reviews for: listing #103295 - Indian Lake, Ohio House rental

Harden's Harbor: Best View on Indian Lake!
  • bedrooms  5
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  12
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $300 - $415 /nt
    $800 - $1,900 /wk

sort by:

Family Memories

Review submitted: August 18, 2014   Date of arrival: August 15, 2014

Harden's Harbor was everything we had hoped for and more. Our last visit to Indian Lake as a family was 40 years ago. This year we went to celebrate our parents' 58th wedding anniversary. Harden's Harbor helped build onto our childhood memories.

The property was extremely clean and very well-maintained. Tom, the property manager, arrived within minutes of our early arrival to the house. This is the first house we stayed in that came complete with paper towels, toilet tissue, hand soap, cleaning supplies and extra supplies in the event you needed them. The linens provided were much better than expected (towels were actually fluffy and not the standard white starchy feeling towels).

Our parents loved the master bedroom! The other bedrooms worked well with our group (6 additional adults). The living area is very large and accommodating. There are several pictures displayed throughout the house which lends a very personal touch to the home. We spent hours (and I do mean hours) in the three season room. Our days started and ended in this room. There is a beautiful view of the lake from this room which is another reason why this room was so popular.

Harden's Harbor is within walking distance to Indian Head Roadhouse. The food at IHR was great and the atmosphere very pub-like. After dinner we strolled across the street to take pictures of the sunset. Dinner Saturday was at Cranberry Resort (another fun place with live music). Breakfast on Sunday was at Aunt Millie's (rec. by Tom). Another great meal! Of course, the trip wouldn't be complete without a stop by the Donut Shop (childhood memories of Hinkle's).

Activities included renting a boat from Spend-a-Day Marina and viewing the Our Lady of Fatima statue, walking the path along the lake, visiting Indian Lake State Park, and taking pictures in front of the bridge that used to lead to the amusement park (childhood memories again).

We would definitely recommend staying at Harden's Harbor. Tom, the property manager, was so easy to work with. It is very apparent he takes pride in managing this property.

Thank you for allowing us the opportunity to spend time with our parents in a place that holds only fond memories of our childhood days. The memories of this trip will be tucked away with our previous memories with the hope of reliving them in years to come.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: I am so grateful for your wonderful words! I, too, have fond memories from more than 40 years ago of visits to Indian Lake . Some of the pictures of which you wrote are pictures of my mother, her identical twin sister, and my aunts.

My mother and my father, in the early fifties, fell deeply in love at Indian Lake. That love, thirty years later in 1980, carried them back to the lake. That's how powerful were their memories of their own youth at the lake and so, having my own fondness, I understand your and your parents' content to see again the statue, eat a greasy donut, and just take in the splendor of Indian Lake. I am happy you could do that from the sunroom of Harden's Harbor...

Thank you so much! Kim

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Excellent property, location & service

Review submitted: January 7, 2013   Date of arrival: December 28, 2012

We had a get together of 5 families and this place made it a very memorable one

The location is awesome - just in front of the lake. The property is well maintained. The property manager, Tom, was very cordial. He lost his cell phone after cleaning the snow in front of our cars :(

There are so many activities to do inside the property. Lot of indoor games, musical instruments, good books, to name a few. High speed wifi enabled Internet let me work from home!

Don't miss this property if you are looking for one in this area.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Harden's Harbor is a unique and yet comfortable "Historic House" on Indian Lake..We prefer that all Guests have a enjoyable stay!!! Come see us!!!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Great !

Review submitted: January 1, 2013   Date of arrival: December 28, 2012

very nice property....WE had a great time here......I would defenitely recommend this to any one.

The property manager(Tom) was very nice and made sure we had a good time.

He even went to the point of cleaning our cars when it snowed which was very impressive.

So many things to do around.

We are already thinking abt going back for summer

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Nice House, Great Service

Review submitted: September 11, 2012   Date of arrival: August 17, 2012

We had a reunion at the place back in August. Everybody loved the patio so much. We spend a whole afternoon and evening sitting in the patio, talking and drinking and watching the lake.

The owner of the property is very flexible on checkin/checkout schedules. The mutual trust makes me feel very comfortable. If I ever go back to Indian Lake, this would be my first choice.

Owners response: I am so glad you enjoyed our house! When I am in Ohio, I too spend lots and lots of time on the patio. The view from the patio is one of the best on the lake. I hope you will come back, kick back, and have another great time at Harden's Harbor! Thanks again, . Kim

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Great location! Fun for Kids!

Review submitted: September 5, 2012   Date of arrival: August 31, 2012

We had two families (4 kids, ages 7-14) in this spacious house. The fun never stopped due to our easy access to the lake and convenient location to entertainment. When we weren't on the lake boating, tubing and swimming we were roller skating at the Rollerarena, Go-Carting, or walking down the street to get ice cream or donuts from The Donut House. The adults enjoyed morning jogs on the path along the lake. We all loved hanging out in the sun room that provided an excellent view of the lake. The owners have also stocked the house with games, books, instruments and toys for the kids. They all had a great time and didn't want to leave. Thanks for a great weekend!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: Hi Lynda, Thanks for staying with us,we're pleased that your families had a fun filled time!!! We do have a perfect location on the lake, so convienent for all activites...Indian Lake area has many attractions yearound, so please come again, and enjoy Harden's Harbor.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review