reviews for: listing #103394 - Galveston, Texas House rental

Pirates Treasure
  • bedrooms  5
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Pirate's Beach
  • sleeps  16
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $328 - $650 /nt
    $2,300 - $2,900 /wk
    $4,500 - $6,500 /mth

sort by:

Room for Everyone and Close to the Beach

Review submitted: August 23, 2013   Date of arrival: August 12, 2013

The house was perfect for us as we had extended family and small children who could have the privacy and quiet of the downstairs area. We loved the proximity to the beach and the view was wonderful. The decks are great; we used them all, moving from one to the other in the morning and evening. I've rented beach houses for many years, and this is one of the best.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Had a great time!

Review submitted: July 23, 2013   Date of arrival: July 12, 2013

We had 7 adults and 9 children ranging from 1 to 13. We rent a beach house every year for a week. The best things about this house are the owner and the location. Ms. Regina is very sweet. The walk to the beach is short and there is no traffic. The downsides of the house are the size of the rooms and the furniture. The sofa has had it. The cushions are so flat that you are only a foot off the floor. One bedroom is so small that you cannot walk around the bed if the closet door is open. The kitchen is made for one butt only. You can't have everyone gathered together to cook a meal. The downstairs apartment is nice and spacious. There is standing water on the sidewalk, so the mosquitos are bad. The kitchen is well stocked, but bring kitchen towels. The beach was awesome and the house is well located, not too far from town or the state park.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Nice Place!

Review submitted: June 26, 2013   Date of arrival: June 10, 2013

Overall the place was real nice. Had a good view of the beach and a walk I think of less than 900 feet to access it. However there was an odor on the bottom level, and I would have had a headache had I had to stay there, but it did not seem to bother my older children that stayed on the lower level. I think the price might have been a little steep.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Very nice beach house, very clean.

Review submitted: June 14, 2013   Date of arrival: May 31, 2013

We were very satisfied with this property and we enjoyed our stay. The listing description was accurate and there is plenty of room. We enjoyed the brief walk to the beach everyday and from the deck you could see the ocean. I would definitely recommend this beach house to all of my friends and family.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

beach house

Review submitted: May 29, 2013   Date of arrival: May 23, 2013

The stay was fantastic! We enjoyed ourselves immensely. We would definitely visit again. The view of the beach was breathtaking. It was great to have enough chairs to sit on the deck with everyone. It would be nice to have a table on the upper deck. We ran out of toilet paper and trash bags and charcoal. We would definitely recommend it to friends and family. The walk to the beach was easy and we felt safe letting the children walk ahead of us. Thanks for the great memories!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wish we could've stayed longer!

Review submitted: May 2, 2013   Date of arrival: April 26, 2013

This house was great! The downstairs is completely separate from the upstairs so those of us with young kids stayed downstairs. The upstairs has plenty of room and great patios! Beach is close and neighborhood very nice! Would love to stay here again sometime! My only complaint is that we couldn't stay longer!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Repeat Customer and a Great Time

Review submitted: October 2, 2012   Date of arrival: September 21, 2012

My family really enjoyed our stay at the Pirate's Treasure. The house has a really nice view of the beach and it's just a short walk to the beach. The owners made sure that the house was clean and fully stocked with cooking utensils, linens,towels, soap, and coffee. We had a large group but there was still plenty of room for everyone. Pros of the house include kitchens in both the upstairs and downstairs, a ramp instead of stairs, making it easier to haul supplies up to the 2nd floor. It also has an outside shower so guests don't bring the beach into the house. Really the only the only problem we had is that none of the bathrooms are not truly handicapped accessible. They lack grab bars and right height toilets. Also, the upstairs master bedroom bed should probably be replaced. It's comfortable but squeaks quite a bit.
As far as the location, it's across the island from the Strand and Pleasure Pier but just a short drive to Moody Gardens, The Flight Museum, Schlitterbahn, and the local Walmart. There is also a convenience store about a half a mile away. Overall it's a great house in a nice location and we would definitely stay there again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: Thank you for your feedback. We plan on updating the bathroom's this off season and this is a great idea, thanks. The Master Bed has been replaced.

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

summer vacation

Review submitted: September 13, 2012   Date of arrival: August 1, 2012

this beach hause was fabulous it is everything on the website and more the photos are accurate and true. the home was very clean spotless each bedroom was well appointed and the ketchen and livingroom were so spacious. it was perfectly situated jiust steps to the beach and an easy drive to downtown galveston and the seawall I would recommend this beach house to anyone great time .

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Had a great time

Review submitted: August 25, 2012   Date of arrival: October 21, 2011

We had a wonderful time here. The house was clean and well maintained. The two levels worked out great because one of our friends had her aunt and uncle visit from out of country and they had their own privacy in the 2 bedroom downstairs pad. An added bonus was the 2 kitchens because we had 2 refrigerators available instead of one. Most of all, we love the view and the short walk to the beach!

Recommended for: families with young children, people with disabilities

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Froggy

Review submitted: July 31, 2012   Date of arrival: July 7, 2012

Our family had a great time, considering it rained everyday we were there. We were able to get beach time in the afternoons!
The beach access was was great! The view was wonderful! Not to mention the house is beautiful. The ramp was helpful for our mother, who cannot climb stairs.
The children caught frogs every night! They must have been magic frogs, because by morning, they were always gone...
I would recommend anyone to stay at Pirates Treasure!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Spring Break Beach House Rental

Review submitted: March 19, 2012   Date of arrival: March 16, 2012

Had a great time! Beach house was very spacious and accomodated 7 downstairs and 6 upstairs. Could have held more, but that's all we had. We had to go buy toilet paper, paper towels and trash bags, but everything else was provided. We had a wheelchair bound elderly person with us, so the ramps made it very easy to get her in and out of the house. Although the downstairs bathroom had the handicap bars for the shower, it was more convenient to stay upstairs and let the kids have the downstairs. It would be nice to have the handicap bars in an upstairs bathroom as well.

Overall great place. I would definitely recommend staying here to friends.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Really enjoyed our stay

Review submitted: March 18, 2012   Date of arrival: March 14, 2012

This was just what we were looking for. The place has lots of room on two levels. With only three of us, we only used the top floor. I loved sitting on the deck under the eves to be in the shade. Quiet area with a nice view and such easy access to the beach!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review