reviews for: listing #103226 - Kihei, Hawaii Condo rental

2 BR Ocean/Mtn views-Free wifi & calls to USA & Canada
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Maui Vista Resort
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $110 - $200 /nt

sort by:

GREAT place for a family (or 2 couples) to stay

Review submitted: August 6, 2011   Date of arrival: July 27, 2011

My family had stayed at the Maui Vista last year and had such an enjoyable experience we looked forward to staying there again this year. We really enjoyed and appreciated this renovated condo (different from last year's unit). Nice updated furniture with lots of drawers and closet space; hardwood floors and ceiling & floor fans that worked so well we only had to use the air conditioner once during our 8 day stay! The kitchen was wonderful for prepping food for the outside grills - lots of space and granite countertops; loved the proximity of the beach (across the street) and the pools onsite when the wind kicked up on the beach. My daughter enjoyed having her own room and shower upstairs (next time we'll have to bring a friend). Owner was very easy to work with and we will definitely be recommending his property to friends and family...We are already looking forward to (hopefully) going back next year! Condo is close to Wailea and within walking distance to 2 of our favorite restaurants: Kihei Cafe (banana macadamia nut french toast) and Da Kitchen (saimin noodles or the Kahlua pork). The Surf Shack is great for surfing lessons and renting boards for the day and the Maui Vista Concierge (onsite in the mornings) RW is very knowledgeable for any questions on activities, restaurants or shows you may be interested in. If you want fresh fish, I would recommend heading to Paia to the Paia Fish Market (cesear salad with grilled fish of choice or their Mahi Mahi fish and chips) or Mama's Fish House (more expensive, but worth it; breathtaking views, right on the beach; a great dining experience beginning with the complimentary corn chowder and honey bread, wasabi calamari, entree and banana macadamia nut crisp with homemade ice cream)!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Good Location

Review submitted: May 14, 2014   Date of arrival: April 22, 2014

This condo has a lot of potential. The location is great for walking to beaches and restaurants. The condo itself needs work. The unit was positively filthy, whoever is cleaning it for the owners is doing them a huge disservice. The dust and grime was caked on lamps, cupboards, pictures, the sheets on the bed were stained, the towels smelled of mildew. The floors were filthy. It took my husband and I 6 hours to clean this unit. We had a lot of bugs here, cockroaches, black beetles, huge spiders, but the problem We think are the gaps around the A/C and you can see daylight through the front door. People who have written in the guest book complain that the A/C does not work, it works fine, the problem is the couch is blocking the unit, we moved the couch out of it's path and enjoyed a cool living room. I think if a few more dollars were spent updating the bathrooms and closing up the holes this could be a perfect vacation spot. Also, staff came in without permission to put bug traps out. I have never stayed anywhere where the staff can come in unannounced, it was very unsettling .

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for taking the time to review our home in Maui. It was disappointing to know that our accommodation did not meet your standard for a vacation home in Maui because we have always had very satisfied guests. I wish you had contacted Maui Condo and Homes, our property manager, to address the issues you raised because they have an excellent reputation for consistently taking care of our guests needs. We have communicated these issues with our property manager and cleaning crew so they can take care of the things they have control over. Since Maui is a tropical island, the natural flora and fauna of the island consists of insects which first-time visitors may not be accustomed to. However, the resort has a very effective quarterly pest control program. Thanks again for visiting Maui.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Nice updated condo, perfect location in Kihei

Review submitted: March 2, 2014   Date of arrival: February 21, 2014

Very nice, updated condo with everything you need, even beach towels and gear. Easy walk to a great beach. We saw humpback whales at the beach! View from unit. Comfortable bed. Good place to relax after a day exploring Maui. Friendly, helpful owners.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Love the views!

Review submitted: February 22, 2014   Date of arrival: February 11, 2014

Loved the views from the lanai and living room. Great location - right across the street from Charley Young Beach. Clean and well furnished. The owner is easy to work with and professsional. Take advantage of the concierge RW. He is well informed and can book trips right at Maui Vista.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review from guest book

Review submitted: September 3, 2013   Date of arrival: June 18, 2013

Great vacation! The unit was very comfortable and clean. Also great location, plenty of parking. I will definitely recommend this place to friends and family. Mahalo!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review from guest book

Review submitted: September 3, 2013   Date of arrival: June 8, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at 1421. We liked the amenities including boogie boards, beach chairs, beach towels, coffee maker and updated kitchen. This is a wonderful location to the great beaches, stores and restaurants. Thanks again, Mahalo!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review from guest book

Review submitted: September 3, 2013   Date of arrival: February 1, 2013

We found your condo to be exactly what we anticipated. Renting VRBO can be hit and miss but the pictures you provided were a good reflection of what we could expect. The best part is the location. Our children joined us for 10 days each with our grandchildren and the proximity to the beach was great. Also proximity to whale watching, aquarium and other tourist attraction was ideal.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review from guest book

Review submitted: September 3, 2013   Date of arrival: October 15, 2012

Location was amazing here in your beautiful condo! We enjoyed our stay very much and are not ready to leave! You had everything we needed and more (well-stocked!) We loved the beaches right across the street. Kamaole II had a great reef with about 8 turtles to swim with. Kids loved this! Great experience!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review from guest book

Review submitted: September 3, 2013   Date of arrival: October 1, 2012

We had a great time at your condo. The location could not have been better. Greatly enjoyed Charley Young Beach and surfing at Cove Beach. Thanks for sharing your condo!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review from guest book

Review submitted: September 3, 2013   Date of arrival: October 1, 2012

I enjoyed my visit thoroughly. Did not feel like going far from the beach! All needs were met, well supplied! I will be back for sure!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review from guest book

Review submitted: September 3, 2013   Date of arrival: September 9, 2012

Thank you for all!!! We appreciate all the hard work you put in this condo to make it a comfortable stay for our 7 days here. The beds are comfy and we felt at home. We made lots of friendships at the Kihei Congregation and look forward to coming back. We'll recommend this place to friends and family.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review from guest book

Review submitted: September 3, 2013   Date of arrival: September 4, 2012

This is a beautiful condo, great location! We had everything we needed. Enjoyed our stay very much. You made everything easy.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review from guest book

Review submitted: September 3, 2013   Date of arrival: July 17, 2012

We love the place - convenient to the beach and shops. Great view from the balcony. Nice to have been able to use beach chairs and other amenities. We enjoyed our stay.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review from guest book

Review submitted: September 3, 2013   Date of arrival: May 26, 2012

Condo was great as was the view. Wish we had more time to enjoy it all!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review from guest book

Review submitted: September 3, 2013   Date of arrival: April 27, 2012

We enjoyed staying in your condo and plan to return sometime. The view, the location and all the amenities were first rate. Hope to come back soon.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review from guest book

Review submitted: September 3, 2013   Date of arrival: October 9, 2011

Mahalo! We had a great vacation. The condo was great and had everything we needed. We loved visiting Charley Young Beach across the street. We are leaving an audio CD for the Road to Hana for others to share. See you next time Maui!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review from guest book

Review submitted: September 3, 2013   Date of arrival: August 4, 2011

Thank you for a great time in your condo. The trip was very enjoyable and we loved your renovated condo and all of your amenities. We hope to be back again next year. Mahalo!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great family vacation!

Review submitted: May 16, 2013   Date of arrival: April 18, 2013

We stayed at the condo April 18th-29th for our family vacation. Myself, My husband and two sons aged 6 and 8 had a fabulous time. The condo had everything we needed. It was clean and very comfortable. My sons loved having their own loft and washroom. The location is perfect; steps from one of the best beaches and all sorts of restaurants and shops. We made good use of the pool and the BBQ. What we appreciated was the sense of community within the condo residents and visitors...it felt very much like a home versus a hotel. We would definitely recommend it to our friends and consider staying here again!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great stay, great view, great value

Review submitted: April 7, 2013   Date of arrival: March 26, 2013

Visited relatives in the Kihei and took the family. This condo was a very good value. Well furnished and met all of the needs of our family that has 3 teenage girls. The view is excellent. Charlie Young is a great beach just steps away. Would stay again and recommend.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great location, everything we needed.

Review submitted: January 22, 2013   Date of arrival: October 1, 2012

This condo was perfect for a great week in Maui. Very clean, and the kitchen had everything we needed - including a coffee maker, tea pot, blender, and rice cooker. We cooked most of our meals ourselves and saved tons of money. We used the outdoor gas grills almost every night, and they are also a great place to meet other people staying in the condos. The grounds around Maui Vista are beautiful and well kept. When we were there, our front closet had snorkeling gear, a boogie board, cooler, beach mats, umbrella, other beach toys. I am guessing the various beach gear may change as people come and go, leaving things for others to use?
The best thing about Maui Vista is the location. We came to windsurf, but no wind that week, so we learned to surf at Cove Park, within EASY walking distance. My husband rented a board for the whole week, and was able to pick it up across the street from the Cove Beach at Maui Wave Riders daily and drop it off when he was done, so didn't have to keep track of it over night.
Charley Young Beach is right across the street - great beach! They have a live web cam there, so you can see what your "home beach" would look like if you stayed here. I enjoyed bringing my tea and book down for quiet time early every morning. There were usually locals fishing near the rocks at the north end in the am. OK snorkeling around the rocks too - but sometimes the visability was not very good. Did see turtles and monk seals(?) at Charley Young and Cove Beaches (while surfing).
You can also walk to Food Land for groceries - I did not think it was too expensive, and they give visitors a "card number" so you can get the sales (like having a Safeway card). Very convienient for all the items you don't want to buy in Costco size or might need later, like makings for Pina Colatas! I might even skip the whole Costco mess if it weren't for the huge bag of shrimp that contributed to most of our dinners - maybe just quick in and out for that, some Poke, and steaks - as long as its the same day as airport and car rental - after that I am on vacation!
Overall, a great experience. Great home base for anywhere you want to play on Maui. The owners were very responsive and easy to work with. No problems at all. Next time we plan to stay longer.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

great vacation place

Review submitted: January 21, 2013   Date of arrival: December 4, 2012

We enjoyed our family time at the condo. Very organized and well maintained with all the necessities your need to make your stay enjoyable. The new renovations made this condo feel like a newer suite. Loved the loft and the high ceilings. Owner was very quick on getting back to us with questions/information we needed and they were easy to work with. Next time in Maui we will be checking the available here first. close to the beach!!!

Recommended for: families with young children

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Excellent Stay

Review submitted: September 14, 2012   Date of arrival: September 1, 2012

LIsting description was accurate regarding this location. The unit is on the top floor of the first building. Great view with a breeze all day. The beach is across the street with a one minute walk (at the most.) Restaurants and grocery store are in walking distance. The photos accurately reflect the rental's appearance and amenities. Everything is remodeled with new decorations. It all feels new. All the amenities that I would need at home are provided (towels, blow dryer, iron, beach chairs, cooler, kitchen supplies,) it is all there. Property was very clean. The owner rapidly responded to my questions and concerns through email. I recommend staying at this unit and working with the owner to everyone. I am looking forward to my next stay.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

wonderful condo

Review submitted: May 3, 2012   Date of arrival: April 19, 2012

We just returned from a nine-day stay on Maui and we couldn't have been more pleased with the condo.The location (right across the street from a beautiful beach), the pool (the water temperature was just right), and the tennis courts made for a very pleasant stay. We discovered a terrific Happy Hour just a few blocks away at a place called Threes, as well as incomparable breakfasts at the Kihei Cafe.

As a previous writer noted, the photos don't do the condo justice. The vault ceilings give the rooms a spacious feel, the kitchen is large enough to cook elaborate dinners in, and because of the afternoon tradewinds we only had to turn the air-conditioning on twice, briefly. Open the sliding glass door and let the sea breezes cool the place for you!

We would definitely stay here again.
.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Thanks for the wonderful stay

Review submitted: December 12, 2011   Date of arrival: November 12, 2011

The condo was clean, nicely furnished, and close to the beach, restaurants, and stores, The kitchen was well equipped. The tennis courts and pools are close to the unit and well maintained. This condo is a great value, we enjoyed our stay, and would gladly rent the condo again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great location; updated condo

Review submitted: April 15, 2011   Date of arrival: April 4, 2011

Aloha! We enjoyed staying at Maui Vista and will do so again. It was easy to get into the condo, it had everything we needed and was nicely updated. There's a perfect breeze while sitting on the lanai and the view is nice too. Lots of trees and greenery on the property. It's in a great location; walking distance to anything you need. Charley Young beach is excellent and so close. The pools are clean and not too cold. Our two favorite restaurants were Kihei Cafe for breakfast or brunch & 808 Bistro (behind Freds) - best food in Kehei. Surfing lessons & kayaks are only 5 min walk away. Our extended family stayed in three other MV units at the same time and we all agreed that it was a great spot for a vacation...see you again soon!!! Mahalo

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Maui Vista 2 bdrm. condo close to Charlie Young beach

Review submitted: April 12, 2011   Date of arrival: December 16, 2010

This is a perfect spot for a family of four or 2 couples as there is a loft with a bathroom and 2 single beds.
The condo is well outfitted and has the bonus of having free Wi-Fi and long distance phone calling. The location is excellent. Easy walking to shops and restaurants and it is right across from a great beach (Charlie Young). The complex has tennis courts and swimming pools and BBQ facilities. We found the condo to be nicely decorated and very well-maintained.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

great location

Review submitted: January 16, 2011   Date of arrival: January 7, 2011

This is an excellent property, within walking distance to everything. Also if you are a tennis player, this is the place to stay.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: December 28, 2010   Date of arrival: December 7, 2010

My wife and I will be leaving tomorrow and wanted to let you know that we enjoyed your condo.
We found it in good condition upon our arrival.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: December 28, 2010   Date of arrival: November 24, 2010

We had a FABULOUS time in Maui and at your condo! We can't wait to stay there again. Truly a fabulous location and the condo is just so nice. We wish we were still there!

You were so easy to work with and everything was perfect. Thank you!
Bethany

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: December 28, 2010   Date of arrival: December 8, 2010

Just wanted to let you know that my mother-in-law arrived safely & she absolutely LOVES the condo, I do as well! so you can be assured that we will definitely be sending business your way anytime we can. The location is great, the furnishings are gorgeous and it is very comfortable

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review