013   Date of arrival: June 29, 2013

My husband and I wanted to bring our three "30 something" busy children and their spouses together for some relaxed time together to take long walks, float in a pool , prepare meals together and do some wandering about together in Santa Fe instead of our recent flurry of weddings, graduations and holidays. Rass Mandal seemed like the right place .... and it was. Richard Woodruff, Rass Mandal's owner and gracious host's, careful attention to comfort and luxury creates a karma at Rass Mandal that whispers " It's OK, just experience yourself and those around you on my trails, in my heated pool, hot tub, sauna, deck swings , mandala shaped living room and clean comfy beds and just sit here and take in this amazing view of the mountains , the night sky and all the species that come to dine in my many bird feeders.... that's all you have to do .. use my tv and wi-fi if you must but see if you can enjoy life without it for a week ".

Richard welcomed us upon arrival and took us on the tour of the premises which involved inviting us to use any of the organic toiletries in the bathroom cabinets and any of the spices, condiments, staples and wine in the kitchen pantries. As a kitchen goddess I was pleased to see that there was not a single kitchen utensil I could wish for that was not readily available.

On our next to last day at this amazing sanctuary there was a problem with the local community water supply that had nothing to do with the maintenance of the house. Although the problem was not caused by Richard, he was accessible and quickly offered to refund us the last day's rent so we could check into a hotel in town that was not impacted by the leak in the community water tank . He even graciously invited us to stay at the house and use the pool the last day even though we were not paying for that day.. .an offer we did not take him up on since we decided at the last minute to take advantage of the unexpected glitch and drive up to Taos for the day and find lodging there. We took care to leave his house as we found it when we left but accidently left a bathing suit behind which he quickly mailed to us the next day, at his own expense.

Rass Mandal is a gem you do not want to miss.

Owners response: Hi Lesley,
I so appreciate your review as I believe it will give future guests an excellent understanding of the ambiance of Rass Mandal. I also really appreciate your wonderful compliments. I do hope you consider returning one day.
All the best, Richard

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A unique and fantastic locale.

Review submitted: July 8, 2013   Date of arrival: June 13, 2013

Words really don't do this place justice. It has to be experienced. Unique, eclectic, relaxing, breathtakingly beautiful--all are true, but the sum of these parts don't add up to the whole of Rass Mandal. The property was spotless, Richard was an incredible host, and I can't say enough about it. We are already making plans to return.

Owners response: Thanks so much, Matt! It was wonderful having you and Maria choose Rass Mandal for your special day. Hope to see you return! All the best, Richard

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A remarkable place

Review submitted: July 3, 2013   Date of arrival: June 25, 2013

Rass Mandal is a really extraordinary retreat. As other reviewers have noted, the pictures of the property, as beautiful as they are, do not do the reality justice. The building, the furnishings, and the views are all really unique. As a headquarters to experience the funky stew that is Santa Fe, I couldn't recommend Rass Mandal more highly. It was very satisfying to our whole family. The kids particularly loved the enormous pool and the commanding views from the tower. The architectural details and thoughtful hospitality impressed the adults. The stunning white homing pigeons were a particular treat, not only with their aerial acrobatics, but also their peaceful presence as guardians of the yoga pavilion. Their gentle sounds and patience with our clumsy antics were quite reassuring. Thank you, Richard for sharing this fantastic place with us.

Owners response: Hi Robert,
Thanks so much for taking the time to post a review of your stay at Rass Mandal. You came a long way to visit Santa Fe and I am so happy that you were not disappointed with you choice of a place to stay. It is great that you enjoyed the Janssens (white homing pigeons). They are special! All the best, Richard

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Exquisite!

Review submitted: June 24, 2013   Date of arrival: June 16, 2013

The property offers everything it promises...to begin with, incredible design! You feel transported out of time into a surreal dimension. It is a very quiet area with stunning views. The owner was very friendly and laid back, adding to the great flow. We enjoyed doing yoga, using the sauna, and the pool.
Looking forward to coming back!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Loved it!

Review submitted: June 14, 2013   Date of arrival: June 5, 2013

Our family gathered here for a Santa Fe wedding and we couldn't have been happier with our choice. Fully equipped with everything we needed and more. Beautiful setting, Home design and furnishings exceeded our expectations. The owner welcomed us warmly and his care and attention to this unique property were evident from all of the amenities and special touches. We had originally thought we would check out Santa Fe's great restaurants every night during our stay but we ended up enjoying the house so much that we stayed home and cooked or grilled and watched beautiful sunsets. Though we were several miles from downtown Santa Fe, the drive into town did not take long and took us right to the Plaza. My 8 year old grandnephew, who swam every day in the pool, asked if we could go back every year--I'm seriously considering it.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

relax to the max!

Review submitted: June 11, 2013   Date of arrival: June 5, 2013

My family rented this property in lieu of getting a bunch of hotel rooms for a local wedding. The property is large and housed us well. It's not as if everyone had their own room, but we are close and it was comfortable none the less.
The house and property is clean and well maintained. There is so much to do (or not do, ahhh) at the house that we didn't even want to leave.
This is the most comfortable rental that I've stayed in. So many little things were taken care of and all the basics were covered (extra toilet paper, tissue, and plenty of towels in all the bathrooms). Richard goes above and beyond to make his guests comfortable.

My favorite thing was that there were binoculars and a bird identifying card left out for use. It's touches like that that make a place special in my mind.
We all had such a wonderful time sharing and enjoying such a special place and house.

I would recommend this gem to anyone and everyone and hope to get back there myself!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Rass Mandal is Truly Exceptional!

Review submitted: June 10, 2013   Date of arrival: June 5, 2013

Rass Mandal is a truly exceptional home. Our family stayed there for five days in June and we didn't want to leave. The location and surroundings are stunning. The house and property are very well maintained and Richard is a fantastic host. The house has all the amenities we could need to feel comfortable and start enjoying our vacation from the start. We would stay here again and would recommend Rass Mandal to anyone looking for a little slice of heaven in Santa Fe.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

rass mandale

Review submitted: June 6, 2013   Date of arrival: May 23, 2013

Awesome, awesome it was great to be able to just relax I enjoyed the home to the fullest the owner was very nice and we made our self at home. only regret I wish I woulda left the Bible. but did not want to be disrespectful in doing so. I'm sure we'll stay there again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Hi Alyson,
Thank you for the wonderful comments! Rass Mandal has an energy and spirit that is open. Looking forward to welcoming you back one day! All the best, Richard

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A Perfect Setting for A Perfect Family Weekend

Review submitted: June 6, 2013   Date of arrival: May 31, 2013

Rass Mandal turned out to be everything (and more) than I hoped for when I first found your website many months ago. Every room, wall, cubby hole, deck, cupboard, bathroom, and bedroom were filled with the most special items and beauty. I tried to take it all in but there was just so much to absorb. Twelve of us gathered and made wonderful meals, and memories that will last us a lifetime. I think we enjoyed every room (although there are so many, we might have missed one or two). The scenery and architecture are spectacular, the house is fully furnished and was immaculate and left us wanting for nothing. You can feel the warmth and inspiration everywhere. This is a vacation I'm sure none of us will ever forget. The most difficult part for me was leaving to go into town. I was truly torn. There is much to see in Santa Fe, but I really didn't want to leave the house. Thank you Richard for letting us experience your jewel in the hills!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Rass Mandal-A little bit of heaven here on earth!

Review submitted: June 5, 2013   Date of arrival: May 31, 2013

My group of 13 women, all related-sisters, sisters-in-laws, nieces and great nieces spent three fabulous days at Rass Mandal. (Ages ranged from 8 to 64). Even though I had visited the property back in December 2012 on a brief trip to Santa Fe, I was amazed each day at the amenities that kept popping up that I hadn't noticed before. The house was immaculate and appointed with beautiful things of a Middle Eastern nature. Buddha and his friends could be found in many an alcove or niche. The kitchen was stocked with beautiful dishware, spices, tea, coffee and a jar of fresh made chocolate chip cookies were found upon our arrival. The pool, sauna and hot tub were a pleasure and the surrounding environment conducive to relaxation, meditation, visiting, reading etc. etc. The hi tech TV and docking stations were in many of the rooms and the fireplace in the living room and kitchen were ready to be lit. The towels and linens were high quality and abundant. The furniture, pictures, vases, books, games and even gum ball machines with change for their use were amazing.

We spent most of our time at Rass Mandal, however, most of us went into Santa Fe (15 minutes away) both Saturday and Sunday. We shopped at Double Take which is a consignment store on Aztec that has unique, quality second hand clothing, shoes, furniture etc. We also went to the Georgia O'Keefe Gallery which was a treasure. We also shopped at Trader Joe's and, of course, at the Plaza where we bought jewelry from the Native Americans. We had lunch at the La Fonda (perfect for a large group); the Coyote Cafe and at Mangiamo Pronto (fabulous).

I compliment Richard Woodruff on the most amazing place I have ever stayed at. His kindness, attention to details and pride in his home were felt by all. I have spread the word of Rass Mandal to many and I hope others have the opportunity to experience this wonderful place. I just hope that when I am ready to return it will be available!

I have a friend who has booked the property with 11 other women for Labor Day. They will invite a Yoga teacher and make use of the Yoga Pavilion. (We have some great pictures taken there) I plan to bring couples there before year end for another special gathering.

This was everything we were told it would be and so much more. It was absolutely devine! Thank you Rass Mandal and Richard Woodruff!

P.S. Did I mention the homing pigeons? Wow....you have to go there to learn more!

Owners response: Hi Donna,
What a wonderful review that will surely help future guests evaluate Santa Fe and Rass Mandal for a future holiday or reunion. It was really great how you mentioned some of the fun things to do while in town. Santa Fe has so much to offer everyone that visits and I try to make Rass Mandal a special place to stay. All the best,
Richard

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Amazing!

Review submitted: June 5, 2013   Date of arrival: May 31, 2013

A group of twelve women in our family came together to reconnect and enjoy the beauty of Rass Mandal and Sante Fe! Rass Mandal far exceeded my expectations. There was plenty to enjoy, from the pool to the sauna to the relaxing views from any room in the home! I hope to return one day! I will carry a piece of Rass Mandal in my heart always! I highly recommend a stay at this magical property!

Owners response: It was great having all of you enjoy Rass Mandal and I do hope that you return one day! Thanks so much, Richard

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Dream House for a Dream Vacation!

Review submitted: May 29, 2013   Date of arrival: May 16, 2013

The five of us arrived at the Albuquerque airport from all across the United States - Los Angeles, Chicago, Cleveland, Atlanta, and Richmond. We were all travel weary and we still had to drive to Santa Fe. Arriving at Rass Mandal was like stumbling on an oasis in the desert! Richard was there to warmly greet us and give us a tour of this amazing house! We quickly divvied up the bedrooms and began the serious task of relaxing! The house provided so many comfort spots, and we found them all, lounging on the patios, soaking in the hot tub, stretching out on the sofas. The house is as beautiful as the pictures convey, and the grounds are as vast and picturesque as described. We thoroughly enjoyed our time together, and the sights of Santa Fe that we explored included eating at El Farol and Osteria D’assisi, and spa treatments at Ten Thousand Waves. We would all recommend Rass Mandal, and agreed that it is a place we would like to return to in the future. Richard was a wonderful host, inviting us to try anything in the home, and coming to our rescue when we inadvertently locked a door and then couldn’t get it opened! We spent the last night cooking a meal together, and when we left the next day we were all relaxed and refreshed, and ready to face our world again. A perfect long weekend!

Owners response: Wow, thanks for the wonderful review. I am certain that your recommendations will help future guests. It was really a pleasure to meet and welcome your group! I am so happy that you all enjoyed yourselves!
All the best, Richard

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great time at Rass Mandal!

Review submitted: May 20, 2013   Date of arrival: May 9, 2013

A group of five of us had an awesome time at Radd Mandal. We relaxed and caught up for 3 days and enjoyed the stunning landscape, pool, hot tub, and sauna. We highly recommend it!

Also, the owner, Richard, was extremely helpful and available all weekend to answer any questions we had. Also, if you look around the house, you will find variosu funs surprises!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A Restful Retreat

Review submitted: May 10, 2013   Date of arrival: May 2, 2013

Rass Mandall is a very unique space that has a special "energy"of it's own. It had the look, feel and environment perfect for our yoga retreat. The decor is unusual by typical American standards, reflecting an Eastern cultural feel. The owner is very gracious and diligent in providing all the necessary accommodations, details, local information and household comforts. The location is a short drive (or long hike) into Santa Fe, providing the convenience of town, with the solitude and exceptional views of the mountainous countryside. I would recommend Rass Mandal, especially for small group retreats.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Annapolis Yoga Retreat

Review submitted: May 10, 2013   Date of arrival: May 2, 2013

This was my second visit to Rass Mandal, and it was even more spectacular than the first. Richard, the owner, continuously adds new features which makes the home even more special.
New this year was the absolutely amazing fire pit. We were the virgin users, and it was a great experience being in the night sky with the stars and the beautiful blue flames.
The other interesting thing he added was homing doves. He had just set them up when we arrived, so they were still "homing" in their nest, but all other guests from this point on will be able to see them flying around their nest among the evergreens.
I will continue to bring people to this unique residence, as it is a wonderful place for us (and anyone) to relax, enjoy nature, and be in a beatiful quiet space.

Owners response: Hi Susha,
Thanks so much for all the kind words and I sure look forward to welcoming you and your group back! Perhaps you should also consider September as it is just beautiful at that time of year as well. Hopefully I will complete some improvements to the Yoga Pavilion before your next sojourn.
All the best,
Richard

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Dream Vacation Rental!

Review submitted: April 27, 2013   Date of arrival: April 18, 2013

What a pleasure it was staying here! The house is just incredible, and Richard has gone the extra mile to make sure it is appointed with everything you could possibly need. It is more like staying at a friend's house than a rental.
The grill ran out of propane while we were grilling one night, and Richard was on our doorstep with a new tank within 30 minutes. Now that is customer service!
It was a little chilly when we were there so we didn't get to enjoy the pool or outside deck as much as we would have liked, but the sauna and hot tub were great (we are in the market for a 2 person sauna like this one).
The view is amazing as well. It is so quiet and peaceful up at the house, yet you are only 15 minutes away from the Plaza and downtown Santa Fe.
We were all sad to leave and look forward to our next opportunity to stay here. This was a 30th birthday celebration, and Rass Mandal couldn't have been any more perfect!

Owners response: Hi Michael, It was so nice to meet you and your group! Your amazing photo of the fountain freezing that first night :-) I will definitely try to drop by your coffee shop should I ever get up to Oregon. With Rass Mandal renting as it is, the possibility is very likely. I hope you find your way back to Santa Fe one day. All the best, Richard

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beyond expectations

Review submitted: March 19, 2013   Date of arrival: March 12, 2013

Should you visit Santa Fe, staying at Rass Mandal is a must.
Rass Mandal sits on top of the mountain among tranquility and is an indoor /outdoor luxury beyond our expectations.
We had a fantastic spring break. Mostly because of Rass Mandal and Richard’s accommodations.
Richard was kind to accommodate our late arrival and he was considerate to arrange for our large group.
We utilized almost all the amenities that were provided at the Rass Mandal, Including Sauna, Hot tub, Yoga pavilion, not to forget everything in the kitchen...

We have gone thru quite a few vacation rentals in the past. Rass Mandal was by far the best.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beyond expectations

Review submitted: March 19, 2013   Date of arrival: March 12, 2013

Should you visit Santa Fe, staying at Rass Mandal is a must.

Rass Mandal sits on top of the mountain among tranquility and is an indoor /outdoor luxury beyond our expectations.
We had a fantastic spring break. Mostly because of Rass Mandal and Richard’s accommodations.
Richard was kind to accommodate our late arrival and he was considerate to arrange for our large group.
We utilized almost all the amenities that were provided at the Rass Mandal, Including Sauna, Hot tub, Yoga pavilion, not to forget everything in the kitchen...

We have gone thru quite a few vacation rentals in the past. Rass Mandal was by far the best.

Owners response: Thank you so much for the excellent compliments on Rass Mandal. I would love to have you back should you ever find your way back to Santa Fe for a visit. Namaste, Richard

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

spectacular home

Review submitted: February 20, 2013   Date of arrival: February 12, 2013

What a spectacular home perched on top of a beautiful mountain overlooking SantaFe! We are still in awe of the homes many breathtaking views and comforts. Our family gatherings here were so warm and comfortable. We gathered in the kitchen nook every morning and evening which had a beautiful view of the moutains.We played board games with the kids in another cozy nook off the main dome room that overlooked the mountains. Everyone in our family had a beautifully decorated cozy room.We all felt so fortunate to have experienced Rass Mandall and the tranquility of its surroundings. Thank You Richard....we appreciated your thoroughness on every detail about Santa Fe and the house. We hope we are fortunate to return to Santa Fe and stay at Rass Mandall! Thanks again, The McSwains & Family

Owners response: It was great having you and your family enjoy Rass Mandal! Hoping you return one day! All best, Richard

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Rass Mandel

Review submitted: February 10, 2013   Date of arrival: September 22, 2012

I'd never been to Santa Fe before and my fiftieth birthday was coming up last fall. I got together 9 of my closest friends and we stayed at Rass Mandel, nestled in the hills above town, for the weekend. It was a very magical time! The retreat is gorgeous, spacious (5 awesome bedrooms, large beautifully decorated living spaces, a well-appointed and perfect kitchen, and a wonderful series of decks, tables, swinging chairs and a pool - with a wonderful city view.)
It was everything we hoped for and very conducive to deepening great friendships and creating some create memories. There's even a yoga pavillion on the grounds - practicing yoga outside, early in the morning was truly envigorating.
Yes, we'll be back again for sure!
Tracy Greenhalgh, Englewood CO

Owners response: HI Tracy,
Thanks so much for your great review - I am certain it will help future guests determine if Rass Mandal is right for them. Looking forward to having you back and all best, Richard

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfection

Review submitted: February 5, 2013   Date of arrival: February 1, 2013

My husband and I love to travel and in our 10+ years of marriage our favorite destination has always been Spain. However since having twins 2 years ago our lives have changed and traveling from our home in LA all the way to Europe has not been possible. Deciding that we really needed to get away we did a search and found Rass Mandal. Online it looks gorgeous but WOW, if you can believe it, it looks even better in person. The home is a palace. Every detail is perfection. From the moment you walk in you can feel that this space is loved. Beautiful and unique, it is a work of art. We were looking for an exotic, breathtaking and relaxing vacation and we definitely found it. And to make the experience even better, Richard our host, was exceptional. His generosity and warmth really make this destination special. It is now one of our favorites.

Owners response: Hi Edean,
Wow - I really enjoyed reading your review - what lovely things to say! Looking forward to your and Sam's return one day in the near future. BTW: The fire pit is now up and running perfectly and thanks for the tips.
All best,
Richard

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Family vacation at Rass Mandal

Review submitted: January 8, 2013   Date of arrival: December 23, 2012

We, seven, all had a superb vacation at Rass Mandal. We loved the venue, the views, 'our' spacious and beautiful 'home'. The owner, Richard, was very helpful and pleasant.
We hiked from the house higher into the mountains or into town almost every day. We cooked in the well appointed kitchen, relaxed in front of the fireplaces and in the hot tub, and enjoyed the views from early morning until late at night. We would recommend Rass Mandal to others. We would like to return there!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Hi Linda,
It was wonderful to welcome you and your family and you even had some snow to enjoy on your hikes! :-) See you hopefully for your next holiday in Santa Fe.
All best, Richard

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Absolutely Amazing In Every Way

Review submitted: January 7, 2013   Date of arrival: September 19, 2012

Rass Mandal far exceeded our expectations. The online photos do not do this beautiful home justice. Every little detail of the home is perfect.
There were a few things that I wish the website had mentioned because we brought a ton of things with us that we didnt need. The kitchen is a chef's dream, it has EVERYTHING you need. The house must have enough towels and bedding for as least 20 people. Its also fully stocked with candles, incense, organic toiletries, and every room has an ipod dock. I also didnt notice anywhere on the website that there is an outdoor sauna.
Thank you so much Rass Mandal for our unforgettable stay!!

Owners response: Hi Jena,
Thanks so much for the review and for mentioning the sauna and the other amenities that I have omitted. If ever you do come back, you'll see that I have now built a gas-fired fire pit for enjoyment in the cool evenings! All best to you and your group! Richard

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A Magical Place

Review submitted: December 28, 2012   Date of arrival: December 21, 2012

The moment you step into Rass Mandal, you know that you have entered into a magical place. There is a peacefulness here that has a calming effect on your soul. We were looking for a place that would accommodate 15 in comfort. The rooms were spacious and we all slept well. There were many sitting areas that we could retreat to if we wanted some silence and the main room was large enough for all of us to be together.

The grounds were amazing. Here it was December and during the day we were all sitting outside on the two decks, enjoying the sun and view of Santa Fe.

Richard was a wonderful host. There was no detail left undone to accommodate our stay. The kitchen was well stocked with dishes and cookware. Linens and towels were plentiful. There were candles in every room to add that special touch. The hot tub and sauna were a hit! I would highly recommend this house to my friends.

We did not go into Santa Fe on this trip. Everyone wanted to stay at the house! A couple of us went into town for pizzas and a few things from the grocery store, which was very convenient.

We do plan to return for a longer stay. Hopefully in the summer. We can take advantage of the longer hiking trails, visit the plaza and art galleries. Thank you again, Richard for sharing your home with us. It is a special place!

Susan Scarvie

Owners response: Thank you so much Susan, it was wonderful to welcome you and your family! I am looking forward to seeing you return one day. There will be more to explore as I am always working on making Rass Mandal a special place! All best for the New Year,
Richard

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A Memorable Stay

Review submitted: December 2, 2012   Date of arrival: November 21, 2012

We had the opportunity to recently stay for the Thanksgiving holiday at Rass Mandal. As noted in other reviews, this property is a truly unique experience. From the minute you arrive, the owner, Richard, provides you with an interesting history of the home, as well as ensuring that you are able to enjoy the home as if it were yours. In fact, when we arrived, the ambiance was set with candles and incense, which we continued to use during our stay.

The inside boasts very confortable rooms, from the well-appointed bedrooms to the living spaces with various sitting areas. We used and enjoyed the fireplaces, including the fireplace in the kitchen. The kitchen worked well for us in cooking a Thanksgiving meal. My kids loved climbing the ladder to the obervatory tower.

The outside was equally interesting. We were able to soak in the hot tub and enjoy the views, as well as to try the dry sauna. My favorite was sitiing on the observation deck in the reclining chairs and watching the sunset. We hiked around on several occasions, but never did the full hike into town.

Rass Mandal is a wonderful experience which we would all recommend. With few properties in close proximity, you gain a sense of peacefulness, isolation, and relaxation. This would make a great retreat for a larger group in light of the numerous bedrooms, outdoor areas, and yoga pavillion. And again, Richard, the owner, is a very gracious host who helped make our stay quite memorable. We look forward to returning in the future.

Owners response: Hi Bryan,
Thanks so much for the wonderful review that I am certain will provide insight for those considering Rass Mandal in their future planning for a Santa Fe visit. It was so nice to meet you, Alicia and your children and I look forward to welcoming you all back! I also really appreciate your daughter's wonderful comments in the guest book.
All best,
Richard

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Rass Mandal - an excellent choice!

Review submitted: November 18, 2012   Date of arrival: November 1, 2012

Tasked with finding a house for our “girls getaway” weekend, I found Rass Mandal on the web. The description of the house matched the actual house perfectly. The layout details were accurate and the patio, sauna, the whirlpool and yoga pavilion were awesome!! The house is very well-maintained, clean and welcoming (the décor is unique, exotic and hip!).

We cooked in two nights and found all the utensils, pots and pans we needed, and the grill was clean and well-maintained as well. Each room is wonderfully decorated and inviting.

The owner provided impeccable service – from the time we made our initial inquiry to check-in, and throughout our visit. He was always available to answer questions and help make our visit comfortable and enjoyable. We found the patio particularly enjoyable. We had wine and appetizers on the patio every night and watched the spectacular sunsets! In addition to highly recommending this house to friends, we are considering a return trip!

We also enjoyed the Georgia O’Keefe Museum and the restaurants Café Pasqual and Geronimo, and loved the spa, 10,000 Waves! A wonderful weekend!

Owners response: Hi Stephanie, it would be so nice to welcome you and your group back again! Thanks so much for your review as I am certain it will help others in their planning! Upon your return, perhaps we all can have a glass of wine together :-) All best,
Richard

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Spiritually amazing

Review submitted: October 28, 2012   Date of arrival: October 19, 2012

I just spent 3 days at Rass Mandal for a yoga retreat. The weather was beautiful. Warm and blue skies. The location was breathtaking. I had no idea that such an exotic place existed just an hour from Albuquerque. The amenities were fabulous. From bedding, kitchen, dining and bath. They were all top notch. Every corner had something unique. Stained glass windows, beautiful artwork, pool, sauna and hot tub. And of course stunning views of the mountains and city lights. The yoga pavillion was just what we needed. Covered yet open air. And very roomy. We planned to go to Santa fe for dinner and dancing but noone wanted to leave after we got there the first night. We all came from Albuquerque so we can enjoy Santa Fe anytime. We all just wanted to soak up the beauty of Rass Mandal while we had a chance. i will return and have already told many friends about the place.

Owners response: Hi Jan,
Thanks so much for the wonderful review. It will clearly give future guests an insight and understanding! Looking forward to catching up again one day as you're so close to Santa Fe. All best, Richard

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing

Review submitted: October 28, 2012   Date of arrival: October 19, 2012

Our yoga retreat at Rass Mandal was simply amazing! The house is warm and inviting. The bedrooms are cozy, the kitchen is spacious and wonderful to cook group meals in, and there are so many nooks and spaces to relax and unwind. The views are spectacular and you feel secluded, but it is just a quick drive into Santa Fe(if you can make it out of the house, you want want to leave). We definitely plan on returning sometime soon!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Magical Trip

Review submitted: October 25, 2012   Date of arrival: October 4, 2012

Our entire family consisting of 10 adults, two young boys and a newborn, had an exceptional time at Rass Mandal. We were all impressed with this warm, tranquil and surreal property that sits high on a mountain top of 10 acres. The views from the back of this one story home were spectacular. The property’s back yard had a pool, jacuzzi, sauna, yoga pavilion, barbeque and fire pit. Furnishings inside the home included exquisite antiques, fine china and silver, all available for our enjoyment.

From the time of booking, the service received was nothing less than superb. Kokopelli, Yvonne Montoya in particular, provided continued service and recommendations on all that I asked for. Chefs, yoga instructor and baby rental service for our newborn.

The day after our arrival, we set up an appointment for Cricket Austin to provide our group with a private yoga lesson, 1½ hours designed to accommodate beginners to intermediate. Cricket’s knowledge and experience made yoga fans of all of us.

The chef who cooked for our group was Sancho Soeiro, Dish and Spoon Café and Catering. Our dinners were prepared off property and brought to Rass Mandal. The meals were delicious and I would highly recommend the green chile chicken enchiladas, the calabacitas and the brownies.

We used Santa Fe Baby for all baby products that were delivered and picked up when requested. A+.

The service provided by the owner, Richard Woodruff was welcoming and professional. He took the time to meet us at the property the day of arrival and made sure we were comfortable and satisfied, and that all our needs were met. The owner’s message was, “use the property as if it was your own.” Thank you for allowing my family to enjoy your beautiful property.

I would highly recommend Rass Mandal, A+++

Natalie Laufenberg
Manhattan Beach, CA

Owners response: Hi Natalie,
Thank you so much for the wonderful review. All your insights and comments will surely help those coming to Rass Mandal. The recommendations of the services that you employed will really give some important information to all upcoming guests. All they need to is contact me and I will put them directly in touch with those who you mentioned. I hope to welcome you back one day and all best,
Richard

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Lovely Stay

Review submitted: October 16, 2012   Date of arrival: October 4, 2012

My family and I had a wonderful time at Rass Mandal. It was such a unique and beautiful home! The accommodations were perfect for our large group and my husband and I especially liked having the room at the opposite end of the house because it ensured our newborn didn't wake up anyone else in the middle of the night. We loved how close it was to downtown Santa Fe and I especially loved the peaceful surroundings. We even made use of the outdoor yoga space, which was truly a fantastic experience. We would definitely stay there again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fantastic , relaxing, rejuvenating private retreat

Review submitted: October 11, 2012   Date of arrival: September 27, 2012

Spacious, fantastically eclectic hideaway in the hills above Santa Fe with incredible views from pool, house, decks (incl roof area)...many fun and challenging hiking/mountain biking trails right out any door and only 10 minutes from the central Plaza of Santa Fe...very secluded...very clean...if you like to cook the kitchen is great, complete with Le Creuset cookware and a great fireplace right in the kitchen (you can even watch TV on a big flatscreen as you cook or sit in the alcove watching many types of native birds feeding 5 feet away)...if I could remotely think of anything to change it might be that the pool heater works (there is a hot-tub and sauna)...I'm perfectly fine just sitting next to a pool looking out at the panorama of mountains but people who like pools might want it a tad warmer. Would definitely come back and recommend to friends/family...have been to Santa Fe many times and best place ever...still cheaper than a nice hotel in town and it was just my wife and I...with multiple couples an absolute bargain especially considering no one wants to sit in their hotel room but we hardly ever wanted to leave the place...in closing, the owner definitely seems like someone you could hang out with and have fun with...Thanks again .

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A tranquil and private retreat

Review submitted: October 9, 2012   Date of arrival: September 27, 2012

Couldn't have picked a better spot for our 25th wedding anniversary...sleeps 10-12 but we loved for just 2...still was very reasonable $ considering what a nice hotel costs in Santa Fe...except we had 10 acres, a pool, sauna, hot-tub a huge house with interesting and eclectic decor...unlimited hiking and biking trails right out any door...barely ever felt like leaving the house...only relatively minor complaint would be for people who like pools a bit warmer...heater wasn't working...but we we're fine just lounging by the pool staring out at the incredible mountain and desert vistas over-looking Santa Fe...owner Richard also very nice and helpful...next time hopefully we can hang out

Owners response: Hi Tom,
It was so nice to have you and your wife come all the way from the East Coast to celebrate your 25th wedding anniversary at Rass Mandal (and a surprise for Alex to boot). I am so happy that you found all that you had hoped for and I am looking forward to having you both back again and, at that time, we'll share a bottle of wine and I can tell you and Alex some great stories about the history of Santa Fe!
All best,
Richard

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

An oasis in the high desert

Review submitted: October 3, 2012   Date of arrival: September 12, 2012

Rass Mandal is truly one of the most beautiful places in the southwest. The views, rain or shine are simply spectacular and never-ending.

I highly recommend anyone to stay at Rass Mandal...it will give a surge to all of your senses and leave you feeling very content. The soft, xeric landscape that greets you in front of the building's magnificent turquoise domes let you know you've come to a very magical place. The rooms are more than inviting-- from the beautiful fabrics to the mixed eastern art, it creates zen quality that melts all your worries away. With its accessibility and proximity to town, Rass Mandall is the perfect escape after a day of gallery shopping in the Plaza...truly an oasis in the high desert. A must see, a must stay and certainly, a must come back to place!

Carole Aine Langrall, Baltimore, MD

Owners response: Hi Carole,
It was so nice to have you at Rass Mandal! You truly understand the environment and ambience that we are trying to provide for our guests. "Connect, Reflect, Respect"
Thanks so much for your wonderful review! All best, Richard

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

STAY HERE! It's a Santa Fe dream!!!

Review submitted: October 1, 2012   Date of arrival: September 24, 2012

Rass Mandal has an energy of it's own... the place is bathed in warm light, impeccably decorated, and wrapped in the incredible beauty of the Santa Fe hills that surround it. Both the home and Richard are instantly welcoming, interesting, and gracious. There was not one thing about our stay that wasn't completely and totally perfect. All nine of us can't wait to come back!!

thanks Richard! All the warmest and best wishes to you!

Owners response: It was so nice to have a group of professional photographers staying at Rass Mandal and enjoying the surrounding nature! I am sure you captured some great moments. Looking forward to having you back and all best, Richard

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Rass Mandal

Review submitted: October 1, 2012   Date of arrival: August 13, 2012

An amazing place. Plenty of room for our family gathering of 11, including three grandkids ages 4, 2-1/2, and 2. We spread out in seven separate sleeping spaces (including the observatory, a thrilling bedroom for a twenty-something), which would have cost a comparative fortune had we all stayed in a hotel. And this was much more fun. The grandkids happily swam in the pool (too cold for any adult who didn't have to be in there with them). We all used the hot tub. We couldn't get the sauna to work. The yoga pavilion, somewhat to our surprise, turned out to be a favorite spot, and we spent hours playing there. We ate in most breakfasts and lunches (we had done a big shopping at Whole Foods), but also became great fans of the nearby and justly famous Harry's Roadside. Guests joined us for an impromptu party one evening, and we were able to put up a couple of them as well. Our only criticism is that we wished there had been window screens, but we understand that the owner is working on this.

Owners response: What a great review to help others decide if Rass Mandal would be right for them. Every year we hope to make the experience better! Since your stay, we have installed a new and more powerful sauna heater! Thanks so much! Best wishes, Richard

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Rass Mandal

Review submitted: October 1, 2012   Date of arrival: June 24, 2012

Lovely property and accommodation with amazing setting. House was perfectly equipped with luxury towels and sheets and anything anyone could have asked for. Kitchen was terrific and well-stocked with basics. Our small group had a wonderful stay.

The description of the property provided was very accurate. It was spotlessly clean and very well maintained. Having a pool was a necessity for us given the hot summer weather and the only downside was that it was devilishly cold! And while we worried a bit about the lack of air conditioning, the nights were so cool (and there were plentiful fans) that we were all perfectly comfortable.

We'd highly recommend Rass Mandal and hope to find another excuse to rent it in the future.

Owners response: I am so pleased that your stay was so enjoyable. Yes, the pool does sometimes get a bit cold and I am considering heating it - a very difficult thing to do as the evenings are quite cool and the pool is 40,000 gallons. I will endeavor to strike a balance between energy conservation and bringing the temperature up a bit! It was so nice to have your group here and hoping you return on day! All best, Richard

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Rass Mandal

Review submitted: September 5, 2012   Date of arrival: August 31, 2012

What can be said about the Rass Mandal that has hasn't been echoed by others? The Rass Mandal is a mountain getaway in Santa Fe, one that is unique to its peers by a wide margin. I think one of our guests recalled the Rass as "a little slice of Morocco in Santa Fe" which was an apt description. The property was meticulously maintained, and the rooms - exceptionally clean. It was the perfect distance from the town of Santa Fe, affording the property some exquisite views. If you're looking for a hideaway in Santa Fe for the family, or simply looking to reconnect a group of old friends as we were, you'll find this house to be more than inviting.

Owners response: Thank you to all for the wonderful reviews! The purpose of creating Rass Mandal was to provide a space where families or friends or even strangers can come together to connect, reflect and respect the nature that is around them and appreciate each other in a sense of community and, in so doing, have fun! I am so happy that we are on our way to meeting that mission.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful Home

Review submitted: September 3, 2012   Date of arrival: August 27, 2012

We found the home to be a well-appointed, quiet and peaceful mountain retreat. The location is by no means isolated, but quiet privacy abounds. We all enjoyed the pool, jacuzzi, and sauna. Walking the grounds, spending time in the yoga pavilion, and enjoying the view of Santa Fe below made for great memories.
Thanks Richard for sharing this place with us.
Travis

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Solitude in Santa Fe

Review submitted: August 23, 2012   Date of arrival: July 28, 2012

Thank you for allowing us to experience your hospitality at Rass Mandal this last week. For the last 10 years I have taken my own kids, their spouses and grandkids to different places around the country for a week together.It has always been a wonderful family reunion, but this year at Rass Mandal, was the best ever.We asked Cricket Austin to come in one morning and lead us in yoga, saw downtown Santa Fe, went river rafting on the Rio Grand and just hung out. The scenery and solitude were great !I don't think we can ever top it.
Thanks so much for your attentiveness and caring.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

PERFECT!!

Review submitted: June 25, 2012   Date of arrival: June 20, 2012

Eleven girlfriends, from Illinois, Iowa, Texas and Wisconsin, getting together at an extraordinary place to celebrate an extraordinary event...our 60th birthdays! Rass Mandal was perfect for our celebration...lots of room to all get together in one place or do our own thing...reading on the "infinity" deck, cooling off in the outdoor pool (VERY rare in Santa Fe), walking the 10 acre property, zumba and yoga at the meditation pavilion, sleeping under the stars. Very convenient location...less than 10 minutes to Old Town Santa Fe, 30 minutes to horseback riding at Bishops Lodge, 1 hour to river rafting with Kokopelli Rafting. Enjoyed good food at Cowgirl's, Harry's Roadhouse (ask for the back garden...enchanting at night) and Tomasita's, also Church Street Cafe in ABQ. Everything you need for the kitchen is there...just bring the food and beverages! PERFECT!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Hi Piech,
Thanks so much for the wonderful comments and the great suggestions for future guests.
All best, Richard

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Rass Mandal

Review submitted: June 20, 2012   Date of arrival: June 7, 2012

Beautiful home. Great views. Better than the pictures. Thank you for a great time and a great experience.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A Unique Oasis

Review submitted: April 30, 2012   Date of arrival: April 21, 2012

Bare feet on marble floors. Yoga in the pavillion with birdsong and gentle breezes. Sparkling stones on the paths. Attention to light and space both inside and out. A week's stay at Rass Mandal is one you can't let go of easily.
In practical terms - comfy beds, well equipped kitchen, great amenities, lots of towels, prompt attention to problems and personalized service.
We revelled in returning to Rass Mandal after a day out exploring the landscape, art and shops of Santa Fe.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Yoga Vacation

Review submitted: April 21, 2012   Date of arrival: April 12, 2012

Our stay was fabulous. Everyone thoroughly enjoyed their stay.

The description of the property and pictures were accurate. The house was absolutely more amazing than we realized.

The house is clean, quiet and lovely. The rooms and beds were comfortable. The bedroom closest to the kitchen was a bit warmer than the others (i'm thinking because of the radiant flooring) and a suggestion for a fan in that room was made. Either ceiling or little portable.

We loved the outdoor decking and the nearby stupa. We loved the tour and having all the interesting information about the house and it's previous owner. We enjoyed the hot tub one night and had a relaxing time. A question was raised as to why it was kept at 100 degrees, as it could have been a little warmer for us that week.

I would definitely recommend this property to others. It is amazing and a rare experience.

I think that is it. I'll write more if anything new comes back from the others. FYI - Bridgette was fabulous (for any others who may need a caterer). Her prices were fair and her food as absolutely wonderful. If we return I will ask her again to cater our event.

Blessings to you ~ SS

Owners response: Thank you the wonderful comments and I will also take your suggestion about the fan :-)
It is so nice that all nine of you so enjoyed your stay there and I look forward to welcoming you back one day!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

An amazing place

Review submitted: April 14, 2012   Date of arrival: March 25, 2012

All six of us enjoyed this very special place, the 6 and 8year old kids, the parents, and the grandparents. Any minor issues were dealt with by Richard the owner, and depending on the day, we thoroughly enjoyed the space, the kitchen, the hot tub, the pool, the furnishings, the view, the sky, the tubs, and the ambience. And the place was immaculate, which is saying a lot for a large house with a lovely almost spiritual furniture.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Close to Heaven

Review submitted: April 12, 2012   Date of arrival: January 28, 2012

A magical place for a magical reunion. Beautifully decorated, comfortable and cozy with views and sunsets that let you know you are close to heaven. The owners are lovely people. Everything you need is supplied and the property is beautifully maintained. Our stay was truly enjoyable and recommend this property highly!

Owners response: Thank you so much for your wonderful comments and I am are so pleased that you enjoyed Rass Mandal and all that Santa Fe has to offer. I look forward to your return one day! All best, Richard

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beautiful Property!

Review submitted: April 11, 2012   Date of arrival: April 7, 2012

We had a wonderful stay at Rass Mandal. Every detail was thoughtfully placed and we felt everything we needed was there. It is such a unique property that it made our first stay in Santa Fe so special. The property was very clean and well-maintained. The owner provided excellent customer service! I would highly recommend this property to anyone looking for a relaxing time, yet always finding something entertaining to do. The views and surroundings are spectacular!

Owners response: Thank you so much for your wonderful comments. We are so happy that you enjoyed Rass Mandal and the beautiful surroundings of the Sangre de Christo mountains. We look forward to your return one day!
All best,
Richard

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The Enchanted Castle of New Mexico

Review submitted: November 13, 2011   Date of arrival: October 16, 2011

My wife and I were looking for a place to stay that would allow us to decompress and rejuvenate. Rass Mandal far exceeded our expectations. The is house is filled with character and charm. Every room is uniquely furnished and very comfortable. The property is nicely spread out and the views are exceptional. Richard is an amazing host that treated us like lifelong friends. Staying at Rass Mandal made us feel like a king and queen living in a castle right out of a fairy tale book. We're looking forward to returning with our 5 children and 2 granddaughters.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Absolutely Stunning and Exquisite

Review submitted: September 20, 2011   Date of arrival: September 16, 2011

The house is one of a kind. It is beautiful and majestic and playful. The character simply jumps out the moment you arrive, and it couldn't be any more comfortable. All the furnishings are top notch. The backyard area is divine. The hot tub and sauna are both so nice. The forested area is so calm spiritual, while the observation deck on the roof allows for incredible views of the Jemez Mountains and the city of Santa Fe. But, with all that said, the property is not even the best part of this place.

The best part is the owner. He is so accommodating, welcoming, and makes you feel right at home. He understands the playfulness of the property and isn't afraid to allow for that playfulness to exist. His energy is embedded into every inch of the property, such a welcome change from the energies of most owners. This is not just an amazing vacation rental, it is probably the best vacation rental you will find in Santa Fe.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Vincent runs an incredible artistic organization, Meow Wolf! They decided to hold their post-production party at Rass Mandal and spend the entire weekend! The energy that they brought with them to Rass Mandal so heightened the spirit of the place. It was enlightening to have such an energetic, intelligent and talented group of people experience and enjoy the property and I would welcome that back!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Richard

Review submitted: September 11, 2011   Date of arrival: September 1, 2011

I have been to many beautiful homes in Santa Fe, yet none compare to what Rass Mandal offers. The main house is a stunning blend of the Southwest and the East. Each room is a jewel containing detailed carved woodwork and is beautifully furnished. The views are fantastic, the pool area is so inviting you will not want to leave it, and the grounds are large enough to take relaxing walks. Richard is a generous host who will make sure your stay will be trouble free and memorable.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Richard

Review submitted: August 31, 2011   Date of arrival: August 15, 2011

Richard is a fun loving person who gives humanity the benefit of the doubt. He has a beautiful home on top of a mountain they he wants to share with others and let them enoy this magnifecent space whether it be spiritual, spirtual healing or just plain bliss. He is a trustworthy healthy soul. As a friend or a business relationship I can recomend Richard. Thank You, Michael

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Richard

Review submitted: August 29, 2011   Date of arrival: June 15, 2011

Richard Woodruff's Rass Mandal is fabulous! A truly unique experience in Santa Fe, it's incredible architecture, shapes, and spaces transport one to ancient India yet with all the modern conveniences in an amazing beautiful location high in the foothills of the Sangre de Cristo mountains above the City with spectacular views. While only minutes to the historic Plaza, all the downtown cultural amenities, and many fine restaurants Rass Mandal is a quiet and peacful retreat not to be missed.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review