reviews for: listing #103395 - Longboat Key, Florida House rental

Charming House with Dock for Boats, Pool, and Beach Access
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $1,300 - $1,650 /wk
    $4,000 - $5,300 /mth

sort by:

LBK Getaway

Review submitted: June 24, 2013   Date of arrival: June 8, 2013

We rent in LBK every summer as soon as school is out to decompress, boat, and spend time with family and friends who live on the island. Especially LOVED Jungle Queen because all I needed to do was go! Everything was just as described and ALL the creature comforts one needs for beaching and boating are there graciously shared by the owner and her family. Must Do List: have wine at sunset on beach, shop at Sand Dollar and Ginny and Jane E's in Anna Maria, discover happy hour at Chart House, anchor and explore the sandbar by LBK bridge, order the grilled fish Caesar salad at Dry Dock...I could go on. Thank you Alise for sharing.
G Smith

Owners response: Thank you Gail for sharing your beautiful words of your experience in our home and the constructive references accurately describing the area. We hope you'll come back! Take care, Alise

Helpful votes: 11 / 11

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We found lots of shark teeth...

Review submitted: August 20, 2014   Date of arrival: July 25, 2014

Thank you for letting us use your home for 2 weeks. We had a great time. The area restaurants are great & the shopping is fun. We found lots of shark teeth between here & Venice beach. My boys loved having the pool to come home to. We would love to be able to return for future vacations!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We really enjoyed ...

Review submitted: August 20, 2014   Date of arrival: February 27, 2013

We really enjoyed staying here. The place was great for our family to visit. The chairs on the beach were great to watch the sunset. Pool warmed up too. Swam a lot. Neighbors .... are great to know. Thanks for sharing your place Alise

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

You have an amazing house

Review submitted: August 20, 2014   Date of arrival: April 6, 2013

You have an amazing house in a great location... Almost everyday we biked to the beach...The cannal was great and had loads of pinfish and catfish which was fun to catch and let go. You have a bunch of movies. Every night we would watch them, you have a BBQ grill and everyday we would get a BBQ from my dad. At the beach in the water was warm, and there were some really big waves some of the days and it was fun to scooter or bike to the beach and jump over all the waves and in the sands as well. The pool was fun and we would have competition on jumping in. It was really fun. Thanks!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

One of our best family holidays!

Review submitted: August 20, 2014   Date of arrival: June 1, 2013

We have spent a wonderful week enjoying your lovely home. The pool has been great, we have a 16 month old daughter who has loved spending afternoons in the water. The house has been perfect for our needs. The location is great, lots of amenities nearby. All in all, one of the best family holidays we've had, we'd definitely come back!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

You have thought of everything people need

Review submitted: August 20, 2014   Date of arrival: June 4, 2013

My family have had a lovely time in your home. We have had a great time in the pool, also on the beach. It has been good for our granddaughter - She's been happy, plenty of room for her to walk around. You have thought of everything people need on holiday. Thank you for making our holiday a good one!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Covered with all the creature comforts one needs!

Review submitted: August 20, 2014   Date of arrival: June 14, 2013

We had a great week & thank you for sharing your home! I think you have it all covered with all the creature comforts one needs; loved being able to just walk to the beach & use the chairs - great sunsets! The very best was docking our boat & walking through the back door. Loved meeting up with family & friends at MarVista & happy hour at Chart House - Go There!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Made us feel like we were right in our own home!

Review submitted: August 20, 2014   Date of arrival: June 22, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at your wonderful home so much! Being so close to the beach & then having the great pool to come home to was wonderful! You had all the necessary things here for us, which made it feel like we were right in our own home! We enjoyed many evenings playing games & watching DVD's & grilling out! Thank you for making everything so available. We relaxed and had great family time together. Your home is beautiful & the location is perfect! Thank you so much - hopefully we will be able to return!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

This house has been a piece of heaven on earth!

Review submitted: August 20, 2014   Date of arrival: June 28, 2013

We have enjoyed our stay. We are sad to say boodbye. This house has been a piece of heaven on earth. Thank you for opening your home to our family. Longboat Key is such a beautiful place. We enjoyed our walks on the beach, fishing in the canal and jet skiing! Thank you again Alise, we couldn't have stayed in a better home!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thank you for sharing your home with us!

Review submitted: August 20, 2014   Date of arrival: August 7, 2013

Our stay here was too short! Thank you for sharing your home with us! Our 2 year old grandson had a blast in the pool. We all enjoyed boating, fishing & the beach! Thank you for leaving such detailed information to assist in our stay! We had a great time and look foward to coming back!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thank you so much for sharing....

Review submitted: August 20, 2014   Date of arrival: September 7, 2013

Thank you so much for sharing your lovely home with us! We had a wonderful, but all too brief, visit to Longboat Key of your wonderful beach house. The location is perfect - quiet & close to the beach, shops, and beautiful Durante Park. Our 2 small children loved all the toys & floats, and the adults appreciated the 2 chairs left in the dunes at the beach. Although we didn't see any dolphins, we were surprised by a school of rays swimming up & down the Gulf Coast - amazing and beautiful creatures! And finally, we are so thankful to have a place to vacation where our two dogs were welcome. We all enjoyed our stay, and hope to come back again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We've had a great week

Review submitted: August 20, 2014   Date of arrival: October 15, 2013

We've had a great week staying at the Jungle Queen! Everything we've needed is here. The beach was amazing. Weather has been perfect. Would definitely recommend. Hopefully we will be back next year.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Had a beautiful week, weather, Beautiful Home!

Review submitted: August 20, 2014   Date of arrival: October 25, 2013

Had a beautiful week, beautiful weather, beautiful home! Brought our Kayak and beloved standard poodle! Thank You! Saw manatees, jumping dolphins, Osprey's with dinner in their talons. Had a great family vacation.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We are dreading our departure in the morning ....

Review submitted: August 20, 2014   Date of arrival: March 28, 2014

We are dreading our departure in the morning after having thoroughly enjoyed our month here. What a stay in "paradise" as an escape from the winter that wouldn't end up north! Our reservation had been made close to a year in advance, and all of our anticipation was fulfilled by what we found here. The house is so comfortable and provided everything we needed. The pool offered a very protected area where we felt so much privacy and where we spent much of our time here soaking up every ray of sunshine! We were grateful to be able to share this house with the other member of our family. Our English Springer Spaniel, who made friends with the neighbors, played frisfee in the lot down the street and enjoyed long walks in Durante Park, etc. He was also the self appointed guardian of the yard. Thank you Alise for sharing your home with us......

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thank you for sharing your lovely home with us!

Review submitted: August 20, 2014   Date of arrival: April 13, 2014

Wonderful location & wonderful house. Highly recommend Harry's Kitchen, the restaurant & the deli - a block from the house! Spent a lovely stress free week in Longboat Key & look forward to returning.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We Have So enjoyed....your beautiful home!

Review submitted: August 20, 2014   Date of arrival: June 12, 2014

We have so enjoyed our time together in your beautiful home. We rented a boat for three days through Bradentonboatrental.biz. It was much cheaper then the others, but very accommodating as well. We found our best "fishing hole" at the beginning of your canal, right at the mile marker "29". We caught fish left and right, especially trout. Our favorite restaurant was Mar Vista right down the road. Beautiful outdoor seating right on the water! We highly recommend the bacon wrapped scallops. The pool and the beach were of course great too. Harry's convenience store at the corner of the street take out were awesome. We would say if Harry's doesn't have it, you don't need it. Thank you Alise for all of your detailed information and follow up. You are a great property owner. Many blessings to you, your family and all of your guests.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We had a really good time!

Review submitted: August 19, 2014   Date of arrival: June 20, 2014

It was wonderful stepping out the backdoor to our boat. The canal entrance is at Marker 29. The weather was great, only 2 days with rain the afternoon. We saw dolphins, a Manatee, and lots of fish. We enjoyed our week and I'm sure we will be back.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

More than we had hoped for!

Review submitted: July 6, 2014   Date of arrival: June 28, 2014

We have stayed in this area before but decided to look for different accommodations this year. The home on Jungle Queen way was perfect for our family, even our dog loved it! The process working with the owner was a great experience from beginning to end. The property was clean and ready to go when we arrived. Loved the split floor pan to have a quiet zone for nappers that was away from the pool. Pour granddaughter was ready to swim every morning, noon and night. We spent a lot of time in the pool. Nice television in the family room. One of our favorite features was the dining room table. It was large enough to fit the whole family around, which was one of the reasons we chose this house. It did not disappoint. Big master suite w cable tv. The garage with washer and dryer was a great plus, fully loaded with beach cart, chairs, toys, etc. loved the short walk to the beach w a private access. Sunsets were amazing!! Bicycles were great. We relaxed and did jigsaw puzzles on the large family room coffee table. Great family time. We brought our boat and the fact that the dock was just steps from the door was a huge benefit. Loved going fishing and out to the sandbar. Great local seafood market & restaurant- Starfish Company in Cortez. Can go by car or boat. Ate from the restaurant, all open air seating- incredible shrimp. Also got fresh mussels, crab, and shrimp to take back to the house and do a seafood boil. Cash only though. St Armand's Circle has lots of nice shops. The Colombian is a wonderful place to eat. We would definitely recommend this house for a wonderful vacation place for people of all ages. There was something for everyone. Can't think of anything that I would do differently. We look forward to returning next year!! Thanks to Alise for sharing this special place!

Owners response: Tiffini, thank you for sharing your experience of our home and the neighborhood! We are so happy to hear how much you enjoyed the amenities and comfort of our home as much as we do - this is the exact reason we left our personal family's toys, games, and equipment for our guests to enjoy as well. Thank you for the photos you sent, and we look forward to hosting you back in our home! Alise

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A nice boating holiday

Review submitted: January 12, 2014   Date of arrival: December 28, 2013

We had a very nice time at the Jungle Queen house. We rented a boat and docked behind the home which was great for early morning departures. The entire family had a great time fishing from the dock and just sitting on the canal. Our best times were enjoyed around the fabulous dining table. What a great comfortable space for our family of 6 to sit around eating steaks grilled on the gas grill and fish caught that day on our boat. We all agreed...we loved that table and the dining space. The walk down to the beach was easy and short and the private beach access was wonderful. The kitchen had everything we needed. Everything was clean and well maintained. The owner was easy to work with especially considering she allowed us to squeeze in last minute! Thank you for that and thank you for sharing your home with us!

Owners response: Thank you Maggie for the constructive review. As always, it makes me very happy to know that we are able to assist in making someone's holiday enjoyable and remarkable as we know how we ourselves treasure family times during our holidays. We hope to see you back! Alise

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Very comfortable, well-organized property!

Review submitted: December 3, 2013   Date of arrival: November 25, 2013

Five of us stayed over the Thanksgiving holiday this year and enjoyed it very much. The house is very comfortable without being "fussy" -- perfect for a beach vacation. A vacation rental owner myself, I was impressed with how well everything was laid out and marked. Detailed instructions made everything easy to find and navigate. The house is in a great location in the center of the island, so you're close to everything. Would definitely rent again next time we're in LBK.

Owners response: It's always a pleasure to hear how our home and our efforts into maintaining a comfortable place for our guests made for an enjoyable holiday to all! Thank you for your constructive feedback and we hope to see you back again! Alise

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

We have found our home away from home

Review submitted: October 18, 2013   Date of arrival: September 28, 2013

This was our second time to stay at this property and we found it every bit as inviting and restful as the first time. In fact, we have already booked a 2-week stay for 2014. It is not easy to find a property that will accommodate pets, but this location is perfect for our small dog. The property is always clean, and you would never know that pets have been in the home. We love this property, and the owners are wonderful! See my previous review for additional details about the property and nearby activities.

Owners response: Thank you Michael for your thoughtful review. Wow, 3 bookings by the same guest in one year time frame is a record for our first year with this as a rental! Glad to be able to provide a comfortable home away from home for you, and look forward to hosting you again! Warm regards, Alise

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

The house was wonderful!

Review submitted: October 3, 2013   Date of arrival: September 14, 2013

We arrive at the home late and found that the property management had left the lights on for us. The house was well furnished with everything we needed for our stay. The kids fished off the dock and we drove the short distance to Cocina Beach. The neighborhood was quiet and then neighbors were charming. If we ever venture to Longboat Key again we know where we're going!

Owners response: Glad you enjoyed you stay. Although Cocina beach is nice and nearby, we have a private beach with private access just across the main street about 300 yards away. Hope to see you back.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Fantastic, Peaceful Getaway!

Review submitted: September 11, 2013   Date of arrival: September 7, 2013

We just returned from our visit to this quaint house on Longboat Key, and loved the peaceful retreat it offered. We loved that our dogs were able to accompany us on our vacation - and they loved watching the dock for birds - and that were just a few minutes walk from both the beach and lovely Durante Park. The private beach access was simply perfect - we practically had the beach to ourselves and loved the two chairs at the beach - and the private pool allowed us to cool off when we didn't want to bother with sand.

The house had everything we needed for a vacation stay - plenty of room, lots of beach toys, washer and dryer, pool, great location. We hope to return next year!

Owners response: Thank you Jamie for your thoughtful review. I'm glad we're able to make this last minute holiday plans happened within a few days (or hours was it?), and that the house met your expectations. We look forward to your next visit.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Our home away from home

Review submitted: August 30, 2013   Date of arrival: August 3, 2013

The house was everything I excepted, very clean and welled stocked, especially the kitchen since I like to cook. My family enjoyed the pool, the boat dock and the short distance to the beach. My husband, our 2year old grandson and myself fish on the dock every day.
The property owner was very accommodating and checked in with us to make sure all was good.
There are awesome shops and restaurants, our favorite is Fish and Fin.
I would definitely recommend this house and hope to return again.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly

Owners response: Glad to hear that the house meets your expectations and I was able to assist in making your last minutes family getaway happened. What kind of fish did you catch off the dock, Mackerels are abundant in that area! We hope to see you return soon! Alise

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Wonderful Family Vacation on Long Boat Key

Review submitted: August 30, 2013   Date of arrival: August 10, 2013

Our family thoroughly enjoyed our two week stay at the Jungle Queen Beach House. The property is in an ideal location on LBK with great access to Gulf beaches, the Bay, shops and restaurants. The home is very clean with a great floor layout. The home is also fully equipped and has very nice and spacious bedrooms with big and comfortable beds along with a sparkling pool that's wonderful to use after a day on the beach. As frequent vacationers to LBQ, we found the private beach access only 200 yards up the road very important as the public beaches have very limited parking and can get a bit crowded. The dock facility in the backyard provided easy access to the Bay for our family members with kayaks and paddle boards.

We also found the property and pedestrian-friendly street to be safe and quiet. We were able to walk our dog without hesitation and frequented nearby Durante Park which is very walkable, scenic and accessible from the beach home.

We found the Jungle Queen Beach House completely fulfilled our vacation needs and then some and we look forward to returning soon.

Ned & Terri Murray

Owners response: Glad to hear that you enjoyed our home and that it meets your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back. Regards, Alise

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Stayed in July 2013

Review submitted: August 12, 2013   Date of arrival: July 6, 2013

Home is well equipped with all amenities needed for living and beach use. Enjoyed the pool and biking as well as several local restaurants as we ended up eating out most of our stay. However we were not pleased with the "cockroach” issue we encountered from the 1st day! As a result, we were offered the telephone number of the “extermination company” which is on contract. This resulted in us having to give up two of our vacation days in order to accommodate them coming to spray, once during our first week and as the “cockroach” issue did not diminish, we asked the exterminators to come once again during our second week. We did communicate this to the property owner and she was sympathetic to our distress on some level. Upon our return home we asked to be compensated but we were unsuccessful as the property owner did not feel that the 2 emails explaining that we had found “roaches” in her home was sufficient to warrant compensation. She also felt that we had not communicated our level of disgust “strongly enough” to her during our stay to warrant her considering a refund of any kind. Apparently her extermination company has advised her that there is no “infestation” so maybe we were a simply over sensitive or as she called it “phobic”. . She felt that her offering us the phone number of the extermination company was sufficient and therefore all should be acceptable. One of her final e-mail responses explained the following; “As with all phobias I do sympathize with customers varying tolerance levels. Someone may see a single roach and find that unacceptable while others may have a few roaches and be ok with that.” To that our response is the following: We unfortunately have a very low tolerance level to “cockroaches” and did not enjoy our stay, We will not be renting this property again in the future.

Owners response: We strive to maintain a good home for our guests' enjoyment as well as ours, this approach is properly displayed in the 10 positive reviews we had in less then a year. In our efforts to provide a comfortable, clean, and gracious environment for our guests we have service contracts for pool, landscape, housecleaning, and pest management. We do rely on expert's advice of the pest management company to adhere to environmental and human safety standards in their prevention measures for our property. Upon receiving an email from this particular guest stating she saw roaches, although we have a resort lock with access codes for all our contractors which they can enter without guests being there, we immediately took action and put her in contact with the pest management company. After 2 visits and applying some control measures, the contractor wrote to us: "this issue caused by the abundance of rain as of late. I don't think there is any issue requiring additional application of pesticide to the environment. And I can say that from what I saw along with what the tenants have described to me there was a minimal issue that I would categorize as a non-issue." Furthermore, the word "phobia" came from his email to me. Since I did not hear back from this guest, nor did she call the property manager while they stayed in the house so we can assess the situation first-hands and making sure they were comfortable and safe, I did not pursue the matter. They stayed the entire course of their vacation without any further comments nor phone calls, so I had put the matter to rest. I was shocked to receive an email from this guest 2 weeks after her departure requesting a full refund for 2 weeks rent. To make an informed decision and in an effort to resolve this matter, I immediately gathered additional information. So I contacted all the guests who stayed there just prior to her arrival and after her departure as well as the cleaning/preventative company. All parties reported there was no issue with the property and all guests who stayed during this time frame enjoyed their visits immensely. Actually, the guests prior to this guest wrote a good review of our property on 7/6. Based on all the reports, advice from the technical expert, I've decided not to enter a monetary negotiation knowing a negative review was imminent as I felt I had to preserve the integrity of our home. Nevertheless, this is indeed an unfortunate situation for all involved.

Helpful votes: 5 / 12

 

Great place for a vacation

Review submitted: July 6, 2013   Date of arrival: June 15, 2013

The house was very nice, well stocked with everything you need and the location was great. A short walk to your private entry to the uncrowded beach. And it was great to be able to leave your chairs there, so you didn't have to carry them back and forth. It was wonderful having the pool to come home to after a day at the beach. Having the gas grill was great. Plenty of movies for relaxing in the evenings. Really a wonderful place for a relaxing and fun vacation! Very clean and quality furnishings. We had 5 adults and one child and the set up of the bedrooms was perfect. Would definitely recommend.

Owners response: Glad we were able to provide a warm, relaxing, and comfortable place for your family holiday. Hope you'll come back to visit us.

Helpful votes: 11 / 11

 

It does exactly what it says on the tin!!

Review submitted: June 14, 2013   Date of arrival: May 18, 2013

Everything was as it said, charming house with a great pool and across the road to the beach. When we were told the grill had broken a new one turned up. We had a wonderful holiday with our elder son, his wife and our 16 month old grand-daughter and our other son. The facilities suited us exactly never feeling over-crowded or cramped. Thanks Alise

Owners response: Thank you Mike, for your review. Glad to hear you enjoyed your long holiday in our home, and the differences in U.S. vs. European electrical appliances weren't too difficult to figure out! We enjoyed having such diversity in our guests and all the different places they came from to our home and Longboat Key, hope to see you back!

Helpful votes: 10 / 10

 

Peace and Relaxation

Review submitted: May 19, 2013   Date of arrival: May 4, 2013

We had a wonderful stay. House was well equipped and in a great location. We were literally able to walk, bike and boat to just about everywhere we wanted to go. Our week was spent relaxing by the pool, boating and enjoying the beach which is a few short steps away. We trailored our boat and launched at Coquina Beach. There was something special about getting up in the morning and hopping on the boat docked behind the house. Thank you for allowing us to bring our dogs. They enjoyed their stay as well! Finally, thank you for offering such a wonderful place to stay Alise. You were a pleasure to deal with. We look forward to returning to Jungle Queen again!

Owners response: Margie, thank you for your kind words. You've captured very accurate aspects of our home which would help enhance future guests' visits and queries on the area and its location. It was our pleasure in working with you and thank you so much for being such thoughtful and gracious visitors in our home. We certainly look forward to welcoming your family and your four legged children back in our house.

Helpful votes: 12 / 12

 

Great Time

Review submitted: April 29, 2013   Date of arrival: April 13, 2013

We only live about two hours away, so this property was a perfect getaway for us. The community and beaches are beautiful, and the property is great as well. The home has everything you will need for a relaxing stay and is well maintained and very comfortable, and the street was very quiet and just a short walk across to the beach. Lots to do nearby: shopping, grocery store, museums, parks, and lots of water activities. Or, if you simply want to spend the time reading and watching the sunrise and sunset, that is certainly an option as well.

We love the property and hope to return soon. Thanks for a terrific vacation!

Owners response: Thank you for your thoughtful response. We're always pleased to hear about the special experiences our guests have at our home. As we intend to make this our retirement home in the future, we strive to maintain it to a high standard for us to enjoy as well as our guests. Our outlook in relationships with our guests is one that is base on mutual respect, therefore we have been very fortunate with the quality of people who have visited our home. We hope to promote a sense of warmth and good will as people visit our home and Longboat Key!

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

Beautiful, peaceful paradise!

Review submitted: April 11, 2013   Date of arrival: December 29, 2012

My family stayed at this beautiful home from Dec 29,2012, to Jan 5, 2013. We had debated whether to book a hotel or a private home and are so glad we made the right decision. The house was furnished with everything that you will need to enjoy your stay and is tastefully decorated. It has a fully stocked kitchen with glasses, pots and pans etc, outdoor bbq, swimming pool, (although we went to the beach) and the owner even left us a welcome bag! When we had a question regarding the coffee maker, we called the owner and she kindly walked us through the process. The location is perfect, a short stroll to the beautiful private Longboat Key beach where you can go for long walks, swim, or watch the spectacular sunsets. Take a cocktail and chairs to really relax and take it all in. In our opinion this beach is much nicer than the others in Sarasota and Amelia Island which are much more populated. During our stay we rented bicycles from Backyard Bike Shop at 5610 Gulf of Mexico Dr. Had a fun time and rode all day. When we got a flat tire up around Amelia Island, they sent a replacement bike for us. Nice guys. There is also a deli close to the bike shop called Harry's where you can get nice salads and wine. The LBK supermarket is called Publix and is relatively new. It is very well stocked. We also rented a boat from Cannons Marina on G of M dr. We spent the day fishing and enjoying the views and tropical birds from the water. One night go for a short drive to an area called St Armands Circle. They have great restaurants, yummy ice cream and nice shops. All in all a wonderful holiday, can't wait to return!

Owners response: Thank you Adriane for your thoughtful review. We're so glad you had a nice time in our home and enjoyed the area. You captured all the reasons why we chose to buy this home. I grew up in Sarasota and Siesta Key area, and although I have fond memories of my time on the beach there, at this phase in our life Longboat Key is more suitable for us and our family as it's quieter and so peaceful. Yet our location is not far from Sarasota so one can still drive in and enjoy all the cultures, shops, restaurants, etc. Glad you rented a boat and was able to enjoy our canal as it has direct access to the bay then on to the gulf. For fishermen, just right below the bridge where the bay connects to the Gulf is a very fertile spot for fishing! Your description of the sunsets and cocktails on the beach is right on. BTW - Since your visit there we have placed 2 permanent chairs on the beach for our guests, then of course we also have Tommy Bahamas beach chairs at the property which guests can also use and bring to the beach. Well, thank you again for such a descriptive and colorful review, we would welcome you back at our home!

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

Comfortable Home

Review submitted: January 7, 2013   Date of arrival: December 22, 2012

Very Comfortable Home, in good location. Owners were very nice to leave Goody Bag and personal note, I've stayed at a lot of VRBO's that was a first. Only draw back is the pool was not heated, which would have been nice with our December stay. Would consider staying again.

Owners response: Thank you for the review, it is always nice to receive some feedback from our guests. As we only just bought the property this past summer, we are continuously looking for ways to improve our home to make it more comfortable for ourselves as well as for our guests. As soon as we became owners of this house, we did look into ways of adding a heating pump to heat up the pool. Unfortunately the current house's electrical system does not allow us to do so without major renovation to the house and adding another electric box just for the pool. We will consider adding the heating pump in the future when we renovate the house. Hopefully, in the meantime during the 3 winter months our guests will continue to enjoy the many other emenities of the house and the Longboat Key/Sarasota area without a heated pool and will continue to the enjoy the pool the rest of the year where the pool water is at 70 to 80 degrees. Cheers, Alise

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Home away from Home.

Review submitted: October 21, 2012   Date of arrival: September 22, 2012

It was a blast and very restful. My husband works for the city and really needed some R&R. I wanted a house not a hotel or motel so it would be quiet. I wanted to be near some fun in the sun stuff too! The house was immaculate, full kitchen and a very big master bedroom. We have a chihuahua and he had to come with us. Home is pet friendly. We fished off the dock in the back of the house that was fun. We were close to everything and had fun sight seeing. The owner left complete instructions on everything you would need to know about the rental and area attractions. We had a boat rental and you can tie up at the dock at the house. There is a pool, which we did not use because we were so busy doing other things. Restaurants were good. The owner was very helpful in telling us what ever we asked. She recommended places of interest that proved to be right on. There was also a cabinet full of games that were fun to play while just kicking back and winding down. All beach equipment was in garage for your use along with a washer and dryer. Bikes were there too! It was a great vacation and the house was a very big part of it. We could eat in or go out best of both worlds. I would highly recommend this house for vacation and will probably visit it again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for your review, we always enjoy getting feedback from our guests so we'd know how to make our home a better and more enjoyable place for ourselves as well as our guests. We are new homeowners to this property so really appreciate you taking the time out to write this review, very gracious of you. Take care and hope to see you again soon! Alise

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Home on the Water in Longboat Key

Review submitted: October 8, 2012   Date of arrival: August 31, 2012

We rented this house because of the location, plus the dock and the water access. There is a boat ramp around the corner. The boating in this area is some of the best in Florida. Not to mention the HUGE sandbar party area that is very close. Also Mar Vista waterfront restaurant & many more, nearby. Plus a short walk to a very secluded beach area was a huge plus. It is hard to find a nice place to stay in this area, that is reasonably priced. This house was very clean & large. Nice refreshing pool. Had everything that was needed for us to enjoy our stay. Also since there were 3 bedrooms, our adult kids ended up driving down to meet us for a night & we had a blast. We would highly recommend this property to anyone thinking about this area.

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Perfect R & R getaway

Review submitted: September 30, 2012   Date of arrival: September 22, 2012

Alise! This is a perfect place for an Rest and Recuperation getaway, we love it here. Thank you, you have an awesome house and you'll see us again next year! Thanks, Christina

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review