reviews for: listing #103363 - Manhattan, New York Condo rental

Midtown Manhattan Luxury Condo, 24hrs doorman,elevator,max 5
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  no
  • type  Condo
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Midtown
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $160 - $275 /nt

sort by:

Great location

Review submitted: May 18, 2014   Date of arrival: May 9, 2014

Clean and cozy. Great location walking distance to the theaters, restaurants and shopping. Don't miss the view from the roof top terrace.

Recommended for: sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Lovely apartment in the best location

Review submitted: May 7, 2014   Date of arrival: April 19, 2014

We are young couple from Hong Kong, just stayed in this lovely apartment for 8 days. It is located in the best prime location in New York, very convenient. Owners responded quickly to our questions. It was a pleasure staying at this apartment for our vacation in New York.

Recommended for: girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Lovely apartment in the best location

Review submitted: May 7, 2014   Date of arrival: April 19, 2014

We are young couple from Hong Kong, just stayed in this lovely apartment for 8 days. It is located in the best prime location in New York, very convenient. Owners responded quickly to our questions. It was a pleasure staying at this apartment for our vacation in New York.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

great stay right at Times Square

Review submitted: June 25, 2013   Date of arrival: June 1, 2013

This location is unbelievable, and a great value. The bed was comfortable, the bedroom large, and the extra-big closet very appreciated. We used the inflatable mattresses as well, comfortable and no convenient. This kitchen was very useable -- we made a couple of full meals during our stay, with a grocery store nearby. Of course, the very best thing about this rental is its incredible location, which cannot be overstated. Thank you, Diana, for your hospitality, and we hope to see you again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

we enjoyed our time here

Review submitted: February 14, 2013   Date of arrival: February 1, 2013

This is about the best location that a visitor to New York could find. Turn left outside the hotel walk to the corner and you can see Time Square just 2-3 minutes away. Theatres, restaurants and bars all at the door step. There is easy access to the rest of Manhattan as so many subways pass through it. The apartment was very comfortable, well equipped and very good value for money. Thanks for the hospitality. Steve

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

great experience

Review submitted: February 6, 2013   Date of arrival: December 18, 2012

My experience with Diana was excellent. She literally saved my trip after a bad deal with another host. More than that her apt was really comfy and provides all we need while at NYC. Its location is privileged, steps away from major attractions, the building has its own doorman and concierge, 24hrs security, that were very helpful. Thanks Diana ! Franc from Spain

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

PERFECT position for all interests in NY

Review submitted: February 6, 2013   Date of arrival: January 8, 2013

PERFECT position for all interests in NY. Walking distance to Time Square, theatre district, Central park, subways,restaurants. All facilities provided, High speed Wi-Fi internet and HD TV are excellent. Diana communicates well and is a charming hostess. Initially we were apprehensive about paying a deposit months before the occupancy but the whole process went smoothly. We can reliably recommend this property. This property would be ideal for a 2-3 week intensive shopping, theatre, and walking program. saves lots on an impersonal hotel. For us Australians this is well done and more importantly ----hassle free!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

a family of 5 celebrate New Year in Times Square

Review submitted: January 9, 2013   Date of arrival: December 29, 2012

We are a family of 5 from Argentina, just spent 8 nights between Dec.29 and Jan.6 in this Times Square condo. The location of this condo is unbelievable, Times Square is in its front yard. The apartment is clean and pretty nice. We had great time and will come back.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great location but disappointed with the condition

Review submitted: December 22, 2012   Date of arrival: December 7, 2012

I stayed here recently with my two teenage children and, yes, the location is ideal but we were really disappointed with the condition of the unit as soon as we walked in. The carpets were badly stained, the walls were in need of a paintjob, the blinds were dirty and it didn't look anything like the pictures.
There were 3 air mattresses but 2 of them leaked and the sofa bed was terribly uncomfortable. We had to put the extra doonas on the bed to act as a padding before we lay on it.
It would not have been too much of an effort to make the apartment look better and we would have enjoyed it more.
I had to contact the owner during our stay regarding the airconditiong and I will say she was very prompt to reply to my problem. That was appreciated.
As mentioned, the location was great, New York was wonderful but, if we come back, I will not stay here again.

Owners response: The owner took constructive feedback seriously. had the apartment repainted, changed the blinds, and steam vaccumed the carpet. But renters should have alerted the owner about any leaking airbeds while staying there. The owner would have replaced any leaking airbeds.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

great location, comfort and security!

Review submitted: May 4, 2012   Date of arrival: April 23, 2012

We recently spent a week in this well equipped rental apartment and can recommend this to anyone who wants a secure and comfortable one bedroom unit in a central location in midtown NYC. The location on 51st Street and 7th Avenue makes for easy walking and equally easy transportation, bus and subway one block away. The security desk near the entrance is just that - don't think it is a concierge who can make dinner reservations, a nod on entering or leaving the building is about all one gets. The elevators were clean and worked very efficiently. The apartment itself has one bedroom with a large walk-in closet, a very comfortable queen size bed and a flat screen TV; ample linens are in the closet. The hotel sized living/dining room has a well equipped studio kitchen area, microwave, coffee maker, water boiler and large frig/freezer; also a flat screen TV and WiFi with secure password which the owner will gladly provide. Communication with the owners was quick and detailed and they will meet you in the apartment to hand you the key, collect the rental money balance in cash and help in any way they can. The living room furniture is basic and a bit tired while single glazed windows allow street noise and cold air to enter the apartment but overall this is a great value for the money. Book long time ahead as this is a justifiably popular place!

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

enjoy our stay

Review submitted: January 21, 2012   Date of arrival: January 5, 2012

This experience was over the top! Diana went out of her way to accomodate us! The Location was 10 stars for us! The apt. provided everything we needed and more! Good luck and many blessings on the new baby!!! Margie

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

great location

Review submitted: January 20, 2012   Date of arrival: December 18, 2011

Just left this apartment yesterday and we stayed for 5 nights and had a great time. We had 4 adults, we had 2 in the queen bed and 2 on the 2 aerobeds. With the aerobeds, space is tight, but you don't go there to spend much time in the room. The unit is fantastically located on 51st and having a doorman is always a bonus knowing there is security and etc. Diana and her husband were fantastic with communication, whenever I asked something, she got back to me in quick time. The unit is what it is, a small one bedroom that looks like a converted studio. There was an abundance of towels, if you forgot shampoo and soap, it was there for you. All the basics were there which is nice when you get off a long plane ride. I would definitely recommend this property as the location is fabulous and the biggest BONUS is that you can control the heat in the unit. We barely had it on. I have stayed in other places that you couldn't control the heat and it ruined our stay a the heat was so oppressive. Thanks Diana for an enjoyable stay and the late checkout :))

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Long Weeked in NYC

Review submitted: January 20, 2012   Date of arrival: January 13, 2012

The property was in the perfect location for our stay in NYC -- within walking distance of so many attractions -- close to Rockefeller Center, Central Park, Times Square, etc. Booking the property with Diana went smoothly. When we arrived, her husband met us at the apartment and briefed us on what was close by, such as restaurants and attractions. Thank you for telling us to check out the building's rooftop deck -- the views up there were great! We definitely would recommend this property to others and would consider staying there again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

dirty and run down apartment

Review submitted: January 11, 2012   Date of arrival: December 27, 2011

The apartment was dirty and the furniture was run down. The apartment was not cleaned before we arrived as there were pieces of food and dirt over the carpet and there was food from previous renters left in the fridge. The carpet is badly stained and the furniture in the living area is in very poor condition with the sofa vinyl cracked and torn and there was a lot of dust throughout the apartment. We couldn’t vacuum the carpets as the supplies vacuum cleaner is missing wheels. While there is a kitchen there were no saucepans. The bed is extremely uncomfortable as the mattress rests on a sheet of timber for support. The building itself is well maintained and very well located, but the apartment is in poor condition. We would not recommend this apartment to friends or family and certainly will not rent the apartment again for future NY visits.

Owners response: I have been with hosting over 1000 guests for over 5 years, I have never even once got a bad review like this one. Just around the time of this guest's stay, I had back-to-back good reviews from my customers!

The apartment was freshly painted right before Christmas, and is professionally cleaned between every guest stay including carpets, bathroom and linens. The full size modern fridge is emptied of all food, we offer our guests coffee, tea, sugar, spices in our kitchen cabinet. A premium firm queen mattress and boxspring rest on metal frame that I just bought in July, 2011. The kitchen has a modern full size cooking range with oven and ceramic cooktop. Basic cookware are stored in the oven.

We are puzzled and flabbergasted by this review. I don't mind constructive feedback, but the stuff that was mentioned in review was so incredibly far away from the truth.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Enjoy NYC in Hurricane Irene

Review submitted: September 12, 2011   Date of arrival: August 27, 2011

This is our first trip to NYC, we were in the city when Hurricane Irene hit the city. We really loved the condo as it is strategically located. The subway was shut down. But we found all the major attractions in walking distance. We will definitely consider renting it again in future. A family of 4 from California

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Family of 5 from Texas

Review submitted: March 21, 2011   Date of arrival: March 13, 2011

Highly recommend this to anyone! The condo was in the best location ever!! It was central to almost everything! The condo is a bit small however it is larger than most hotel suites. The place was very clean and had everything we needed except we ran out of toilet paper and could not find anymore in the apartment. There was a store within a couple of minutes from us so it was not a big deal. We were provided with dishes, cookware, extra blankets and pillows. The kids were very comfortable there. There were two TV's and a fold out couch. We were also provided with extra blow up air mattresses which worked out great! There was a large closet in the bedroom to store our luggage. The doormen were very nice and helpful. They helped us get our bags in and out of our car. Gave us suggestions when asked. We even had a package over nighted to the condo and the doorman held onto it for us and we picked up late one evening. Condo had heating and a/c, we were able to open the windows for some fresh air. Not extra or hidden cost like you find at hotels. We were able to eat meals in the condo and heat and refridgerate food. The bedroom bed was very firm I prefer softer mattress but overall it was great experience! Very comfortable and we will look to stay again when we go back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you, Leslie, your positive review is definitely encouragement for me. To make sure guests have comfortable stay in my place when they are vacationing in New York is always very important to me. -- Owner Diana

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

PERFECT position for all interests in NY

Review submitted: October 24, 2010   Date of arrival: October 17, 2010

PERFECT position for all interests in NY. Walking distance to theatre district, Central park,subways,restaurants and car rental outlets. High speed internet and HD TV are excellent. All facilities provided, Diana communicates well and is a charming hostess. Initially we were apprehensive about paying a deposit months before the occupancy but the whole process went smoothly. We can reliably recommend this property. This property would be ideal for a 2-3 week intensive shopping, theatre, and walking program. saves lots on an impersonal hotel. For us Australians this is well done and more importantly ----hassle free! Ideal for 2 persons, bit of a squeeze with more. Next time we will send the adult children elsewhere.

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Very Pleased

Review submitted: August 11, 2010   Date of arrival: July 28, 2010

We were very pleased with the room, the luxury building, the great location steps away from times square, broadway theatres, restaurants, transit and the pleasant owner.

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

review of midtown condo

Review submitted: July 27, 2010   Date of arrival: July 14, 2010

The location was great and the amenities were as promised. Nice workout facilities and lovely building. The owner provided good customer service; however, the actual apartment could use updating. The furniture itself is fine, but the carpet is nasty and the walls could use a coat of paint. Also, it was advertised that the queen bed has a new pillowtop mattress when in fact all it is is an old mattress with feather mattress topper. Not quite as expected. I could not recommend this property unless it is tidied up.

We loved the location, restaurants and things to do galore. Just clean it up and we will be back.

Owners response: The carpet was vacuumed and steam cleaned before guests arrival.
And the mattress was newly purchased, it is a high-end firm mattress to provide strong support to body. But some guests actually prefer soft mattress, I provide an optional feather mattress topper. The apartment is professionally cleaned between guests.

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Staying on 51st st.

Review submitted: June 1, 2010   Date of arrival: May 24, 2010

this is such a convenient location.we were able to get around very easily from here.i would stay here again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 6 / 8

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Privileged location, great building

Review submitted: May 6, 2010   Date of arrival: April 16, 2010

My experience with Diana was excellent. She literally saved my trip after a bad deal with another host. More than that her apt was really comfy and provides all we need while at NYC. Its location is privileged, steps away from major attractions, the building has its own doorman and concierges, 24hrs security, that were very helpful. Thanks Diana ! -- Eva University of Puerto Rico

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Enjoy Big Apple from its very center

Review submitted: April 14, 2010   Date of arrival: March 14, 2010

I don’t think you will find a better location. We were amazed. This corner is 200 meters from Times Square , 50 meters from Rockefeller Centre and from Broadway. Many current shows are only 5 mins walk away. Restaurants of all types are very close and you have a Dukes Deli that provides a huge range of take home food at reasonable prices only 3 doors down on 51st. The subway we found to be superb. It has you downtown in less than 15 mins.( Wall Street, Ground Zero etc) Central Park is 6 blocks away and 5th Ave is 2 blocks away, depends how much you like to shop and how rich you are. Louis from sydney australia

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The very best location, apt well equipped

Review submitted: April 14, 2010   Date of arrival: March 31, 2010

This is about the best location that a visitor to New York could find. Turn left outside the hotel walk to the corner and you can see Time Square just 5 minutes away. Theatres, restaurants and bars all at the door step. There is easy access to the rest of Manhattan as Time Square has many subways passing through it. The apartment was excellent, well equipped and very good value for money. Thanks for the hospitality Diana. Dave from Ireland

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

great location, amazing city

Review submitted: January 27, 2010   Date of arrival: June 14, 2009

Diana, Thanks very much for everything , the apartment has been very comfortable and in a very great location !!!!
We have enjoyed the city . You are lucky to live in this amazing city.
I will give references if I know any friend who wants to come to NYC.

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

perfect location, comfy apt

Review submitted: January 27, 2010   Date of arrival: October 20, 2009

The location proved perfect, the water pressure and immediately hot water made for great showers, and the bed could not have been more comfortable. I hope that we have the opportunity to return for a longer stay. We have passed on information as to your listing to a number of friends who attended the national conference that brought us to New York this visit.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

heart of Manhattan, comfortable apartment

Review submitted: January 27, 2010   Date of arrival: January 27, 2010

we stayed in this apartment in April 2009. It was very comfortable and the location is perfect for visiting Times Square and in the heart of Manhattan. We have reseved the apartment for March 2010 and we are excited and looking forward to staying in her apartment again.

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review