reviews for: listing #103376 - Queens, New York Studio rental

Manhattan Chic in Astoria
  • bedrooms  0
  • pool  no
  • type  Studio
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  3
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $125 - $150 /nt

sort by:

A beautiful stay

Review submitted: December 4, 2013   Date of arrival: November 28, 2013

The stay was beautiful. The place is just exactly how it is explained. The house has all the amenities you need. The kitchen and bathroom is really nice. Jacuzzi bath tub is a plus. The place is in a very convenient location to get good food, hookah bars and shopping at stores such as old navy to Victoria secrets for the wife. I was really satisfied and and would recommend anyone to stay.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Buena Ubicacion! Moderno y comodo estudio!

Review submitted: October 7, 2013   Date of arrival: October 2, 2013

El estudio es muy bonito! Super comodo y acogedor. vine con mi esposo de vacaciones y quedamos muy contentos con la eleccion. Gracias Mark por la privacidad y el haber tenido el apartamento preparado para nosotros. El vecindario es muy bueno, la estacion mas cercana es Astoria boulevard a 5 Minutos caminando. Hay un restaurante marroqui en la esquina muy recomensado, comida buenisima y monton. con mi esposo, disfrutamos de comprar comuda gourmet en un whole foods en downtown y cervecitas, que compartimos en el apartamento. Recomendado al 100 porciento.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Long Weekend in NYC

Review submitted: June 4, 2013   Date of arrival: May 23, 2013

Great location with plenty of access to great Queens restaurants and clubs (Try Don Coqui or Cavo). The Q/N train is within walking distance to get into the city and around Queens, if we weren't walking we had no trouble getting a cab or car.
We particularly chose the area because we love the Steinway / Ditmars neighborhood. Staying there felt more like we lived there than were just visiting. Overall it was great and the space was great for the two of us, minus a few circumstantial things. Mark was very thorough and helpful - Thanks much!!

Recommended for: girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Beautiful/Clean Apartment!

Review submitted: April 22, 2013   Date of arrival: March 25, 2013

I was on a stay-cation with my boyfriend to celebrate our 4-year anniversary, and I fell in love with the look of the place and the jacuzzi! Very roomy for a studio space, it's a great deal for a couple looking to stay in the whole time, which we basically did! Made use of every space of the apt - kitchen/dining/etc!

The area is very local/typical of Astoria, but on a relatively quiet street. The transition into the place was very fluid, thanks Mark/Dan, as I was apprehensive since this was my first HomeAway booking.

Will definitely be back for future stay-cations!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

A definite must!

Review submitted: April 9, 2013   Date of arrival: April 2, 2013

Great apartment... Mark and Dan are wonderful very helpful. Made our stay very pleasant. Close to a subway station making it a convinent location. Will definitely stay there during future trips.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Perfect Location and Amenities

Review submitted: February 7, 2013   Date of arrival: June 13, 2012

This studio is fantastic. We stayed in the studio and found everything to be as good as the pictures make it seem. It was especially clean, modern, and convenient. The location is in a quiet neighborhood, so you get the real experience of real NYC living. The 10-12 min walk to the subway is easy and is on a nice line (N & Q). You are very close to the M60 bus that goes to LaGuardia ($2.25 to get to airport). Grocery store is one block away, deli is just down the street, and walking in this area feels very safe. The owner did everything to help us feel welcome and was very clear with giving us info up front. Many places do not give all the info that Mark does, and I appreciated his effort to help us feel at home. Thanks for helping us feel at home during our stay.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Nice Studio

Review submitted: January 4, 2013   Date of arrival: December 27, 2012

My wife and I stayed in Mark's studio over the holidays. It is exactly as advertised and pictured. Excellent choice for a couple. It is clean, located in a safe neighborhood and within a ten minute walk to the subway which is a quick 15 minute ride to midtown. It is the N line which is one of the most consistent lines in the system.
We visit NYC 3 to 6 times a year and have tried quite a few properties and we rate this as one of the best. We have already booked the property for our 2013 trips.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Gracious renter! Awesome stay!

Review submitted: December 3, 2012   Date of arrival: November 28, 2012

I rent apartments in NYC every year and this was by far the nicest place. It was very clean, roomy, the bed was comfy and everything worked the way it should. It was an especially great value because the owner let us have access to the apartment much earlier than check-in time. He offered us a late check-out too if the apartment was not rented on our check-out date. It was a 13 minute walk to the Astoria Blvd. Subway and we, of course,stopped at the Dunkin Donuts every morning on our way to the subway. Its a very quick ride to and from LGA by cab and costs about $10. The location is perfect for making sure you make it to the airport on time. To the person who said she didn't know she was renting a basement: This is not a basement and nothing like a basement! It is bright and cheery! It looks exactly like the picture. Thanks Mark! We will be back again! Laura and Jill

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great apartment

Review submitted: October 31, 2012   Date of arrival: October 25, 2012

"The proof of the pudding is the ...", in this case not the "eating" but the "staying". We thoroughly enjoyed your apartment! The size was exactly what we desired (I even got used to the "low beam" running its length; I'm 6'4" but I simply remembered to duck my head and moved around w/o incident), the design is VERY neat & clean, the kitchen & bathroom VERY sharp-looking and efficient, and when I got in bed it took the alarm clock to get me up the next morning. And we loved the neighborhood, and the morning walk through the people & stores to the Subway (more fun than riding the bus to the station).

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Fantastic Place

Review submitted: October 3, 2012   Date of arrival: September 28, 2012

We stayed here for the first time last weekend (Sept 28th). The location was great and only 2 short train rides to the middle of manhattan. I will definitely stay here again. The owner is wonderful to work with, a great guy!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Adorable condo, well-planned, good location

Review submitted: September 24, 2012   Date of arrival: September 11, 2012

We opted for a couple days in Astoria, where my husband was born. The location was fine and the price was very reasonable.

We were a little surprised upon arrival to find the unit on the bottom level (labeled 'basement' outside the door). We were disappointed after reading that there was off-street parking available to find that the unit above ours apparently had priority for this space, and we needed to park on the street. Not being local, of course, we were ignorant of the signs and got a ticket. The unit IS a lower level, so if you're taller than 6'-0" be prepared to duck under a room-length soffit or lose a chunk of your scalp. There is very little sound attenuation between this unit and the floor above, and the very active inhabitants above seemed ever-present. Footfalls and conversations were easily heard, and it seemed we were privy to almost every movement they made. We were informed by note when we arrived that the broadband was not functioning and there was a partial refund in the envelope for this inconvenience. We were also admonished that the small yard in the back of the unit was not for our use.

The unit itself was well-planned and felt spacious. It was clean and the room air conditioner cooled it off enough to be pleasant (and hid some of the noise above). Given that we were out walking for most of our visit it was a good enough value; with a little clearer understanding up front of the specifics and limitations it would have been a 5-star stay.

Recommended for: age 55+

Owners response: Miss SG, I am sorry your stay fell short of expectations.
Ironically, I did Miss SG a special favor and let her and her husband stay two nights, not the required minimum time of three nights because her husband wanted to stay close to his former home in his old neighborhood. And for that special consideration, I receive the most negative four star review I think anyone can possibly give. Let me run through each point:

1) I cannot understand how by looking at all the marketing materials you are unable to grasp that this is not a 1st floor apartment. This is a legal street level walk in, not a basement.
2) Miss SG conjures from an active imagination that there was an offer of off street parking available. Again no where in the ad is this stated that parking is provided with this studio. My apologies for getting a ticket but your mistake.
3) The foot traffic above the studio has been mentioned but this seems to be problematic for Miss SG at an exponential level. Had she contacted me that the noise level was disruptive, I certainly would have had a word with the upstairs neighbors to bring to their attention.
4) Regarding our Internet connection, occasionally, things break down and a renovation by a neighbor affected our line. We made full disclosure to our tenants upon arrival for which we expected a basic courtesy of avoiding a negative review on this point.
5) Lastly on the "admonishment" of Miss SG I leave a complete set of instructions for each tenant on where/how everything works in the apartment and in these instructions there is in capital letters that the backyard is not for your use - this is because we plan to re-pave it shortly, (at which point we will possibly raise the price when it is ready), and it is currently unsafe, especially for children. No where do we state in the ads that there is a backyard for the use of the tenants. How is that admonished?!? The last example of the ultra heightened sensitivity of Miss SG.
However, thank you for the kind words that this is an adorable, clean, well laid out and spacious apartment and for the 4 star rating.
Mark Thomches

Helpful votes: 6 / 7

 

Great Place to stay in NYC

Review submitted: September 15, 2012   Date of arrival: August 27, 2012

Very nice and well maintained studio in Astoria. We loved the place. Very convenient to nearby shopping. food. and other amenities. Lower level studio with nice HDTV, high speed internet and other essentials. Great for two people. 10 minutes by car to the Mets. We plan to rent this again!

Only downside was finding street parking.

Recommended for: sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Place to Stay in a great location

Review submitted: August 15, 2012   Date of arrival: July 15, 2012

This place was a great little studio apartment that was recently remodeled. Everything was in excellent condition and made my stay in Astoria very confortable. It's in a great location too. It's only a block from one of the main streets and within walking distance to the subway as well which was very convenient for getting to the city. Everything was very clean and it had all the amenities. I would highly recommend this apt to anyone.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review