reviews for: listing #103197 - Washington, DC Apartment rental

1-br Capitol Hill apt (Eastern Market)
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  no
  • type  Apartment
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Capitol Hill
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $205 - $205 /nt

sort by:

Home away from home

Review submitted: July 22, 2014   Date of arrival: August 24, 2013

We felt like home when we stayed at Kelly's place. It's perfect in every aspect. The location, the Eastern Market and the convenient store, the Metro Station. Kelly even provides parking permit for your car and Metro Smarttrip Cards for you to use during stay. He's friendly and taking good care of the place, seeing from the details he laid out about his home. Only a kind loving person can I'll recommend it to my friends for sure. Thanks Kelly!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Best DC Spot for us!

Review submitted: July 21, 2014   Date of arrival: March 12, 2014

When I started planning our trip to DC, I knew we didn't want to stay in a hotel. I traveled with myself and my two daughters aged 9 and 11. When I stumbled upon this apartment I snatched it up for our Fall Trip. Unfortunately- our trip was at the same time as the government shutdown in October, and I had to reschedule our trip last-minute for the spring. Kelly was amazingly generous and helpful as we rescheduled not once, but twice due to a white house tour scheduled a day too early. When we arrived the apartment was spotless and perfect for what we needed. There is a CVS down the street and a Harris Teeter at the next metro stop- very easy and convenient- though it took more planning than loading up the car! We made so many great memories at that place and had such an excellent trip- by the end the girls were begging to stay another week. Kelly was an excellent host- very communicative and was five steps ahead of me- answering my questions before they'd even popped into my head. In short- I very highly recommend this place to anyone looking for a great, central location in DC. You won't regret it!! :)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

review from Deven Leigh (July 12-13, 2014)

Review submitted: July 15, 2014   Date of arrival: July 12, 2014

"The little touches really made our stay: the parking pass, bike passes, metro passes, info. book, condiments in the fridge, etc. Kelly, our host, was exceptionally prompt and helpful in all communication, too, which made everything else a breeze. Oh! Location was excellent, as well."

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

review from Jen (July 6-12, 2014)

Review submitted: July 15, 2014   Date of arrival: July 6, 2014

"Kelly & Jack were great hosts! They checked in throughout our stay to make sure we had everything we needed & that we were enjoying our stay. The apartment was clean, comfortable, & welcoming. It was so much nicer than returning to an impersonal & generic hotel room at the end of each day.

We loved coming back to a home each day! It was great knowing you guys were a text away or just upstairs! We also appreciated the check-ins & the tips binder. Your providing the smart cards & parking pass made what's often a really annoying part of vacation so much easier!"

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A wonderful spot in D.C.

Review submitted: July 14, 2014   Date of arrival: January 17, 2014

Kelly is an excellent host; his attention to detail, clear communication, and helpfulness made our stay smooth and pleasant. The apartment is in a wonderful location - so close to the metro and right around the corner from restaurants and shops. It's also within walking distance of the National Mall. The space is well furnished and comfortable. Definitely a great place to stay in DC!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great choice

Review submitted: July 10, 2014   Date of arrival: January 9, 2014

"Wonderful location for Capitol tour. Clean and well-equipped. Kelly cares about guests and communicates well and often.
Three of us enjoyed the stay very much."

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

In the heart of it all!

Review submitted: July 10, 2014   Date of arrival: August 5, 2013

"This location is outstanding and convenient to anything you would want to do in Washington. Kelly and Jack pay very close attention to the little details which set them apart from the rest. Awesome experience, will definitely look here first when we plan our next DC trip!!"

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Home away from home

Review submitted: July 8, 2014   Date of arrival: October 12, 2013

"Great stay with Kelly and Jack and kids. Wonderful location. Really enjoyed feeling part of a neighborhood. Perfect for my needs. Hope I can stay again very soon."

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Everything we needed for a wonderful vacation.

Review submitted: July 8, 2014   Date of arrival: September 22, 2013

"This location is everything that made our vacation wonderful. It's right across from the metro station and in such an interesting neighborhood, lots of great places to eat and very nice people everywhere. The little apartment had everything we needed. I'll have to say the bed was a little softer than we liked but that was our preference. That didn't keep me from sleeping though after full days of walking to see the sights. We used the metro for transportation everywhere and no problems at all with that at all. I would recommend this rental to anyone and in fact already have. It's a good chance that we may come back so see the sights that we overlooked and definitely will stay here again."

Owners response: Thanks so much for staying!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Washington DC Rental...Excellent Location

Review submitted: July 8, 2014   Date of arrival: June 12, 2014

The stay was great...Location close to restaurants, 1/2 block to Metro and 10- 15 minute walk to Capitol

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

review from Michele (June 21-24, 2014)

Review submitted: June 30, 2014   Date of arrival: June 21, 2014

"Great location, nice apartment. Perfect for 2-3 adults. We were 2 adults with 2 small children and we loved the place. Very helpful hosts. Having the parking pass and the metro cards made our stay so easy."

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

review from Mike (June 17-20, 2014)

Review submitted: June 30, 2014   Date of arrival: June 17, 2014

"A fine nook to use as a base for a Washington DC trip. Close to Metro. Lots of walkable restaurants in the area. Interesting "Barracks Row" neighborhood. Plenty of amenities in the apartment to make your stay comfortable. Clean and bug free. Host provides ample advice and suggestions. Parking pass available. Preloaded Metro cards furnished to get you started. Wish I could have stayed my entire week at this venue."

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

review from Sam (June 14-17, 2014)

Review submitted: June 30, 2014   Date of arrival: June 14, 2014

""This was my second stay at the Eastern Market apartment. Instead of having my family with me, I was alone. Because I was there for a conference, the location near the Metro was second to none. It was also really nice to explore the neighborhood again and revisit the grocery store and restaurants. After a long day of meetings is was great to "come home" to Eastern Market for a burger at Ted's Bulletin and relaxing at the apartment.""

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

review from Firman (June 9-11, 2014)

Review submitted: June 14, 2014   Date of arrival: June 9, 2014

"Our stay at Kelly's place was excellent! The place was exactly as described on airbnb. It is well equipped, clean, ideal for stays even for families like us. Kelly was an excellent host. Checking back with us on arrival day, always making himself available and very helpful. Neighborhood is very safe and super covenient with subway stop across the street, Starbucks, restaurants and CVS next block. I have 2 little kids and always came home late, never had any problem. We loved every minute of our stay. I truly recommend Kelly as a host and his place for a stay."

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

review from Jocelyne (May 21-15, 2014)

Review submitted: June 9, 2014   Date of arrival: May 21, 2014

"Nous avons apprécié l'appartement : bien situé, bien équipé. Nous avons apprécié toutes les informations et renseignements qui nous avaient été adressés avant notre départ et que nous avons retrouvés sur place. Nous avons apprécié les mails envoyés par Kelly régulièrement pour prendre de nos nouvelles et nous indiquer que nous pouvions lui poser des questions à tout moment, si besoin était. Bilan donc tout à fait positif. Nous recommandons cette adresse."

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

review from Caecilie (May 17-19, 2014)

Review submitted: June 1, 2014   Date of arrival: May 17, 2014

"The apartment was great! We really liked the neighborhood! All necessary information were provided by Kelly. He also provided a parking pass which was very convenient. The apartment is good for 4 people, however, the pull-out sofa was not that comfortable."

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

review from Jacqueline (May 11-16, 2014)

Review submitted: May 26, 2014   Date of arrival: May 11, 2014

"Great location, nice accommodations. We had a great time. There were no issues that needed to be attended to during our stay, but we knew that Kelly was available if we needed anything. He contacted me via e-mail to check in. Thanks, we will definitely recommend to anyone traveling to DC."

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

review from Lucie (May 7-10, 2014)

Review submitted: May 14, 2014   Date of arrival: May 7, 2014

"We enjoyed our stay. Great location. Next to the subway station (Kelly provided the metro cards which was big help), easy walking distance to Capitol ect. For 5 people too small but great for 2-3 people."

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

review from Kate (May 3-7, 2014)

Review submitted: May 14, 2014   Date of arrival: May 3, 2014

"We had a nice stay in DC. The location of the apartment is amazing and it is stocked with everything you could possibly need. Kelly and Jack are super friendly and very responsive and flexible hosts. Their kids are so sweet! My only complaint would be that I found the bed to be quite uncomfortable. I do have a bit of a "princess and the pea" thing going on and my husband didn't think it was too bad. Loved how close the metro and bike share were, plus lots to see and do in the neighborhood."

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

review from Meng (April 20-22, 2014)

Review submitted: April 25, 2014   Date of arrival: April 20, 2014

"We enjoyed our stay at Kelly's place. Kelly and [his] husband are very helpful. "

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

review from Thomas (April 12-19, 2014)

Review submitted: April 23, 2014   Date of arrival: April 12, 2014

"Our family of three stayed at Kelly's apartment for a week. It was great to have our own space on a really crowded week in DC. The apartment fit all of our needs - clean and nice amenities. The location is outstanding. It was fun to take advantage of so many fun neighborhood restaurants. Using the Metro was easy, as well as the DC Circulator bus. Kelly was very helpful. We would definitely recommend Kelly and the apartment for your stay in DC. Couldn't imagine a better place to be!"

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

review from George (April 7-12, 2014)

Review submitted: April 17, 2014   Date of arrival: April 7, 2014

"5stars for this accomodation - well stocked - perfect location excellent host"

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

review from Joel (March 29 - April 5, 2014)

Review submitted: April 7, 2014   Date of arrival: March 29, 2014

"This location is phenomenal, it can get a bit tricky when it gets dark but just use common sense. Very close to the capital, Metro, Navy yard, marine barracks and a lot of great restaurants. I would suggest taking your significant other down to the waterfront for a stroll, there is a lot of nice development happening and good restaurants. I would definitely stay here again. Use Uber.com if you need to get to the airport before the Metro is running, use promo code q9gbl and get a nice discount on your first ride when you sign up. Kelly is extremely accommodating, we tried very hard to be good guests and he was helpful from start to finish. Best of luck."

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

review from Sarah (Mar. 12-19, 2014)

Review submitted: April 2, 2014   Date of arrival: March 12, 2014

"When I started planning our trip to DC, I knew we didn't want to stay in a hotel. I traveled with myself and my two daughters aged 9 and 11. When I stumbled upon this apartment I snatched it up for our Fall Trip. Unfortunately- our trip was at the same time as the government shutdown in October, and I had to reschedule our trip last-minute for the spring. Kelly was amazingly generous and helpful as we rescheduled not once, but twice due to a white house tour scheduled a day too early. When we arrived the apartment was spotless and perfect for what we needed. There is a CVS down the street and a Harris Teeter at the next metro stop- very easy and convenient- though it took more planning than loading up the car! We made so many great memories at that place and had such an excellent trip- by the end the girls were begging to stay another week. Kelly was an excellent host- very communicative and was five steps ahead of me- answering my questions before they'd even popped into my head. In short- I very highly recommend this place to anyone looking for a great, central location in DC. You won't regret it!! :)"

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

review from Anita (Mar. 19-21, 2014)

Review submitted: March 25, 2014   Date of arrival: March 19, 2014

"We very much enjoyed our stay in D.C. Kelly was very accommodating to our needs and tried his best to get us an earlier check in. There were a total of five of us, and we slept very comfortably, even though the double airbed didn't work. The airbed was broken without them knowing, but I let them know, and refunded me $35 for it. I wasn't expecting it at all, but very much appreciated it!!! They also provided a 31 page DC tour guide and what is near their apt, which was very helpful for us. This place is very very close to the subway, maybe a minute away. It was easy access to other locations. I very much recommend this place for others traveling in DC, and it was in the center of the city. The only downer was that there were a few homeless people outside the subway location, so it was a little sketchy. All the restaurants were great in that area, seemed like many people traveled to just eat there."

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

review from Dexter (March 11-12, 2014)

Review submitted: March 17, 2014   Date of arrival: March 11, 2014

"Great location and amazing & attentive hosts. Recommended for anyone visiting DC and wants to be near the action. All of the privacy with the comforts of home."

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

review from Daniel (Feb. 14-16, 2014)

Review submitted: March 14, 2014   Date of arrival: February 14, 2014

"I'm amazed with how great Kelly was. The apartment was beautiful and our hosts were more than willing to provide help and amenities. The apartment has a binder that Kelly typed up that includes answers to every possible question that an out-of-towner can have. We watched Netflix and drank the free Keurig coffee, and didn't once hear a peep from the family upstairs. The next time I'm in D.C. I'll be staying with Kelly. Thank you for hosting us!"

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

review from Mike (March 2-6, 2014)

Review submitted: March 7, 2014   Date of arrival: March 2, 2014

"We had such a wonderful time in DC and loved calling this place home that we stayed on an extra night. I can't imagine staying any place else. The apartment is clean,convenient to everything, and Kelly and Jack could not have been any nicer. I can't say enough good things about the apartment and the hosts!!!"

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

review from Sam (Feb. 24-27, 2014)

Review submitted: February 28, 2014   Date of arrival: February 24, 2014

"Kelly was a FABULOUS host! The apartment was perfect for our trip to Washington DC (2 adults and a six year old)! It was so much cleaner than a hotel room that we were immediately at ease with choosing to stay there. Like Kelly says in his post, you hear the little feet overhead, but I'm sure they heard us, too, so it's not a problem - just something to be aware of when you book. We had no problems and Kelly was totally on top of everything. He responded quickly whenever I text with a question and had great suggestions. He even went out of his way to make our stay a little better when we made a mistake on our end! The luxury of not having to buy a Metro Card because he provided them for us was awesome ~ I really just can't say enough positive things about renting this apartment or renting from Kelly & Jack. Two big thumbs up on this renter and rental!!"

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

review from Ann (Feb. 17-20, 2014)

Review submitted: February 23, 2014   Date of arrival: February 17, 2014

"Good location and spacious."

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

review from Mert (Jan. 25 - Feb. 1, 2014)

Review submitted: February 3, 2014   Date of arrival: January 25, 2014

"We had a great stay at Eastern Market. As soon as we entered the door, the place was spotless clean, and warm. The hosts Kelly and Jack did a great job of supplying everything you can think of. We felt like we were at our own home. We love the location. It is a really lovely neighborhood. The people are very nice. The metro is steps away. There are so many good restaurants in walking distance. We found a parking spot right in front of the house the night we arrived. This was the most convenient DC experience we had. We are already planning our next stay here."

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

review from Por (Jan. 9-13, 2014)

Review submitted: January 14, 2014   Date of arrival: January 9, 2014

"Wonderful location for Capitol tour. Clean and well-equipped. Kelly cares about guests and communicates well and often. Three of us enjoyed the stay very much."

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

review from Beth (Dec. 9-14, 2013)

Review submitted: December 17, 2013   Date of arrival: December 9, 2013

"We had a wonderful five nights in Kelly's DC apartment . Kelly was a great host - communicated really well and was friendly and helpful . He was kind enough to compensate us with an extra nights stay when our flight from Australia was delayed 24 hours . The location of the apartment is excellent from the point of view of walking to the Mall , conveniences close by and the Metro at the doorstep . The apartment is compact as described but well appointed and comfortable and we loved it . We spent little time in it because Washington is such a lovely city to visit . I hope to stay here again soon !"

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

review from Rob and Joyce (Nov. 7-9, 2013)

Review submitted: November 26, 2013   Date of arrival: November 7, 2013

"Great experience, great location, great hosts! We had a little trouble booking as it was our first time working with Airbnb but Kelly was there to help us through and at the end of the day we were sitting in front of a roaring fire and we cooked in! Just felt like home. Excellent!"

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

review from Ian (Nov. 18-20, 2013)

Review submitted: November 25, 2013   Date of arrival: November 18, 2013

"Great apartment. Great neighborhood. Kelly was a big help with parking and his "Tips & Tricks" manual helped us get the most out of our stay."

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

review from Elizabeth (Nov. 9-15, 2013)

Review submitted: November 19, 2013   Date of arrival: November 9, 2013

"My two kids (ages 2 and 9) and I had an excellent stay at Kelly and Jack's apartment! It was the perfect size for us. The provided parking pass and SmarTrip subway cards made things really easy. The location was excellent as the subway is right across the street. The CVS at the corner is convenient as are the parks. They provide a great information book about the lodging and the area. Any questions were addressed immediately. I cannot wait to visit DC again and my first call for lodging will be to Kelly and Jack!"

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

review from Antoine (Nov. 1-3, 2013)

Review submitted: November 5, 2013   Date of arrival: November 1, 2013

"Great location for this nice apartment, everything was there to enjoy the week-end. Kelly has been very responsive and provided a lot of useful tricks. I really recommend it. Antoine"

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

review from Tessa (Oct. 23-25, 2013)

Review submitted: November 2, 2013   Date of arrival: October 23, 2013

"Kelly was extremely helpful and very accommodating. The apartment was clean, comfortable, incredibly well located, had all the amenities you may need AND all those little extras that make it feel like home. After DC, we went to Orlando where we stayed at the Hard Rock hotel - primarily to feed my teenage daughters' need for cool things ..... but our youngest says she thinks Kelly's basement was as good (if not better)!"

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

review from Owen (Oct. 27-29, 2013)

Review submitted: October 30, 2013   Date of arrival: October 27, 2013

"I stayed in Kelly's apartment for two nights with my family and had a great time. The location is fantastic - just 20 mins walk to the National Mall, 30 seconds walk to a handy metro station and round the corner from lots of great restaurants and eateries. The apartment was very comfortable with everything provided. Kelly is a very thoughtful host and makes a real effort to ensure your stay is as comfortable as possible, but without being at all obtrusive. Highly recommended!"

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

review from Aly (Oct. 25-27, 2013)

Review submitted: October 28, 2013   Date of arrival: October 25, 2013

"My parents had a great stay in Kelly's apartment when they came to visit me in DC. The apartment was clean, cozy, and well-equipped. Thanks again Kelly!"

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

review from Jane (Oct. 16-23, 2013)

Review submitted: October 25, 2013   Date of arrival: October 16, 2013

"A comfortable apartment in a great location with fun, attentive, and hospitable owners upstairs. Be ready for the pitter-patter of little feet as the kids get ready for school--you don't want to sleep late anyway--there's so many fun things to do in DC! Really felt like neighborhood natives by the end of the week."

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

review from Nova (Oct. 10-13, 2013)

Review submitted: October 21, 2013   Date of arrival: October 10, 2013

"?????????????Kelly?Jack??????????????Kelly??????check in??????????????????????????????????1??????????????DC????????????????????????Kelly??????????????????????????????????Kelly????3????????????????????Kelly and Jack!"

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

review from Barbara Jean (Sept. 3-15, 2013)

Review submitted: September 23, 2013   Date of arrival: September 3, 2013

"Our stay was fantastic!!"

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

review from Brian (Sept. 15-19, 2013)

Review submitted: September 20, 2013   Date of arrival: September 15, 2013

"The apartment is fantastic - just about anything you need is there, extra bedding, air mattress, kitchen items, etc. (If you forget to bring anything with you, there's a CVS right around the corner.) Kelly is great; terrific communication the whole way through. (He even helped me jump a dead car battery.) The best thing is how close you are to the Eastern Market Metro station - you can quite literally be riding the escalator down into the Metro in under a minute. This allowed us to easily visit many more museums and monuments than we would have been able to if we'd rented a hotel in the suburbs. It also allowed us to come back in the middle of the day to rest up. Definitely will use this place again for future visits."

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

review from Thevi (Aug. 24-30, 2013)

Review submitted: September 8, 2013   Date of arrival: August 24, 2013

"We felt like home when we stayed at Kelly's place. It's perfect in every aspect. The location, the Eastern Market and the convenient store, the Metro Station. Kelly even provides parking permit for your car and Metro Smarttrip Cards for you to use during stay. He's friendly and taking good care of the place, seeing from the details he laid out about his home. Only a kind loving person can I'll recommend it to my friends for sure. Thanks Kelly!"

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

review from Rachelle (Aug. 30 - Sept. 3, 2013)

Review submitted: September 6, 2013   Date of arrival: August 30, 2013

"Our only complaint was that it was too hot to get to use the fireplace! The location was AWESOME and the apartment was cozy. It was the perfect place for a vacation with a 3 month old we were so glad we were able to do some laundry!! All the comforts of home!"

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

review from John (Aug. 13-20, 2013)

Review submitted: August 21, 2013   Date of arrival: August 13, 2013

"This is the first time that we have used Airbnb. We decided to take a short family vacation to DC (and take a couple of college tours as well). I had spent my high school years in DC and almost never went east of the capital (because you just didn't go there in the seventies if you were from NW like I was). Renting a furnished apartment for a week appealed to me because of the cost saving and the convenience of having a kitchen, so we decided to try it out. Kelly was very communicative early on and gave us the lowdown. The apartment was in the basement, they had little kids and we would hear them in the mornings, etc. He provided "Smartrip" cards for us and even mailed them to us before we left so we could use them to get into the city from the airport. The apartment was very nice, clean, well furnished (the Keurig machine was a big hit), although a little tight for two adults and a seventeen-year-old. The location could not have been better, right across the street from the Eastern Market Metro, surrounded by services, yet quiet at night. Plenty of shopping and (the big surprise for me) several excellent restaurants (try Montmartre and go to Mr. henry's on Monday night for half price burgers). Yes, we could hear Kelly, jack and the kids in their morning routine (about 6 AM), but when you are in DC, you're going to get up and go out and sightsee anyway, so it wasn't a big deal. The one thing I wish were different was that the bed was a bit too small for two adults to stretch out, but we made do. I would say this place would be perfect for a young couple, but the price was right for us."

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

review from Dagmar (Aug. 10-13, 2013)

Review submitted: August 18, 2013   Date of arrival: August 10, 2013

"schöne Wohnung, super central gelegen, es fehlt an nichts, sehr nette Vermieter, sehr hilfsbereit. Wir haben uns sehr wohlgefühlt und die Zeit genossen. Wir können die Wohnung nur bestens empfehlen und werden bei unserem nächsten Washington Urlaub sicher wieder dort wohnen. Vielen Dank Kelly Dagmar , Kuno , Daria und Aline Kilz August 2013"

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

review from Bob (July 27 - Aug. 3, 2013)

Review submitted: August 5, 2013   Date of arrival: July 27, 2013

"We stayed for a week and had a great time. There was a delicious pie on the counter when we arrived. Extremely clean and comfortable apartment, well equipped with everything you could possibly need. Just steps from the subway which takes you to the places of interest. Very close to many great restaurants; organic and Safeway markets within easy walking distance. Owners were attentive ensuring we were comfortable. It would be the place we'd stay if we returned. Fabulous week!"

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

review from Jessica (July 22-26, 2013)

Review submitted: August 5, 2013   Date of arrival: July 22, 2013

"We had a wonderful time in the Eastern Market apartment. It was clean and had everything we needed and more. The location was very close to the Eastern Market metro station as well as many restaurants. We enjoyed being close enough to the Capitol that we could still walk there but we took the metro to the Smithsonian museums (only 4 stops away). Kelly was very prompt in responding to my questions about the apt. We also very much appreciated his willingness to let us keep the parking pass and metro cards for a couple extra hours beyond our check-out time so we could check some last minute things off our DC to-do list!"

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

review from Lisa (June 30 - July 7, 2013)

Review submitted: July 31, 2013   Date of arrival: June 30, 2013

"This apartment was all it was described to be. A perfect location close to everything. Across the street from the metro, close to shops, restaurants and the farmers market and two parks. Walking or riding distance from the capital and mall. The apt was comfortable and had everything we needed. You will definitely hear noise from upstairs, as is mentioned, especially in the mornings. We found parking right in front and had our RV parked there the entire week. One thing I mentioned to the owners was the difficulty in opening and closing both the doors. They swell up in the heat. It was very difficult. If you want to be close to it all and not get in your car, this is a great place to stay."

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

review from Sarah (July 19-22, 2013)

Review submitted: July 30, 2013   Date of arrival: July 19, 2013

"Nice little pad in a great neighborhood. Close to the metro, and only 4-5 stops from the Smithsonian. Close to the Eastern Market and plenty of options for restaurants. There is a nearby park for dog walking, plus the neighborhood is fun to walk in. The kitchen was well equipped, and the laundry was very handy. We enjoyed our stay, and would stay here again!"

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

review from Ken (July 16-19, 2013)

Review submitted: July 21, 2013   Date of arrival: July 16, 2013

"The apartment was well located and Kelly was a great host who communicated well."

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

review from Laurence (July 10-15, 2013)

Review submitted: July 16, 2013   Date of arrival: July 10, 2013

"We stqyed at Eastern Market for 5 days That was our very first experience with airbnb, and we just loved it. The flat is as described, nothing Is missing, you can really live here and feel home. All the necessary equipment is there, and it was a great plus to be able to do some washing with two young kids. There is a great espresso machine which we like very much as French travelers. The location is absolutely perfect, only 3minutes walking to the metro station and the area is provided with nice shops and market all to walking distance. For the children there are play grounds very closed to the flat and a water park, 10 minutes walk from the flat. My last comments will go to Kelly and his family : they are delicious people, sweet and nice. Kelly is a very attentive host always ready to bring attention to his guest. Communication has been nice and efficient all the time, and Kelly even sent us metro cards in advance as we spent one night in a hotel on our arrival. We will never forget that wonderful family and the way they welcomed us here in Washington. Thanks ! Our kids did not want to leave and were crying when we left. Nous avons séjourné chez Kelly et jack pour notre première expérience airbnb. Tout était parfait, l'appartement est parfaitement équipé, proche de toutes les commodités et à quelques minutes (3) du métro. Les environs sont très agréables, avec parc pour les enfants tout près. Dans l.apartement, il y a une machine à café ainsi q'un lave vaisselle , une machine à laver et un sèche linge, un gros plus avec des enfants. Kelly et sa famille sont des hôtes extraordinaires, très facile pour communiquer, ils nous ont accueilli à bras ouverts, avec beaucoup de générosité Et de gentillesse, cela resta pour nous qui sommes habitués à voyage une magnifique expérience ! "

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

review from Teresa (June 17-22, 2013)

Review submitted: July 1, 2013   Date of arrival: June 17, 2013

"We had a great stay and Kelly was extremely helpful! Great communication and super location!"

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

review from Todd (June 22-29, 2013)

Review submitted: June 30, 2013   Date of arrival: June 22, 2013

"Very comfortable accommodations in the Capitol Hill area in an absolutely lovely neighborhood of 100-year-old homes. Close to so much, but especially the Metro. The Eastern Market is a great place for fresh fruit, meat, and other supplies, there is a huge variety of restaurants just around the corner, and the US Capitol And Kelly makes everything very easy providing the Metro cards to get you started, providing access to the Capitol bike share program, Netflix access on the TV, Wi-fi, and a lot of other little touches. My family and I had a great time in DC and could not recommend this house more strongly."

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

review from Louise (June 14-16, 2013)

Review submitted: June 17, 2013   Date of arrival: June 14, 2013

"My friends and I stayed at Kelly's Eastern Market apartment for two nights, and enjoyed every aspect of the accommodations. The hosts were both hospitable, and easy to work with! From sending us Metro passes ahead of time, to checking in on us once we arrived, they were sure that we were taken care of for the entirety of our stay. One of the best amenities of this apartment is the location! We flew into Reagan Airport, and easily took the Metro to the Eastern Market stop which is just steps from the front door of this apartment. On the weekend of our trip there was a large farmers market/bazaar a few blocks away, and we enjoyed a walk to the National Mall. The apartment is well equipped with everything you would need to make yourself feel at home! We squeezed a total of 5 people into the unit, and we actually never felt cramped or on top of each other! It was cozy! I would definitely recommend this listing for anyone who is looking for a place to stay in DC, and will contact Kelly if I happen to be in DC again."

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

review from guest (June 10-14, 2013)

Review submitted: June 17, 2013   Date of arrival: June 10, 2013

"If you are looking for a convenient, clean, friendly place to stay in the DC area, this is it! We totally enjoyed the friendliness and helpfulness of Kelly and Jack. The place is about a 2 minute walk to Eastern Market metro. The apartment itself is very comfortable, with all kinds of brochures available to browse. While we brought our own drinks and food, we appreciated that the kitchen was equipped with staples. The neighborhood was beautiful, and we felt safe at all times. There were many restaurants about a block away that we enjoyed. We would definitely stay there again if we were in the DC area. Thanks guys!"

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

review from guest (May 25-June 1, 2013)

Review submitted: June 17, 2013   Date of arrival: May 25, 2013

""We enjoyed our stay in this 1 br apt in Eastern Market. My fiance and I visited DC for a conference and site-seeing. The location was great, particularly being right across the street from the Eastern Market Metro Station and a Bike Station, a short walk to Eastern Market (a must do on the weekends), and a wide variety of quality restaurants. The Capitol and National Mall are just a bike ride away if biking is your thing (we personally loved biking and using the bikeshare system. We walked to the Capitol area a couple of times and walking was doable if you don't mind walking.) Apartment itself had everything we needed and comfortable bed. Having a washer and dryer is nice to have (a little small, but got the job done). Hosts are helpful, prompt to answer emails and texts, friendly, and attentive to details. The bike pass and metro passes were a nice added bonus. Be aware that you may hear the family with 3 kids upstairs in the mornings if you plan to sleep in late (we woke early most mornings anyways, so not a problem for us.) We would not hesitate to recommend this place to anyone visiting DC who is looking for a great deal in a great location."

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

review from guest (June 7-10, 2013)

Review submitted: June 11, 2013   Date of arrival: June 7, 2013

"We truly enjoyed our visit here. We felt safe, the host was very helpful and provided tips, bus and bike passes, and answered any questions for us. We felt connected to the city but yet the area was quiet and convenient. Thank you!"

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

review from guest (June 1-5, 2013)

Review submitted: June 7, 2013   Date of arrival: June 1, 2013

"We really loved our stay in DC with Kelly and his family. We had all of our basics met and any questions we had were promptly answered. The location of the apartment was amazing with restaurants, stores, and the Metro entrance just seconds of walking away. Kelly provided us with a great notebook of material on local foods, using the metro, the bikeshare, and more. Check in and out was super easy. If we make it back to DC, we would definitely choose to stay here again."

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

review from guest (May 16-18, 2013)

Review submitted: May 20, 2013   Date of arrival: May 16, 2013

"We loved the apartment. Kelly was very informative about the property and very attentive to our needs. The location, near the Capital, is unbelievable. There are a lot of restaurants to walk to and there are a lot of people out and about the neighborhood. We'd love to come back and rent the unit and visit the museums, memorials, and monuments."

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

review from guest (May 9-16, 2013)

Review submitted: May 18, 2013   Date of arrival: May 9, 2013

"We had a great week in Kelly's apartment. Convenient location in the Eastern Market neighborhood. Close to Metro and lots of dining choices within walking distance. The unit's helpful hints binder provided all the info you will need to enjoy this location. The hosts were friendly and helpful."

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

review from guest (April 4 - May 5, 2013)

Review submitted: May 8, 2013   Date of arrival: April 4, 2013

"I had the best time at Kelly and Jack's place, which is clean and comfortable and located in a great part of town. They were both so welcoming and friendly. The apartment had everything I was looking for, and Eastern Market is a fabulous neighborhood. There are lots of restaurants and a flea market (and food market) on the weekends. I definitely recommend it, and I would stay there again. It's also very nice that the apartment is dog-friendly, and there is a dog park right down the street. My pooch got a ton of exercise while I stayed there."

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

review from guest (Mar. 30 - April 4, 2013)

Review submitted: April 5, 2013   Date of arrival: March 30, 2013

"Our family loved the Eastern Market apartment. The apartment itself was lovely and cozy, and the proximity to the Metro was stellar. Having the Eastern Market, 8th Street restaurants and stores, two playgrounds and all the other places within walking distance was wonderful. Our children absolutely enjoyed the freedom of not being strapped in to a carseat, and we almost forgot to see all the wonderful sights of Washington."

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

review from guest (Mar. 27-30, 2013)

Review submitted: April 1, 2013   Date of arrival: March 27, 2013

"This was our first experience with airbnb and we had a fantastic experience. Kelly held my hand and patiently answered all of my questions. We were traveling with 2 small children and it was both the perfect place to do so - down to the set of plastic bowls and cups specifically for them. They truly are located right across from the Metro and after a long day of sightseeing, we were able to come right back with very little walking. The extras that they provide like the metro cards and the list of restaurants really do go above and beyond. Staying here you really do get a feel for living in a DC neighborhood rather than just staying in a hotel."

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

review from guest (Mar. 21-27, 2013)

Review submitted: March 28, 2013   Date of arrival: March 21, 2013

"This apartment exceeded our expectations! The location was perfect! Within a 2 minute walk we had our metro stop, CVS & a market. We were pleased that we were able to cook in the apartment as well as do laundry to avoid checked bag fees with the airline. There are restaurants right around the corner and it was a great neighborhood. Kelly was very responsive to our needs and had thought of every detail. We hope to have a return visit!"

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

review from guest (Mar. 17-20, 2013)

Review submitted: March 24, 2013   Date of arrival: March 17, 2013

"Kelly's apartment was in a great location, right by the subway in a very nice neighbourhood. My husband and I were very comfortable in the bedroom and the kids had a nice sofa bed in the living room. The kitchen had everything we needed. We had a great stay and hope to return some day. I highly recommend this apartment."

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

review from guest (Mar. 9-16, 2013)

Review submitted: March 17, 2013   Date of arrival: March 9, 2013

"Great location for metro and area restaurants. Very comfortable apartment. We had a wonderful time, and the hosts were very accommodating and flexible with arrangements. Highly recommended!"

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

review from guest (Mar. 4-7, 2013)

Review submitted: March 11, 2013   Date of arrival: March 4, 2013

"We had a great time here on spring break with 3 kids. Kelly is a great host who made sure we were comfortable. We would not hesitate to stay here again. The apartment is very clean and had everything we needed. Kelly provided metro cards and a parking permit which proved to be extremely helpful. It is a perfect location. We felt safe and got a taste for what it would be like to actually live in DC, which is exactly what we wanted. The fireplace was a nice touch after a long day sightseeing. Honestly, we had zero complaints and would highly recommend this place to others."

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

review from guest (Mar. 1-4, 2013)

Review submitted: March 6, 2013   Date of arrival: March 1, 2013

"Perfect location and wonderful apt. I would definitely stay again the next time I vist my son in DC."

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

review from guest (Feb. 22-Mar. 1, 2013)

Review submitted: March 5, 2013   Date of arrival: February 22, 2013

"Kelly and Jack are wonderful hosts, and attend to all of your needs!!! The apartment is very comfortable and cozy. The location is perfect; Eastern Market is so close and it's such fun to go every morning to buy fresh eggs, butter, cheeses, meat, produce, etc. You have everything you need in the area--great restaurants, supermarket, cleaners, pharmacy, etc. Having the metro across the street from the apartment is ideal!! If you have a car, you can almost always find parking in front of the apartment, and Kelly and Jack provide you with a parking pass, a metro/bus/bicycle pass, and so many other things that make your time there so easy and convenient. I hope we can stay in this wonderful apartment again soon!!!!"

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

review from guest (Feb. 14-20, 2013)

Review submitted: March 4, 2013   Date of arrival: February 14, 2013

"We had a great experience! Kelly was so helpful and accommodating. And the space is perfect located right next to the Eastern Market Metro."

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

review from guest (Feb. 4-14, 2013)

Review submitted: February 16, 2013   Date of arrival: February 4, 2013

"In February, 2013 we visited DC for 10 days. We have stayed in Airbnb apartments all over the world and found this apartment to be one of the best. The excellent location cannot be overstated. The metro station is essentially across the street. It is inexpensive and easily the best way to get around the city. The apartment comes with two metro cards that you simply need to top up to get on your way. The. Neighborhood also has wonderful restaurants, shops and places to grab a latte. The apartment kitchen is well stocked if you want to cook the occasional meal. The hosts quickly responded to all of our questions. Highly recommended!"

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

review from guest (Jan. 24-30, 2013)

Review submitted: February 3, 2013   Date of arrival: January 24, 2013

"This is a very comfortable apt with a perfect location for touring DC. Everything you could need is included. Great kitchen and bath, cozy living and dining room. The washer/dryer were a plus, too!! Our friends that were staying nearby were jealous...and want to stay here on their next trip!"

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

review from guest (Jan. 18-22, 2013)

Review submitted: January 23, 2013   Date of arrival: January 18, 2013

"5 stars isn't enough for this place! Kelly offers a GREAT place in a FANTASTIC location for any trip to DC! We came for inauguration events, and found the location could not be beat. So convenient to Metro and a great neighborhood with restaurants, great shops (don't miss Hill's Kitchen). The neighborhood was family-friendly, clean and safe. Kelly is a SUPER host who pays attention to all the details. He provided valuable information before and during our stay... even responding to last-minute questions and offering referrals to local businesses/resources as needed. And he's thought of just about anything you may need to know in his comprehensive Tips & Tricks book. With Kelly, I really felt like I had a friend I could count on if I needed anything during the trip. That was a nice bonus. The place was CLEAN, the bed was firm and I slept like a log. Love the "nesting" thermostat, simple instructions about recycling and composting, handy toiletries and the weekend delivery of the Washington Post! Everything was great, and you simply cannot beat this location for a great base from which to explore all of DC!"

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

review from guest (Jan. 5-11, 2013)

Review submitted: January 12, 2013   Date of arrival: January 5, 2013

"My husband, dog, and I were moving from California to DC and needed a place to stay temporarily while waiting for our new home and household goods to be ready. We stayed in Kelly's apartment for a week and loved it. After a lot of time on the road and living out of suitcases, it was wonderful to feel at home. The apartment is very comfortable and the kitchen is well-equipped. We were so thankful to have the opportunity to cook after far too much road food. The extra amenities such as the TV with access to Netflix was great when needing to unwind. And you just can't beat the location - everything is at your door step. Kelly was extremely easy to communicate with and responded immediately to emails. The binder they have put together with tips and information is extremely helpful and answers any question we may have had. I would recommend this apartment to anyone. If you are coming to DC, this is the place to stay. "

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

review from guest (Dec. 28, 2012 - Jan. 1, 2013)

Review submitted: January 4, 2013   Date of arrival: December 28, 2012

"Great location. Easy access to restaurants on 8th street and Eastern Market Metro. Kelly did a great job staying in touch, even though he was out of town, and had Metro passes waiting for us."

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

review from guest (Aug. 7-14, 2012)

Review submitted: December 29, 2012   Date of arrival: August 7, 2012

"The perfect place to stay in DC! Traveling with kids it was a perfect home away from home. The apartment was very spacious, clean, quiet and comfortable. We couldn't ask for a better location. So easy to see everything by metro just steps away. We will definitely stay here again our next trip to DC and recomend it to everyone."

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

review from guest (Dec. 16-28, 2012)

Review submitted: December 29, 2012   Date of arrival: December 16, 2012

"Awesome location! Best in dc, in my opinion, when it comes to mobility, transportation options (even driving from this location is easy), restaurants, daily needs (market, pharmacy, dog park, just a block away), site seeing, etc. Kelly is an amazing host. Fully stocked kitchen, everything you could ever need. You can hear the family upstairs, but its a joyous sound. We enjoyed our stay immensely."

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

review from guest (Dec. 10-12, 2012)

Review submitted: December 29, 2012   Date of arrival: December 10, 2012

"We truly enjoyed our stay at this Eastern Market apartment. It was clean, fully functional, and a great price. Metro cards and bike share options were available, and we were able to park right out front with a parking pass from Kelly! We were within eye sight (across the street) from the Metro, and able to walk or bike anywhere because we were in the middle of everything. Kelly and Jack were both available for whatever we needed, and we stayed in constant contact from reservations through the stay. The apartment was underneath the home of 5, so early mornings while they were getting ready and out the door the noise was noticed. Other than that all was wonderful and we would recommend this location to others."

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

review from guest (Nov. 30 - Dec. 2, 2012)

Review submitted: December 29, 2012   Date of arrival: November 30, 2012

"We are just back from a fabulous stay at Kelly and Jack's rental apartment. First, let me reassure those of you who are anxious about renting sight-unseen. This place is exactly as described. The pictures are accurate and complete. Kelly's description is honest and fair. If there is any fault to be found, it may be that Kelly does not rave enough about his neighborhood. This lovely condo is in a marvelous, lively, safe neighborhood that preserves a real sense of community while being very close to the center of Washington. There are many wonderful restaurants nearby. Transportation is also great. You're a stone's throw from a Metro stop, cabs are plentiful, and there's even a Capitol BikeShare right there. Kelly and Jack couldn't have been nicer or more helpful. We had some specific needs for arrival and departure that were generously attended to. I strongly recommend this great apartment!!!"

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

review from guest (Oct. 6-8, 2012)

Review submitted: December 29, 2012   Date of arrival: October 6, 2012

"What a great stay. Easy. perfect location. The Metro passes were absolutely useful. Kelly's communication with me provided everything I needed. I was a first time Airbnb user and he walked me through everything. From my annoying and constant calls trying to get into the property early to the moment we checked out Kelly's property and his handling of it surpassed my expectations. The place is stocked with some essentials that make traveling easier. Ketchup for instance. We cooked the food we brought from the Eastern Market one night and of course forgot some condiments but Kelly had everything we needed. Its small things that which really made Kelly's property a great stay. He made my second trip out to DC even better than the first. I plan on visiting DC again and Staying at Kelly's property would ensure for a fun, safe, comfortable experience. Thank you Kelly for you hospitality"

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

review from guest (Oct. 30 - Nov. 4, 2012)

Review submitted: November 5, 2012   Date of arrival: October 30, 2012

"We had a great stay. Kelly was very attentive. The apartment was well equipped, comfortable and VERY well situated for visiting DC. We found his book of tips very helpful, especially the lists of stores and restaurants we will recommend it to all our friends."

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

review from guest (Apr. 3-10, 2012)

Review submitted: November 4, 2012   Date of arrival: April 3, 2012

"I used to live not far from this apartment, so I knew the neighborhood well. It was nice to see just how much the area has changed. The bike rental is an amazing addition to the area, for example. I don't ride, but it's helpful to have. Even if this flat hadn't been as nice as it actually was, its location alone would have made it absolutely awesome. I have read the reviews that people write on this and similar sites where people say the flat is located in X area, but the reality is that it's in Y area. That is not the case here. It is ridiculously close to the metro, which came in handy when I couldn't control myself shopping at various malls, and also when I spent the morning on the National Mall doing an incredible amount of walking. Knowing that I was almost in the door as I ascended in the escalator was a very good thing. Another thing that I read a lot on reviews here is the facility with which they can connect to the internet. Again, it was painless. My netbook connected with absolute ease. [My main laptop didn't, but that was *my* problem, as I had forgotten just how locked down to my home network it was. If you have a laptop that is extremely customised to your home network, remember to unlock it before traveling.] The fireplace in the apartment worked, which is a very nice touch. There was wood available, and I caught up on some last-minute work while tending a nice warming fire. The early spring nighttime temperatures were what most northeasterners would call mild, but seven years in Cape Town has made me a bit of a weather wimp -- spring temps in Washington was basically mid-winter Capetonian weather, and it was nice to have the fire, which was also nice to sit in front of while watching television [and, since this matters on Airbnb, the TV does come with cable]. There's a washer and dryer, which is also a good thing, and an obscene amount of closet space if you are, like me, someone who likes to properly unpack clothing when on holiday. All in all, this is an excellent place, and I would highly recommend it."

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

review from guest (Apr. 11-14, 2012)

Review submitted: November 4, 2012   Date of arrival: April 11, 2012

"Four days before our trip to DC, our original Airbnb host had to cancel. We were scrambling to find a place to stay and Kelly emailed me back almost immediately! He was always great with emailing back quickly before we got there. He went out the night before we got there to get a lockbox which was incredibly helpful so we could "check-in and out" easily. The location of the apartment is PERFECT!!! You're literally across from the Metro and just down the street from tons of restaurants, bars, the Capitol Building and the Mall, and Nationals Park. Kelly was great too at recommending places to go and giving info on getting to the airport, etc. The apartment is stocked with everything you could possibly need and the one thing that wasn't (a hair dryer) they went and picked up immediately, which was amazing! The bed (and the futon!) were both super comfortable. The apartment is in the basement of their gorgeous old rowhouse, so you will hear some floorboards creaking and the water running, but that just adds to the charm! Next time we are in DC, we hope to be able to stay with them again!"

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

review from guest (Apr. 21-26, 2012)

Review submitted: November 4, 2012   Date of arrival: April 21, 2012

"First, Kelly was great with pre-trip communication. There's a lockbox out front which makes it very convenient as our check in was in the evening. The awesome clean/efficient DC Metro stop is right across the street. It's so convenient. Even with tired children, they can make it "home" from the subway after a day of touring. There is a puppy park/playground literally one block away and another playground one block past that one. The neighborhood is beautiful with lovely walks right around the corner. The Eastern Market is a few blocks away and my kids and I loved being able to go there in the morning for great bakery goodies and food shopping needs and the weekend flea market is really fun. So DC and cool to see it was started ny Thomas Jefferson! There is a great toy story by there and gelato ice cream. The Capitol area is just blocks away and the Mall is only a few metro stops away. The apt is so cozy! The fireplace was wonderful and Kelly alwasy kept the wood well stocked out back. There is a sweet sitting area out front which my friend and I enjoyed after the kids passed out early from all the touring/walking. Kelly was incredible with communication if ever I needed anything. The kitchen is perfectly stocked with cooking supplies and a Yes Organics food shop is around the corner which had great stuff especially for snacks for the day (which of course I had to throw out at the Capitol tour and the White House!...fyi read fine print for these tours!) So I encourage ANYONE looking for a great place in DC to try and book this place. The bed was so comfortable that it was the best sleep I've had in ages...even with my two little ones I couldn't wait to sink in there. The laundry was great for me to have as well. There are no drawbacks at all...wish I could of stayed longer and look forward to coming back again (since I had a rained out ballgame and still have senate gallery passes to use!) if there's availability!"

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

review from guest (Apr. 27-30, 2012)

Review submitted: November 4, 2012   Date of arrival: April 27, 2012

"What a terrific weekend my husband and I had at DC's Eastern Market area! Kelly was extremely helpful and responsive to all inquiries and needs. Staying in the garden apartment was not only more convenient than a hotel but also a much better "experience". We could walk to terrific restaurants, enjoy the Eastern Market shopping,and take advantage of all the benefits staying in such a well located apartment provided. Kelly checked in with us after we arrived and made himself available for any questions or concerns. Highly recommend the Boxcar Cafe across from the Eastern Market for brunch and dinner! Many thanks to Kelly for making our trip to DC most enjoyable!!!"

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

review from guest (Apr. 30 - May 3, 2012)

Review submitted: November 4, 2012   Date of arrival: April 30, 2012

"Kelly went above and beyond to make our trip to Washington DC pleasant, efficient and enjoyable. I rented the apartment on behalf of two artist friends from out of town, and Kelly went the extra mile to provide tailored suggestions for them. It left an incredible impression of hospitality and generosity. The apartment is cozy and outfitted with every convenience of home, and small touches of a boutique hotel. The location next to the metro stop is incredibly convenient!"

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

review from guest (May 5-7, 2012)

Review submitted: November 4, 2012   Date of arrival: May 5, 2012

"Kelly was a great host. Personable and informative. Apartment completely equiped (even a beer in fridg). Metro 1/2 block (direct to center of Capitol Mall) or you can walk one block and look down the street and see Capitol Building. Great casual dining and restraurant scene within a few blocks (7th and 8th Streets). Eastern Market open daily and a Farmers Market and Faire on weekends (two blocks). Stores (even a FedX) within a block. Our whole experience was great and we would definately stay here again when returning to DC. Thanks Kelly!"

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

review from guest (June 18-19, 2012)

Review submitted: November 4, 2012   Date of arrival: June 18, 2012

"Check in was easy, the place was as promised, and the location was great - easy access to the metro, and great restaurants nearby. Kelly was easy to get a hold of, and very accommodating. My family had a great time in DC, and a great place to crash after we were worn out after 8+ hours of museums. I would definitely stay here again."

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

review from guest (June 19-24, 2012)

Review submitted: November 4, 2012   Date of arrival: June 19, 2012

"We were quite comfortable in Kelly's apartment in Eastern Market. The apartment was a good size for a family of three. It had all the amenities we needed to enjoy our stay. We were able to eat breakfast and prepare bag lunches before heading out to enjoy the sites of DC. The apartment is also very conveniently located, across the street from a metro stop but also walking distance to capital hill. Kelly was available to answer any questions we had and provided a helpful binder of information."

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

review from guest (June 24-25, 2012)

Review submitted: November 4, 2012   Date of arrival: June 24, 2012

"1.location is great. 1 minute walk to the metro system. 15 mins walk to the Capitol. 2.host is easy-going and very welcoming. He had prepared a guide book and 3 metro cards for us to use, he is very thoughtful. 3 Sofa is even more comfortable than bed, my parents were competing to stay in the sofa."

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

review from guest (July 9-13, 2012)

Review submitted: November 4, 2012   Date of arrival: July 9, 2012

"We had a very pleasant stay at the apartment. Location is excellent, the apt is comfortable and Kelly and Jack are very toughtful. "

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

review from guest (July 22-25, 2012)

Review submitted: November 4, 2012   Date of arrival: July 22, 2012

"The perfect place to stay in DC! Traveling with kids it was a perfect home away from home. The apartment was very spacious, clean, quiet and comfortable. We couldn't ask for a better location. So easy to see everything by metro just steps away. We will definitely stay here again our next trip to DC and recomend it to everyone. "

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

review from guest (Aug. 15-18, 2012)

Review submitted: November 4, 2012   Date of arrival: August 15, 2012

"L appartement est idéalement situé dans un quartier tout à la fois résidentiel et proche des animations, commerces, restaurants. Les hôtes sont d une grande gentillesse, et nous ont rendu de nombreux services. La ville de Washington est très agréable. Quant à la taille de l appartement, elle est bien pour un maximum de 4 personnes. "

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

review from guest (Aug. 18-22, 2012)

Review submitted: November 4, 2012   Date of arrival: August 18, 2012

"Perfect location, excellent communication from considerate and thoughtful hosts, apartment just as described. "

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

review from guest (Aug. 22-25, 2012)

Review submitted: November 4, 2012   Date of arrival: August 22, 2012

"Charmant petit appartement très bien situé (métro, marché, parcs) et comportant tout le confort qu'on puisse espérer pour un beau séjour dans la capitale. L'organisation 100% électronique de Kelly est super efficace. Il fournit un guide complet pour profiter de l'appartement et des environs. Nous sommes une famille de 6 et comme nos enfants sont encore jeunes, l'appartement, quoique petit, était assez grand pour nous. Bon séjour ! Lovely little apartment ideally located (metro, market, parks) and featuring everything you need for a nice time in DC. Kelly's 100% e-planning is very efficient. He offers tips to enjoy the flat and the neighbourhood. Though the appartment has only 1 bedroom, it was big enough for our family of 6, as our kids are still young. Have a pleasant stay ! "

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

review from guest (Sept. 29 - Oct. 2, 2012)

Review submitted: November 4, 2012   Date of arrival: September 29, 2012

"Very happy with my stay with Kelly and family. The accommodation was exactly as described. The extra touches in the kitchen were greatly appreciated. Kelly was a pleasure to deal with, he was prompt in his email replies and really went out of his way to ensure our stay was a positive one. "

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

review from guest (Oct. 2-6, 2012)

Review submitted: November 4, 2012   Date of arrival: October 2, 2012

"We thought Kelly's place was the best place we stayed in on our trip to the USA. It was a beautiful and clean apartment, extremely close to the metro and also to the capitol. On our last day we walked in to the Library of Congress! It was a breeze to check ourselves in, and communication was smooth. The metro cards that Kelly left for us to use made our lives so much easier and cheaper. Other tourists were asking us where we got them! I am going to be recommending this place to my friends who plan to visit DC. "

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review