reviews for: listing #103371 - New Orleans, Louisiana Condo rental

605 B Julia Street - Warehouse District Charmer!
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  Condo
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  7
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $250 - $500 /nt

sort by:

Good Place with an Excellent Location

Review submitted: May 28, 2014   Date of arrival: May 16, 2014

The location in the warehouse district is wonderful, just a short, 5-minute walk to the French Quarter and easy access to the trolleys.
The unit was clean, well appointed with comfortable beds and furniture and a full kitchen. The unit has been recently renovated, and the master bath has a wonderful, huge shower. The master bedroom itself is also large and comfortable. As has been noted in other reviews, the bedrooms don't have doors, the master bedroom being at the end of a hallway and the 2nd bedroom being a loft. This really doesn't cause any issues with privacy, as the rooms are at opposite ends of the unit. The loft bedroom could offer some challenges. It is accessed by way of a steep spiral staircase. People with vertigo or any limits on their mobility may not make it to the top. Also, the loft was quite warm. We had the AC on and managed to cool it off, but we visited in May. Hotter weather during the summer may be less accommodating.
Still, all in all, as our rating suggests, we enjoyed the place, and would recommend it to others.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for taking the time to complete the review. We are glad you enjoyed your visit to New Orleans. Keep us in mind for your next visit.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

AMAZING SPACE! CANNOT WAIT TO GO BACK

Review submitted: May 19, 2014   Date of arrival: April 23, 2014

GREAT location. close enough to walk to all the partying but also far enough that you can get away from it.

the setup was perfect and the courtyard added a good touch.

we will definitely be back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for the review. We look forward on seeing you next year.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great location and you can walk everywhere.

Review submitted: May 18, 2014   Date of arrival: May 1, 2014

We had a great time. We have never stayed in that area of New Orleans. It really was perfect. You can walk to the quarter, Lucy's surfer bar. The Hilton for Drago's. It was great.
Only negative is that upstairs can get warm. I would not want sleep up there in August.
The master shower is great but privacy is a bit of an issue.
Yes we would stay there again. Thank you.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks so much for taking the time to complete the review. I am glad you enjoyed your visit in New Orleans. Please keep us on mind on your next visit.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Location, Charming

Review submitted: November 7, 2013   Date of arrival: October 30, 2013

My husband and I rented the apartment for a week while we were in town for a business convention. It was such a great location - within easy walking distance to the Convention Center as well as many other NOLA restaurants and attractions. We had originally planned to have another couple join us for a few nights at the apartment, but last minute they were unable to come and that turned out to be fortunate - because although there are more than enough beds in the apartment, there are not doors on either bedroom and so the privacy would have been limited. However, with that said, this apartment would be great for a family with children, teenage children, or a girls weekend with friends. The apartment had everything we could have needed; it was very well-equipped and comfortable. Our only complaint was that the WIFI connection in the apartment didn't spread very far - it was only usable at the dining table or in the courtyard. Street parking is quite limited and was even worse during our week there as they were doing construction all over Julia Street, but if you are staying in the city, you really wouldn't need a car at all. We did rent a car knowing we had plans to do some tours outside the city, and found that the parking lot that was recommended worked out quite well.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Stay Elsewhere!

Review submitted: June 5, 2013   Date of arrival: May 31, 2013

I was really looking forward to spending quality time with my girlfriends at this vacation rental, but everything went wrong. We arrived at the condo only to find a pipe leaking next to the front access door. When we go into unit B, we found the upstairs thermostat set to 62. This completely froze the unit and the AC was broken. My guests could not stay upstairs due to the heat and some had to sleep on the floor. The next morning, a pipe near the AC unit broke and the guest bathroom ceiling started leaking (pouring really) and we had to secure pots and pans to catch the water. After five attempts to call the rental company (emergency contact never answered), I was told the problems would be resolved. A maintenance man came and fixed the leaking ceiling and stated that he "comes to this unit all the time." AC was never repaired and most contact with rental company went ignored. PLEASE do yourself a favor and STAY SOMEWHERE ELSE! I wish I could get part of my rental money back as we had a horrible stay.

Helpful votes: 11 / 11

 

Great place!

Review submitted: May 30, 2013   Date of arrival: May 16, 2013

Great property in a great location. We were totally comfortable during our stay!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: Thank you for the review! We were happy we could accomodate you and look forward to hearing from you when you plan your next trip to NOLA!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Amazing

Review submitted: May 15, 2013   Date of arrival: May 3, 2013

I absolutely adore this place, it is perfect for a group of friends
or family! The location is perfect and safe, the pictures do no justice it's definitely a hidden gem! I will be back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much!! Hope to hear from you again soon!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great location

Review submitted: May 6, 2013   Date of arrival: April 15, 2013

Loved the location, easy to get around. Close to the street car line, and public parking. The place was nice. My group of 6 ending up sharing the "master" bath. The second bath is small, and got really hot. We don't think the air was working in half of the house, the up stairs lofts was HOT, the TV room and second bath stayed hot as well, but the downstairs eating area, bedroom, and bath stayed nice and cool. Spiral staircase is tricky in the middle of the night, but we managed. I'd say our major con would be the mattresses, they weren't great, but who goes on vacation in New Orleans to sleep, not my group!

Recommended for: girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Mike

Review submitted: May 5, 2013   Date of arrival: April 25, 2013

Terrific location in central business district, easy walk to the quarter and convention center. Most windows face an inner courtyard, so pretty quiet. (Local church bells can get loud at times.) It is not the most fancy of places, which suits us just fine, and even so the master bath was luxurious. Upstairs second bedroom can sleep many! We had some plumbing issues which were promptly addressed, so the stay was not compromised in the least. Danny, the local agent, was very responsive and instantly available. We will be back to NOLA, and this will be our preferred location, having stayed in several over the recent years.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Time

Review submitted: April 4, 2013   Date of arrival: March 28, 2013

We had a great time in New Orleans and had plenty of space! The courtyard was a nice touch and allowed us to eat, chat and enjoy the weather outside! The management team was responsive to our needs and requests. The most important request was the ability to store our luggage. Two of us had an evening flight, and they allowed us to store our luggage so we could explore more of the city our last day. It would have been a disaster to have to take our luggage with us during the day. Great place, great location and a great space!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Thank you so much for leaving your reviewing! I am glad that you had a nice time in NOLA. I hope to hear from you in the future when planning a trip to explore New Orleans!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A perfect location to be close to French Quarter!

Review submitted: March 22, 2013   Date of arrival: March 14, 2013

Mother/daughter trip to celebrate 30th birthday (not mom). Our best friends joined us. We were fortunate to be in the Warehouse District during St. Patrick's Day weekend celebrations. A little too much of the French Quarter, nice to have a place to retreat to.
Great price for the 3 nights. The spiral staircase is a little daunting if you need to climb down in the middle of the night, but certainly doable for those inclined (or declining).
Clean, quiet and well furnished. Would stay again. And yes, the master bathroom shower was definitely appreciated.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: Good Afternoon!
I wanted to thank you for taking the time to retun to Vacationrentals and writign a review for me!
I am glad that you had a nice stay and I hope to hear from you again in the future when you are making plans to visit NOLA!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Memorable Stay

Review submitted: February 26, 2013   Date of arrival: February 15, 2013

We converged in NOLA from 3 states. And we were surprised and charmed with these accommodations. Everyone was comfortable and this "get together" was a crashing success. It was quiet. Parking in the garage around the corner was safe and easy. We found the World War II museum world class, moving and inspirational. We visited the Houmas Plantation ( about an hour away) . Fantastic property, the gardens are remarkable but the house tour was excellent. Children would enjoy because they allow touching and handling. But the tour is an hour long. Food in NOLA is wonderful. We were treated to The Commander's Palace, quite an experience! I would recommend this property to anyone, it allowed us to gather and enjoy each other and catch up in the special atmosphere of New Orleans.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Good Morning!
I am very happy to hear that you had a nice stay in NOLA. I hope to hear from you again in the furture! Thank you for taking the time to stop in and give us a review!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Home Away from Home

Review submitted: February 18, 2013   Date of arrival: February 11, 2013

Location, Location, Location! PERFECT location! I wanted to find a place that would put me in heart of Mardi Gras, and this was it! From being one block from the St. Charles parade route, to being four blocks away from the BEST po' boys in town (Mother's on Poydras), the Julia St. condo did not disappoint! It was very private, very little street or crowd noise, which was quite suprising being so close to the parade route. Once we parked our cars, that was it, we walked everywhere!

Even though the floor plan is open, I felt as though, each one of us had our own room. It was that cozy and comfortable. It was very clean and you can tell well taken care of. The cabinets and bathrooms were fully stocked, the beds were very comfortable and even the closets had extra linens, pillows and towels (big PLUS, in my book!). The master bath shower, alone, was worth the stay!! We didn't use the courtyard as much, due to rain, but it was very quaint.

Management was on top of their game, answered every question (every question) I had about the property, returned emails, phone calls in a timely manner and never once made me feel like I was burdening them. They helped, make my first Mardi Gras experience, a lasting one!

I HIGHLY recommend staying here on your next NOLA getaway! You will not be disappointed and will want to return as soon as possible, like I do!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Good Afternoon to you!
WOW! I am so happy that you had such a wonderful experience. I also want to Thank You for the time you took to post this review for us.
I hope to get a few renovations and upgrades done this summer so I hope you do come back again to see how things are changing!
Again, Thank you! I cant wait to hear from you again in the future! :)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Centrally Located Condo

Review submitted: January 30, 2013   Date of arrival: January 25, 2013

We rented this condo along with the one bedroom condo next door for 12 guys at a bachelor party. The condos are in the middle of everything including 6 blocks to burbon street, 5 blocks from the train station, near to many popular restaurants and a block from the mardi gras uptown parade route. By using the included couches, were able to sleep 12 people in both condos. The kitchen in both places were well stocked and the beautiful courtyard had a gas grill. Probably one of the biggest plusses was that by renting both condos, we did not have to worry about 12 guys enjoying a bachelor party disturbing any neighbors. This place is as private as you can get in the middle of the city.

It was great being able to cook breakfast in the morning, make cold cuts in the afternoon and grill in the evening all while enjoying cocktails all day. Another plus was due to the open container laws in New Orleans, you can make yourself a large drink at the condo and carry it with you to the bars at night. This condo is perfect for a group of friends to have a great safe night out in the big easy all while maintaining the comforts and space of home.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Good Afternoon!
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of the condo's. I really appreciate the feedback!
I am glad that you guys had a nice trip.
I do hope to hear from you again in the future when you want a get away to NOLA!

Thank you again!

Sandra

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing Treat!

Review submitted: October 31, 2012   Date of arrival: October 23, 2012

Behind a secret door on Julia is this hidden courtyard and the two courtyards. The photos do not do justice to 605B, especially the hedonistic steam shower and rain shower. I stayed in one night and used the kitchen to cook a lovely dinner and relax on the comfortable sofa. Overall, a perfect place to relax as well as to use as a base of operations for exploring the region.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Hi there!
Thank you very much for posting this review. I appreciate it! I hope to hear from you again soon!
Have a wonderful day!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Could not have been happier with this condo!

Review submitted: May 21, 2012   Date of arrival: May 18, 2012

I stayed in this condo with a group of women for a bachelorette party weekend. I live in New Orleans, and the rest of the group traveled to the city from different parts of the world. I wanted to find somewhere for everyone to stay that would allow more group interaction than would be possible in a hotel, and this was a perfect solution. The whole group was pleasantly surprised and impressed at how beautiful the condo is given the very reasonable price. Everyone remarked that the photos didn't do it justice. It was very clean and clearly well maintained. It was stocked with everything we needed. The beds were comfortable. Honestly everything about it exceeded my expectations, especially given the price.

I chose the condo basically based on location, because it is close to several of the restaurants and bars that I wanted to take everyone to. We went to Herbsaint on the first night, which is about 2 blocks from the condo. This one of the best restaurants in the city, in my opinion, so if you stay in this condo, it's a perfect place to go. Also close to the condo is Capdeville, a more casual restaurant just a few blocks away. This was an excellent choice for a group. The food and service was great, and the atmosphere was laid back and fun. A couple of bars in the area we enjoyed were Lucy's and WINO, both only a few blocks away.

The owner was extremely helpful throughout all stages of the process, and I really couldn't be happier with the whole experience. The condo was a large part of the weekend's success, and I whole-heartedly recommend it.

Recommended for: girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great place to stay!

Review submitted: May 8, 2012   Date of arrival: May 2, 2012

We loved staying here! It is about a 20 minute walk from the french quarter, and we loved having a kitchen to cook breakfasts in the morning. The only thing I would caution is that if you are looking for a place with privacy for a group of 6-8 this is not the place for you. There is one bedroom without a door and a loft with three beds very close to each other. Overall, very happy with my stay!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Loved our stay in the Arts District!

Review submitted: March 31, 2012   Date of arrival: March 24, 2012

Our family of four (two middle-aged parents, two young adult teens) stayed at this charming apartment for five days. The location was great, just a block from the St. Charles street car line and within walking distance (about 7-10 minutes) of the French Quarter in one direction and the Riverfront in another, and only three blocks from the WWII museum and other museums and galleries. The apartment has a nice loft bedroom (which our teens used) which is reached by a spiral metal staircase, and the steps to the apartment are somewhat steep too, so it's not for older folks or very young kids -- but fine for everyone else. The master bedroom and bathroom were lovely and comfortable. We can't wait to go back to New Orleans and would definitely stay in the same place again, as well as recommend it highly to anyone who is going there.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Anne,
Hello!
What a wonderful message. I think you very much!
Please do come and visit us again!
Kindest Regards,
Sandra

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Awesome place, location and safe!

Review submitted: March 23, 2012   Date of arrival: March 15, 2012

Last weekend we met up in New Orleans for a bachelorette party and this condo was perfect! Loved everything about it, and enough space for 8 girls, which we really needed. Loved the courtyard area, wish we spent more time down there! We ended up walking everywhere by day, probably about a half mile or so to the important places and took cabs at night. The only thing missing from this rental was scissors, we looked everywhere and couldn't find a pair...the condo was so stocked with everything we could ever need, we would find the one thing missing :P Would definitely stay at this place again, had the best time in NOLA!

Recommended for: girls getaway, tourists without a car

Owners response: Sorry Meghan! Got you mixed up with Anne!
Have a great week! Hope to hear from you soon!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Awesome location & place to be proud of

Review submitted: March 7, 2012   Date of arrival: March 2, 2012

We stayed here for a convention event. Easy access. Easy to use public transportaion. We had friends come by and they loved the place too. Great location, half a mile to Canal Street. Great restaurants very close by. Nice, clean, and a fun place. If you have a difficult time with stairs then getting up to the loft could be trying. There are no doors to the master suite. A blender in the kitchen would be a nice addition. Overall awesome. We would go back again. Thanks for a super great place to stay on another amazing trip to your wonderful city.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Hi Mercie!
Thank you for the input, I appreciate it very much.
Yes I think you are right.. a blender would be a good addition!
I will take your advise and work on getting on in the condo.

Hope to hear from you soon!

~Sandra

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Gorgeous Property short 20 minute walk from the Quarter

Review submitted: February 19, 2012   Date of arrival: February 10, 2012

What a gorgeous apartment! Very pleased with it all. Felt VERY SAFE. The only problem we ran into was that the whole front of the house didn't have hot water. We made do with the 2nd AMAZING shower, but still held us up as we had a large group. The owner has been a dream come true, up until this point, it makes me wonder if she never received my email about the problem. Highly recommend!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Hi there!
Thank you for the kind words! We did have the hot water problem taken care of last week.
I hope to hear from you again.
Sandra

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Weekend in New Orleans

Review submitted: February 1, 2012   Date of arrival: January 27, 2012

What an amazing place! Plenty of room, comfortable beds and a great private patio. Will definitely rent
again when returning to New Orleans. Very safe neighborhood.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Owners response: Thank you SO much Gray!
I hope to hear from you again SOON! :)

Sandra

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful and homey

Review submitted: November 15, 2011   Date of arrival: November 10, 2011

This is a stunning property. I found almost all the amenities wonderful and it is worth the money. The location is great, close to the Quarter, the Garden district, some of the best restaurants in town, trolley lines, and several museums. The court yard was a treat and the kitchen stocked. Access to a washer and dryer was very helpful. The couches and beds were comfy and just the general vibe of the space inviting. The management was extremely accommodating.

I only have a few small issues. The place sleeps seven, comfortably. However, I wish the two twin beds in the loft space were in close proximity so they could be put together into a single bed for a couple. Since we were three couples, it meant that one had to sleep apart. The bathroom off the kitchen needs some updating and does not match the rest of the apartment, which is stunning...um wait did I say that already? The master-bath door needs a lock of a latch or something to prevent embarrassing walk ins, which happened.

Overall, I would say you will not be disappointed. We were overjoyed.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Hi Scott!
Just touching base! I hope all is well :)
Thank you again for the wonderful review of the condo.
I hope your 2012 is off to a great start and do hope to hear from you again in the near future!
~Sandra

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great place!

Review submitted: November 7, 2011   Date of arrival: November 4, 2011

We had a great stay at the condo on Julia this past weekend. The condo was spacious, clean, and a great location. It is just a half a block from the streetcar route and about a 10 minute walk to the French Quarter. The only issue was we had was that we bought a large bag of ice and had issues fitting it in the freezer since there are just two mini fridges. Other than that we had a wonderful stay! I would definitely recommend this place to anyone traveling to New Orleans.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Thank you so much!! I hope to hear from you again in the near future!
Happy Holidays to you!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautifully decorated and within easy walking distance of the French Quarter

Review submitted: July 23, 2011   Date of arrival: May 15, 2011

We stayed for around 4 nights during mid-May, the accommodations were superb, the loft was very spacious and comfortable. Most of the loft appeared to have older restored hardwood floors, and the high ceilings were fantastic. Having the private courtyard was a definite bonus, very nice to be able to be able to grill out and relax while being surrounded by wonderful old New Orleans architecture! One amazing feature of the master bedroom had to be the steam shower head that was installed in the master bath, very luxurious. We had rented a car but never needed to use it as everything was well within walking distance. All in all, we will definitely be coming back to stay!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Spacious, elegant and fun!

Review submitted: July 5, 2011   Date of arrival: June 24, 2011

I recently stayed here with 6 of my colleagues for a conference. We LOVED the apartment, especially the enormous shower on the first floor. We especially appreciated how quiet the neighborhood is - we heard nothing from the street outside nor from people in adjacent properties. Anyone who is attending an event near the convention center should consider this property - it is a 10 minute walk to the convention center.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for the kind review!
We certainly hope to have you back soon!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A mixed bag

Review submitted: March 26, 2011   Date of arrival: January 15, 2011

We selected this condo, in part, for its location. And it was a good location for our business in New Orleans. It was an easy walk to the French Quarter and many of the tourist destinations of the area.

The problem with this condo was the maintenance or lack of. The condo advertises a well-equipped kitchen, but literally every dish was dirty with old food. We ran into problems like a can opener broken in half and unusable. The freezer had old food in it and the refrigerator froze all of our food including milk, fruits, and bread. There were no face clothes or bath mats available. Even after searching the condo we could not find any. The towels, orginally brown were orange from what appeared to be an incident with bleach. The condo was dark because the lights either did not work, were missing light bulbs, or were filled with non-functioning bulbs. There was one lamp that we moved about the condo as we needed. Although there were two bathrooms, four adults were forced to share one bath because the other one just was not clean.

If these problems were addressed, this would be a very nice condo. The management company asked about our visit afterward and I informed them of our concerns. Perhaps these problems are already corrected.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, people with disabilities, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: We have addressed ll of these issues.

Our condo remains booked nearly 80% of every months and we pride ourselves on how much fantastic feedback we receive.
We have been in NOLA since 2007 and plan on a long and happy life and business in NOLA!

We welcome you to ask for feedback we receive directly from other guests!

Thank you for checking us out and we look forward to hearing from you!

Sandra

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review